(2007/11) November MTBs

cindy,
my PIL passed away long time ago when my HB was still young.

baby40,
thanks for ur info. i fully understand how u feel. tat time when my mother said she dun wan to take care of my baby, i cried for 3hrs till my eyes all swollen! on tat same day, i saw a taiwan news abt a 8 month old baby who died at his nanny's place. the nanny din call ambulance or do anything when she found the baby dead. (cause of death was unknown). When the parents came to fetch the baby at the end of the day, the baby was already starting to show signs of decaying! after seeing this news, i cried again! then now recently there's these 2 news of baby who died in the hands of maid or being abused by maid. i really dun trust outsiders to take care of my baby. i told my HB i would rather quit my job to be a SAHM alto i know i'll go crazy facing baby 24x7.

grace,
still not cfm abt sending jovan to infant care. i still hope my mother can take care of baby.

RE: cradle cap
if i rem correctly, Mrs Wong from TMC said can use cooking olive oil to remove cradle cap. she said dun use cosmetic type. skye_skye, wat did ur PD say abt using olive oil meant for cooking?

morning mummies. Happy Valentine's Day!

happy,
thanks for the info. mine have it at the eyebrown last time, it jus recover without applying anything. but the head still have and we joke that it looks like mud... hehe

happy
did you mean Lactacyd? If that's the one i have it but my gal seems to be sensitive to it coz i realise her rashes flare up on her face after i bathe her.

langlao
thanks, prob i try Avent see if it works for her.

summer,

yes it is Lactacyn, white tall bottle with green and blue strips, feminime wash is pink and blue strips, i dun use it on my bb face only a squeeue into the bath water for hair and body. you mean you use it on body and face got rashes? currently what are you using? if bb is okay, then better continue, another product i am going to use when my bb can sit is california bb calming shampoo and body wash but that needs to be rinse off.

Re: cradle cap
I just left the baby oil overnight and comb this morning and shampoo off. Seems tat it works and most are gone. I will do one more time tonight and hopefully all will clear up. thks for the advice.

jules,

personally i dun believe in letting the bb sleeps in noisy area just becos you want the bb to get used to noise. what if your bb turns out that without noise, he or she cannot sleep, are we going to make noise for bb to sleep at night if the theory is to let bb get used to sleep with noise :)Imagine if you are sleeping, would you want to have lots of noise and even if you can sleep with the noise, you might not have a fitful sleep too.

no need to purposely move hse or block out all the noise but i will try to reduce noise level for bb as much as possible. maybe bring him to the room and close the door, reduce the TV volume etc...

happy,
thanks for sharing your experience
currently my mum takes care of my boy in the night cos' i'm already back at work. she dun believe in starving the boy, so whenever he makes a little noise, she will jump out from bed and make milk for him though I told her to leave him alone till he really cry out loud. I guess she doesn't want him to scream in the middle of the night to disturb our beauty sleep bah. Now seems like he wakes up at 3am and then 6.30am for milk..if I wanna train him (eg. drag his milk time for the 3am feed), then I will be panda liao..Haha..

Tinkabel, it works right?
i notice sometimes PD alwasy like to say this no need, that no need. even my son's PD . always ask us to leave things alone...sometimes i wonder if there is a faster solution, why nt do it? so i chose to play by ear and judge by myself sometimes.

I realise the cardle cap at the brows can be removed easily by using the calendula cream. but those on the scalp tend to be more waxy and dry. so theory is to soak it with oil so it doesnt cling onto the scalp. actually have to do it till the cradle cap totally disappear. cos i was alittle lazy and cos during CNY i didnt wan her hair to look oily all the time stopped doing it for a while.now realise the cradle cap has come bk!

happy, thanks for advice! Was a struggle for me cos can't tell in-law to lower their volume when they talking. So no choice. Lately, I decided to stay home & try. I now put BB to sleep on my bed and leave the window slightly ajar so she get used to some noise from surrounding. She can sleep for about 1 hour plus lor. Hopefully, it'll continue this way. Also, I'm now a bit more confident handling her alone at home. I forgot how I took care of my son 8 years ago!

Mommies, our BBs are coming to 4 months. Are you starting to intro cereal in milk? My mom says 4 months can drink cereal with milk already.

skye, I am sorry. I forgot sending out your clothes. peh seh.
I do it by this week . started work this week and really mad rush every day. Late for work and leave early.
baby milk intake dropped because he prefers direct feed. haiz...difficult time!

Jules,
i was so angry with my MIL yday! I tried to make my gal sleep and it happened a few times when the moment i put her down, less than 5 min, MIL will talk very loudly and wake my gal up!

i was so angry and told her off. of course she nt happy, but i told hb lets be fair. she knows bb is sleeping, so should reduce the noise at hm. she can scream over the phone with all the aunties till my son even woke up one night. So much for being considerate!

S@L, same same leh. Can totally understand how you feel but don't dare to tell my in-laws cos then they'll think I'm so fussy. Can be very frustrating lor. For me, my girl sleeps in sarong at in-laws. It doesn't help that there's construction nearby. I can accept that but internal noise... Each time she falls asleep, she'll be awaken by noise from kitchen, neighbor, phone ring, talking. Sigh...

HAllo ladies!

Very sianz and stressed.... Now i got to look for a maid to look after Claire. When i withdraw Claire from the infant care centre, the arrangement was a family fren going to my Mum's pl everyday to assist my Mum like washing her diapers, help to rock her to sleep etcc...

Guess what, the family fren quit due to her health problem and mabbe low salary. Now, i super stressed.... How to find a helper within such a short frame of time? I told my Mum that i need time to find a maid even if i dun find a maid, i quit my job... I still need 2 months notice...

I felt a lump @ my armpit and is quite painful. Asked my hubby to see and compare, he said the surrounding area swells up between the 2 armpits. Should i go and see doctor or shall i monitor 1st?
I did not bf my gal at all and i took medi to stop my bm. It should not be a blocked duct, rite?

S@L: You mean need to keep doing it? Now matt's scalp is quite ok already, but appears to be a bit red, so I was thinking of leaving it alone for 1-2 days. So have to keep doing for how long?

RE: decreasing milk intake
wow, seems like most of the babies here are drinking above 150ml per feed. my gal's drinking pattern seems to go the opposite way; she's drinking lesser than 120ml FM now. sometimes can't even finish and will push the bottle out when she had about 80-90ml.

worst part i realized is that she is also drinking less frequently. these couple of nites she is able to sleep through but the 1st nite, she actually slept 10hrs w/out waking! when she finally woke up, wat a wailing good time we had at 5am... coz she was too hungry liao :p

yesterday she had her 3mth jab n end up she was more interested to zzz than drink her milk. things with baby's patterns have really gone haywired at home!

kittybride,
my bb same as yours. Matt's taking 125ml these days. But always cannot finish. And for 2 nights in a row, went to sleep before hvg his last feed at 7plus. I thinking of giving him more, but dun think he can stomach so much at one go.

my baby Jovan turns 3 months old today on valentine's day

poissons,
u r so lucky tat ur mum can take care of ur bb at night. who takes care of ur bb during the day? hahaha i'm already a panda during my ML. but at least i could take naps during the day. now tat i have started work, i still gotta take care of bbjovan at nite. so tiring... yday nite jovan woke up at 2am for milk & wanted to play till 4am & cried for milk again. i'm now a zombie. no mood to celebrate V day at all.

where does ur babies sleep? mine sleeps in his own cot in his own room. i have been "chased out" of the MBR & i now sleep in baby room. AND my HB v jialat leh. he sleeps in MBR with doors closed (bb room door also closed), alone on queen-size bed, no need to take care of bb at nite, wakes up much later than me, sleep abt same time as me. but he always keep complaining tat he v tired... *pengz*

jules,
my mother also told me can add cereal into milk when he's 4 months old. another month to go! btw, BM can also add cereal? wat type of cereal huh? sorry i blur mummy.

Catherine,
my mum stays at my place during the wkdays (go home on fri nights and come back on sun nights) and takes care of my boy. i wanted to do the night feeds but she thinks that it will be too tedious for me since I need to work on the following day (mummy being mummy), so currently my boy sleeps in the same room as her, only wkend then sleeps with us in the MBR. I know it's quite tiring for my mum, so what me and my hubby usually do is to get home the soonest after work and then change "shift" with her so that she can have some rest, eat dinner and watch dinner while I do the feeding and pat baby to sleep. Sigh..really not easy lor..wonder how's things gonna be like when I start travelling for my work.

Tinkabel,

Since baby Matt has already taken the 3rd jab, how is he now? Did he develop any fever (touchwood!) so far? I'm bringing baby garreth for his jab next tue, dunno how's he gonna react after the jab..getting abit worried.

hi Yokonori,
i've been following tis thread closely but didn't participate. I was having my 2nd baby on end Oct last yr.

i got a question regarding maid which needs ur advise. i was having a Indo maid for 6 mths. As the elderly at home keep nagging on her (coz she can't really meet their expectation, though she is very caring on kids), i decided to take a phil maid. As the Indo maid's agency doesn't hav much choice and require us to top up quite a lot of money for phil maid, we get another agency to help. We got a phil maid almost immediately after interview her. As that was during CNY time and the old Indo maid's agency onli wan to receive maid after CNY, we hav to get 2 maids for abt 2 wks. So, we've sent the new phil maid to my aunty's house at the mean time in order not to let the old Indo maid aware.

However, just at the 2nd day of phil maid at my uncle's house, she had conflict w them. So, out of no choice, we sent her back (coz elderly even won't wan somebody who'll hav conflict w close relatives). My question now is:

The new phil maid agency has told us they'll refund the loan balance that we hav paid (just take what ever pro-rated salary the maid suppose to get), and we can go to the agency to choose for a replacemnet FOC (no need to pay for any insurance)in 3 months. Since now the elderly are saying it's better to hav the old Indo maid rather than taking risk of having new maid after the incident, we w not consider to hav anymore new maid. I know agency won't refund us the agent fee. But, can we transfer the 'right' of FOC replacement to another person? ie: can the agency process a new maid for someone else, can treat that as my replacement, then refund me a portion of the money?

Thanks for reading. i very long winded

Jules/Happy
I also agree that we should not let bb sleep in noisy places jus like we adults also dun want to sleep with Tv on or be disturbed by loud noises. My mil's theory is babies are not afraid of loud noises. So when she's at my house, she will not lower the TV volume or her tone of talking. But it's really hard to tell her to soften the volume coz has this theory that babies are not afraid of noises.

Happy
i am using just water to bathe her now over the weekends. at mum's place she is using Mothercare's range.

sorry I have not been posting for so long. but I have been reading this thread whenever I have the time, though.
Can someone add me in the facebook link and msn to join u mummies? [email protected]

My baby is not drinking well lately too. Am wondering if it is teat problem. He is using the 0-6month medium flow NUK teat. Anybody using this? Or should I change to bigger hole?

1) tweety- baby Luis - 6.01kg on FM anud BM
2) grace - baby Ash - 6.5kg on BM
3) rast- baby Jadon-5.6kg on FM (12wks 3days)
4) Jules - baby Natalie - 6.18 on FM
5) Kaye - baby Claire - 6kg on FM (3mth 1 week++)
6) Ueno - baby Leroy - 6kg on BM (3mth 1 week++)
7)Poissons - baby Garreth - 6.5kg on FM (2 mths 2 wks) Gosh! I think he is overweight!!
8) baby40 - baby Nicole : 5.1kg on BM (11weeks)
9) michviv - baby Ethan: 8kg on BM (12 weeks)
10) Plim - baby Bevis - 5.2kg on BM (11weeks)
11) Tinkabel - baby matthias - 6.07kg on BM (2 mths 3 weeks and 6 days)
12) S@L - baby Mischa - 6.9kg on BM (2mth 3wks)
13) Yami - baby Kaelyn - 6.6kg on FM (3mths)
14) Superhappymum - baby YongWei - 6.9kg on BM & FM (3 months )
15) Beloved_daughter-baby Matthias - 6.5kg on FM & BM (3months 1wks)
16) Skyeskye - baby Eliza - 5.9kg on BM (9wks)
17) Catherine - baby Jovan - 6.7kg on BM (mostly) & FM (bedtime) (2mths 2wks 4days)
18) Cindy - baby travis - 6kg on FM and BM (13 weeks)
19) fanny - baby cayenne - 5.5kg on FM (10 wks)
20) Jadefeet - baby Ethan =- 7 kg on FM (10 wks 4 days)
21) Sowie - baby Jaeanne - 7kg on BM (2mths 1wk)
22) Joey - baby Javier - 6kg on BM (11weeks)
23) Adelinechew - baby Amber - 7.1kg on FM ( 3mths )
24) yoko - baby Jordan - 6.78kg on FM (3mths and 2 days)
25) winwin - baby carrie - 5.6kg o FM (3 months)
26) efynn - baby xuan - 7.3kg on BM & FM (3 mth)
27) nov1mom - baby tailoong - 6.35 kg on BM & FM (3mths)
28) gemini19 - baby ying ching - 6.9 kg on FM (3 mths)
29) fushiastar - baby Luke - 6.1 kg on BM (10wks)
30) dokiesim - baby brayden - 7 kg on BM (3 mths)
31) Queenaire - baby Darius - 7.1kg on FM (3 mths + 1 week)

catherine,
hopefully everything works out and your mum can look after. Ash also sleeps in her own room but i never on the aircon lah, so open door with fan. i sleep in the MBR with aircon on, we got ourselves a baby monitor loh. so if she screams, i will get up and look at her. my hubby best best, baby screams on baby monitor, he also cannot hear. can sleep thru one.

only the first 2 weeks after cl left, we slept with her in her bedroom...after that its her alone.

olive,
u around?? i going to look see 2 infant care centres tomorrow.

Catherine,

I'm also the same as you, sleep in baby's room while hubby gets the mstr bdrm all to himself! Its ok for me cos I'm SAHM and hubby wakes up early for work so he does need his rest. I will be making a move back to the mstr bdrm soon though and taking baby with me, maybe we will push hubby into spare room instead!

Baby40,
sorry for late reply to your sms, I was thinking of lunch or coffee next week. Are you free? We can meet up at parkway for coffee session to exchange tips and advice and general chit chat
. Anyone is welcome to join us if you are in the area!
Also, its better for me if we meet in the morning, cos i got to get home for my boys before 2.30pm :p

langlao3,
nopz..haven't shave Eliza's hair yet. will only do so when she's 4 mths old. but just rubbed olive oil, left it for a while and combed it out. after 4 days of good 'combing' it's all clear.
tho i suspect some cradle cap might 'grow' back

catherine
gosh..i didn't remember wat my PD say about using cooking oil. she prescribed olive oil instead. it's $5 tho :7 and expires in april. gee..mayb i could have really used the cooking oilve oil

dokie,
it's okies
as long as i know the clothes didn't get lost in the mail can le! jiayous with your work! not easy juggling...i feel like i feed my bb 730am feed when she wakes up then go off to work, come home and send her off for bedtime liao. then i gotta pump, eat, bathe etc. so miss her.

re: drinking less milk
Eliza has been drinking abt 100-130ml since she was like 5 weeks old..still can only drink that much now. tho i can't imagine her drinking 150ml or more like many babies here do, i'm hoping that by increasing her intake in the day, she'll be full and sleep thru the night..so far still need to wake up once to drink.

tinkabel,

yup, it's kinda strange lor coz these few nites BB Chloe managed to sleep thru. My HB so scared she too hungry so 2nd nite woke her up for milk, but she can only drink like 60ml then zonked out liao.

Catherine,
my bb sleep in her own cot in our MBR. so far quite lucky coz day time she's in the other room n napping in yaolan; coz some babies i heard some babies can't sleep w/out yaolan.

Poissons,
my baby just had her jab yesterday.
so far a bit high temperature but still not so critical and no nid to take medication.

I think its alright for babies to sleep. The elders told me that its better for babies to sleep as they will "grow meat" (Literal chinese translation)

Which i believe is true coz Claire dun have enough sleep and she gets very cranky easily. In fact, she kept on having nightmares or will woke up crying....

1) tweety- baby Luis - 6.01kg on FM anud BM
2) grace - baby Ash - 6.5kg on BM
3) rast- baby Jadon-5.6kg on FM (12wks 3days)
4) Jules - baby Natalie - 6.18 on FM
5) Kaye - baby Claire - 6kg on FM (3mth 1 week++)
6) Ueno - baby Leroy - 6kg on BM (3mth 1 week++)
7)Poissons - baby Garreth - 6.5kg on FM (2 mths 2 wks) Gosh! I think he is overweight!!
8) baby40 - baby Nicole : 5.1kg on BM (11weeks)
9) michviv - baby Ethan: 8kg on BM (12 weeks)
10) Plim - baby Bevis - 5.2kg on BM (11weeks)
11) Tinkabel - baby matthias - 6.07kg on BM (2 mths 3 weeks and 6 days)
12) S@L - baby Mischa - 6.9kg on BM (2mth 3wks)
13) Yami - baby Kaelyn - 6.6kg on FM (3mths)
14) Superhappymum - baby YongWei - 6.9kg on BM & FM (3 months )
15) Beloved_daughter-baby Matthias - 6.5kg on FM & BM (3months 1wks)
16) Skyeskye - baby Eliza - 5.9kg on BM (9wks)
17) Catherine - baby Jovan - 6.7kg on BM (mostly) & FM (bedtime) (2mths 2wks 4days)
18) Cindy - baby travis - 6kg on FM and BM (13 weeks)
19) fanny - baby cayenne - 5.5kg on FM (10 wks)
20) Jadefeet - baby Ethan =- 7 kg on FM (10 wks 4 days)
21) Sowie - baby Jaeanne - 7kg on BM (2mths 1wk)
22) Joey - baby Javier - 6kg on BM (11weeks)
23) Adelinechew - baby Amber - 7.1kg on FM ( 3mths )
24) yoko - baby Jordan - 6.78kg on FM (3mths and 2 days)
25) winwin - baby carrie - 5.6kg o FM (3 months)
26) efynn - baby xuan - 7.3kg on BM & FM (3 mth)
27) nov1mom - baby tailoong - 6.35 kg on BM & FM (3mths)
28) gemini19 - baby ying ching - 6.9 kg on FM (3 mths)
29) fushiastar - baby Luke - 6.1 kg on BM (10wks)
30) dokiesim - baby brayden - 7 kg on BM (3 mths)
31) Queenaire - baby Darius - 7.1kg on FM (3 mths + 1 week)
32) lazykat - baby Zee Yann - 6.2kg on BM, now FM (3mths 1wk)

My gal also juz had her 2nd 6-in-1 jab & rotavirus today, hope she din develop a fever! But from last experience, she will be lethargic,hence Zzz which may not be bad since she is also "alert and active" on most days!

poissons,
mine took the 3rd jab and rotavirus. Got one more oral dosage. So many until I also get confused. Anyways I just follow the list in the booklet. Matt took the jabs 3 days ago. He is ok, no fever. But just a bit loss of appetite, so eating lesser and sleeping more.

Been putting Matt to sleep at around 8pm for a week plus now. But today I went out with hubby for a movie and came back, MIL says bb dun want to sleep. but then I put him to sleep in 20 mins. Sigh, was telling my hubby next time i must come home punctually to put bb to sleep. Seems pretty challenging since both me and hubby never knock off on time. Haiz...

Tinkabel,
Rotavirus jab must be taken at 3rd month? Aiyo..one shot take so many jabs so poor thing hor..btw how much was the total bill? Issit that Rotavirus got 2 jabs? So many jabs I also blur. I dun mind my boy drinking less and sleeping more..haha..then my mum can rest more in the day.

poissons,
we checked with dr ngiam. Rotavirus - 2 dosages, taken before 6 months. So matt took 2 jabs, one in right thigh, the other in left. Then took an oral dosage. Bill came close to $400, including some normal flu, fever, etc to bring over to Shanghai.

Tinkabel,
Ok, thanks for the info..now I know what to expect next wk when his turn comes. So you ready to bring Matt back to Shanghai? WHo's gonna take care of him when you go back to work? I understand what you mean abt the challenging part on knocking off on time...I used to work late too but now, I will bring back the neccessary work back home, take my dinner and shower, feed the baby, pat him to sleep then continue to do my work at home...sigh..so stressful!

poissons:
Yah been spending my last few days with him this week. We are leaving next Monday on the 5pm flight. My parents in law are coming with us to help for 3 mths. Then decide if we want to hire local nanny. if not, my mum agreed to come next. Hopefully we will hv things work out, if not, we got to come back to Singapore. Somemore, I need to go back to work immediately cos I dragged my leave very long already. Think going to be a stressful week next week. Hopefully everything will work out. Yah I think I will hv to do the same as u, put him to sleep before starting 2nd shift at home.

tinkabel,
did u brush/comb too hard? if a little red maybe udo alternate days. Cos for Mischa i stopped doing for ard 4-5days cos of CNY, i noticed the tiny pcs which i didnt manage to remove the other time 'grew' to a bigger patch...so have to keep monitoring and remove even the small traces.
and i do notice tt those areas where it has been totally removed are really clear now.

Hi Queenaire, I was using Nuk small hole when BB was newborn but when she was about 6 weeks plus I changed to medium hole. The flow was too slow for her & she usually don't finish her milk cos lazy to suck. So recently I changed all the teats to Pigeon (premium one). It's pretty good. I use Y. Maybe you can try.

Cath, I haven't check out the brands at supermarket yet but I suppose can buy Nestle cereal. I remember my MIL start feeding my son porridge at 4 months. Is it too early? Not sure if any Mommies here have same previous experience. Otherwise, will just starting adding a bit cereal into milk when BB turn 4 months

hi fanny

i hv a lump on my right breast just below the armpit since xmas after i took the pill to stop bm as i had high fever n engorgement. saw my PD in Jan and he told me to lv it alone. It is now smaller but still thr. I'll see gynae nx fri again n see wat he says.

re: lump in armpit
i rem in the 1st or 2nd wk after delivery, i also faced engorgement and had lumps under my armpit. The massage lady said it's due to the engorgement, it's quite bad tat it created lumps even under the armpit, so after i keep pumping and massaging, the lumps went away after a few days...

so fast can feed bb cereal ah? my elder gal, i waited till 6 mths before i fed her cereal leh... i think for these solids, must wait till their head stable (won't wobble) then can feed right?

S@L: Yah think so. But those just above forehead is really stubborn and got quite a bit there. I did 3 times last time and noted most gone except for the forehead part which I dun really dare to remove. Then the forehead part grow even more. This time i soak over night and kan kan comb off. Will check tom and see how

langlao, i jus read in some books on weaning tt we are suppose to intro rice cereal as the 1st solid food rather than fruits as they can cause diarrhoa in bb if intro too early.

actually the later we intro solids is better cos bb will be less prone to asthma, allergies from food. I intro rice cereals to my son at 5mths and later added cereals to his milk feeds at 8 mths.

this time i hope can drag Mischa's weaning to 6mths so tt she is exclusively on BM for 6mths. Unless she show signs of wanting to wean earlier then i prob will take her cues.

Tinkabel, i use my fingers to massage the oil into the cradle caps first then soak overnight. while washing her hair i also use my fingers to gently rub the cradle cap and when i rinse can see a fair bit coming out.

Ladies, any idea when baby starts teething?

I suspect Claire is teething... She wakes up more in the nite, drinks less and likes to bite the teats... But isit too early for a soon to be 4 mths old baby to be teething?

poissons,

lucky you to have mum to take care in the night :) i dun have so i told myself that if i want to sleep well after i go back to work, i have to suffer the first few weeks while i am still on maternity so after bb turns 2,3 weeks, i started training him, luckily he responded quite well and by 6 weeks he sleeps thru the night, maybe my boy knows that mummy and daddy will get migraine if we dun have enough sleep in the night lor :) so even daytime when he gets cranky or wants to be carried all the time, we give in, sort of a reward for him :) but recently, he is less cranky than before, i think this is wat people say will get better and better, he more or less fall into a routine, once in a while will be more cranky becos of not enough sleep or difficulty falling asleep in the day, else quite stable. However these 2, 3 days, when his milk left about 30ml, he started to use his tongue to push out the teats, refused to drink anymore and started to play and smile at us, maybe like other babies here, he is reducing his milk intake?

agree with s@l, think we can only start to intro solids best from 6 mths onwards. you can check with PD to be sure. hehe

s@l:: how to add cereals into his milk feeds? hahaa those type of nestum cereals ma?

kaye:: haha travis is behaving EXACTLY like claire. when i thought he already is waking up once, he is waking up 2x in the night for the past 2 nights and bitig his FIST. these days he must suck his thumb to go to bed. when accidentally dislodged, scream like mad. AIyaya. I think teething ard 5 to 6mths?

jules, S@L,

understand your situation, whether with MIL or even own mother who can be very stubborn and refuses to barge on newer method of raising kids. My mom keeps having conflicts with my sis becos of the differences in raising my nephew so i was already prepared that it will happened to me, but luckily my nephew already 2 years so this 2 years, more or less my mom mellowed down to accept our so called "troublesome, new" methods and before i had my boy, i kept telling my sis to communicate properly to her and be patience rather than throw temper and made everyone unhappy, easier said than done, now it is my turn.

my parents have slight ear problems due to old age and can't hear well so the TV vol is very very high and they talk loud too( hokkien mah) if i tell them to lower vol, my dad will reprimand and say, too loud is it? you take care yourself lor! so i learn to communicate with you differently, if too loud and bb wakes up, i will carry my bb to them and walk and rock my bb infront of them, then they will said, bb wakes up so fast, dun want to sleep then i will say, he is very naughty, a bit of noise only wakes up, very very light sleeper., then continue to rock, when finally sleep, i will go to them and show them my tired face and pretend to massage my arms in front of them and say, my god so difficult and tired to make him sleep, later if he wakes up again, your turn hor or whoever wakes him up have to take responsibility to make him sleep again ( all these say in a joking and pitiful method)but if bb really wakes up again, gently beg them to help to make bb sleep and if bb sleep, praise them that they are so good and capable, can make bb sleep ( and of cos they would not want anyone to make noise and waste their own effort to wakes the bb up), no need to argue with them, after a while, they will automatically lower their volume :)i still having a hard time to tell my mom to do things my method but parents or parents in law are definitely any time better than maids or infant care :)