(2007/09) September 2007 MTBs

Darmae: My gal is attending Thu 4.15 pm ... don't think you can make it to send Darius there. I can see D's Chinese improved alot though she still speaks with an accent. At least she can recognise the characters in her textbook.

mag,
frankly, i'm still clueless abt wat i have. only day 3 since we bgt the Wii. hehe.. but very entertaining lor.

i called up berries, they hv a slot for the timing mayvis is attending. but was suggested to attend 130pm class on sunday since it is a new class. she said the wed 715pm class are 'more advanced'.
i will let darius trial 1st.. see if he likes it.

CM, blue,
thanks for the feedback.

blue,
ya... me FTWM, logistic issue if he attends tat timing

hi mummies ...

anyone knows where to buy logico , fun thinkers and mighty mind products? I would like to buy speed reading books and cds and sunshine phonic books. know of anyone trying to sell them?

atinarin, they are talking abt nursery & kindergarten!!!

Actually the word 'childcare' is often mistaken. for a full day childcare, the kids will have free play from 7am - 9am, then after that they will settle down and start lesson till abt 12pm followed by lunch. These kids attend same lesson as those playgroup kids except that their parents are working full time, thus' after lunch, they will have lessons again to re-cap morning lesson and also with nap and tea break and of cos' tv time as well while waiting for their parents to pick them up after work.

Voice: Not quite right on what you said about childcare though ... D has attended 2 different childcare centres (one is an affiliated school of Pat's Schoolhouse and the other is PCF Sparkletots) and both's structures are similar like below:

7 am - 8 am: Free Play
8 am - 9 am: Breakfast / Free Play
9 - 9.30 am: Music & Movement
9.30 am - 10.30 am: English
10.30 am - 11.00 am: Outdoor Play
11 am - 11.30 am: Shower
11.30 am - 12.30 pm: Lunch
12.30 pm - 1 pm: Manipulatives
1 pm - 3 pm: Nap
3 pm - 3.30 pm: Tea Break
3.30 pm - 4.30 pm: Chinese
4.40 pm - 5 pm: Manipulatives
5 pm - 7 pm: Free Play

Hence, instead of like you said they recap what they learnt in the afternoon, it's rather that their structure split into 2.

The reason why I decided to switch D to 3 hrs' kindergarten is becos since now I am not working, I rather her attend full session of kindergarten and have her afternoons free for enrichment classes. If I continue to let her stay in childcare, she will always miss her afternoon lessons in childcare.

For those parents opting for 1/2 day childcare, it will also mean that their child will always be missing on their chinese lessons everyday as it is conducted in the afternoon.

Hi Blue,
The program seems so structured... I'm wondering what is the ideal age to send our children to childcare.. There is one CC within walking distance from my PIL's house, I'm considering it..

Anyone has any experience with Smartgro Tiny Tots at Serangoon Ave 1? http://www.smartgro.com.sg/

wow so at 1yr plus u guys send ur kids already?!

ok my girl is either deprived or i am too protective, same goes for hubby. he feels she's too young.

do ur kids get ill often at these playgrps and all?

my colleagues daughter, 4yo, caught scarlet fever fromher nursery or K1 or something.

Have not been posting for quite some times. Just to check any mummies got mickey and minne party stuff to let go, my friend is interested. Do let me know. Thanks.

Atinarin: I am not sending Jordan to playgroup / childcare yet. Think he is not independent enough yet as he only started to "officially" walk just last month. Will only be sending him to pre-nursery next year.

Re : Childcare

Hubby also says hazel is still a baby and the helper will be too free at home.
But this KS mummy is still looking for a short 2 or 3 hours thingy for her. any good school to recommend is sengkang?

NateM : mayb hazel can go sama sama school with nate , then at least they have a friend. wahaha

atinarin,
I am like you too. Very hesitant to send sarah to childcare centres. But i think she would enjoy playing with other kids. So in time to come within this year, I will definitely send her to a playgroup; abt 2 hours or so.

can i check with you if our toddlers can take century egg? I am craving for century egg with porridge and wonder if safe for sarah to take as well.

i think i will go with not sending her to these groups till its time for nursery.

okies out of this discussion now, dont wanna stress

justme ... Carlson did try that before ... but not too much ... oh yes salted egg is in too ... keke ... i forgot and let him have it ..

Mummies ... Carissa went to a 2 differ childcare too ... one of which is almost the same as what Blue mention but the other one they have all the "MOE lesson" in the morning 9-1 den after lunch they have all the cooking ... art etc etc in the after after their nap time ..

BTW any one heard of Zoo Phonics? there is one at Bt Timah and Jurong i think ... HB wanted to put Carlson in for hte 18-30 mth Zoo Toddlers

thanks blue, CM,
for info on century eggs.

RE: sleeping and night nursing.
I am so tired of having to latch on sarah back to sleep everytime she stirrs at night. Esp when I need to empty my bladder often now, its diff cos, she won't allow me to unlatch and leave her! Sigh, even my hubby's patting her won't help, she'd cry so badly! I really hope I can get her out of the bed and let her sleep in her own bed/mattress. I really can't imagine coping with a young infant soon (who will wake up every hour to nurse) if she continues to be a terror at night.

We used mattress before, but she still needs to latch on (else, all hell break lose!) and i suffered from severe backache picking her up now and then to latch her on.

Seriously, i need help....my hubby going crazy too and asked me this morning "Can one die due to lack of sleep?"...I ans back matter-of-factly, "No, but one can kill due to lack of sleep." SO, SO, SO, tired...

Justme,

I know it might be painful to hear our child cry...But have your tried the CIO method on Sarah??I used to let Clara latch on till she falls asleep with her on our bed then transfer her back to her own cot...but sometimes, she will wakes up as soon as her head touches the cot...it was especially bad if she just recovered from fever, she will keep wanting to sleep on our bed....but we decided that we have to let her sleep on her own cot...so we just leave her to cry...Now she not only sleep on her own cot...she can sleep on her own without us around in the room....

hi wiselyn,
oh such bliss to know some babies do sleep by themselves. But I am not one who advocate on CIO method.
I am sure there is some other ways to handle this matter... i just need to be persistent. Just tat I am not in a state where patience run high and am no comfy enuff to move around in bed in the middle of the night. =( anyway, thanks for your suggestion.

Justme,

This is what an aug mummy was suggesting to another august mummy...u can use it as a reference too.....no CIO method

Re: sleep training
I am not agreeable with the CIO method actually, coz it's so painful for the parents to hear the baby crying non-stop.
Both me and hubby are quite soft-hearted and we dun like the idea of letting the kids to keep crying. I think the most important is to let them have a routine and know what to expect during bed time..

Normally what i will do is that, let her drink milk, brush teeth, and then lie down sing to her or tickle her ears, or just hug her to sleep.. hubby said Meg needs to smell me before she could doze off, which is true hahaha.. coz whenever she falls asleep, her nose and her face are stick to mine :p

Cin,
Ya i think u should start training titus to fall asleep quickly, maybe 8pm is a bit too early to go to sleep, try at about 9.30pm or 10pm, dim the light and don't play with him anymore.. gentle stroke on the chest or back normally helps to calm the baby down..

Darmae,
What Class r you sending Darius to trial at Berries?
Mayvis is attending the P1 preparation class..

So when are u letting Darius to try the trial??

Re: Wii
If u need games, can check with me.
presently, i hb mario kart, mario dunno wat n CARS!!
See whether Darius interested in these games??

Blue,
I just received a call from Marymount kindergarten asking for Ayden's particular..
Did u received a call from them?

Magoo: No leh ... I wrote in the communication book asking for the form ... Mrs Lim said she will attach the form on Mon when registration starts.

hi wiselyn,
thanks for the copy of the post. I just put sarah down for her 2nd nap cos, she woke up real early today. It was a torture for me and her cos, i refuse to nurse her as per normal. After much crying and struggling on her part, i managed to soothe her to sleep by craddling her in my arms. Can't lie down next to her, she got killer kicks; scared hurt baby boy in tummy. Somehow I do hope this is the beginning of more sleeps without latching ons....wish me luck!

hi justme,
I totally understand wat u r going through! Faith also needs me to latch her whenever she stirs from her sleep and refuse to unlatch until shes satisfied and back to dreamland. I also don't have heart to use CIO method so have been giving in to her and end up sleeping with her everynight. Good luck with Sarah's sleep training, wish you quick success and shall get pointers from you too

re: refuse milk
According to her infantcare teachers, Faith has been rejecting milk. Nowadays, she only gets 1 milk feed in school but yet shes refusing it. Teacher tell me she will get upset and cry if they force her to drink so they will just let her be and instead feed her snacks like biscuit, bread, cake. The funny thing is she still latches on whenever I am around. So I am not sure if its ok to totally drop her milk feed in school? Actually is there a guide wihch says how much milk a 16 mth old shd be taking?

Justme: I like ur reply to ur hubby...was just complaining abt the same thing to my mum. My girl doesnt need milk at night but she still wakes up crying upo to 3 times a night and its very taxing on me cos i go to bed abt 1 am and then its waking up here and there so i dont feel rested.

atinarin,
why is your girl waking up often>? is this recent happenings or has been the case all these while.

I read a book saying that toddlers tend to cry in their sleep or stirrs alot during the sec half of the night cos of all the developments during the day. Its pretty normal and if possible to just soothe her by shush-ing her to sleep, pat or saying "everything's alright". Oh well, always easier to be said than done.

re: Sarah's sleeping prob.
I went down to IKEA with hubby to get a bed for sarah last evening; hubby set it up the moment we got home! talking abt enthusiastic! She slept on my bed after i pat her to sleep without any nursing done. Then we trans her to her own bed, which hubby placed next to ours.

All was well until 3 am. She stirred, and as per normal looked for me to latch on. I just shushed her back and it worked!! well, of course, there's a little bit of crying. In fact, I CRIED too! when i see how pitiful my girl is, after having mummy's breasts to soothe her all these time, she has to go cold turkey. I tot abt her first few days of nursing and how happy i was lying side by side as she suckles away. I think I am really sensitive now. you know, mummyfaith, its really sad to wean her off.

justme: its the norm for my girl and up till today we cannot put our finger on it. I only had 1 night of sleep this week, as in undisturbed sleep.

Nice saturday, valentines or otherwise cos i managed to take an afternoon nap! Cant rem the last time i didthis.

My girl has been sleeping in her cot since day 1 but whenever she cries in the mid of the night, i have to carry her out and she will fall asleep on our bed, then i have to transfer her back when shes in deep sleep.

atinarin,
hehe, i think the moment we have kids, we won't have a good night sleep. Unless we are talking abt those lucky ladies who have caregivers who sleeps with their children even at night. =P

re: Sarah's sleeping prob - 2nd night.
Not as successful as 1st night. she woke up at 1 am and refused to go back to sleep until 2.30!!!~ madness. luckily hubby not working today so didn't mind much the chaos she created.

I still didn't give in to nursing her in the middle of the night.

JustMe (highvolt) : keith never slept thou the night until hazel did. from 6 month onwards hazel wakes up once for milk and fall right back to sleep. from 12 months , both sleeps thou. hubby and me can sneak out for supper , movies and ktv after they sleeps at 9pm for hazel and 10pm for keith. hazel wakes up at 7am everyday and keith can sleep till 9am.

RE: Wii

Keith loves the boxing game. any nice game worth buying?

justme: yep thats true. then again i rather be the one taking care of baby esp in the mid of the night...heheh u nvr know what a helper will do in frustration when bb cries.

florence,
waaaaaa...so envious of you!! gee, i really wonder when will my hubby and I have night dates. We hardly even have dates in the first place. =P btw, who is taking care of them when you and hubby go out? your boy can really sleep lei..hehe.

atinarin,
haha, i second that! even me as the mummy can have tempers...can't imagine other pple handling sarah.

now i worry when hubby cares for sarah during my stay in hospital once baby arrives. he isn't harsh, just sometimes can REALLY sleeps thru when sarah cries bloody murder!

JustMe (highvolt) : my maid sleeps in another room. so even if one of them wakes up , they will go look for her. we dun close the doors of both rooms when we go out. :p

hi justme,
really good to know u are persistent in sleep training sarah and she has done well so far

so did u just carry her while she cried and how long it took for her to quieten down and fall asleep? i still have no motivation to go through this with faith... still taking the easy way out by giving in to her.

and don't be too upset abt weaning sarah, the bond u have build up over the months of bfing will last a lifetime
besides, very soon sarah will have a little brother to play with!

re: milk intake
if its 500ml - 1000ml daily then for sure faith is falling short! she hardly takes 100ml in school now and I have no idea how much shes drinking when she latches on at night. probably she is making up for her lack of milk in the day tats why shes clinging on to me whole night for milk!

hi mummies, anyone lil' tot been refusing solid food lately? Mine been refusing porridge and even rice, headache. It has been almost a wk, plus he is still not fully recovered. He also rejects cereal, until i have to substitute with bread. Am also trying to cook more mee sua for him, hopefully his appetite will return, once a rice bin', now no more!! I miss my 'rice bin'!!

Any interesting food to intro? He is sick of chicken, fish, rice, porridge...

Voice,
Sometime Ayden also like tat.
So I gave him bread n milk only..
I also give him rice in soup.. my boy likes it..
Hv u tried it?