(2007/09) September 2007 MTBs

Funny: The one I said good is the 2 hours billingual one. 1 hour conducted in English, the other hour conducted in Mandarin. Only for 18 months onwards. Actually it's not exactly 1 hour each lah ... what I can remember of the structure of the programme is (that time my gal was on 4pm):

4 - 4.15 pm: Free Play (for parents and babies to interact during play - they will have different toys every week for them to play)

4.15 - 4.30 pm: Art & Craft

4.30 - 4.45 pm: Magic Box (conducted in English ... through singing etc. every week introduce a different letter / phonic)

4.45 - 5 pm: Snack Time (this is the time when parents may wanna do a swop - 1 parent taking each hour)

5 - 5.30 pm: Chinese (usually story telling - the teachers will "perform the story" with their own costumes ... very animated ... the babies usually very attentive at this time

5.30 - 6pm: Outdoor Play (will rotate between playground, sand play or water play for those at Evans Road, not sure about Forum)

sorry to interrupt the JG discussion..

1. HT barley cereal
i bought my first abovementioned and wanna ask mummies who've tried it. does the cereal looks like it has a feathery texture? when i opened the box i actually got scared looking at the cereal coz it looks like it's gone bad? anyone?

2. parsnip
just steamed and pureed parsnip this morning. is it common that it has a distinctive musky smell?

mag but ur teeth ok right? hehe..mine broke le..2 somemore..i tink my calcium also depleted..how n where u go n check ur bone density thingy? mi often hear click-clack sound at my left knee..when i sway n rock chloe to sleep, is this one of those symptoms 2?
anywae glad u alright now, tt time mi still rem u told mi u were in so much pain until cannot sit or lie down ...

FAU! yeah i was so scared when i opened up my box of HT barley cereal!!! i tot wat the hell is this, how to eat? cos it looks pretty scary..i was anticipating powdery form, n suddenly it appear like a box of feathers like u said! u knoe wat..i got so scared tt i threw the entire box away...looking at it mks my hair all stand..no joke..dun even want to let my bb try..
i tink if i rem correctly , Angel's Jade love the barley cereal right??

hi fau

yest was my 1st attempt on parnship. was searching high N low N finally found it at PP cold storage. I didnt pureer the parnship. when i wash N peel it, it does has a very distinctive smell. i added it into the porridge with sweet potatoe. Tasted the porridge N the parnship smell still linger. Today gonna add fish + parnship into the porridge. Nt sure can the parship be cook in this way. Any comments, mummies??

Hi Irene (sweetie_pooh),

May i know there u get this from?

1442504.jpg

phoebe,
Thanks for the tips... but hor, i think very heavy "weight" leh..

Elaine,
I also dunno which princess I want to be?? But hor, I think I more like the maid serving the princess!!
I think some GP hv the check for bone density..

Corrine, Elaine
Start drinking milk..n hv enough calcium..

Funny,
Ya JG has classes for babes as young as 6 months, but I dun intend to start Zac so early cuz I'm too lazy to bring him, plus he already is quite busy hahaha... but if I think it'll be nice if you wanna start your girl now. I think some of the earlier mummies brought their babes to JG.

fau,
memang like tat lah... the barley rice cereal. Sarah can finish each serving i gave her..now i intro her bellamy's oat porridge and HT brown rice cereal... both she doesn't quite like...=( I think i need to buy the barley rice soon... keep on wasting the rest of the cereal.

bena,
what has Master Zac been busy with??
actually now tat i have been "flashing" sarah with math cards, her "schedule" pretty packed too!.... =)
when i start the reading program, its gonna get worse... I used to dread whenever when she's awake cos, not much to fill her time with..now, i always hope she'll wake up so i can start flashing her..muahahah.

been away from the forum cos, busy preparing the cards.

hi justme,
i havent started on the cards yet, all still wrapped up like xmas presents. hehe
now one of my SIL says she can pass me some GD cards from her nephew who is all grown up now. cant wait to see and touch the actual GD cards. hehe.

madlyn,
wah!! so lucky you!! hehe. those cards are sold in kits costing abt 350++!!! Hope Myra and you would benefit and enjoy them to the fullest!!

Kindermusik @ Tanglin Mall

Wait List:
1. Star + Theodore
2. Poohwei + En En
3. Angel2baby + Jade
4. Cookiemonster + natalie + daddy
5. Funny + Summer + Daddy (Depend on date n timing)
6. NateM+nate

At the earthquake at China Sze chuan, A mother was found with no signs of life in a kneeling position. As the rescue team tried to sweep off the soil on her body. Then they realize that right in her arms is her 3-4 months baby wrap in the blanket still sleeping soundly. Inside the blanket, a mobile phone was found with a text keyed : My dearest baby, if you are able to survive, always remember that i love you.
The moment i saw this on tv, i cried.
That is un-conditioned love.
Let us all do our part to help the people affected during this earth quake.

Any mummies find her baby getting naughtier and naughtier by the day? I try not to think that of Zac but some days he really test my patience. Just want to know if anyone is facing the same situation as me.

1900-112-5123 - $50
1900-112-5122 - $18
1900-112-5121 - $6

LEt us do our part to help the parents who have lost their child or to those children who have lost their parents in this earth quake.

hi phoebe,
i pasted the sticky dots on the glossy side... why?? wrong ah?? haha.. i am still not a pro in flashing the cards ~ still fumbles at times, but i believe practise makes perfect!

Bena,
sarah tested both my and hubby's patience when she cried in her sleep every 15 min for the whole night last night. Then she was wide awake and start disturbing both of us at 3.30 am...gee.. i really hope its just one of those rare nights. Hubby was glad it was a SUnday the following day.

madlyn,
i have no choice, have to settle to doing the cards myself. =P can't afford to spend the hundreds of dollars on just the cards. what if i buy them and then put them one side to collect dust??? lagi worse.

Now tat i put in effort and pain on preparing the materials, i am more determined to be diligent in doing the program. I treat it like a huge project. Feels good lei like this... haha...

siti,
No la, i dunno which side to paste on or print on.
The english cards i print on the matt side. cos glossy side, the ink will smurge.

Ah na, same goes for D. Now she knows how to show her anger when i take away whatever she's holding. She will grunt like a little monster and stretch her body rigid. When I carry her she will use both hands to push away my body like asking me to let her run around, eventhough she cant even walk yet.

And the best is when she does something i disapprove of, I will go "Dahlia, no... cannot!" in a stern voice. And she will clamp her lips and act cute. Omg this one I really cannot tahan. Imagine 8 months old and already know how to try act cute so ppl won't scold her.

phoebe,
i don't print my english cards ~ i write using thick red markers on the glossy sides... traditional right?? muahahaha...still i have to be really careful cos, it smudges quite easily.

phoebe... the lady truely a heroine, shows her motherly love for her child. me oso very touch by the songs N the pics they showed on TV esp the 1 on 'ma ma bu yao koo' [hope i spelt correctly]. there r so many children taken away.. hope they hv all settled well above N one day be united with their parents again.

r u feeling better now? getting over yr friend mishap?

fau! haha. D is so clever!
Sarah usually gives me the stare back if i give her the stern look. Those eyes look at me intensely without blinking and somehow hypnotise me to let her have her way most of the time!

Hi Fau,
Sorry never tried barley cereal before leh. Have tried oats...but it doesn't look anything like feathers! =)

Phoebe,
Thats' such a sad story abt the mother kneeling down carrying the baby. But you say the baby still sleeping soundly? Not dead?? Can't imagine after so many days still alive?

Funny,
Count me in for the JG trial class if you're going ya? Thanks
I won't be checking the forum this whole week coz will be away so sms me if you going this weekend.

Bena,
Zac naughty like how? My Jade nowadays also will protest when I snatch things from her that she's not supposed to bite; and I'm trying to introduce the word "no" to her recently like when she pulls my hair or puts something dirty in her mouth, but she'll always laugh when I say no then she'll look at me with the "you can't stop me!" look and attempt to do it again.

star07,
Thanks. me ok lor, life still have to go on. Now i need to be strong and be there for my friend(his wife)She is abit negative now, but i hope time will ease her pain.

Angel,
Ya the baby is being protected by the mother and the baby survived. not even a single injury if i am not wrong.
When i tell ryann "no" when he pull my hair, he will stop for a moment look at me then start pulling again. Ouch!! buey tahan him.

siti,
thats why i dunno if i shld be doing it on the matt side. would it be easier to flash? do you flash front to back or back to front?

Any mummies can share their experience in Shichida or GD method?

Hi blue,
Ai yah at first I was pretty sure I'd sign up for the Gymboree class liao so I didn't want to waste time with the rest of the trials....now regret liao never sign up early!

JWT-Kids Trial Class @ Kallang Leisure Park
Date: Sat 14 Jun 2008
Timing: To be confirmed
Price: $39

Participants for JWT-Kids Trial Class:
1. Blueskye + Jordan
2. Darmae + Maegan
3. totoro_bb + Kelly
4. Snowangel + Travis
5. gingerleaf + Aralyn
6. lihah + bb Nuha
7. Yoki + kayla
8. nateM & nate
9. Mama ian ian + ian
10. Fau + D
11. madlynette + myra (help her put in, she's in meeting)
12. JustMe + sarah (help her put in, she's *quote*on leave from forum*unquote* haha!)
13. low + Charlene
14. peapod + Caelen
15. lbs + Yan
16. bb_piglet + Ayden
17. Irene + Jearld
18. Elaine + Chloe

Wait List:
1.rxsti + Ariel
2. Cookiemonster + natalie
3. Angel2baby + Jade

atinarin,
Ya, very sad story. It make me cry immediately, especially the part about the mobile phone. The mother cant even say i love you personally to her baby. Yet how many times do we say I love you to our love ones? I also donated upon seeing this sad story.

phoebe,
i flash from back to front. Cos, the desc of the card is at the back mah. I need to read it first so i can say it out loud as i show the card.

I tot of doing the reading prog at the same time.. but don't want to bite more than i can chew. I think i will hold tat off till i am done with math. =P

siti,
oh ya hor, blur me. then it only make sense if we print or write on glossy side so that it is easier to flash due to its smooth surface. but my printer ink sure smurge on it one. =(

Blue,
I forgot on 14 June, i have an engagement party i am involved in! eeee.. too focused on bb liao..
Got to give JWT trial a miss. =(

JWT-Kids Trial Class @ Kallang Leisure Park
Date: Sat 14 Jun 2008
Timing: To be confirmed
Price: $39

Participants for JWT-Kids Trial Class:
1. Blueskye + Jordan
2. Darmae + Maegan
3. totoro_bb + Kelly
4. Snowangel + Travis
5. gingerleaf + Aralyn
6. lihah + bb Nuha
7. Yoki + kayla
8. nateM & nate
9. Mama ian ian + ian
10. Fau + D
11. madlynette + myra (help her put in, she's in meeting)
12.rxsti + Ariel (replaced justme and sarah)
13. low + Charlene
14. peapod + Caelen
15. lbs + Yan
16. bb_piglet + Ayden
17. Irene + Jearld
18. Elaine + Chloe

Wait List:
1. Cookiemonster + natalie
2. Angel2baby + Jade

fau,
=(

phoebe,
hehe, i didn't use printer cos, i find it too ma fan.

Now, i just draw lines across the cards to give me the space i can write on.

Phoebe, Mummies,
My niece attended the SHichida school...so my SIL passed all her flashcards to me...which is sitting in the bottom of her toy box now coz mummy too lazy to do it. Hehehe...anyway here's what my SIL told me re flashing cards: The flashcards have pictures in the front, and words at the back, and we're supposed to just flash the pictures and the words are at the back so just say the words out as you're flipping the cards - so baby looks at the pics, and mummy looks at the words only - coz impt that we do it very quickly, like as fast as your hands can keep flipping the cards so each picture only shows for 1-2 seconds. Cannot flash too long otherwise the left brain kicks in and starts to analyze the picture. Shichida method focuses on developing the right brain. Supposed to flash twice a day.

Hope this helps

angel,
thanks for sharing the Shichida method. You are another lucky mummy can save lots of $$$ cos cards are in your hand. envy envy.

This method you described resembles GD's How to teach bb encyclopedic knowledge. =)

THanks Angel, 2 times a day already a task, cos i dun think my mum will be able to do that with her english mix mandarin mix teochew mix hokkien. =p

Siti,
at least your handwriting still neat and straight, i dun think i can write nicely. lol. but it is very clear. So how many red markers did you buy?

phoebs,
i only got 1 marker tat day as i was unsure if i was able to do it well. cost me 4++. the thickest tip i can find. SInce i would probably stick to writing, i will buy 1-2 more. Cos, once baby's visual pathway matures, i have to "graduate" to using black markers with less thick tips.

siti,
where you buy the red markers?
Maybe i should try writing as well. Actually faster also, so printer have to keep adjusting alignment. and sometimes smurge already have to redo.

Those whose babies are attending Shichida classes ... you mean after paying such a hefty fee, we still need to fork out $300+ for their flashcards? Wow, that's alot of $$$! And hor, you all have any idea if it's the same set of flashcards for all age group or different? If different then wouldn't it mean we have to spend twice the amount as both my DJ attending! *Faint*