(2007/09) September 2007 MTBs

CM, how about next thursday evening at your place? since we will hv 5children n 2 adult, maybe easier to be at home.

Mag,

My Maclaren Techno XLR is very spacious and can recline to almost flat for bb to sleep. I used it since Tristan is born. So far it has serve me well coz the turning radius also very small. I can actually make a full turn in my flat lift.

Em,
me expert.. def no lar. hahaha. like poohwei label herself, i'm stroller crazy too.
i was given a mac quest during darius' bb shower. but he dun like to sit in stroller since young... we seldom use. and at tat time i prefer aprica stroller cos bb can face us. in the end i sold both of them.. got a bee for maegan. lucky she kwai kwai, willing to sit. hahahaha

darmae,

true lor...maybe when people are used to stroller then they will like it...want people used to carrier like me and justme, then we would like the carrier...but no matter what...is daddy,mummy and baby happy most impt..hee hee..

Siti,

if I spent on a Beco I'd think twice on getting another stroller after that also
After a Capella, a Quinny Buzz and Graco Citisport I realised that the utmost important thing I should have looked for in a stroller is that I can handle it by myself when I'm out alone with her, coz I'm always out with D alone on weekends (and now almost every other day heh) since hb works most weekends.

So sold the Capella, Quinny Buzz collecting dust in the storeroom, and now I'm happiest with my Graco Citisport hehe, u know hor.. ;)

Fau, u had no choice but to keep downgrading given that you're mostly out with D alone. You can interchange Buzz when out with hubby mah, then no need collect dust!

CM,
My boy slim down??? I dun think so lei cos we just measure him & he weighs 10kg liao. I cannot carry him for long will break my arms haha..

Hi Em,

I had transfered the $ to u liao last nite. Dun hav the refer no. coz I accidentally throw it away liao.... Sorry abt tat.

Irene,

I think he have grown taller. =p still so handsome.

RE: Stroller
I still using the humble Maclaren Quest i brought from Darmae, i still enjoy it much. Only thing that i hope i could have is Peg prego P3 and Bee. But it is too heavy for us to bring out already and the price! (~o~) Maclaren the weight is light and easy to close. Only shortfalls are
1) cannot put heavy things on the handle
2) no suspension so on rough surface very shaky.
3) Cannot stand on its on when close.

Hi Phoebe..
From the specs, I can see that Quest Mod lacks of suspension on wheels, not sure how critical it is... Most of the time, we are at shopping centres, no rough surface, so it shd be fine..

I do agree that their strollers are light-weight!

I have used up my persuasive power last night and my HB finally agreed to buy a Maclaren stroller! Yippee!

Checked with the organiser, the spree will close on 12 Aug. I still have time to go down to Mothercare tomorrow and see which model I want to buy...

Good morning mummies

Hi Darmae,
maegan really will kwai kwai sit in the bee...nice
angel dun really kwai kwai sit in the stroller maybe she will like bee....any comments on bee..light weight? easy to handle?

Good morning mummies ... it's TGIF!

Can I check ... for mummies flashing cards to your babies, do you think it helps huh? After doing a few rounds of flashing to Jordan, I really wonder if it helps leh ... most of the time he will just look at me blur blur ... then when I ask him he also cannot point to me the card I want etc. Am I being too "anxious" to see results?

But for my gal, yesterday I just tested her by flashing 12 cards to her and asking her to tell me what cards she has seen. Most of the time, she can remember 8 cards out of 12. Afterwhich, I will have to flash the remaining 4 cards again then she can remember. Don't know if that's considered good or normal ...

Hi Blue,
For my boy, i never use flash card and do not really know how to use it.
I normally use a pictue (of a book)or toys or our body parts as an aid to teach him, after few rounds of teaching, he'll point out the picture/object according to what i want. Now he 'd already known " car, pacifier,bowling pin, ball,sun, grapes,teddy bear,clock,zebra, eyes, hand "

Now he can understand our instructions to "wave bye bye, high 5, clap hands, hurray, beat beat, drink, come,stop, kiss "

so i believe some bbs able to response more not only from a card, oso can try real object

Blue & Radiance ... i also find that some bb like my boy ... he will only learn what he wants to learn like teach him KISS ... he will not learn want ... but action sing ok he likes them ... den again hmm clap hands he dun want too but bye bye ok cos he loves to go out and also go home after a long day outside ... hmmm so he filter out things he dun want to learn hmm headache ...

Then Jordan is really slow! He can't even clap hands yet! He only waves bye bye and his version of "flying kiss" when he's in the mood.

blue Jordan is not slow la ... he is albout the same as my boy too ... maybe yr boy also like my boy only learn and show what he wants

CM: Haha, but he's indeed "slower" than my gal and many other kids lah. But never mind lah, let him explore at his own pace. Even "slow", he is still cute in mummy's eyes.

Phoebe
Quest can stand on it own? How come I can never do that? show me if we meet next time

Blue
I think the rule for flashcards is not to be anxious to see results leh. Well, I don't have the time to do flash cards with her but that was what i read. You need to refrain yourself from testing them! You need to make each flashing session short and funz such that they want more. Maybe those mummies who are more GD pro can adv further

And my girl also refuses to clap her hands. She will instead hold someone else hands and clap instead of clapping on her own. Don no why also???

Blue ... aiyo my boy is also much slower den my gal ... Monday 11th mth liao still cannot walk or even hold my hand and walk ... my gal almost running liao last time ... at 9th mths my gal can eat finish the drumlet all by herself now my some hahaha dun dare to hold the chicken wing kekeke so funny his reaction... buti let him try curry yesterday he seem to like spicy food ... only after about 5 five of bread with a little curry den he show a little sign of spicy

CM
Just curious, was that the way to find out whether they eat spicy food? I would like to try at a later stage as I hope she is like me and not hb! So next time I have excuse to cook & eat all the spicy food and have someone to share with me ha ha

1619955.jpg
1619956.jpg
1619957.jpg
1619958.jpg
1619959.jpg

Some pics from yty's photo shoot at FOTO-U - done by benjamin. hehe kor kor wasnt very co-operative. so nOt much family pics. but hazel's pics turn out very nice. hehe

<font color="aa00aa"><font size="+1">Sept Birthday Party - Latest Payment Update!</font></font>

<table border=1><tr><td> </TD></TR><TR><TD>No</TD><TD>Nick</TD><TD>Baby's Name</TD><TD># of Parent</TD><TD># of Helper</TD><TD>$5 Deposit</TD><TD>Bal to Pay</TD><TD>Paid </TD></TR><TR><TD>1</TD><TD>Emily</TD><TD>Edison</TD><TD>2</TD><TD>1</TD><TD>0</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>60 </TD></TR><TR><TD>2</TD><TD>Florence</TD><TD>Hazel + Keith</TD><TD>1</TD><TD>1</TD><TD>5 </TD><TD>-</TD><TD>30 </TD></TR><TR><TD>3</TD><TD>nateM</TD><TD>Nate</TD><TD>2</TD><TD>0</TD><TD>5 </TD><TD>-</TD><TD>45 </TD></TR><TR><TD>4</TD><TD>peapod</TD><TD>Caelen</TD><TD>2</TD><TD>0</TD><TD>5 </TD><TD>-</TD><TD>45 </TD></TR><TR><TD>5</TD><TD>Funny76</TD><TD>Summer</TD><TD>2</TD><TD>0</TD><TD>5 </TD><TD>-</TD><TD>45 </TD></TR><TR><TD>6</TD><TD>Irene</TD><TD>Jerald</TD><TD>2</TD><TD>0</TD><TD>5 </TD><TD>-</TD><TD>45 </TD></TR><TR><TD>7</TD><TD>Low_family</TD><TD>Charlene</TD><TD>2</TD><TD>0</TD><TD>5 </TD><TD>-</TD><TD>45 </TD></TR><TR><TD>8</TD><TD>Chloe-laine</TD><TD>Chloe</TD><TD>1</TD><TD>0</TD><TD>5 </TD><TD>-</TD><TD>20 </TD></TR><TR><TD>9</TD><TD>totoro_bb</TD><TD>Kelly</TD><TD>2</TD><TD>0</TD><TD>5 </TD><TD>-</TD><TD>45 </TD></TR><TR><TD>10</TD><TD>magoo</TD><TD>Ayden Chua + Mayvis</TD><TD>2</TD><TD>0</TD><TD>5 </TD><TD>-</TD><TD>45 </TD></TR><TR><TD>11</TD><TD>Cherbie</TD><TD>Prinzton</TD><TD>2</TD><TD>0</TD><TD>5</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>45 </TD></TR><TR><TD>12</TD><TD>Phoebe</TD><TD>Ryann</TD><TD>2</TD><TD>0</TD><TD>5</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>45 </TD></TR><TR><TD>13</TD><TD>dArmAe</TD><TD>Maegan + Darius</TD><TD>2</TD><TD>1</TD><TD>5</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>55 </TD></TR><TR><TD>14</TD><TD>Corrine</TD><TD>Angelynn</TD><TD>2</TD><TD>0</TD><TD>5</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>45 </TD></TR><TR><TD>15</TD><TD>bb_piglet</TD><TD>Ayden Lam</TD><TD>2</TD><TD>0</TD><TD>5</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>45 </TD></TR><TR><TD>16</TD><TD>Pooh Wei</TD><TD>En En</TD><TD>1</TD><TD>0</TD><TD>0</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>25 </TD></TR><TR><TD>17</TD><TD>Wiselyn</TD><TD>Clara</TD><TD>2</TD><TD>0</TD><TD>5</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>45 </TD></TR><TR><TD>18</TD><TD>Arisz</TD><TD>Tristan</TD><TD>1</TD><TD>0</TD><TD>5</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>20 </TD></TR><TR><TD>19</TD><TD>Supercar</TD><TD>Kaylan</TD><TD>2</TD><TD>0</TD><TD>5</TD><TD>45</TD><TD>- </TD></TR><TR><TD>20</TD><TD>popiah</TD><TD>Dylan</TD><TD>2</TD><TD>0</TD><TD>0</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>50 </TD></TR><TR><TD>21</TD><TD>mummyfaith</TD><TD>Faith</TD><TD>2</TD><TD>0</TD><TD>0</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>50 </TD></TR><TR><TD></td></tr></table>

Still pending for payment: Supercar
Pls hurry up! Thanks

Total payment received as of now: $935.00

totoro
my gal last time also like that hold someone else hands and clap instead of clapping on her own and she really really enjoy it

Hi Florence..
Very nice pics, thanks for sharing!

Hazel is so smiley and photogenic!

Keith looks so handsome too... You look so young and pretty!

Florence can tell that yr gal is enjoying the session ... nice happy pics

totoro ... hahah we are the same i love and need spicy food whereas hb cannot take too spicy so i want my kids to be like me too hahaha ... i test a bit a bit like this hmmm my gal will and also like to eat spicy food esp curry and she will drink water if she needs to ... haha almost after every mouth la cos too spciy liao if i cook ... she love curry till hmm she eats super SLOW can take up to hours to finish her meal but if i cook curry can finish and enjoy her food within 10mins see ... same amount of rice ok btw i tested my gal when she was 6 mths old ...

Wiselyn , Emily : thank you!
pic nice nice hor but the session was rather tiring for all of us. haha My little bean wasnt interested to be told wat to do , where to place the props and all . My hazel need to bribe her with milk. haha

Little bean was so tired he fell asleep at lunch time and fall off the chair and hit his iron head. (didnt cry much) hehe and all of us slept from 2 plus till 5pm when we reached home. haha

But the outcome was good. hehe love the pics.

CM (syeo) : I think my dear gal enjoyed for the first 20 mins of the photoshoot only. hehe towards the end she was tired le. so not much smiles. hehe

not working tdy.. company off in lieu of national day. juz brgt my son back from sch.

wise,
yeah... i think when we get used to the baby handling method. we tend to feel its the best. hahaha.. for me, i like both carrier n stroller. kekekeke cos i usu rotate the usage depending on situations.

fau,
use the buzz when u hubby is wif u... then can make the fullest out of it. i agree tat its tough to handle bb alone with big, heavy strollers. but i hv seen some mummies wif only bb n the buzz. i always wonder hw they do it. hahaha

phoebe,
i'm glad to hear tat the stroller is still working fine for u.

corrine,
frankly, i oso duno why maegan will b kwai kwai most of the time when we out her dwn on the bee. hahaha mayb she likes the bee?
we hv an aprica stroller for her.. but she nv like it. when i wanted to get the bee, my hubby was so strongly against it lor. but i like it so much tat i went ahead to buy w/o his 'consent'. hahahha buy liao then he cant do much... except nagging lor.
but we rotate between the use of bee n beco. mayb tats y she not 'sian'... haha

re : bee
it weighs abt 11kg. i'm fine handling it myself alone with maegan. but i will ned to bring the beco juz in case she fussed.
the opening and closing mechanism of the bee is easy.. if u interested, can test out in mothercare before the BP ends. really gd buy fm BP.. otherwise hv to pay 999 (no discount even for member) lor
otherwise i can bring the bee on 17th and let angel test drive. but then too late for BP.

florence,
the pics are nice!! i agree.. ur kids are so photogenic.

blue,
8/12 is oredi a gd result fm desiree... esp she's not exposed to flashcards since young.
take it slow... she will give u lots of surprises as she progresses.
her bday tmr rite? help me say happy birthday to her..

blue,
hehe, i think its normal for us mummies to be anxious of results especially after $$ spent and time and effort flashing cards. But the rule is NOT to test them. Cos, never underestimate bb's fast learning capability. They can learn several languages at the same time as we speak so flash cards are really nothing for them.

I for one, tested on sarah maths card before. Its like i don't trust her like tat. not good lah.. but lucky she showed me the right card. hehe. THing is, we must understand that flashing cards is just providing opportunity for the bb to learn new things. ANd not to test them. As long as you and baby is killing time and bonding, then flashing those cards serves the purpose liao. hehe.

Darmae: Thanks ... later I'll be going to Desiree's school with a cake to celebrate her birthday with her friends. Tomorrow will be her actual day so doing another dinner celebration with both sides' family.

JustMe: Actually very hard not to "test" leh ... otherwise how we know whether they are learning or not ... and whether they know or not, can we move on to other cards already etc.?

justme: u r right in the sense that stroller may not be necessary since u ve beco n u guys are not driving. its really a headache to go out alone with stroller n baby, esp taking bus! so far, i only dare to go out alone taking mrt.

but strollers will be good in future when sarah is ard 1-4 years old? cos they will get tired walking for the day and stroller will be a good place for them to nap in. u cant possibly carry a 2-3yr old .. very troublesome

i will recommend quest/XT cos both can recline and are light enough ard 5-6kg. volo is also a good choice given its even lighter n cheaper but it cant recline. for me, i dun bear to let baby sleep upright even if he can do that...

Hi Darmae..
Thanks for ur help. I am thinking to sms her tonight too, cos the contact list is at my house.

I will be off on Monday for the National Day replacement holiday, phew! Looking forward a long weekend with Edison...

Hi totoro..
I agree with Wiselyn, maybe we can skip the card and party bags... The rest of the items are cool! Thanks for your efforts to prepare them!

Hi totoro,
No need for invitation cards, since we already self-invite to the party. Also no need party bags, since there is gift exchange, so no one goes home empty-handed.

Hi emily,
If you still need help before/after party, just let me know. I can also bring playmat, if require additional.

If everyone is ok with that, then I'll take out these 2 items and will work with what is left for the rest of the decor!
I'll placed order by this weekend and go out shopping for the stuff to use! can't imagine it's next week!! so fast!

corrine,
yeah.. u can test out bee and look at the other strollers at the same time.
btw, i read my own post again.. spotted a mistake. the bee shld be abt 7-8kg whilst the 11kg meant to be buzz.

hope u find wat u like tmr in mothercare.

totoro,
me too.. agree we can do w/o the invitation card and loot bags. the rest are very nice...
cant wait to see ur balloon twisting/sculpturing skills... keke

<u>Darmae,Arisz n all mummies who have shared with me the info for Maclaren XLR</u>
Thank you very much for all ur info..

I hv moved one step forward for my Maclaren XLR..
hee..(but hubby dunno abt it!!)
Hopefully I can get the XLR for my Ayden to hv a comfortable seat...

Just to share a pic of my Ayden..
Ayden at Fidget

1622092.jpg

From Ayden : Hello Erlyna, How r u?? - For meko..

Hi Magoo..
I m waiting to go down to Mothercare to see the XLR... My HB also prefers XLR when I show him the 3 types of Maclaren strollers - Quest, XT and XLR..

But my only concern: The pram doesnt have a handle bar for the kids to hold when they are seated.. Edison likes to hold the bar when he is sitting in his Combi now..