(2007/11) November MTBs

Hi Shane

Wa lau.. your fall and hit on the metal chair very jiat lat lei. You drank cranberry juice and i drank coke.. hahaha..

Kiros usual interval during day time is 3.5-4hour.

But night time when sleeping would be like 4-5hour which i thought can be lengthen. You see, sometimes he can be drinking at 10pm, next he will wake up at 2am, and then 6am.. meaning i gotta wake up twice.

Ytday night he drank the milk with cereal at 11pm, and i think hungry at 5am. You mean to say 6 hour is actually 'normal' ah? I thought still too short lei. Like can lengthen for another 3 hour boh.. hahaha.. me very lazy la.

plim,
yah better ask doc to check. i wish our babies never get sick. so small have to suffer, all mummies heartpain neh.
btw, i got my menses today. super duper sianz

pig07

yo..you too "tam sim" already lah, imagine when they were just born, they were fed every 1 or 2 hours, now only 4.5 months, you want to stretch your bb to 9 hours ah??? my boy used to wake up every 3 hours until I "train" him sleep through more than 3 hours by skipping the 2 or 3 am feed which he used to wake up that timing ...now he can sleep thru' until 5 or 6am, I am very happy liao loh ....if can sleep thru' until 7 or 8am lucky best ....heee... but I think have to slowly stretch your bb ....I haven't started mine with solid food yet cos' he has eczema and PD told me to start at 6 month ....I just hope that once I start him with solid food, he can sleep thru until 8 or 9am hopefully ...but I read some books which say that bb taking solid food doesn't mean they will sleep longer, and they did a research on bb with just milk and with solid food...actually both sleep the same no. of hours ... don't know how true leh ..... if Kiros sleep at 10am and wakes up at 2am, maybe you can try skipping that totally provided that he drinks enough at 10pm before he sleeps ....and just wake up at 6am to feed him ..in that case you don't have to wake up at 2am ...but if he has the habit of waking up at 2 or 3 am, then maybe if you are "heng3 xin1" enough, then ignore his cry for a couple of days...he would be fine after that ... mine, I let him cried for like 3-4 days when he woke up at 2 or 3am last time...and now he will wake up at 5 or 6am for feed ....I do't know actually normal for 6 hours at this age ...but for me, it's a breadkthru' already if Ethan can sleep thru' for 6 hours considering that last time he only slept 3-4 hours and he would wake up ..so I am going to stretch him slowly.....

After reading your horrible labour experience, I concluded that having a good, experience, and responsible gynae is EXTREMELY important, plus good care from the hospital. So for my next one, I will stick to private hospital, won’t go to public one. Was thinking to try KKH for my next one, so to save some $, but now I think I will stick to TMC.
My whole experience (from pre to post delivery) with TMC was a pleasant one (except long waiting time for gynae appointment). My labour was a very smooth one. Natural with epidural. I was admitted because of waterbag burse, no contraction at all before that. Was only 1cm dilated when admitted. After 6 hours, still 1cm dilated and no contraction kicked in. So was induced. Contraction kicked in after 1-2 hours, but only dilated to 2cm. Couldn’t take the contraction pain, and decided not to put myself suffered from all this pain, so asked for epidural immediately. According to my gynae, if I couldn’t relax, I wouldn’t dilate. That’s very right, as after taking epi, I was so relax as all pain gone, and within the next 2 hours, already dilated to 8cm and ready to push! Baby head was still quite high up, but came down after a few pushes. Pushed for another next 10 min, and gynae said congratulations, my baby born at 2.9kg! The nurses were very good, taught me how to push and very encouraging and patient. Stitching very well done too. No pain at all since I was on epi. The care given at TMC and my gynae was a very good one. Recovered very fast, have intercourse after 6 weeks, a bit pain initially, but the second time, all back to normal. Didn’t eat the usual confinement food, but eat a lot of vegetables (avoid those cooling vege though) so no constipation and so not stretching the wound. Felt like a normal person again after 1 month. Baby is very well too. He is a very good boy, never fussy on food and sleep, on TFM though.
Have to tell some good experience so that mummies know it’s not always difficult  Me and my hubby will plan for the next one when our little boy starts to talk and walk. Hope will be as smooth the second time round.

Haha... it's reflection time for all mummies on theri labour huh? For me I was delayed for a week, and when gynae and I arranged for induction, the labour pain kicked in. Waited for a while and when I was 7 cm dilated, gynae poked my water bag and found it was dirty. So had to have an emergency c-sect.

I think it was a blessing in disguise. Though I would prefer natural birth, but c sect is really way easier. and it didn't take very long to heal too.

If I have a 2nd one, I will probably opt for c sect, I dunno. It just seems faster, hassle free and less complicated.

Hi Kam,

How lucky you are. From a smooth delivery, to a smooth get well to having a very well baby.

I agree with you that that hospital and gynae are very important. But i dont think so that KKH (private class A) is any cheaper than private hospital and much savings can be attained. If i am not mistaken, there was a comparison being made and KKH private class A is certainly not any cheaper than most private hospital. Unless of course you referring to subsidised rate.

Thank you for sharing your experience. Ya, not all delivery are horriying like Shane and mine of course.. hahaha.. guess perhaps we are the minority and the not so lucky ones bah. But i am certain that Shane and I arent the first and wont be the last.

You have a easy to care for baby.Sigh, if only all babies are like yours, certainly many mummies wont have qualms about having more babies asap.

mummies: mothercare at parkway parade having (almost ) storewide sale! from 30-70%!!
esp their sleepsuits gg at 50% off..

Hi meow,

Me thinking of going to opt for c-sect too for 2nd one. If labour is going to be as horrifying as my first, i tink i rather c-sect.

After having tried on both, then maybe we can decide how we want it to be for the 3rd one.. hahaha.. tat is if we are courageous ebough to have more than 2 and that all our babies turn out to be guai1 guai1 and easy to take care of.

But i always tell my hubby that very difficult for us to have guai guai children la. Cos ah my family and his seemed to have the 'naughty' and 'playful' genes. And had been tested and proven.

Grace: Oh paisei, thot u still organising the BP for baby legs. Ash went to CC yesterday? She likes it?

S@L: I received the smart sack yesterday, it's nice. Thanks alot. And how r u feeling now? Hope u get well soon and dun be too hard and stress on yrself with regards to BF. It's best if u can continue to give Mischa BM, but if u're really unwell, then dun push yrself too hard. Think u've given her the best with yr BM so far looking at her chubby and beautiful complexion.

Ueno: Thanks for the infor w/reg to the sale. Any idea when is it ending? Think the Mothercare outlet in KKH often has 50% discount on some of the items, unlike outlets in Vivo and Marina Sq, seldom give discount.

pig07/shaneDian,

After reading your details labour experince, really feel mother love is the greatest in the world & how much we ladies have to suffer. As long as the end of the day mother & child are well & healthy all our pain will be worth right?

As for cleaning eye shit. If Leroy had them, I will usually clean them away with BM or the chinese herb Jin Ying Hua.

grace,
aiyo, sianz, menses back already ah? tot u on TBF right? so fast come back? i hope mine will not be back so soon :p
ash is sick? wat happened to her?

btw, jus back from visit to PD! asked him about ear pulling and he said it's normal and if it were ear infection, most likely it will come together with a fever and/or has a smelly discharge in the ear...

today, doc gave her the 6-in-1 jab and also the last pneumococal jab and he said the next vaccination will be after 1 yo.. i was quite surprised leh, cos for my elder gal, i seemed to have brought her to the PD almost like 6-mth, 9-mth, 1-yo, etc. was wondering how come this time, Bevis no need? is it because it is not the same PD that i'm using for when Bevis was born? such that they dun need to do those regular check-ups for her? any mummies know why? and is it the same for your little ones as well?

been a long time since i last post.

Re: babies sleeping thru the nite
I am fortunate that my gal is able to sleep thru the nite since 2mth+, and for the past 1mth or so, she can sleep past 8am w/o fussing for milk/attention. (tho she does indulge in thumb sucking..) Her last feed can range from 10pm+ to 11pm+, it doesn't quite affect her "wake-up" time. But it means her daytime sleep/nap is barely 3-4 hours in total. With some structuring of their sleep and feeding patterns, it should be achievable IMO.

But when baby grows older, the tendency for them to seek attention when they wake up at wee hours will surface - as seen in my frenz' case, so cross our fingers!

plim,
that's strange. My gal also juz had her 6-in-1 jab and pneumoccocal (1st jab out of 3). My understanding is, there are a maximum of 4 jabs, one around 3mth, then 6mth, 9mth, 1yr (estimation). But we decided to go with 3 jabs so skipping the 3rd mth one. My 2nd P jab will be in another 2 mths time.. but u din ask PD why eh?

lazykat,
long time no 'see'!
actually i agree with you that i think their last feed doesn't quite affect their 'wake-up' time...

regarding the jabs, today, her pneumoccocal jab is the last one (she took at 3rd, 4th and 5th month)... i asked him, after this 5th month jab, when's the next one, he said at 13th mth for the prevenar (sthg like that) and then 15th mth for MMR, otherwise the 13th mth one can take together on the 15th mth as well...
for your case, the 9th mth and 1 yr jabs are for pneumoccocal?

plim,
cos i combined 2 jabs for 6-in-1 and pnuemoccocal in 1 visit so dun hv to come a second time mah, so my gal first jab is on 5th mth+, then next one will be 7mth+, not sure abt the 3rd which is the final jab yet. But i will prob go for chickenpox, and the other 2 jabs that u mention - 1yr onwards.

ShaneDiao,
Haha.. ya lo.. Ethan is a popular name now. Aiyo.. I never video tape the process lar, the video is just there in the mini operating room, for the patient to see what the doc is doing... erm.. I rather not see loh.. scary! Think everyone's body condition, pregnancy & childbirth different, I think best to give your body more time to heal before planning for #2

Pig,
Yupz my bb was huge, even now my friends see me with Ethan, they also say cannot imagine I gave birth to such a chubby baby... carry until wrist pain... even hold pen also pain... heng type keyboard no pain...keke. Oic so the 1st gynae you saw was Benjamin... so far my experience with him quite good lar... but maybe nxt time will try some other gynae that will give me epi till the final hours!

{Activities/Games with babies}
Btw just wanted to know what are some of activities/games you mommies play with your babies? Me running out of ideas liao... BB Ethan always wanted to play new games, 1st time activity/game he'll be so excited and kept laughing, but for some repeated games he'll at most give a smile/chuckle, or worst... just watch with no expression. -_-"

cactus, glad u like it. i am fine la, will definatetly want to continue to BF. will be going to see the Dr tommorrow as i was too busy today. the pain is more bearable now and hopefully it will subside soon without medication.

RE delivery.
mambobb, pig & Shane,

Thanks for sharing on your experiences. It muz have been hard on you to go thru so much. I guess I m quite lucky then. My overall experience with KKH is good, except that I hated the idea I had to bear with my hunger from 12pm til I delivered at 10.45pm! "Labour Business" was quite good that day, as told by midwife n my doc. Mine was induced - my obst burst my water bag (so warm!) & used drips, not tablets. The dilation was really slow, but the pain kicked in at 3.20pm when I told my hb I had enuff of the contraction experience. The only displeasure was the anaesthetist took quite a while to enter my ward n gimme the jab(reason being only 2 on duty - busy at Operating Theatres).

Thru'out the pushing (abt 2h), midwife was the one doing the job. I remember my obst. came in twice to check n only when Chloe's head had successfully been pushed out & 'stuck' at the V, midwife went to call him in to do the rest. I almost gave up pushing n asked for forceps during those 2h! So tiring.. I could feel the contractions oncoming even with the epi.

Mammbob, I don't think it is becos of subsidised rate u r treated tt way. I remember during my stay in the 4-bedder ward, one mummy was also kept pushing in n out of ward to go to the labour ward.

For all mummies who wld like to try KKH, I wld recommend my gynae - Dr Benjamin Tham. Gentleman with a tinge of humour. Try The Private Suite - save your time. Actually I did compare the prices of diff hosp. & their svcs. It boiled down to TMC n KKH - my hb n I finally decided on KKH - where we were born =)

Pig,
The price diff betw single ward n 4-bedder is quite big. And esp like wat u said, when there are complications, costs are charged differently too. So the nurse at TPS actually recommended me to take the 4-bedder ward package.

tinkabel,
Chloe poos a lot too, at least 3x a day. I suppose this is normal? She is still on TBF.

meeok,
Chloe is like Ethan! Fascinated at the 1st time, then subsequently gimme the face 'anything new?' Hahaha.. What activities do u actually play with him? I sing to Chloe, dance with her, imitate her, do some flash cards when she is in her alert state..

Kam
Wow! yur labor sounded so fast and easy ....how nice
...yo , when Ethan was born, he is like under stress or what ...he is not like other babies who sleep a lot ....he can don't sleep for 8 hours straight ...and he was always trying to keep himself awake though we knew that he was actually very tired ....he was a light sleeper and would wake up at the slightest pin sound.....I was so stressed during that 1-2 months as he didn't really sleep all the time, not even in the afternoon
... But now he is slightly better, get to have two afternoon naps, and night time most time sleeps thru' but sometime still wakes up ....

Meow
Now thingking about natural birth also scared, maybe like you too, will think about c-section if really 2nd one comes along ...but don't know when ...heeee.....

annietoh
I agreed with you ...all the pain is worthwhile ...you know what .... actually I wrote down my labor experience and when the time is ripe, I can refer to my writings (just in case I old liao can't remember much) and let Ethan know that it's thru so much pain (fall down, blood transfusion, IV infection and kenna high fever, and blood gushing out after 5 days discharged and was rushed to hospital, and doctors kept "prying" open my "V" to check and it's so painful) that I gave birth to him, and he will know that the best love of all is mother's love ...haaaa....

Meeok
Wow! your Ethan really big ah?? My Ethan, very "bo4 bo4" he hardly drinks only 2-3 ounces each feed of every 5-6 hours
...force milk down his throat still doesn't drink .... he is way under weight liao ....

Meeok/Yvonne
Same here ...Ethan has short attention span... at first he can look at the mobile for 15-20 mins ..now, less than 5 mins he starts to whine already .... let him watch BB Einstein, same thing, at first can watc for 10-15 mins, now 3 mins also cannot ...I tried singing, dancing, and flash cards as well ..but still whine
running out of ideas too .... Now after trying all the activities, I am so exhausted already, as he always wants me to carry him. Once put down, he will start screaming ...cannot tahan him .... so pick him up and talk to him until he feels tired and put him down for nap....Don't know why, he can't play alone by himself when he is awake ...so I kenna stuck with him the moment he wakes up ...cannot do other things liao
..House is in the mess, clothes piling up, toys everywhere, dishes have to wait for hb to wash after his work , very tired physically ....there is no maid here , unlike Sin , ....how nice to have a maid...I am the maid liao ...but never get a chance to do housework
only take care of Ethan , already very tired .....SAHM also not easy ....my hb always tell me that I have a very good life, staying at home do nothing ....I rebutted him, what I do nothing??? I take care of Ethan very exhausting, and I can't even do other things, not that I don't want to do housework, it's I can't .....I told him, why don't you stay at home trying to take care of him , and I go work ......, and he keeps his mouth shut from then on .... I think some hb thinks that we SAHM like very "xin nang" ...leading good life ....I think those who lead good life are those always go shopping,do facial, do saloon for hairdo, nail do , don't need to take care of kids, go for afternoon high tea etc....

Hi Pig/ShaneDiao:

Yes, I am the lucky and so I never complained about anything. And oh, I had a very smooth pregnancy as well. Just curious if the cost between public and private hospital doesn’t differ so much, why don’t go private. Also 1 important point is I trust my gynae 100%, I never questioned her profession, I followed all her instructions. Only asked questions if I was in doubt.

I learned from my mum to how to take care of baby. She had the 4 of us and all 4 of us are very well brought up, so I believe her methods are indeed working. I never learned from the books, I think that the books are too theoretical and not practical enough. So I prefer to learn from real live example. Every baby is DIFFERENT! What the book teaches you is for the common norm, most often than not, doesn’t apply to your baby.

The first rule of thumb. You have to realise a baby is a human and he is just like us. He has his own emotion, his likes and dislikes, etc, the only different is he cannot talk and so cannot tell you what he thinks or what he wants. That’s why I don’t believe in training up baby to follow a certain routine. I take things easy. When he wants to drink, I feed. When he wants to sleep, I put him down to sleep. When he wants to be carried, I carry him. When he wants to play and talk, I happily do so for him. And guess what, without any routine or training set for my baby, he is actually growing very well, put up steadily 1kg per month. Sleeps and eats well. He also decided himself he needs more milk, and I follow his needs to give him more. Never fall sick so far. And he has decided himself to sleep through the night, just happened this week. I have to admit sometime it is not easy, sometime baby might throw a tantrum, but just like him be. I respect his emotion and like him choose what he wants. Just think of yourself, sometime you have good appetite, sometime you don’t, sometime you are more tired and sleepy, sometimes you need very little sleep. Of course, by all means, I monitor my baby closely for any abnormal behavior.

You might not agree with me. But just to share.

kam,
i like the approach you have in raising your baby... I have also been thinking if i should get my bb to follow a certain routine such as waking up and sleeping times... as much as i try, it is rather difficult as bb have their own emotions, wants and needs on different days... what i can say is that my gal (in fact, both of them) hardly have any hard-and-fast routine... they wake up when they want to (i do not wake them up at a certain timing), sleep when they are tired, eat when they like, haha... sounds very difficult to manage hor... i think each approach has it's pros and cons lah... although i manage the gals according to situations, the variation is not that great from day to day... hehehe...

Shane: I was totally depressed by no milk supply and tired out by looking after her. So, after trying pumping out and feed her once BM and the rest FM each day for the 1st mth.. I stopped liao.. too depressed and cried. my hubby kept asking me what happened and persuaded me since no BM supply, nvm lor.. give her FM.. cant be forced.

Activity with BB:
I have tried to read small/short story book to my bb.. her attention span is very short. she is more happy on grabing the papers. After a few sessions, she bored too.. then I go for singing session on nursery with music.. I think bb is more happy with music and sound around. I have tried to teach her ABC using Leapfrog.. failed too.. she only want to grap the book and play with the paper instead. My hubby is better than me in playing with the bb. She will laugh and bang her legs on the bed.. when she is tired and sleepy, then she will look for me. So I guess my playing session with my bb is not short period not that bad.. unless is weekend.. i will be whole day with her.. will run out of ideas too.. so will try to pat her to sleep whenever i can.. haha..

In-Laws:
My relationship with MIL is still ok coz my hubby is very fierce.. muahaha.. my MIL also kept telling me dont always carry the bb when i was on maternity leave. But whenever she see the bb.. always carry her too -_-".. however i know that they dote my bb.. I was so surprised that when I went to fetch my bb home after work, i saw my ILs at the relative place carrying my bb.. when I went to ILs place for dinner, they will so eager to carry her too.. but now my bb recognises faces liao.. whenever they try to carry her, she will start to whine. they heart pain arh.. kept saying that 2 weeks didnt go back now bb cant recognise them.. sigh..

Hi Kam,

Agreed with you that all babies are different. And i feel that babies nowadays seemed so hard to raise and bring up. Sigh, sometimes even by giving what they want, they still fuss so much. Change diapers, feed or sleep. But they are sometimes still not satisfied. It just freak me out once when he was crying for whole 25 minute car journey. Sometimes it can be so depressing for parents esp when they do no know how to handle.

Oh, my reason for choosing KKH. Perhaps you missed my earlier posts. As i was saying, my sister had her twins at KKH. One had complications and require major op at day 5 (as we were saying, all babies are different). His op was successful, but was being told that there are only several or few surgeons in spore majored in that area. And as not all hospitals has icu, i was being informed that if i had chosen one without icu, if touch wood the baby required one, then would have to be transferred to KKH ICU. I also understand that the surgeons from KKH will sometimes be called to other public hospitals like SGH/NUH as their when their help is required to operate on neo-natal. My friend even commented to me that her son was born in SGH, and SGH had to 'rent' a particular machine from KKH when she met with complications. That why i am thinking that i will choose a hospital with the good enough neo-natal facilities. but of course every mummies will have their different reasons for choosing hospitals and gynaes. Haha, maybe i am kiasu and think too much, but will never know what is what. No one can be certain until the baby is born.

Understand that if someone has preferred gynae, hence will use the hospital that the gynae practised in. As i have no preferred gynae, i zoomed into preferred hospital.

Anyone of you bought feeding chairs yet? Or what do you feed your little darlings in for those who have started feeding solids? I'm thinking of getting one although Joseph hasn't started on solids yet. But he doesnt want to lie down anymore and wants to sit up. So might as well get him a chair to sit in. But I don't think he can fit in Bumbo anymore. Any recommednations?

Hi Yvonne and Meeok,

Seems like DR benjamin Tham not bad lei. Actually i reaslied he is very smiley. Is he W L THAM? I was at TPS ytday evening. And i saw that he has many patients waiting for him outside his consultation room. Is he using Room 4 at the TPS?

Btw, do you all think the food the hospital serve during our stay was eeeerrrrr.. lousy? I didnt have anything that they served except for Milo and orange juice. Everytime they came in to take my order, i was like 'can dont order boh? very sian lei the menu'..But i do understand from my friend that TMC served nice meals.

Pig07

TMC meals quite good. Think abt 5 times a day. Pity my parents and ils say cannot eat chicken etc, coz C-Section. In the end, I have home cooked food.

Hi Shane,

Share something with you. Kiros had his milk at 915pm last night.He slept at 1030pm.

My intention was to give him milk with cereal say at the 1am feed. He was tossing and turning at 1am indeed. Went to make milk with cereal, he refused to drink at all. I put him into the cradle and he fell asleep. Then hor, i bring him out of cradle at 3am and placed him on the mattress. But hor, he never fussed for milk lei.

He began to make noise at 5am, and i thot, aiyo 8 hours has passed and he has gone w/o milk for so long liao, and i remember your post, dont be 'tam sim', so i went to make milk.. hahahaha... if not for you, i tink i will make him dong until he next wake up and not at 5am... i very lazy hor.. hahaha..cos my idea of sleeping thru is to only wake up for feed when the sun rises mah.. so when its dark at 5am, i will still think that its nite feed.

he finished all his 200ml milk at 5am. And slept till 1030am. Woke up only an hour ago.

Then i am thinking to myself? Have i succeeded in getting him not wake up middle of night? but cant be lei. only one night of H2O nia.. gotta keep trying to know then.

If I am not mistaken, TMC has NICU (Neonatol ICU) and they are PD qualified as Neonatal specialist. My son PD is one.

But you are right, everyone has his/her own preference. As long as you are happy and feel safe with their services and facilities.

For me, I will most certainly go back to TMC. If I were to go for another hospital, it's only because I want to try out for fun :)

Hi Gemini,
So i think must be it liao. KKH one i feel la, CANNOT MAKE IT LEI. The fish smells so fishy. I think i survived on Macdonalds Fish burger (plain) with ketchup. And also roasted pork rice from the food court. Also, on the Nutella waffle from prima deli. Home cooked food is also a bit sianz.. usual mee sua and fish and rice. Haha, only get to enjoy better food when my CL arrived.

Hi Kam,

I think so TMC is one other hospital with NICU. Which PD is your son seeing? Do you have to go back to TMC for jabs and his developmental checkup?

Hi Pig:

My son is seeing Dr Keoy. Don't have to go back to TMC, but I choose to go back as I am comfortable with the environment and I quite like the PD.

Hi Kam,

No. i mean Dr Keoy has clinic outside TMC? So that you will have a choice to choose to go TMC or his clinic.

Hi Meeok,

You mean can give epi till final hours? I would love tat lei.

I think my son's weight gain has kinda of slowed down liao. What's Ethan's current weight?

My friend and relatives also couldnt believe that Kiros's weight was at 3.615kg. Cos i didnt put on much weight during pregnancy. Guess only 10kg. Mil was still complaining i didnt eaT enough and worry that my baby will be born underweight..

I have an IKEA chair, but baby doesn't quite like it, maybe bcuz there's no cushion. So i went back to my combi feeding chair, which is quite good. He is able to sit still tru out a banana or apple meal. I am trying to give my son to try pear soon.

Hi mommies, just want to pour out my woes. Yesterday, I had to rush Natalie to Children's Emergency at KKH in the evening because her buttocks were badly scared from the frequent wash & cleaning due to her diarrhea.

The doctor told me that this diarrhea virus was spread by someone and it's not salmonella. I'm so upset with my SIL because knowing her baby's condition best, she allowed her 11-month old baby to come close with Natalie. Her baby was recovering from diarrhea last week.

When Natalie poo more than usual (about 3 times a day), I suspected something was amiss but decided to monitor her condition until it became worse on Monday. So if anyone in the family has diarrhea, just be careful. The doctor says such virus is transmittable.

Hi Kam!

I totally agree with u! All babies and children grow and develop differently and we help harness e aspects they like better. As parents, we jus need to roughly know the milestones that should take place during which period of time and monitor. Some will be faster while others slower. So jus take their cues.
Even with Jaydyn, I jus let her 'dictate' her life. As in when to drink, sleep, play,etc. Somehow I feel tt she has developed her own routine.

Hi Twiggy, I bought the Ikea high chair. It's the white one. Pretty cheap (cost only $25) and good for serving its function.

However, if your baby can't sit up really well, then don't get it yet cos they can knock their head when they fall back. There's an air-blown plastic cushion you can buy, cost $9. I bought it but found it quite bulky after putting into the seat and leaves little room for baby. Get the tray too so you can put toys and leave them for a while. My daughter sits in it while I feed her or do house chores.

P.S. Tray is currently OOS at Ikea Alexandra.

Hi Jay, she's much, much better now
The cream and medication I got from KKH effective. In fact, the cream gave almost instant relieve.

It pains me to see her cry every time I clean or wash her. Yesterday during the afternoon feed, it was literally, feed-change-continue feed-change for 6 times! It's no joke.

Kam

I do like your "respect the bb's emotion and feeling" school of thot. As you said all bbs are different, and books are still applied to those norm. However, in my personal opinion, and what also my mum told me, that we should not be manipulate by bbs though it's not their intention to manipulate us. If we don't "train" them, they will "train" us to fit their schedule or routine, and we will be waking up every now and then, and let them control our routine instead. I agree that they are little people with emotions and feelings. To me personally, such emotions and feelings still needs to be controlled as they don't know yet how to control themselves.Personally, I believe in teaching my bb to fit into my schedule and not vice versa. I believed bbs' behaviors can be conditioned, and teach them to follow the schedule. My bb has been waking up at 2-3am for feed which I think he can be trained not to wake up for night feed. So far, he has been doing great after I tried to skip the night feeding. As you said, not all bbs are the same. Just do whichever methods they deem fit
and most important what you believe in that works, and not follow blindly. What works for one bb may not work for another bb

pig07
wow, if Kiros can go w/o milk for 8 hours...very good liao loh ....I also used to think that sleep thru' the night must be : they should wake up in the morning when we can see the sun .. If you are happy that Kiros can sleep thru for 8 hours then let it be... if you expect him to sleep longer then, maybe stretch him slowly.I guess they will sleep later as they grow older ...hope so .... Like for me, if Ethan can sleep thru the night for 6-7 hours, I already happy cos' he used to wake up every 3-4 hours ...I guess if Kiros used to wake up at 2 or 3am, and now he doesn't , then to me, he kind of sleep thru already (like pass thru' the 2 or 3am feed) and only wake up at 5am-6am for feed ..It depends on how you see it as sleep thru the night...maybe you want him to sleep until 8 or9am?? then consider sleep thru' the night??.

Hi ShaneDiao:

Sure, totally agree with you. If you think training your baby to follow your schedule works for you, certainly you should do that.

I am a working mum. I really don't mind if I have to wake up once at 3-4pm to feed my baby, which I did for the past months. But I think my baby pity me, so he trained himself to not to wake up until mummy wakes up :)

My baby sets his own routine. As plim pointed out, although it's not a set routine, but my baby daily activities don't vary too much. I follow closely on the milestones that he should archieve.

I put my baby at Infant care during weekdays. He eats and sleeps more while he is at the centre. During weekends, he will focus on playing and "talking" with daddy and mummy, and doesn't care much about sleeping. Only go to sleep when he is really really tired. Cute right :)

S@L: U seen the doc yet? Hope u'll get better soon. Take care. Btw, u still organising the drugstore spree? Wanna replenish the Desitin nappy cream. Do let me know when u're org one.

My boy also gets very excited when he sees me and my HB. He will laugh out loud at our little gestures. My mil was complaining saying he must be bored with her coz Eagan will usually "yin chou" her by raising a corner of his mouth then turn his head away from her. She said she played, dance and sing to him also the same. ha ha...and he wants to stay up to play with us. Last night he din want to sleep till abt 1030pm, he looked tired but simply refused to sleep and smile at his daddy. But we try not to cultivate the habit of playing with him during his sleeping hr, so refused to entertain him. So poorthing, but no choice. Always looking forward to wkends to spend quantity and quality time with him.

Hi Cactusnah,

My boy also lor. he sees me for many hours a day lor cos i am a SAHM mah. Then when my hubby returns, any little action he did will trigger my boy to laugh lor. Its laugh lor. Whereas I play monkey or what he also bo chap me. Hai, so unfair right?! hahaha.. He enjoys playing and toking to his daddy. But for me, he will only smile at me. Only tok to me when his daddy is around.

Hi shane,

I think then i am asking for too much liao. But how nice if he can only wake up when we see the sun.. haha.. imagine if he had drank at 11pm last night, for 8 hours would mean he only wake up at 7am liao.. But i am beginning to realise that it's maybe a habit, a 'bad' one for kiros. Cos he can actually finish 90ml of water not knowing is actually water and not milk. I think i must really make him fit into our schedule so that it will be easier to plan the lifestyle we want for ourselves. Else, the whole family will be busy running after him and serving his wants.