(2007/11) November MTBs

Tinkabel, what milk bags are u using? try using Playtex bags. so far its the cheapest and i find it easier to use then to transfer frozen milk cubes. But once i start pumping for daily feeds, will be using glass btl and send to my mum place. long run this is the most economical.

sometimes spending so much $$ to buy BF equipment/ accessories makes me think tt BF is not really Free/cheap.a fren of mine BF her son for 1.5yrs without freezing a single pk of milk. and she only depended on her Avent Manual pump throughout. she really saved a lot!

BTW my Leapfrog order has been shipped! Mummies, i will inform u all if i m starting another spree. Wait till my items arrive and i see whether the shipping price is worth it or nt.

hi mothers,

need to check with those who are storing/freezing ur breast milk. how do u organise them? chronologically or by ounce or both? my milk bags r in a great mess. =( i guess it cld b becz i hvent started utilising the milk since i've been feedg direct.

any tips to a neater freezer?

S@L,

Re: Quality of BM
No use explaining anything to my MIL. She thinks she's right always. And i know there's nothing wrong with my breastmilk. In fact it's so oily, I have resorted to using disposable milkbags. Find it too troublesome to wash stubborn milk fats off the containers.

Re: $$ to buy BF equipment / accessories.
I sort of agree with you that to TBF is quite an $$ investment actually. Especially if we have to return to work. That's y i'm determined to BF for at least 3 mths to break even. :p

Re: Leapfrog
You've not advised on the payment??

sabrina:
haha. I actually bought 2 pairs of papillio from the spree I did. No choice, cannot go out. So online shopping. I havent done any xmas shoppin for this year. Feel so bad, cos I have a few xmas parties to go to. sigh...

S@L:
I m tinkg of freezing in cubes and put in ziplocks. A lot of wk though. I heard that playtex not very gd, will leak easily, Have you tried before?

S@l,
I am using the Gina Ford's method, my boy is on a routine since day 1. He is indeed a contented little baby! I strongly recommend this book. It works for me at least. My boy's feeding schedule is firmly established,5 times a day. Last feed at 10pm at he wakes up at 7am everyday.

S@L: did u take my order for 4 tubes of desitin? cos I did not receive ur acct no. and so cannot transfer $$ to u. Cn advise payment?

I am also feeding my baby whenever he cries. Its been like 2 ouces every 2 hrs now. he doesnt take beyond that. I just attempted feeding him 2 and a half ouces at 6pm and he slept till now... So, I am hoping he can drink 2 and a half ouces from now on. cos peviously even if I give him more, he refuses or vomits it out.

R leapfrog products really good? I still dunno, update me? Wat does the products do?

And, I have given up on BF now. although I am not taking the medicine to stop it, but there's nothing much anyway... no engorgement etc etc. I tried the fernugreek and i dunno if its allergy or what, but I felt quite uncomfortable after that. Actually i also paid a lot for the pump, nipplets, nipple shield and the lanisoh cream. It's been a period of paying lots of $$ and going thru quite a bit of pain. The sad part is I am stopping now.. But the positive side is I did manage to feed him whatever I have. So i have no regrets paying, at least tried.

Oh, btw, I have a Q for Fm babies' mummies. My baby is feeding on NAN and recently his shit is greenish black. is it ok? or should change formula?

ueno:: WOW!! i take my hat off you~ i wanted to follow the routine but it just DOESn't work for me.
He still feeds very frequently like every 2.5 hourly. Gosh I so envy you!!

hi S@L, how much is the playtex bags? i am keen in this as the current ones in the mkt are far too ex.

do we need a special bottle to hold the liners?

can i still join in the drugstore purchase?

Steffie, i organise them by the dates. Oldest milk outside, new ones at the bk. mine also kinda messy as in the Ounces are different cos i pump out aft each feed so the amt i get is nt consistent.

But i place them into the Tupperware for freezer to keep my milk bags so tt they dun get freezer burns.

Tinkabel, i m using Playtex bags and so far non leaked. i guess those who said the bags leaked becos they didnt give allowance cos milk will expand when freeze thus when they thaw prob the milk leaked from the hole. I personally find the bags are quite thick at least thicker than those Avent bags i used for my son yrs ago.

Ueno, can u share abit of what the routine is all abt? How to establish the routine and is it too late to start now - my gal is 6weeks old. In fact my fren is buying the book for me, but i dun think will have time to finish the book. I m impressed tt ur bb has been following the routine since birth!

Gillian, yes i took in ur order already but forgot to inform u abt the payment. i will PM u . As for milk amt, dun worry every bb apetite is diff. my gal is only taking abt 100ml sometimes 80ml she refuse to drik anymore. but when i latch her also dunno the amt she take. but i look at her weight gain which is above average so should be ok.
as for BF, pls dun be discouraged cos i also did nt TBF my son. but was very determined to TBF my gal this time round and so far i can say tt i m doing it very well, at least much better than the last time. U still have chance to try it if u plan to have another kid. For me this will be the 2nd and last bb, so i give it a last shot!

Re: leapfrog products
i m nt exactly familiar with them but recently bought a edu game for my son to keep him occupied during car rides n find tt they r quite good. all their products r fun & entertaining n most imptly educational. I bought the littletouch leapad for Mischa (for 6mth - 3yrs)from the website aft comparing the price is very worth it.

Sabrina, the US shipping is USD14.95, but the vpst shipping is nt charged until the item reach vpostusa.

Olivetree, Playtex bags are nt from Drugstore.but from a BP and jus ordered some together with Plim.
Maybe u can check with the organiser if she has extras or any mummy wants to drop her orders?
http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/590029/1039234.html?1197471713

i dun use the liners directly to feed although u can. i pour the milk out into the btl to feed. but i have tried putting the bag directly into the milk btl and feed, no problem with tt if u using wide neck btl like Avent.

So far the cheapest milk bags with ziplock seal is Lansinoh followed by Gerber, BUT i mean from overseas spree. if u buy locally, its very expensive.

Ueno: Wow, yr boy only feeds 5 times a day? How much is he feeding each time? Looking forward to being able to sleep thru the nite again. Right now, my bb is taking 120ml every 3 hrly. Hoping to stretch his feed longer.

I'm just wondering how long does your uterus take to contract to its original size? My baby is 5 weeks old already and my tummy still looks the same - like 3 mths pregnant, even after the malay massage. I can't fit into my pre-pregnancy pants and wondering if I shd change my wardrobe? Is it ok to do sit-ups at 5 weeks? Kindly share your experience. Thanks.

ueno, ya, it's amazing how ur boy sleeps throughout the night! can u share what is this Gina Ford about?

Tinkabel,
thanks to S@L, i've started using Playtex bags since wk 2 or 3... so far, it doesn't leak... only time it leaked was when the freezed bag dropped from a high location to the floor... it leaked when i defreeze it... now, whenever a milk bag fall to the floor i will double-bag it so that when i defreeze it, the milk will not leak out (i.e. wasted)

S@L,
u mentioned u put the milk bag directly into milk bottle to feed, how to do so as in securing the milk bag to the bottle and also when feeding, doesn't the milk bag collapse in the bottle, causing it difficulty to feed?

plim and s@l:: the gina ford's book is about establishing a routine for bb, sleep and feed routine. inside the book, there's a time routine to follow, at what times to feed, to pump, to sleep, to play, to bath and so on. These routines change from 1 wk to 1 yr.
I've tried but just can't do it. cause the feeding times are erratic and i feed on demand. So it's very difficult. plus bath times i need to wait for him to get up or he'll cry if i force him to bath. so very hard for me to follow the timings.

Cindy,
Agree with you it is hard to establish the gina ford's routine. Esp with in laws and parents around. Every time, they will associate bb's cries with hunger. It's hard to tell them it's ok to wait a while more. At times, i just give in and feed, if not, my MIL will nag in the background and tell my bb, mummy says dun feed yet. Haiz...

tinkabel,
I also have the same problem as u. I live with my MIL. Sometimes my bb's tummy is so bloated and becomes out of shape as a result of too much feeding. And my baby now has learnt to associate that in order for her to soothe from crying, she needs to be fed. Right now, I am "repairing the damage" by "retraining" my bb from that accidental parenting. Not easy. I have been struggling with my bb's tear festival for the past 2 days already. N my MIL has been showing me that black face too. haiz! no choice! I have to go back to work in a few weeks time.

tinkabel,
i do let my baby sleep on his tummy during the day. he can sleep v soundly for almost 3hrs. but i dont let him sleep on his tummy at night. wat else did u do to make ur baby sleep for so long at night? did u play him music, etc?

sabrina,
i understand how u feel. even my own mother (and my HB sometimes!!) doubts if i have enuff BM. so i have to resort to feeding my baby EBM during the day, so they can "monitor" if he has taken enuff milk. wat an encouragement!!
thanks for the clarification on the calculation of milk intake. hehehe i so blur

Cindy / poissons,
thanks for the tip. i'll try tat method out.

ueno,
i really envy u. i'm still feeding baby on demand & tat's almost every 2 hr

tinkabel and sabrina:: yes i totally agree. once baby cries, they say :: FEED FEED babby hungry! sometimes it's just that they want comfort and end up playing with nipple. Sighs. impossible for me to implement routine.

catherine,
think slowly u can let your bb sleep like that at night. I let my bb sleep on tummy at night also. He will cry for help if he feels uncomfortable or want to turn head and cannot at times. I am a light sleeper, so will wake up when hear him cry.

Re: gina ford routine
think hard to establish this. Esp if bb cries for milk. even without in laws, sometimes bb can get really be hungry, so I think in these cases, definitely have to feed. Esp after they poo poo or do not sleep between feeds. I realise in these cases, they get hungry more easily and hardly last 3 hrs. Usually between 2 to 3 hrs have to feed. Just that I dun like the fact that my MIL keep saying bb is hungry and tells my bb mummy says cannot feed yet. Who knows? Your bb will grow up learning mummy is bad bad...

hihi, anyone knows wat is the best way to store ebm? i intend to pump after feeds and store in freezer. S@L, read about the playtex bag. where can we get them?

I'm from May 07 thread. If any of you needs extra glass bottles to store your EBM, do send me a PM. I have about 20 bottles to give away (w/o caps).

S@L, I am leapfrog fans. I got the fridge magnets and is my favourite. I got the leapad, leapfrog soft toy etc. Just ordered some items together with my SIL as they are having 40% off. Good time to buy. U Can consider.

Got a burning question to ask. Can check with u all if yr bb always choke whilst drinkg EBM? My bb always choke even though I m using the avent size 1 teat. It seems that she has a lot of phelgm in her throat and that seems to choke her passageway and she becomes so angry n weepy. Brought her to PD but PD told me not much phelgm, juz told me its due to colic that cause a bit gastric reflux. But i m getting worried coz she always chokes 2 to 3 times in a feed and then dun wanna drink anymore.

I brought her to 2 PDs and both told me the same thing. Getting so worried if there's anything wrong with my baby.

Cindy, yes i agreee with u tt if bb finds on demand is vry dificult to establish the routine. However my fren kept telling me GF method is for BF mums...so i also confused. and moreever mymum will be the main caregiver for Mischa hence nt sure how keen or corporative my mum will be if we go by a fixed routine. Ueno, any advise? is GF method more applicable to mummies who takes care of bb themselves? cos 34 of my frens who used this method are SAHM.

tub, follow the link i attached in the previous post, the orgainser might have some spares orders for the Playtex bags cos some mummies back out.

Plim, i didnt do tt for playtex bags yet, but i tried feeding my son last time with Avent bags dump directly into the Avent btls. the bag will collapse and its safer tt way cos means no air is trappeed and bb will nt have colic.

Mummies, any of ur bb have cradle caps? i jus discovered Mischa has some on her scalp. 2 weeks ago there was some on her brows till now still have. i know it will go off soon and also use Olive oil / calendula to clear the cradle caps...jus sad to see the cradle cap forming on her scalp today.and she has so much hair which makes it difficult to check and clean..my son didnt have any before...sianz...

wow S@L! U know many SAHMs!
My bb has cradle caps on her brows too. Her scalp starting to get flaky. I just use cradle cap shampoo. Seems to work. But she has rashes on her eyelids. Difficult to clear coz how to put cream / lotion on her eyelids. Risky right?

cactusnah,
my boy feeds for 20 mins each time during the day but at his bedtime which is 7pm he drinks from both breast for 40mins.

S@L,

I agree that GF method is more for BF babies as they then to get hungry faster than FM babies. Basically it teaches u how to establish a routine for bb's sleeping and feeding time from 7am-7pm. It helps bb to get their milk supply during the day btwn 7-7 so that they will be sleeping throughout the night. inside the book, there's a time routine to follow, at what times to feed, to pump, to sleep, to play, to bath and so on. These routines change from 1 wk to 1 yr. I follow her method closely although i did change some things to suit me. It is definitely not easy to go on a routine,it requires alot of determination. Initially i had to wake my boy up even though he's still sleeping n when he wakes up earlier i will have to hold off the feed.
Once the routine is established anyone can continue it, not just u. Another reason why i succeed in doing it could be that i am NOT staying with any old folks. No one interferes with how i manage my baby so i have the free hand.
My gf started this method when her baby is 3 mths
old so i think its not too late for u to start now but it might take a longer time for yr gal to get used to it. Take time to read the book so that u can have a clearer picture, like i say u might need to change some things to suit your lifestyle.

Sabrina, haha, typo error la...should be 3-4 instead of 34! ...but really, i have alot of SAHMs..

Ueno, ya i will get the book and have a read. hope really can establish a routine. n i agree with u tt prob no old folks at home thus easier for u to endure bb's cries...

I have Gina Ford's Contented Baby book to sell. I bought it for $28 in Oct, will let go at $18. Found the routine not suitable for my baby, so not keeping the book. Good condition. Anyone interested?

I only pump once a week on sat for my hubby to feed my boy, we want him to get used to the bottle. Other than that he's latching on all the time. That's something different from GF method.

hey my bb has been rather cranky these few nights. Today, my patience has just been tested. I brought him to a gathering at church this afternn and he was ok. Then came back at 6 plus for a feed and he's been throwing tantrums since then till 10 plus. In between, I have changed his diaper and fed him another time. But every time I carry him to sleep and try to put him down, he starts wailing again. Happened for 3 times. Until I was so fed up, I put on my MIM sling and put him in there. And then he slept. I am worried. Do u think my bb has colic? sianz...

Ueno, though our babies are born 1-2 hours apart. Ur baby can still sleeps thru the night wherea mine is one notti baby!

Sabrina, mabbe u wan to apply baby oil on her eyebrows. I did that for Claire and she will automatically close her eyes when i apply baby oil on her eyebrows.

Talking about old folks, my Mum & in laws are 2 different camps in raising children. And obviously, i will follow my Mum's mtd of raising children but with some modifications. And i hate it whenever my MIL came over to my place to see my baby.

I take a very serious view on ppl disturbing a sleeping baby and carrying the baby when the baby is happily playing by herself. So, i had told my hubby & in laws N times not to disturb my baby while she is sleeping or carry her when she is just playing by herself.

Guess what, my in laws will repeatedly do that even though i said it outright in front of them. Faints!

K@ye, same here...i also hate tt. and my MIL talks very loudly on the phone which startles my bb very often. i always respect and dun criticise her but tt day my limits liao. i show her the 'silence'handsign with my finger and said: "sshh...bb sleeping dun talk so loudly".

then now i let her carry once a while she thinks i m ok. while i m trying to let my bb cry for a while before we carry/attend to her so tt she dun cry jus to be carried all the time. my MIL will quickly appear in front of my bb each time she cries...and want to carry her.

I really think its difficult to have well-behaved or non-spoilt kids with old folks ard..sometimes becos of the way /diference we raise our kids, i feel like asking her to move out of my house! Super super sianz...

Nowadays my bb nite feeding is very unpredictable. his last feed at 11.30pm only 60ml and he stopped. As for me, i was waiting for his cries for next feed and never really concentrate on my zzz. He slept till 5am for is nite feed.

My hubby also trying to wake the bb up at 2am just want to play with him. I told him that if happen that bb wakes up and refuses to zzz after that he better take care of him thoughout. Pissed off. Just like being a father is so easy, impregnant the wife and after delivery just play wit the kid. They never considerd abt thru out pregnancy all the physical, hormones and mental change. The tiredness that we mummies going thru.

One of his friends told him that when he went for biz trip and the moment he came back is to take a look at his son. Not his wife.

At last, my minor surgery cut due to abscess is healing. Everyday got to go to the clinic and change the wound. It is a collection of pus in part of the body. After delivery it seems like i am very prone to this type of prob. So upset.

S@L, same over here. I cant stand my MIL too. I am rude towards her because I couldnt help it.I always feel bad thereafter. I couldnt control because she simply don listen to me. Damn stubborn! Talks loudly, interupt when others are talking, gives snacks during feeding time etc.
Last night I was fuming mad because she fed my son his dinner soup when it was super hot.
She wanted to feed hurriedly so that she could take her dinner. I had to yell at her to stop. I am really very upset until now.

I am someone who is very particular over diet and hygience. She and I are leally in different frequency. I cant never entrust my son in her care. She can never meet my standard unlike my mum.

Yoko, my hubby never patient with children. He gives out too easily. I just snapped at him last Friday angrily; If u have no patience, don have another child! Also No intitiatives to help out at home. Very sianz! Like Mother Like Son...

This channel becomes a platform for us to share our agony.

S@l,
My boy's daily routine is

7am wakes up for his feed
1030 bathtime followed by lunch feed
230pm wakes up for a feed
615pm bathtime followed by dinner feed
10pm i will wake him him for feeding
repeats again the next day, 5 feeds a day.

Initially i had to wake him up for feeds but soon he wakes up by himself. GF recommends that babies sleep max 4hrs a day but i didnt follow that,as long as he's awake when its feeding time, i allow him to sleep longer. There are some days when he wants milk more often,i will also give him more,like when he was growing through growth
spurts. I will use my discretion to see if he's really hungry. But as long as he's hungry during the day i will usually feed him, GF also advised that. In that way, u train baby to get his daily needs btwn 7-7. But what i follow strictly is that i will keep him awake from 315pm to his bathtime so that he goes down well at 7. And it works! Although there were times when he still wants to drink more after 7pm, i have tried feeding him from 5pm-8pm, with some breaks in between. And guess what he wakes up tmr morning at 7 am! I was shocked when it happened, worried that i didnt hear him on the monitor when he cried. This happened on several occassions but i think it cos he drank alot before he slept so he's more sleepy than hungry. Really Thank God! i managed to sleep 10 hrs straight.
Sometimes i am flexible with the routine cos if want to go out earlier than i will not bath him until i come home. Ultimately, i think mummies will understand their babies better so do use yr discretion when using the routine.

Wishing everyone a MERRY CHRISTMAS! God bless you and your family!

ueno,
you are lucky that your boy sticks so closely to the routine. If 5 feeds a day, how much do you feed him. My boy eats like 8 times a day (usually 3 hours apart) and always finishes the 100ML of breast milk I give him.

Wishing all mummies a happy 1st xmas with your bbs... God bless...

Merry Xmas everyone!

Yoko, u re not alone in the hubby dept. My hubby though will help out but he is so slow. Can u imagine when the baby is screaming and he is still doing the things slowly!

S@l & Dokie, my in laws are like that, best part, my MIL told my daughter this, "I can't carry u anymore coz ur Mummy says cannot carry u!" Whereas my own family hor... We will let her cry for a while before attending to the baby. My Mum even better, she will "scold" the baby for crying unexcessively!

K@ye, very sianz. I dread to go to their house very weekend.
I also have a soft spot because she also very poor thing because she is lonely. She has 3 sons but somehows men are not "sticky" towards their parents. Unlike women, they don ring home so often. I do pity her. I try to care for her but at the end of the day feel miserable because she interferes, meddle with my affairs or I am unhappy with the way she does things.