(2007/11) November MTBs

Re Jabs
My PD mentioned that she feels that pneumoccocal is more impt than rotavirus. But if my baby is not going to infant care yet, I can wait till 6 months or 1 year old then start.

BTW, do you ladies remember/know how much your PD charging u? Mine charging $99 per dose for rotavirus (2 dose needed) and $169 per jab for pnuemococcal (2 jabs needed if start at 1 yr old)

re: Gathering
MIL and hubby dun allow me to take baby out on my own.
I am also not confident actually. wanted to join and put a face to the mummies in the forum. Next time then...hopefully this forum remain active.

hello ladies
i have been really bz the past few days so have not been logging in. My gal is super, super cranky during the day but the good part is she sleeps thru the night now.

can't join u gals on th 23rd..
i'm going to start work on th 24th, so most likely the day before i will be bz preparing lesson. argh...

sabrina, when u mean sleeps thru the nite, does yr gal sleeps well fr 7pm? Mine sleeps well in the morning & afternoon, after 7am/11am/3pm feed, but starts to throw tantrum comes 7pm feed.. wondering why. So ended up she sleeps like our adult timing, 11pm/midnight thru morning 7am...

ueno,
i registered MSN with my yahoo acct. it does work.

tweety, thanks ... hehehe

sabrina & lazykat,
u are so fortunate to have baby sleep thru the nite. my baby still wakes up every 2hrs at nite. how to make him sleep thru? i'm getting desperate coz my body going to breakdown soon. Plus i'm going back to work soon. cannot tahan anymore. HELP PLEASE.

plim, s@l n starz, tried a btl of FM just ow n phew!! thank goodness he drank it after some resistance n spitting out.. tonight I'll try again haha..

catherine:: my boy also still wakes up 2 to 3 hrly. like what s@l said before, think its the bb pattern too. my boy is definitely a light sleeper. wakes at any bit of noise.. how often u feeding bb in the day? the rationale is to fill him up daytime so he won't get up in the night for food. but doesn't work for me though i feed 2 to 3 hrly..

n ladies, i doubt i can join u all too, hb said too dangerous to travel alone. sigh. MIL says no too. ah!

Cindy, i feed my baby every 2-3hrs during the day too. he can take 80-110ml EBM. he can sleep 7pm-7am but he still wakes up for milk every 2hrs during this time. sometimes he wakes up after only abt 1hr+
it's so tiring. i wonder if it's b/c he likes to latch so he wakes up at nite? OR is it b/c he is not fed enuff for his weight(he's 5.6kg at 6 weeks) during the day? it's so puzzling... *sigh*

catherine: hahah baby jovan has the same habit as my monster i can see. last night he woke up at 1, 330, and 5am. i am also almost dying already. the worst thing is.... i don't know how his body works, POOs at night! it's those big poo so i can't ignore... like last night, after 330 feed, he pooed at 4am and another at 630am. how to sleep like that? hahah. i don't think he's not being fed enough, i think it's just his sleeping pattern. my colleagues have kids who wake up at night all the way till 1 yr plus. so i guess our bb belong to that waking up category. I even went to buy the good babysafe mattress for him cause i thought its his mattress not good. but end up still the same.

Yami, ur PD charges for the rotavirus & pneccoumal are cheaper than mine by $1-$2...

Fattymum, no need for such shots if u re not sending your baby to the infant care centre. I sent my gal to the infant care centre and I got no choice but to let her take such shots!

Yami, must tell your MIL & hubby that u have to learn how to bring your baby out by yourself.

In my case, the infant care centre is at least 20 mins walk away from my parents' place. I also bring her all alone by myself to there. Sometimes, if i m lazy, i will just take a bus there.

I realised i can;t always depend on others when it comes to bringing babies out. Usually, ppl are kind to me when they see me alone with a baby & a stroller. It is always good to have another person around when bringing baby out!

Re: Sleeping Habits

My baby is on US timing iniitally but she is getting better now. Now, she can sleep thru the night and wakes up bet 5-7am for her 1st morning feed.

I tried many methods to get her sleep and realised, must let her stick to a routinue. Meaning whether she sleeps or not, just bring the baby to her bed. After a while, she will know that this is the place for sleeping.

Also, dun play with her or talk to her... Just sing lullaby or tell her to sleep. Remember to keep the room dark, its ok to have a small bed light.

hi pig07,

wow, so fast thinking ahead liao huh? :p
i wanted to have a little mickey but due to c-sect, hv to wait lor...
maybe a little moo moo or bunny companion for my piggie... hee hee...

hi kittybride,

haha.. ya, i tinking quick quick get it done and close shop at 2nd one. i tinking of a moo moo.. bunny or dragon will be nice but too 'far' for me..my hubby is 33 this year and i am 29.

Yoko and Lazykat,
Seems like taking the medication to stop BF will cause engorgement and fever for two days. Not sure I can afford to be in pain for two days coz I have no help to look after baby. Maybe I should stop BF gradually instead of taking the meds? Will the BM supply disappear in 2 days?

Elaine,
I think putting ice on it will help the swelling and pain. But you will need to express the milk out to relieve the engorgement. If you can't relieve the engorgmentment, contact my lactation consultation who can do a massage for you to express the milk out. Pm me for her contact.

Yoko,
Sorry I didnt get your pm again. Thanks for the contact for your dr.

I am a new Nov 07 mummy, introduced to this thread by Sabrina.

Am starting work next week, hope that have chance to login then..

k@ye, if ur PD charge abt the same then i guess PD charges are pretty standard. I prefer to let my PD do the immunization cos she is v gentle.

re: bringing child out alone
My MIL will blame me if baby catch cold or anything. there was once when i attended a funeral and when i came home, baby started crying. And she blamed me immediately. i told her baby might be hungry she insisted i am the culprit for bring 'evil spirits' back home. scolded me till i cry. so i decided not to defy her too much lor.
it's frustrating but i have to depend on her to be the care-giver when i am working.

re:next child
pig07 & kittybride, am so surprised u ladies are ready for another one so soon? or even thinking abt it...
I hope to take a break...one two years i guess.

Twiggy,
take medi supposely the fastest way to stop BM liao.. for sure it wont disappear in 2 days unless u hv not been on TBF, like in my fren's case, cos her bm supply is not really established and was on partial EBM only. it helps that she does not hv bad engorgement to begin with. Juz hv to put lotsa cold compress, cabbages or wat to combat engorgement. Else, u hv to persevere, and express to relieve engorgement and keep reducing the amt express gradually. I tried, but ended up engorgement worsen.. did yr lactation consultant comment on how u shld try to stop BM?

Yami, i do know that we cannot bring baby out in horrible weather or when its too late coz its easy for them to get sick at such timing. As for the funeral thingy, i think its just so coincident lah.... But u know old folks lah!

Even though your MIL is the care giver but ultimately, we re the child's mother. They should respect our decisions whether does it agree with them or not.

Twiggy, better not to take medication to stop BF. My gynae told me the medication might cause our breasts to shrink smaller than our pre=pregnancy size.

Re: Next Child
My ideal is to aim for a tigger! But i dunno whether i have the courage to conceive a 2nd one!

yami,
understand its hard to talk back to MIL if she is going to be the caregiver.. I am going to transit to my MIL starting tmr, cos she is out of practice for almost 30yrs! So farnie for me to teach her how to bathe, feed a baby, as i juz picked them up during my 1 mth confinement.. lucky she quite easy to talk to, but as to whether can follow my instructions strictly.. hv to open 1 eye, and close 1 eye liao.

pig07,
u make me nervous.. I juz turn 32, dun even dare to consider a 2nd one now.. need to nurse body back else not advisable to get preggie so soon.

kittybride,
c-section no need to wait so long lah, my gynae say can hav bb anytime after 6mths leh.

re:sleeping habits
my baby still wakes up 2times for his feeds. have try sabrina method last time, feeds him water when he cry for milk in midnight, but doesn't works leh, he cry even more loudly.

somebody mention about doing sit-up to firm up tummy. i ever ask my massage therapist, she say can do sit-up, but in 45degree sit-up not the 90degree. she advice me better not to do sit-up cos it will cause backache. now i still got 2.5kg to go back to my pre-preg weight...sigh

anyone here already start to have menses? i jus have it last week, is it normal to have menses after 2mths from delivery?

twiggy, u msn me la. tin that better. cos u pm me ipm u in the end never rec. haha....

k@ye, my gynae told me will not shrink the breast lei. My breast didn't shrink. I think is becose when we slim down it will definitely shrink for sure. Not due to the medication.

lazykat, ya have to let them refamiliarise...mine also 30 years didnt take care of baby. plus her only son (which is my hubby) was taken care by nanny and stayed at nanny's house till two years old..so she more unfamiliar with young baby.

k@ye, there are certain things that i will insist on regardless of whether MIL likes or not...like trying to breastfeed or cultivating standard sleeping time for baby. But small things like gog out with baby, i will not insist lor. at most i stay home more often. till she have more confidence in me
MIL-DIL relationship always like that one...love-hate... :p

Yoko, my gynae told me that if too strong the medication will shrink the breast smaller than our pre-pregnancy size... My breast is back to my pre-pregnancy size liao....

Rast, i just got my period last week.

Twiggy, it is not as bad as u tin. I tin still can tahan. Just take some painkillers. It will be fine. Just put cold cabbage or cold pack. It will do the job.

Yami, that's y my godma says... Better to have our own mothers to take care of our babies... Coz at least, we dare dare to tell our mothers unlike our MIL.

My MIL will also question my method of raising my baby... But she dun dare to do it so often now coz my face will turn black black.

re: next child

Ya, i am already thinking of it cos i wanted to 'close shop' soon..ha ha ha.

i used to think i would like to have 4 kids. but after tis first one, i told myself 1 is enough. Too painful for me. Labour 16 hours.. and there was a tear so i had to get the stitching down at the Operating theatre for over 1 hour.. somehow i dont know why i still would like to have at least 2 bah.

wonder how soon is appropriate to start trying for a 2nd one. dont want to be get preggie again when i am not at my best condition.

heehee changed my mind abt what to bring.

gathering
3rd gathering for Nov 2007 mums
POT LUCK
23rd Jan, wednesday 12pm
Everyone's welcome!
Venue: Tweety's place
1. ueno - cake
2. S@L
3. Grace - chicken nuggets
4. Tinkabel
5. Yoko
6. Gillian
7. tweety
8. PLim (cheesecake again?)
9. Catherine
10. starz (tentative)

gathering
POT LUCK
23rd Jan, wednesday 12pm
Everyone's welcome!
1. ueno - cake
2. S@L
4. Tinkabel (chocolate mousse cake)
5. Yoko
6. Gillian
7. tweety
9. Catherine
10. starz (tentative)

RE: Having own mummy as caregiver

My mum has been helping me out during the day. Although she's been a great help so far, somehow I also noticed that her "style" of taking care of baby is different from mine. Eg. 1) When my boy cries for attention, I left him alone and will only pick him up if he doesn't stop, but my mum will go and carry him cos' she thinks that my boy will get wind in the stomach if we let him cry too much. 2) Recently, my boy doesn't sleep from 5pm onwards till his bedtime at 8pm, my mum suggest getting a yao lan to rock him so that he can sleep and we don't have to keep on entertaining him till his bedtime. I prefer not to but she keeps saying that yao lan is ok cos' my niece also slept in it. 3) Earlier on, my boy rubbed his eyes till it was a little red, my mum panicked and said we should go bring him to the PD though I told her that we will need to clean his eyes with damp cotton and monitor first. I prefer not to over-react cos' it might be just a small issue only.

She also commented that my boy is so different from the babies she has look after before, so many "patterns"...I hear already quite upset..it's like my fault for giving birth to such a "unique" baby...sigh.

pig annd kittybride:: hahah! my hubby has been pestering me for another too. goodness. i would love another but the thought of going through EVERYTHING again really frightens me hahaha!!

poissons:: YOU Are not alone. both my MIL and mother also said the same for 1. and 2. HAHAHA!!! so hard for us to do what we want cause don't want to offend them. wa la.

I was thinking of a chocolate cake too but since tinkabel is bringing a chocolate mousse cake, il change it to delicious n famous soon kueh!

gathering
POT LUCK
23rd Jan, wednesday 12pm
Everyone's welcome!
1. ueno - famous delicious soon kueh
2. S@L
4. Tinkabel (chocolate mousse cake)
5. Yoko
6. Gillian
7. tweety
9. Catherine
10. starz (tentative)

I asked my doc when can i try for my next baby while he was stitching me up after i delivered my baby! HAAAA...he laughed n said that i am the 1st woman ever to ask him this question right after a delivery! Will try for another baby end of next year,so hopefully will give birth in nov again! I am looking forward to getting pregnant n giving birth hehe.. really.. guess i love kids,thats why.I pray that all my kids will be as sweet as Leroy. He's such an angel! I thank God for him.

long time no post liao.. quick update....
i am back in work.. just started work today.. keke.... still have 7 more ML leave to clear.... will b taking every monday off till end feb.

My gal was down with flu also in dec... got a lot of phlegm and even brought her to KK to have her phlegm extracted as kept crying in the early morning...
we bought the pigeon nose aspirator = no use.
end up hv to suck her mucus out using the pigeon tube version.. hb end up swallowing some.

bottle introduction: even since i told my sup i coming back to work on 10th jan.. my gal start to reject bottle.. if we feed she will cry and just drink .5 oz and zzz off... just simply refused to drink...
tried a few methods, out of the house etc.. end up 1 day at my PILs place, my MIL tried nuk bottle when I was not around and it works....
I have called up TMC during this time and they say even if we bring her down to TMC no guarantee they will succeed.. They advised the following:

- Feed when she in good mood(frequent feeding) and not starve her (which i wanted to do)
- Split yr feed to lesser qty so as not to waste the milk.
- Mummy should not do the feeding and if possible stay out of the room she is drinking from.

hope the above helps.

poissons: don't worry so much.. during my confinement, my CL also commented a lot of things.. say our bb is very special also.. say we need to employ a maid just to rock her to bed... faintz.
then still say my family members come too often to my house.. she say all her past exp, when during confinement no one come visit one wor.. got such things one meh? meaning what during confinement only the mummy/daddy/bb and her at home for 28 days only ah.. no one come visit at all?

when pass to my MIL for taking care..
poo - she also say my gal's poo is not normal. she pass 2 times poo and in those typical bm poo color lor.. she say color not right and too watery.. haha...
yao lan - i gv up liao.. if my gal with MIL, CONFIRMED will be on yao lan....
Breast milk - a few times i noticed bottle still oily in the pot. she put unfinished bottle into the pot to keep warm.. end up milk split out and contaminate the whole pot.. tell a few times also like that. finally after 1 mth she changed her habits. then when feed she will forget how long ago the milk touched my gal's saliva.. end up when my gal rejecting bottle feed, she tried to feed BM that she tried 3 hrs old... faint....
worry like mad esp that time near to my gg back work liao.

i cried a few times when saw all these things.. but got to keep telling them nicely lor.

pig07, me same as you; wanted 4 kids but now hor, i thk 2 is enuf, can close factory after dat... even if 2nd is another gal i oso ok wif it.
u still young lah, can wait a bit leh, i hit big 35 nxt year liao so gotta rush rush... :D

rast:
yup, was told after 6mths can try for another bb liao; dats y no chance for little "mickey" but can aim for moo moo or bunny lor. hee hee...

anyway, i like being pregnant coz it gave me such a good glow to my skin! but hor, each pregnancy is different n my 1st was such smooth sailing ~ no morning sickness nor craving! so still got a bit of 'uncertainy' on starting project BB2! :p

Mandy,
Yah, I switched my boy's FM to Enfalac lately his poo is watery and abit greenish yellow, my mum saw this morning and said my boy lao sai cos' the last time he had Friso, his poo was golden yellow (and hard also!), she said baby's poo shld be like that. I read Yoko's post and realised that her baby's poo is also the same colour when she switched to Enfalac, so I'm not that worried now.

Ueno is really blessed with an angel baby, if only all our babies are like that! Not sure if I have the courage to have another baby though I would love to have a gal next

poissons & mandy,

understand your concerns but hor, i thk sometimes we just need to close one eye... just thk abt it, we were oso raised by our own moms and we turned out ok, rite?

currently my mom taking care of my BB gal and altho sometimes some of the things she does oso irks me but i just let it go lah. so long my BB is in my own family members' care when i'm off to work, i'm 100% ok.

but after CNY will send BB to nanny, i guess my FEAR/WORRIES will start then... as we wun be there to see how BB is being taken care of, etc.
so for now, watever my mom do to my BB; i'm ok.
afterall, is her grand daughter oso mah, she surely will take good care wan...

lazykat, my gal also adult timing like yours. will sleep from 10-11pm all d way thru 6-7am. She seems to 'tank up' from 6pm onwards. Will cry for feeding abt every 2 hours if on FM. if bm, she will need feeding every 1hr.

poissons, ur baby doesn't experience constipation when on Enfalac? that's good. Mine does. Then my gal's stool very watery when on Nan. Now i'm trying Similac...

twiggy
hi i had PM u.. duno if u haf received???
rast
ya i had my menses on the 5th week after delievery..
gloomybear
howz ur lump after the antibotic...
wld like to join in the gathering but scare of brining bb out alone...

sabrina,
trying to bring my gal's timing by 2hrs.. trying hard to make her sleep by 9pm.. else next time come back fr work still hv to coax her till 11pm too siong liao.. even tho MIL offer to leave baby overnite, well keeping this last option open..

My gal on NAN, poo is dark green, horrible. But not hard so thot will continue unless her stool habits changed again. But today, she hasnt poo-ed, getting a bit kan cheong.. hope no constipation.

Oops..
now is 2008 already! I mean il try for 2nd bb end of this year, give my body 1 year break n hopefully il have a moo moo bb!

rast,
i dont know how much he's drinking as i latch him on all the time, except for the 1 btl feed we give him on sat. For that feed , we give him 6oz. His birthweight is 2.57kg now he weighs 5.7kg.

Sabrina,
So far my boy will poo once or twice a day with Enfalac, and everytime it's ALOT, so much that it overflows and stains his clothes..yucks. With Friso, his stools are hard and yellowish, sometimes he uses alot of strength to push also, so I decided to try Enfalac. But the thing is recently when he has finished drinking and I try to burp him, he will spit out some milk on the 2nd burp (is this reflux?). My mum said probably Enfalac doesn't suit him, but the thing is with Friso, he's also like that. Wonder if any of your baby experiences the same thing? Currently I let him drink 130ml though last time I used to give him 150ml.

Elaine,
Try n come for the gathering! Actually u are just traveling from yr place to tweety's place alone with bb, when u get there all the mummies will there to help u. Its not like u are going out shopping with bb alone. Its good practice for the both of u

Anyone stay around Bukit Merah area, let's share a cab to tweety's place.

Dun worry about MIL. Mine also prob. Always tell me bb is hungry when he cries. Then cry only, want to carry him. Now my boy wails damn loud when we dun go to him and cannot stop wailing. Haiz, i feel tired whole day trying to pacify him. I "complain" to my hubby. he say what to do, next time I go back to wk also MIL take care, unless I want to stay at home. Haiz, what a dilemma...

tinkabel,
u can ask grace, she stays in tiong bahru. she mentioned that she will take cab to tweety's place.

Poissons, same as u i also have some arguments with my mum regard taking care of bb. recently i started 'orientation' for my mum regarding Mischa's daily habits , sleep, drink pattern etc. She was kinda unhappy and misunderstood tt i do nt trust her. e.g. telling her to to warm milk, cannot keep milk for too long etc...she will say she know la, many yrs of experience, BUT fact is she had nt taken care o a TOTAL BREASTFED bb before. but i learn to 'kan kai' already. so today i pumped milk and left Mischa with her and i went paktoh with my hb follow him to work. Then my mum called and ask me theif she can put the leftover milk Misha didnt finish back into the fridge or not!.hiaz...so i told her , "see lor, u say everything u know, but if i didnt tell u wan to do,then Mischa will be in trouble if she reheat the milk for her next feed again!".

but overall, its easier if the caregiver is our mum rather than MIL. cos our mum will jus forget abt the comments if anything unhappy, but for MIL, hehehehe,,,alot of problem follows. of course nt all MIL are like tt....

Tweety, i hv nt tot of anyting to bring along for the gathering. i will update nearer the date and see what is needed.

catherine, ya i will leave my milk bags flat and aft they are frozen, then i arrange them in the tupperware or neatly in the freezer.
there is nothing wrong with ur way, but it does take up more space as the bottom will be bulging. the way i did will be flatter and neat. i do the same for playtex bags too except the top will be folded and clipped.

Cindy, my gal ok with btl now..but really, i cannot be near her when they feed. i can only feed her when she is drowsy and abt to sleep.BUT she still smell me sometimes and wanna latch.

today i went out with hb only managed to pump 1x at a shopping mall. then my 2 rocks were so painful on the way home. when i see my gal, i quickly let her latch to relieve a bit..gosh she really is the best pump in the world.

lazykat, when my gal on Nan, her stool is mustard yellow like when on bm. But i decided to change fm coz the stool is very watery. I tried bringing my gal's sleeping time at night forward but ended up she will wake up earlier like 4-5am.

poissons, eversnce i stop tbf, i have tried a few fm. 1 or 2 brands my gal will spit up immediately after feeding. but then again, maybe it doesn't have to do wif the fm..mayb overfeeding.