(2007/09) September 2007 MTBs

merkon, my friend's 1 yr old son has eczema and has been seeing this specialist who's clinic is somewhere in orchard. the thing about eczema is it won't go away for a long time, but you can control it. he's allergic to lots of things and sometimes a bit poor thing coz he cant take wheat/cow's milk/cheese.. lots of things actually. i've been having eczema all my life, and have been taking steroid jabs all along, except for when i was preggers.

will try to get the name of the skin specialist my friend's baby sees.

Please add mi too:

Mummies keen in blank flash cards.
1) Phoebe
2) Madlynette
3) Fau
4) Low Family
5) BenMum
6) Yoki

Fau,

Is the doc u mentioned a pd dermatologist?
I trying to find one too.. Cos my girl has some oil pores on her face since birth.. Wanted to remove it, although cannot be seen clearly..
Do u hv the doc info?
Don't mind pl let me hv it?
Thanks..

Ben mum,
My "training" was only 1 or 2 sessions only.. haha..
No master la.. We learn together..

ben mum.. u going to make your own maths flashcards? tat means you have to draw 1 to 100 big black dots on the cards.. you so hardworking..

shotbyfau.. me too hv eczema for many many many many years.. sigh! used to take steroid jabs too.. pls dont take too often hor cos it is not good for our body.. now both my palms also got.. super itchy due to washing n cleaning every day..

atinarin.. there r plenty of inconsiderate idiots out there.. i will give them a dirty look then walk away..bo bian one la.. these people will never change..

merkon.. me very scare my girl will have severe eczema from my bad genes.. so i am very careful with her daily routine.. i used only gaia or sebamed with distilled water for her bath.. no fish n seafood n egg n yeast before one year old..minimum perspiration..apply enhancer for her rash..etc etc.. read from other forums.. mummies shared their experience that some docs prescribe elomet or protopic for the rash.. some mummies will give bb take antihistamine.. but the rash will still come back lor..hopefully your bb will recover soon.. dont be stress oki..

ben mum,

i clean my gal's gums and tongue everyday before i bathe her with those soft terry wash cloth/hankies.

mag,

come flash to your god daughter lei.. m waiting.. wait until neck long long le

Re: eczema
ryann also have eczema. Rashes whenever he apply ruyi oil also. got it from both of us. skin very dry. He sweat alot also. My PD recommended me a cream and Body Wash. So far, I see great improvement. The name of the wash is Balneum. Dermatologically Tested and free from perfume and preservatives.
I also use california baby's cream at times. Just brought the sensitve body wash. Haven start using that yet.
HTHs

Hi , I am interested in the blank flash cards too . May I know how much and how many pieces there is? hehe I am mother to 6 months old hazel and 2.5months old keith. both born in sept.

keithnhazel.blogspot.com

HB was feeding bb so getting up and walking away would interrupt the feed (a 2nd time cos first was when our number was called)

anyway hb was sitting first. dont know y he had to sit there of all aempty seats.

aiya these pple not scared of god or karma lor, after all he has a bb too.

merkon: my bb's is very bad diaper rash. bit of contact dermatitis or whatever...kk said not fungal, SSBC says fungal...dont know boy...

I think for eczema, organic stuff is better. Im using Logona's bb wash for my girl. I think j and J is too harsh. In fact her rash started when i used that, maybe coincidence though.

RE: Shichida course

I just went to sign up for the course. Opted for Toa Payoh HUb instead cos there were so many stairs tat i need to clear b4 i can reach Springleaf. Worst, can't park in their basement carpark. Any mummies wanna form the class with me? I opted for sat, 4.15pm. If u wanna form the class with me, just tell the receptionist tat u wanna join my gal , Chai Chang En, Elaine.

Re: Lunch
Went to a Hong Kon cafe at Raffles City just now. I was quite surprised tat she could sit on the Ikea high chair for at least 20 min. At home, she cant even stay still for 10 min. The waitress at the cafe love her so much that they took turns to carry her and play peek a boo with her. An ang mo even came over to take a pic of her. Hubby commented tat it must be one of their strategies to woo customers bac.

Count me in for the blank flash card as well.
I saw at the GD booth during the expo and it's really expensive. I recently just bought the book but no time to read yet.

jme, need to do till 100? FAINT! my friend just told me to do up till 20. but must show in different types of patterns of 1-20. i guess 5 sets of 1-20 = 1-100 bah? LOL.

poohwei, so sweet! ben has to be entertained when in his ikea high chair too. then he can sit in it for 20 minutes. so far, he has not eaten in it yet. just sit in it while we have our meals. =P

hey any mummies wanna exchange a 400g tin of Enfagrow for a 400g tin of Similac follow-on?

I don't use the Enfagrow, its never been opened.

poohwei,
re: shichida
hubby signed up for maegan last thursday. he opted for 1230 timing on sat. usually we need to pop by my parents' plc for dinner... so 415pm kinda rush. btw, En is starting in april or july? we only managed to get in the july intake although they claimed tat there's priority for siblings.

maegan cant even exceed the 5mins mark. she will keep making noise lor. En so guai

Hi Poohwei/Darmae,
I think I finally managed to persuade my hubby to let Jade enrol in the Shichida class =) How much is it for the weekend course huh? How many lessons?

My hubby seems quite keen in enrolling both our kids for Shichida leh ... but I'm still quite skeptical about how such young babies are able to learn anything from flashing cards.

Can provide me more info on cost etc.? Is 3-4 years old too old for Shichida?

I guess for me, Toa Payoh Hub one should be the nearest.

hey angel, today i signed up for the Foto-U pkge too, and saw Bena's and your name as well. hee hee! When are you scheduling Jade for the photo session? I hope can get our desired slot for 30May, cos' on leave.

Hi Irene, i'll upload the photos tomorrow then send to you...just now hor, i knocked my boy's head against the bedroom door knob while trying to bring him in to sleep, and he cried very loud, felt so bad.

Voice don't be sad.. we did not do it purposely one lor.. me also le sometimes when i try to carry charlene out of the car i would accidentally kncok her head.. sign feel so bad too and keep saying sorry to her

ben mum.. think your fren's math flash card diff from mine.. i bought the glenn doman math so it is 0 to 100 dots..

Voice,
No prob but hor i know ur hb snap a lot just now but just give me those nice ones can liao heehee... U know jerald KO after u left earlier till 11 plus last feed & now zzz all the way haha... Can tell he's very tired but wan ppl to play with him.
Pls dun feel bad u dun do it on purpose mah, tat time i also accidentally knock jerald's head when i'm going into the car. Careless me lor then got scolding from hb some more. As if i wan it to happen then i keep saying sorry to my boy

hee hee same like me irene.. i think go in n out of car very prone to knocking their head le.. me also ma a few times liao feel so sad and bad.. also got scolding from her daddy

low,
My hb very bad say woman r more prone to accident
then i ah bish him & say then u BF, bath him, change diaper etc.. instead of just play with him then he zipzip his mouth

Voice, Irene, Low
So I think its quite common. Jade also kenna knocked on the head so many times hehehe...on the car door, car roof, door knob, etc. Hope no permanent damage!

Voice, Bena
Oh you signed up the Foto package from NbyN too? How did your photo shoot go? They called me on my mobile leh...dunno how they get my number. I was supposed to go today at 2pm but cancelled coz my in-laws coming to my place for 'house warming'. Tried to book another slot but they bochap me lor. Hope they slot me in again.

Blue,
I was just reading their website last night (http://www.shichidamethod.com/)and it said that age 0-3 years old is the period where children maximizes the use of the right brain. From ages 4-6, they start to switch to using the left-brain. So the critical period of training the brain would be from ages 0-3. If the child is older, the techniques will be modified.

Hi Darmae,

I signed up for the July intake. April is full already. I took the 4.15 slot so that i can go to my MIL's place at Yio Chu Kang immediately.

Re: Knocking of head
My gal will knock her head against everything. And she enjoys "free fall"!! Sometimes, we wonder if she feels the pain cos she does not cry. Somemore, we will feel so painful whenever she knocks onto our legs/ hands.

blue,
Btw, I also thought the Shichida school is all abt flashing cards also. But they have much more activities...I heard from my SIL they have lessons on language, maths, speed learning, photographic memory, creative thinking, etc. The flashcards is only part of the homework. The website got one testimony from a mum who's child was 6 years old when she joined. So I think your girl still can attend

HI Angel

Shichida Lessons:12 sessions

Weekend cost: $780 + GST + $300 refundable deposit + 1 Parent's seminar (Wed evening) @ $170/pax or $290/ 2pax.

jme, cards definitely not the same. she made the cards herself. LOL. not sure which centre she follows. *grins*

keen on shichida. But hb wants to find out more about it. will be reading up on it later on the net. =D

ben had fever and diarrhoea. consulted PD and she said it could be due to mild virus. but MIL and my mom says it could be teething. can anyone share? teething will cause fever and diarrhoea? ben pooed 11 times yesterday! FAINT. up till now, already pooed 3 times. dare not wipe his backside with wet wipes even. just wash with cotton and dap dry.

Poohwei, what other slots they have for Sat huh? Afraid 4.15 pm usually my gal is having her nap leh ...

Btw any no. you have for me to call and check? I want the Toa Payoh Hub one ... surfed their website but didn't seem to have leh.

Ben Mum,
From what i read in some mag, and a book written by a doctor from SGH. Teething will not cause fever.
It mentioned that a baby's immune system will be at their lowest when they are 6 mths old. Plus due to the irritation on the gums, babies tend to put things or fingers in their mouth which causes virus or bateria to go into their body.

Poo 11 times is alot. Oh no! rem to let him drink more water to replenish the water lost in the body. Use desitin to prevent rash. Please take care.

1) Phoebe
2) Madlynette
3) Fau
4) Low Family
5) BenMum
6) Yoki
7) totoro_bb

Mummies, i dun mind getting both the sizes.

6 x 22 is similar to our car license plate size. more for words etc. But i have a problem. My flash cards are all in power point slides. I dun think will fit right?

11 x 11 is square size.
I will be getting 105 pcs. including + - x / =

Actually yoki shared with me this website. Maybe can get from them but slightly more ex.
http://www.mylittleones.com.sg/products_blankcards.htm

Phoebe count me out for the blank fashcards sorry... my hubby say he rather buy actual flashcards than diy so i got to give up the idea.. thanks n sorry for the trouble

thanks phoebe. have been giving him 50ml of water in between feeds today. think in all, he would have drunk 200ml of water. =D

he cried a lot when applying desitin. think his skin broke. this morning ok le. can apply desitin and he wont cry. =D sighs. hope the diarrhoea ends soon.

re flashcards
i am keen on english words and maths. =D cheaper to make own or buy ready made? have to calculate lo. anyone can share what does the GD cards have? maybe can just see if mylittleones have it cheaper?

magoo.. the num is at the back of the card so that we can see it and say it out loud when flashing the dots to bb..bought it last year sept b4 i gave birth.. is yours the same as mine? me not consistent in flashing the math.. so difficult.. got to follow the method closely.. unlike english or chinese.. can flash as and when i like.. me lazy mama..

ben mum.. me agree with phoebe.. bbs tend to put things or fingers in their mouth.. causes bateria upsetting bb's system.. 11 times is really alot.. ben is so poor thing.. hope he recovers soon.. pls take care..

jme,
I think we have the same set..but i hv the numerals cards too..(not refering to the no. indicated behind the dots cards) Besides maths, wat other d u get?

I followed as per taught initially, but now my Ayden easily lost his concentration, so i only managed to flash like a few mins.. sometime he bad mood, need to cancel the flashing too!! Haiz...

Hi Ben mum ,

Just to share, recently there is a flu virus that is going round. My son was admitted to hospital coz of high fever on and off for 4 -5 days , diarrhoea and breathless.

They say it's acute bronchitis.
He is recovering now .

Hope your son recover soon!

1) Phoebe
2) Madlynette
3) Fau
4) Florence
5) BenMum
6) Yoki
7) totoro_bb

Low Family No problem. =p

Florence, sorry i missed your post on top regarding your interest.

Ben mum, I find it cheaper to do my own then to buy.
2ndly i can do something more personalize. I also have most of the words used in the orginal cards. Thus would prefer DIY. I guess it is really personal preference.
For me i already been working something like if the Word is Family. The other side will have a photo of ryann, me and hubby.
Father - will have pictures of my hubby
And so on and so forth.... But alot of work la. got sense of achievement while doing =p So worth it la =p

Hi Blueskye

If u r signing up for both ur gal n Jordan, u will need 2 separate timing cos parents must be ard when they are below a certain age i think. Btw, u can register for the HDB hub one at Springleaf tower. So u can just call Springleaf branch for more info.

Hi Angel
See u there. Think if we can form a class of our own, it will be fun. So just quote my gal's name. Hehe.

poohwei, how's the baby competition that En participated this morning? Share share the fun with us leh...any pix?

Irene: yah..my hubby snapped so many cos' he got shaky hands, so tends to snap many many shots just to get the right one, haiz..by then babies very fast will change position, cannot sit still one. I go nap 1st, later see got time to upload anot. Yah, i also kenna scolded by hubby last nite b'cos of his precious son....

Any of your babies having teething problem? Yan's first tooth finally cut through BUT she has lost her appetite! She has already lost so much weights due to her flu & now this!

hi lbs

my baby also rejects milk when he start teething and he is still drinking lesser than before. he used to finish his 7oz milk but not anymore. i was very worried as well especially he is on the light side. with this reduction in milk, i'm afraid he will lost more weight.

I'm glad to see his two little teeth ; )

lbs, yah..Sam is drinking lesser too, he seems to enjoy his solid more than milk.

Today i made green peas for him, will ask my maid to let him try out tomorrow, hope he will like it.

These days Sam drool lesser, he knows how to swallow his saliva already and so cute when he uses his gum and lips to prevent saliva from drooling. hee hee!

talking abt feeding... haizz. was gonna post my woes.

shawn is refusing his milk (not just taking lesser) and solids as well !! be it porridge or cereals w puree,etc, he aint keen ! he can go without milk for more than 5 hours and "scream" when feed him !

not sure whether its teething..... his little teeth has popped.

re teething
can mummies pls share on the teething process? does it entails diarrhoea? ben has been having diarrhoea since he hit 6 months ytd. he keeps wanting to put things into his mouth too!

Just upped his milk intake to 6oz (5 feeds a day). Is it too little? He is not taking any solids yet. Just changed to Stage 2 of Similac so I guess must wait 1 week. How much water do you give your precious?

hi ben mum

for my baby, the sign that he gave was taking less milk and drooling. Infact he lost some weight during the period when the teeth were coming out. Since yr baby is not taking solid yet, i thk 5 feeds of 6oz are quite ok.

For mummies whose baby are taking solid, how many time r your baby drinking milk? My baby is only taking 3 to 4 times of milk per day! He has cereal for his lunch + dinner. For snack, sometime we give sweet potatoes, pumpkin, potatoes and i m slowly introudcing other food.