(2007/09) September 2007 MTBs

Hi low,
Braun is known for good blenders. I'm using a Braun handheld blender bought from Tangs for abt $40 I think...comes with a mixing bowl. Its easy to use and clean. They have different ranges..some comes with attachment for egg beating, etc. for making cake if you're into baking. I just bought the lowest range one. We only need to puree foods for the first year so I think no point spending so much. A food processor also can be used if you alraedy have one and can do big quantities, but more washing up to do. I find a handheld blender is much easier for small quantities.

Hi fitty nut,
Haha feeding is messy, you're going to realise that no matter how much you try to be careful and clean, they will get their hands and clothes messed up! Its all part of the feeding experience. A big waterproof bib is good if you don't want to be washing and scrubbing food stains off their clothes. My sister feeds her children naked with just a diaper on!

I find its easier to peel off the skins and cut up the vege/fruits into small pieces first and then steam it. Boil the water first then put in the food. For apples it takes abt 7-8 mins, for pears abt 4-5 mins. For veges it takes longer abt 10-15 mins. Must poke them and see when its soft and tender. I steam instead of boiling coz its the best way to preserve the vitamins. Must be careful not to overcook them otherwise nutrients will be lost. Once its steamed, I will use a mixing bowl and handheld blender to puree till smooth, adding some water to the puree while blending. Then once blended, will spoon the puree into the ice trays, cover with glad wrap, leave it to cool for abt 5 mins before I put it in the freezer. We can't put it into the freezer when its piping hot, but shouldn't leave it out too long otherwise bacteria will grow.

Banana shouldn't be cooked and shouldn't be frozen either. Just mash or puree and feed straight away
It oxidizes very fast but can't be helped.

Hi Amy,
Apple and pear are favourites amoung babies so its good to start off with that. Then move on to a mixture of other fruits and veges like pumpkin, carrots, green peas (frozen ones), banana, peaches, sweet potato, broccoli, cauliflower, papaya, avocado, etc. so they get a variety and they can taste different things and don't become fussy eaters. Its recommended to start baby on fruits and veges first as its easier on their digestive systems. Then move on to other things like meat and fish once they're digesting fruits and veges well coz protein is harder to digest.

low, you can try to get the Braun handheld blender its compact and easy to use and clean. I think angel bought 1 too. costs around $50+/-. I got it from courts.

fitty nut, you may want to buy the disposable bibs. they are waterproof and after feeding you can throw them away. im using those.

Ben Mum, Phoebe, Justme,
Hehe its quite relieving reading abt what your babies do! And funny too
I've been wondering what other babies this age are up to too!

Do your babies like to blow saliva out of their mouth like "ppppplllttttth!"? Initially when Jade did that everyone laughed and she also start laughing. Then now I realise she will do that when nobody is paying attention to her then she will laugh by herself. Its so funny...like entertaining herself! Especially when feeding then her food comes out all over the place and in my face!

bena, my boi still cannot flip yet. he too lazy to flip! sighs. so angry with him. but what to do? have to wait till he is ready lo. now he just lie on his back and rub the back of his head on the pillow leh. sighs. back of his head going botak soon. lol....

voice, my boi opposite leh. he moves down instead! never moves up one leh in his cot...lol...one time he slept on my bed with me and he moves towards me! have to squeeze right to the edge of the bed liao. since then, rarely co-sleep with him.

justme, ur ger so cute!!!!!! can imagine ur husband's shock!!!!! LOL

rxsti, sometimes think see them sleep so cute. sometimes u wish they sleep more quietly. hahahha

angel! ur jade so cute!!!! can entertain herself....my boi will tok to his musical mobile. or just put his fingers into his mouth and start to mumble mumble! very funny de!

hee hee... my gal will oso like to blow out saliva.. hahah then she will suck her feet her fingers anything tat's near her and can be put to her mouth.... or she will 'slap' her mobile she will oso try to reach and grab her mobile toys which is still too far for her.. hahahah suck her cloths and wat else...? hmmm.. oh ya.. she loves mirror too!!! and she loves to lunge forward whenever she's seated and she will tap or 'slap' my face if i put my face infront of her...

Hi Angel,
Edison also likes to blow bubbles nowadays, so dirty! Like you mentioned, I think its a form of self-entertainment to them.. He also likes to move his fingers and look at them...

I am wondering how to feed our babies with cereal/puree when you are outdoor?? Any advise..

ben mum: yah my boy stil cant flip too.. if i push him abit, he ll flip all right but on his own too lazy to even attempt to flip!

and yah he moves downwards when sleeping also.. sometimes shifts untill the head no longer on his pillow ha

Emily, i think its best to feed them at home before go out, at this stage of learning how to eat.... it will be a mess, and its not that easy to feed them too. I think must wait till they fully master their eating skill then can go out to feed them.

ben mum: dahlia will turn to her side.. her head will slide off her pillow and she will face upwards. used to worry she will cramp her neck but since she herself adjusted her position as so, means she's kinda comfy and we let her be.. there was one morning we discovered she rotated 90degrees anti clockwise.. fwah!

siti: aiyo then latch husband's nipple ah?! hehe..

rxsti: her cough is still there, but can see it's getting better.. we try to feed her plain water, but she hates it when we give it in the bottle.. so for now she drinks plain water through the syringe :D how's your baby?

fau, her flu is clear, now still having slight cough, cos she still has phelgm. You must try to give her more water as it will help to make her phelgm more watery, so that its easier to pass out, advice from PD.

Re: baby sleeping
I have one encounter with my gal when shes sleeping. She flipped and was sleeping on her tummy with her face down (I was chatting with my frens in the living room), luckily I went in to check on her, when I flip her over, she let out a loud cry and she was shivering... Cant imagine if i didnt check on her what will happen... QUite scary, so now every now and then I will wake up to check on her, especially if shes sleeping on small pillow.... So mummies must watch out your babies.

rxsti, possible for u to put pillows beside her to prevent her from flipping in her sleep?
hmm, think i must be cautious next time when my boy starts to flip

madlynette: I now have four (including the three I bght last night)
Also have 19 LJP cubes (suspect helper accidentally threw a cube away).

ecookie, put pillow besides also cant stop her from flipping, as she has the strength to fully flip over alr, unlike the initial learning stage when shes not sure of how to flip.

rxsti,
that was a scary experience!! i am naturally a worrier...esp wahen it comes to e well-being of my bb. so now that i know she sleeps on her front, i check on her every few minutes.

fau, angel, ben mum,
my hubby sometimes complain n said he didn't have good night sleep cos always have to wake up and push sarah towards me... only to have her flipping over to him again...think if he also produces milk, sarah would prefer his to mine!

vaccination:
can i know how much do PD charge on pneumococcal vaccine?? i go to poly, and they don't provide this. also when can it be given?? any idea??

Hi JustMe,
Edison just took his first jab for Pneumococcal Disease last weekend. It was $169/dose, excluding consultation charge. I asked a few clinics on the charge, and they are about the same. Polyclinics do not have this vaccine.

Hi Em,
When I need to feed Jade outside and its still hours away, I will put the frozen cubes in a small tuppleware and use the cooler bag with ice packs to keep it cold. When its time to feed, will use hot water to warm up. Just like EBM... Very ley chey. If its within 1-2 hours of feeding time, I will warm up the puree first at home, then bring out and feed her. Sometimes I just skip her purees that meal and give plain baby cereal mixed with abit of milk.

Justme, 4 doses of pnuemo jab for infants starting below 6 months, 3 jabs for infants below 12 months, and 2 jabs for children above 12 months. My gal will be starting her pneumo jab next week, 6th month.

Hi Angel,
Arghhh, I can imagine how ley chey it is.. Hee
Better dun feed puree when going out...

Hi JustMe,
For Edison, he took the first jab at 5months+, so total he needs to take 3 jabs.. 2nd jab will be 2 months later and 3rd jab to be one year later..... I think PD is quite critical, better to take the vaccinations..

emily, any idea why your bb jabs for pnuemococcal is so apart? mine is scheduled to be aternative mths?
ie 3rd mth, 5th mth & 7th mth

hi gingerleaf/ecookie
hv gotten the leaflet for the freezer mate for tupperwear. but can't post it here leh, can give me ur email address, i pdf for ur consideration.

the price for 140ml (small size) is $7.60 now for 2 pcs.

price for 290ml (medium size) is $25.20 for 4 pcs.

wah... not cheap lah this vaccine... sigh.. but what to do... i read feb issue of reader's digest which featured the Pneumo. After seeing how much the families suffered due to this disease, I can't take it lightly. Also, sarah has to suffer again. More jabs. I got the 5-in-1 from poly... doesn't include hep b. So next month hep b 3rd dose. Sigh, if only i can afford to go pd, she won't have to face unnecessary jabs. argh!~

Hi ecookie,
I also dunno leh.. I better call the PD and confirm.. Maybe I have mixed up the dates, hehehe

The 2nd jab is scheduled 2 months later.. For the 3rd jab, we havent make appointment yet..

does 6-in-1 include hep B? i just blur blur take up 6-in-1 but not sure if it includes hep B,

1st jab hep B taken in hospital at birth, then 2nd n 3rd included in 1st & 2nd 6-in-1 jabs?

ecookie,
I think hep b is included in 6-in-1.. that's why TMC didn't give sarah hep b upon discharge only BCG. Cos, assume I follow up with PD.

bubumama, i never use the gmail chat function before, will explore heh

justme: my boy is borne in TMC too but he s given the BCG n 1st does HEP B leh.?
when i 1st brought him for his 1st 6-in-1 jab, its recorded in his baby book, hep B 2nd dose is included.

but yest when i brought him for his 6-in-1 2nd jab, the nurse didnt record for hep B 3rd dose.
dun know if she forgot or its not included in the 6-in-1 .. i v confused..

think maybe later i ll call to double check

emily,
it will be good if MOH does make it compulsory. Its really terrifying when I read the stories. Usual coughs and flu, which runs over a certain period could turn out to be pneumo! one father told how his son, 28 days later after suffering from a cold died due to pnuemo. He was only 2 months old. THis happened in Singapore.

ecookie,
maybe different PD, diff practise?? haha.. i dunno lah.. which PD were you with when wormy was discharged? which clinic?

ecookie,

6-in-1 is know as 6-in-1 cos Hep B jab is included...if not it would be the normal 5-in-1 and hep B jab would be taken separately

wiselyn , thanks for info! jsut did a quick check on line n saw that its included !

info: DTPa-IPV-Hib- Hepatitis B (DTPa-IPV-Hib-HBV or ‘6-in-1’)

ecookie,

if my memory did not fail me, normal child dun need the hep B booster...hep B booster is only for child with hep B carrier mum....so that should be why no more hepB jab for your child..

justme: the story is terrible.. think all babies should take the pnuemo jabs if possible. better safe than sorry.

i was with the thomson woman clinic at tiong bahru when i was preggy, so after delivery i ve no preference, n my gynae just "assigned" me to the PD next to him (which is at tiong bahru central plaza there 1st level)

ecookie,
I checked TMC health booklet and it reflected hep b has 3 doses. the booster comes after this, which is not necessary if the mum isn't hep b carrier.

Justme,

maybe i remember wrongly...by 5th mth, Clara finished all her jabs...she only need to take more jabs until she is 1