(2007/09) September 2007 MTBs

Long time no post! SO busy with work.
fyi:

New Mom Exhibition provides you with amazing choices and unbeatable value on everything for your pregnancy, baby and <font size="+2">toddler</font>. Be ready to get the most value out from these HOT DEALS &amp; GREAT PROMOTIONS!

Event Details
Event type : Family
Venue : Expo Hall 4B
Admission : Public - Free Admission
Event Schedules : 30 April 09 - 03 May 09 (12 noon to 10pm)

Re: Childcare

Any mummies experienced this? This morning, when my hubby sent my gal to the childcare, he was told that parents are no longer allowed to enter the childcare in view of Swine Flu. After much discussion, the mgt finally allowed only 1 parent to accompany the toddler and N1 kids cos they are so young and there is only 1 person at the centre to look after them at 7am in the morning...

Poohwei
I went to check out little skool house at AMK Hub yesterday since I was there and I have to make my inquiry at the door as they don't allow adults to go into the centre due to the Flu H1N1.

poohwei, totoro,
my sis who sent her child to My First Skool in Punggol was also told not to enter the centre.

But hubby told me everything was normal at Cherie hearts when sarah goes to school. The kids have normal temperature checking before entering school.

poohwei,totoro&amp;justme,

i am not sure abt other cc, but for clara's cc...parents are not allowed to go into the sch...they can only be outside the school and this is since day one when clara is in infant care....nothing to do with got hfmd or swine flu etc or not....

Hi Wiselyn,

Clara's CC is so strict arh? Think Learning Vision is a little more lenient. Parents can still go into the rooms to pick up the bags and kids.

justme/poohwei,

it is their way to be safe bah...parents will wait outside at the gate for their child and teachers will hand the bag and child to the parents from the gate....and parents not allow into the sch lor..only time parents allow to walk around in sch will be during parents educator meeting....i am used to it and find that it is good also...imgaine parents in and out of the sch when it is already not very big....

Even for Marymount Kindergarten, parents are not allowed to enter the school premise from today onwards, unless the students are in Pre-Nursery and are too young to walk to their classrooms on their own. Also, no more swimming till further notice.

Blue,
tat is becos the students need to gather at the hall for temperature scanning.

D u receive a letter given by the principal?

ok, lemme start an interesting topic...

any mummies here ever thought of homeschooling their kids??

not for the rest of their lives...you know...just until kindergarten or before they start primary school.

=p

how's the meeting on 1st may?

re: homeschooling
i think it's a wonderful idea but really need a lot of discipline lor ... is this allowed in singapore?

RE: Homeschooling
Homeschool is allowed... but they have to take PSLE. Most mummies would follow some form of syllabus to be structured. I have a cousin-in-law who homeschooled her 3 kids. She adopted a christian based syllabus and only sent her kids to church playgroup to interact with other kids. The kids seemed very obediant and attached to her. But they have each other for company so I think not so bad.

hi peapod,
thanks for the input. Yup, i realised locals usually adopts a religion based syllabus, CHristian, in particular.

natem,
haha...DISCIPLINE...even us adults got problem with this...right? hohoho...

i am just playing with this idea of homeschooling, may not follow thru...want to see how feasible it is. Cos, i really miss sarah now she is starting full day. only see her 1.5 hours every day lei...after my #2 come out, and i can manage i hope to look at other alternative apart from full-day CC for her.

but if homeschool, i must also find time to prep lunch and cook dinner too....tough challenge to rise up to.

hi justme, I also interact with baby from 730pm to 9pm everyday after returning from work. Very little hor?

The cousin in law did it without maid leh... dunno how she cope. Amazing!

2425125.jpg
2425126.jpg
2425127.jpg
2425128.jpg

some pics on 1st May's Gathering!

RE : Homeschooling

I think it's not easy but now in singapore more and more mummies are looking into home schooling for their kids.less stress and competition for the kds.
I think good and bad ba.

florence,
thanks for uploading the pics for us!

hehe...the todds so cute. lemme see. in first pic, Jerald, Summer, Hazel....err...who is th chubby boy next to hazel?

florence,

Hazel getting prettier and prettier leh...when can i see my goddaughter??

funny,
your summer looks so pretty and cute..u sure she is a terror in school?

Irene,
I want to see yan dao Jerald

bb_piglet,

Ayden seems to lost some of his baby fats..he adjusting well in sch now?

RE: Home-Schooling

For me, I am not for it cos I personally feel that social interaction skills is also as important. School is a good place to cultivate that. Kids learn and interact better in a school I guess.

Imagine a child being "confined" to home schooling till Pri Sch ... he/she will probably be more "lost" than those who have already been to school ... my opinion lah.

Also, discipline is also another issue. I don't think I can do a better job than the school. Haha. To supplement / enhance learning ... yes. To be the main educator ... no.

Actually hor, it also very much depends on your kids' personality. For my kids, it's definitely a no-no cos I can't sit them down for long to "do work".

So, it works better for me that they go to a proper school in the morning ... afternoon I input more stuff in a lighter mode.

Of cos, if your kid is those guai guai can sit down pay attention kind, home-schooling could be an option.

Hahaha....we really had fun in Florence's hse...Thks for her hospitality!

Wise,
Sigh! Really loh...Really a terror! The teacher told my mum tat her classmates scared of her...kicked, beat n snatched things fr classmates... Even wan to beat us... She can chase after mi n wan to beat mi loh... The teacher even told mi she got the innocent b4 the attack loh... BTH! Dunno Ryann got kanna bully by her or nt...

Hahaha...Florence, Irene n BB piglet can be the witnesses loh...At 1st they oso dun believe...after some time there, they saw her patterns liao loh...Hahaha

RE: homeschooling
talking about discipline, i am referring to myself ... mmwahahah ... i think i am the one who lacks discipline!

funny, my memory of summer is guai guai one leh ... very si wen one i recall.

looks like the kids had fun!

re homeschooling
LOL guess for me, sure to say school is better. else i no more job liao.

homeschooling not easy. have to ensure that you have completed certain syllabus for ur child. also must meet PSLE minimum standards. earlier, got newspaper report on homeschooling. can check it up for more information.

usually, from experience the ones who are in school are children who can adjust well to school system. the ones who are homeschooled by parents are the parents who prefer a less stressful timetable for their kids. they believe in assessing their child as a whole and not just by results alone.

re gathering
seems u all had fun. sighs. exam starting tomorrow le. had such a busy fortnight. finally can take a breather till my marking day on friday! =D

hehe...great to see many opinions and most impt the thread has been revived!

For me homeschooling could be an option if i am intending to spend time with my kids before they enter Kindergarten. I don't have the confidence of handling P1 onwards...=P

After 3rd day of full day centre for sarah, I don't quite like the distance I feel with her. I really feel disconnected from her. And she sure did regress. She cried v badly when daddy tried to tuck her in bed. Don't think it is good for her. Can you imagine that things could get worse when baby comes along??? BTW, tomo due date...still no sign.

Wise,
Hahaha...I scare they fight...n my Summer pull hair type leh...unless Clara dun hav much hair for Summer to pull....Hahaha...

NateM,
U r veri wrong liao...nvr deceive by her...

justme, i am my mum's number 2 and i came one week late. maybe your number 2 still enjoying the stay in you .. must let us know when u pop k?

morning!

Looks like the kids had lots of fun at Florence place. How about the mummies
No pictures?

Hi Justme, you are thinking of only not sending Sarah to kindergarten... i think it should be ok since it's not formal education

Like what Nate and Blue mentioned, a lot of discipline involved on both the mummy and the kids side. To be honest, my cousin-in-law very fierce and strict with her kids one! So she succeeded lor. Us? The kids sure run all over us one.

Also, ppl has been saying that kids would listen to teachers more than parents leh. So I would prefer to have an additional 'hand' in disciplining Caelen...hehee.

Re: Homeschool

As a teacher myself, i think i cant homeschool my kids. Imagine you have to keep to a schedule at home and it is so hard cos you need to be very disciplined. Mummy is definitely not disciplined enuff cos she would want to rest, watch TV and nuah...hahahah..

Also, at home, there are many distractions. Grandparents, siblings, TV, toys etc. For toddlers, their attention span is still very short.

At least at childcare, its "Monkey see, Monkey do!" When the other kids are sitted, my gal will have a higher tendency to want to sit down and study. After 1 mth at CC, she finally understood the need to " Zhuo Zhuo aka sit down!" when doing things. I bet the school teacher must have repeated umpteen times to her...cos she is the type who will roam ard the classroom.

Can I check with those who have maids with off days ... usually what time your maids go out and return? Now ... my maid is requesting for off day! Sigh!

funny,

dun worry....Clara got good self-defence skills...if she cannot win..she will ask adults for help...if not then ur Summer will have a "love bite" from Clara on her hand...

NateM,
Hahaha...Can! She bullied those bigger size than her....

Wise,
Hahaha...Summer oso know luv bites...but I nvr kanna fr her b4... Summer dun seek help...She fight until she win..quite stubbon gal...Hahahaha....

funny,

in the begining, Clara dun seek help..then she bites her friends and got scolded by teacher, so now she knows how to get help...cos she knows she will get what she wants her whoever snatch things from her will get scolded...

Hi Blue,

My maid will feed my gal lunch at ard 9+am. Then we will send her to the agency at ard 10+am. She will return to my hse at Redhill ard 6pm although we said that she can delay till 8pm iff she goes to my in laws place. Usually, she returns by 5+pm.

Hi Blue,

I am too lazy to feed my gal at lunch..so push forward her lunch to 9am. I have not fed her lunch or dinner for a very long time ever since my maid came....i have no patience...

blue, my helper gets a day off every month but it's a privilege given if she works well, not that she can ask for it cos we do compensate her for her day off. we will send her to the place she wanna go around 9plus and she needs to return home by 5pm.

i agree with peapod that kids listen more to teachers than parents. i work in a school (but thankfully not teaching!) so i see that alot. some kids can be real darlings in school but at home they grow horns. but of course the reverse also have lah but lesser..

funny &amp; wise
looks like the next meeting will be in the boxing ring! haha ...

Looks like the gathering was fun! Sad that I missed it. Hope to join in next time. Jerald is as cute as ever! And Hazel has really grown prettier!

Our trip to M'sia ended in a disaster. While in Port Dickson, the resort we stayed in had a petting farm with chickens, guinea pigs, rabbits, etc. Poor Jade got bitten by a rabbit when she was feeding it and we cut short our trip and rushed back to spore to see a doc. Her little finger was chewed like a carrot. The rabbits teeth are really razor sharp!! Luckily I saw it and quickly pulled Jade's finger away otherwise think the rabbit would have chewed off her whole finger. We brought Jade to KK for a rabies jab. Then Jade almost kenna quarantined when she was screened at the hospital coz she was having fever (she was having a flu) and we had just been overseas, and she had been near 'live poultry' - all the 3 criteria for quarantine! My hubby talked to the supervisor and thankfully they let us go home after consulting with a doc otherwise we will be at the Aloha resort on another 'holiday'.

Justme, Have you popped yet??!

Re homeschooling, think our kids can certainly learn alot more from us at home with one on one attention, and then they won't learn the bad things from other kids in school. It will be challenging but very rewarding I think!

Hi Blue,

Yes, lunch time she will drink milk. If not, when we are lunching outside, she will eat some of the food if it interests her. She is still a VERY porridge person...Haiz..trying to get her started on solids...So far, chawanmushi is her only fav outside food...

TGIF!

angel
aiyo..so scarly...Jade must have been in pain

re:homeschooling
I am not really for it. Firstly, I agree that we need a lot of discipline (ourselves) to ensure the kids follow through the proper syllabus.

Like Blue, i also think that social interaction skills is equally important and school is a place that can help to cultivate that.. hehehe

Personally lah, I think is good to expose kids to some 'negative' influence from outside. Then we can teach them to learn the 'positive' from the bads rather than always have the kids in a protective environment. My thoughts lah..

Hiya all

Siti JustMe has delivered her baby boy Johan this morning at 7.57am. Johan weighing in at 3.83kgs. Both mummy and baby doing well!