(2007/09) September 2007 MTBs

Justme,
That was past alrdy.. so NOW n FUTURE will be very good.. so dun think too much..
Moreover, u r still so young..

JustMe,

Wow! I share EXACTLY the same sentiment as yours!

To me, moral values and character building are more important than academic achievements and they are harder to bend when they are older.

Both my hubi and I share the same account, no secrets as God sees us as one flesh.

JustMe, yes ... you gave a totally different viewpoint ... I'm suddenly out of my "tiny box" looking at things in a different angle. I just told hubby what you wrote and he nodded in agreement.

PAYMENT FOR MEGA PARTY

Mummies, pls be reminded to transfer $5 deposit to my POSB Savings A/c soonest possible, by this Sun pls!

Mummies who paid:
1. btmum
2. peapod
3. arisz
4. corrine
5. magoo
6. snowangel
7. row

Any mummies I've left out? This is based on what I see in my internet banking as of now ...

Justme
I have the same thoughts as u and felt that the 1st 6 years are really very impt.
But I can't quit at the moment yet as too many strings attached liao .... so am trying very hard to give her exposure during weekends to make up but i know the 2 days cannot be compared to the rest of the days ... and I'm constantly trying to figure out how I should do it as she grows older. changing into part time did cross my mind but the work I'm doing will just means that I get half the pay and do the same job as things need to be done will have to be done either in office or home ...hiaz
sometimes will just buy toto and hope for the best :)

blue,
haha, your hubby must be really thankful for my viewpoints eh>? haha, now you are more motivated to accept his offer ler...

row, totoro, fifty-nut,
glad to know, i am not the only one with this mindset.

i suffer like mad now, hopefully i will be able to relax abit and enjoy the seeds of my labour in future..

Hi blue, hope I am not too late to join in the Mega party. Has been busy at work, no time to login. Happen to see this party, I am very keen.

I will transfer the money to you tomorrow in office.

MEGA PARTY @ JWT-KIDS, KALLANG
Date: Sat 16 Aug 2008
Time: 4.30 pm - 6.30 pm

Pls add on to the list if you are keen to join in and proceed to transfer $5 deposit to my POSB Savings 539-10927-8. Will offset $5 from your next payment when we have decided on which package to take.

Participants:
1. Blueskye + Jordan (Organiser)
2. phoebe + Ryann
3. bb_piglet + Ayden + Daddy
4. Btmum + Benedict
5. Peapod + Caelen
6. Arisz + Tristan
7. corrine + angelynn (maybe daddy)
8. wiselyn+clara
9. darmae + maegan (daddy + gor gor)
10. magoo + Ayden (n jie jie)
11. Funny76 + Summer + Daddy
12. Low + Charlene
13. Poohwei + En En + Daddy
14. Snowangel + Travis
15. Florence + Hazel ( + helper and kor kor)
16. CM + Carlson (+ helper & jie jie)
17. natem + nate
18. totoro_bb + Kelly + hb
19. Irene + Jerald
20. Elaine + Chloe
21. rxsti + Ariel
22. gingerleaf + aralyn
23. star + theo + HB
24. Row + Shayne + hb + jie jie + kor kor
25. Tiffany + Andrea + korkor, helper

Tiffany: You are most welcome to join!

Mummies, we have reached 25 pax already ... interested mummies thereafter will be on wait list.

Those names from #1-25, if you have not transferred $5 to my POSB Savings A/c 539-10927-8, kindly do so latest by this Sun.

Hi Blue,
Thanks. Lucky my fingers are quick...

Lets meet for lunch with all the RP mommies again. I can only do it 2nd week of June. Cheers..

Hi Blue,

Joining us to be SAHM ? =D hehe I used to think like u before i gave up my job to be a sahm =) Being a SAHM is a really tough job but what inspired me to hold on is the love u'll be sacrificing for your family . Despite facing my demanding little boss 24/7 a day! =) Getting worn out and stressed out easily, day in day out. i feel really happy coz its really worth it. The kind of joy and love tats given out wholeheartedly to my family is something i cant pen down if i have to do it ,it'll be never ending coz its too long a list. Try it blue ! ^^ Working is for life u can choose to return to work anytime or rather when baby's older =)

Justme: You and ur hb sound like us. We did everythign for our modest wedding out of our own pockets. We did all of the planning, recce-ing, booking etc ourselves too. Onthe day itself, hb was still checking chairs and picking out those tt didnt look good and replacing himself haha...

in laws are alright, not that they offer help or anything but then my hb also will never accept if they did.

blue: think carefully and make the right decision, wish u the best in that. But if ur hb is giving u $4k, then even as a SAHM, u can offer ur bb alot and maybe send bb for some classes and have some time out.

my friend has 2 kids, shes SAHM, now starting a jewellery making biz online. 2 maids and the eleder girl is always at some class or other so she spends her day bringing the girl for classes.

blue,
for now, i just have a rough idea on how to fill up sarah's waking hours. No timetable or fixed routine yet. She still naps often, every 2 hours. And when she's awake, i have to find time to bathe her, feed her and also must not forget to play with her or let her have her own lonesome time, bbs need this too.
Roughly, i can only tell you, i now, try to have the following done when she's awake in those 2-3 hours.

1) Several sessions of maths cards flashing *i still haven't get a good spot in the house where i can get her full attention on me, argh!*

2) Reading - I read to her books i borrowed from the library. she loves this period. maybe cos, i do it quite briefly, hehe i have the GD principle in mind ~ never bore a kid. always stop before they want to stop.

3) I have some ready coloured flash cards i got months ago so i just flashed her some ~ again just briefly.

4) I will play with her. Roll around in bed with her ^we both enjoy this hehe.

5) If i am tired, i just let her sit with her toys, which aren't many. hehe. tat'll will only be abt 10 min. Then i will go back to her and carry her around the house to do some easy chores with one hand while i talked to her wat i am doing.

There, you have it, most of wat is happening during sarah's waking period....=)

Oh, every evening, we go down for a walk to the playground cos, we both need some fresh air and she needs to know there are other kids in this world too! haha.

eh blue: i think u missed out my name, i posted before wiselyn as #8 and i think wiselyn was posting at the same time, therefore did not see my name. Anyway i don't mind to be on waiting list, not a must to attend.

Here's me catching up with the current issues on Channel NewsAsia. Mummy won't let me watch cartoons...=(
1453281.jpg

Then, after that, mummy placed me next to the window where i can see the kids at the playground playing. At the same time, i enjoy my biscuits!
1453282.jpg

Yummy....
1453283.jpg

I don't have much toys to play with. Here's one of my fav though, COokie Monster!! Wonder why its so furry and blue.
1453284.jpg

I shouldn't complain so much, right? I am in a far better state than THose kids in china and myanmar hit by the natural disasters. Wonder how I can help them.
1453285.jpg

Sarah is so sweetzzzzz ... and her hair is so thick and long ....
justme ... when is her b'date huh ? mine still look like a bb leh ...

Blue,
Maybe I can give my perspective as a SAHM.

Despite complaining a little here and there about how tough it is to be a SAHM, I must say that I still tremendously enjoy being one. In fact, I find it to be the most rewarding and fulfilling job I’ve undertaken thus far. Afterall, what can be more meaningful than raising and nurturing our own child? It is a great joy to me to see Zac growing up each day with new surprises of his developments every day. I wake up to this beautiful and perfect being daily and I am the last person he lay his eyes on before he says goodnite (well he doesn’t know how yet, but you get the drift). I am spoiled rotten by his generous smiles, silly giggles and laughter and I witness all his firsts. I know that I am the only one he needs if he is ever hungry, tired, sleepy or just bored. Our hearts are somewhat intertwined. These might sound trivial to outsiders, but to a mother’s heart, as anyone on this thread can attest, they are more precious than silver or gold. Afterall, on his death bed, who would boast of how much money(would he even know?) he has made or how high the corporate ladder he has climb? Undoubtedly, we can’t bring either into our graves.

Now, the practical part. As a SAHM, your day can actually be very flexible. You have control of how your and your baby’s day is to be spent. It all depends on your expectation for that day. So as Em has rightly pointed out, every day can be an Annual Leave day. But on the other hand, everyday can be a work day too. Afterall, the SAHM of today is so different from that of our mother’s time. Besides the basic house chores and childcare (which you probably don’t need to do, since you have a domestic helper), mothers of today are spending a lot of time in preparation and upgrading onself to educate and impart knowledge and values to our babies. Look at Justme and her flashcards prep time. Our kids become major projects for us. So those who think that being a SAHM is a mindless job, think again! It can be a very intellectually stimulating job. But the greatest benefit our kids get, isn’t the academics they will achieve, but who they will become, as a person. It doesn’ t happen by chance. Or overnight, for that matter. Not withstanding that the 1st 6 years of a child’s life is the most formative of years, it takes years, months, weeks, days and hours of consistent teaching and nurturing for a child to become the best he can be. And isn't a mother the best person for this job?

I guess I would say you are blessed to be given the option to be a SAHM. Not many people has that option as most are restricted by their financial commitments. So now, for you, it is a matter of choice.

But, if a mother’s self esteem is built on how much she earns, how marketable she is in the corporate world, or how financially independent she is of her hubby, then she is probably not suited to be a SAHM. Because, eventually, she will feel resentful that she is missing out on all these that others have, which she values but don’t have. No amount of money or “family allowance” can buy her happiness. A SAHM by choice, might be someone who is self sacrificial and who turns the limelight to the child and the family. Her self esteem is based on who she is as a person and her child's self esteem is modelled on that too.

I’m sure every mummy on this thread has taken time to evaluate their own personal circumstances and priorities, to decide whether to be a FTWM, PTWM or SAHM. No matter which decision has been made, I have no doubt that we all strive to love our baby and provide for him or her the best that we could.

All said, I think D and J will be two lucky kids if you so decide to be a SAHM
And if you ask me, I'll say I think you have what it takes.

Justme:

been really busy hardly have time to post. J becomes really sticky i cant disappear out of his sight even to get a drink or go toilet. He'll cry , he's just like a baby koala hugging his tree whenever he's awake. So i got to be entertaining him all the time lol!! And only can do housework at night.

Hi Blueskye,

Transferred the $$ already. Btw, the Mega party clashes with our Shichida Class leh. Will check of they allow us to have make-ups.

Transaction Reference 1730889617

Also, can pm me the details of the Shichida class@bishan. Hubby interested too.

Hi Emily,
Most probably, my hubby will be the one going to attend the parent seminar. He is more into seminars!! Plus the seminars are usually held in the evenings, so I can't go cos i need to look after my gal.

Re: Formula Milk
My gal is going to start FM tonight!!!! Her milk consumption is like a roller coaster. 0-4mth: 800ml, 4-5mth: 700ml + cereals, 6-8mth: 600ml + cereal + porridge. Now, back to 800ml + cereal + porridge.

For her night feed at 10pm, she needs 220ml of ebm now as compared to 50ml in the past!!! Has my ebm become diluted??

Insufficient supply for her demand liaoz...

Wish me good luck tonight..Hope she does not reject FM. Then i can stock up b4 the increase in FM price.

<font color="ff0000">Kindermusik</font>
Date: Sun 8 Jun 2008
Time: 4 pm - 4.45 pm (45 mins)
Venue: Kindermusik @ Tanglin Mall
Trial Fee: $23.80 + 7% GST = $25.47 (need 12 babies!!/ But quite hard i think, will go ask Kindermusik again)

Confirmed Participants:
1. Poohwei and En En Organiser
2. Corrine and Angelynn
3. Star and Theo
4. Cookiemonster and natalie
5. Merkon + nate?

<font color="0000ff">Re: Formatting</font>
Just managed to learn how to format my post!!
http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/cgi-bin/forumboard/discus.cgi?pg=formatting#text
Let's have more colours!!

Good morning mummies,
It's TGIF!!! Hope everyone have a good weekends ahead.

Justme,
Sarah is really a cute &amp; sweetie gal, she has very nice eyes, double eyelids, nice hair ai yo BTH haha...

blue,
I've transferred $5 to ur a/c at 8:40am via IB ref: 1730931493 thks.

Vone / Atinarin:
Thanks for your views ... really appreciate it.

JustMe:
Thanks once again for your inspiration! Btw your Sarah is so lovely!

Bean:
I guess having a supportive hubby is one of the most important factor to consider in choosing to be a SAHM ... I'm talking about not just financial support (which he's giving), but alot of mental support as well as appreciation. I just spoke to him on my expectations of him should I be a SAHM. I would wanna feel respected (though I'm not working and earning an income) ... I also wanna be appreciated and not to be taken for granted ... esp when there's a problem with kids, I can't be pointed the finger at and be blamed for everything. The reason why I said all these is ... knowing my hubby, he is naturally like this if no one reminds him. I'm also quite skeptical about his sudden change in mindset ... think I shared with some of you before that he's someone who prefers his wife to work and be updated (so as to match his corporate status). Hence, I'm not sure what will be the "long term effect" if I will to completely stop work ... will he feel that I "sia suay" him when he brings me out next time for "ying chou"?

I know I have to make a decision somehow ... actually to be honest, I am really inspired by what the SAHMs shared here ... I wanna be a good mummy providing my kids with the best I can give. But hor, actually I am also quite scared ... I am not confident of doing a good job as a SAHM lor ... and I am afraid. If I ever become one, will definitely need alot of support mentally! And guidance too ... it's never easy to be a successful SAHM!

Voice: I'm really very sorry ... never notice your name's not in the list cos everyone posting at the same time.

Date: Sat 14 Jun 2008

PAID PARTICIPANTS:
4. Btmum + Benedict
5. Peapod + Caelen
6. Arisz + Tristan
8. wiselyn+clara
14. Snowangel + Travis
19. Irene + Jerald
22. gingerleaf + aralyn

UNPAID PARTICIPANTS:
2. phoebe + Ryann
12. Low + Charlene
16. CM + Carlson (+ helper &amp; jie jie)
17. natem + nate
20. Elaine + Chloe
21. rxsti + Ariel
23. star + theo + HB

p.s. Pls remember to transfer $5 to my POSB Savings A/c 539-10927-8 by today if possible ... if not latest by Sun!

Wait List:
1. Voice + Sam

Hi blue..
You have to really consider all the pros and cons and make the right decision for yourself. This is going to be a BIG change in your life, I suppose. I wish you all the best &amp; you will have the support from the mummies here.

Personally, I'm more concerned about the rising education cost in Singapore. Therefore, I choose to continue working so that we can have ample savings for Edison's future education.

~~~~
~~~~

Hi JustMe..
Sarah is very sweet and pretty... esp her eyes and wavy hair... You can invest more on beautiful hair clips for her..

<font color="ff0000">Nissen romper set</font>..
I bought this Nissen romper set from BP for Edison... I love to see him wearing it... Mummies who bought the Nissen clothings from JShopper, how do you like their clothings?

1453615.jpg

Hi Irene..
May I know which photographer that you engaged in Foto U for your family portrait last time? They are having a promo now and I'm persuading my HB to go for it

Hi Emily,
Edison look so cute &amp; handsome in his romper very nice... He has nice &amp; big eyes too

I engaged Benjamin &amp; he's really good trust me. He's also funny's frd &amp; he's very pro also. Tell u hor me very kiasu signed up for another round of photoshoot with him liao heehee..

poohwei: yup! i am interested in the kindermusik trial... hope the thing is on!

blue: sorry ... still havent pay you ... i will find atm during lunch time to pay .. if after 2pm u still see no $$$, please take this 'horrigible' forgetful mummy off the list!! will pay the $5 together for the megaparty together also.

re: FTWM or SAHM
some of the issues raised are very real so must think through together as a couple before deciding. but can always try for half a year, if not suitable, not too late to rejoin the workforce.

whether FTWM or SAHM, we are always standby 24 HOURS!!!

justme: sarah is so cute! esp the last photo! cant wait to "terrorise" her next monday.

bena/justme: ur posts moved me. i think you guys are v "weida" and zac/sarah are really fortunate to have u 2 as mummies

but knowing myself, i cant be a SAHM bcos of various reasons. i cant get past myself to be financially dependent on my hubby and i do value my own time alot (sometimes i wonder if im a selfish/bad mummy) but i cant face baby YZ everyday. i think i will get resentful one day and i really dun wish that to happen.

but i do agree that the 1st 6 years is an impt period so i may switch to PTWM when baby YZ is older say 2-3 years old!

blue: whatever choice you make, dou shi okie one. u just need to sort out ur priorities and pros n cons. just remember being a WM doesnt make u any lesser as a mummy and being SAHM doesnt mean u need to get the house n baby in tip top condition! we are always learning when it comes to parenting!

Hi Irene..
Oh, I can see that you love taking photos....
Glad that you enjoyed it.... Take more photos for handsome Jerald lor..

Btw, 1 hour, izit too rush? I wonder how many nice pics and pose can be taken within one hour.... considering the 2hr option too..

Hi meko..
I bot this romper from a BP that I have waited more than 3 months... luckily, my boy can still fit into it when I received it.. hehehe...

Hi Emily,
Actually both me &amp; my hb dun like to take photos at all so we only took a few shoots &amp; treat it as family portrait since we seldom got chance to take one together. It's jerald who enjoyed the whole session so hb ask me to book another one b4 he turns 1 yr old

I can say 1hr is abit rush cos u need to change a few outfits in a go but i think 2hr maybe a bit too long as it may be too tired for our bb as well. Imagine jerald KO after 1hr session cos too shag liao heehee... Most impt is to let ur bb nap &amp; feed him b4 u set off. Also to bring along his fav toys, food etc.. Hope this helps...

Hi Bean
I cant help but tend to agree &amp; not agree on some of your points below. Pardon me if what I am going to say may offend you.

"But, if a mother’s self esteem is built on how much she earns, how marketable she is in the corporate world, or how financially independent she is of her hubby, then she is probably not suited to be a SAHM. Because, eventually, she will feel resentful that she is missing out on all these that others have, which she values but don’t have. No amount of money or “family allowance” can buy her happiness.

A SAHM by choice, might be someone who is self sacrificial and who turns the limelight to the child and the family. Her self esteem is based on who she is as a person and her child's self esteem is modelled on that too"

Yes, you may be right about this. I know you are not generalising all the FTWMs nor SAHMs. However, I dont think that FTWMs is less self sacrificial nor she value less of herself as the person she is. Nor I agree with you that SAHMs children will modelled the mother's. Dont forget there is so much influence the child can get nowadays as he/she grows. Don't tell me that for the 6 years or more, the child is staying in absolute isolation?

Nurturing our child is an important aptitude of "parenting". To me there should not be any debate who play a better role, because it is a joint effort of both parents,right?

Yea, cant agree more with you that we all strive to love our baby and provide for him/her the best that we could. Being a parent is never easy, whether a SAHM or FTWM. There is no rocket science in Parenting.

Afterall, it is a choice individual has to make, whats best for themselves &amp; the family…

wow hot topic- sahm vs ftwm

bean, i agree with u on how the mummy regards/value herself. for me, i know i want to spend the 1st 1 yr with baby and thereafter go back to work. that's how we want it when we plan for baby no.2 cos i miss a lot of sieske's '1st times'..dun want to miss on nynke's. then plan nearly cannot materialise when office did not approve no pay leave. so resorted to quit but turn of events, with my mum having a mild stroke and i retracted the resignation as I feel that my parents will need more financial help in furure and my salary is really 'good maoney'. and boss is keen to let me take 1 yr no pay cos i told him i really cannot work as baby needs me now and as a air traffic controller- that's my responsibility to 'sound out' when not in correct mental state to do controlling. safety comes first in out job nature. so luckily boss agrees to no pay leave. some frens said i'm like 'tai tai' cos have mil and helper now. in fact, to be honest, i'm really quite ill-disciplined as sahm leh..i did not do much stuff with nynke, i mean the educating stuff..so sometimes i wonder am i really wasting my time at home??

what i do daily is: - prepare her meals, bath her if my back allows, play with her on the mat with toys, bring her down for walks in the park ..that's all lor...hb bought some einstein dvds so i play it once a while...

hb said i spent too much time on internet...oh oh...so i am trying to curb it. so u gals will see me post once a while only i think..

Blue,
I thought we are the ones who look to you for support and guidance when it come to being a good mum! Cuz you are a second time mummy and so much more experienced than us. Remember I used to ask you for advice over msn on breastfeeding during our pregnancy?

But I do agree with you. If your hubby has unfair expectations of you once you turn SAHM, then it is no good in the long run. I actually have the impression that he values and gives credit to SAHMs and what she can offer to the family and the kids and therefore offered you a decent amount of money to reassure and convince you to be one.

Actually the fears you mentioned about marketability, money, etc, were my major fears too, previously. (You know what I was working as right?). It took me a long time to finally make a decision and I can honestly tell you that it is a big monetary sacrifice. But I have never looked back since. Today, I can tell you I am a much happier and healthier person and I enjoy life to the fullest, simply because I am no longer confined by work that I no longer enjoy. Yes, I might have taken a step back financially, but I think it's totally worth it as I've taken 2 steps forward in terms of my overall well-being. (So it's not just about the kids, it's about you too!)

I think you really gotta think it through and like what the rest of the mummies here mentioned, it is a BIG decision. And no matter what decision you make, do make sure that it is a joint decision between you and your hubby.

And by the way, SAHMs are not as low class as what your hubby thinks lah. SAHMs is not a life sentence. There are alot of SAHMs turned entrepreneurs because they finally broke away from conventionality and capitalised on their newfound freedom. They are pretty capable. In fact, I know of one SAHM mummy on this thread who is on her way to becoming an entrepreneur.

Hi Irene..
Thanks for your advise. I think I will choose Benjamin too cos I feel that he is much experienced.

Will discuss with HB tonight and book asap before the deadline. I can see that their booking list is getting longer and longer...

Hi Blue,

I was asking you about this MEGA party earlier on but think you missed out on my post.

---------------------------------------

Date: Sat 14 Jun 2008

PAID PARTICIPANTS:
4. Btmum + Benedict
5. Peapod + Caelen
6. Arisz + Tristan
8. wiselyn+clara
14. Snowangel + Travis
19. Irene + Jerald
22. gingerleaf + aralyn

UNPAID PARTICIPANTS:
2. phoebe + Ryann
12. Low + Charlene
16. CM + Carlson (+ helper &amp; jie jie)
17. natem + nate
20. Elaine + Chloe
21. rxsti + Ariel
23. star + theo + HB

p.s. Pls remember to transfer $5 to my POSB Savings A/c 539-10927-8 by today if possible ... if not latest by Sun!

Wait List:
1. Voice + Sam
2. Miraclecraz + BB Zorian + Hubby Dave

Emily, Meko

Jshopper have the new mid summer series for Nissen clothing.. I browse le.. quite nice leh...
Interested??