(2007/09) September 2007 MTBs

hi de cruz, i think kids have natural instinct and reflex, if the maid treat them not well or they don't like the maid, they will response positive or negative one. So far i think my maid is not bad, of cos' being human and away in a foreign land, they want to keep in touch with family members or friends. For me, i rather my maid keep in touch with family members than friends(some can be bad influence). I think those with kids can handle babies/kids better than those w/o. I always will ask my maid how did her son last time react or respond to certain things as compared to Samuel, in a way we're showing interest in their families and there's a communication line open. They will feel at ease with employer and confide deeper than everything keep to themselves.

bena,
sarah likes the magic cup!.... and she recognises it. Everytime I approached her with the yellow cup she'll squeal out in delight and reaches out for it. Although, I know she's still have yet to learn to drink properly from the cup, at least, she doesn't refuse it. Maybe, its becos, she can grind her gums on the soft spout. =P By the way, I just put in cool warmed water in it, not EBM.

Fau,
I pity your situation lah. Alamak, if I were you, I won't talk to my MIL for a looong time. Regarding feeding our darlings, my mum, (quite old , so generation gap quite big) also thinks I am torturing sarah. You know how our babies, looks at our food and showing interest in them? Well, I always have Sarah near me, so when I eat, she always try to grab the food from my hand or the plate. My mum said, I am terrible not to feed her those food; said they are not hard or spicy, can what>?? I just ignored and let her say whatever she wants. haha.. she thinks I am a bad mummy. ho ho. My sister also tried to feed her mash potato at Swensens previously. I mean no way!. GOd knows how much MSG and seasoning there is in these food. Again, I am labelled as a mummy who only cares about her tummy but not her baby's. I blatantly told them, my baby, only allowed BM for 1st 6 months.
THank goodness, my PIL only asks whether she's already taking solids. Well, to keep it short, I just lied and said yes.

tiny voice,
interesting point you brought up here. Kids will naturally show their likes/dislikes to the maids. Hmm.. what if your babies/toddlers cries very badly when you leave them to go to work? will you think they are just scared to be separated from you or they are trying to say their not properly taken care of by the maid?
Every morning, I will hear this boy across the flat, crying for the parents when they leave for work. Wonder when he's gonna stop crying.

MIL,
actually, me quite lucky. Today, my MIL came by to give me a Mixer (those used to make cakes). She took the day off from work, to get me one at Taka. I told her I wanted to get one some time back and try baking when I have the time. She even bought a baking book for me. So touching! Ho ho. But when it comes to sharing views in taking care of baby, it can be quite a challenge...

Very long never log in le... so busy

to all mummies who are not feeling well... pls take care... be a strong mummy =p.. my understanding is if the medicine is BF safe, you can still breast feed. unless you have mastitis then dun latch/pump on the infected side. I threw away all the milk that time as advice by my GP.

Bena, Yes he is our precious... but also our terror in the family.. =p first great grand son and only GReat grand son and my hubby is only son... so stressful lor...

Amy, maybe their face all yuan yuan la =p you stay PG right, find one weekend can meet up la.. =p

Re: MAid
I feel that BoyFren is abit too much unless she gt self discipline which is rarely the case. you think la, we last time quarrel with hubby, also mood not good.. if she quarrel with Boy fren then vent anger on our babies how? bring the guy home also one thing.. those guys just want have free sex thats all if they make the maid preggy then i think he sure run away lor...
For my maid, she is only allow to use phone after work. so far if she use her top up card very fast, we will tell her she is using abit too much .. must control lor..
Maid is see luck one lor.. my current maid
already our 3rd one le...

Anyone need Mothercare mem card no i think 15%discount, i happen to get the num from one of the mummies, those who need pls PM me =p

Angel thanks for ur prayer i definately need it. Baby's has offically spread his flu virus to every one in my family including his papa and me.. My flu's getting from bad to worst seen a GP but all he advised was ask me to get plenty of rest and drink lots of water he's worried that the medication he prescribed might cause baby to be sleepy and didnt not even prescribe me any flu tablets only gave me a pack of panadol *what the hack right.. =(* If things doesnt improved im going back to my gynae.. not sure if im able to go back to him for consultation when im not preggie but i hope he won't mind. Thanks all mummies for your concerns.

Maid:

Umm.. angel for me i think if its me its definitely a nono. However it all depends on your comfort lvl. If i'm at work and got to worry over such issues will definitely add on to my stress lvl which i feel its kinda unnecessary. I will tend to worry what is she doing and is she taking proper care of my baby? All these factors somehow or rather makes me feel uncomfortable and i won't be able to work in peace. Its already Stress enough at work and i still got to worry about things at home. If its me i will change a new maid and retrain to put my mind at ease. =( If things permit its always best to be able to take care of baby yourself to see part and parcel of her growth >_< *after all she's only a baby once*

Justme:

Both of us should shake hands and be best friends lol My nose is killing me =( Feel like its going to drop off any min and its as red as Rudolph. I've alrdy used up my 5th box of tissue... *im killing alot of trees!* lol

Magic cup:

Bena my boy is like justme's daughter sarah. He reaches out for it and doesnt reject it. He's still learning how to drink properly from it. However, magic cup has a problem! im not sure if its me or what. I feel that the water is not flowing out if i dont fill it to the brim >_< On the other hand if its to the brim when baby sucks the water will start leaking. Could the problem be the transparent plastic under the sprout? Do u experience this justme?

For Sick Babies,

I bought a wedge. It helps my boy to breathe better when sleeping in his baby cot. Mummies might wanna get one to slightly to lift up their beds.

Vicks:

Rubbing vicks on their soles and wearing socks will help.

re maids
angel, i do not agree to maids having bf. just too risky. and she has openly admitted to u she is using contraceptives on sundays. *faint* i know it is not easy to look for a maid who can handle bb well. (my maid do housework aso can die. *double faint*) but i think the cons are more here. the possible passing of germs and virus is already 1 big factor. aso agree with phoebe what happens if maid quarrel with bf and mood is bad....vent out on bb? or give black face in the house? do we need to go and talk to her about bgr problems?

sick mummies:
do take care all of u. rest well. drink more water. i drink about 2 litres of water everyday. think that is why i escaped. barely.

i am still trying to adjust to living with my IL. so far not bad la. i really think what my hb said is true. when we move in with my IL, i am not the one who suffers the worse. my maid gets it far worse than me. sighs. poor girl. my MIL expects everything to be done according to her standards. but the poor maid sometimes dun understand or forget but never tell my MIL. peng la. every evening come back sure got grumbling from MIL about maid. lol. now she is going market with maid aso grumbling to my FIL non stop.

hi morning mummies,
just to check out, is any of your babies still drooling?
My boy started drooling since 3rd mth, now even worse, must wear on bib anytime..is this normal, he likes to put hands into mouth...but not teething ler

vone: what brand is this magic cup you guys talking abt? is it avent?

ben mum: yah living with ILs is scary! i dread to think if im staying with mine.. sure got alot of probs..

Magic Cup:
hmmm wondering wat cup is this as well...

hi hi mommies!! long time never log in liao.. me also not feelin well... sinusitis.. the nose is like goin to explode...

dunno why these few days my gal very clingy.. cannot leave her for alone for a while... y'day i have to sling her jus to hang out my clothes!! hiaz.. faith has started on her solid liao.. so fun to see her expressions.. hahaha.. the first time tastin it, she gave the wan to vomit look.. but today i gave her again and she simply love it and was grinin when i feed her...

to all mommies who are sick.. get well soon..

re: cereals
hi mummies, need advice...i just bought the heinz rice cereal for babies 4mths &amp; above, but i am wondering how to mix the cereal with EBM? cos the EBM is cold so we need to warm up EBM 1st then add into the cereal is it? wats the proportion of EBM to cereal?

faith's teacher at infantcare feedback to me that recently faith will start crying non-stop 30mins - 45mins before her feed and will only stop when given her milk. so the teacher suggest it might be bcos she wants to start on cereal already, but i am hoping to only start giving her cereal when shes 6mths. she is only going to be 5mths this sunday leh. any advice?

mummyfaith: my PD told me that its okie to start when baby is 6th mths old.. so when faith turns 5 mths will be into her 6th mth right?

think should be okie.. since if u intro too late, she may not take to solids that fast and may not be feeding enough when she turns 6-7 mths old...

solids introduction is hard work i feel , need to intro food one by one slowly to see if there s any allergy to any particular food.
think babies will be ard 8-9 mths before a solids feeding routine is established

vone, take care! Maybe you might like to change a new doc? My gp downstairs gave me flu meds okay for bfing b4. Maybe you might wanna try.

mummyfaith,

could it be tat faith is jus simply hungry and wans her milk earlier? cos their timin always change.. jus try giving her when she cries and increase her amt to last her longer..

vone,
yes my GP also gave me flu, antibiotics &amp; cough syrup for my tonsilitis and they are all safe for bfing. why your GP only give panadol one? where do u stay? my GP is in hougang.

pinkyj,
i'm still monitoring the situation, i had recently up her amt to 160ml and i'm having probs meeting her demand now. if this continues will try to increase to 180ml but will be very siong for me to pump so much more.

we finally brought faith swimming for the 1st time! the neck float almost cannot fit already so must be more diligent in bringing her to swim every weekend

mummy, i'm scared...
1258625.jpg

hey this is fun!
1258626.jpg

ok mummy, i'm tired pls get me out!
1258627.jpg

Thanks for your thoughts on the maid issue and listening to my problem. I have the same concerns and worries...think abt it every night until I can't sleep lor. Actually I hired her because she came highly recommended by her ex-employer. I had met her ex-employer and interviewed the maid before I took her in. She took care of a baby girl for her ex-employer for 2 years. The ex-emp quit her job so didn't need a maid anymore so put her up for transfer. Sometimes she still goes back to visit them. Once I went with her, the little girl was so happy to see her and can see she's very loving towards her. Actually she likes children alot...when she meets my friend's children she will play with them and they love to play with her. Although I don't think that she would harm Jade...but at the same time I'm not taking any chances and won't leave Jade alone with her. Also now that I know she has a bf, I don't intend to leave her alone in the house too :/

My maid actually quite pitiful...her family practically disown her. So I think her friends support here is impt. I'm sure all maids have sob stories. She got pregnant at 22 yrs old before she got married, catholic so against abortion. Her father disowned her. Got married to her then bf. They had another baby 2 years later and while she was pregnant she found out her hubby cheated on her. Hubby soon moved out of the house to stay with his mistress and stopped giving her money. She decided to come to spore to work after she gave birth so that she can support her 2 children. Begged her mother to take care of her children for her. Her daughter who was 2 years old and her son was barely 2 months old when she left Philippines 7 years back. She used to call her daughter frequently initially but stopped after a few years, coz her daughter didn't want to talk to her. She said her daughter hates her. The son also refuse to talk to her and doesn't even know that she's his mother. So sad right? I heard that and I also started tearing for her.
She told me before I hired her during her interview that she likes taking care of babies coz it reminds her of her own children whom she misses so much.

Actually despite her family problems at home, she is still a very cheerful person. She has never thrown her tamtrums or black face to me so far. Sometimes when she's moody I can tell coz she doesn't talk to me or Jade much...then I ask her quarrel with boyfriend ah..she will smile at me. She's very responsible so far and anticipates my every need. That's why I wonder maybe I should overlook her bf problem. My whole family and in-law's all met her and think very highly of her...thats why they are so insistent that I shouldn't change maids but just keep an eye on her all the time. SO....haiz...I also give up fighting against them and decided not to change maids for now. Anyway I'm going back to work soon. No time to train new maid. Praying to God that he will protect us and nothing will happen

Re: Vicks

agree with vone, i also rubbed vicks to my gals sole and wear socks at her bedtime.... less cough, and can sleep better. also rubbed some vicks to her chest and back.
Fau, you can try on your gal if shes still not well.

Re: cereals

mummyfaith, i think the temperature of the milk doesnt matter. its the consistency of the cereal that is more important. i tried BM mixed with cereals, its more watery then if you mixed it with FM. ive also just started to feed my gal cereals since yesterday, shes taking well, and shes 5.5 mths now.

Mummyfaith,
Hehe faith looks so cute swimming! Seems like she's enjoying herself..for awhile at least.
Jade also loves to swim now...sometimes the water so cold also she doesn't mind.

Btw, any mummy want to buy the neck float let me know...I'm going to Shanghai next week. The float only costs 100RMB which is abt $20. Can do hydrotherapy for them in any swimming pool instead of paying $25 for 15 mins at punggol plaza!

Hi Angel,
Can you help me to get one? Thanks.

Hi mummyfaith,
So young can swim already? I am still a bit scared to bring Edison to the pool..

Re Vicks,
My MIL also puts vicks vaporub on my nephews and nieces when they have cough - she rubs them on their feet and puts socks on. She says they will not cough so much at night and sleep better.

Re cereals,
Best to mix cereals with EBM or formula milk so that it tastes familiar to them. I usually give Jade cereals after her milk feed, so will use leftover milk to mix with the cereal or just warm up some extra. Sometimes will add some apple or pear puree too for taste and it helps them not be constipated. Try to mix until the cereal till the consistency is flowy so that its easier for them to swallow. They can't swallow properly if its too thick and will start to gag and try to vomit out.

Hi Angel,
If can, pls get me a blue one. Thanks. Can you PM me your acct # so that I can pay you first?

If I were you, I will choose to keep the maid. Maybe we r the more lenient type.. As long as work performance is not impacted, I don't mind if she has a bf..

Yeah, I agree that your maid is quite pitiful.. She is working so hard to support her kids, but they dont want to talk to her.. If I don't see my Edison for one day, I will surely miss him terribly.. But she has been separated with them for 7 years!!!!!

mummyfaith, ur gal sure reacts well to the water, my kai xin guo didn't smile at all in the pool when i brought him there, so scared...haaahaa!

angel,

from what u hv describe, i think your maid is ok. nv throw tantrums though she's moody. mine super attitude day by day... esp after we renewed her contract. blatantly talk back somemore.

pls help me get a neck float. i'm easy on colors.. pink, orange, yellow, green.. etc.. so long nice. thanks in advance.

mummyfaith,

faith baby swim like a pro leh.. hehe... steady wor

Hi darmae,
I think maids will start to have attitude problem after their contract is renewed.. My neighbours who have had 7 maids previously told me that she never keep a maid for more than 2 years.. Once contract is expired, she will change to a new maid... She have plenty of experience in hiring maids...

Angel, so sad.
I guess there's a sad story behind every maid. Most Indonesian maids I heard of were let down by their bf/ husbands. It seems that their culture is such that the men are always loafing and not working waiting for wife to bring back the bacon.

Hi Bena,
Yeah, I pity them also... Have to work day and night to support the family.. Some of them get very nasty employers, worst of all, abusive employers... They have to risk their lives to come to Sgp to work...

I read about the news of the maid who was not paid for 6 years, I was so angry! How can they do that to the maid...

emily,
i think its pretty safe for edison to try swimming now that he is 5mths old and have had his jabs. we went really early in the morning when there isn't any other children at the pool yet so the water should be relatively clean. i'm sure edison will love it!

tiny voice,
maybe sam sam is not used to the cold water? faith didn't smile when she was in the water initially but once she adjust to the temp, she could float quite far by herself. bring him a few more times and he'll love it once he figures it out. maybe the type of float also makes a diff? bcos faith used the neck type, her whole body was submerged in water and she could actually move around easier too.

angel,
so i must still warm the ebm before mixing with cereal right? looks like have to trial and error to get the right consistency.

angel, my brother went to shanghai during xmas but cant get the float. he went to several dept stores and stores for kids, but they do not have as they say its the winter season so they dont sell the float.... dont know if true or not. Anyway i bought the float from BP and its from taiwan. have not got the chance to try on my gal yet. if im not wrong the float comes in different sizes.
by the way, shanghai is very cold now so bring enough warm clothing... my hubby also going over next monday... :)

faith looks so cute!!

here's a vid i received through a forwarded email about babies swimming.. http://youtube.com/watch?v=4YbIFK5QTX4

benmum: your MIL sounds like mine.. never satisfied with what the maid does. and the maid also sometimes forget to do something and didnt inform my MIL, which will make her even pekchek.

mummyhan, i think so leh. does it mean if theyre not clothed they might drown? there's one part of the vid where the baby is still, i thought jialat. next thing i know the man was swooping the baby, right? don't dare try though