(2007/11) November MTBs

Kemmy,
i posted this a few days ago, hope u will it useful.

I agree that GF method is more for BF babies as they then to get hungry faster than FM babies. Basically it teaches u how to establish a routine for bb's sleeping and feeding time from 7am-7pm. It helps bb to get their milk supply during the day btwn 7-7 so that they will be sleeping throughout the night. inside the book, there's a time routine to follow, at what times to feed, to pump, to sleep, to play, to bath and so on. These routines change from 1 wk to 1 yr. I follow her method closely although i did change some things to suit me. It is definitely not easy to go on a routine,it requires alot of determination. Initially i had to wake my boy up even though he's still sleeping n when he wakes up earlier i will have to hold off the feed.
Once the routine is established anyone can continue it, not just u. Another reason why i succeed in doing it could be that i am NOT staying with any old folks. No one interferes with how i manage my baby so i have the free hand.
My gf started this method when her baby is 3 mths
old so i think its not too late for u to start now but it might take a longer time for yr gal to get used to it. Take time to read the book so that u can have a clearer picture, like i say u might need to change some things to suit your lifestyle.

Hi ueno,
thanks for the prompt reply.
are you able to let me know the timing?

and if my bb sleep beyond 7am, i have to wake him up?

kemmy,
According to GF the rouine for a breastfeeding baby at 4-6weeks is

feed times 7am, 1030am, 2/230pm, 5pm, 615pm and 1030pm. (At 5pm, offer baby half the feed, next half should be after his bath. 615pm is actually part 2 of the 5pm feed)

bath times 10am, 6pm

nap times 9-10am, 1130am/1200noon-2/230pm, 415/5pm
Max daily sleep btwn 7am-7pm is 4.5hrs

expressing times 645am, 1030am,945pm

initially I wake my baby up at 7am and now he wakes up on his own. the routine changes after 6weeks so if u find it useful u may wana get a copy of her book. But do use yr discretion when using the routine. Good luck to u!

my bb gabrielle cried a lot after her full mth party... n oso passed out grennish stool tat nite my CL said she had been frightened... so sad... my CL left yday i cried the whole day... my milk supply decresased after conefinment n i gave her FM but seemed like her demand for milk oso decreased... used to drink 3oz FM but now 2OZ she dun wan oreadi... izit something wrong???

Elaine, it could be tt ur girl was overwhelmed by the criwd during the party. it prob affected her appetite, however u should keep up ur pumping session or increase it n give her more BM cos its easier to digest than FM. reason why she drink lesser is becos FM is thicker more filling.pls dun give up BF jus yet.

Twiggy,
i still have the linea negra and it's still extremely dark.

S@L,
wat did u use to scrub off the linea negra? normal body scub?

Catherine, hahaha i use my fingers! during bath...i also use the body scrub/ brush...it will come off.the darkest part is actually inside my bellybutton...i tried to peel it cos some parts become flaky already(dead skin) and the peeled areas are bk to normal skin col.

S@L, i din realise can even scrub it off. coz it's so ugly tat i dun even have a second look at it. tot it will stay with me for the rest of my life. my gynae also said it will remain, just become lighter. almost wanted to throw away my bikini...hahaha

when i warm up refrigerated BM, it can be kept at room temperature for up to 4hrs? then if baby has started to drink it, it must be consumed within 1hr?

hi ladies, how long do you latch your babies on for one side? does it mean she'll latch on for shorter periods once milk flow is in? i used to latch 20 mins per side. then it became 20 one side and 10 one side.

tub, yes i think so too...cos my gal dun spend so long latching now. i think as they get older they can get milk easier/faster n also cos our milk is more established.

nt jus latching, i realise i can pump more within a shorter period...

my baby is also waking up too many times in the night. He did it again yesterday... 1am, 3am, 4am, 5am, 6.30am.... I nearly died on my bed...
So, I am going to try out the GF nethod... desperate to establish routine b4 i rtn to work. and my mum is persuading me to leave baby in her care even at night so i can be well rested. my mummy really dotes on me, but i am reluctant cos I am mummy wat, so I think i should do it myself.
anyone gone back to doing exercises yet?? like running, yoga, pilates, swimming??? dunno if its safe..

s@l, i hope my ger gets enuf... she suckles lightly at times so i'm worried she's not taking in enuf. just wondering... is it true that if they dun take enuf, they'll cry? hubby was assuring me tat bb will let us know when she is hungry. if not, means she's having sufficient. :x

tub, observe her weight and poo....my girl also seem to suckle a while then sleepfor 2hrs..i tot she cant have taken enough,. but the fact tt she didnt cry and weight gain was above average assured me more. she also poo/pee alot, if she didnt take enough, where does all this come from? Btw till now since birth i hv nt fed her any plain water.

however at night she will feed as frequently as daytime...tt is one thing i hope she can change soon.

Gillian,i wan to resume my aerobics too,,but me too reluctant to leave bb with my mum jus to go exercise....cos she dun stay with me, wll be so troublesome to do tt. one thing i m very happy is i lost all the weight and even weigh lighter than my pre-preg weight now. but the bulge at my tummy still there....must do massage and workout to tighten the flabs....

tub, btw saw tt u wan to get the playtex bags....did u PM the seller? i think she has some extras to let go. how many boxes u wan? i might have extras

Hi S@L,
Thanks for the tip on getting rid of linea nigrea. I'll start scrubbing like mad tomorrow!
Was afraid I can't wear my bikinis anymore too. :p

RE: Latching
When I latch baby, he feeds for half an hour max and then stops and I can't get him to continue. In that time, he clears only 80% of one breast which means it is not a full feed for him. Then he will be hungry again within an hour. How do I get him to have a really full feed so he goes on longer? Right now, I'm pumping every four hours and feeding him EBM but I want to convert to latching.

twiggy, i think no solutions..my gal also the same. sometimes she will latch a gd 25-30mins total both sides...but most of the time 15min total one side and she is satisfied. So i jus take the cue from her.

haha...re: linea negra, whether i still have it or nt also wont dare to wear bikinis! hehee...the flabs on the tummy is a more turn off than the line to me.

hi s@l, wat's the diff btw playtex and lansinoh? another mtb from the dec thread is letting go her lansinoh milkbag. pse advise. tks! "D

i only fed Sumana water twice or 3xs cos upon doc's advise. other than tat, i didn't feed her water too. she poos about 3 times in 12 hours and pees quite a bit. but how do you weigh your mischa?

twiggy, my baby also latches for 25 to 30 mins max, like s@l's. sometimes, she latches only for 15 mins also. no chance of waking her up for continuation. she sleeps like a log.

Tub, playtex needs to use clip...lansinoh is 'ziplock' style tats why more exp...how much she selling the lansinoh? cos can get from drugsstore/ amazon

i weigh myself then weigh with me carrying her..the diff will be her weight.but hv to use digital scale. or u can weigh her when go for jabs

Anyone of you still having confinement lady around to help out till now? Mine is leaving next saturday. I am worried that after next saturday I couldnt manage as my boy's routine is well managed by the CL that I am worried i may 'disrupt' it and he won't get the type of sufficient sleep and care he is receiving now. Worried that he may also be not used to my methods and timings of doing things. Now really getting gan cheong at the thought that it's just 8 more days and CL will be leaving us.

re: linea nigra line
The line will fade off slowly by itself, cos I had the line for my 1st son and 1 yr after delivery, the line just disappeared!
But this time round, like S@L, I also used my fingers to "clean" the inside of my belly button, until it bled.(oops!) So I used cord spirit to heal it, quite effective! I tried using cotton buds with baby oil to "scrub" away the dark pigmentation around my belly button, you will see the white cotton turn black! hehehe :p

Hi ueno,
thanks for sharing.

this routine will help bb sleep thru the night?

can bb last for 3 hrs in btwn feeds? I thought BM is digested in 1.5-2hrs time?

Merry christmas and happy new year mummies!!

PC is offline for a while so I'm unable to catch up with you guys, but have a lovely New Year with your babies

Vivian,increase by 20ml and see.
what colour is stool?
I forgot how many weeks is your baby?

My baby still poos but it has reduced from 8-10times a day to say 5 times a day. The quantity depend on the intake. If he takes alot between 10pm to 12midnight, he poos alot alot.
Other than that , it is normal

I managed to make him sleep throughout by giving him his last feed at between 1030pm to 11pm but he wont go to bed until 12 plus in the am. Between last feed until he falls asleep, he will drink empty my breasts.

congrats to you dokie! don't have to do duty anymore. i'm still doing duty sighs. He poos in the middle of the night one ley. very sian!!! i still can't succeed in making him sleep through the night.. he makes a lot of noises that's very distubring to me. hahaha but not to the extent of crying. So i don't know if he's hungry or what, but i just feed him, after 5 to 10min of latching, he'll go back to bed again. sighs.

Cindy, u try to fix his last feed nightly. If he cries, u don go to him immediately. U stretch him bit by bit. To make him sleep through, u have to feed 3 hourly whether he is awake or asleep.

ladies, u know of any one who might be interested to babysit? Mon to Fri daytime only.. i stay around Bukit Merah/Tiong Bahru/Redhill area...

if i cannot find nanny then i have to hire maid which i am not very keen given all the problems they bring along. if u have contacts for maid agency that can recommend, pls let me know too.

ueno, was it u who wanted contact for confinement lady? my original confinement lady quite good. She cooks, washes, cleans the house and take care of bb. this is her number: 60169866180. Tell her Huiling recommend.

yesterday was a fight...brought bb for her 6 in 1 jab at 12pm. then fever came around 6plus in the evening. fuss and fuss till close to 1am then sleep. bb will grumble and make all kind of noises.. does this happen to your bb? her highest temp was 38.4 deg, had to sponge her down and give fever medicine. then best she puke all the fever med and milk out...boohooo.
lucky fever subside, she is better this morn.

ask u gals ah... wat happens if baby sleeps more than 3 hours? do i pump out the milk? she doesn't wake up no matter wat i do leh...sleepy head.

grace,
need to take 6 in 1 jab? I asked my PD, he was trying to explain to me. Think not really necessary if in spore right? instead ask me to take 2 additional jabs. One is for rotavirus, cant remember the next one.

Grace,
You cannot tahan liao ah? Need nanny? Me too, now hubby back to work, I'm managing alone, mum can only come help out next week, me so busy until no time to pump milk or eat. Last night my boy was cranky too, think too much wind in the tummy, fussed and cried from 7pm to 12am then sleep. Never felt so helpless before..sigh..keep reminding myself that it's juz a passing phase, soon all these will be over.

poissons:
cheer up. Things will get better. My boy was like that one evening after I brought him out. Fussed for almost 5 hrs. I couldnt even finish my dinner, change and remove my makeup until he finally fell asleep at 10 plus. Guess what. I was so fed up after feeding him twice and changing diaper and putting him down to sleep 3 times (and he wakes up crying), I put him in my MIM sling and finished my dinner, and removed my makeup. He slept. My FIL says it's a sarong effect. But i try not to do it too often.

Abt the wind in the stomach, try using ruyi oil, rubbing it on ur palms and then place on bb's stomach. Or let him drink a bit of feizhaishui (supposed to help clear wind). Can get at NTUC or those herbal shop. My mum and MIL swears by it. Even my cousin says it's good as he watch my sis drink it when she was growing up. So i just let them try it.

Hi Tinkabel

Thought most people will take either the 6 in 1 jab or 5 in 1 jab? As for rotaviurs, its optional though...

My baby is sick for the last 2 days. Running a slight fever and was also coughing. Think virus was spread to her... Was quite stress up as not sure why she's sick. Brought her to a gp and luckily recover today.

My gal seems to be learning how to turn by herself? and gets quite cranky when doing it. She's also always putting iher hands into her mouth and gets very agitated while doing so. Any of your babies also like that?

tinkabel,
i opt for the 6 in 1 jab lah. i took the package that comes with chickenpox. chickenpox jab is much later at 1 year old. i also gave her the rotarix(for diarrhea and vomitting). rotarix is 2 doses orally. the other jab is prevenar.
prevenar is for 0 infection of spinal cord/blood infection/ lung infection and middle ear infection) important to take prevenar if u sending kid to infant care early. otherwise if u have a baby sitter, then can take at 1 year old. as for wind, i also use the ruyi oil loh. then i burp her. i also have this ridwind medicine on standby. u can get it at the pharmacy for $8.. so far i have not use medicine lah.

poissons, ah yo... no time to eat ah. cannot lah. if u stress, no food then = no milk. can u send to mil house? or u go over in the daytime for these few days till your mum is here?

Grace,
Indeed my milk supply is decreasing these few days and I intend to stop expressing soon cos' my boy doesn't seem to get full from BM (and keep fussing) and unable to sleep long (and I can't rest or do much things if he's often awake). When on FM at night, he can sleep longer, at the stretch of 4 to 4.5hrs.

My MIL works on wkdays, so she can't help me. I dun want to go over to my mum's place cos' she's taking care of my sick niece, fear of her spreading virus to my boy. But my dad got deliver lunch to me everyday lah...so heng lor.

Tinkabel,
I did use ruyi oil on my boy too and my mum bought me the ba1 bao2 san3 from yu yan seng, supposedly good to rid tummy wind. I thot the feizhashui is for bigger babies and not infants? Hmm..maybe shld buy and try also.

Wrt the MIM sling, my colleague loaned me hers but somehow I still can't master the skill of using it though I went to the MIM website to check out the instructions. I need live demo...haha.. Last night was so bizarre that hubby suggested getting a yao lan to soothe the boy when he's cranky. I told him once used it, it's no turning back cos' it will be addictive, guess what, my hubby replied that he dun mind, as long as can keep our boy quiet and sleep! Arggh...

poissons, I am gaining confidence with MIM. Still not perfect. I do find it very useful.
Nevertheless I am still afraid people would laugh at me for using it wrongly.
U have to dare to try.

S@L, have u use your stroller? I saw yours at mothercare yesterday. Nice Pink.
I am thinking of using tomo for my sister's wedding rehearsal.

Sigh..my boy was cranky after his 2nd Hep B jab yesterday. His eyes wide open from 5pm to 1am. Not sure if it's the jab or the reduction in his milk intake. Doc said my bb overweight (4.9kg at 5wk). Sigh..my mil always wanna feed him more, so increased his feed to 120ml every 2.5-3hrly. Doc said too much, shld be at least 3.5hrs or 90ml every 2.5hr only. So he cried quite a bit yesterday afternoon and refused to sleep. Think the initial phase is always difficult. No choice but to carry him till his feeding time.

And the fact that bb regurgitate even aft abt 2hr aft his feed confirms that the milk is not digested well and bb is overfed.

MIL wanted to give in and feed him, but i insisted and said no. Then hor, last night realised his belly button protrude out. MIL seems to be blaming me and said shldnt let bb cry too much, now stomach got wind liao. Called PD today and check with him the cause, he said it's due to colic/wind in the stomach. Also recommended me to rub Ru Yi You and feed him Gripe Water (Fei Zai Shui) to expel wind.

Hai...Usually he is ok to play by himself, but since yest, he wants to be carried. Now my mil taking care of him, while i take a breather here. Just hope he gets better soon.

Dokie,
I tried once using the MIM sling with the bb, but he doesn't like it and cried like I machiam tortured him..haha.

Cactusnah/Tinkabel,
How much of the Gripe water shld we feed our bb?