(2007/09) September 2007 MTBs

Hi Angel..
Weekends, she will be busy doing houseworks.. and sometimes we will go out... imagine if she needs 1 min to clean one ball, she will have to spend 1 hour washing it... havent include the time she needs to dry them and keep them... Overall, I think its not worth the time lor...

Btw, any update about your plan to migrate to Shanghai? China babies are super cute... they have fair complexion and pinkish cheeks... very lovely!

Shirley,
No worries lah...
My fren's son also wriggled on the floor when he's 10mth. Now he's <18mths and walking steadily liao. When my another fren told me his son has NEVER crawled, my jaws dropped! How then he moves from one plc to another? Imagine...he's in a seated position. he'll will use one leg to propel his body forward, dragging his butts along! Amazing hor..

Hi JustMe..
I started with chicken porridge for my boy.. but he doesnt like it.. i suspect that its bcos of the chicken meat that is quite rough in texture.. last weekend, I tried cod fish porridge, and he loves it... finish one full bowl!

<font color="ff0000"><font size="+1">Marmite or Bovril</font></font>..
Can we add Bovril or Marmite into porridge? I was surprised to read Phoebe's post that they should not be introduced to babies below 18 months... cos we add them into porridge and oatsmeal for Edison...

Just popped in for a while to temporarily forget the tedium and stress of work *bleh*

RE: Back aching from helping baby walk
Think Madlynette mentioned this right? Yar, my FIL and my parents are also complaining. Even when Caelen can crawl to get to where he wants, he would still insist on making us walk him there. Think he is not keen on crawling on the cold floor...or plain lazy haha.

By the way, my hubby brought back a set of walking wings from US. So far, my Dad used it and he likes it! He says not so tiring on the back. For me, I don't quite like it cos' I think Caelen legs still not strong enuf for it so I ended up pulling him up like a puppet. Maybe when he can support himself better... I can bring it to let you mummies try during the next JWT trial?

Hi atinarin, I asked my MIL about this chinese sinseh. But she says it's so long ago that they lost the contact liao
So sorry about not being able to help you leh
If I come across any, will PM you again.

Hi Fau. We spoke abit during the JWT lar
Me the mummy in white top and jeans who was late?

Hi Shirley, my boy still doing the commando crawl too! He would start quite promisingly by going to all fours from his sitting position but once he starts moving, he will go flat on the floor. My mum says he looks like a lizard hahaa... I think it's quite cute but rather dirty lar cos' he machiam helping to magic-clean the floor. Not betting that he will go to proper crawling though. But I think it's ok lar

FITTY NUT, haha thnks u r not kpo.. actuali after buying the balls, i also tink tt Chloe will not b able to practise her motor skills inside her playpen liao..defeat the purpose..
but i tink i will rotate la, when she is bored inside the playpen..then pour in the balls so tt she will sit down n play with them..
I will monitor..thanks for highlighting tt to mi!~
On the other hand, I will also let her crawl on the floor freely..so dun worri I will be more careful not to re-strict her from exploring her skills after wat the pd said : it's not becos she is slow or cannot do it...it's becos SHE WAS NOT GIVEN THE OPPORTUNITY TO EXPLORE N DO IT!!!!
so this mummy have learnt her lesson!

Re : Baby Crawl,

Hi mummies, thanks for tell me that some of the bb also doing the same.

But, but by doing the commando crawl hor.... he is not able to move on the carpeted floor, so for the past two trial class tat we went he just dun want to touch the carpet -.-"

Emily,
Dunno whether we're moving yet...now we waiting for my hubby's boss to come back on the package.

Ya China babies so cute! And I love their chinese accent...when I hear them speak mandarin I can't help but giggle to myself. If we move there, the only good thing that will come out of it is that Jade will have some hope of learning to speak proper mandarin! Heheee coz her mummy can hardly speak mandarin.

How's your maid doing so far? what's your arrangement with her during the day? You leave her at home with Edison or send to in-law's place?

shirley: yup iu posted tt article. its cos of that plus what mum and hb said tht i didnt buy a walker. i was about to buy it, a day b4 i read that. its banned in Canada.

totoro: if u wanna recommend a feng shui consultant, pls do.

anyone with suggestions pls let me know k

MIL knows that with my condition, a second child is not possible.

Shirley, thnks for the link. I realli hate walkers now! realli regret using a walker.. =(
anywae, any mummies got any playpen in gd condition to let go ? I nid an extra playpen to b placed at my mum's plc. My mum need sumwhere safe to place chloe when she nid to do other stuff..tedious for her to chase her ard the hse whole day.

Oh btw,
Re Marmite and Bovril, I'd avoid them till baby is 1 year old because it is very high in salt content. But I think its ok if you give a small amount once in a while...it won't kill them. Just that their kidneys cannot handle too much salt so its best not to strain them.

RE: Baby Walkers
I don't agree leh ... personally, I have seen my mum as a babysitter used walkers for so many babies she has babysat last time ... all developed normally and walked within the normal timeframe. For my elder gal, she used walker since 4 months and she could walk on her own around 11 months old. Anyway, I guess it's up to individuals lah ... if you don't feel comfy, then better not use it.

Re walkers,
I agree with blue, its ok if used within limits. Its ok to leave them in it for a while during the day, but must make sure they have ample chance to get on their fours, some tummy time, and encourage them to move abt. And btw, I read that its advised that once baby starts to crawl and can get around on their own, we shouldn't use the walkers anymore.

Balls
My gal simply loves the plastic balls that i put in her playyard. Do NOT put many balls inside. Just put 1 colour of each ball at the different corners and she will crawl for them. The balls are not of a hazard for her walking so far cos she knows how to "kick" them away.

Walker
Did not really let my gal use the walker. She uses it once a week only for abt 10 min when we want to test her motor skills.

Malacca Trip
Just came bac from Malacca last Wed. Enjoyed the trip. My gal was "swimming" in her float for 3 days. She refused to sleep at nite cos she wanted to play. My beco was my saviour cos it can make her sleep. Plus, i did not have to bring a pram along. She enjoyed the trip more than anyone of us.

Tips for travelling.

1) Must have car seat. My monkey was jumping all round the car when we took the car seat out to fit more pple in Malacca. With the car seat, she could sit and sleep comfortably.

2) Inflatable Bath tube. The stupid place only have a fixed shower spot. So quite impossible to bath baby. Ended driving around to find a tube.

3) Child Friendly Restaurant. Go to those which have baby chair. On the last day, my FIL decided to eat at a market!! No baby chair and i had to piggy back her in my beco while we eat at the hot market.

4) Time the sleeping time of baby to suit the car ride. My gal was sleeping for 3/4 of the car ride. When she fussed, we gave her her fav toy and biscuit.

5) Food. Think i will just bring lotsa cereals the next round. My gal refused to eat the porridge prepared by my SIL's maid leh. Dunno Why. My SIL brought along a slow cooker. Think i will just bring along my cereal the next round.

Development
My gal managed to do the following in one day!! The best gift for daddy on Fathers' Day. Can see the smile on daddy's face. Of course mummy jealous cos her first word was "Ah PA!!"
1) Ah Pa Ah Pa Ah Pa...Pa Pa!
2) Clap hands!

Hi Low
Hope Charlene is better now. Nice meeting u! The 2 babies finally met up again after their last visit at the hospital. Looking at Charlene, i must try to feed my gal with more food.

Peapod,
you got the walking wings! mothers work sells it too. i think i'll wait until my back like want to surrender then i will get it. if not just tahan a bit.

Hi Angel..
Oh, I will check on the salt content on Marmite tonight... maybe I shd limit it to once or twice a week until he is 1 y/o..

On weekdays, we will send our maid and Edison to MIL's house... Weekends, I will take care of Edison and free up our maid to do houseworks for us.. so far, my maid is doing well... she takes good care of Edison, so I cant complain much...

Let's hope that your hubby's boss will give a very good offer to your hubby.. then you can enjoy being a SAHM overseas...

chloe: i dont know whats up with her la...they keep saying go for a second one. its so bad that i really didnt wanna go for dinner with the inl

Hwo much are the walking wings?

madlynette: ironicallyi think im the one who posted that haha but cannot remember

chloe: shes a very sweet lady but that remark really stings

phew, today so busy only manage to sneak in now while pumping milk.

Thanks to all mummies for ur concern, i guess i just have to endure but you know i very creative thinking. i start imagining my uncle in law carry him and tried to feed ryann forbidden food, then i will faster go over there and take out the food and carry ryann away and tell him off!!! then he will be very angry whahahha.. this mummy siao already. Work until crazy liao. =p

Emily,
Ya the reason for not giving is because of the salt content. although my friend who is a PD, advice us to refrain, she did said that if neccessary, we can give but in very very small amount. but that is last last resort.

Blue
I think you organize very well le leh. Not easy to handle such big group of ppl leh. i do one spree i already headache.
Regarding food exposure, i do agree it would be good to expose as many variety as possible but with Ryann case like now, i try not to expose too salty or sweet food as it will affected the type of food he choose to eat. Like my nephew, he was never introduced sweets at all, thus he dun eat sweets.nt forgetting he gt ezcema and unknown allergy. SO Kiasi mum dun dare lor.
But i think i was angry not becos of the food issue but was because he said i everything also dun let him eat of cos reject food, sound like i ill treat him

re: balls
I cannot imagine cleaning more then 100 balls everytime ryann play!!!

re: House work
How do you all find time to complete all the house work huh? I have got lots of clothes waiting for me to iron but i never got the time to do so.

HOusework

BEing on holiday, i clean the house everyday.
Either vacuum and mop or use the magic clean wiper to wipe the floor clean...dont know how it gets dirty so easily also...alot of hair and dust...

i feel like throwing everything out of the house man...

Household Chores

I employ a part time maid every forthnightly to do it. Saves me so much time and effort. So daily, i just use the magic mop and wipe. Throw clothes into the washing machine and hang them up. Think no part time maid...I sure go crazy!!

Speaking of forbidden food,
I jus fed lyn teriyaki cod fish( with the sauce wash away as much as I can), Chawanmushi tho Im not supposed to feed egg white and holick ice cream.
She really loves my ice cream. Use her hand to bring my hand nearer so she can lick, and she literally park her face at my ice cream so she can lick non stop. Such a happy sight to see babies eat ice cream.

wah.. lynn really looks like you ginger!! haha esp last pic.
Really lucky bb, mummy so adventurous in giving her ice-cream.
My FIL purposely got Haagen Daz fruit variety small tubs and said can give Sarah(cos fruits mah, healthy..geez). haha, you guys should see his disappointment when i said, NO.

I still have no courage to give sarah ice cream yet lah..

Re: bb sleeping.
I think sarah is teething again.
I went in the room at 9.15. and at 11 then she managed to sleep... my whole body aching now...=(

Poohwei,
hw much did you pay your part time maid to do the house work for you?

I was wondering if i can pay a bit more to my maid to do house work for me at my own house. Cos she is employed under my mum's address so as to take care of my dad and at the same time can help out my mum to take care of Ryann and my nephew.

atinarin: I normally do self-help by reading up from books but I have a friend who have a master whom she is learning from. I can get you the contact if you want.

Poohwei
How many days was your trip? I already have the inflatable bath tub - my ducky which I intend to bring overseas. But am worried abt bottle washing! Intending to go for a 14-16 days road trip to Thailand in Dec. Still thinking of wat to prepare!!

Housework
Mine is a complete mess!! Just able to wash bottles and her clothes is already good enough after a long day work. Normally reached home ard 8 -9plus, bath her, have dinner while she also eat a bit then make milk for her to drink then go sleep with her!! Tired and getting fat at the same time!!

Cod fish
My mum tried to give her yesterday but she rejected it! Think too fishy. Any tips on how to cook it so that bb will like?

Saw this from email -
MumCentre is looking for Stay-At-Home-Mums that are avid users of different websites to find interesting content for Mummy's, avid users of forums and bloggers for some part time work. Anyone interested should contact us at [email protected]. Looking forward to hearing from you!

Good morning mummies.

gingerleaf,
Can tell Lyn really enjoy the ice cream treat. She looks so cute &amp; the last pic really look like u. I let jerald try some mango ice cream on father's day &amp; he loves it too keep opening his mouth &amp; ask for more haha..

Hi Phoebe
I pay my part time maid $10/hr. So 1 month, i spend around $80? Good money to buy time to play with my gal.

Hi totoro bb
Mine was a 3 days 2 night trip. Hope to go on a longer trip this December if i m not pregnant by then. Hope to take an airplane tho... For bottle washing, i just poured boiling water over them in a container...I brought my breastpump there too!! If i am going to fly end year, i will definitely stop breastfeeding..hard to bring so many things along.

Baby Drooling
My gal has been drooling FREE FLOW since sunday until her sundress was so wet. Now have to resort to bibs. And she hates it! She is always trying means and ways to remove it!

good morning!!

finally had the chance to log in ...
happy to meet some of the mummies at the trial!
maybe next time hor we should wear those stickers with our nicks then can really put a name to the face.

so happy to see cuties ...
the trial was super exhausting for me.. felt my arms wobbly after the session. my boy also dozed off immediately in the car after the session.

elaine: your chloe is really super smiley leh!

gingerleaf: if u referring to the bb in blue on the hotdog, that's my boy!

blue: u really good at this! thanks alot for organising!

low: hope charlene is alright now?

Phoebe,
Be careful when you ask your maid to work in 2 households, even if you are paying her. Its against MOM ruling, and if she report to MOM, you will be in trouble. My friend did that and her maid one day decided she didn't want to work for her anymore and complained to MOM that they abuse her and make her work in 2 houses. In the end my friend got fined. And the maid got transferred to another employer. They are so smart nowadays.

Last time my maid asked me to let her work part-time during her off-days so that she can earn more money to send back home (actually is to pay for her handphone bills). But I said ok coz I pity her coz she always no money...and since she was working on her offday and didn't affect me, I didn't mind. I even help her find business lor...asked my mum to use her instead of her own regular part-time maid and my mum paid her $50 for 4 hours every week. Then in the end, it nearly backfired at me. I thought I was doing her a favour...but when I terminated her contract and sent her back to philippines, she threatened to go MOM to report that I make her work in 2 households. If she really managed to report, I would kenna fine also. Lucky she didn't report lor.

Hi shirley
I think you cannot remove liao, unless you do it within 10mins? Must get moderator to do it for you le..

@.@ ya i tried also cannot...

to happy to rezie and forgot to remove face ... sigh...

already contacted Chin Leng, waiting for her to help me.

JWT-KIDS FREE TRIAL
Date: Sat 28 Jun 2008
Time: To be advised
Venue: JWT-Kids, East Coast Branch @ 46 East Coast Road

To maximise the benefit of the class, the manager has advised us to keep within 15 pax if possible.

I remember some of you mentioned you can't attend (gingerleaf, fau and ian mummy) ... not sure if I have missed out any. Pls indicate beside your name if you are unable to attend.

To be fair to people who have paid for the first trial, we will only start taking in people when there are additional slots to make up 15 pax.

1. blueskye
2. darmae
3. toroto_bb
4. snowangel
5. elaine
6. lihah
7. (kayla's mummy - nick?)
8. nateM
9. madlynette
10. shirley
11. jang
12. peapod
13. lbs
14. baby piglet
15. irene

Wait List:
1. rxsti (priority as missed 1st trial)
2. low family (priority as missed 1st trial)
3. corrine

p.s. Just to confirm gingerleaf's gal is Aralyn in case I deleted the wrong nick.

Shirley, remember to crop our face before posting next time hor! If not hor, wait the whole world knows who we are behind the nicks liao ... very scary.

nice to meetup with mummies at the JWT trial.. but i didnt get to noe all though.
me very stone tat day after returning from my trip.

angel,
such a coincidence to bump into u... hee, if u din give me a shout, i wudnt hv noticed u... hahah. me too stone. juz walk n follow my family. i was surprised to learn tat u n ur hubby works in the same coy as my hubby. hee... except tat you guys are stationed at different sites.

gingerleaf,
ooh.... ice cream. maegan spotted her gor gor eating ice cream during weekends. can really see her stretching her hands out for it and swallowing her saliva each time. hahahaha

Fau: I let Jordan try the Heinz Cheesy Pasta and he finished the whole jar! The big one leh! Didn't expect him to finish all as last time my gal doesn't like jar food at all!
So next time if want convenience, actually can just buy that for him to eat outside.