(2007/09) September 2007 MTBs

darmae
haha...same same..luckily our littl missy drink very little, else dont know how our ss can match their demand wor

ecookie, u and me sama sama. bb only has my eyes aso. rest all papa's. sighs. ben is exact image of his dad when his dad was small, except for his eyes. huge eyes from me! ha!

fau: by then if u gian, u can check with cozybabies on availability of stocks, since they be bringing in new stocks early May.

darmae, but i pump for 20-30 min leh. cos my let down very slow. in order to get that supply must pump n massage at the same time. sm time nipple feel so sore. plus ryann drink 210 per feed. so no choice must stress myself to endure in order to get tat amt.

his feeding schedule
7 - 8am - 210ml ebm
12-1 pm - 2tbs rice cereal with puree + 210ml ebm
5.30-6.30pm - 210ml ebm
9.30pm - 210ml ebm ** sm time he tired he wont even want to drink the last feed.

But every feed is a struggle recently. must use toys to distract him he also dun really like solids.

fau, where did you bring dahlia for her jab?... i also brought my gal for her 1st dose of pnuemo jab at MAH SBCC this morning. Her weight is 9.4kg and 73cm. Her average growth is about 1 kg and 4 - 5 cm per month.
Carrying her for more than 30 mins is very siong, and the bjorn active doesnt seem to help, so hopefully getting the beco can relief my shoulder and back ache.

tiny voice,
i know in may new beco stocks may come in. But i hope it'd be as good as 4th gen. Very disappointed cos, still can't get it.

low,
tml got fire drill..
we can meet up

btw, u try to use internet and login to meebo.com..

see if u r able to login to ur msn or not..coz my company oso banned hotmail but i used meebo to go in

madlynette...haha... and then?? i don't want to part $$ just to trim off the fringe... but it turns out like that...hahaha... she'll hate me for this.

RE: Shichida

update on the 1st class that we had attended last sunday. We were 15mins late, the teacher was flashing cards at a very fast speed, at the same time reading out loud. there is also game activity in between card flashing session. there will also be songs of different language being played from vcd ie. jap, french, melayu, mandarin and english.
If one baby is cranky or start making noise then the rest will also be affected, and lose concentration.
Before the class, must ensure that baby is well fed, and sleep enough before going to class. Cos my gal didnt sleep enough so shes a bit cranky, but still within control on that day. But one of her classmate is very cranky, non stop ek ek, and another boy boy hungry for milk.... 'sigh'
A plastic file, a t-shirt, a record book (for teacher and parent to write down their observation and comments after each lesson) is given on the first day of lesson. Traffic to springleaf branch is very easy, parking no problem as its in the cbd area and the road is almost empty, so hubby give thumbs up for the location and parking, no congestion and parking worries.

fau,
i like ur PURSE-vere. hee...

phoebe,
i used to pump 20mins at work.. but kept having distruptions lor. eg. sm1 knocking on the door, phonecalls, meetings etc. so nw i reduced to 10mins 2x pumps. so long i can achieve what she consume.. i happy liao.

ryann big drinker leh... no wonder u ned to WORK very hard.

lbs,
2 little missies... hee
when can meet ah?

rxsti,
ariel 9.4kg liao. wow!! and she is very long too!! my missy maegan 7.6kg nia...

justme,
i soooooo LUV sarah's thick, lustre hair. she really look like a big girl...

justme: sarah like chubbier!! and she looks very very very girl girl leh!! impossible to mistake her as a boy ever haha.

rxsti: ur gal must be chubby chubby! wow.. so she s at 9.4kg for 6 or 7 mths? my baby YZ is 8.6kg when i last weighed him myself at 5.5 mth... >.<

fau,
dora the explorer hair is super straight.
Sarah's like mine, all curly at the end. haha... my mum said she'll be as stubborn as me!

Re: Supplements

Yes, i take the capsuled fish oil, obimin and calcium tablet each day. There was a week when i skipped them all and my supply dropped.

Hehehe...I am a lazy mummy. I pump twice a day only on Weekdays and thrice a day on weekends. So considering the fact that she takes solids, my bm is just nice.

Weekday
6am: 320ml
7pm: 400ml

Wanted to give up also but quite sayang leh. Imagine u can save up 3 tins of FM each mth?? Can buy 1 big toy liao..Hahaha..Tats my motivation.

Drink BM = More toys

But i can really see the effect of BM loh. My gal is very strong. My MIL used to nag at me for not giving FM to my gal. She claims that they need to take FM before they can take solids. Now that my gal is eating all kinds of food ranging from cereal to fruits to porridge, she finally agrees that BM is good. Hahaha..Partly also because my niece who is 6 mths old and feeding on FM gets rashes when she feeds on semi-solids.

row,
i dreamt of dolling her up too! but she seems to be influenced by her dad. No accessories on head. Everytime i place clips, she'll fuss and pull it out of her hair. argh...i think sarah's gonna be tomboyish ler...=(

gingerleaf!!
hahah.. wat kind of question is tat?! "how come so much hair??"
You think i put hair tonic on her scalp is it?? hahahaha

she's born with full head of hair la. God's gift.

justme: sarah tomboyish ah?? heheh like you? :p

poohwei: yesh, you ve bought alot of toys for ur baby girl!
still havent try out the exersaucer at your hse yet leh..

Babies gain weight with less sleep
By Rita Rubin, USA TODAY

Extracted from: http://www.usatoday.com/news/health/2008-04-07-sleep-weight_N.htm

Infants and toddlers who slept fewer than 12 hours in a 24-hour period were twice as likely to be overweight than longer sleepers by the time they're 3 years old, a study showed Monday.
The children most likely to be overweight were those who slept less than 12 hours and watched at least two hours of television a day, says the study in the Archives of Pediatric and Adolescent Medicine.

Although previous research has linked inadequate sleep with weight gain in adults and older children and TV viewing and obesity in older children, the authors of the new study say theirs is the first to connect sleep and television viewing in infants to excess weight.

The researchers focused on 915 children in an ongoing Massachusetts study. When the children were 6 months old, their mothers were asked about their sleeping habits. When the children were ages 1 and 2, the mothers were asked about their sleep and television watching.

"One of the things we thought was that if children are sleeping less they might be watching more TV, and maybe that would explain the relationship between sleep and obesity," says lead author Elsie Taveras, a Harvard pediatrician who runs the childhood obesity prevention clinic at Children's Hospital Boston. "But that wasn't the case."

The children slept an average of 12.3 hours a day at age 6 months, 12.8 hours a day at 1 year and 12 hours a day at age 2. Some who slept more than 12 hours also watched more than two hours of TV a day, while some briefer sleepers didn't.

Why less sleep in infancy and toddlerhood was linked to a greater chance of becoming overweight isn't clear, says co-author Matthew Gillman, also a Harvard pediatrician. Gillman says some short-term experiments in adults suggest that "people whose sleep is curtailed do have hormone changes that tend to increase appetite."

ecookie, my gal is 7 month old today. Ur boy 5.5mth 8.6kg, which is my gal's weight @ 6 month old. she's not as chubby as clara with thunder thighs, probably shes tall.

darmae, petitie is good also easy to handle mah, after seeing maegan in the bee, i went to see it yesterday at mothercare, dont think my gal can fit into the seat before she turn 1 y.o

Hi rxsti..
Thanks for your update... I'm kinda worried cos its almost impossible for my boy to sit for 5 mins.... How to make him pay attention for one hour?! *faint*

I made some notes on how to make baby porridge.... Those mummies who seldom walk into the kitchen, except to cook instant noodles like me, pls feel free to read these steps..

mime_msword.gif

Baby Porridge.doc (30.7 k)</td></tr></table></center>

poohwei,
your girl may not have as much hair yet, but they'll grow wat...what's impt is bb looks. haha.. your girl is sweet!

justme: cant remember leh.. think i read somewhere yourself mentioning it hahah..

emily, thanks for the doc! i need it! i can t cook to save my life!

rxsti: haha okie so my boy is still BIG lor.. he got thunder thighs!

Re: natural curl for bb hair

Justme, now tt u have mentioned abt ur bb hving naturalli curly hair. Mine too! She as a head of wavy hair.
Have a problem with it though, the thing I dun understand is tt whenever I brg Chloe out, alot of strangers or even relatives will all comment sumting like this : " oooh, ur girl has natural curl hor? next time very notti n stubborn! Then the kpos will scold my girl "PAI-SEE" (meaning notti / bad in Hokkien)
I'm abit TL with them le, who r they to scold my bb le..?
Y is natural curl associated with being stubborn?

Havent' participated in a few days. Looks like you are having a ball with the mag pictures
All the cover gals and boys look so adorable.

Hi low, thanks for your concern
Caelen seems ok these few days despite we have not uncovered the reason for the blood in urine. Went to KKH last Wed and did some tests but the blood and infection seemed to have subsided so the doctor sent us back without any treatment :-o
But the next day the result of the urine culture test done earlier at the PD on Monday came back and it showed high level of infection so the KKH doctor called me back and prescribed LOTS of antibiotics for Caelen. He has to take more than 3 weeks (24 days) of antibiotics till his next review on 23 Apr at KKH!! Will be doing more tests and kidney ultrasound on 23 Apr as well before we can give Caelen the all-clear.

Feel very uncomfortable with the long period of antibiotics leh... don't think it's good for his body but doctor doesn't wan the infection to return before she sees him again. Sigh, and she is going on holiday so cannot see her earlier than 23 Apr

ecookie,
eeeks.. shoot, don't even remember wat i posted.

Emily,
thanks for the doc. But Why put vege in so early ah?? all nutrients destroyed won't they?
And to cook porridge so slow ah?? 3-4 hours. Wahsey! Then must we chopped or blend the rice grains first?? so the porridge will turn out very fine? I haven't tried cooking porridge using slow cooker.. blur...

hei elaine!
re: natural curls.
Me too don't understand such theory. aiyah.. think its because can't tame the hair lah... so thats why these old pple said stubborn. But I think natural curl quite nice wat!! haha...that is if you know how to style it. else, like my hair. Like duck tail.

Hi Justme..
If use slow cooker, it takes ~4 hours.... but the porridge will be very fine if cooked with slow cooker... taste good too...

Some root vegetables like carrot &amp; potato are hard, so need to cook for many hours before they soften....

I hafta buy a small slow cooker this week so that I can start cooking porridge this weekend... On the weekdays, my boy is taking porridge from infant care and from the teachers' feedback, he loves them...

Hi peapod..
Edison used to take antibiotics for 7 days, and after that the infection subsided... He did the kidney ultrasound at MAH SSBC.. About 10 mins scan, his PD said no abnormality... Within 10 mins, I burnt $180 in my pocket..

Anyway, most importantly, our boys r healthy, $$$ is just secondary...

Hi Emily

Yes, I also tot one week sounds reasonable but the KKH doctor presribed 3 weeks of antibiotics leh. That's so so long! I got to wait till 23 Apr for the ultrasound too... also still worried in the mean time. And Caelen takes very badly to eating medicine.. machiam feeding him poison. Will arch and scream and spit all out. Need 3 persons to feed him - one to hold him, one to keep his mouth open with spoon and one to syringe the medicine in the mouth. So traumatising! To both baby and mummy

Hi Blue, I hope so too
Both doctors say not UTI cos' he doesn't have fever but dunno where kena infection. So we are very puzzled. Will need more tests on 23Apr and ultrasound.

Hey Wise,

I forget to tell u tt ur clara has got very nice n defined eyebrows!
Chloe's eyebrow is kinda scattered.
Clara realli put on alot of weight compared to before. hee!

Hey irene, ur secret frd's bb is Erlyna?? OMG, I was wondering whose bb is tt...cos she looks very big beside Jerald. Yuan lai is dear Erlyna...! *wave wave to her mummy*
Erlyna is a big girl now!

Low, I wanna see Char recent pic, can? I dunno y, but feel Charlene got this cheeky face like her father hehe, see liao veri gay yan n cute de!

emily,
hehe, i have s slow cooker but never use. THink will do the porridge following the document instructions tomo. hehe.. so exciting.

peapod: what is wrong with ur boy?? viral infection? so long the infection doesnt recur, best to put him on antibiotics as what the doc advised bah..

re porriage: my SIL shared with me that she just uses normal pot to cook porriage and before feeding she ll mash the porriage manually against the rough surface of pigeon feeding bowl. not sure if u guys know this bowl from pigeon (with cover one), got rough surface to grind food further to make it finer.

she said like that better so nutrients wont be lost in slow cooker.

but my mum sure use slow cooker one.. so think myself will follow SIL method while my mum will use slow cooker..mixture methods ha