(2007/09) September 2007 MTBs

Em: My family also employ a maid to take care of my sick father and help out my mum to take care of my nephew and Ryann.
our first Maid from philipines also play us out. At first she is ok but soon her real colours start to show. She started to request for alot of things. And sorry but no offence, usually phil maids more vain also. Ops...

My aunt's phil maid- Married with kids but dunno how to take care of baby. Want to buy the plucker - (for eyebrow shaping kind) to pluck her armpit hair and eyebrow. and also quite blur.

Then we change to a younger indo maid. Single and young. Still not too bad but quite defensive lor. sometimes will argue back. Then 1 yr later, earn enough money already, want to go back home. Claim that father is ill. Best part is She is leaving in Aug (2007) and my EDD was approaching in Sept.
Thanks to my sister who really went thru all the trouble and source for another maid in time for my confinement and a proper handover from the previous maid.She is 29 this yr, married with 2 kids. quite big size cos we need her to be able to help my father who is wheel chair bounded.
my current maid at first don't even understand what we are trying to say. Very blur, very lost kind, never take initiative to help. my mum can be cleaning something in front of her and she never offer to help. Just sit down there like a wooden block.
But as months goes by, now she is much better, can understand better and most imptly she take care of Ryann very well.Now she can even sing nursery songs to Ryann. Sometimes i even hear her sing chinese songs from the radio.

I guess it is really a matter of luck and patience. Treat her like a family member and care for her. Advice her that she must be willing to learn.
One tip also, Indo maids are better in picking up new languages as compared to Phil maids. Indo maids are also more willing to work without off days in return for money.

Hope you can find the ideal maid soon.
Hao ri zi yao dao le... Good days are coming soon. =D

angel,
re: lounge sets.
i dun intend to use as PJ leh.. keke.. they simply look too nice to be PJ. like wat gingerleaf said... look more like yoga wear. hehee... tats the thing abt online shopping.. cant resist lor. and esp i dun see it retailing in local shops.. the itch is more lor. worried tat i wun come across it again... so click and click, then send in my order. wahahaha

sharon,
UCB 50%.. i oso bgt alot for my 3 yrd old boy last weekend. haahaaa..

em,
i totally agree with angel. maid wif attitude is more impt than age, marital status, nationality etc. heng suay wan lor.. like wat u say similar to buying 4D.
all the best to you!!

madlynette,
guess wat? i was a mothercare juz now.. and yes, i bgt the bee. delivery tmr...

darmae!! wah wah wah! must take photo ok!!

wah darmae, welcome to the bee club, hehe
ok ur turn to review and post photos k.

dun forget to ask them to assemble for u, they did assemble for me.

hey.. any one read the news about the baby who survied the accident.. where her parents, grandma and brother are dead!!!!

my heart went all out to her.. i tearing in office... so shameful...

baby piglet,
yah so tragic hor, so poor thing, saw her photo in newspaper drinking the milk bottle, so sad, but at this age, she know nothing one.

fau, madlynette,
will def take photos.

madlynette,
is it a big job assembling? as i ask them to delivery tmr cos i cant wait leh... they can squeeze in the delivery for me but no time for assemble.
i juz told sales assistant ok...

bb piglet,
saw the tragic news yest and tdy's straits times.

mag, No i haven get but i am very keen to get them. cos i have been searching for nice flash cards in the market but i couldnt find much. It is either too ex or not so suitable.
Then i became very lazy to flash already.
Actually i also dun really know the correct way to flash =D

Was thinking since Ryann so vain pot like to see himself in the mirror maybe can DIY some nice ones with his photo and our photo then teach him his own name , mummy daddy ah mah etc. =p

Madlynette, What size you prefer? I have call them to ask if about the size and cost.

darmae,
i think for assemble they only need to attached the wheels. when the delivery man go your house, just ask them to assemble as well lor.

actually i dun know how to do flash cards, but want to try.
and the price seems very cheap for so many cards leh. share will be even cheaper.

meko...i think we are mothers now.. so very emotional when come to tragic things that happened to babies... really must treasure the time we have with out babies.. never know what will happen tomorrow

i think for small bbs the card have to be bigger. something to do with their vision not being so good also to make the text more attractive.

baby piglet i agree was talking to my friend just now.. so poor thing only 2 month old and lost all her loved ones

Phoebe I wanna share too count me in thanks

actually i also don't know the correct way to flash flashcard le how huh???

Yes, according to the GD book, the recommeded size for baby to be able to identify words, the flash card size is advisable to use 6" x 22". This 6" x 22" is mainly used for English and Chinese wordings.

As for the math, u need to use 11" x 11" if i remember correctly.

During the Expo BB fair, there's actually a GD booth. I sat down to enquire about the flashcards. Its not cheap for the cards set.

If possible, do it ourself which save us alot.

oh, if u can wait, you can reserve the book from national library. They do have the book but on long waiting list

If mummies are really interested to get the books, perhaps we can consolidate orders and see if we can get a cheaper price.

Low,
u can go to the website that was mentioned by kkjoy to find more details

i just call them, they say that delivery for $200 and above. But if below $200 must collect at jurong which is their warehouse.
why not we consolidate and see how many mummies want first and see if can hit that quota or not. at the same time try to find other supplier. =p

Mummies keen in blank flash cards.
1) Phoebe
2) Madlynette
3) Fau
4) Low Family
5)

gingerleaf,
According to GD standard is 6 x 22
we can set the size we want with the hiap moh supplier, they cut for us.
Actually i still dunno wat is the size of 6 x 22. but there are also some others that recommended A5 size.

Magoo, Are you doing DIY as well or buy off the rack? Can also share with us how you flash and your opinion on the size of flash cards?

wow the lounge set is indeed vv nice. in fact my sis bought one for her son just b4 cny. she told me vv ex and it's from usa. i was wondering why she did not ask me to get her when i was in usa....sigh... btw, price really too ex leh and know what, her boy only wears 2 times and cannot wear liao.

Hey mummies, I noticed Jordan recently always likes to use his fingers or palm to "sor" the corner of his pillow (before he sleeps) ... haha, exactly the same habit as my gal last time! Your babies do that too?

blue, you mean like twiddle issit? for dahlia she loves to rub her face to her bolster (sometimes till her face turns red) only then can she sleep.

Haha, different babies have different "patterns" ... so cute right? For me, my mum said last time I always like to use the corner of the pillow to "poke" my eyes then I can sleep.

Phoebe,
I hv the full set of English, Chinese, math n another set dunno wat from GD. I bought many years back.

I was teasing low abt how to flash the cards.. hee
Abt flashing the cards? I went for the GD classes and the man taught us how to hold the cards n how to flash the cards. But really need to practise the flashing.. I remember i kept practising pretending my hubby is the bb!! haha..
If u got any questions, can ask me, i will try my best to answer all ur questions..
Hey, btw, hv u got the "stuff"???

em,
maegan is like edison.. like to bite corners of her pillow until dripping wet lor.

blue,
ur pattern like my younger sister... poke eyes. heee and hor, her daughter is exactly like her now.

bena,
hw's zac doing? still constipated?
nw i noe wat u mean by saying gek sai. i saw maegan doing tat juz now when i came back from work. she was crying too... initially i didnt noe what was wrong . when i opened her diaper, saw 1 walnut looking stuff there. think she is constipated. tried giving her water but this gal dun like water at all. dunno hw... she look very uncomfortable. start solid liao become like tat.. is cereal too heaty?

baby faith opp... she kana diarrhoea. wonder hw is she doing now.

Baby's rash didnt go away so we went to SSBC and im so angry!

One stupid father there was coughing openly!

Next to my bb cos hb was feeding her!

Hb turned to look at that barbarian, no effect, still coughed.

HB told him off, 'Can you please cover your mouth?"

HE did not say a word, just ignored and coughed!

Then he kept making this totally bitchy face!

Oh my gosh is that a man anyway?
Biatch!

Re Flash cards
Count me in! Was thinking about it actually. lol. so qiao u all thinking about it too. =D Can i also ask for the 11x11 cards for Maths too? Will magoo teach us how to flash and all the rest during the outing then? =P Or will you need another session?

Mummies keen in blank flash cards.
1) Phoebe
2) Madlynette
3) Fau
4) Low Family
5) BenMum

Re: teething
Thanks meko. will check his gums tomorrow. hope he will let me check it. i have yet to clean his gums b4. anyone knows if i am supposed to clean his gums? how often?

atinarin, i would move away instead. no point getting angry over such people. i have seen people smoking openly just sitting outside of coffeeshops just behind the "non-smoking" area. told the coffeeshop people about it but they said they cant do anything cos he is smoking OUTSIDE the coffeeshop! (just sitting outside of the canopy of the coffeeshop!) darn! they really know how to run through loop holes! sighs

atinarin: wat rash ur bb has? my boy having v bad eczema on face. i v distressed see him deal wif the itch. so poor thing! SBCC seen. med no use.. think got worse... trying to see a paed dermatologist now.

anypne know paeds dermatologist pls help! i'm desperate!