(2007/11) November MTBs

The 6 in 1 jab includes Hep B so if take Hep B separately, then it will be 5 in 1 jab lor.

As i m sending my daughter to an infant care centre so I had the Prevenar & Rotavirus jabs for her done when she is 2 months old.

As my gal has reflux problem so she has a lot of wind... We tried all sorts of methods till give up liao. The one that is useful is actually letting her sleep on the tummy, it really calms her down and she can sleep longer.

gemini19:
Yah my boy also learning to turn. When placed him lying on the back, he can turn sideways now. Then place him lying on the front, he kicks and kicks and try to turn. I put him to sleep on the ikea changing cot on my bed. He kick until both the legs out of that and head at one corner.

poissons:
My FIL said the same thing as your hubby, when i managed to quieten matt down wiht the sling. The sling's quite ok to use, although I havent master all the ways yet. but quite strenuous on the back. Think if my bb puts on more weight, it will be hard to carry him with the sling.

As for the gripe water, I think there is some recommendation on the bottle itself. I briefly took a look the other day. Think a small teaspoonful. My MIL mixed it with a bit of water for my bb to drink this morning. I just left it up to her.

Cactusnah,
I have the same prob. Keep asking me to feed, bb's hungry. I try to drag his time a bit until he really cannot tahan, but with in laws, it's really hard. I shared earlier. My MIL tells my bb, Mummy says cannot feed yet. I was so pissed. Maybe you try giving more feeds but less each time. I do give a bit of water as well, even though they say TBF dun need. Or like my mum says, use pacifier to drag his feeding time, since he got something to suckle. But of course, I am not keen on this.

Hi S@L / Tub,
It's great your babies can empty your breasts when lacthing. Wish mine can.
He gets only at bet 80% from one side and I will still have to pump after feeding him. So latching is even more tiring than total expressing because I got to latch, pump, and by the time I'm dont he's hungry again. It's a vicious cycle!

Poissons,
I can empathise with you. I've been on my own since CL left about a week ago. Somedays are ok. Some days, I'm like you, no time to eat, shit, pump...don't say nap. Everytime I put him down he'll start yelling. Days like that I beg my hubby to come home from work early so he can take over. Do you have family who can help you? If not, consider hirign a nanny for "bad days"?

Tinkable,
Is the feizaishui the same as gripe water? CAn gripe water be used on babies so young?

RE: Giving up breastfeeding
I'm considering giving up breastfeeding. How do I gradually get the milk supply to stop? And how do I gradually switch feeds to formula?

RE : Baby pimples
My baby's got pimples on his face. Anyone has that problem and knows what to do?

Twiggy,
My mum will be helping me starting next mon, so these couple of days, I'm alone with the bb. And like yours, my boy can be an angel on some days and monster on other days..so unpredictable. He's sleeping now, so can surf some net and let me have some "me" time. I always thot that I'm patience, but eversince with the baby, I lost my patience at times when he's cranky and refuses to sleep. On the contrary, my hubby is the patience one, usually he's the one who took over to cradle or pat the baby when he fusses and managed to put him to sleep successfully. I really salute him.

Poissons,
Don't be too hard on yourself. Our hubbies probably can be more patient because they are not as sleep deprived as us and do not face baby 24/7 like we do. I use to be quite patient I think but of late, I snap at every single little thing.

RE : Throbbing pain in breasts
Anyone has throbbing pain in the breasts? What is it? How do I tell if I've got mastitis? I've got no fever though...

s@l, she's selling it to me from a BP too. actually she hasn't got the goods. think i get from you better. but wat kind of clip to use?

twiggy, actually, my bb doesn't empty my breast all the time. i just play by ear. can't force her. :p

Twiggy

feizhaishui is the same as gripe water. my mum says can give but not too much. I mix it in the milk for my daughter though.

Cautasnah,

Ya, my ils and parents also complain initally that i do not feed enough for the baby. but as she's quite big when she's born, the PD actually commented that I might need to feed more.

She's at 5.2 kg at one month and now she's having 120 ml 3 hourly (coming 2 months)

RE : FM vs BM
Had a really bad night last night. Left breasts was really sore and throbbing and sharp pain when I massaged before pumping. As a result, I couldn't massage but couldnt get the milk out by pumping alone. I was so frustrated and in despair as I stared at the engorged breast, helpless wondering what to do with it that I just screamed and burst out crying. Gave my hubby a fright of his life. It's like a dam of frustration just gave way. I really feel like giving up BFing nd I'm wondering if all the anguish and stress is even worth it. I know breastmilk is suppose to be really good and all that, but it seems feeding formula has so many benefits as well, like :

1)Baby lasts longer on formula milk than breast milk so less tiring feeding him all day. No need to feed as many times / wake up as many times.

2) Babies actually put on weight more quickly on formula than BM.

3) No problems with engorgement, sore nipples, bruised breasts, blocked ducts etc and as a result (I suspect), better temperament.

I was trying to recap the benefits of BFing to evaluate if it's really worthwhile struggling w BFing and here's what I concluded are the benefits of BF :

1) Antibodies and other substances in BM not found in FM.

2) More easily digested - but if that means babies get hungry more often, and yet put on less weight than FM-fed, then is that really an advantage?

3) BM evolves in content as baby grows. - Ok...but if I'm expressing and not latching direclty, this point is irrelevant. Anyways, so does FM, that's why there's FM for newborns vs 6 mths vs 1 yr old etc right?

4) Convenience of not having to bring bottle etc. - not relevant point if feeding EBM

5) BFing gives bonding - yeah, but if mummy is in pain and cranky all the time, I think a FM-fed baby will have better bonding w happy mum.

So as I can see, it's only point 1) that really is the real reason I'm still BFing despite all the problems. I just wanted to hear different mummies perspective (from both FM and BM feeding mums) of this issue I have and whether I should continue BFing. I really want to give the best to baby but not sure what that is right now.

poissons,
my mum told me is too early for a bb to take feizhashui, so i double check with some of my friends and also my sis-in-law, they also agreed that my bb cannot take feizhashui now.

dokie:: in the day he already feeds like 2- 2.5 hrly le!! still don't know why cannot last him througout the night.

twiggy:: what i'm doin is to slowly replace BF feeds with FM feeds.. so far the last night feed i give FM, soon i'll replace day feeds 1 by 1. don't know if my method will work or if it is correct haha. i do agree that our sanity is whats best for baby n us. hugs.

Hi mummies, had to spend some time reading all the posts... hee... cant remember who asked, but regarding the pimples baby has, my PD prescribed MUSTELA DERMO-PEDIATRIA STELATRIA. But she did mention can leave it alone an it will go away by 3 monhs. As for myself, I should consider myself lucky that my mum is taking care of Javier for me. And, I am feeding my boy ridwind once a day just to help him expel wind from his tummy and i dun use ruyi oil. instead i use telon oil to massage him everyday. my massage lady told me that if baby really cries too much due to colic, the traditional way is to smash a small onion n mix it with telon oil and rub it all over bb's body. He will smell like onion but it's definitely good for expeling wind.
Tinkabel, I have transferred the $$ liao.

Possions, I agreed with rast. Don give feizhashui if u can

Cindy, then when he cries, can stretch him a little, don put him to your breasts so fast. Talk to him, pat pat him. One thing I don understand how did u get sore nip when u don latch on? Pardon me for my ignorance.
Your engorgement is it caused by delayed pumping?

Grace, your gal very adorable!

Twiggy, did u put hot towel on your breasts when u had engorgement? It will open up the milk ducts.

alamaks!!! GRACE, your bb is soooo cuteeee!!!

Here is Travis, photo taken yesterday, coming almost 8 wks old this sat.

1169044.jpg

dokie:: hahhaa i latch on lah, it's twiggy la. you misread the posts le. haha i latch on all the time. very very seldom PUMP. haha hate pumping!!

Reposted! Attention wrongly to cindy rather than twiggy. :p

Possions, I agreed with rast. Don give feizhashui if u can

Cindy, then when he cries, can stretch him a little, don put him to your breasts so fast. Talk to him, pat pat him.

Grace, your gal very adorable!

Twiggy, did u put hot towel on your breasts when u had engorgement? It will open up the milk ducts.One thing I don understand how did u get sore nip when u don latch on? Pardon me for my ignorance.
Your engorgement is it caused by delayed pumping?

hahah!!! dokie:: okay i try to delay him a little. maybe i just try to play DEAF to his noises. hahaha thank your mommy for me!! what about your little one? he really likes to be on his tummy. we do it once or twice a day to strengthen his neck hahas.

thank you rast!! muacks.
1169071.jpg

dokie, rast, cindy... thanks!
makes my day when i see her smile, even after a long cranky tiring day.

cindy, your boy neck really very strong. my girl can lift up abit lah but not so much like yours. she doesnt really like to be on her tummy so much.

Cindy : ya, agree wif grace, ur travis really got strong neck! kee kee kee...
my BB still dun like tummy time, will cry after a minute and put her face to the bed; like suffocating herself like dat... sigh, no choice hv to flip her back to lying down position.

RE: BB Farting
Is it common? my BB like got flatulance problem; fart a lot and very loud... sometimes like machine gun ~ poo poo poo poo poot... hahaha...
anyway, afraid dat her stomach wind is caused by bottle-feeding lor, coz nw using size 2 teat then like got lots of air/bubbles...
any idea??

thank u grace and kittybride hehe. you all must try more often then they will grow to love it! my bb loves it a lot, it's just my IN LAWS who forbids us thinking bb still weak. hahaha.

kitty:: my bb toooo! don't worry i guess it's normal hahaha.

Dokie, congrats to u tt ur boy can sleep thru the night. i m still working hard on it.reading and implimenting GF routine, but it seems like Mischa is going thru a 2nd growth spurt so very difficult for me to follow the routine. she was constantly latching on me yday till i had little sore nips. n today BM ss increase again due to the stimulation...

Yes i have started using the stroller, in fact was already pushing it the day i bought cos didnt bring stroller out and too heavy to hand carry it to the car
so far so good i like it. but hor i went to ask, there isnt any Red col for quest. is it a new col/edition? cos i like red too and didnt see it so i chose Pink instead.

Twiggy, no la my girl seldom empty my breasts. so i m like u, latching and pumping aft feeds...super duper tiring. u know i keep telling myself to replace with more pumping session than latching so tt i can get away and let others feed her also can clear my breasts faster. but i somehow miss the bond so much tt i keep postponing this plan for as long as i can.

Dun despair, i BF is really taking a toil on u and ur sanity, try to slow down as in giving partial FM or replacing more of FM feeds if it works for u. Like what i did for my son when i didnt have good milk supply bk then. i also gave FM and whatever BM i can 'squeeze' out from my breasts. Till now he is still very close to me. but if u read my blog u would know why i m so determined to TBF Mischa this time.i tink besides the health benefits (antibodies) present in BM, the rest of the 'pros' in BF is really nt impt which can also be achieve thru FM.
However ur p regarding BF bb nt gaining weight is nt tt true le. cos Mischa is gaining very good weight at v3ry fast pace. My son who was on FM+BM didnt thrive as well as my gal. but weight gain is nt everything, as long bb is healthy.

tub, if bb sleeps thru, u have to pump if exceed 3-4hrs. otherwise the engorgment will be serious and will affect supply in the long run. as for the playtex bags, is it urgent cos i have nt got from my fren.

grace, cindy,
my boy's very tan compared to your bbs. Wonder is it cos of the UV treatment he did for jaundice. He didn't come out this colour. I hear from some pple this tan will not fade away. U hear before?

Dokie,Tinkabel, poissons,
regarding bb slings..i think try nt to use as often...cos i agree with Tinkabel tt its the 'sarong' effect and bb likes to the momentum/movement when we sling them while walking. its soothes them as though they are still in our womb. cos i realise tt when i was out quite often this week (due to xmas shopping/sale) with bb and hb sling her throughout (she dun really like to sit in pram) she was asleep all the way till i have to wake her up to feed her cos i was terribly engorged. then when we were at home,she constantly wants to be carried. so only if no choice i will try to refrain from going out too much and always put her in the pram first until she fuss then transfer to sling.

here's a pic to share of my lovely hb using the sling.
(sorry my hb asked me to crop his face.hahaha) and myself using the bb pouch

1169237.jpg
1169238.jpg

twiggy,

i think i can hi-5 with u. i am also having constant problems with blocked ducts and sore breasts. my left breast has just recovered and now my right breast is painful again with a big big lump. i am also feeling feverish again...so worried that i might have mastitis again. BIG SIGH...
dunno why i have this prob so frequently this time. i only have mastitis once when i had my #1 and no blocked ducts leh.

i am also thinking of stopping bf coz' i can't enjoy my moments with my kids and always in pain. i also hate to massage my sore breasts every few hours, it is driving me crazy.

i give myself min 3 mths of tbf before i give up totally. now pumping hard to increase my supply so i can stock up when i stop bf eventually.

am in such painful agony...got milk also hav headache...

Olivetree..oh so sorry to hear tt i didnt know u have this problem. i think u hav too much milk andnvr get to empty them cos u mentioned ur Ameda cant empty them right?

why nt try using cabbage to 'reduce'the milk slightly so tt its jus enough for ur bb then u dun have such hard time and take too much of ur time to empty them so frequently? sigh...i starting to realise tt over-supply is really nt a good idea too cos my boobs gets engorge so fast when i NEVER had any engorgement when i had my son....

S@L, i am not cutting down on the supply coz i have to stock up more when i eventually stop bf and also after i start work in feb.

ameda pump can't empty my breasts so i have to massage and squeeze my breasts till i feel that they are quite empty...

i am latching bb coz' like what twiggy said, it is quite tiring to latch and then pump. i rather pump exclusively so my hubby and maid can feed her while i take a rest. hehhee

s@l:: your son is gg to be a ladykiller next time!! what's his name lah? mischa has such beautiful hair hahaha!!

tinkabel:: matt is not dark at all lahs!! my bb is actually dark too. when they were first out, prob due to all that soaking, they came out fair. now they're beginning to show their true colouRS!! hhaa in fact, travis is darker than me in real.

olivetree:: hang in there. i also told myself, min 3months then i slowly stop. but i don't intend to stock up as i dn't intend to pump at work, just wish to stop totally when i want to stop and get my carefree life back hahahas. very selfish on my part, yes i know.

olivetree,
why not try latch and pump together? Takes a bit of skill to do that, but then kill 2 birds with one stone. Also I realise when I do this, I often can get the same amount of milk if I pump exclusively. So I try this once a day now.

Haiz, the milk that I am freezing now, cannot be brought with me to SH when I return after CNY. Now headache go back there must start building up the stock. but then going to be stressful since it is usually very peak for me at the beginning of the year.

Hi Elaine Lee,
Hope you are coping well. my confinement lady hasnt left me yet, but i tink i can already feel the anxiety and the tear in my eyes at the thot of it. Dont know if it caused by the worry of managing the little one or we are just too used to having a CL to accompany the little one and myself. Or it's a normal phase that mummies will face when CL leaves? My CL ever mentioned to me, that the first few days after she leaves will be the hardest. but it will be over very soon when the routine comes into place. so now i am trying to particpate in the routine before she leaves and at least i can shout for her help when she is still around. Meantime you just hold on, am sure you will be fine coping before long.

Hi Twiggy and Olivetree,

I am also tempted to give up BF though my supply is good. In fact i am thinking of giving it up when my boy is 2 month old. So how soon are you both thinking of giving it up?

Reason of me giving up is simply my CL leaving and i am worried that i cant manage the boy and pumping sessions and couldnt co-ordinate well. I will be shifting to my parents house and with the help and maids, it seems like i should be able to manage but again, it seems so tough as well as afterall it is not my own home.

that is why the thot of JUST 2 months BF-ing is playing in my mind now. (2 more weeks and my boy will be 2 month old)

hi mummies, i'm from the dec thread. have some question regarding bringing bb out with EBM:

i have some questions for EBM as well. hope mummies here can help out.

1) How do you store EBM when you bring your EBM out? in a cooler?

2) How fast must it be consume when you bring EBM out?

Olivetree, i know. then u plan to get another pump to help u on tt? r u using bk ur Avent again?

Poissons, oh glad to know tt.
sorry for the delay.

btw mummies, i got a good breast pad to recommend to you all. i recently ordered the lansinoh breasts pad to try out cos nt very happy with my Pigeon ones as they tend to 'roll' up and very lumpy inside the breasts. i jus started using the lansinoh ones and very happy with it cos very thin and absorbent, also slightly cupped so fits very well and doesnt show under the tshirts. in fact cheaper than Pigeon ones. if anyone keen do let me know i can incld in the drugstore spree.(email me pls. thanks)
http://www.drugstore.com/products/prod.asp?pid=72402&catid=26913

pig07, u are so lucky to have all the support from ur own parents+maid to help ard. the more u should nt give up BF. cos alot mummies struggling to build up ss without any support at work, home, etc...since u r nt having any physical problem like no milk, block ducts etc, then u should nt have a problem to keep it up. Alot mummies TBF juggling work and pumpin in office. u definately can do it!

Gloomy bear, u can bring ur EBM (chilled/frozen) in a good cooler bag which can last at least 4hrs chilled. Then when u warm up the milk have to consume within 1hr. if by the time u take the milk out from cooler bag and its no longer chilled, better to discard. as long its still chilled and nt warmed up i think can last at least 4hrs.

cindy, i am trying to hang on. praying to God that he will remove all my lumps!! waiting for the day to come. hehehe...

tinkabel, i have tried latching and pumping once, but i cannot focus on doing both at the same time. hehehe... so dropped that idea totally. also, my bb feeding sessions don't coincide with my pumping sessions. sometimes i am so tired that i will pump at 5 hr interval!

pig07, i intend to perserve for at least 3 mths before i return to work. sometimes i tink abt it, i feel that it is quite a pity if i dun continue to bf since i have milk supply. will play by the ear and see how. once i dun suffer fr blocked ducts, i will continue giving ebm to my gal.

S@L, i use ameda when i am tired. sometimes it works quite well and i can have 3 letdowns. haiz... i will use avent to "unblock" my ducts but of coz, using this can be super tiring...hand so painful.

Twiggy,
It will be a waste if you give up on BF since you have the supply. For me, mine has decreased alot and initially wanted to give up but today my hubby keep encouraging me to keep on going, as long as got supply, will feed the baby, otherwise, he will be on FM. For the past 2 days, I didn't really have the time to pump regularly, I will only give my boy 2 to 3 bottles of EBM per day. I guess it's better than not giving him any BM at all?

Ultimately I think it's not to stress yourself over breast milk supply..as everyone mentioned before, happy mummy = happy baby. Just try your best lah

twiggy,
really need a bit of skill and balancing act to do that. Are you using an electric pump? If yes, then it's easier, just set tempo and let it run. With bb latching on the other side, this will help create let downs on the side you are pumping.

poissons,
you may want to try this method. Can feed and pump at the same time + simulate the supply back.

tinkabel,
my girl also had jaundice and was in hosp under the uv for 3 days. from what i understand is that is the tan will slowly fade away. Matthias looks alrite to me, he doesnt look very tan...

s@l, mischa looks very comfortable in both slings. i took out the mim sling to try but the moment i put her in only, she scream. my mum also tried. same thing..

poissons, garreth put on quite alot of weight since the last pic.. hee hee

your son look so sleepy in the pic with mischa..so cute.

Hi S@l,

i think i will try to continue BF-ing after hearing frm you. perhaps just gotta try it. if couldnt manage, then just gotta give it up. Otherwise pump as many bottles as I can afford the time. 1-2 bottles a day is still better than none.

currently i can manage at least 150ml each bottle for 4-5 bottles a day. 150ml ebm each feed at 3 hour interval.

How long do you gals intend to BF? 3 months, 6 months?

Hi Olivetree,

I think I am like 'guilty' to stop BF-ing as I have the supply and yet i wanna stop. That why i am in 2 minds if i should stop.

But like what S@L said, i hve all the support and no physical problems, all the more i shld persevere.

wa, so many posts on mummies intending to stop BF-ing... first of all, i think mummies who are too stressed over the decision shldn't try to be too hard on yourselves even if u decide to stop... all mummies want the best for their babies and i believe FM will also be as good...

for my 1st one, i also supplemented my BM with FM as i was practically very low in supply in BM, decision to stop giving BM came after 2 mths where supply is so low and i was at the same time on some medication... so no choice...

this time round, i am glad that i hv more milk than the 1st time round and am hoping that i can establish the supply (hv been freezing a lot of the EBM) and maintain it somehow even after i return to work (dunno how possible it is to maintain but will try my best)...

pig07,
i intend to continue to BF for as long as possible (mayb 6 months) but it all depends on how things go after i start working...
you can get at least 150ml for each pumping session, that's quite good... how many hours interval do u pump?

any mummies here fallen prey to the pacifier already?
sigh... initially i give it to my gal on 'bad nights' when she fuss too much...
however, daytime she is fussing so much and that she is awake everytime we put her down (although juz a minute ago she was sleeping in my arms!)
Hence the tendency is to pacify her with pacifier... it works sometimes and it wld get her settled, however, sometimes, she wld refuse to take it even! So you can say that we are always offering her the pacifier when she fusses...
now, i'm very certain that my gal (and even myself) is very dependent on the pacifier to get her to quiet down or even go to sleep...

i did not wan this to happen and feel guilty... but on the other hand, whenever she is on the pacifier when she fuss, it allows me to hv some 'me' time to pump and to do things lor... very sian, very worried that my gal will grow up to be one of those kids whose pacifier never leave their mouth