(2007/11) November MTBs

catherine,
<hugs> I'm sure you will work out something.
I've just engaged in a maid. My first EVER. So far I've only allowed her to do the housework and not the baby. I am a SAHM and my other boys are older and able to tell me if anything is wrong. I also have webcam to monitor if I'm not around. However, eventhough I have everything in place I still find it hard to leave the baby in the maid's care. I still don't trust her completely and I know that if left to her own device she will just leave the baby in his cot and go about her business. So, I totally understand your predicament about leaving the bb with a stranger. But sometimes theres really no choice.
It would probably serve you better to put your baby in infant care. At least there, you will have piece of mind for you. As for working from home, I really can't advise of anything..maybe other mummies can.
take care

Catherine, *hugs* . I know this sounds very domineering but no choice. We re the mothers, at the end of the day, we make the decision who is the caregiver for the child.

I mean look at it this way, both parents work but when the child is sick, who is the one who bring the child to see the doctor? Who is the one who take leave to bring the child for the jabs etc? Most of the time is done by the mothers.

Also, i prefer infant care than maid coz at least infant care dun dare to do funny things. Plus, u dun hv to constantly worry. Giving u a peace of mind helps to let you work properly. Men dun understand all these, to them, they just want to save trouble and $$.

Being working mothers, we do miss out on our baby's milestones. I m lucky that my Mum will call and tell me if Claire has achieved something like finally roll over and stuff etc.

Catherine, I dun like the idea of strangers handling my baby also. But sometimes we do not have much choices isn't it?

Did you explore working from home like internet biz? or giving tutions etc? If students can come to your place, tution is quite a good source of income also.

Twiggy, I cannot wear most of my clothes also. Ended up buying some as no choice, nothing to wear to work. My tummy still quite big and flabby, how to make it smaller huh? Today, someone just offered me a seat in the bus. So upset

Catherine *Hugs* I understand how you feel. I might be in the same position soon. Unless my ILs or parents are willing to come to Shanghai to help take care. We simply dun trust the Ah Yee here. Now we secured their help until next CNY. After that, we need to rethink and there is a high chance I need to go back to Singapore. Sigh...

Gemini19,
haha, thats soo funny, did u take the seat? My tummy is also very flabby..hiaz...worst still my face is soo round and I don't dare take photo cos hate the way my face looks soo fat.hehe

discipling children
Just to share with u guys an incident that happened the other day. My hubby dropped off our sons at the library. Then he saw a woman in her thirties discipling her son age around 7yrs. He saw her shout at him something like 'DIDN'T U USE YOUR EYES...!!!' Then she proceded to wallop him with slaps across his head again and again..My hubby couldn't take it and stopped his car and shouted at the woman. She got scared and panicked and ran off with the crying boy trailing behind her..then hubby saw a man with her daughter trailing behind them and he concluded that it must be the woman's husband and daughter so he also confronted the man and warned him to watch out for the boy. Really made us sad that the mother could lose control like that and hit her own child in broad daylight with blow after blow..feel soo sorry for the little boy. My hubby said he really couldn't take it and was ready to call the police on her, but she ran away and disappeared in the housing estate. How can you raise your hand on your own flesh and blood like that? I have disciplined my older sons but I try never to raise my hands on them. If I do its only a light smack on the bum/hands. I find talking to them a better solution, if I'm really mad then I shout but at least I'm not hitting them. Can't stand it when I see parents hit their kids. <sigh>

Hi Catherine,

The 'pain' of leaving yr boy to a stranger can be so great that it can probably affect yr work. So, its best to source for someone reliable.

For me, i will not leave my child to a maid..if ever possible. Between maid, nanny, infant care, my choice would be nanny first, followed by infant care then maid.

How about sourcing for a reliable nanny? like your neighbours? or even your relatives? but of course, nanny doesnt come cheap and of course they only help from like 7am-6pm sort of thing.

Plumsource, the incident u mentioned is very scary leh. I hope the boy is okay, the way u describe the lady slapped the son... Very possible to cause deafness one...

Tinkabel, there is no childcare centre in Shanghai? I think by the next CNY Matt should be old enough to enrol in one.

Wondering if this is normal and any mummies experiencing the same.

I had my first mense cycle in Feb. I was still BF-ING in Feb. This month, my mense has not arrive yet (already day 35 and i used to have regular cycle). I had already stop BF-ING for 3 weeks.

Wondering if this is normal.

Pig, the cycle will take a while to be stable. But most imptly, did u take any pills etc? It will also affect the cycle.

Hi Kaye,

Yes.. i am on slimming pills.. kekeke..

maybe its caused by that. For a moment was busy counting my ovulation day and thought i might be preg again. hahaha

Catherine ~ *hugz hugz*

it's never easy but i'm sure you'll find a way out. we are MOMs, we WILL find a way to make things work!
Jia You Jia You !

re: shopping (血拼)

like majority of moms here, i too have forgotten wat it's like to shop for myself coz auto ehad to kids' dept.

sad thg is i'm still wearing my maternity bottoms! tummy still flabby n too lazy to exercise! (lucky nobody offered me a seat on the bus, else si bei malu leh... wahaha...)

and those luxuries you mentioned (mani, pedi, facial/hair treatment...) "simi lai eh??" hee hee ... since chloe's arrival, all become quickies DIY liao coz dun hv that much time to spend on myself now. but seeing my bb every day after work, wat are those so-called luxuries man... time spend with my babe is priceless!

plumsource,
wah... i thk my blood will also boil if i see that incident! if really wana discipline our own child, beta do it at home... and even if really need to be harsh, use a cane on the buttock or hand; but definitely not slapping on the head!! very confidence damanging for the kid leh... i'm sure he will FOREVER remember how his mom treat him!!!

pig07,
hey, can't wait to have #2 liao meh? hee hee...

Hi Kittybride,

No la.. though i wish to have 1 or 2 more, having one at this time is a bit too soon..

thought of asking for opinion from this forum regarding the irregular cycle. No courage to go buy the test kit. kekeke.

pig:: HAHAHA do share the goood news if you are preggie AGAIN! wahahahaha!!! which day did you XXX! haah we can count for you see you hengheng or not! muahahaha..

twiggy:: no idea ley, i think 18months can send already? or maybe go some classes or something. better than waste time at home doing nothing with grandma hahaha... and learn to interact also good ma.

cat:: don't worry. Most of us are wking moms too. We're also gg to miss all the milestones and so on. the first times for everything, the this and the that. the thought of it makes me upset but like you said, one person's income is not gg to be able to sustain our lives. Not that you no life la. don't worry. hahaha my hubby and I have our own hobbies to feed and raise too so we have no choice - i need to work. hahaha. He needs his transformers, i need my dolls, so bo bian loh. things will work out and as soon as you know it, you're used to it already.

gemini:: Hahaha you're soo cute! did you take the seat in the end? I also still have a flabby pc around my tummy!

Cindy,

Mai la.. very scared lei.. If second one comes along i think i wont faint. its most probably my parents and the maids. I am currently staying at my parents house and will go back to my own say once or twice a week.

Ya ya.. scared of accident.. Too use to 'no need to take precaution' days when preg. haha

Catherine,
*Big hug* Totally empathise with you.
I know what you mean about having strangers take care. I feel the same, and although my maid is good with the baby, she of course will not have as much patience w him as I will because he's my baby afterall. I notice she likes to put him to sleep in the swing as much as possible so she is free to do her own things, whereas I would try to keep him awake, stimulate him etc. But can't be helped.

Infantcare does have its perks. Like you said, at least you know they can't fool around or they'll lose their license. The only reason I dare let my maid take care is coz my mum can supervise her if I ask her to. Like most mummies here, I'd be reluctant to leave the baby solely to just the maid. Try to talk it out w your hubby... I'm sure he'll place baby's happiness and safty as priority.

As for missing their milestones, yeah, a bit sad on that too. But I told myself I may miss the small milestones but as long as weekends, I spend REAL QUALITY time with him, we won't lose our bond. I want to make sure his time with me is meaningful and fun, like taking him to the zoo, the beach, playing w him etc. Having less time but more quality time is perhaps better than more time but not so quality time, I think.

Gemini,
Me too! I still have a belly even though my weight is almost back to normal. It's just flabby at the belly, dunno how to get rid. And if I dont suck it in, can still look like 4 mths pregnant kind. :p

glooomybear:: THAT IS Soooo CUTEEE!! hehehehe

pig:: hahaa yes yes! me too!! too used to the no use precaution days. sighs. somemore we never stock up on C. hahaha.. this month me also got service my hubby and now on counting, it's 2days to ovulation day! better pray hard won't kanna. hahaha.. if second one comes along i think everyone will faint lah! my new home not ready and hahaha only ready in late 2009!

Hi Twiggy and Catherine,

Yes.. if leaving the child to maid solely would mean certain thing is not within our control. Like what Twiggy mentioned, putting her son to sleep in swing so she can hve more time to do her own things.

This is similar to my relative's case. Her son was ready for solid-porridge. But it was hard to feed the child porridge for start. So what the maid did was to feed the boy milk just before porridge time and then rock him to sleep. and then claimed that the boy is full and would not want to eat porridge hence would miss the porridge feeding time.

Catherine,
I suggest you speak to your hubby again about your concerns. Housework is really secondary when it comes to baby safety and parents' peace of mind.

At the very most is get PT cleaner to help with housework over weekend. If you dont cook, the house wont get very dirty. Am sure you can work things out with your hubby.

Aiyoooo, the babies look so cute on the mag cover.

Hi Cindy,
Yes yes.. mine was like day 13 which is suppose to be 'safe' as cycle used to be 30 days..but still... hahaha..

pig:: WAH!! day 13 is not safe ley. day 13 is supposed to be making daughter day as it is before ovu by 1 to 2 days. hahaha just like for 28 day cycle, day 12 is not safe. the safe days are day 7 to 11 and day 18 onwards. hahaha

here's travis::
1321408.jpg

Wow, all the babies so cute! I must find time and do one up for my notti gal! Hehe....

Hehehe.... All never take precaution! My hubby also dun want precaution but i seriously against having #2 as an accident... So he bo bian!

Hi Cindy,

Travis so cheerful in the pic. Is that walker he is in? I am thinking of getting a walker soon. but was told to wait till 7 month as their spine not strong yet. But if we dont place them too long in the walker should be ok bah?!

Huh.. i thought for 30 day cycle, ovulation is on day 16 (30-14)? That means day 13 should be relatively safe mah.. Huh, me getting worried liao.

Hope the delay is really caused by the slimming pills and also the unstablise cycle. I really have no guts to go buy a test kit now.

pig:: hahah nopes that one is the jumperoo! hahaha
no la. 30 day is day 15 ovulation! muahahhaa... so yours is 2 days earlier. if you wanna get a daughter, should try 2 to 3 days before ovu day, so even if it's day 16, yours is 3 days earlier! hahaha!! faster go buy test kit lah! muahahaha....

Cindy,

aiyo.. you really making me worry lei.. i have got weak heart one lei.. kekeke...

Wont be so lucky bah. tried 6 months for my first one. And this time so lucky to kenna so soon? wont bah?! wont rite? wont la hor?

see next 2 days how la.. see if it reports boh. scared scared.

pig07, u never know. When u try, it doesnt happen. When you dun and relax, things happen. Usually like that. We tried 1 year plus for Matt and nothg happened. Got so disappted every mth. Then we say haiz, never mind la, just let nature take its course. Immediately we kena. haha sometimes thgs are really so funny...

plumsource / k@ye,
tat's my view too. infantcare are qualified &amp; they dun dare to do funny things, so i can have peace of mind when i leave Jovan there. hope i can convince HB

Gemini19,
i used to do freelance software programming besides having a full-time job. i could get only USD800+ within 2 months. so i might explore tat option if i really wan to be a SAHM. but i was thinking tat it could be so demanding to take care of Jovan tat i dun have time to do work at home leh. any SAHM here taking care of bb alone &amp; doing work at home? care to share ur experience?

tinkabel,
hope things will work out for u by then. maybe u can send Matt to childcare by then.

kittybride,
thanks. i really hope "boat reach bridge will be straight". haha

Cindy,
i dun have tai-tai lifestyle and i also dun have any special hobbies leh. dunno where all my $ go. aiyo...

Twiggy / pig07,
i also hope i can convince HB not to leave bb in maid's care.

All the babies are so cute with the magazine covers! Here's my bb Jovan. We shaved him 2 sundays ago, after he turned 4 months old. The we took him for his 2nd 6-in-1 jab last sat. This photo was taken on sun &amp; he was running a fever due to the jab. he discovered tat the plastic bag makes sounds when he uses his hand to hit it, so he keep moving his right hand. hahaha. his left hand is holding his favorite cushion Pinkie.
1321574.jpg

Pig, dun say i scare u... Sometimes, this kind of things will be even more zhun than 4D!

Better go and buy the test kit and check!

ahhaah tinkabel:: i used the lookalike meter i saw on YOUR blog! hehe so it came from kittybride hahaha..

cat:: how's bb jovan now? still waking up? hahaha don't worry. My travis is STILL WAKING UP! nah. i guess i'm one of the few mommies left with bb still waking up at night. hahaha...

pig:: ya loh this kind hard to say one, faster go buy kit TONIGHT!

Hehe, i also posted the look alike meter! Turns out that Claire looks more like her papa! HehehE!

Cindy, my notti gal also wakes up at night and somemore at least twice! Now, i m a panda mama!

Mee too. Kiros still waking up for nite feeds. But i am ok with it as he finished his milk pretty fast and fuss free. Tried to let him go without nite feeds, but unsuccessul. fortunately, I am not working and can wake up late in the morning while the maids take over from me. And there is my dad to oversee the maids.

I think i will go buy the kit. But probably tomorrow when i return to my own home at bukit batok. I am not so prepared la. After testing then will let you all know..

Holland! Tulips! Sorry... got carried away... I think got language problem there..... Dreamer, do u know other foreign language besides English coz i think alot of Europeans dun really speak English well? Sounds mountain tortoise here... Holland ppl speaks Dutch rite?

Pig, yup keep us informed! U also a SAHM!

tinkabell &amp; cindy,

actually i oso 'snatch' from my fren's blog on the lookalike meter... hee hee... nvr mind lah, good thgs we all share share hor.

past 2 nites my gal have been waking up early and refusing to sleep... dis mrng she oredi started doing her exercise (banging her legs on her bed) from 6am onwards then about 615am, started 'singing' non-stop. wah, hb n me o-bak-kak getting worst liao n now she wants to be carried! else, hv to sit down wif her n chit-chat; else she will start screaming away! xiao liao...

pig07, i never cal my ovu days one. mine is irregular kind. a bit difficult to estimate huh?

the babies are all so cute in the different poses. will try out mine later tonight.

between, any of your babies start teething already? did any mummies start giving your baby fruit juice?

Hi Kaye,
Yes, me SAHM.. Stopped working ever since i got married in 2006. and a year later i got pregnant.

Hi Kittybride,
Wow.. yr gal really know to manipulate you and hubby..hahaha... Somehow after the whole saga, it's still difficult to get angry with our little ones. Aiyo, once they throw you a smile, your heart will melt liao.

ya lor, esp when she gives us the sheepish smile then at the corner of her mouth, she drools... aiyoh, so geram wana pinch her cheeks!