(2007/09) September 2007 MTBs

Angel, why not you stick to that and wait till 6 months then change? If you change now then 1 more month have to change again, very leh-chey right?

Jordan's also on Enfalac A+ (1 feed per day) but now he's on TBF unless he's fussing for milk and no time to warm the EBM.

Btw I am switching him to Similac Excellence after 6 months. Last time my gal also like that. It's the result of my hubby's "research" that that's the "best" formula for 6 months up (for infants below 6 months, he said Enfalac A+ better).

blueskye, is it necessary to change to the follow-on milk for bb after 6 months? why har? can share share?

angel, me using similac now. been using it since KKH uses it. ok so far....i think...ben drinks 750ml everyday. growth spurt period he drinks 900ml. at 4 months, he weighs 7.8kg, 65.5cm. okay or not?

Ben_Mum, cos babies of 6 months requires different types of nutrition as compared to infants below 6 months ... hence if you recee supermarket, you will find formula milk for infants below 6 months, babies 6 months up, toddlers 1-3 years old, kids 3-6 years old and kids above 6 years old.

Ben is on his way to be like Jordan cos Jordan weighed 7.76 kg when he was 4 months. Maybe Ben will be even bigger size than him when he's 5 months up!

justme: yah lah.. i shoppedhopped from one store to another. then caught Kite Runner alone, feeling reflecting on one's self lah. cried like what in the theatres haha. but ok lah, i any sad movie also i will cry. lol.

bubu_mama: hope your baby gets well soon. mine has been having runny nose day time and blocked nose at night for a few days. sometimes we use iliadin nose drops on her, but heard it's not good to use too many times as it will thin the nasal passage. yesterday she sneezed and yellow thick mucus came out, so this morning we brought her to a PD and she was prescribed cough mixture and runny nose mixture.

angel: dahlia has been on Mamex Gold w/Immunofortis since birth, the formula is sweet smelling but i've never tried to taste it. so far her poop is mustard-y in color and slightly thick like hmmn, mushroom soup?? the PD we saw this morning gave us a small tin of Mamil Gold step 2 to try when she turns 6

Hi Low,
Thanks for ur concern. Edison has recovered from his fever, thank God!

Hi Angel,
You shd think positive and be glad that your maid can handle Jade so well. You can entrust her with the responsibility to take care of Jade when you go to work.

At least someone can help you to handle Jade when she is cranky. I am the only one who can handle his crankiness, my HB still cant manage. Sometimes I cant even take a longer shower in peace.. Often I have to rush out from shower when I hear Edison's screaming.

I also bought Pear Juice & Apple Juice for Edison yesterday. Hope he will like it..

phebe, hehe..opposite attract...hope attraction can last lor..

jerald looks so adorable

hubby came back yesterday and frankly, I'm gald to be back home at last. alst few days at my mum's place had been vv challenging cos nynke only wants me to put her to sleep and so no one can really help me. body is really tired and aching. brought her for jab and she's 6 kg, 61cm. doc asked why weight gain so little cos 1 mth ago was 5.6kg..when he learnt she's sleeping thru the night now, he said it's ok then, her weight gain is alright since she has less feeds now. i look at her still chubby chubby leh..so was surprised that he said slow on weight gain..

blueskye, yeah....we all scared he will be on the large side. so since 5 weeks we have been monitoring his weight gain and intake very closely. Hope that he wont gain too much weight. =D

sighs...my ben wont be like ur jordan leh....he still doesnt want to flip. and doesnt wan to reach out for things. but he loves to keep wanting to sit up tho. hehe...

Hi Em,
Ya i'm lucky to have a maid that is so good with babies. I guess that's the disadvantage of going back to work that I'll have to live with...baby will bond with the nanny more. Today my maid was off the whole day, so I was sooo worried that I won't be able to put Jade down for her naps in the morning and afternoon...but thankfully I managed to without any struggle! I was so happy I nearly cried

Btw, talking abt maids, I just saw this video of a maid abusing a 2 month old baby (see link below). The mummy is from this forum too. The maid kicked the baby and shaked him so violently everytime he cried...luckily the mummy installed a camera in the house so all this was taped! So bian tai this maid. I was gonna leave my baby alone with my maid at home when I go back to work...but after seeing this hor..I'm really horrified. Planning to bring my baby over to my SIL's place for her to babysit instead.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Ot22xZqLMMI

Those of you who have weak hearts don't see the video.

I'm so so upset and angry when I saw the video. Did not have the heart to finish watching them cos afraid that I cannot take it!!
Why can't they just say they cannot handle the baby instead of making the baby suffer like that. I really feel so sad abt the bb having to gone thru this! In fact was rather emotional now and I think all mothers will have the same feeling as me.

angel,
err... i better not watch the video then... will be traumatised by it..
thank god my hubby insist i be the only caretaker for sarah.

fau,
I, too, cry in many movies!!... even those walt disney's movie cartoons.. like Little Mermaid, Beauty and the Beasts... my then-boyfriend, now hubbylah, was so amused I cried my eyes out while watching Star Wars. It was a tragic love story lah! Worse then Romeo and Juliet. muahaha..

I wonder what they do to the maid after that ... was asking my hubby how come this world got such people ... can do such thing to a 2 month old baby who is so innocent!

mad woman! >_< I think part 5 is horrible..she powdered the bb then stuff the power pad into his mouth then he canot cry so she start wearing the clothes for baby after wearing she go to chair feed him again then take it out...

I also was so angry after seeing the video too and my tears came running when I was thinking of how the mummy would react to find that her baby has been tortured like that.

I heard from another mummy from the forum that the maid was arrested...but dunno what happened to her coz the mummy haven't logged on for very long liao. If the baby doesn't have any physical injuries, the maid might be allowed to work for another employer.

Vone,
My gawd...I thought that was a pacifier she put in his mouth!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! And was thinking how come the pacifier is so big!

Hi Angel,
I opt not to watch as I have a weak heart, I will definitely cry if I watch it.

Actually, my initial plan was also to hire a maid to take care of Edison after I start work. My FIL wants us to install a videocam at home so we can monitor the maid. I think it will not work, cos the maid may feel that she is not being trusted by the employer &amp; it may affect her work. Furthermore, how can I concentrate working if I have to monitor her everyday through the videocam?

After much consideration &amp; hearing cases of child abuse my maid, we switched to Plan B, which is infant care. Luckily, an infant care was opened near our place early last year and we managed to secure a place for Edison.

I think your maid is doing a good job, saw her at Vivocity last time, she was so caring. But on the safe side, when you just started working, maybe you can do a spot-check on her on a random basis.

hv been bz wif cny preparations.. din hv time to login.

gosh... how can someone be that cruel???? i din watch the clip, chose not to like justme and Em. knew i cant take it too... so beta not.

angel,
perhaps it may be wise to put jade and ur maid at ur sil's plc if its possible. not saying that ur maid is not up to the job but think prevention is always beta.
when i had my elder one, i oso opted to leave him along wif the maid at my in laws' plc. felt more secure this way.. even now, after 3 years of working with me, and even after many comments from ppl abt hw gd she is... i still dun hv to courage to leave my kids alone wif her.

I dunno why after watching the 1st clip...it made me wanted to watch the rest just to see what this maid was capable of! And after watching all 6 clips, I wish I hadn't seen it.

Has anyone tried to appeal to HDB to sell/rent out their flat before 5 years? Now I seriously considering to move house man..if not everyday I have to travel 35km to and fro to pick Jade up from my SIL's place.

Hi Angel,
Yeah, the daily travelling can be tiring.. esp now the petrol price went up..

Maybe you can check the HDB website and call them to ask?

When are u starting work?

Can anyone advise if there is any painkiller that we can use to reduce teething pain in infants?

My boy has been very cranky last weekend, we strongly believe its the teething pain that is bugging him.. Poor Boy! I dunno if I shd bring him to see a PD for remedies to reduce pain..

Can anyone help? I carry him until I have backache today...

angel,

i used to shuttle alot as well.. but like you the long distance puts me off. very tiring too. so now, stay wif in laws.. smtimes duno gd or bad.

i think 1 mummy ever mentioned if there's a valid reason, possible to rent out your unit.
as for selling, i think there's a clause stating if there's no outstanding loan, can sell < 5yrs. safest bet is to call HDB directly to enquire. more to-date information

Em,

you may try dentonix teething gel to relieve edison's teething. i used it for on elder one before... PD recommended the last time, suitable for babies below 6mths of age.

Em: that teething gel can be found in guardian, i saw it 2wks ago when i went to buy bonjela for myself. That teething gel is more than $10, but considering no need to go PD visit to pay consultation charge, good lah. I can claim for Sam's PD fee, so i will bring him go PD and buy from PD, haahaaa!

It might not be teething ... we suspected Jordan was teething too but PD checked ... she said not teething yet. You may wanna get your PD to check if Edison is indeed teething?

hello all mummies, its monday...3 more days to CNY!

Yesterday i was so shocked and scared when i realised my left breast has blocked ducts! it was so hard and lumpy and i couldn't get rid of it by pumping. tried to get my girl to latch but she wasn't in the mood as she was sleepy so i panicked! took a hot shower and kept massaging still didn't go away then end up ask my hubby to massage, it was so painful i swear its worse than labour! but still no use...i never encountered blocked duct or serious engourgement b4 so dunno why like tat. luckily by around 10pm i managed to latch my girl and she cleared it for me...so relieved, but now the left breats still feel very tender and sore...when i touch can still feel some lumps leh...any way to get rid of it asap?

phoebe,
faith also like tat, very restless when sleeping...will wave her arms and legs in her sleep then cry without opening her eyes. tats why i had to swaddle her when she sleep but nowadays she perspire alot so i dun swaddle anymore as it will be too warm but end up she kept fidgeting in her sleep...

Em, maybe Edison going thru a growth spurt?

darmae, I called HDB today and ask. They say can appeal to the office. Drafting my letter now

Hi Blue &amp; Voice,
Yeah, I better bring him see a PD tmrw for a thorough check, just to be safe.....

I also can claim for Edison's PD fee, so heng ah! Can save some $$$...

Last night, I almost went crazy! Put his pacifier into freezer... Then put the cold pacifier into his mouth, and it kinda soothe him, and I can finally pat him to sleep.. Aiyo! Dunno when it will stop..

Emily, Voice... you all so good .. how come can claim PD fees??? i like every month also invest to the clinic leh...

Mummyfaith, Ryann also like tat.. hai... sleepless nights... recently i resorted to sleeping in the other room cos really too tired le... me n hubby take turn lolx.... my hubby say he is a devil at night.. by 9pm.. his horns will start to grow and by daybreak he will be an angel.. smiling at us when we wake up...

mummyfaith, ive also got blocked ducts before and this morning kena again... I did call MAH lactation consultant, and they taught me to clear it by using a fine needle, lightly prick at the blocked white head ie. to lightly lift the top layer of skin, then get baby to suck off. You can try, it worked for me.

GONG XI FA CAI !!! HUAT HUAT FOR ALL SEPT MUMMIES :)

Actually I been following this thread
"quietly". Unable to go online during office hrs till recently! Now Im so happy that i can contribute

Prinzton is born on 26th Sep 08

hi cherliu, your baby is 1 mth older than my baby exactly.. hees..
mine borne on 26th oct 07 (think u meant 26th sept 07 , haha)

i follow this thread though i contribute more at the oct MTB side.

today hubby working after a long leave... now i can't eveneat a decent meal w sarah in my hand all the tome...sigh..

Hi cherliu, ecookie, welcome!

Heehee so you guys have been 'eavesdropping' all this time and never contribute. Actually I also...always go to the August thread to kay poh abit but never contribute there too.
We can always use more cute baby pics here!!!

rxsti,
Ouuuuuchhhhhhh did you say prick the nipple? Prick already got blood come out? Gosh the things mummies need to go through to breastfeed is unimaginable.

Em, Voice,
What companies you work for? So good let you claim your child's PD fees.

Justme,
Do you have a high chair yet? Jade loves to be in the high chair and watch me eat keke. And she always has this longing look to eat my food.

Phoebe,
Haha so funny describe ryan as your little devil and growing horns. I can just picture it...so cute
Hey btw, I told my hubby I going to Amore and joining the gym there. He nag and nag say waste money. So irritating.

thanks peapod for the internet link. v informative.

angel, can Jade sit up on her own without support already ? am wondering if i can put mine in the high chair yet since he can't sit up on his own without support.

HI bluesky

Can you share with me why Similac Excellence is better for babies >6 mths? My bb gal is 4 mths+ and is on Enfalac A+.