(2007/09) September 2007 MTBs

funny.. me got it from vivo op.. there r 3 colours..

star.. am sure ur bb will b oki.. pls take care n not to worry.. the last time it happened to my girl.. now my queen size mattress is permanently on the flr and hv the cot ( which is next to the bed) put to the lowest.. then i took one side of the cot frame and used it as a fence to the queen size mattress.. now she cannot crawl out of the cot and the mattress le.. perhaps u might wanna discuss with you hb abt the sleeping arrangment for ur bb?

bean.. my bb also once crawled out of the mattress, out of the bedroom then nearly into the common toilet.. luckily me caught her in time.. faintz.. so now mattress is fenced with cot and cot frame.. maybe u can consider installing the baby gate to zac's bdrm door.. cos fencing around mattress can be quite costly.. me saw the brand lucky baby is not bad.. made of plastic and seems sturdy.. then you dont have to close the bdroom door and still can confine him in his room..

me SAHM for 4 days liao since last fri. mil went genting.. coming back tonite. very xiong... salute all SAHMs.
went market tdy, decd to cook porridge for maegan.
slow cook porridge n carrots for 3 hrs. then add in threadfin to cook juz before serving....
scrape / mash carrots n fish, mix wif porridge... all set to feed. but maegan took 3 spoonfuls then reject leh. refused to open her mouth... when i tried again later... she cried lor.

i wonder why. i tasted the porridge... it tasted ok, juz tat its bland.

star,
i hope theo is ok nw... poor boy.

Still wake up for nite feeds (Never attempted sleep training)
1. Bena
2. Vone
3. merkon
4. Yoki
5. Miraclecraz (2x)
6. lbs (mostly making ngek-ngek sound without waking up, so I just sleep & latch her :-> )
7. Tequilapop
8. Peapod (Caelen has been driving me crazy these 2 nites with crying wakings almost every hour!)
9. Darmae
10. JustMe's Sarah (latches on everytime she stirred)
11. rxsti (when she start tossing will prep her feed)
12. nynke ( started like these for past 1 wk)
13. mummyfaith (wakes up looking for breast by auto turning towards me and using 2 hands to grab my breast)
14. Elaine's Chloe (will make milk for her once she stirs in her sleep...last time will gulp down 150-180ml..now only drink abit like 50-80ml n refuse to drink further n falls bk to slp)

Still wake up for nite feeds (Attempted sleep training)

Sleep thru the nite (Naturally with no sleep training)
1. Emily
2. magoo
3. BTMum's Ben
4. Row's Shayne
5. Blueskye's Jordan (except when not feeling well or during some phase, he will wake up at night)6. pinkj
7. phoebe (i dunno if it is natural or not la cos last time he got wake up at night, but i change his fedding schedule in the day and feed water at night for few days then he slp thru liao)
8. Fau's D
9. arisz's boy
10. Irene's Jerald
11. floence's Hazel

Sleep thru the nite (As a result of sleep training)
1. Pillow (i tank him up at 11+pm everyday

till wake up for nite feeds (Never attempted sleep training)
1. Bena
2. Vone
3. merkon
4. Yoki
5. Miraclecraz (2x)
6. lbs (mostly making ngek-ngek sound without waking up, so I just sleep & latch her :-> )
7. Tequilapop
8. Peapod (Caelen has been driving me crazy these 2 nites with crying wakings almost every hour!)
9. Darmae
10. JustMe's Sarah (latches on everytime she stirred)
11. rxsti (when she start tossing will prep her feed)
12. nynke ( started like these for past 1 wk)
13. mummyfaith (wakes up looking for breast by auto turning towards me and using 2 hands to grab my breast)
14. Elaine's Chloe (will make milk for her once she stirs in her sleep...last time will gulp down 150-180ml..now only drink abit like 50-80ml n refuse to drink further n falls bk to slp)

Still wake up for nite feeds (Attempted sleep training)

Sleep thru the nite (Naturally with no sleep training)
1. Emily
2. magoo
3. BTMum's Ben
4. Row's Shayne
5. Blueskye's Jordan (except when not feeling well or during some phase, he will wake up at night)6. pinkj
7. phoebe (i dunno if it is natural or not la cos last time he got wake up at night, but i change his fedding schedule in the day and feed water at night for few days then he slp thru liao)
8. Fau's D
9. arisz's boy
10. Irene's Jerald
11. floence's Hazel
12. Funny's Summer(recently wake up a few times in the middle of the nite n wan to play, faintz...)

Sleep thru the nite (As a result of sleep training)
1. Pillow (i tank him up at 11+pm everyday

Chloe loves the following food :
1) Nestle Oats n Prune
2) Nestle Chicken Cereal
3) Heinz banana multigrain cereal
4) Heinz pear juice / apple & prune juice
5) codfish porridge with corn, potato, carrots and ikan billis powder
6) sweet potatoes
7) carrots
8) heinz golden veg mash (bottled food)
9) heinz pumpkin n corn puree
10) bottled pear jar food
11) bread
12) Graduates star shaped strawberry biscuits

Chloe dislikes the following food:
1) Nestle wheat & honey cereal
2) Nestle wheat & Ikan billis cereal
3) Nestle mixed fruits cereal
4) nestle apple & cranberry rice cereal
5) threadfin fish porridge

Conclusion : Chloe seems to reject anything wif wheat and apple in it

Just to share the above. Cos i often ended up wasting money cos my bb dun like the food i bought n onli eat few mouthfuls (esp those cereals in boxes) n end up need to throw away cos cannot keep longer than a mth. Understand every baby has different tastes n preferences. But just like to know which r the ones more popular wif bbs so tt i have lesser tendency of wasting more money.
Thanks bb piglet n the other mummies (sorri cant rem who) for the input.

Darmae,
To save time and energy, maybe you just cook the porridge normally over the stove and steam the carrots and fish. Then throw them all into the blender and blend to the desired texture before serving. I dun think there's any difference nutritionally if you do it this way. In fact, long hours of cooking might destroy some nutrients. Also, sometimes fish may have a fishy smell and our babies' tastebuds are highly sensitive. Try to buy very fresh fish and add a little celery to get rid of the fishy smell. Cod fish is also a good choice of fish as fresh ones are sweeter and less fishy, though more expensive.

But above all, sometimes despite doing everything right, our babies still reject the food. Guess we have to try and try till they slowly accept lor..

Star,
Sigh.. really just need 1 accident for things to happen. But luckily he is alright..looking on the bright side now your hb will be more careful I guess.

From Baby centre:

Put two parents in a room together and sooner or later they're bound to start comparing their babies' accomplishments. This game of one-upmanship (which some doctors call the Baby Olympics) may heat up now because individual children start developing at very different rates. As babies begin tackling more complicated skills such as walking and talking — which can take months or even years to master — they all start developing at their own pace. As long as your baby is making steady progress, you have nothing to worry about. And if anybody suggests otherwise, tell her that Einstein didn't talk until he was four years old.

Darmae
I seriously think Maegan & Yan can be best friends liao. I also cook threadfin with pumpkin/sweet potato/spinach etc combination, she also the same, eat abt 3~4 spoonful then close mouth, feed again ngek-ngek want to cry!

Phoebe
Candendula cream is for rashes?

Star
aiyo..hope theo is ok..

Shayne likes the following:
1)Gerber oats cereal with banana,
2)cheerios,
3)beechnut turkey rice dinner(bottled)
4)Fruits in bite size(banana,grapes,starfruit,mango, watermelon, scrape apple, scarpe pear, pomelo)
5)carrot puree
6)bread
7)fruit yogurt(bottled)

Dislike the following:
1)all rice cereal
2)all other pureed veg, eg potato, sweet potato, pumpkin
3)porridge (beef+tomotoes),(pork+potato+carrot),(dried scallop+carrot)
4)pureed fruits
5)teething biscuit

darmae,

the calendular cream can be applied anywhere on the body and can oso use as a diaper cream
i use it for my gal and its very effective
so far no diaper rash for my gal

RE: FOOD

my gal hor.. i'm very particular on wat she eats.. hahah.. i bot her the baby bites but end up end i'm the wan eatin the bulk of it.. cos my fren say alot of sodium.. so will give her abit only.. then she eats almost anything as long its not grossly yucky.. but she doesnt like avocado though..

the food tat faith has tried
1. carrot
2. pumpkin
3. pear
4. banana
5. avocado (dun really like it.. took only 2 bites..)
6. apricot
7. mango
8. sweet potato
9. potato
10. porridge with fish, chicken, pork
11. heinz rice cereal
12. yu ren shen brown rice cereal
13. healthy times barley cereal
14. apple
15. pear
16. heinz apple and cranberry furit gel
17. baby bites

Bean
I remember blue was saying very painful but not sure is the spots or the ulcers in her mouth...

paging for blue~~~~~

the food tat j has tried
1. carrot
2. pumpkin
3. pear
4. banana
5. avocado
6. apricot
7. mango (allergic rashes and swollen mouth after a lick..)
8. sweet potato
9. potato
10. porridge with fish, chicken, pork , beef
11. heinz rice cereal
12. yu ren shen brown rice cereal
13. healthy times barley cereal
14. apple
15. pear
16. heinz apple and cranberry furit gel
17. baby bites
18. rusks
19. healthy times oat cereal
20. brocoli
21. papaya
22. silken toufu (allergic to it- cause really bad rash n watery stools)
23. sweet peas
24. Spinach

fau!
sigh, after all the promoting i've done for the teething treats, they went OOS!! argh. Don't waste your trip down to USquare. I even emailed all Vitakids stores. No reply yet. Keep on looking out for the Organix rice cookies. sickening. I don't like others ~ either added salt or sugar or simply messy! like rusks/HT teething biscuit.

If I manage to enquire abt spree on teething treat on Organix products, any of you mummies interested?? I am still waiting for their reply. Overseas co.

Jme,
the mummy n kid set is so cute! Im gg to get one for myself too!

CM,
cant help but laugh out loud when u said the apple is very noti. Heehe.

Star,
hope baby is better now. It must be so heart wrenching. Looks like must really watch baby like a hawk now. Mine is starting to twist n turn n flip all over the bed too.

Today I went taka n was waiting for hb when he went to get a drink from kfc. Then one little boy run towards my pram and sensing he is coming to see baby, I quickly move n stand infront of the pram, but he push pass me and go n touch her and her toys! I quickly push the pram away n look around for his mum helplessly. His mum did nothing but just call him back casually. Then I quickly push the pram away and took out baby wipes n wipe down the stroller bar, toys and baby's hand. His mum shot me a very disgusted look and I felt so angry. What if the kid got HFMD?! =/ Somemore he got oily kfc hands!

Food sarah had tried:
1) Apple
2) Pear
3) Peach
4) Avocado
5) Broccoli
6) Honeydew
7) Plum
8) Heinz 1st Rice Cereal
9) HT Barley Rice Cereal
10) Rice!
11)Papaya
12) Pumpkin
13) Sweet Potato
14) Bread!!
15) Rusk (only once)
16) ORganix Rice COokies
17) HT Teething treat
18) Carrot
19) Banana
20) Potato

also, i give her bits of following from my plate!
1) Salmon
2) Steam fish (pomfret/seabass)
3) rice
4) toast
5) Egg yolk (from my mcmuffin - hoho)

Hehe, not so impressive like other bbs eh? cos mummy lazy... =P

Next on list to try
1) Parsnip
2) Spinach
3) Kailan
4) Sweet Peas

wat else huh?? I intend to intro meat properly to her after when she's 9 months old.
hehe.

Ginger,
I understand how you felt!

I don't quite like to use prams becos of that! Other kids love to touch sarah's toys and her hands and even cheeks! I don't want to offend their parents, but I always try to divert my way or pretend i need to make a move. We are just being concern parents!

lbs,darmae

So far i have been using california baby for very long. It smells good and it really works for Ryann. Rashes, bites , cuts heal much faster. I use it myself too. You can read more abt it at the link below.
As compared to desitin, desitin is alot more thicker and creamy. abit different.
California baby cream is more soft and easy to absorb to the skin.

http://www.californiababy.com/

http://www.californiababy.com/calendula-cream-2-oz.html

You all let me know if you all wan then i order at one go. Cos the price went up already so i need to stock up when i can still get good price.

Star,
Poor thing, you don't worry ok. If baby is alert and fine, feeding is ok then should be ok. old ppl always say fall down then will grow up faster.

Gingerleaf,
I can understand how u feel. I will do the same like you too. OILY HANDS... scary lor...

wah, when i start to see all the mummies feeding so many different types of happening food. I also salivate.
Ryann only eat few types till now leh, cos during his first few months, he very very sensitive and always have rashes. Could be the food that i eat also. Thus i very careful with the food that he eat.
SO far he only try:
Nestle rice cereal
Nestle brown rice w/o milk
Nestle rice with mix fruit - he love it
Nestle oat with prune
yu ren shen brown rice cereal -- he dun like

Puree: Tried the cheaper ones and ex ones, Ryann only like to eat expensive type of fruits. So young already can tell. My God.
Apple
Pear
papaya - he dun really like but will still finish
sweet potato
japanese sweet potato - he like japanese kind rather then normal.
banana
baby bites

Pumpkin, carrot, spinach, ngor he in the fridge waiting.Hope he wont vomit again lor. He threw up after the 2nd mouth on monday.My mum have to wash the whole baby chair. That was how bad it was.

morning ladies,

Row , must wait for fever and ulcers in the mouth then PD will confirm it's HFMD , otherwise they will send you home and ask you to observe.
My son and hubby had HFMD but not my hazel. So happy they have cured now!

yty went to the movies with my 2.5 years old son and hubby to watch iron man.
total failure. He was talking so loudly and asking many question and say " the movie not nice " sigh! luckily fall asleep after 30 minutes of the movie.
hehe hubby say no more evening movie for keith!

Ah na, nice quote

Row, will pray for you it's not HFMD.

Siti, really ah all sold out?! I'm vv eager to get so at least can stop d from chewing her shape sorters lol.

Off to work!! Gambatte!

Florence: Haha, you must choose an appropriate show for Keith to watch mah. For my elder one, her first movie excursion was with her childcare ... that was for Shrek 3. So after hearing positive comments from her teacher then we dare to bring her for movies. Her 2nd was Ratatoulli (that one my hubby brought her during my confinement). Her 3rd movie was Bee Movie ... which was me who brought her (cos hubby and I took turns - someone has to be at home with maid and Jordan mah).
So far quite ok ... actually at home she also watches movies ... haha. Recent one we bought was Alvin & The Chipmunks and she loves it!

Phoebe: You are not alone lah ... aiyo this lazy mummy never try to be adventurous in letting Jordan try different food. So far he has only eaten:

Cereals:
Heinz White Rice Cereal
Nestle White Rice / Brown Rice Cereal (will be trying the Chicken one soon)
Dumex Nutrakid Cereal - Wheat with Milk, Rice with Carrot, Mixed

Baby Food:
Heinz Banana Pear
Heinz Pumpkin, Beef & Potato

Fruits:
Apple
Banana
Green Pear

Solids:
Porridge with pork and fish (threadfin)

"Junk Food":
Baby Bites Biscuit
Wang Wang Potato Ball Biscuits

I got a question on storing freezed baby food. When you all puree baby food ... let's say carrots and potato ... you all sraight away freeze right? Then when wanna serve, do you all cook it? Cos the last time I tried, I warm it using hot water. Though the whole thing seems warm enough, the texture still very rough ... so not sure if need to cook it. Like that will nutrients be lost?

Was down since Monday as well, still on leave so that I can rest more! Hiaz

Re. bb sleeping
I remembered when my girl was less than 1mth, I have to carry her in order for her to sleep longer. Put her down and within 15min, she will start crying. Now come to think about it, it seems to come back as she has been waking up crying so often at night. I think at least every hr. Sometimes, I gave her the pacifier, it will last her for another 30min or an hr but sometimes it doesn't work and I have to carry her. When I carry her, she will fall asleep and I know it is not because she is hungry or wet. End up, I have to carry her till she sound asleep before I put her down besides me.
Anyone have the same situation ?? It has been very tiring as I end up not sleeping well everyday.

Ginger
I have the same problem when we go out, kids seems to like to run towards bb and touch them for no reason. I also very scared so nowadays I used my Zapp instead of Quest as it is higher and the small kids cannot reach!!!!

Biscuits
I gave my ger the Geber Star Biscuits as well. It contains sugar as stated in the container. She seems to like it so let her try. But bb take 1 and I'll take like 8 at the same time!! like that sure can finished I guessed !!

Good Morning to all Mummies!
Yes, is Wednesday!

Actually so far I only puree the following for my charlene too.. lazy mummy here hee.hee..
Peach
Potatoes
Sweet Potatoes

For other fruits like
Papaya
Apples
Pear
Honeydew
Rockmelon
Charlene loves all the above but I scrap for her not puree.. mum was the only who insist must scrap and give fresh and since charlene loves it lots.. I just continue to scrap for her!

For cereals, Charlene tried the following
Nestle brown rice cereals
Nestle rice cereals
Dumex Nutrakits cereals with carrots
Nestle rice with mix fruit
Nestle oat with prune

Charlene loves all kinds of juice except white grape juice from Gerber and pear juice ( Heinz ). I conclude she is like daddy don't like sour stuff hee..hee...

Recently tried charlene with porridge but she would make those vomit sign like eat until so xin ku le.. reminds me of the times i had my morning sickess when I was pregnant with her keekkee...
Would need to continue to try feeding her with porridge hoping she love it one day...
very de motivating at times when u cook till so long n xin ku but she don't like it

I tried to buy the nestle porridge too but she also hate it...

I agree with what elaine says me too always end up wasting money buying bottled food then charlene don't like need to throw away so wasted le somemore they are not cheap...

Blue, yah received your sms. Now must think of something else liao, grrr!

re: thawing frozen cubes
some people heat the cubes up in the microwave, but i just take it out maybe 1hr prior to feeding and place it near my hotwater flask. if still feel cold i will place cube in feeding bowl and place the bowl in another bowl filled with hot water.

looks like most babies don't like threadfin porridge at first take. i didn't puree the threadfin, i just mashed it up and mixed it with my pureed porridge. maybe she didnt like the texture

Fau: Heeeee, paisei ... I got a suggested list mah. Take your pick!
On threadfin, Jordan's ok leh ... my porridge I always cook with pork, threadfin and carrots. The pork we don't let him eat. Just for taste. The threadfin we will cut into very small pieces for him to eat together with porridge. On pureed food, wouldn't the food taste raw w/o cooking? I tasted my pureed carrots and potatoes and it tasted horrible cos very raw.

justme: im interested in the teething biscuits.. help me order some if possible? thanks in advance!

gingerleaf: wah just hearing what u said made me angry.. some parents are really bo chup one and let their children do all sorts of funny things. remember last time when baby yZ was v young like 3m+ only and this boy ard 4-5 yearsopld kept on shouting n screaming as he walked past us, and he woke baby YZ up (i carrying him) and started crying so pitifully,. then that stupid mum of the boy just smile LOVINGLY at the boy like he v clever to behave like that. SIAO!

star: hope ur baby is okie. so long he s feeding/sleeping/playing as per normal he should be fine. need to exercise more diligence since they can roll/crawl ard whole bed now..

feeding:
food that baby YZ has tried and like:
-heinz rice cereal
-pear
-apple
-sweet potato
-pumpkin
-mango
-green pea
-apricot
-plum
-potato

foods he has tried and hated!
-avocado (he merlioned after 2 mouths of this!)
-carrot (weird tot baby like this)
-spinach

I cant get threadfin here leh, and all other fish are fresh water fish woth lots of bones, so will let her try fish when i go back sg.

faintz blue! food must steam first then puree then store leh. aiyoh. only certain types of fruits no need to steam e.g. papaya, banana, avocado. even apples and pears must steam leh. i dunno why tho. lucky u taste first....

i also searching for parsnips!

blue, you mean for fruits issit? scrape and store? i think some mummies here give fruits without steaming, like pears and apples. but veges all must steam leh. @@

so far i went to carrefour (suntec), NTUC & cold storage i don see parsnips.

only got it from Market place @ City Hall.

i steam it and then puree for my baby, taste like normal carrot but my bb don like it at all, he prefer the normal carrot.

shirley: thanks. market place at raffles city hor. okie will go find it this weekend.
hmm, baby YZ doesnt like carrot. if parsnip taste like it then maybe he wont like it too ha.
so parsnip got nitrates like carrots?