(2007/09) September 2007 MTBs

ecookie,
guess wat... Ryann wear the exact same top like ur bb on cny. =p the red bus from mohercare

make me so want to start a blog for Ryann.. actually gt multipy but no time to update, maybe its time i load those videos and pix up =p

Phoebe:

How much did u put for the IUD?

Charsiew:

Same wor. My boy kept screaming non stop whenever he sees the milk bottle or cup. Hubby and me went out for a short valentine's day coupletime! To the movies and left my boy at my mum's place.. sad to say it wasnt too enjoyable! My whole mind n hubby's was thinking of baby all the time. *feeling kinda guilty* Coz when i called my mum to check up on him i can hear him screaming away on the line.. *heartache* After movie, we rushed back to my mum's place... was telling hubby i feel so guilty.. our happiness has became his misery! >_<

News:

Anyone saw the news on a 3 month's old baby!! who got was suffocated by his 4 year old sleeping sister? sooo poor thing =(

wah amy, ur nynke really ba ba, chubbier than Sam leh, though Sam weighs at 8kg now. This sat going for his next Hexa jab and last peunmoccal jab. Will weigh at the PD's again.

Btw, you can check if PD's weighing scale and urs are same, the last time blueskye realised the one at Jordan's PD was off the scale, inaccurate.

vone,
I see that i quite scare leh cos Ryann slp beside us and my hubby sleeps like a pig... Must train him to slp alone le.. maybe should buy a matress and let him slp on the floor hor...

Hey voice, yah lor, it was way off man! How could he be weighing 6.3 kg then when at home I weighed around 7.2 kg???

Anyway I just weighed Jordan yesterday ... now 8.5 kg. His height and weight growth seems to have slowed down liao. Your babies also?

happy valentine's day!

really hard to catch up with this thread! so many wonderful things going around!

look at bb photos, they look so gorgeous!

oh, wana ask mummies, do we calculate bb age by weeks or month? coz if by weeks, sure more than 5mths leh..abit confusing..anyway, can i know what a 5mth baby can do nw?

able to lift up their head high with tummy on mat? able to sit? can start to feed them with cereal on high chair? coz saw mummies start buying high chair aredi.

please guide me
thx

Yo, different babies have different developments ... so quite difficult to compare also ... some faster, some slower ... actually doesn't really matter as long as your baby is healthy and growing well lah. I think all these developments wise, babies will catch up sooner or later. No worries.

For mine, my boy is generally a little slower in his developments as compared with my gal. My gal could flip before she turned 3 mths but my boy only started to flip at 3 mths+. For sitting w/o support (for maybe 10-15 secs), both my kids could do it around 5 mths. My gal started on cereals at 4 mths but we decide to let our boy start only at 6 mths. My boy also can sit high chair and walker already ... since 4 mths.

Hi ecookie,
Re feeding, actually it is recommended that when baby gets older, they don't feed so often. The Baby Whisperer and Gina ford books I've been reading say that by 4 months of age, most babies would be physically capable to take more milk as their stomachs grow bigger so they can be fed 4-5 times per day. You can try to slowly extend the time in between feeds from 3 hours to 3 and a half till they reach 4 hours. Thing is eventually when they're older we want them to be eating 3 main meals at breakfast, lunch and dinner times. I suppose if we feed them little and often like how they were when they were newborns, it does little to teach them to eat proper meals.

Amy,
Nynke is so cute and chubby!! She doesn't look 6kg leh! Jade is 8.5kg now :/

Tiny,
Sam looks like a big boy liao! His swim outfit so stylo somemore. Hey where you buy the float from? It is so cool!!! I've been looking for a float like that. I'll be bringing Jade swimming every Sunday from now on...My PD told me to bring Jade swimming more often so that she can lose weight...LOL!

angel, hmm...bring jade swimming can lose weight? but she cant swim yet. how to lose weight? *scratch head*

fau, i dun understand the "joke" leh. am i too slow or what?

amy, nynke is very cute and chubby. =D

ecookie, my bb is drinking about 750ml everyday now. just upped his milk intake to 180ml for last "dream" feed at 10.30pm which totals up to 780 ml of milk each day. =D he drinks 150ml every 3.5 to 4 hours. first feed of the day starts at 6.15am (earliest 6am if he wakes up, else 6.30am for dream feed). not on solids yet. waiting for 5 months +. he is 4.5 months now.

hi gingerleaf..read my blog till blur blur ah..haha...anyway, meaning of my girls' names:

sieske (pronounced as ses-ke)- companion
nynke ( pronounced as neen-ke)- pure
both are dutch-frisian names. know the FM brand friso? it's from frisland , northern part of holland and their language, or should i say their dialect is frisian. we have dutch friends from there and when I was pregnant with sieske, they came to visit me and suggest this name. for nynke, we chose it ourselves from the name book they gave us. many frens complain abt the difficulty in pronouncing their names..even my sisters and mum having problem. but we love our dutch friends(they already in their 50s) vv much and will want our kids to remember this beautiful part of our lives.

tiny, u r right. I shd check the PD's scales..i still dun believe nynke only 6kg lor..haha..

darmae, I'm going to get the mat tonight! yippee..told hubby and he just said : ok..thot he'll ask more but no leh..then i told him abt the LG adn non LG stuff and he just said : just due different technology? then $110 is a better buy.

amy, i love your girls' names! very unique.. when i told friends i'll be naming my baby dahlia they were wondering where i got the name from also..

my blog address is http://shotbyred.org

benmum: alamak you not slow lah, dun worry hehe. hmm how to explain eh? err "throw" outside means err..err.. "release" outside instead of err.. err.. "releasing" inside? *-*

morning! wow this thread moves v fast hee..

phoebe: isit? same top!? heez.. find it very cute but must quickly wear few more times if not they outgrown clothes like nobody's business!!

and yah personally i feel sleeping together in same bed abit danegrous for baby. how abt getting a mattress and putting him to sleep besides ur hubby + u?

angel, benmum: my wormy is drinking 3 feeds of 130 ml + 3 feeds of 170ml ad 900ml per day.

thinking of giving him 5 feeds of 170ml instead which is still ard 850ml per day.. since he's approaching 4 mths now.. with 5 feeds can drag the intervals to 4 hrs apart &amp; 1st feed starting at 6am and last feed ending at 10pm

currently his 1st feed is ard 530am &amp; last feed ard 11pm...

hmm.. perhaps will try over weekend to see if its okie. i guess if he started wailing in the middle of night means not ready for 5 feeds yet..

mummies, any of ur babies drink 180-200ml at 1 feed now? how old are ur babies?

Vone,
Oh my goodness so sad the baby kenna suffocated by the sibling legs!
Haiz...i don't understand these parents...they should have a proper place for baby to sleep.

Hi ecookie,
If your baby can take 170ml at some feeds, that means stomach is big enough and can take that amt at all feeds. Jade also like that when she was 4 months +, she could take 210ml at 2 feeds. But the rest of the feeds she won't take alot. So I slowly pushed to 4 hours, so she's hungrier and can drink more, then the feeds from 6 feeds become 5 feeds too. Just be guided by what he takes lor. And if he starts waking up at night, yah he's not ready yet.

angel/fau, yah thanks for advice. will start with 170ml for 5 feeds n stretching to 4 hrs apart..

if he's not okie, will adjust back to 6 feeds then... wish me luck for the trial this weekend..
by the way, my baby is only 3 1/2 mths old so may not be successful.. :p

fau,
i thot dahlia is a name of a flower?? no ah??

angel,
no lah.. no need to put jade on an exercise regim. She's a happy chubby baby lah... later when it comes to growth spurt, she'll lose weight naturally.

vone,
re: the baby suffocating... i don't understand how the father can say "I am scared already"...Makes me wonder. I tot a loving parent would probably say,.. "I am too sad to comment".??? Never mind I shouldn't be judgemental here.

ecookie,
saw your bloggie. Your hubby hor, looks like a malay lei... Anyway, i am so envious of you, lose weight and look so slim when your wormy only about 3.5 months.

I am just wondering... any of you mummies thinking of having another baby soon?? if not soon, later? what is the age gap which you ladies think is appropriate??
How many children do you wish to have??

justme: haha u are not the 1st to say my hubby look like malay..some say he look like thai *gasp*..but he's 100% chinese lol.

im actually still 2 kg away from pre-pregnancy weight. the bulge ard my tummy just wont budge! i gained ard 18kg for the whole pregnancy lol...

re;another baby?
ha im hoping for a second one maybe end of ox year.. = early 2010..but think my hubby abit "traumatised" by wormy.. the late nights are making him think twice of having a second one so soon... will see how when wormy slightly older bah..

actually now also abit scared of getting preggy again hee...the morning sickness is very sianz..

ecookie,
I tot of enrolling sarah in childcare and return back to work before even thinking of the next one. But then later if I am expecting again, the whole cycle of quiting job and being a sahm will take place again. Might as well do everything concurrently.
Furthermore, if I wait too long, say 3-4 years... I may change my mind and settle for only one child, cos, the thought of going through the whole thing again after getting out of the puddle is pretty dreadful.
Here I am thinking of maybe trying again when sarah hits 1.5 - 2 years old. hmm.. but then again, wonder if more problem will arise... sibling rivalry, unhealthy development... blah blah..

yah i think can start trying when baby ard 1 1/2 years old, read somewhere its good for the mother's body to rest at least 18 mths before going through another pregnancy..

i guess sibling rivalry is unavoidable to some extent.; some of my colleagues told me that their elder childern will switch between doting on the younger one to outright jealousy "mummy, you cant carry didi!" to even hitting the younger one.. :S

but personally i believe that u r right in saying if stretch too long, may just settle for one..but one too lonely for ur baby.. if got sibling =one more playmate.. so might as well give birth within 2-3 years and get the most difficult years over with at one go!

siti, yup Dahlia is a flower.. the name's swedish

re: next baby
husband's envious coz Dahlia's birthmonth is the same as mine.. so he said next one shd try to deliver in may. we wanted a 2-3yr gap so next yr august we'll be vvv busy hahaha. then hopefully aim for may 2010 baby. and then damn syiok coz will be on maternity leave during world cup, can watch with kids at home lol!

fau aiman: what a great idea to have maternity leave during world cup 2010! im a huge fan of world cup too! lol..
but still hoping for early 2010 cos still year of ox.. haha i quite superstitious hor?

I'm becoming a panda... my son got so cranky last night due to his running nose and cough didnt sleep till 3am... got to carry him around and dance sing pat... my bones going to break ! >_< Bringing him back to pd later *sighs*

justme: piggy is piggy lor.. lazy but clever..lol.
will try for ox baby but think this kind of thing bo bian one.. if i m gonna give birth during tiger year, then so be it lor.. for having a baby is a beautiful thing, regardless (of the chinese horoscopes haha)

ecookie,
My hubby, being an only child, also said pretty lonely to having no siblings. And also, he said now he is emotionally stressed cos he is the only hope for his parents... both parents must sayang sayang all the time.. then got wife and daughter some more to over see... So he suggested must have at least 2. Each one of us can have someone to be looked after when we aged.
Aiyah.. i told him, cannot rely on kids to take care of us; even though we all usually look at kids as our investment. As long as they grow up to be someone we'll be proud of, I am more than satisfied.

vone: oh no, baby sick must be very uncomfortable for them.. try to sneak in some naps today when he's napping too.. if not u ll over-tire urself n run the risk of falling sick too!

ecookie, fau,
actually i hope my plan won't backfire. What if I plan nicely, then I can't get pregnant on time!? that could happen, you know...

I have a sad story to share... my distant cousin, after 8 years of marriage (with his high school sweetheart) got a divorce. Think it all started cos, can't conceive. They planned not to have a child too early after marriage, sekali, no child appeared after so long...then all hell broke lose..sigh...

vone:
Hope your boy boy will recover soon.. I pity babies with runny nose lei.. stuffy and dunno how to blow.. and if dry, we can't dig those snorts out.. cos, their nostrils so small.. then difficulty in breathing.. they'll keep on rubbing their faces...poor darlings..

fau,
I remembered you said you use nasal drops on dahlia, won't that choke her?? and how effective is it?? and where can i get it?? for how much??

justme: i agree with both what ur hubby + u said leh!
1) really should have at least 2 if possible so they can have each other to rely on when we gone i feel... cos we not like out parents time they've a lot of siblings n can help each other out at times of need.. this is how i feel lah
2) n yah we cannot rely on our kids to take care of us 100% though will wish lah.. but think next time i wont want to live with my kids.. let them have their freedom just like my parents let me move out hiaks.
n yesh, so long they grow up to be fine people.,then will be v happy already

justme: u can get nasal drops frm normal pharmacy.. its quite safe cos u put 1-2 drops in each nostrils at one time and wont choke her..
i used it on my wormy when he s sick with flu when hes 1 mth.. he doesnt really like the drops for he made a face whenever i dripped them in but never wail heh..

Today, my hubby and his friends gathering for dinner at raffles shopping centre. And of all days, they chose to gather on chingay rehearsal day. Dunno if I can get by with Sarah easily or not. Will meet him there. Praying hard, things will run smoothly.

hi angel, i got the float from kiddy palace, they got alot of designs for floats...do check it out.
Recently i also snapped Sam in his cool sunshade, will upload tomorrow when i downloaded a clearer pix from my camera, and u will ask me where to get that, LOL!!!!

Blue: i will tell u tomorrow after Sam's jab at PD how much he weighs now, shld be the same as ur boy lah more or less. He is fussy with his milk esp. evening and last feed at night. He hardly hit 800ml daily...still ranging between 700-750ml.

Fau: I like what you commented, 'august will be very busy...hahaha". As for your joke, I read deeper than what you explained too but my hubby very smart, knows what you mean, haahaaa!

Many friends/colleagues have been telling me that am very selfish when I commented I may just settle for 1 kid. I told them I want to lavish all my love on Samuel and gives him the best. They told me that am very wrong in my thinking, 1stly, Sam will be lonely w/o a playmate and then if anything crop up in the family in future, it will be very taxing on Sam to handle problems ...etc, 2 heads are better than 1. Well, will re-evaluate my stubborn &amp; selfish thinking, hee hee!

ha thats his nickname.. cos when hes newborn we swaddle him n he squirm alot like a worm thats why call him wormy.. lol

Thanks to the mummies (I forgot) who shared yesterday about their baby being more cranky and you learnt to carry them more "upright" to dance their babies to sleep.
Mine slightly more cranky just before sleeping time these days too. Initially thought it was the weather. Tried carried the "upright", head against chest method and not the usual lie flat style and IT WORKS! What a miracle! BB slept within "tolerable" minutes.

Re: Another kid
Anyway,I agree with Justme. My colleague told me her cousin was the only child. She said she really envies those with siblings. Now she has nobody to discuss her parents' problem with (i.e. what medical treatment, etc). She talks to cousins, friends but it is just not the same.

I think I understood what she meant. When parents grow older, sometimes, it is the child's turn to make decision. I think when it comes to difficult decision e.g. medical attention, financial burden, others really can't help much. Not that the old "depend on children" mentality lah (in fact, I don't quite like this idea) but in life, certain things just cannot be helped.

Talk so much, basically the conclusion was, better to have 2 kids if u can.

ecookie: sorry eh, cos' i don't see any of his name mentioned in the blog dat's why!
I believe in the power of spoken words, don't call him wormy lah, he may grow up with a stigma or feeling inferior.