(2007/09) September 2007 MTBs

Jme: Is it? Never hear before leh ... but do agree kids from Henry Park are generally more well to do ... perhaps cos residences there are mainly private housing.

Amy: My gal is turning 4 this year. She's supposed to do her homework but she's one who cannot keep still and though I am quite sure she can write the letter "R" which she was supposed to write 1 page, she kept day dreaming, figeting or simply anyhow write ... wasted my whole morning doing nothing but ensuring she did her work. Taught her so many times still don't wanna write properly. Even my hubby also flared when he took over so that I could have a break.

You all may find it trivial but if you are faced with the situation, you will understand how blood boiling it is.

Went to JWT free trial earlier & i'm surprised only 6 bbs turned up.

Nice meeting up with Shirley, Snowangel, Peapod, yoki & totoro with their cute little ones.

Shirley,
Ur boy "Hao Dong" (hope i spell his name correctly)really cute with his commando crawl & he can really shake the shakers well on his own.

Snowangel,
Travis always so cool... Pai sei to trouble ur hb to capture some photos earlier as my hb forgot to bring camera along.

Peapod,
I love Caelen's smile really very charming

Yoki,
Ur gal very sweet & pretty lei. No chance to carry her earlier. She cried until very ke lian...

totoro,
Kelly really like da jie da earlier lei haha... I can't help laughing when she kept opening her mouth to bite my boy. She really scared my boy off & this's the first time he wanna cry outside. No need to worry tat she'll be bully by others when she grow up haha...

blue,
Dun be angry lah i believe Desiree is just being naughty & playful only. Like u say she can write the letter herself so i think she's just lazy & wanna play rather than do her home lor. Cool down...

arisz,BTmum: same as u all, when term starts, no time to log on at all...school is draining me of all energy.

Re schools, u gals really fast. my girl hasnt gone for a single trial class at all...dont intend to send her for any.

who mentioned Henry Park? Very good school...very smart kids...friend teaches there.
more than half her class got into the gifted prog.

i will send my girl to a negihbourhoood school.

arisz, atinarin,
yah...no time to 'talk' much after sch reopened. so busy with work and marking and looking after ben. so far, my schedule is bathing ben and cooking ben's porridge in the morning. going to school at 10am thereabouts and lessons all the way till 6+. by the time reach home, have to bathe and wipe ben down and put him to sleep by 8+, sometimes as early as 7+. play with him 10 minutes at night. =D

re: trial class
just managed to convince hb to go for trial classes. but so far have yet to confirm any. LOL. too lazy to find la.

re: pri sch
most prob ben will be enrolled in same sch as i. shd be 80% confirmed liao. so no need to do any volunteer work. hee....

blueskye,
need patience with kids. we have higher expectations of our own kids cos we know they can but they arent. one senior teacher told me it is VERY DIFFICULT to coach ur own kids if ur temper is no good. end up always beating or scolding the kid. not easy,...sayang u k?

re: pak tor with hb
haven really pak tor with hb at night for a long time. so far, we pak tor on saturdays while leaving ben with IL. even then is only 2-3 hours only. =D

btmum:ben sleeps so early?my girl sleeps at 12 earliest hehe night bird

i wake 7am plus, breakfast, bathe baby some light chores then im out...if my mum werent helping i wont be able to cope...but weekends im so busy cleaning the house...while my hb sleeps! unbelievable!

atinarin,
i have been putting ben to sleep at this time since he was born. in the beginning, my IL kept complaining that its too early. especially when it clashes with their dinner time. LOL. anything to their convenience. sighs. u can put ur girl to sleep this time too. try it. =D

blue
oh, u also end up didnt go?? Is really not easy to discipline the kids. Sometimes my boy also driving me crazy!

Irene
I couldnt make it because Yan suddenly developed fever yesterday. Today she is still feverish, very sian..wonder is it due to teething or what. Then my ah boy kana eye infection! argh..

Hi supercar

Class starting next sat. Need to pay ard 1.3K upfront. ($780 term fee + GST) Yearly membership: $50, Parent education course: $190/pax and $300 refundable priority booking fee.

Its once a week for 12 weeks. 60- 75 min per session i think.

Will need to confirm with the company cos someone irresponsible pple pulled out suddenly. So i m testing response to see if pple r willing to join our gp @ 415 at Toa Payoh on Sat to keep our class.

BTMum: Yah, not easy ... actually I am considered to be very patient liao. But she really tested my limit!

lbs: Yah lor ... in the end we didn't get to go too cos at 12.30 pm, I just started to have lunch only (haven't changed etc.). How to "bia" from Bishan to East Coast in less than half an hour?

Poohwei: Eh, don't say people "irresponsible" leh ... I am also one of those who decided to pull out leh ... not so much of being irresponsible but cos they didn't allocate me to the timing I wanted. Maybe those people also same as me leh?

Hi Blueskye,

Me not describing pple like u. Of course timing not right, i will also withdraw.

Long story. Our class could not be started because there was insufficient pple, so i went to ask pple i know if they wanna join since Emily and myself wanna keep the slot. These pple said YES!!!! and they have agreed to the timeslot, location. They even agreed to going down to make payment within a few days. So i went to discuss with the management. Argued for 4 days b4 they finally gave us the class. Then when i tell her it is successful, she says it is too expensive and they did not know it is so ex!!! Want to withdraw. She changed her mind within a period of 4 days. Now i also dunno if Shichida will start the class for us after pple withdraw. Feel so paiseh if i have to call the management again.

Btw, the parent is not any random parent. She signed up on her own at Shichida and I was just being nice to bring her into the class since she was supposed to be on the long long wait list. She was not even on the priority list. Sighz..To think there are pple who signed up not knowing the cost of the session...

Good AM!

Poohwei: Think u will need an ans asap rite? Let you know by 2day cos the cost is really very high. Expected it 2 be ex but din know so ex. :p How many more pax do u need 4 the class 2 commence?

Hi Supercat,

Now 1 pulled out..so i need 1 more at least?? Dunno if the other one will pull out cos the 2nd mummy has not confirmed with me yet.

Hi Blueskye,
The one who has pulled out is a fren of a sept mummy. She is not my fren. If it was my fren...i think that's it to our friendship..cos she did not even honour her words..

gd morning.

i oso cudnt make it to the trial yest. maegan woke up from nap late. we were in a mad rush.. still thot can make it. in then end, had problems locating the place. faintz... circling around katong shopping mall in the end. by the time found, still ned to find carpark. so hubby tell me to forget in cos late liao, disrupt class. too bad cant meet up with mummies who went for the trial.

blue,
when i saw poohwei's post.. im sure she wasnt toking abt us lar. cos we w/drawn in the earlier stage. initially emily din even get the 415pm slot. but after i withdrawn, she called in to get my slot.
but i'm still holding on to the deposit and told alice to defer to Oct intake... in case the private one not satisfactory, i will still revert.

poohwei,
can imagine the stress level u have nw.. although i withdraw at the earlier stage... but still hv to say paisey for opting out to try the private class.
i agree with u. if the mummy oredi enrolled her child in shichida, the cost shld be a known factor leh.

Hi darmae,

No need to be pai seh, cos when u gals withdrew, ir was the centre's responsiility to find more pple mah.

So how's the private lessons? Good? Started already?

I finally got my hands on some flash cards last night. Went to Popular to find some ready made ones and glad to find 2 sets which are cheap and good ... less than $10 each. Heeee.

Also got 1 pack of 50 blank cards which I can do my own flashcards too. Didn't expect it to be so cheap ... only $1.95 per pack! I bought only 1 pack to try ... if I'm very on can make alot of flashcards, then anytime can go buy more.

This morning I started flashing to Jordan the A-Z objects and he looked so amused ... kept smiling at the cards. Pretty attentive for a 1st time baby ... but of cos expectedly, he crawled away after 1-2 mins or so.

I also tried a new baby food combination for Jordan's lunch today ... steaming it now!

What's on today's menu?
- Minced Beef
- Pumpkin
- Broccoli
- Spinach

Can I check huh? I read from some websites we can add milk to the baby food we prepare. Thinking of adding some since Jordan hates milk and he drinks very little throughout the whole day.

Question: When should we add in the milk? Add then steam the whole thing? Or steam already add the milk in? For the milk, should we make it diluted or same qty as if it's for drinking (i.e. Similac - 1 scoop with 60 ml water)?

blue, can add milk.. no worries. if you're planning to puree the four items above, add milk when you've turned them into puree form, add one scoop of milk and a bit of warm water to dissolve the milk powder

Hi Pooh Wei..
I feel so angry over this issue too. This mother really has no integrity. Gave you her verbal commit, but at the end back-out. I really don't know what to say. But I really don't think the cost is the reason for her to back-out. If she can join so many trial classes and also organise trial class (Blue, I'm not talking abt u
), $$$ shd not be a concern to her.

This is what I suggest. Tell them frankly about our misfortune and see what they can offer to us. Since we are the customers, its their responsibility to arrange a class for us. Maybe they will just split us out to join other classes. Even if we can find someone to join the class now, I'm not sure whether Shichida is willing to accept.

If you need me to call Shichida tomorrow, let me know.

Hi blue..
You can add milk after the puree-ing process. But the puree with milk cannot be frozen for future consumption if you add milk to it.

Haiz..

Story telling time again. The Sept mummy has decided to pull out. Think she will not appear in this thread anymore since she has chosen to avoid my calls. I feel that the best that this sept mummy could do was to at least help us inform Shichida that they will be withtdrawing and see how they can help. But no response.

The only response came: I just realised yesterday that i am expecting my no 2 and hence have to save $$. First time: Say very ex. Next day, tell me got baby liaoz.. Now i also dunno to wish her all the best for her no 2?? or wat...haiz..So darmae and blue, cant be u gals cos it will be no 3 for u gals, haha

Me and emily actually analysed that since this mummy could afford to send her kid to almost most of the trials and even suggested signing up for Gymboree/ Kindermusik/ Shichida/ Goodwood park hi-tea, $$ should not have been the main issue? Guess since her fren withdrew, she found no more motivation to continue.

Sorry mummies for all my ranting...But just that i couldn't stand these pple...Arh...

Hi Pooh Wei..
Dun worrie abt it. She just organised another trial class here. I'm sure she will 'still' be around... and I hope somebody will do the same to her trial classes..

I just checked the Shichida website, I think their office is off on Mon and Tues. So most likely, we wont be able to contact them until Wednesday... Just tell the manager abt our misfortune and leave it to her to settle it... worst case scenario, go back to Sunday class...

Poohwei:

Have to give Shichida a miss as it is really very ex for me. So instead of 1 you need to find 2 replacement now right? Btw I am SuperCar not Cat lah.

The Sept mummy finally answered my call and promised to call Shichida to negotiate on my behalf. Yeah!! At least she is nice enough...hope she keeps to her promise...

atinarin... we hv the same kind of bb... if nvr control her.. she can sleep at 2am.. thus my fren envy we can go out at 12am for supper... but me envy her cos her bb is like ben.. sleep really early.. hb n her can hv uninterrupted dinner lor.. me really miss hving proper dinner without gobbling down the food.. sigh

blue... think the correct way is to flash 5 cards per time leh.. cos was taught not to bore the child else it will backfire one.. if u flash 36 cards at one go.. bb sure get very xian soon..

poohwei,em... wow can tell u guys r really super frus.. me dunno how to console u guys.. keep cool oki

poohwei...just read your last posting... tats good la.. but i do wonder if schichida really got long waiting list.. then the staff shd hv no problem in getting students on ur behalf wat?

Irene and the other mummies at the trial yesterday

my Big bully caused 2 babies to cry yesterday, so sorry about that! I also don't know if her action is normal or not!! I know she will shout as a form of communication but the go around wanting to eat someone else mouth was rather new. She did that to me just a few days ago and I was wondering where she learned that from. Was surprised that she did that to Jerald and the other baby boy later !! Aiyoh, she shld be consider smaller since she born in 28th but now became the da jie da liao!!

For mummies who have older children, need ur adv on whether is it time to discipline them when they shout or do strange thing like this??

JWT
Me too was very late ...only there for last 5 minutes or so. Went to the wrong place, thot the one at EAST COAST PARK was JWT, after that, can't find the place ...go thru the whole stretch of East Coast Road ... hiaz

Mega Party
anyone have any idea what time the mega party will start? Just changed my girl class to SAT 2pm so hope that we can still make it for the party!!

jme: ya after a long day at school, i am ready to sleep at 10pm but my darling will not...aiyo try so hard but cannot make it...

she seems to have dark rings too! so scary.

atinarin
I agreed with you that if they don't have enough sleep, they does seem to have panda eyes as well!! I saw that on my girl sometimes so whenever we have time during the weekends now, we will let her take longer nap if possible!

I think baby needs about 12 - 14hours of sleep per 24hrs. I think mine just barely hit that target sometimes with us having to wake her every morning to send her to my mum's place and coming home so later after work in the evening!! hiaz

atinarin,
i think in the beginning not easy for bb to change to earlier sleeping time. but it is actually better for her in the long run cos she will be able to sleep more and longer and wont have dark rings. she may wake up an hour later, but try to soothe her back to sleep. ben wakes up at times an or 2 later crying but after some soothing, he can go back to sleep sometimes as long as half an hour later. when bb sleep early, i can do my marking, set my tasks for the next day and plan too.

Emily:
Thanks for answering to my question. Just now I added the milk after the steamed baby food was ready to be consumed. Jordan loves it! Makes me more motivated to prepare more nutritious baby food for him in future!

Poohwei:
Can understand your frustrations ... think I know who you are talking about but can't be sure ... haha ... sent you a PM, waiting for your reply.

RE: Food Puree & Blender
Can I check what kind of blender to get huh? Went to check them out and there are so many different types ... don't know which to get. What's the difference between grinder and blender? Haha ... pardon me for my suaku'ness.

Also, to freeze food puree, can I confirm these are the correct procedures?

1. Blend all the food raw (no need to scape already right?)
2. Steam or cook them, then let it cool
3. Store in baby cubes / containers to freeze
4. To serve, warm it like how you warm breastmilk ... put in a glass of hot water

jme: Almost missed your posting!
Thanks for pointing it out. Didn't know can only flash 5 at a time. Does it apply to only babies of their age? Can I flash all to my 4 year old then?

fau: Thanks for your tip! So add after steaming right?

Hi Blue...

Re: Puree
I freeze my puree in this way:-
1) Cut into smaller pcs, steam and cook it.
2) Let it cool and blend it.
3) Store in container to freeze.
4) Warm it using a cup filled with hot water and add in milk as you like.

Btw, I use U-Like blender Cum grinder.

lbs,
Hope both Yan & ur boy get well soon.

totoro,
Dun worry lah ur gal still young dunno wat she's doing also. My boy also have panda eyes lei, his "or ba ka" quite obvious also. My mum tried to force him to sleep in the day but he normally sleep less than 3hrs so where got enuf sleep haiz...

Brand: U-Like
It can Blend (Fruits, veget, Meat) + Grind (dry food) I bought it from Isetan - $69 (if i am not wrong)

Yes. Should steam first before u blend.

Last time I used to make lotsa of puree to store but now i prefer to make fresh one for Qiqi.

Easiest Puree: Apple

piyo:

Have you mix apple puree with oats before? I cooked less than 5 times for my boy. After that my mil is the one who does the cooking everyday. Recently dont know is it due 2 teething (2 more coming out) but he has not been wanting to take his porridge. Mil usually cooks the porridge either with pumpkin, broccoli, carrot, other veg with pork. Another possiblity is he is bore with his food as he has been eating more or less the same kind since he was 6 month old! :p

Hi Supercar,
I tried to mix Apple puree + Yu Ren Sheng Brown Rice cereal only. I think should be ok to mix to add taste to the oat. My gal used to reject Porridge too but my friend introduce me Yu Ren sheng brown rice which can increase baby appetite so I give it a try.
Now she can eat 1 serving of porridge with fish+vege everyday!

Every baby is different.

You mean after giving the brown rice her appetite increased? Thought of buying but he had running nose that time and the sales person told me cant take if baby is sick. Hmm... Will get one tomorrow then. Yup, understand every bb different but will still give it to him & hope that he ends up having better appetite too!