(2007/09) September 2007 MTBs

Atinarin: During the session, only 1 baby and 1 accompanying parent will be participating. The other parent can sit around to watch ...

hey mummies , can i ask a silly question ?

On baby's first birthday , parents normally let them choose between some items to see wat they will be in future.

Any mummies know what are the items and what they represent?

Florence: I know got pen, calculator, coins ... haha. But don't know exactly what they stand for.

A question to the full-time mummies ...

Will you quit your job to be a SAHM if your hubby offers you a "$4k SAHM monthly pay"?

Hubby proposed this to me last night and I am thinking through ... much as it may seem attractive to most of you, I am weighing the cons:

1. No CPF, no Medisave, no staff benefits like annual leave, medical / dental etc.

2. No market value should I decide to return back to the workforce - also will lose touch with society ... scared that in the long run, "status" cannot match hubby's.

3. No time to myself - literally "work" 24 hours

4. Fully financially dependent on hubby ... in a way will result in a low self-esteem

And many other thoughts lah. Of cos I know the SAHMs will say that the quality time you spend with your kids are nothing to be measured in monetary term, but my thinking is ... if I will to be a SAHM, I think a more appropriate time will be when they are in Pri Sch lor ... when they need someone to "supervise" their work etc.

What you all think?

wah blue
4k!! But I will not simply because your Point 4!

Sorry, no offence to SAHM, but personally no way I have to depend financially on hb..

oh blue
I will still find some part time work to do..seriously, I cannot imagine myself need to 伸手要$ from hb loh..

lbs: Part time SAHM package will not be $4k liao! Haha ... cos I will not be physically at home caring for the kids everyday liao mah. My ideal is to work part-time lor ... I can have best of both worlds. But seems like it may not be happening from the looks of it ... anyway, my hubby asked me to go into online business since I am so good at buying and selling things on net. But hor, me got no lobang or suppliers leh ... how to?

Row: That time you wanted to discuss with me on "BP partnership" right?

blue,
ur hb sure is generous with the offer. Not many man will offer that.
I agree with how u feel, its best to build up ur finance for now and then take a back seat when kiddo is in pri. Coz if u quit now and be sahm, it might be hard to enter society again 5-10years later.

Hi blue..
My point of view:

#1: No CPF is not a big problem though, unless you depend on it for housing loan. Annual leave? Everyday is annual leave if you are not working.

#2: This is an ISSUE! It's difficult to return to workforce after a long break. Employers nowadays prefer young workers who are highly motivated. Married woman with kids are usually given lower priority (sad to say this).

#3: No time. You can have your maid to take care of your kids sometimes. You still need some personal time even if you are not working.

#4: I wouldn't want to depend on anyone FINANCIALLY. Spending hubby's money isn't easy. At least now that I'm working, I manage my own account. I don't have to feel guilty if I overspent.

Btw, since your company is willing to offer you flexi working scheme, you shd consider this option. I feel that its a good deal.

Gingerleaf, yah lor ... that's what I'm afraid of lor. if I decide to go back to work, will totally lose touch liao. And I'm sure my mum and those who are close will say it's a waste for someone who "study so much" to become housewife ... you know lah ... typical comments people will make. Sigh ...

lbs: If tio ToTo consolation prize also? Haha.

blue
u know what i mean lah..of cos must be BIG toto

emily
similar thoughts...I like the freedom to spend my own money..

Emily, if that flexi working scheme is on, then no doubt I will definitely go for it. But looking at it now, things might not go that way. It's company's culture lah .... so far no one has done it yet lor.

CPF is important leh ... I was telling hubby ... "touch wood" if next time he doesn't wanna share his retirement nest with me hor, at least I have my own lor.

On #4, fully agree! When I do online shopping, I don't usually need to consult him since I'm using my own money. If not working, then have to be more prudent in spending liao lor.

Emily & lbs: Haha, though I like financial independence hor, I also like to spend hubby's money! Hahahaahaa ... whenever I wanna buy something, will try to "teh" him into buying for me ... only when he doesn't wanna buy for me, I use my own $$$ to buy. Haha ... smart?

Hi blue..
Your HB is very good la... Since he is giving you $4K per month, you can take a retirement plan with the bank... same like CPF, can use during your old age..... I'm saving my CPF, hope I can use it to buy a house for my son.. kekeke... very ambitious hor... by then, the property price wil be extremely high... maybe cant even afford to buy one room.. hehehe...

blueskye
if my hb offered me that plus the online suggestion ... I sure onz one ...
but that's me lah .....
as long as I still stay connected with the internet and get to go out and meet people ... life will not be so bad i guessed! but to stay at home totally, I think I cannot tahan also

Mummies going for the MEGA Party in Aug, pls be reminded to transfer $5 to my a/c given earlier on. Will go back tonight to update payment status.

blue! are u crazy...take the 4k before it depreciates hahah!

eh u all so lucky one ah can ask hb to pay for stuff? i buy i pay leh...online or otherwise...

Blue, i tf tonight hor, i work till late tonight, will only reach home at 11 plus.

<font color="ff0000">charlie angels,(you know who u are) </font>
U all not gg mega party ah???

aiyo... almost miss out this big event

MEGA PARTY @ JWT-KIDS, KALLANG
Date: Sat 16 Aug 2008
Time: 4.30 pm - 6.30 pm

Pls add on to the list if you are keen to join in and proceed to transfer $5 deposit to my POSB Savings 539-10927-8. Will offset $5 from your next payment when we have decided on which package to take.

Participants:
1. Blueskye + Jordan (Organiser)
2. phoebe + Ryann
3. bb_piglet + Ayden + Daddy
4. Btmum + Benedict
5. Peapod + Caelen
6. Arisz + Tristan
7. corrine + angelynn (maybe daddy)
8. wiselyn+clara
9. darmae + maegan (daddy + gor gor)
10. magoo + Ayden (n jie jie)
11. Funny76 + Summer + Daddy
12. Low + Charlene
13. Poohwei + En En + Daddy
14. Snowangel + Travis
15. Florence + Hazel ( + helper and kor kor)
16. CM + Carlson (+ helper &amp; jie jie)
17. natem + nate
18. totoro_bb + Kelly + hb
19. Irene + Jerald
20. Elaine + Chloe
21. rxsti + Ariel
22. gingerleaf + aralyn
23. star + theo + HB

blue... the package $25 or $27 isit for 1 family or per pax?

Atinarin: At instant look $4k is indeed very attractive but I'm looking at long-term. Can't imagine myself stuck to become a housewife for the rest of my life leh ... still young.

Phoebe: Noted.

Star: The amount is for the baby ... similar to if you are paying for trial class ... though parent also there, no need to pay.

phoebe, ah na, u all kua jiang me la. i bah bah so bb all feel v comfy with me. LOL. ryan is not monster la. so cute! =D phoebe, dun forget, i din take over from u leh....i 'saved' him from the exersaucer...so he feel must gan ji wo a bit. so let me carry lo. hahahahahaaha

blueskye, have tt over the money

To Account POSB Savings
539-10927-8 blueskye
Amount S$5.00
Transaction Reference 1730225671

do check and revert.

personally, if hb gives me such an option, i will take it. i have gone thro being a latch key kid. really....nothing beats having a mom at home to 'tame' the kids. this is the period where the children learns the most, not school time. this is aso the time where u expose them to self-learn in future....just my 2 cents worth..=D

Mummies, so far I received payment of $5 for the MEGA Party from only snowangel, btmum and another transfer via ATM (from who huh?) ... the rest, pls proceed to transfer soon. Thanks.

MEGA PARTY @ JWT-KIDS, KALLANG
Date: Sat 16 Aug 2008
Time: 4.30 pm - 6.30 pm

Pls add on to the list if you are keen to join in and proceed to transfer $5 deposit to my POSB Savings 539-10927-8. Will offset $5 from your next payment when we have decided on which package to take.

Participants:
1. Blueskye + Jordan (Organiser)
2. phoebe + Ryann
3. bb_piglet + Ayden + Daddy
4. Btmum + Benedict
5. Peapod + Caelen
6. Arisz + Tristan
7. corrine + angelynn (maybe daddy)
8. wiselyn+clara
9. darmae + maegan (daddy + gor gor)
10. magoo + Ayden (n jie jie)
11. Funny76 + Summer + Daddy
12. Low + Charlene
13. Poohwei + En En + Daddy
14. Snowangel + Travis
15. Florence + Hazel ( + helper and kor kor)
16. CM + Carlson (+ helper &amp; jie jie)
17. natem + nate
18. totoro_bb + Kelly + hb
19. Irene + Jerald
20. Elaine + Chloe
21. rxsti + Ariel
22. gingerleaf + aralyn
23. star + theo + HB
24. Row + Shayne + hb + jie jie + kor kor

blue, just pm you.

To be frank it's a tought decision to be a SAHM, and I just did that!! All your 4points was on my list as well but I beleive there are diff seasons in our life that we just need to do what is best for the family.

Wah blue, your hubby very generous! Not many men will be so generous in exchange for his wife to be SAHM!

Whatever the reasons that are stopping you is exactly what is stopping me to be SAHM also!

I think you try to look around for lobangs to sell online coz i realise you very good in organising. Chop chop fast fast settle that kind!

blue,
Transferred $5.00 to you alrdy.

Transaction Reference : 1730483690
29 May 2008 10:30 PM Singapore

Regarding ur Question

I will still choose to be FTWM.
Reasons are :
1) I know myself well.. I not the stay home type.(no offence huh SAHM, cos of my own temper)

2) I dun like the feeling of taking money from hubby (although now i m using his $$)

3) I worry once stopped working for sometime, in future will not able to join back the workforce as wat Emily mentioned..

but i dun mind be SHORT TERM SAHM, as in 1 to 2 weeks type.. hee

I think the most appropriate time to stop work is when our kids are in primary school.. cos we need time n patience to guide them.

I think you hv ur answer le rit??

blue,
Your hubby is REALLY generous with the offer?? $4k per month?! your hubby is a tycoon's son or a successful businessman?? can offer tat from his monthly pay huh?? omg...

YOu all may think this sounds crazy... but I don't depend on my hubby for $$. In fact his pay is just enuf to cover our bills and loans every month. We survive on my savings. Seriously, it is simply depleting and I can say, we are in the dangerous level now. Sigh.

See lah... we got married *got personal loans and all cos, we both financed our own big affairs* then at the same time, we got our house, tat means reno loans and all... gila lei.. then shortly after tat, sarah decides to join us.

tat's why all his savings wiped out to financed all these...and furthermore my CPF is cleared and again he has to find ways to pay for the additional cash payment. madness...

and the shock was doubled hit when in the midst of wedding prep, his company went bankrupt and closed sg office. then he got a job which pay was only 1/2 his previous pay... sigh...luckily now things are looking up abit as he changed his job ~ back to his forte industry IT.

So when i heard that your hubby can afford to offer you $4k, i was smiling and somehow wish i am 1/4 lucky...

BTW, i am at loggerheads with the sarah's daddy..sickening...

JustMe: Quite a shock to hear u r using ur own savings! Not easy i am sure.

I know that if my medical condition forces me to be out of a job, our lives will go downhill...we are not rich to begin with but without my salary, i shudder to think what will happen in terms of bills, my girl and my mum.

Thanks for all your opinions ... I think my thoughts are the same as many of you lor ... main concern is: Don't wanna rely solely on hubby and don't wanna lose touch with society such that next time cannot find job if wanna work again.

Btw hor, if I decide to become SAHM, I will "negotiate" higher pay ... haha, Bena suggested asking him for $23k per month (which was what's featured in papers recently) ... haha ... but that's abit crazy. Haha ... will try for $5k.

JustMe:
To answer your question, he is neither a rich tycoon's son nor successful businessman ... just a salary drawing bank employee.

oh yeah regarding when to choose to be sahm -

as the opposing end, i would choose to be SAHM now until sarah is in primary 1 why??

1) BB are proven to learn the most during their first 6 years of life.

2) THese 6 years are the fundamental to how they see life and thus, will result in their life in future and as adults.

3) V v young children get sick pretty easily relative to older ones. SO i don't have to take leaves now and then to see to them.

4) When she's in Pr1, i can opt for her to be at student care centre. I hope i don't have to think much on inferior external influence as she already has a firm principle and mindset by then. SO HOPEFULLY, discipline would be tolerable for us. hehe.

5) If i am able to teach much during these first 6 years, she will hopefully be able to grasps much of the studies in school starting pr1. of course, i need to sit with her once in awhile to coach her and guide her along in revision and homework.

hmm.. tat's all i can think of. =) I know its diff to join workforce back after so many years. But i don't mind starting from scratch or just any admin jobs to get by the days when she starts schooling. GOne were the days when i was a hi-flyer and work with bigshots...now, i have to live humbly and be really down to earth liao.

Atinarin,
both of us were mad and stubborn and wanted to use our own money for our wedding. we didn't get our parents to help at all.. we are still proud of this but suffering abit lah..haha.. my hubby being the only child, his parents always want to help and looking at our situation, they always offered..just tat his ego way too big. There is no way tat he will readily accept their offer... sigh...

JustMe:
You know what? What you posted suddenly inspired me! But hor, on the other hand, I am not confident I can be a good SAHM lor. If ever I become one, I have to learn from you and bean liao!