(2007/09) September 2007 MTBs

Anyway Angel, in case u worried that your maid would do anything funny, don't tell her where u going or when u coming back lor. Just say, u going downstairs for a while.

mommies,

thanks for your input. i feel normal again. i was also whining to another good friend about dahlia, and she showed me a video of her baby at 4mths turning 5.. the tantrum shown was exactly the same pattern! dahlia has a smelly pillow (actually it's her beansprout pillow but she's been chomping the edges like we never feed her enough milk like that) so now it's kinda smelly even though we wash every 2 days. i hope her sleeping pattern will take turn for the better soon, if not i will change my nick to Zombie Fau.

re: baby smell

yeah i think the smell theyre referring to is the bath soap smell. do you girls remember the smell of your babies when they were just placed on your tummy in labour ward? i miss THAT smell.. and the feeling of my warm little baby on my tummy after being in labour. i miss that.

emily: yah lots of old folks tell me baby's cranky coz 'change month'.. i think it's just a phrase to put us at ease instead of being paranoid..

Goldfishy,
After the baby abuse incident, I don't dare to leave my maid alone with baby liao. I just called my mum to tell her I will be 'depositing' Jade and my maid with her tonight

Fau,
I can't remember the smell of the baby after delivery leh...hmmm....I dun think I even attempted to smell her then. I was so grossed out seeing her all white and bloody!

thanks amy, angel for the explanation on bp and e mat.

Madlynette,
haha,... I read so much about breastfeeding during my pregnancy, so much so that I was inspired to do the "impossible" in my family - BF. I am the flattest chest among my sisters and my eldest, who's the bustiest told me, "wah.. so flat; nothing, also can have milk ah?? Me so big got nothing for my babies to drink"... I am tired to explain over and over again on demand meet supply theory, cos, everyone in my family believe that if got milk,then its just luck...=p

Looks like i am the only weird one with heavy menses even if i am TBF... got MC for today and tml. Doc say i lose too much blood. gave me IRon pills for 10 days. But i think have to go back to work tml cos got to conduct a training. Sianz...

I just brought the bumbo tray for Ryann. So cute.. Looks like a mini high Chair... Getting ready to be fed .. 1 more month to go to feed him cereal =p

Hi Angel & Goldfishy,

I already told my HB that wherever I go, I will bring Edison.. I dont even want to leave him with PIL & go dinner with HB alone.. First of all, I am the super "bu fang xin" type.. Dun think my PIL can handle him.. 2ndly, as part of our family, we need to bring him along.. Though troublesome, but its FUN...

Hi Phoebe,
If this is your first mens after ur delivery, then its normal to be super heavy.. Mine was also like dat.. Changing pad every hour...

2nd mens is still heavy, but not as heavy as first time.. Then 3rd time, become normal liao..

Fau: see my boy...he looks frightened and no smile on his face when into the water leh, unlike your dahlia looked so confidence in water. Think must expose him to water more!
1247694.jpg

amy,

me not sahm. at work now....
wanted to be sahm when i learned tat i was pregnant wif maegan. but eventually, no courage... so still working. trying to cut dwn on travelling.. juz did appraisal with boss. told him this intention liao.

angel,

yellowbear fm alien dun hv smaller size. hers is LG prime 2300x1400 15mm.
the $110 (non LG prime) only pooh n frens, pororo n frens

wow.. jade can consume so much milk (210ml) at one go. steady wor. maegan max still 120ml per feed. her milk intake not that much oso... on bottle 3x 120ml, latch 3x (1x morning, 2x nite).
havnt start solids yet.

today no romantic evening for me. having home made bak ku teh at in laws place. no candlelight dinner but lotsa 'light bulbs' 电灯泡. hahaha

charsiew,

if baby's weight gain is all well... mayb not to worry too much. however, it is still good to tok to PD rdging the problem.

angel, my gal feed is still at 3 hour interval, so its about 7 feeds. 3x latch, 3x 150ml, 1x 180ml. Havent start solids too. My gal has been cranky at her bedtime feed.... she will drink and push her bottle away then make frustrated noise... is it that the teat needs to be changed to #3. Currently using #2.

My gal also starts making noise whenever we put her on the bed, to flip and learn to crawl, for more than 15 minutes.... then when we carry her she will continue to make noise, as she tries to stand up on her feet or starts to climb up my body.... Carry until very siong, muscle also come out already.

angel: i think im gonna try to train my baby to sleep soon! yah he s also getting heavier to be carried to sleep....think i will try to follow GF's method too..hopefully he wont wail louder after each comforting intervals...

goldfishy: v sad to see the poem.. i guess in parenthood, the daddys always kinda get neglected.. but they care for the little ones as much as the mummies im sure

any of the babies out there is on 5 feeds per day? my wormy coming to 4 mths in 2 weeks time thinking of reducing his 6 feeds to 5 feeds but keeping the daily volume abt the same

ecookie, is you baby on solids yet? if yes then i think you can reduce the feeds like angel.... but if not, and feeding volume is still the same, then i dont think baby is getting enough.

voice i bought the same mushroom float too, but have not used it as im not ready to bring my gal for swim yet. Is the sitting area spacious? Will it topple easily?

rxsti: vol same as in im currently giving him ard 900ml of milk in 6 feeds. thinking of reducing to 5 feeds but increase per feed vol so that daily intake is still ard 900ml..

is that okie?

phoebe, i already had my menses even though i latch on almost every 2 hours (ave) after 1 month of delivery. I was puzzled too as to why my menses came. So right after that,.. me and hubby very careful liao.. don't want another surprise too soon... brrr.. gave me the shudder just the tot of it.. my sister found herself pregnant with the 3rd one when her 2nd one was only 3 months lei... errr...

looking at the feeds..seem like nynke is taking too little leh..her patttern is:

6am: bf then she'll go back to sleep till about 7.30 or 8am

9am: bf or bottle feed ebm 3.5 ounce the most
she will sleep again from 10am to 12 noon

12 noon to 1 pm: bottle feed ebm: 3.5 ounce

sleep again from 2-4pm

4-5pm: bf or bottle feed ebm 3.5 ounce

7pm: bottle feed ebm 3.5 ounce

9-10pm: bottle feed ebm 3.5 ounce, thereafter she just want to suckle , suckle and suckle my breast...

darmae,
other pple will envy you about the travelling. my hubby travels quite a fair bit. he just told me last night he's going china 24 feb to 1 mar. then another trip on 1 april..thot we can go BKK in mar but now he said he's worried abt nynke as i dun intend to bring nynke along..was kind of pissed off abt his change of mind..am i 'normal'?? i do enjoy seeing my darling nynke but i also kind of miss my worklife leh..the interaction, mind away from home, financial freedom...

ecookie,
although i don't know how much my baby drinks, i think its good that your boy is drinking frequently rather than reducing the frequency with the same volume... babies stomach really small lei.. about the size of their fist. Some more formula not very easy to digest unlike bm, so better to keep it to 6 feed. Just my 2 cents worth. =)

I was on the bus tat day telling my husband one of my dream long forgotten.. about me having a career.. driving around in my car... owning my own apartment...and guessed what sarah did??!... My hubby held her up; standing on my hubby's lap.. she put both her hands on her face and pulled her cheeks down.. making faces at me.. like making fun at me and probably saying .." haha... dream on.. now just take care of me, lady!!"

amy: ur nynke's cheeks very chubby soo cute!

justme: hmm.. yah perhaps u r right. im worried abt him not able to digest also.. maybe should wait till he bigger like 5 mths before increasing milk intake per feed for him.

ecookie,

unless your child ask for more, if not is it not neccessary to increase the milk intake on your own...current clara is still drinking abt 130 per feed...but she takes 7 feeds...whereby 3 time is latch on...

her feeeding habit is like that since two months plus till now and she is growing well..

fau,... i know what you mean.. the smell of baby right after delivery. Even though I was in pain then, the smell diffuse in the whole labour room.
Dunno if its the vernix, but yeah, kinda miss the smell.. also, i also miss sarah squirmming in me... as I stared at my bulgeoning tummy!

you know, that day, my hubby said that if I am "itchy" to go back to work even if he's able to support the family comfortably, he'll make me pregnant... i took it as a joke.. but boy, did he scare me...
speaking of which.. any of the mummies here take contraceptive pills??? got side effect or not?? what other contra methods do you ladies use??

haha..my nynke competes with jade ah..no lah..btw she just poo..and a lot..wasted 2 diapers cos once change she poo soon after...

looking at nynke, can u believe she's just 6 kg???

justme: i think it's the vernix smell. some say a bit fishy.. but i didnt realise it's fishiness. it was just a nice warm scent. i'll always always always remember her warmth..

re: contraceptive pills
not totally related, but i was at a family gathering and one of my 'very open' aunts asked me a 'very open' question.. "so fau, now you "THROW" outside la?" i gave her a blank face, said jokingly, "err throw outside the window la!", got up and sat somewhere else heh. shocked at her very open question until dunno how to react.

Emily, This not my first.
since giving birth, my menses never stop before. After give birth abt 2 weeks after the "After delivery menses" (I dunno what is that term called) ended, i already got my first menses, not very heavy. then every month will have menses till now already the 3rd time so heavy le.

BEfore giving birth my menses super regular and not so heavy flow. Usually 3-4 days finish le. but now.... disaster... My Uniform is BEIGE IN COLOUR!!

fau... muahaha... it took me awhile to understand what you just posted..

oops... sarah.. fussy again.. time to go down walk walk... lucky thing i have a book in hand to fill the time.

phebe think u better see gynae again. could there be blood clog or something? sorry not to scare u..but better have thorough scan.

amy, actually i went to see her on the 2nd Feb already, main purpose is to check my IUD placing. She just gave me the medicine to stop bleeding but hor.. i find not much use.. only less by a bit.. if i never take that medi, i dunno how much blood i will lose..

yah took me awhile to get the joke also lol..i not using contraceptive pills. never use before cos heard it throw the periods abit off balance..
using the traditional method... rubber.. hiaks

ecookie,
IUD is a form of contraceptive method where by the gynae put a clip or ring to block the "passageway" I not sure if it is on the fallopian tube so that the eggs wont meet the "soldiers"! =p
No pain at all, i dun feel anything and it can last me for 3 yrs. When i ready to conceive then i remove it can le.

phoebe: thanks for info.. think thats what my mum is telling me abt.. cos she quite shocked my gynae didnt offer me the option of a "ring" after my delivery... so this is the IUD thing..

amy,

yeah, i understand where u are coming from... well, it was a struggle for me as well to be sahm or to work. re : travelling... no choice, i dun want to repeat what i did before. was not around for my elder one for full 6mths. only occasion visits... he wasnt close to me. i was to blame.. no one else. i could put a stop, but i didn't, went ahead to be outstation. missed a big part of his growing up... dun wan to repeat the same to maegan.

chance upon this when my group was doing some analytical research on hazing and precipitation in beverages.

http://www.foodanddrinkeurope.com/news/ng.asp?n=82930-bisphenol-a-water-bottles-university-of-cincinnati

Bis-phenol A in bottles

heat is actually the main cause of release. Was actually in dilemma when i read it. we need milk bottles for EBM, formula milk. We need to apply heat to warm up EBM, we need hot water to make up the formula milk. We can't escape sterilising which involves heat, whether is it traditional boiling method or steam sterilising.
These are what we have been doing back dating to our parents' or even grand parents' era.

I don't commonly see Bis-phenol free bottles laying on shelves. Probably Dr. Brown brand has it... am not sure either.

phoebe I heard hor if u insert the IUD one of the side effects is it would cause heavy menses for the first few months.. maybe that is the reason??? One of my colleagues also told me she experienced that when she just put the IUD...

Hi.

RE: Bis-phenol A in bottles

Think only the Dr Brown and Bfree bottles are free from Bis-phenol A. Alternatively, you can get the glass bottles from NUK.

hi madlynette: just happen to notice we have the same bunny toy.. the one u hang at ur jumper.. i put my rabbit in our car to distrAct wormy when he got bored in his car seat.

low family,
my gynae didnt tell me leh... but funny thing is my gf put the IUD her menses is normal... maybe i shld call doc to check.