(2007/09) September 2007 MTBs

Ok, so Jordan is not alone ... his growth also slowed down alot.

Voice,
Poor Sam Sam...hope he gets better.

Hi atinarin,
Don't worry the smell will go away after a while. Re cleaning, I quite kiasi one. I read somewhere for babies less than 6 months their immune system not so strong yet so we should sterilize or clean everything that comes into contact with their mouth. The first time I got it, I added abit of baby liquid detergent for washing bottles to the water and wiped the mat (it smelled so bad of chemicals I wanted to be sure it was clean). Then use plain water to wipe again to ensure no detergent left on it. Hmmmm after that lazy liao...I will just wipe with plain water abt twice a week.

Funny, Phoebe,
Thx for posting the pics of your babies
Really makes my day!

Bena,
Thx for the recipe...will try next week. What is bai he?? Some herb issit? NTUC sell anot?

Funny,
Some of my friends nannies paid $550, $600 and $650.

Phoebe,
I also using drypers in the day and pampers at night. Both also sometimes leak from behind when Jade does her explosive poo poos once in 3 days! Hahhaa! But now that I've started on solids her poo poo is dry, so doesn't leak anymore.

I'm gonna try the NTUC brand too after my drypers runs out since alot of mummies here recommended. Will be buying L size. I can give you some to try for Ryan when I meet you to collect the Amore pass
Thinking of going this coming Mon or Tues. You working in Bugis?

Re Bumper Mat

I just cleaned with water earlier...put baby on it and she liked the colours...

Re Diapers
I think Huggies Dry is great and so is the NTUC one. Pet Pet is so so...

RE: diapers
Huggies Dry or Ultra is great. Able to withstand Sarah's watery pooh. I tried NTUC but it leaks by the sides when she poohs. Me and hubby had our fair share of bad pooh encounters. Stained our jeans/pants. Messy affair.

funny: Your darling girl has this innocent girly look. LIke you said, anyone can melt when looking at her...hehe..

phoebe: ryan has this very cheeky look on his face in his 2nd pic. So adorable!

phoebe: so envious of ryan able to sit in him bumbo with his neck so steady.. my wormy head just goes bobbling when he's inside heh..
need to hold his head.. cant wait for the day where he can sit in his bumbo with steady head hee

ecookie: your wormy still small ma... not 4 mths yet right? i only let ryann seat in bumbo when he abt 4mth+ cming 5 mths or at least when their neck is strong...

Justme, atinarin: some mummies commented that huggies cutting abit small, is it true?? what size r ur darlings wearing now?

phoebe: yes the cutting is small tahts why my girl so small but wearing M size already.

ecookie: just put wormy in and he will practice and within a few days his neck will be stable.
Now my girl sits on it when im having breakfast so she can accompany the adults haha

today went to my cousin's baby shower.. she is so cute and tiny as compared to Ryann when he was born.. i dun even dare to carry her.. but so cute... time really flies.. our babies already 5 mths le... soon we will be celebrating 1 yr bday for our darlings then soon some mummies here will be having number 2 .... cannot imagine =p

Till now, Ryann still scare of unfamiliar faces and place.. any mummies have same prob as me?? how to cure huh?? troubled leh...

I so heartpain today, my father in law invited my family to their hse for buffet in celebration for CNY, my mum, sis, bro in law along with my nephew came along, and my dearest nephew fell and i think his teeth cut his lips and was bleeding so much... i so scare and guilty. feel so heart pain and sorry... i hope he is fine.. if not i really very very guilty lor...

Phoebe: my girl cried when she saw FIL after a few weeks...unfamiliar in a way i guess...stranger anxiety is pretty normal right with such young kids...better that than over friendly with strangers haha

My Jordan is completely not interested in milk these days. Even when we stretched his hours from 3 to 4 hours now, he hardly finishes his 150ml milk.

Yesterday, he had about 150ml at 4pm and at around 8pm when we were at my hubby's colleague's place, he drank merely 30ml and refused to drink anymore ... wasted 120ml of my EBM!!! Then when we got back around 10 plus, I latched him for a while and he slept. Then before I went to bed around 12.30 am, I wanted to give him another 80ml but he drank only 50ml ... all the way till just now 8.30 am when I woke up, I realised ... aiyoh, my Jordan boy boy still hasn't woken up for milk yet ... not hungry one meh?

So I quickly went to pump and gave him 150ml, of which he only took 80ml. Alamak! More than 8 hours w/o milk and he took only 80ml!!!

Anyone going through this phase?

Btw hor, it's not as if he's got a small stomach and he can't contain big amount of milk. He used to be already drinking 170ml milk when he was just 2 months old! He started taking less after 3 months (and always fussing .. have to dream feed him one)... don't know why.

And hor, he's definitely more interested in sucking his fist ... the moment he doesn't want milk anymore, he will push the bottle away with his hands and immediately after doing so, his whole fist goes into his mouth!

we went to kkh emergency clinic last night coz dahlia wouldnt stop coughing. day started off nicely, we went to T3 for brunch, then brought her to changi beach. bad idea, there were fighter jets doing rehearsals for the airshow, she screamed bloody murder when one of them flew really low and gave her the fright of her life.. she looked so scared and in shock, i cried! we went home, she went to sleep for less than an hour while hubby went off to the Evo launch. when she woke up she couldnt stop coughing and we can hear the phlegm just at the back of her throat, but it just wouldnt come out. coughed until her eyes were red, heartpain.. so called hubby and he rushed home to fetch us to KK. poor hubby didnt manage to enjoy his car show :S

got to kk, checked with doctor, instructed to go for xray in case if lung infection and in the xray room i had to pin her down for the xray to be taken. she cried out loud again coz she hates to be resisted like that. and while she was crying out loud, she vomitted all over me, phlegm and milk mixture! boy have i never been so glad to be vomitted at! coz that's what we've always needed.. for her to vomit the phlegm out. immediately her coughing stopped, and i have a new artistic pattern on my black top :S

sorry ah very long winded, wanted to tell of my 'adventure' last night. anyways, she wasnt given any cough mixture, just another brand of nasal drops. this morning she's not coughing at all, just runny runny nose

fau: glAD to head that dahlia is better now..
yah when we see them freeze up in shock and cry very until v pitiful, very heartpain hor..

fau:
can imagine you pinning baby D down. our babies are getting stronger everyday, i have to pin myra head down to clean her ears and she can be pretty stubborn.

its good baby D vomit all those phlegm out. sometimes its a joy to get 'stuff' on our clothes and out of their little system.

atinarin,

Becoz yesterday I saw 1 Sept mum at punggol...can't remember her nick...so tot ur nick is her loh...paisei....too many sept mums liao..can't really remember...

Thks, Angel! U r welcome...

Thks, Justme! Hahaha...u shld c her when she turn devil!

Phoebe, my gal oso the same...guess most bb is like bah...dun even wan my mum n mil...

Fau, glad to hear tat Dahlia is alrite nw...

Fau, Glad that your precious is feeling better now...

Blueskye: maybe Jordan is teething? or
Hong Sim... When teething most babies will take in lesser milk cos the gum feels uncomfortable... dun worry it is just a phrase.. Ytd Ryann's last feed at 11.25 he only had his first feed this morning at 9.45am. more then 10 hours...

Me just went to visit my nephew. Gosh i super heartache to see him like tat.. blue black and swollen... 2 of his teeth bend in, my nephew's gu gu who is a dentist said that they is nothing much to do just that he might lose that baby teeth earlier and may effect his adult tooth... I am feeling so guilty... if only i can do something to ease his pain and turn back time...

funny:
where you see that Sept mummy =p I know quite a few stay PG, cookiemonster, myself , i think amy also stay punggol...

Ytd so funny.. Ryann just woke up and one of my distant relative started playing with him... at first he start smiling at her so she attempt to carry him... Just few seconds after she carried him, Ryann started staring at her and then realize that he smile to the wrong person... cos he dun know her... then start to bian zhui and cry!! so funny.. his facial expression is so cute...

gee... sarah's been sleeping from 2 pm... and now its 5 pm... dunno if its good to let her sleep her sunday away...latched her on when she stirred just now, so not worried if she's hungry.

fau,
is dahlia ok now? poor girl.

phoebe,
huggies diapers do look small but it covers really well!... think its the high cut fitting so babies won't feel the cut/friction on their chubby thighs. I really like HUGGIES. Thumbs up for HUGGIES!!
re: active babies,
think soon i will have to look out for pull-up pants or drypants. Sarah's can't keep still when I tried to put on diapers on her. Dreading the idea when she starts to flip and crawl away...

phoebe: yah i think baby "bian zhui" is v v v funny. everytime my boy does it, i ll lol.. haha so mean of me heh.
tried to capture on camera but he too fast. the bian zhui escalate to crying v fast . hee

blue,
Jade today abit like your Jordan...morning drank 120ml instead of the usual 210ml, then after 4 hours don't show any sign of hunger so I waited till 5 hours up...even then she only drink 30ml and refused to drink anymore even though I kept trying. Then lunch time fed her pumpkin..she gobbled it down quickly, so thought she was hungry and made more milk for her but she didn't want to drink any. Then 2.30pm drink only 90ml. 6pm drink another 50ml only...but gobbled down her solids. I'm hoping she drinks alot at 10pm and doesn't wake up in the middle of the night from hunger.

Need advise

As i mentioned b4, my milk supply is pathetic, only 20ml.

I pump once inthe morning and once at night only but on weekends i tend to pump later...On Sat, i was so busy after bringing baby to KK that i pumped too late at 5pm plus.

Now, im having pains in both nipples...sharp stabbing pains... im not engorged and im still getting a paltry 20ml, slightly less actually.

Anyone has experienced this?

Sorry for the long story but its been so painful today.

Angel, wow, Jade drinks 210ml + solids??? That's alot man! For Jade, it should be ok if she temp drinks less right? I mean ... at least she's taking solids.

hello everyone!
been very busy this weekend for cny. just made the BIG decision to move over to PIL's place cos of the maid. cos of an earlier report which repotred a maid working at 3 different places and the employers kena fined. i had to call up MOM on friday (procrastinated for sooooolong!) and they insisted that maid cannot work in 2 residences. my hb, being the kiasi one, immediately decided to move over and change the working address of my maid to my PIl's. sighs. crazy weekend. moved almost half the things over! lol. now house is weekend chalet le. cannot rent it out cos hb has too many things there. maid wont be going over to clean at all, so have to look for part time help. sighs.

quite fearful of the 'would-be conflicts' between MIl and me. Pray hard nothing much / great / big happens. argh!

re diapers:
ben wearing petpet in the day (9.20am to about 2pm then change him and wear from 2pm to 7.40pm)and pampers at night (7.50pm to 9.20am). never experienced any leaking b4. his poo ok cos he is on formula. make him poo once a day.

fau, i agree. never were we so glad to be dirty when all we want is phlegm out. lol. the craziness of parents!

Hi Ben Mum,
Ooohh, I can imagine the headache of house-moving! Very scary, lotsa things to pack and move.. I hope you can live well with your PIL, cos I doubt I can... hee hee
All the best to you..

For your case, IF your maid's main responsibility is to take care of your baby & IF you r sending your maid + baby to your PIL's house during office hour, this should not be a problem (if it is understood by your maid).. Your PIL is acting as a guardian to your baby.. Of cos, you cant ask your maid to clean your PIL's house cos this will be considered as working under 2 residences...

Hi Ben Mum,

I am not the only one liao!! My Redhill House is my weekend chalet! See if Angel will join us??

Re: Formula
Think i will breastfeed as long as possible, maybe at least until Sept? Milk Formula is so expensive!! $30++per bottle?

Re: Sleep
Ever since i started working, i am having so little sleep! Feels like a zombie!! Plus so scared of dropping my gal.

Re: Weight
My gal is only at the 25th percentile. She weighs only 6.4kg at 5mth. She drinks only 750ml + 2 meals of cereals/puree.

Angel, yes i will be working today but tml not sure cos my hubby's granny in hospital again... every month once.. old age le... haiz...you give me a call ya.. you have my number? it should be in the gathering list which Emily send us.

Re : Maid
actually if your main purpose is for the maid to take care of the baby then can just deposit the maid at mum's place but she dun do house work there lor..
I heard some employer actually pay the maid extra for doing at 2 place but with a agreement signed but i think still illegal la.
Staying with In law have pros and cons la... i still prefer staying w/o them. Getting along and staying together is different issue.

gd morning all mummies.

tks bena for ur recipe. i hv encounter dropping of breast milk these few wks, dunoe izit becos not enough sleep due to bb sick, then now me coughing......& i hv tried the green papaya with fish bone during wk end & my hubby complains that my milk fishy....think shld change to pork ribs instead....will try this wk end & see how.

btw, how much water to use to brew, bena? 1 bowl enough? cos me will be using the heating pot, i.e. to use high power to boil the soup for like 15 mins, then put in thermal pot and keep inside for at least 5 hrs then drink it at nite.

Wah Poohwei, ur girl drinks 750ml a day and 2 meals of creals/puree and yet only weighs 6.4kg eh. Then she probably is those 'jiak buay pui' type lah, my boy seldom hit 750ml leh, these days hover around 650-700ml, 1 feed cereal only but sometimes don't finish also. My boy weighs 7.9kg already.

Atinarin, I have no sharp nipple pain but mild throbbing pain.
These days my baby loves to use her gum to grip my nipples tight. She will bite harder and harder and harder and then slowly pull her head backwards. OUCH! She will do it several times (5-6 times) on some feeds until my nipples have mild throbbing pain now.

Also, every time has to examine for sign of bleeding.

Now I must pay full attention to her when feeding. When she shows "signs" of tightening her grip, I just stop her from sucking.

Anyone kid like this too?

hi goldfishy, my gal also like tat a few wks ago, my mum sd is becos her gum is "itchy" (i.e. teething soon) want something to bite, but when i give her those teething rubber thingy, she only knows how to lick...

voice, poohwei,
aiyoh....then ben very cham leh. he drinks 780ml everyday. never eat cereal. already 7.8kg at 4 momths. he 75th percentile de. height aso 75th percentile. so PD said its fine. phew!

poohwei, yah...have to join u liao. who ask my hb so kiasi? sighs

emily, no choice ba. cos i never wanted the maid to look after my bb. so she must 'free up' my MIL (do her housework) so she can look after my bb mah. somemore my mil cooks for us to makan. i guess, weekend have to ask part time help and makan all outside lo. haven really gone into the details yet.

phew! still hv time to wish all mummies & babies happy cny (still within 15 days), haha, no choice lah, mummy very lazy now then hv time to re-size my pic (taken on 3rd day cny).
1252765.jpg

good morning all!

finally recovered from my fever after 3days! its all the KK doc's fault! she misdiagnosed me when i went to KK 24hr clinic and said it was normal fever only. the thing is i told her i had suffered from blocked ducts a few days ago b4 the fever so worried it might be infection so she took a look at my breasts and touched abit then concluded my breasts are ok. then i told her i have very bad sore throat but she didn't even bother to look at my throat! just gave me paracetamol, antibiotics, cough syrup n lozenges. i had to endure the fever for 3 days before my hubby brought me to my usual family GP. he said i was actually suffering from tonsilitis, hope i spelled correctly, and he gave me a jab to help bring down the fever and changed my medication completely...immediately i felt so much better. so angry that i had to pay more and waited longer to see the doc at KK but ended up being misdiagnosed!

faith's sleeping pattern is forever changing! on friday she slept from 8.30pm - 4am, 4am - 7am then sat she slept from 9.30pm - 6am, i was so happy and thought she has finally gone back to sleeping thru at night after weeks of waking up mulitple times! then on sunday, she took a long nap from 4.30pm - 7.30pm, she usually take naps of 30min to 1hr max...so i think this broke her sleep pattern again as she woke up at 2am, 4am and 7am this morning! hubby and i concluded that she got all her sleep from those 2 nights and it will be enough to last her many nights w/o sleep! shes like a super efficient battery that only need to recharge once in a long long time! wonder when will i ever be able to have a good night sleep? i have been sleep deprived for almost 5mths now!

bena,
yummy! i want to drink the papaya soup, pls count me in!

funny,
hahaha...the way u described your gal is exactly the same as mine! faith also cannot stay still for 1 sec! me also suffering internal injury from her kicking my boobs everytime i change her. don't dare to think of wat she is capable of once she starts crawling!

Hi Bubumama,
Haha my girl also doesn't bite...she licks. Got the vibrating teether for her that Vone recommended, she only licks it and can't activate the vibration.

Hi BenMum,
I'm in the same situation as you...have decided to send my baby and maid over to my SIL's place as she is a SAHM, I prefer my SIL to handle the baby as much as she can so that my girl doesn't grow too attached to my maid. But I can't possibly let my maid idle ard the whole day doing nothing mah. I remember attending the FDW course and read that although the maid cannot work in 2 households, but they mention examples of what is acceptable. One of them is if we bring the maid to the baby's caregiver's house, she can do some light housework there. The agency confirmed this is legal and I told my maid of the arrangement before I hired her and she said ok. I ask my maid to help my SIL with light housework while she's there like cleaning the floor and mopping since my girl will spend most of the day there, she has to keep the house clean. At the same time, I told her to reduce the housework done at my place since we only come back home to sleep. E.g. now she cleans the floor everyday but when I go back to work, she just has to do it on Saturdays. Anyway no time to do housework during weekdays too coz we leave the house early in the morning and come back at night liao.

Hi Angel,
Glad that you have made all the arrangement before you start work.. I guess you will be able to work with a peace in mind now..

The only trouble is the long travelling distance, right?

Bubu Mama,
Wow, your girl is so cute and chubby.. regarding the soup, it depends on how thick you want the soup to be. But my estimate of the amount of water is at least double the ingredients so that after brewing there'll be less water and the soup will thicken. Enjoy drinking

Goldfishy,
My son also yanks my nipple alot. I shout in pain each time he does that and he kind of stopped doing that during the same feed. He doesn't like to hear me shout I think. But he'll repeat again the next feed and I have to shout to remind him.

Atinarin, nipple pain could be related to thrush.. better call the Lactation Consultant.

Ben Mum, I think you can offer to pay $10 - $20 more and have the maid agree to work 2 places. It can be stated in the contract that the maid agrees to work 2 places. I think some agencies help to add the extra clause of working in 2 places in the contract.

Blue,
Ya Jade used to drink abt 140ml then suddenly growth spurt at 4 months+ and started to take 210ml when she wakes up in the morning! But that was history. These few days she's only drinking abt 120ml or sometimes less. Must be going through low growth cycle. Although I'm introducing solids now, read that babies at 5 months should continue getting a minimum of 600ml a day as all the nutrients that they need is from milk.

Mummyfaith,
Sounds like Faith is lacking routine. Is she napping and feeding at roughly the same time everyday? Babies at 5 months are capable of sleeping through...some just need assistance. Recommend reading the Gina Ford or Baby Whisperer books if you want to sleep thru the night!
It will take a few weeks to get Faith to sleep thru the night, but don't dispair...it will happen!

hi ladies, can i ask what do you file your bb's nails with ? coz if i use the normal ones, my bb nails tend to "crack" . if i use the small nail buffer type, its not good enough..

Hi Jovigal,
I saw the Desitin cream in Unity pharmacy before. But they only sell the Desitin Original. The Creamy version you have to buy from the Overseas Sprees. I prefer the Desitin Creamy version coz its easier to apply and spread. I got my hubby to buy me a few tubes when he went to the US. Its so cheap there in US only US$5.99. The spree organizers here selling for $15.

Em,
Ya lor I have to travel abt 70km everyday...petrol cost so high now. I am hoping my appeal to HDB will be approved so that I can rent out my house and stay near my SIL's house.

Bena,
I dun think its legal to have the maid work at 2 houses even though she's paid more...the MOM guide very strict abt this so as not to overwork the maid. But if the maid is happy with the arrangement then good lah. Just pray that she dun complain to MOM.

BubMama,
Your girl is so cute and chubby
Hehehe...feel like pinching her cheeks!

Hi pillow,
Actually no need to file their nails mah. I don't file them as I noticed they crack when I do it too. I just trim her nails with a baby nail clipper every 2-3 days.