(2007/09) September 2007 MTBs

hi Bt mum, yes i have a confirmed placement as i paid upfront early in the year. coz shawn and katriel (my niece) needs to be in the same class since we are all living together so i searched for the schools pretty early this year.

you are right about the fees in the east. the pricing is pretty much the same among the schools nearby, like Eton, chiltern House, Brighton Montessori so i chose the one nearest to my plc.

JoyInSep,

I think the nearest and the good choice of school will be Marymount kindergarten for you.
Think Shunfu itself only hv the PCF type..
Or else u can try the MMI opposite Thomson Plaza..

Me huh?? My mum stays at Bishan st 12..

Hi BtMum and pillow

I was also looking for childcare near my place in Eunos or my mum place in Tanjong Katong and everywhere is terribly expensive! At least $1200 for a full day (before subsidy and $900 after subsidy). In the end, I chose one in Kembangan Lor Sarina for $950 (before subsidy). But likely to take the half day instead.

Hi Peapod,
I'm now searching for kindergarten for Edison... there are a few church kindergarten near my office and MIL's house.. the fees for a 3-hour program is about $200..

Hi emily

that's very affordable! but I am not a Christian so not very appropriate to send to the church ones

my neighbor enrolled her daughter in Odyssey (east), has good reviews.

another worth consideration in the east, wld be Chiltern House.

Hi Peapod,
It doesn't matter if we are not Christian... I'm not a Christian too.. but church kindergartens may have bible reading activities.. if you dun mind, then its OK lor...

I took half day leave this morning and I visited a few church kindergartens... I was impressed by their syllabus and activities.. Most of them have a wide outdoor and indoor play area... the children have a lot of play time besides study..

I've decided to enroll Edison to start Nursery One in Year 2010...

Emily, I also don't mind church kindergartens even though i'm not Christian. But my PIL will 'hate' me if I ever enrol tristan in church kindergarten. They are the typical Chinese who are not into Christians.

Hi Arisz,
Haha, my PIL is okay with it.. they dun really interfere in which school we enroll..

Most likely Edison will be taking afternoon session, 11am to 2pm.. my FIL has agreed to help me to fetch Edison to and fro... I have one less thing to worry now.. haha!

arisz,

But I feel that church kindergarten has better programme and activities for children compared to those centres out there..

Hi arisz,

Same loh!! My father will hate me if i ever decide to convert to Christianity! Luckily, my FIL and father both think alike. Both are non-christians. If not sure got war one!

Anyway, En En's childcare is gonna be changed soon. Apparently, learning vision lost the tender to operate at NUS. Now, i am waiting for the CC to let me know the arrangement. If the new CC that comes in cant give me the corporate rate, i will go to MOE HQ branch. Haiz..Hopefully, there will be corporate rate plus teachers will stay. Just a change in management only. Or even better, they extend corporate rate to me for other branches.

Hi Pooh Wei,
Study in church kindergarten doesn't mean that you have to convert to Christianity... Church kindergarten will usually give priority to their church members... then to the public...

I went to a few church kindergartens, their programs and activities are excellent.. My silly husband asked me if there is temple kindergarten, I asked him to find himself...

Emily, so which kindergatern will Edison be attending?

Mag, not I don't want leh....is I can't! If ever I enrol tristan in one, then is like I'm against my PIL and their religion. SO I dare not take the risk or even mention about it.

Poohwei, huh...why like that?! MOE HQ quite far leh, the distance will be very tiring for En En. No other childcare around your place or your hubby's work area?

Emily, I think have leh for temple kindergarten. I thought I saw one around Balestier or Lavendar area. I don't know is childcare or kindergarten located in a big temple near to the Singapore Immigration Building.

Hi arisz,

MOE HQ is ok lah. Buona vista only mah. Nearer than her current CC. I stay at Redhill.

Hi Emily,
My father is the stubborn type. To him, anything that happens in church must be linked to Christianity. He is the type who will NEVER step into church, will never attend church wedding etc type..U noe. Not even govt aided schools for me n my sister loh.

Hi Arisz,
Really ar? Haha, I thot dun haf... I'm not keen on temple kindergarten anyway... My hubby and myself also went to church kindergarten when we were young, so we quite like them...

Most likely Paya Lebar Methodist Church Kindergarten or St Paul's Church Kindergarten... now we are waiting for confirmation... they are like 101% booked! Haha!

Arisz,
If that's the case, then you try to source those centre for Tristan.
Actually I remembered one of my ex-colleague sent her girls to this centre near Simei in a shopping centre.. She told me the school is good!!
Maybe if u need, I can help u get the detail..
Let me know, k??

WHAT A NICE WEATHER TO ZZZZZ.....

mag, what centre? YOu mean those temple kindergarten/childcare?! No la, I'm not interested in those. I'm not a religious person, I consider myself a free-thinker who believes in everything and anything...hehe

But anyway, thanks for offering to help!

Yah, lo, me so tired and sleepy now... good weather to sleep

Poohwei, oh...near ah...I thought consider far. Hehe, but is far for me though. Going there for training next Tue. Sianz!

arisz,
No la.. I m refering to dunno is Childcare centre or wat.. I can't remember liao. but heard from my friend is good..hee
Ya.. u need to rest MORE!! hee...
R u in SChool now?? Exam period rit??

Emily, wah... the kindergarten you choose must be good, so full! Hope Edison will enjoy school next year!

But another headache when it comes... that is health. Like what Poohwei mentioned the other time, keep falling sick one. Like Tristan now...haiz...

Mag, tristan is in childcare already. But keep falling sick leh...so heartpain! Whole of last week and this week not attending childcare coz we want him to fully recover first.

Me rest?! I also hope I can rest more...now exam period but all the marking and students' remarks are making me crazy!

Somemore, hubby out of town, no maid = housework + look after tristan on my own at night + work = TIRED!!!

Hi Arisz,
Their morning sessions are like fully booked liao, so most likely we will take afternoon session... I'll hafta trouble my FIL to send him to school liao..

It's a 3-hour program.. one meal is served in-between, they have a lot of indoor and outdoor activities.. for Nursery 1, their emphasis is not too much on academic, but in developing social skills...

Getting sick is common lor.. but as they r exposed to germs, they will build up their immune system...

arisz,
Me also hubby OUT OF TOWN leh.. haha.. we same boat leh..
U do wat u can lor..
Me also housework + 2 monsters + work(sian) + dog!! hee.. hee

Wise,
my phone?? but still being restricted by company blockage for certain websites!!

Emily, got indoor and outdoor ah, that's good for 3-hour program! Think your FIL should be fine la, they all dote on Edison sure won't mind one. I also have to trouble my PIL to send and fetch Tristan back from childcare.

I'm not superwoman lo, should look at Justme, really admired her! I'm so tired everyday now and wishing and praying that my maid will come soon! Keeping my fingers crossed, coz agent said tmr or fri. Hope will be good since is tranfer maid.

mag, you also another power one without maid and can cope! Don't know how you all do it! It is only 1 wk now without maid and hubby just out of town...i'm already so tired!

Hi Arisz,
Lots of luck to you.... This transfer maid is Indon or Phil?

The church kindergartens are quite spacious.. they have outdoor activities like water and sand play.. Indoor ones are like bicycles, little tikes cottages etc.. From Nursery 2 onwards, they have enrichment classes too, but are optional.. arts, speech and drama, computer class etc..

Hi Mag,

Sometimes, I feel like we are more hands-on without maid... if we ever have one, we will rely on them... as time goes by, we can't live without them!

Before my maid came, my hubby and I can manage to bring Edison out and eat comfortably.. now, if we dun bring our maid, I can't even eat with peace... most of the time, Edison will 'stick' to me and I can't even eat!

With a maid, my hubby also more relax.. I ask him to do something, he will ask the maid to do.. Grrrr! Now, he has more time to play computer games!

Same here loh. With a helper, we are so dependent on her. She will be the one feeding En En, doing the household chores.

Re: Childcare
Little Skoolhouse will be taking over Learning Vision as the operator at NUS. Anyone who is attending CC at Little Skoolhouse? Sadly, all the teachers will be re-deployed to other centres, so En En will not see her fav teacher anymore. Dunno how the handing over will be like.

poohwei, my father is budhhist and he also the type who will not step into church one but hor, he walk me down the aisle when i married ... hee hee! My FIL best, wore a songkor and baju kurong and came to church to witness our ROM last time.
So, miracles do happen and all parents always want the best for their kids even though not their 'ideal' decision/approval.

Emily: Samuel also going to pre-nursery next January in a church kindergarten too.

Emily, my transfer maid is Filipino. Praying hard she will be good lo. If not, gotta change again. Haiz! I really have no maid luck.

The church kindergarten you mentioned sounds really good leh...seems much better than the CC that tristan is attending. How much are they charging for 3-hr program?

Yah, I do agreed that i'm also used to having maid. My hubby no need to say also. He definitely relied a lot on maid. Like Emily's hubby, I asked him to do, he asked maid to do.

But when it comes to feeding, my previous maid feed tristan with a sulky face (think Emily and Poohwei knows how dark skin my previous Fili maid was & with sulky face, she looks horrible and fierce) and tristan hates it. SO end up, I feed him myself.

Poohwei, Little Skoolhouse is the one that advertise in SMH forum frontpage right? You got surf if got any comments by other mummies?

Hi Arisz,
The fees are from $150-$200 per month. I think 3-hour is good enough.. at least he can spend the morning there, then afternoon come home with his grandparents.. I think Edison will enjoy going to school, but the first month will be challenging for all of us...

Hi Voice,
Is Samuel taking the morning or afternoon session? Time really flies, i cannot imagine our kiddos going to school next year...

Emily, yeah, I think Edison will enjoy going to school! This term he seems to be enjoying sat class more! He is so jovial and happy during last sat lesson.

Emily: Sam is enrolled for morning session as he is early riser, everyday woke up between 7-7:30am.

Just nice after come back from sch, lunch and then he can take a nap!

Best to choose the session where your kids is most alert and not grumpy, else harder to adjust. Half the time you ended up having to drag him/her out of bed to get ready for school.

Hi Voice,
Edison is also an early riser... we hope to get him the morning session too.. now we are still waiting for confirmation from the kindergartens...

Long weekend is coming, I'm off on Monday... plan to bring Edison for sandplay at East Coast or go to Polliwogs again.. anyone interested to join me?