(2007/11) November MTBs

Allo ladies....

Well, if i m really pregnant hor.. alot of my own plans have to be shelved... But will update u ladies whether -ve or +ve!

Cactus, ya.. my bro always kena these when he was young coz of long foreskin... So he went for circumisation when in Pri sch... It was so painful for him. So better to do it while E is still young if there is a need to...

I think in those angmoh countries, they will let their son be circumised at birth to prevent such problem.

cindy, saw on FB ur nice hair clips. issit easy to make? I find I'm spending too much $ buying so maybe more economical to make.

cactus: Ear almost back to normal although it is still slightly blocked but ear specialist said it should be ok for me to fly, just need to use the nasal spray to help. As for UTI, need to take care, here's some of the symptoms in the link.

http://kidney.niddk.nih.gov/kudiseases/pubs/utichildren/

But if have fever with no other symptoms like cough or running nose, def need to do urine test to determine not UTI. Frequent UTI will lead to kidney scarring etc.

Cindy: Thanks, ya both got a lot of hair that is not suitable for Singapore weather. Their hair perpetually soaked with sweat most of the time. Luckily we are returning back to SH. Matt's due to start school too. Hopefully he will take little time to adapt back.

Missa, yes Ye,s very very easy to make. Just get a glue gun, ribbons and appliques. Somemore u got samples, very easy I think. Heh.

Cactusnah, Ye,s thank god his fav teacher is following the class up.. Haha.... Well, at least e daytime still Ok.. Travis cannot lo.. play with urine when he pee.

Tinkabel, Jia you... Have a smooth ride home!

Tinkabel: Thks for the link, it's useful. I've just made an appt to bring E to see urologist specialist tmr, will go home and observe aft wk today, if the swell is gone, then i'll probably cancel the appt. Hey, bid farewell to the hot hot singapore and have a safe trip home!

Cindy: Yes, the nurse manager told me the chances of boys getting infection from bathing in bath tub shld be much lesser than girls, so E's problem shldnt be caused by that. But still, i thk it's abt time for him to abandon his bath tub or rather i shld say for my MIL to abandon the bath tub coz she is the one who is so worried that E might slip and fall in the bath room.

K@ye: Go buy a test kit and test quick! Kee kee...Gd luck hor!

MissA, appliques is a term for fabrics to be sewn or applied on another fabric.
A better description is like some iron ons thingy... but cant be ironed but glued on...

Cindy am i rite?

cactus:: oh dear, so when trishelle is ready, i better stop letting her use bathtub. HAHA!!

missA:: glue gun is the thing u need to use to stick ribbons on the clips ma. if no glue gun, the normal kind of craft glue is not good enough. u can get the hot glue gun from selffix. Small one will do. think 12.90 bah. Appliques is the accessories u stick on the clip if u are not making a bow. HEHE like panda face or bunny rabbit or strawberry etc.

cindy, u know whr can learn how to make clips? think i better go for a course. I even know how to make a bow, hee hee.

missA!! haha!!! i also don't know how to make bows ley! still exploring. you take some of A's to explore and examine, i'm sure u can figure it out de!

morn ladies!

Heng ah, tested -ve and my period came! Phew!

Coz i wanted to quit working n find another job.. so if pregnant, still hv to tahan another yr here..

Grace, thank you! Coz i need to serve 2 mths notice in my co so i can only resign first & find job... most co wont wait for u 2 mths!

My nephew (7mths old) will be undergoing circumision op next week coz the PD said long foreskin = always kena uti no good... so better to do the op... Its not cheap, heard from my cousin tt its going to be like 2k-4k....

Tinkabel: Hope you have a smooth journey home!

K@ye: you must have breath out deeply...that you are not positive. Good luck in your job finding and hope you get one you like soon.

Grace: where did you let your DD learn swimming...do they have any east or north east outlets?

Gloomybear: yeah...more baby boy dusts to you. Heehee

Cindy, ya recommended by PD... So for me, if ever I have a 2nd child that is a boy.. will go for circumision straight at birth...

K@ye,
heng its false alarm ah.. must be too stress over yr end closing lah.

Cactus,
me also still using bathtub leh.. cos i find it more convenient, also i wont get splashed. But since ZY will stand half of the time, playing with her stuffs on the walls.. shld be ok i guess. I only plan to transition her out when she outgrows.. Hope E is fine! It must hv hurt!

thks for all the well wishes for the flight home back to SH. Finally back home. Lots to unpack. When we touched down this morning, it was -2 deg, bloody cold. When I went out back to office to settle some admin stuff, I saw some of the babies on the streets, so bundled up like a dumpling. Poor fellas...

talking about bathing, my hubby was telling me that I shd start bathing A instead of him. At what age shd a man stop bathng his dd? I hope he'll continue as it's a chore for me leh.

MissA,
u so lucky.. princess rejects daddy cos he always splash water onto her face which she dislikes.. hubby also was asking me when hv to stop bathing, i recall fr my own experience, my dad and i bathe together till maybe kindergarten or even lower Pri? Depends on yr preference i guess..

MissA, C refused to let my hubby bath her too.

For myself, i think my Dad stopped bathing me when i was in Pri 1.

Hi mummies...I see alot has happened these past week.

missA, Catherine: Thanks for asking about Ethan. I consider this one of the most traumatic weeks for me! haha. E has a unique schedule cos my MIL wants to still take care of him on Mon and Friday PM. So he is on half day school on Mon and Friday and full day for the rest of the days.

1st day: He accepted separation quite readily, max time I spent away from his side was half an hour before he cried and asked for me.

2nd day: I had medical appts so my MIL was observing in school for his first full day. E did not like the teacher showering him or putting him to sleep so in the end, my MIL had to carry him for 40 minutes whilst he cried outside to put him to sleep.

3rd day: Think he was quite traumatized by the 2nd day so he cried alot during the first half of school. Later, MIL intervened again when it was time for lunch as he cried and refused to eat. So I had to step in too and he was able to shower and sleep ok.

4th day: Cried when walking into school compound shouting that he wants to go home. Jialat man. I had to be with him till nearly 11am. Would go hysterical when I left the room. But later after crying for nearly 40 minutes non-stop, he allowed the teachers to bathe him and put him to sleep so I see that as improvement.

Poor Ethan has no voice left...=( After all the preparation I put into telling him positive things about school, its so sad that he is kinda traumatized but no choice leh...he has to learn somehow. I just hate that I have to break his spirit to get him to accept school but its better now than later I guess.

I'm dreading tomorrow but that's the last day for him cos I'm travelling next week for business. I'm just so worried that he will cry non-stop for 5 hours or more...sigh...I'm also super sian about my MIL interfering cos she has so many comments and kinda "blames" me for all that E is going thru.

USA Grad Student Research with Singapore Parents - Quick Survey

I am a graduate student at the University of St. Thomas in the United States (Minnesota), currently participating in a study abroad course in Singapore at the National Institute of Education, Nanyang Technical University.

For my doctorate program I am conducting a research study in which I am requesting your assistance. The study is to learn more about couple's relationship as they take on the role of parenthood. Since this website is designed for parents, I thought you and/or someone you knew may be interested in helping me with this project. I am hoping to compare my data from USA parents to Sinagpore parents.

This may or may not apply to you. If you doesn't, please forward this to people you know so it can reach other first-time parents who may want to participate. Thanks for your help!

Do you meet the following criteria? Do you know someone who does?

* Have you had your first (and only) child in the past six months to two years?
* Do you live with the co-parent?
* Is it the first child for both partners?
* Do you want to share information that could help other couples transition into parenthood?

If you answered YES to these questions, and are 18 years of age or older, you are eligible to participate in this parenting research study. This survey is being conducted through an online questionnaire and is estimated to only take 5-10 minutes to complete.

To start the survey, please click the link below or copy and paste it into your Internet browser.
http://www.surveymonkey.com/s.aspx?sm=odvEJo1BPt_2bCF3hlE7BK7g_3d_3d

If you have questions about this study, e-mail [email protected] or contact Dr. Kurt Gehlert at the University of St. Thomas Graduate School of Professional Psychology at (651) 962-4656 or the University of St. Thomas Institutional Review Board at (651) 962-5341.

Participation in this survey is completely voluntary. All information will be kept confidential. Thank you for your consideration.

Robyn Maley

Michviv, hugs to ethan. I'm sure he will get used to it soon. He will find a teacher he likes and that will serve as an anchor to him... Travis loves a particular teacher and I am so happy she is following up his class. He will willingly wave bye and kiss me goodbye when she asks him to. So hang in there, shut your ears to the comments and he will adapt soon.

K@Ye, ya lo.. If I know I would have done it.. Sigh.

And ladies, poor me.. Aha daddy has never bathed Trishelle ever since she was born. He say he feel Paiseh. Haha.... what can I say man!

Cindy,
i din call to check on Jovan :p On 1st day, the teacher sms me to say he was playing, eating & sleeping well in school. No crying at all. The teacher wrote on his comms book abt his daily meals & naptime which seems quite good coz he could nap abt 2hrs everyday. He enjoyed waterplay & sandplay on 1st & 2nd day. 3rd day he even went ard hugging the teachers. He comes home everyday with a v jovial mood. But one thing i feel bad about is tat he still misses his previous cc teachers & frens
whenever i ask him who his new teacher & frens are, he'll still list out his previous cc teachers & frens... now i even have to keep his prev cc class photo

Michviv,
dun be upset. this is just a passing phase. once Ethan gets used to the environment/teachers/frens, he'll be so eager to go to school. E is so smart, he'll adapt v fast.

michviv, I'm sure E will get use to the routine and he will enjoy school very soon. For A she will get all cranky if we appear in school so we usually bid farewell and leave immediately. A has gourmet class every Friday pm and she loves it. Will E miss this class? You are still travelling now har? Take care & and hv a smooth trip.

catherine, Haha! So nice to hear. At least he adapts well. So independent. I think if it was travis he definitely 100 percent cannot take to the new school immediately. Haha....

Cindy: Thanks, i got the info on the clippies. Hee...nw i've another niece to help spend my $. Fox is having 50%+10% off now and i spent $ again buying pretty stuff for my bb niece

K@ye: Hee...must be a great relief for u then for the -ve result.

Lazykat: Thanks, E is ok now. The cream and cleaning solution work wonder, the swell disappear within 1 day on both occasions. As for ZY, it shld be ok since she is standing in the bath tub.

MissA: Is yr wound ok now? Yr hb showers A standing or sitting? If she baths sitting then will it hurt yr wound? For E, we take turn to bath for E. Weekdays is my MIL, wkends is either me or HB.

Michviv: Give E more time, i'm sure he'll adapt well aft some time. U take gd care and have a safe trip.

Catherine: J is so independent. It must be all the training since young coz he attended school at a much younger age. Gd for u now.

Michviv: Actually it is ok. The more experienced teachers will prob ask the parents to leave as they think parents' presence makes it harder for the kids to adapt, cos the moment they start getting more involved, they see the parents ard and they come to you. When I 1st put Matt in CC in Spore, they only allowed me there for 3 days, thereafter, they refused to let me go in. At 1st, Matt did cry a bit but he adapted and was ok within 2 weeks, as in, dont even cry at drop off. Then when I returned to SH and started Matt in school here, on my 1st day, the teachers didnt even allow me to stay beyond 1 hour. He adapted very fast and was ok within 1-2 weeks with no crying at drop off. I think being parents, we prob more gancheong than the kids. I think if we let go, they will definitely find a way they will adapt easily. Dont worry too much... Hugs...

Hi Michviv,

B is still crying everyday and its her 3mth already. So I guess what E is experiencing is norm but only very heart wrenching for parents like us to get used to.

CC has certainly done a great deal to B coz now she is accepting a lot of different foods compared to before. I think coz she has been starved since she is a fussy eater. What didnt work well still is she refused to hold the bottle by herself at home still and only appoints me to do it for her and no one else.
In school, I think becoz she wakes up early at 7am, teachers tell me she can hardly finish her 150ml of milk and doze off by 1pm. So that's one thing which we can't get her adjusted still. So its back to sq one again, the teacher who trained her well left, so now she seems to go back to her norm lazy routine. This is always my worry.

Michviv, ya.. Its normal for E to react in this way. And as what Tinkabel said, the teachers will ask the parents/caregiver to leave,

For the cc that Claire is in, the principal actually told me that she has students who cried every morning for 1 year. But she did mention that if the child cried the entire day in the cc for consecutively a long period, she will ask the parents to withdraw the child.

Claire has stopped crying and she is very happy to go to school now. The only thing that is worrying me is she still can't nap well in the cc nor poo well. But i think all these takes time.. so i try not to stress myself too much abt her nap & poo...

Cactus, super relief coz i wanted to move to a pl nearer to my mum before hvg the 2nd child too...

Ashley's mummy,
cold storage is having $1.50 off the huggies swim diapers. so if you want, can stock up for the swim class.. see you tomorrow.

actually our kids very clever one, if they know you hang around, they will be more sticky. If they know they are alone, they will learn to be more independent. but of cos this takes time. Jiayou MUMMIES!

Tinkabel,
-2 is really cold, i experience it when I was in Korea in Nov...hooo...

With regards to bathing:
both me and hubb takes turn to bath her.. but sometimes she wants daddy to do it. WHY? because daddy let her play with water alot longer than i do...haiz....

I need help.... i will most prob employ a maid for number 2 and to help me since hubb works shift and I am alone at home. can anyone recommend me their maid agencies and what should i look out for?

school only has 3 parking lots. max can put 4 cars only. and the parents from the earlier class would have parked. so it depends loh... most will park along the road before turning into the house.. its one way road.

Cactusnah, wow u Congrats your sis for me Ha.. She should be discharged liao eh? Nw wk2? Haha.... Jiayou on making clippies. If u buy more clothes and too big hor, pass to Trishelle hor.

Grace, employ maid ah.. Hmm.... I also thought of it le.... Cause for now even though new home ready we cannot move in cause don't know hw to settle Trishelle. Don't wanna send her to infantcare and though mil suggest to let her stay with her mon to fri, we don't want to do that. Cause not so nice to dump her and we wanted the siblings to bond too. But maid, we still cannot overcome the barrier of having an outsider around. Haha! So for now, we have to make new home a wkend home, until she can go to school, unless we get a maid halfway. Still thinking. Hmm....

Tinkabel, take care!

Hi mummies, thanks for the listening ear and all the support.

missA: The enrichment classes have not started this week yet as there are lots of new kids at school and the priority is for them to adapt to school first. I think his gourmet moments is on Monday. But I'm not sure...hmmm...

Today I dropped him off at 8.45am, said bye bye, and left. He apparently cried intermittently for about an hour then joined the kids for their lessons and playtime. He was happy when I picked him up at 12.15pm. At least, he jus needs some time to warm up.

I really envy the kids who can take separation well and be happy being dropped off at school. I think it will take some time for E as well...for now, the teachers find it so amusing that he can still form coherent sentences and have conversations with them amidst all his tears. I'm crossing my fingers its a phase.

Today my MIL had the nerve to drop by my place when I wasn't in to pass me an article on preschool stress. *grrrr*...sian man! =P

Bathtime: We switched Ethan to the shower after he outgrew the bathtub and I couldn't bathe him properly cos he was busy playing. I usually bathe him but his dad bathes him once a week.

Cindy: Dunno leh. Maybe I have been brought up all my life around helpers that I need to have one to help me now. Yes, though it can get a little invasive but at least I don't need to worry about home-cooked meals for E, the cleaning and laundry. To me, that's a big plus.

Grace: U're looking for Indo or phili maid? My maid agency is quite gd in Indo maid. PM me if u want the contact. Things to look out for:

- For indonesian, look out for the home town they're staying in. Ppl from certain area v naughty
- Religion (Christians more exp, but easier coz they can eat pork)
- Off day, if any
- Body odour (ask agency)
- * Married? If so, no. of kids
- * Experience, if any
- * Ask if she knows hw to take care of kids
- * Can she cook. If so, ask her to name few dishes.
(* Those marked in * are the questions u can ask her personally when conducting phone interview coz you can then decide whether her command in english is acceptable).

From my own personal experience, single and unmarried maid tends to stay only for 2 years and wants to go home to either find a boyfriend/go home get married. But this grp of maids are more obedient and tends not to talk bk when reprimanded. For married ones, they'll tend to stay longer coz they need the $ to send home for their kids. Also, they're better and more experienced in taking care of kids. Both my maid are single coz i've my MIL at home and the maid's task is to do the hsework, she doesnt need to cook nor care for E, so it's ok to get inexperience one. Hope the above helps. Gd luck!

Cindy: Thanks for the regards:) Ha...i always fail in my arts & craft, so dun knw if i'll have the courage to really sit down and make the clippies:p My helper spends 90% of her time in the kitchen so i dun feel our privacy being intruded. The only difference is my HB cannot go half naked when we've maid at home, hee...Hey yr new house so nice and conveniently located and u're treating it as wkend home? Really wasted lei.

Cactus, my pl also weekend home for me... hehe...

Cindy, i wanna visit u over the weekend leh... :p I know, next Nov babies gathering can go ur pl? :p

michviv: ya, this will def improve over time. Like Matt, at first, he cries and still ask for his bag to be given to him at drop off (which i found it so funny) Matt now loves a certain tricycle in school, that he will hv his tricycle time b4 school (as i drop him off early) n hv fun w/o even looking back at me. The teachers at school tell me now he loves the cooking and gardening sessions.

Cindy: Ya, try not to be wkend parents if u can. I think the bonding with us as parents and amongst siblings are v impt. Just hv to be more xinku a bit now for a while. No choice

K@Ye, weekend? This wkend? Haha. Hse not ready, by chinese new year can. I can bring u up sky bridge Hehe. Free! And gathering, can of course!! Haha.... Maybe I can do one over march hols. Haha.... And hey, talking about this, rachelc also has her home ready by Cny too! Haha....

Tinkabel: yea so have no choice, we have to bear with it as a wkend home, so we can have Trishelle with us... But hubby says he will be tempted to leave her for 1 or 2 nights over at mil place. That I am fine but not mon to fri Haha.

Michviv, I also very envy those mothers whose kids can take separation very well. Eg, catherine la! And as for helpers, you pampered girl Haha. it really depends on luck to get a good one... But we are still considering the possibility of getting one, and mil's feelings too, cause she wants to take care of her... If she cannot get a place in school in sept this yr, then we most likely will opt for helpers.

Grace, bo bian. Bear with it until Trishelle can go school. Haha....

*High 5* Grace!!

Cindy, u see ur pl so popular with us! I find it ridiculous tt we hv to pay $5 to go to the Skybridge when i read it in the papers.

Ya, idea... CNY go ur pl! :p

Cindy: I also want to go before I pop! hehehe. We can do a simple tea time pot luck at your place. =)I want to go check out the skybridge too! =)

Are you planning to put Trishelle in Eton for playgroup as well?

Tinkabel: Thanks for the words of encouragement.