(2007/11) November MTBs

K@ye, very sianz. I dread to go to their house very weekend.
I also have a soft spot because she also very poor thing because she is lonely. She has 3 sons but somehows men are not "sticky" towards their parents. Unlike women, they don ring home so often. I do pity her. I try to care for her but at the end of the day feel miserable because she interferes, meddle with my affairs or I am unhappy with the way she does things.

tinkabel,
my boy is on TBF and i latch him on all the time so i dont really know how much he's drinking. On sat when i give him the bottle for 1 of his feed, he drinks 3.5oz. Sometimes after that he still wants more so i will latch him on but sometimes he is contented so i leave him alone.

tinkabel,
my boy is on TBF and i latch him on all the time so i dont really know how much he's drinking. On sat when i give him the bottle for 1 of his feed, he drinks 3.5oz. Sometimes after that he still wants more so i will latch him on but sometimes he is contented so i leave him alone.

tinkabel,

hi all mummies,

"MERRY CHRISTMAS"

merry xmas to all mommies! have a blessed one with loads of food and presents!

ueno:: i really am so envious of you! will try to stick by the routine today and see how. hope i can achieve what you did.

dokie and kaye:: hugs. i also try my best to ren MIL most of the times. she keeps wanting to give bb water. BF babies don't need water now right? she keeps telling me bb thirsty want to drink water. goooodness. and somemore use the hanky put tap water to clean bb face all in one wipe! i was angry but cannot flare up also. when bb cries for food, i try to hold off the feed for a longer time to stretch him a little, she'll tell him: mummy say NOT TIME YET. mummy SAY wait wait. aiyas. if only my flat is ready!

merry xmas to all the mummies n bbies... tml is bb gabrielle full mth cum hse warming cum christmas party... but kinda scare coz gabrielle's face is full of pimples... relatives will sure ask wan... everyone will wana carry then she cant slp.... haiz... oso duno wat my MIL will do tml... very scare of her... keeping wanting to introduce pacifier to her n wana carry her and wana give her FM.... feel like crying... then gabrielle's head not round she kept saying we let her slp sideway... now wif the pimples she said we din clean her properly... din clean her face after milk feeding... WE GOT HOR!!! she is not the one takke care of her... luckily she din do the confinement for mi or else.... haiz... cant complain to my hubby so onli can complain here....helppp.... every tuesday she will come up... other ppl is MONDAY BLUES mine is TUESDAY STRESS...haha

merry christmas to all!!

ueno, me have been trying to stick to GF method lah. but so far cannot suceed in 5 feeds. now maintaining around 8 feeds cos she got reflux so she refuse to drink alot at a go. On and off these few nites, she will wake up once at around 3-4am and only once she slept thru to 6am. do u have any problem feeding bottle? she latches on alrite but once give bottle, she screams the house down. only give 1 bottle feed per day. u give bottle once a week ah, bb doesnt reject it?

thankies ueno!!
i will try my best. haha

elaine:: i know what you mean man. don't worry the pimples will go away on its own. don't care about what she says. one ear in one ear out. just be happy with what you have done YAY! one month! things will get better.

btw, any mums can recommend any book on babies growth. like week by week or month by month, how they grow and what they will learn. something like by how many months, we can expect them to hold their head etc etc..

thanks again!!

AIYO! K@ye,Dokie, Cindy, Sabrina, Elaine, WHY ARE ALL MILs THE SAME? hahahaha...lets be smart and nt be like them when we grow old...really make the young ppl stress over their comments. But Cindy and the rest of mummies at least u have a choice to move out cos its nt ur home BUT i m STUCK FOREVER with her becos she stays with me...Argghhh...!!!

Lets forget abt them for a while and enjoy this Xma season! I m going for buffet dinneer with Hubby and my 2kiddos! hope it wil be a nice family time spent... Merry Xmas to all!

s@l:: hahaha you are soo funny!!

ENJOY your dinner! hehe so u be latching mischa outside? wonder if tmr shops will be open.. feel like gg shopping get some levi's jeans. hahaha

S@L, I'm stuck forever too coz my husband is the ONLY CHILD!!!!!

grace, u can try this book, "What To Expect - The First Year". It's very comprehensive. It's like a very detailed FAQ book. I have one too!

grace,
i introduced the btl in his 5th week n Thank God he takes it well, finishes his feed. My recommendation is the same as sabrina "what to expect in the 1st year" its a good book for new mummies like us.

Elaine,
Yes, my baby gal also had pimples on her face, the confinement lady we had said it's the heatiness that was 'accumulated' during pregnancy..so it is beyond our control one..

She used 'jin1 yin2' hua (gold/silver flower?) that can be bought at chinese medical halls. Supposed to put about 100g and boil in water for baby's bath. After the water's cooled sufficiently, use it to bathe baby. Do it consistently for a few days, and baby's pimples really went off!

Can give it a try, it doesn smell, in fact it has a nice chrysenthemum smell to it. haha!

Merry Christmas to all! :)

Havn't been to the forum for many weeks. Finally found some time today. Hope everyone has an enjoyable time with our new tiny family member :)

Looks like many of us got complaints of horror MILs. Yesterday, was at a chinese restaurant with my hubby's family and relatives. My MIL gasp in horror when she saw my baby cos i din put on long pants for her. She is wearing a short jumper. Thru'out whole dinner, my MIL was sitting beside me and kept buzzing in my ears to cover her legs with the blanket. And my gal keep kicking the blanket off. Really buay tahan.

And best part is my hubby's grandmother keep saying that my baby very small and never grow at all and keep asking me to feed FM whilst i was BF. She then say baby never eat enuff. And join in to say why we never bring long pants for her. Then my MIL say i dunno how to take care of baby cos i let her expose to aircon and later got wind in tummy. *faint* These old pple are really from another planet.

She even take out ntuc wet wipes and ask me to wipe baby mouth with it. How can?? I told her got "chemicals", cannot use that.

Then my FIL carried baby and she cried. My auntie took over and she happily fell asleep in her arms. Then, could tell that my MIL was unhappy about it. She then "suan" my auntie saying that baby prefers fat pple to carry. *fainted*

During end of dinner, baby started to fuss and cry. And my MIL ask us to quickly leave the restaurant cos baby is crying. Then i tell her there are other babies around and they are also crying on and off, so why must she chase us out of restaurant just becos baby crying.

Then my auntie again offer to carry baby. After that baby was quiet and her 2 young daughters surround baby to take photos. Then my MIL start jabbing me in the arm to quickly go and carry my baby back. *fainted*

Sigh! Didn't know that a 2 hour family dinner gathering can be soooooo exasperating!

Better luck next time...

I guess all MILs is the same. Mine is no better. We might need to just bear with it for the sake of our hubby.

Merry Christmas

<font color="0000ff">Merry Christmas to all</font>

ueno,
which is the GF book tat teaches the routine? Gina Ford's Contented Baby?

RE: MIL
i dun have prob with MIL coz she passed away long time ago when my HB was still young. my prob is the opp from the rest of u all - my HB cannot stand my mum. he'll complain to me abt her almost everyday. sometimes he is so angry with her tat he'll use the F word to complain abt her! imagine how bad i felt
i can feel the tension building up between them &amp; sometimes i really feel quite stressed... *sigh*

Morn ladies!

Catherine, u re not alone in being stuck bet your Mum and hubby. I also have this problem but my hubby dun dared to raise his opinions coz my Mum was the one who helped me thru out in taking care of my baby since day 1.

Cindy, to the old folks... Water is good for babies lah and i firmly believe in that. I forced fed my daughter 3oz of water daily even though the PD says 1 oz is enough. Basically, if ur baby is on BM, its not necessary to give water coz mine is on FM so i have to give her water.

Dokie, my MIL has 4 children but she is traditional in the sense that she prefers her sons over her daughters. Sometimes, i also pitied her coz she can't see her fave son's children. But ever since, i had Claire, I know y her daughter in law refused to let her children have any contact with her. Its partly due to her comments and eye power (my ILs only talk, dun help, if help, its eye power).

S@l, yup... Must not be like our MILs when we re old.

Haiz,
Yesterday had a party with my close friends and Matt was behaving very well. Although he didn't sleep, he was playing himself and seem to enjoy himself. Prob like the new environment and the noise. So I stayed longer at the party and went home after midnight. My MIL called and asked me why bring bb out until so late. Haiz, now with bb, I just lose my freedom cos have to explain to her where and whom i am going out with all the time. Feel so frustrating. Feel like in the teenage days whereby my parents will always ask that question. I just so hate it!

Cassie, your MIL also very challenging. :p
It seems all of us are in the same boat...
what is your baby weight now? Did she put on?
Tell them the facts to Shut down off .

catherine,
the book is Gina ford's The new contented little baby book. did u mention that yr CL was good? my gf looking for CL but mine is fully booked. Can u give me her contact please?

thanks ueno, my CL's contact is 94670667. she has assignment now so she might not on her mobile. ur gf can try sms her in chinese. my CL mentioned she retiring soon so i'm not sure if she still wans to take on more assignments. my CL is quite hardworking but she's not v pro BF. she knows quite alot abt BF but always wan to feed my baby with FM.

pimples:
my gal also suffer from this problem a few weeks back, i was so worried and brought her to see PD but PD say just leave it and its due to homos not becoz dirty or what...and true enuf, after abt 3 weeks of horrible outbreak, now her skin all cleared...so no need to worry too much ya..unless bb is irritated by that (if itchy), then u got to bring bb to see PD to check since may be some kind of rashes instead of pimples..

Hi Ueno,
I was reading GF's book earlier and she stated that in order to allow our bbs sleep through the night, it is recommended to increase the day feeds and decrease the night feeds..does this really work? Cos my folks told me to feed him more in the night so that he feels fuller and sleep longer, not the other way round (though it doesn't really work, he still wakes up every 3 hours).If so, how do you cut down the night feed? A gradual 10ml or 20ml?

Seems like MIL really got probs. Luckily my MIL shifted out before my delivery.... Heng ah.Just imagine that she came for 2 days during my confinement, I already want to go crazy liao. If she gonna stay w me, I tin my whole house I can turn it upside down.
My SIL also very fake. She came during my confinement but she is ok and buy alot of tonics for me. To think that she is so kind towards me and came to see me very other day. Story came during my bb 1st mth, her family are vegetarian. So I only cater like 1 dish that is vegetarian and of cos desserts are vegetarian too. She complained to my hubby that it wasn't enuf and how can I invite them and dun show my sincerity. My hubby agreed w her. To me a vegetarian is someone who eat vege only. When I am the one ordering the food and also highlight to me hubby that I oredred only 1 vegetarian dish. This damn hubby also one kind. whatever his sister says he just agree never come and share w me the idea. Also she can just come to me and said can have more vege dishes since we are family. Such small matter also complain! Just bfore xmas I accidentaly saw an sms she sent to my hubby. I suppose to buy MLM products from her. But I did told her that she must demo to my maid, If not I duno how to use and I am those kind that couldn't be bothered abt all this nitty gritty household issues. She told my hubby that is cos i am his wife that she gave me discounts and even if I help her to sell her house I also ask for comm. Hey! U are my family and if u are selling yr place with profits of cos u gave me comm. If not forget it I will help not even asked for anything. And claims that if my friend sold me the products, my friend will also charge me retail price. But I know my gf just gave me disc automatically wo me asking for it. Yet u r my family. In the 1st place u asked me to buy cos u want to earn the PV points. Now she is saying completely different story!My hubby told me that if i am not going to buy dan dun asked from her. I told him off that I sms her several times to ask her what to get but she never reply me! And how can they make such a remark! I still can afford to buy all these household items.

I tell myself from now on. That's It. Not going to have anything to do w them anymore. All of them so petty.
Hiaz... Just to rant on my frustrations. In laws!

yoko,
IL's story never end....Lucky that I don't stay with them. I also have a selfish SIL. She never think of others except for herself.

For example, when he son is borned, she asked my MIL to come to my place to get my sterilizer and saying that my daughter is old enough (8 months old at that time), no need to use sterilizer and can save electric. I was so mad and even don't give face to my MIL. I said, I am not going to save electricity.

She held her ROM day before my wedding without informing us or even her mother before setting the date. My MIL is so mad about it as worry of the "cheong" for 2 wedding within a month.

When she wanna buy over the HDB flat that my hubby shares with my MIL, she wants to buy at low price and saying mother can stay with her but father sty with us. Such a good planning huh?

Sigh....marriage is 2 FAMILY comes together not 2 people. What a pity !

poissons:: i think the increase in day feeds is increase in number of day feeds. but it doesn't really work for me ley. he feeds very much in the day, i try to follow the timings he feeds from the book and sometimes in between the timings he wants to feed, i feed him, but still he wakes up at night!
maybe need a loonger time to see results or something. but the last feed at 1030 he'll raelly make sure he's FULL before he goes to bed. he really empties both breasts and the next time he wakes up is about 2 to 3am. and then next time is 530 to 630am and i feed him at 7am again to start off the day.

Cindy, hiaz...me totally tired out by my little Mischa...dunno whats wrong last night woke up every hr....nt really wanna feed although i latch her she drink a bit..but more like cant get to sleep herself...so sian....then today i kick start her on the GF routine...so far her timing nt exact yet...bt 1hr+- to the routine. but her feedings time also more than the GF recommendation. Worse part is she seems to reject btl these few days!

s@l:: how come reject bottle? other ppl feed her she reject or you feed her she reject? usually bottle i get hubby to feed. so far so okay. Hahaha.. she woke up every hour? waht about yesterday day time? she slept a lot? sometimes my boy also like that. not really want to feed but rather want to feed to sleep. he cannot or doesn't know how to fall asleep on his own on the bed. so when i buay tahan i will latch him on and he'll fall asleep then i put him back on the bed. Hope you succeed to the GF routine! i don't really exactly follow cause i don't pump and i only bathe him once a day and not at that time she suggested too. only the feeding times i try to follow. hahahs.

Cindy, both ways she also reject le...when hb fed her last night she cry like mad...then i took over and latch her she happily sucking away.. what i do now is while i latch her i will 'secretly' unlatch her by 'squeezing'the btl teat from the side of her mouth (like how we unlatch using finger)..she will suck a while then realise is nt my nipple, she will wail again..i usually try to ask hb give btl, sometimes im alone at home i have no choice cos i need to increase her btl feed vs latching cos need to work soon, 1 night feed with btl is nt enoug for her to get used to btl.

But last night had a talk with hb tt i wish to establish my BM and routine before i pass to my mum...cos i very stress,have to help him with drawings daytime and managing a bb, night time my son is bk home, i also hav to settle his meals etc...he finally gave and asked me to establish the routine/ BM ss first before helping him....yeah..! at least i m nt so stress now...

my gal also cant go to sleep on her own unless she is super tired already...i don wan to latch her to make her fall asleep cos she will get the wrong signal tt latching=sleep time...i made this mistake when i had my son...ended up being the walking pacifier...

s@l:: woow. she is smart man! my boy takes anything given to him. haha. greeaatt for you!! i also hope to establish a routine soon. wheres your son inthe daytime? haha. i also hate to give the wrong signal but sometimes he is really tired yet cannot fall asleep. after latching, less than 5 mins, he koon liao.

Cindy, great for me? hahaha.....

my son goes to childcare half day and bk to my mum plc aft 1pm. i only fetch him in the evening when we go to my mum plc for dinner. Next yr i switching him to full day, at least he learn more thngs and more discipline cos CC also have routine. then i have more time for myself and work.

s@l:: great for u that hb is so understanding. hehe!! I see... next yr isn't it soon? in another few more days? hahhaa. but the childcare only 5 days right? so wkends he'll be with you? so tired these days. don't know why but he poos at night now. hahaha last night 1, 3, 5 am poo. goodness. busy just changing diapers.

Grace,
I'm like you, tried to follow the Gina Ford routine. But baby has reflux so can't give him a full feed. Must give him 90ml every 2 hrs instead. For his last feed at night, about 11pm, I give him full feed of FM. That usually keeps him going till 3-4am. Then he'll sleep thru till 7am. I find it really hard to stick to the GF routine as it's too rigid. But the few general rules I find useful :
1) Start the day at the same time everyday, 7am.
2) Feeding the baby more during the day makes him more likely to sleep for longer at night.
Once his reflux problem goes away, I'll try to re-establish a routine but will problaby modify the GF method to fit my own routine better.

Ueno, do you wake up at night to pump? Because my breasts get engorged if unemptied for 5 hours, I find that the best thing for me to do is pump after feeding baby is 3-4am feed.

Mummies, anyone still has the linea nigrea (the brown line donw the middle of belly)? Mine is still quite prominent. How to get rid of it?

Twiggy, ya me too jus trying to understand the logic behind the GF routine for bb to slp thru the nite then i work ard it to fit my routine.

As for the linea negra, scrub it during bath n it will come off very soon.mine is a lot faded now

Cindy, yes weekends my son will be at home. but luckily hb is ard t help out so nt tt bad for me. although he can upset bb's sleeping time whenever he is at home.

hey just want to check. When I thaw breast milk, it's got to be consumed within the next 24 hrs right? Other wise, must discard. Or should we thaw just before the feed. Thawing in fridge or using warm water better? Anyone knows?

poissons,
i feel that increasing the no of day feeds works. Like i mention earlier, when my boy wants milk apart from his regular feeds during the day i will feed him. As long as he drinks enough during the day, he doesnt wake up for milk at night. For the past week, he has been drinking milk from 4-7pm taking short breaks in between, that's almost 2.5hrs for nursing but he sleeps through the night. Yes i mean literally throughout the whole night from 7.30pm-7am, almost 12hrs!

twiggy,
i dont wake up to pump at night, i slept right through the night till 7am when my baby wakes up. Hehe...i didnt even wake up to go to the loo. So when i wake up my breasts r really engorged and my breast pads are soaking wet. I will feed my boy then pump out the milk cos he will finish only 1 breast .

Gillian,
Cant remember if I have PMed you my account number for your transfer. Here it is: POSB savings 121-59847-7. $9.70 for the desitin creamy. Let me know when you transfer. Thanks.

tinkabel,
i thaw jus before feeding but tat is for my elder son. I try to give fresh EBM to Mischa.
i use hot water from the flask n jus sit the milk bag into the cup of hot water.

tinkabel,

u can thaw in the fridge first (max 24 hrs) and then warm it up using hot water or warmer before feeding.

after warming the milk, bb must consume within 1 hour.

S@L,

wrt using the avent petal on ameda pump, i tried, it can be attached to it, but it makes the hole smaller, so the suction is not strong, can't pump out any milk at all.

in the end, i had to use the supershields again...

hi ladies, just to check, how often does baby pass bowels? Mine only pass once and its a whole lot of them, its like my baby have accumulate fr the entire day. Is this normal?

i am giving him breastmilk 100ml every 3 hours. He seems to root for milk after the feed as if its not enough. How can i judge when to increase his feed?

Sadly he dont latch on and my milk supply seems stagant. i am rfealy tempted to give him formula but then i keep holding on. the most i can pump per session is only 100ml...

so stress! and i am returning ti work soon!

Vivian, try increase ur pumping session duration and shorten the interval betwn sessions. how many hrs apart do u pump? Try to take more soup and supplements?