(2007/11) November MTBs

plim, my baby also likes to be carried in the afternoon. What I did was I put him in an aircon room and lay down besides him. If he fusses, I will not carry him immediately. I will talk to him, pat pat, until he screams then I will carry him. I stretch him a little by a little.

Pig07, I intend to bf for a year (min). In fact, I am giving my BM to my elder son too. Somehow I feel that it does boost his immunity even though he is already on almost 100% organic. I am also very strict with his diet.
The reason why I don want to store is because I believe the quality of the bm reduces with time.

Bf alot of sacrifice by mothers. Actually all I need is physical support. I can tahan all obstacles. The only problem is Sometimes my hubby not very helpful esp when I have to lug my PIS out to mum house or GM house to pump as my baby only drinks one side of my breast.He will be very reluctant as 2 kids have to carry so many things.

S@L baby mischa looks like u hor..:p i got my stroller from robinson. I saw it on the supplier 's web too. I believe yours is the new design.
I see if I can use later. Sometimes I don like to depend on my hubby or anyone.that is the reason why I like to use sling.

Gals do ur know there is a product by gerber called gerber breast therapy. It is useful when u have blocked ducts.
Give it a try.

on babies crankiness.. i let my gal cried for 1+hr last nite and we gave up, resorting to ways to make her sleep.. she only slept at midnite, but that is after both my DH and myself hv exhausted ourselves. And it has been repeating for the past few nights, this hasten my decision to stop EBM too, as my gal will be 2 mths in a few days time.

On blocked ducts, i fell victim to this just before christmas, usually its only engorgement which i can still tahan.. but dunno why it suddently become so painful and after hrs of hard massaging (ended up with bruised breasts), it became alright.. then a few days later, become another breast! What is the best way to gradually stop milk supply? My fren resorted to medi but i prefer to stop it gradually, but dunno how long more can i endure those stinging pain despite clearing it every 4-5 hrs.

also, my gal upper lip tend to be dry.. can get flaky at times, not sure if i shld give her water, even tho currently she is still on total EBM? or need to get some special lip balm?

Hi Plim,

i am not a very hardworking mother when it comes to expressing milk. i do it like 3-4 hourly.. starting from like 9am.. last pump at say 10pm.. i dont wake up to pump. good days i can have 6 bottles of at least 150ml of ebm.. normal days like 5 bottles. but i guess as the boy grows and requires more, i will need to supplement with more FM. currently i am supplementing with FM as well.

tay why on thinking that i only pump like 5 times a day at maximum, all more i should cont'd to give bm as it's not 'hard' for me to do so.

Hi Dokie,

1 year? i realyy pei fu you lei. i dont think i can ever achieve that.

i am a SAHM with 2 maids and parents help. it make me feel so 'guilty' on thinking that i wanna give up at 2 months when i actually hve milk supply and all people ard to help out.

yes dokie:: kUdoos to you!! really. 1 yr!

pig:: if i were you i won't give up lah. u got good milk supply! and you are a SAHM.... hehe but you do what you feel is best. don't feel guilty if u wanna give up. perhaps that way you can give more love to your bb!hehe. i only intend to BF 3 months, 4 at most.

lazykat:: so you're gg to stop milk supply gradually? i dn't know bou the lips, maybe you can dab wet cotton bud on her lips every now and then?

pig07:
Yah should not give up so easily. Me also damn tired, with the taking care of bb, washing up/ sterilising of bottles, pumping/ feeding etc. But biting on... Last night, my boy was difficult and refuse to sleep when put down. Guess what, i was pacifying him by carrying him, then I actually fell asleep with bb in my arms and me sitting on the bed. Happened a few times already. Haiz... Hopefully bb will be better in time to come, then wun be so tiring.

dokie:
I also intend to try to bf for 1 year. Not sure if it is possible, esp when I go back to SH and start work. But will try my best.

HELP!!! bb gabrielle is werid last note... usuali she juz woke up twice for her FM but last nite last last feed is 11pm then 1am she woke up n had 3oz of FM... 3am for 1oz FM then guess wat 4am she woke up asking for milk again...then gave her another 1oz FM...but still cant settle her...then hubby juz gave her some h2o to pacifer her then 5am no choice gave her 1 oz... haiz... then today 8am b4 shower she had 1 n 1/2 oz of EBM... juz after shower 3 more 0z of FM... is she drinking too milk???
she like to suck on my nipple for comfort... even pacifier she osdo dun wan but had to b firm... so totally stopped letting her latch on since yday... m i doing the wrong thing???

pig07
my CL had left for 3 days n i still quite lost even thought hubby is ard to help... mayb too depend on her... hubby will b ard till tml... monday will b alone wif bb gabrielle liao... scare i will juz let her cry n cry... coz she wana b carried to slp n if i put her down she cried again... seeing this hb will usuali offer to take over... wat shd i do... i think i scare of her liao... wun wan any help frm my parent n PIL...

anyway did anyon encounter a hard lump in ur breast depite how much u tried to pump out??? i had 1 hard hard wan for few days liao cant get rid of it scared if it is a cancerous lump.... i reali very depress......

Elaine, could be growth spurt. Mischa did the same thing too when she went thru tt phase. as for the lump, i tell u no pump works like a bb's suckling. i had the lump once and nomatter how hard i massaged (till almost bruising i think) and pumping 2-3 rounds still there. so i let my gal latch and its gone! try to let ur bb latch again to help u ease the pain.

Pig07, how lucky u are! if i can be SAHM with all the help i need then i will also do TBF for at least 1-2yrs. i really peifu a fren of mine she BF for 2yrs then preggy and now still her 8mths old bb. and she is working full time as a teacher. i look up to her and hope to do it at least 1 yr as well. but again its ur choice la as long as u are comfortable with it.

Plim, i gave paci..but she nvr once took it. she cry till so poor thing then once i out her to my breasts, she calm down.

Dokie,ya mine is June 07 edition. Mischa looks like me? hmmm....nobody said tt le...all say she look like my hb.
esp the eyes... me too dun like to depend on hb,but sometimes i think thru he has to be responsible to our kids too, so must share burden.

Grace the trick in putting bb into sling is when they are satisfied. e.g. aft a feed or when they abt to doze off to la-la land. tt day i was desperate cos need to get lunch and no one ard. i jus grab the babyrock sling and dump her inside, dun care she cry or nt...then left hm. by the time i reach the void deck, she was already sleeping...hahaha...getting bb used to sling is really a challenge at the beginning. but i really dun like MIM sling cos bb gets so heated and sweating inside the sling. i jus sold mine away cos also forgot how to use liao.
btw if the sling gives u backache, then u are hanging the bb too low.

Hi Elaine Lee,

i am not sure if it helps. have you tried the 'jing1 feng1 shan3' in powder form from medical hall? meant for baby? it's like $10 per bottle. would you want to try giving it to your gal as you mentioned she could have been frightened during the baby bash.

My boy got startled by the thunder last week. then same day my CL told me his bowels turned greenish. That night he didnt sleep well. We gave him the jing feng shan and it seemed to help. Not sure if you would like to give it a try.

As for her drinking, could it be the timing been confused? this happened when your CL only or only after she left? She has regular drinking pattern when CL was around? My CL told me.. never never give milk as and when cried. it will confuse the timing and chances is there will be leftover milk. Soonest is at also at very most 30mins earlier then the regular 3 hour interval. Meantime you wanna give pacifier to sooth her and to bring the timing back to normal? Would it help?

Tinkelbel, S@L, Cindy,

On hearing, I am really encouraged to give BM for as long as I can, else at least 3 months. Really hope baby will be guai guai after CL leave and I can manage him without much difficulty. Hoping my boy is not able to identify the difference betw CL and myself. I am worried he will recognise the smell, the way of handling him, and the voice. Right now I am trying to take over feom Cl as much as i can.

Hallo ladies!

Pig, dun worry abt ur baby not recognising u! I also have this fear but my gal knows who the mummy is! My heart melts when she looked for me, her eyes will follow me even though she is being carried by someone else!

Re: Pacifier

Dun have to worry abt weaning them off. It depends on individual baby. In my case, my daughter usually needs the pacifier to sleep or when its nearing the time for her feed. At other times, she will spat out the pacifier. Plus, its the lesser of the 2 evil, between pacifier or sucking on the thumbs!

I also got the MIM sling, now its a white elephant sitting in my cupboard. My gal screamed the min i put her in even though she is contented. I m thinking of getting the Babyjourn carrier but its so expensive and i m worried abt the same scenario like the MIM sling!

hi elaine lee, you have to use brute strength to massage the lump. If no strength, ask HB to massage for you, this was what I did: He will be more than happy to help you, hehheeheee..

mummies who are doing exclusive pumping, i have some questions:
- do you pump on a schedule or u pump whatever is necessary for your baby for the day only?
- if you pump on a schedule, do you give your baby the fresh EBM from ur pumping session everytime? How about the extras from your pumping sessions for the day?

i have started exclusive pumping from 2nd week and since at the beginning baby did not consume so much milk, hence i have gradually been freezing my EBM and now, basically for all the milk that my gal is drinking, they are all thawed EBM. I have also learnt that some mummies mentioned that EBM lose its nutrients over time (also the fact that thawed EBM not as good as compared to fresh EBM, so am wondering if my way of doing so is correct and how other mummies doing exclusive pumping are handling it?

pig07 & S@L
onli when the Cl left then started all these... but when CL ard, we oso give as she cried... the worst is itz hard to make her to slp n itz hard to make her awake... i tried to wake her up to feed her BUT she can never b awake... no matter how u carried her or even put her on the rocking which she hated the most... juz now the same thing happened again... 4pm fed her with 80ml of EBM... then 5.15pm she cried again... so fed her with 40ml of FM... see her crying i oso cried... helpless.... duno tonite how mani time she gonna wake up again... i heard that bottle feeding bb tends to b overfed... the rate she drank duno will overfed her or not... try using pacifier but she still duno how to suck... i reali need help... duno how to start the rountine timing... i think im in deep shit...
As for the lump... i cant let her latch on coz once she is latched on she refused bottle feeding wanting to keep her bad habit... sucking nipple for comfort...
haiz hubby b starting to work on mon... i b alone wif her... SCARE!!! she cry i sure cry wan... i dun wana get into PND,..
btw how many ml do bb at 4week to 5 week old bb feed? IM LOST!!!

my dr told mi bb usuali slp more at nite at week 4 n not to wake her up for milk at nite...
For usuali mommy whose bb wana b carried to slp but once u put her down they cried... how u all handle ur bb... i think i can onli feed her n carry her once my hb went back to work... dun need to do other thing...
I think i rreali duno how to take care of her...

Any mummies interested in the below items. Collection at Bedok.
1.Daifonai (Herbal Bath), 17 pack.
2.Friso Gold Step 1 (900g), 1 can
3.Frisomum (400g), 1 can
Interested mummies can contact me at 92789982.

Elaine, i think 4-5 weeks takes abt 80-100ml BUT do nt be too bothered by the amt cos every bb is diferent. like for my gal is abt 7weeks still taking abt 100ml only sometimes lesser. when i latch i also dunno how much she takes cos some sesssions she satisfied within 10min. as long the weight gain /poo/pee is normal then is ok.

u must be strong and calm when ur bb fret. cos they can sense if mummy is anxious, they will fuss even more...

my gal also the same, put down will cry..she cant fall asleep herself like 1st few weeks old. now must suckle or rock to sleep. what i do is still let her latch since she at the same time gets milk and can soothe her. but remember nt to give her the wrong sleep association i.e. suckle=sleep. i will let her suckle till she drowsy (BUT nt asleep YET) then put her down and pat a bit...so far it works for me.

Plim, i think u need to pump on a routine basis so tt ur ss is maintain aft u start work. and pump for at least 20-30min to empty ur breasts instead of jus the amt ur bb needs. so tt u have extra to store or even pump 1x to get amt for 2 feedings.this way u will nt be too stressed out should ur bb go into a growth spurt or suddenly u need to be away from ur bb for a few days then not enough stock up of milk.

But since u pumping for every feed, try to give FRESH EBM first. the frozen ones can keep for emegency or give to ur elder gal if u dun wan to stock up too much. Like for me i pump almost aft each feed still can get abt 1.5 feeds amt so i keep the 1 feed for night feeds (so tt hb can help) and the rest i freeze or give to my elder son.

I plan to give fresh EBM too aft i start to pass her over to my mum to take care in the day. the freezed ones taste really weird and only when i mix with my son's milk powder he cant tell.

hi elaine,

is 80ml ebm too little for your gal? wat is yr gal's weight now and number of weeks? my boy took 120ml ebm at 1 month old on 3 hourly interval. and he weighed like 3.6kg at birth. could 80ml be insufficient for your gal?

as for pacifier, maybe not tat yr gal doesnt want. try to hold it for her. it may take a little while for babies to know to suckle the pacifer.

Hi Elaine,

i am also using cradle already. so perhaps you wanna rock your baby to deep sleep.. then can carry her out and place in cot when she is really deep sleep. At least in cradle you dont have to be carrying her? But tat really depends if you wanna sucuumb to cradle or not. I had.

Also, there is this cute little rattle that you can used to coo a baby's crying. I bought it at Kiddy palace. $1.50.. usually found at the counters. It the face shape of a smiley face with a rattling effect. Somejow it works for me and my sis's boys. whenever they are agitated or uncalm or making a fuss as a baby, i rattled that and with the noise it makes, it helped to calm the baby. I remember reading somewhere that it is useful. When we have a fussy baby, we try all sorts of methods.

elaine:: don't be stressed. hugs. like what s@l says, different bb feeds differently. and each time they take different amts. don't be stressed how come other bb can take more and yours can't. in fact, my bb is also like s@l's. still taking 100ml and sometimes lesser even. about 80 to 90ml but still can last him 2.5 to 3hrs. as long as shit and poo is okay, you can relax.

pig:: i know the RATTLE! i use it too. it works for me hahah esp when changing diapers cause my boy really hates to change diapers. don't know why but he's damn dirty hahah can sleep with super soiled diapers. everytime want to change he cry. so we always use that to distract him haha. and yes like what k@ye said, don't worry, bbs are smart. they wILL know YOU! my bb also follows me whenever i speak to him even when someone is carrying him. when i call out to him, he'll look around. so they KNOW much more than we think they know.

Pig , Cindy, yes really one year. I am enjoying it esp I know is the best for my baby. No matter what I must perseve and press on. It is not going to be smooth sailing in the journey but I will never give up.
My elder son benefited a lot from BM and it is only fair that I extend to my second boy.
It is the cost of motherhood. This sacrifice is worthwhile. If I have decided to have this baby, I must know what is the "cost" of it. I am already prepared for it.

elaine, my gal also drinks very eratically at some times... one of the night, she was fed at 8.30pm 100ml EBM, then at 10pm she cried and we gave her 30ml FM, still not satisfied, another 30ml FM, after that, she still not satisfied, had to give her another 30ml FM before she stops 'complaining'... but luckily this happened occasionally only
don't be too stressed up, go according to your baby's needs and your instints as a mother, i'm sure you can do it!

S@L,
ok, thanks for the advice, think i will try to give her the milk i pump that day for that day's feed... gosh, now i hv milk freezed from past 9 or 10 days still in the fridge, will keep it for emergency purpose then... freezed EBM can store for 3 months right?
oh, by FRESH EBM, u don't mean right after we pump right? it can mean kept in the fridge (not freezer) for the subsequent feed right?

Hi Plim,

I read that for EBM placed in frige (not freezer), can be for used within next 48hours. ANything longer than 48hours has to be placed in freezer. So far i hasnt try the freezer as my daily pump are usually consumed within 48hours.

Poissons: The PD recommended the Fei Zhai Shui, though the dosage is lesser than what's written on the instruction. He advised to give bb 1/2 teaspoon to 30ml water. Twice daily, though i gave him only once per day. Will stop once he gets better. My sis recommended "Infacol" to get rid of the wind. My niece had very bad colic back then and her PD recommended Infacol. My sis said it's better than Fei Zhai Shui. My cousin's bb also had wind in his stomach, spwnt $100 to see PD, end up also recommended Infacol. So, i bght one to standby.

Pig07: My bb's PD commented 120ml every 3hrly is too much for a 5wk old bb lei. Shld be abt 90ml every 2.5-3hrly, else 120ml every 3.5-4hrly. Or perhaps my bb is smaller at birth?

Hi Cactusnah,

We went to the PD today for 6 in 1 and at same time normal screening.

My baby weighs 5.6kg at week 6. Above average but not overweight. I am also very concerned that I am overfeeding my boy. But PD assured me that so long his poo and urine are ok, and no vomitting, and weight gaining is good, then he is doing fine.

I also asked if i should continue to increase the EBM gradually as 150ml seemed alot already. She said ok to do slowly increase.

She did mention that when hit a certain month (i think is 6 month), the appetite for milk will decrease or remain stagnant and no cause for worry.

pig07,
thanks for info on EBM storage. do you know if say, after i hv put the EBM in the fridge and for whatever reason, within the 48 hrs milk has not been consumed, cld this milk be placed back in the freezer for storage? will the milk still be ok?

wow, all the babies seem to weigh above 5kg at 5 or 6 wks hor? i hvnt weigh mine yet, she's 7 wks... but i rem. on her 1 mth checkup, weight was only 3.9kg, dunno how much she has gained now

this morning, i gave my gal the avent bottle with EBM (she usually drinks from NUK premium) and i hear her sucking away, making very loud 'tsu tsu' sound... seems weird to me, does that mean she's not used to the bottle? and that she is taking in a lot of air? it doesn't happen when she takes the NUK bottle leh...

My gal also tends to throw up quite easily and that is usually when we burp her after a feed... almost 8 out of 10 times we burp her, she will throw up something... at times it's a lot... and all her burps are soooo loud! is the throwing up and burping loudly normal?

Cindy, decided to gradually stop EBM and transit to FM - after getting the blues with the hard lumps and bruises, and also i dun intend to lug my pump to work in a mth's time. Imagine I was tearing as I was feeding my gal with the EBM yesterday morning.. and I know I hv to snap out of it..doesnt help with all the endless washing of bottles and sterilizing, early feeds, crankiness and hubby working - both of us were REALLY EXHAUSTED. I rather think positively that I can spend more quality time with my gal during her social/wake time, like wat my fren is doing now. Ironically, let down becomes easier, cos I prob hv been too stressed up the past few wks after CL left.

Elaine, you hv to either hv yr BB latch on or to use BRUTE strength like wat Lite Breeze had mentioned - to the extent of bruises - which was wat I had, glad that it is subsiding.. can be very depressing.

Hi Plim,

I am not sure if milk can be transferred from fridge to freezer say when placed in fridge for 24 hours.

My boy using Avent bottle also. He can finished all 150ml in 5 minutes. He dont make the tsu tsu sound probably cos i really tighten the cap very tight.

Beginning i thot i didnt want to tighten too tight, as i worried he may need lots of strength to suck if too tight. So i keep it just tight but not very, but it kept dripping and the tsu tsu sound was there..

Also, could it be the position you holding the bottle? you can see from the teat (when feeding) if your gal is sucking in milk or air. dont be afriad to lift the bottle higher if you see that the milk is not filling the tip of the teat when feeding.

eg. this morning b4 shower i gave her almost 2OZ of EBM n after shower i gave her another 90ml of EBM then she splt for 1 hr plus n cried for another feed... her wt is 4.3kg when she hd her 1st mth appt monday is gonna b her 5th week... yday nite changed her diaper... greenish again... pig07 hoe to feed her the jin feng shan? i tried but this little monster dun like to drink she spit it out...
As for the lump... if i tends to stop bfing will it eventually gone on it own???
siao liao tml monday liao... will b the real nitemare...

btw she having mixed FM n BM n poo at least twice a day izit normal?
btw i understand that having FM need to drink h2o oso but she hates h2o... the timing for h20 is how long interval? isit rite after FM give h20 or wait for 1 hr then give???

Hi elaine,

my CL gave the jing feng shan by rubbing on his gum. place a bit of it on a spoon. a bit of water. a bit will do just to make it lumpy. then use yr chean finger to dab the powder on tip of yr finger, then rub on the upper and lower gums.. afterwich she no give water. will be bit messy cos i tink taste awful.. but if you rub on gum, at least it got in her.

Hi elaine,

my boy takes ebm and fm as well. My CL told me not to give water until he is 2 month old. Anyway, he stools are not hard, so we never give water. Our BM has water. But you must monitor the stools.

Many old people will probably tell us to give water for fear they may reject water next time. I intend to do so after 2 months and also if the stools are hard.. I will introduce water. But not by OZ.. maybe taste taste a bit to let him get use.

My Cl told me, she ever worked for a family whose hubby is a professor, he told her never never never give water until 2 month old.. else baby will vomit and milk intake all confused. Once the baby was hicuuping.. the mummy told my CL to give water as the hubby not around, true enough, the baby vomitted the water and milk, and fussy and grouchy and cranky (perhaps too stomach upset by the vomitting), and immediately, the professor knew that they been giving water. afterwhich they stopped, the vomitting stopped also.

I dont know la, but i tink most imptly is see the stools.. can give water but not by oz and oz.

hi elaine,

has it ocurr to you that you may wanna engage some help for time being since you mentioned yr hubby gg back work tomorrow? and you are worried and scared of the little one.

why not get help from relatives to come in and help and settle things down before you are on yr own again. why do you not want help from your parents and pil as mentioned in yr earlier post?

how abt yr cl? can she come back and help for 10-14 days if money is no issue.

lazykat:: me too, i also don't want to lug a pump to work later on, so hehe don't feel guilty. I want the best and you want the best but sometimes we can't have the best of everything eh! so just do what makes us and bb happy!

dokie:: yuo are truly a GREAT mother. really. Admire you!! I am only starting work in april, so i will at least continue till end or feb, by then it's almost 4 months, hahaha good enough for me but now i'm already supplementing with FM for night feeds and when i'm outside. hehes.

elaine:: my boy also mix FM and BM but he poos more than 2x a day. but that might be because the FM only one feed a day. how many FM feeds do you give? The stools are still the BM type of stools, mustard and seedy but about 3 to 4 times a day. but yes i think if want to give water, time about 1 hr after giving the FM feed. but if you are only giving 1 to 2 FM feeds a day i think no need to give water yet.

pig:: so you will give water using spoon?

mother n mil will make things worst... make mi more stress... they will keep saying all neg remarkz... introducting more werid thing...
my CL no free having another confinement to do...

Hi Cindy,

I think i will give water from bottle. When i mentioned not by OZ and OZ, i mean i wont insist he finished the whole OZ of water. Sorry if i didnt clarify myself. I will want to let him get use to the taste of water when he 2 month old.. but not much each time unless stools are hard. By then he would still be on ebm and fm.

Until he on full FM, then i will give more water. Also like you mentioned above, i intend to do it 1hr after FM.

Hi Elaine,

Ya.. having older people at home may help or make things worse. But if you really need an extra pair of hands, then quickly get help.

Will your CL be able to recommend you another CL to help you out for the next 10-14 days? At least she will recommend to you someone she already knows and can manage. At very most, tis new CL comes to help, she can help you to settle things down, establish a routine. But you can participate in the sleeping and taking care of your baby as by now your body would be well unlike right after giving birth. With her in the house and you wont feel so worried. By time she is due to leave, your child wil be like 7 weeks old? and perhaps more steady. This is also one reason why i am keeping my CL for 2 months before she returns.

hi ladies, i have a tin of S26gold (expiry Apr08) to give away. self collect in siglap.

do pm me if you would like to have it coz my boy is on Enfalac, don't wish to switch.

Plim, no u cannot transfer unconsumed EBM to the freezer aft so many days. in fact u should only freeze EBM tt u jus pumped into the freezer. anthing nt frozen by then should be consumed within 48hrs. in fact i sometimes try to give the EBM to my kids within 24hrs. aft tt i feeel nt so safe anymore as there are other food stuff inside the fridge compartment.

So u have to gauge urself the amt of fresh EBM needed for the day's feed and keep the extras so tt there is no wastage. but u no need to worry la, u also have an elder gal can mix those frozem ones into her milk so tt she can help to clear the EFBM.

some say EBM can freeze for 3mths but i also dun like to keep tt long. so far i manage to clear the 1mth EBM cos dun wan to keep longer than tt.

yes what i meant by fresh EBM is those express for the day (can even mix BM from diff pumping sessions) and nt frozen bfore.

recently i wasted a lot of frozen EBM when i mixed into my son's milk...hahaha,..he complained tt the milk is 'hot'. i very gan chiong wanted to clear those coming to 1mth old milk so i added a lot into his milk. he can taste it cos other times i only add abt 30% of his milk with my BM. when i checked the dates they were collcted during confinement, so i suspect its the taste of the ginger cos i took quite alot then.

anyone still having 'wind' in their stomach? i can hear that there's 'wind' in my stomach when i tap my abdomen leh...

is it still possible to get rid of those wind through massage at this stage now (almost 2 mths after delivery)?