(2007/11) November MTBs

yup, agree with S@L...

try to find other ways to get your ideas across to her if possible. i'm sure slowly she will also accept it coz every 3 hrs feed oso tiring for them n wasteful if bb can't finish the milk n hv to throw away...

cindy, why dun u try to tell ur MIL that milk that is halfway finished and left standing there will create 'wind' in their stomach and cause them to have colic (crying, wailing, etc.)? sometimes old folks do believe in things like that and i'm sure apart from wanting Travis to finish his milk, she wldn't want him to keep crying...
i also find it difficult if it were my MIL who takes care of my kids... sometimes, i bring my gal to my MIL's place, she will usually be wearing a romper, then she will always say, wear so little, will get cold and sometimes she will hiccup and my MIL will say it's bcos she's cold, need to cover her up *peng* so i let her lor... sianz... but at my house i do it my OWN way... kekeke

s@l, kitty:: yes i hope to find other ways to get msg into her asap before i go back to work. Sighs. s@l:: yes i raelly need her help, bo bian. I can ask my mom to quit her job to take care but it's just gg to make things worse.

plim:: yes she knows that it will create wind or colic but then she can't stand bb crying. so when he cries, she will quickly want to make milk for him to shut him up. i don't know how to get across to her that this will just let him have MORE bad habits!
hahaha who's taking of your kids now? Initially i already told hubby i want my mom to take care of bb but he says let his mom do it cause she's not working but sigh, i knew this would happen. Now its like 2 persons in the house, not talking unless absolute necessary. I feel so terrible! How long is this gg to continue!! each time i strike a conversation, it's either she ans me with a one word ans or nod or shakes her head. GOODNESS. i'm already trying to make things better but she doesn't want to put in effort.

cindy, aiyo, she knows then she still do it... it will probably only be through her own 'trial and error' that she knows that it is bad for her grandson...

luckily for me, it's my mum who's taking care of my kids now... she will always tell me what she do and if i find that she do it not the right way (e.g. leaving milk too long) i will tell her what it should be and she knows and will try to follow...

*hi 5* plim... my MIL oso like tat wan,,, every sunday need to go her hse *bo bian* my hubby wanz it... i gotta let gabrielle wear long sleeve despite weather is not cold... when she saw her at the doorstep 1st question she will ask is y neva cover her head??? is she cold??? halo... gabrielle oreadi sweat like mad lor... then slp on the matteress she oso wan to use a blanket to cover her n wif her long sleeve she sweat like no other business then MIL saw it n said oh she scare of hot... haiz i oreadi told her so so many time tat her granddaughter is scare of HOT...duno wat she thinking... haiz... cant complain to hubby wait he think i keep complainig abt his mum...
& re hiccup and reguiting... she keeps saying i din burg her after feed tatz y she "vomit" plz lor i pat her so long tat she slp lor n b4 tat she had a LOUD burg lor... haiz...
i dun believe giving h20 when bb hiccup n she kept saying feed her wif h2o... bo bian feed lor... lucky onli sunday at her pl or else i will mad oso...
siao liao monday is gabrielle 4th mth she cuming over to my pl n duno wat she wana do again... <<<mil>>>

Hi Cindy,

Can understand your frustration. Sometimes, having old folks around can act as help yet at same time disrupt what we wanna do and has in mind for our child.

In this case, it is really not wise to fight with yur mil since you are staying with you. It will only make your hubby in a difficult position plus you still need her help for now. Draw comfort from the fact that Travis is her grandson, she will do what is best (her definition) for him. At least you know she is the grandma and wont do things to cause hurt to him. After taking care of Travis when you return to work, i am sure she will slowly come out with a feeding pattern for Travis. Even if she didnt, take heart that our child is growing, very soon things will get better.

Yup, agree with S@l, own mother still can tell her and even if quarrel also, the next day also ok liao...

But with MIL, really have to open 1 eye, close 1 eye or even close both eyes!

Like my MIL, everytime Claire cries. She will assume she is hungry and wants us to make milk for her. If i dun give Claire milk, she made me sound as if i purposely starved her.

So now, whenever she made comments about Claire. I act blur lor. Now, i m just worried about the day that my in laws will come to stay with me.

plim:: ya lohss!!! ssighss. i can only pray that she learns from her own mistakes soon. and realises that what we say is correct. Goosh. it's easier for us if it's our own mommys taking care of the bb.

elaine:: ahahaha! hey you know, my mil and mom also say: hiccup DRINK water! but it's useless lah. even we adults when we have hicccups, drink water also useless. it'll just go away on its own but they say: aiyo, hiccup until like that, so terrible mommy still don't want to give you water. hear already also pissed. hahaha!!!

pig:: how's kiros doing after the full conversion to FM? How are you feeling? your milk ss stopped totally? yes i try my best not to fight and not to talk back now. she can say what she wants, but she's not saying anything to me, just giving me the FACE, and i can't be bothered too. yes i can only think that she will also want the best for him - even though her methods are wrong but yes, i can only take each day at a time and hope each day will be a better one than yesterday. I hope she won't screw up the pattern too much until he needs to get up more often at night.i must think positive and all will be fine.

k@ye:: when are they coming to stay wih you? how come they will come stay with you neh? yes la. each time cry they will think = milk time. then when i don't make milk, she also will sound as if: mommy want u to be hungry not me. SIckening!!!

same here, everytime when i go to my inlaw place, I dress my gal up from head to toe. Even my mum who see me dress her up like that also shake her head. I then very busy wiping off the perspiration off my gal's head. so everytime to their place, i bring lots of handky.

k@ye, I also drag of the day when they come and stay with us. you know, i have one room vacant for them to come and stay with us? my gal has no room of her own

Cindy, they won't be staying with me yet but if anything happens to them, they will be. Now, my in laws also acted as if my house is their house.

Actually, nothing wrong for them to stay with us coz my hubby is the eldest son. Its just i can't stomach the fact that they take us for granted.

hi, can i check with those mummies using Medela pumps... do the bottles for collecting milk have those silvery sparks on them? i see them (quite a bit) on the bottle itself leh... dunno if it's bcos i sterilize too many times liao? do i need to change the bottles ah?

Hi Cindy,

So far Kiros is ok with full FM. Except that his poo is still watery which got me a bit worried as i was expecting his poo not to be watery.

Me ah, still ok lor. Like having more time for myself when Kiros is sleeping unlike last time when i have to express. I stopped expressing gradually. For once, i didnt express for 48hours, and it got a bit uncomfy. So i express a few suctions and then stopped. After that, no more already. My breast is lighter (hahaha) now.

But of course, the new challenge would be feeding Kiros with water as i fear FM too heaty for him.

Yes, if your mil didnt say anything in yr presence, just act blur lor. Sigh, wont be in your favour if you quarrel with you la. They will surely say until they win one.

Btw, Kiros's eyes are like of different sizes lei. I dont know if this is common or not. especially after he wakes up from sleep, the same left eye is like smaller and sometimes red.

As for the redness, i am worried that its irritation caused by his lower eye lashes. His lower eye lashes are longer and hence seemed to be turning inside and 'sticking' onto his eyeball. I asked the PD before, she said so long no irritation then should be fine. Else gotta wait for his cheeks to be less chubby then will the lower eye lash flip out instead of in. Also, if that doesnt help, then will have to bring Kiros to the eye centre and have his lower eye lashes plucked out one by one..FAINT.

Here's a latest pic of Kiros.
His left eye seemed smaller than the right. And it happens at times only. Or probably both eyes are of different shape hence the size difference?

1309120.jpg

pig07, i simply love your Kiros! he just look so sweet and angelic with his slight smile!

actually yes, i do notice that my gal also sometimes seem to hv one eye smaller than the other leh, other times seem ok... dunno if it's normal? for Kiros case, think u juz monitor, if his eyes turn red or he keep trying to rub it then u might need to the PD to check... hmm, plucking out eyelash one by one??? *ouch* isn't that a bit cruel? and is it a sin to hv long eyelashes? *boo hoo*

Pig, wow... Pluck the eyelashes one by one??? YUCKS! Pain pain!

Its normal to have one eye bigger/smaller than the other!

Kiros is so cute! Okie, can i book him as a potential boyfriend for my Claire? hehhe!

Plim, the medela btl is it from ur elder girl's times? if yes, better discard...too long liao and i suspect the 'sparks' are crack lines lo...

hi pig07,

ur kiros really cute lah... will be a sweet boy most potential MIL will approve of!! hahaha...

my gal also eye one big one small... like daddy. sigh
cannot be 'jiang san mei ren' oredi... kekeke...

Cindy, actually if ur mum can help u, i think things will get better. At least u can say ur mum and prob can work things out cos ur mum know ur character too. If MIL, she will wan her way and if u challenge her, tats the start of the problem. believe me it will get worse, not better. cos imagine now Travis only drinks milk already so much problem. When he starts to take solids, ur MIL sure have a lot of her own 'pattern' and 'concoctions'...

Me from day 1 since i got preg already told my HB my kids will be taken care by my mum, even though MIL stays with me. I have been travelling to my mum plc to and fro 20min journey everyday (except weekends) without fail since my son was 3mths old till today Mischa's turn. alot ppl ask me why i dun like my MIL take care, so funny cos she stays with me. MY answer to them is always very simple: "cos i cannot stand the way she bring up kids (incld my hubby! ) and also i m bad tempered. Better not let her take care cos the one who suffers will be my hb cos sandwich in between. "

initially my MIL nt happy cos she insist and BELIEVES that 1st GRANDSON must be taken care by her. I ask hubby what logic is tt??? then slowly she learn to let go lioa...now sometimes i at home doing my work, will pass Mischa to her for a while...i can tell she dun enjoy and knows tt taking care of bb is not easy. she carry a while will quietly 'park' Mischa in her highchair...i m laughing in my heart......

Thank you for your compliments..

As for the eyes, the redness is not in the eye. Its around the eye area like not enough sleep that kind. Like swell but it's not. Yet sometimes there is no redness. If its not due to any irritation tat he has an eye big and an eye small, then i guess just have to accept it. It could be common jus like what you all mention.

Yes, pluck out the lashes one by one. Can't imagine that. Sometimes when i tweeze my own eye brow i am like 'ouch'.. hope he doesnt need to go thru that.

kiros is superrr cute pig!! hehe yes i also have trouble feeding him water. he totally rejects it. prebiously i could still trick him into drinking some when he's sleepy but now totally can't. sighs.

s@l:: i also want my mom to help me but hubby don't want. he says his mom is not working so why not let his mom take care since we're still staying tog? i would really much love it if it was my mom. i'll try to persuade him and get my mom to quit if she has to. sobs. the whole day today she just barely touch travis ask me take care of him myself since i so clever. I really am upset.

k@ye:: i see. don't worry lah! NOTHING will happen to them! touchwoooodddd!!

Now with the erractic weather, i think i am falling sick. head very heavy.

And to make things worse, I just realise that Kiros is having runny nose. It could have started this afternoon. Gave him the medicine which PD gave a month ago for runny nose. Really hope can stop the runny nose fast. The last round it took him like 3-4 days to recover.

pig07 do u have fair complexion? does kiros take after you. Kiros looks like Ueno's son leroy. Charming boys!

S@L, Plim I stopped using medela bottles if I can. I switch to glass bottles.

jay, another way is to bring your baby to see naturopathic medicine. they use nature therapy to treat sickness. eg use of megadose of vit for common flus / cough etc. I seriously don like to feed antibotics
I personally have not seen one. However my angmoh colleagues prefer to go than medical doctor.

S@L, opps, i realised i said medela... it's actually my Ameda pump... hehe, got confused over the 2 names...

anyway, the bottle got silver sparks mean crack ah? it still hold my milk ok leh... anyway, i never store milk it it, juz use it to collect milk, after that pour into other bottles liao... is it ok like that?

dokie, where can i get glass bottles to fit my Ameda pump?

dokie, i think those probably don't fit the Ameda pump, cos i tried the Nuk bottles b4, the screw lines are different so the bottle cannot use... i think mayb the pigeon ones also cannot...

plim, can use any standard neck btls for ameda pump. I tried to use NUK for my Ameda as well as those 'no brands' btl before and it works.

For btl tat are NOT BPA-free especially polycarbonate btls (which Ameda is), better discard once they show any sign of wear/tear.cos its believed tt they give out the harmful effect of the BPA chemicals. Even for collection milk also dun risk. And i jus realise one thing tat Ameda parts seems to be really fragile. The funnel also crack easily cos my fren changed her 2x already.

If use glass btl like what Dokiesim suggested have to be real careful cos precious BM...dun break the btl...

Dokie, jus now i bought the NUK wide neck btl for Mischa...she take to the btl so well...sucking like nvr before when she was on Avent. But the btl Damn exp!

S@L, oh, is it? i tried last time, doesn't seem to be able to screw it on well leh... weird, mayb i try again tonight...

i scared to use glass bottles.. hehe

actually the NUK wide neck btl quite good, i'm using it... i think it makes milk drinking very easy for baby cos the whole teat make it look so much like mother's breasts... and yes, it is sooo expensive!

plim, ya almost wanted to buy Pigeon wide neck jus now, but i see the shape like Avent, so maybe Mischa dun like. I agree, i think NUK looks more like mummy's nips...flattened aft latching
and much softer.

Heartpain is i have stocked up quite alot of avent btls...now she rejects them...i gotta find a buyer!

S@L, either find a buyer or u can use them to store EBM... hehe... i'm doing that!

the teats for NUK premium bottles, u buy which kind? silicone or latex?

yah S@L: I think the avent bottles are better to use for storing breast milk than the VIA cups. So prob u can keep them. I just switched Matt to all 260ML bottles, so less such bottles to store BM. Actually prefer using this for storage

Since everyone is talking abt bottles, like to ask are we suppose to change bottles every 3 months?

I am using Avent now and its said to be NOT BPA-free. Sigh.. now thinking if should change to glass bottles inside. But its very slippery leh, when baby start to hold bottles themselves, I am afraid it will slip and drop.

Happy:
My baby is like yours. My last feed is at 930pm then he will go to bed and sleep thru until 6.30am-7.30am. But these 2 nights he woke up at 4am.. dunno what he wants... Got to sit down by his bed to pat pat him to sleep.

dokie / tinkabel / skye_skye / plim / k@ye / Cindy,
thanks for supporting me. at least i can find comfort here...

tinkabel,
i also tried the "no feeding" method when there was a period time tat bb Jovan only wake up 1x at ard 4am+. i feed him warm water or let him cry to sleep. but after tat, his timing suddenly went all haywire again. my mum also disagree tat i should do tat, say baby too young to "starve". so now i dun dare to let him go hungry

tinkabel,Plim i dun raelly like to use btl to store milk cos takes so long to warm up. Furthermore if i m using NUK btl to feed from now on, then will be too troublesome to transfer from btl to btl...

my son was ok with Avent btl thruout...maybe cos he was nt BF much and doesnt latch, so the teats are ok for him. tats why i bought too much thinking Mischa can also use tt. As for Mischa i can see tt she dun like the teats cos its hard.
Plim, i bought the silicone one. i dun like latex teats, they hv a funnny smell and change to a horrible col aft a while.

sstarlight, no need to change btl every 3mths...but the teats try to change every few mth. u wan BPA free btl can try the medela B-free (3btl in 1 box) or other brands. Glass btl might be too heavy for them to hold.

I like wide neck btls cos in future when i start giving FM its easier to put the powder in. tats what i experience and why i preferred Avent btls

plim,
wah...yr gal so nimble! can reach her feet while lying down...my gal only know how to kick hard. sometimes i worry her feet will be sore.

Eliza's also taken care of my mil, i'm still quite fine altho initially there were some things we didn't agree on. ie. wearing more clothes when i think it's ok, or feeding her water when she's on TBM. it gets better over time and sometimes i give in, sometimes she gives in. i don't like Eliza watching tv and with my in-law the tv is always on...but when my mil read on the newspapers that tv not gd for bb, she tries to make sure bb don't face the tv or she doesn't turn on tv too often.
initially i was quite irritated when every time bb cries a bit they'll ask y, as if i do something wrong when i feel like it's ok tt bb cries a bit.
but i thank God she's still quite ok to live with, also my mil does the housework and cooking too...a bit paishe cos i rarely do much housework arnd.

catherine,
i also do the 'no feeding' method but when i sense that bb is really hungry i'll still feed her. once i tried water..and she got so angry she cried harder...hoho. it took me abt 3-4 weeks tho to get rid of the night feed. i read frm Gina Ford that when bb has enough for the day, don't need another milk feed at night, sometimes it could be out of habit also. tho i think some bbs might not be ready for such long stretches w/o milk yet.

my 2 cents worth of thoughts: actually i find that babies and toddlers can follow routine very well. when we dun give them milk in the night, we are not starving them and they are definitely not hungry, the reason they cry is becos their routine are being disturb. when they are in our womb, we are feeding them 24 hrs, when born, we feed them 2, 3 hrly, when they get used to certain routine that they feel comfortable and find security, we tried to adjust it again, but after they get used to the new routine they are okay again. what they want is just familiar routine which keeps them secure. If you feed them every half hour, of cos when you change it to 3 hrly, they protest. So changes had to be done gradually so that they are not so called being too disturbed. My 90 yrs old grand ma told me there is no "bad" children except "bad" adults, her meaning is that if the child is spoilt, it is not the child fault but the parents'

the younger you train or discipline the kid, the easier it is for the child to follow and without any great "disturbance" for the kid to follow cos still easy to change his routine or habit, the longer you wait, the more damages you are doing to the child.

i totally agreed that different bb should be treated differently, but unless your bb has got medical issues then personally i prefer to schedule his feedings cos if not his digestive system might be haywired and subject to more disturbance when later we tried to adjust it to the norm. eg) if i eat supper every night, for sure i need supper and if i dun eat, i cannot sleep. but alot of people can go w/o supper, they are not starving, to me as long as the bb is drinking his appropriate amount of milk in the day, he is not starving. ( weight x 150ml)

most experts said that by 3 months, most bb can sleep thru the night w/o training in the earlier months. my PD also told me that give him milk whenever he wants cos by 3rd month, he should be stable and sleeping thruout. well, personally i think depends on individual luck :) some bb do gets better but some still prefer to stick to their usual routine :)

S@L:
Thanks. Think I stick to Avent bottles for the time being cos I just bought new teats for 6 months onwards. Was thinking when to change new bottles. And you are right abt the wide necks. Its very diffcult and put powder into those normal neck bottles. And can really make a mess if you are in a hurry to get the milk quickly for baby.

Catherine:
I am also using Gina Ford method. Like Skye mentioned, you got to make sure he has enough for the day then you can drop the night feeding.
For a start, I will give him warm water,he will gradually drink lesser and lesser. After a while, I drop the warm water. Just pat pat him to sleep, sometimes I use pacifer.

Also giving 1-2 ounce at the last feed also helps to prolong his waking at night. Hope this helps.

Hi Dokie,

Yes, I used to be very fair as a kid. Kiros probably takes after me in terms of his looks more than his dad.

Hi Catherine,

Dont give up on Bf-ing just because someone else told you to do so. I stop giving BM to kiros is also based on my decision. Nothing to do with anoTher person's idea. I Suppose your hubby didnt want you to be so 'xin ku' hence he asked you to give up on BF-ing.

If your goal is to BF for at least 6 months, then just hang in there. you are almost there. Jia You Jia You.

Pig07, ya agree that we are 'almost' there. how time flies...once we cross the hurdle of 6mths into BF, it will be pretty smooth for the rest of the yr if we intend to BF 1 yr. So hang in there mummies!
I told myself if i can hit the 6mths target in TBF to me is a very good achievement already considering that I NEVER TBF my son last time.

Once Mischa starts taking solids, the demand for milk will be lesser, so i guess it will be an easier road by then..no need to keep pumping and trying to inc supply whenever it drops

Anyone going to the Baby Fair? Hiaz. i wanna go but hb is not keen and prefers to go on a weekday.but its only Fri-Sunday right.

Re: Baby's routine
Yah I do agree with Happy that it is important to put the baby into a routine. I had a gathering with the spore mummies in Shanghai just 3 days ago. They were so amazed throughout the 3-4 hours I was there, I never fed Matt (I fed him just before we left). So I told them Matt's on a 4 hrly feed in the day and sleeps through. I just gave him more the 1st and last feed to help him feel full. As I give Matt EBM 100%, I also know when he should feel hungry or not. Also Matt usually poos immediately after a feed, so when I go out for 3-4 hours, I also dun hv to bring a change of diapers.

The mummies all commented that demand feeding really takes a toil on the mummies. By putting the baby into a routine, it's just so much easier to handle.

pig07:
So glad for u. Kiros takes after you haha. Everyone that sees Matt's photo says he looks like a mould of Daddy. Mummy so sad... Haiz, then his eyes are like Daddy, no double eyelids. At 1st, I thought he's still small, cannot see yet. But then I saw that Kiros has double eyelids, I know Matt doesnt have. So must be like Daddy...

Re: Avent bottles
Just to share, Pigeon teats (for wide neck bottles) can fit Avent bottles, they are much softer. I've changed all my Avent teats to Pigeon teats already. Maybe you'll like to try before replacing the bottles, cos Avent bottles are so expensive.

Just to share with you about the Little Touch Leadpad. Not sure if you know, but the Taka baby fair is selling it with a Tote bag at total cost of $89. (usual price is $138 with the Tote bag). Quite a good deal