(2007/09) September 2007 MTBs

ben mum
sorry for late reply, was not be able to log in on last friday (25 Jan - on leave for my birthday) and yesterday(28 Jan - on urgent leave cos jia hui sick). me is vivien, think hv reply ur email also. so sorry for the very late reply.

bb sick - having cough and slight fever. no more fever now, but still coughing....aiyo, see her cough my heart so pain, didn't sleep well. then from yesterday, she has been pooing twice a day....wonder izit becos of the medi or becos she is sick....really worried.

can i check if u take those bottle puree like the potatos puree all these and those fruit puree u just feed puree alone or mix into rice cereals?? Pls enlighten me thanks

My bb was fusing and keep sucking her fist/fingers whatever she can get hold of ... and I decided to give her the teether ... she was sucking so happily and wanted to put the whole thing in her mouth by pushing it .... when the teether soften as the ice melts .. she start to bite more and refuse to let go ..... is this the sign of teething or she just want to suck huh ??

Stoller
I also have phobia using it on escalator ... so it's always hb's job

LeapFrog,
there are so many books that is OSS now ... sob sob. Now that I'm home for 2 weeks, really want to utlilize my time fruitfully with her .... but guess a bit too late on my planning ....will read her the cloth book instead ...

hi totoro,
Your baby seems to be teething. You put the teether in freezer huh? WOn't your baby's hands be cold when she holds it?? I put teether in fridge.

bubu mama,
poor thing, your baby. I went hysterical when sarah's temperature escalated a little, after immunisation. Kept on checking her temp with braun thermoscan. My hubby said I was mad. Coughing somemore, your baby must be feeling awful... and so do you...

Shotbyfau,
haha, dahlia looked so "kwai" and prepared in the picture. Sarah gave me this skeptical look when I place the spoon in front of her...she must be thinking "what are you trying to feed me??"

bubu_mama, dun worry about it. hope ur bb is feeling better. hope u feel better too. =D must take care of urself. =D

will add u in. =D

Strollers:

Haha Emily same here if i got to use the pram i'll just say Excuse Me and push the pram into the lift without caring if the wheels roll over anyone feet! =D Taking the pram down the escalator is also another tedious job!! hate it. I always get my hubby to do it.

Hello Low,

For my case, chloe cant finish the jar food all at one time. And since the jar food nid to b consumed within 48hrs. Usualli wat I'll do is, I pour abt 1/3 of puree inside the rice cereal and then the remaining 2/3 i will leave it inside the frige, n then later in the afternoon, I will warm the remaining puree n feed by itself as a snack for chloe.
Since u havent intro cereal to Charlene yet, I suggest u feed her plain cereal first n see if she can accept it, n to rule out any allergies.
Then slowly intro diff purees. (nid a span of abt at least 3 days to mk sure she not allergic to any ingredients)
It's quite fun to feed them diff new foods, but then super messy...nid to standby lotsa hankerchiefs.
Have fun!

justme,

errr I thought the teether supposed to be frozen ?? or am I wrong?
And yes her hand was really cold after holding it but she is like sucking is more impt ....the rest never mind ....even if her hand is cold.

Thanks for the tips elaine
Thanks alot!
Ya Charlene has been drinking lesser n lesser these days so I thought I better intro her to some semi solids even thought she is only 4mths 2 weeks now.. i see her drink so little i also gek sim then my mum keep nagging at me le say what i scare off intro bit by bit lor haha

I do it tom since I am on leave tom!
Thanks once again!

oi alow! hi fi! i am really GEK SIM these days too.. i mean it. my bb is getting worst lately... now he sort of cries whenever he sees the milk bottle.. HAIZ!!! but still, i hope i can 'drag' the solids till at least 5mths +... btw, my mum is also trying to convince me to feed bb with porridge too...HMM!

wish u luck for charlene, k?

poohwei and voice,
i think both of you same bday leh
=p

Re : milk strike
Actually Ryann also like tat.. will suddenly drink lesser and not interested in milk. then after a while his appetite will go up again.
i will only start solid at 6 mths.
last time i go by scheduled feeding, nowadays i change to demand feeding. usually he will finish all.

phoebe,

HB just got a package of 24 lessons for me from AMORE, I am planing to go either causeway point or Kovan (Near punggol). Which do you recommend? I plan to go for the basic aerobics, never done gym or aerobics before.
Heard that the Tampines one is opening soon, when? It got swimming pool?

Shotbyfau,
Jade also like Dahlia, always try to grab the spoon! Then she will make me miscue and the food ends up all over her face! I let Jade hold a spoon to keep her hands occupied...so that she doesn't try to hold mine.

hi totoro,
Re teether ring, what brand is yours? The teether ring I bought is First Few Years brand...instructions say cannot freeze leh, only can put in the fridge. Be careful coz if the material not suitable for freezer, it might burst when baby is biting and contents may be swallowed.

Hi justme,
Re introducing solids, I started Jade on baby cereal mixed with EBM, that's recommended as the first 'foods' to start with coz its easiest to digest. Once she was eating it well and no allergic reaction, I then mixed the cereal with a new fruit/vege puree every 3-5 days. Pear, apple, carrots, pumpkin, sweet potato, green beans are safe foods and good to start with coz they're naturally sweet and well liked by most babies. I usually mix 1 portion of cereal to 2 portions of pureed fruit/vege so that its a nice smooth flowy consistency so easier for baby to swallow. I puree the fruits/vege at home using organic ones. Boil them till soft (ard 5-10 mins) and then puree with a blender, then pour into ice trays and freeze. Its healthier and also I can freeze into portions and just use what I need. The fruit/vege is more for taste and to introduce them different flavours and keep them interested in solids at this stage so the less fussy eaters they will be next time.

cookie, ur hubby buy le ah? gt pay reg or processing fee or not?
how much u pay? shld have told me then i can try get you discount and more freebies.
woodland is with gym but kovan dun have... both is abt the same but i find kovan nearer from home.
tampines one not so soon but it is different concept as amore.. it is unisex so abit difference .. yes gt swimming pool...

aiyah,

paid $120 registration fee le. forgot to ask you, only remember after HB got the package. I got 1 free facial or massage, 2 personnel trainer session free (1 hr each), the rest normal discounts for apparels, etc.

Arrgh......

aiya, i help pinkyjac gt a gd discount thou ...
2 session is not personal trainer is a workout session where they do body test and stuff like tat... which outlet you sign with?

Hi Tiny Voice,

We have the same bdae!! 11th Feb!!

Re: Milk Strike
My girl's consumption has remained stagnant at 700++ml! Now that we introduce cereals to her, it is still 700++ml. Normal? Does it mean that she is actually able to consume more milk?

Re: Solids
My girl is currently taking about 2 -3 tablespoon of cereals for 2 meals each day. Is that too much? When should we start to give them more??

Re: Home
Now i have 2 homes!!! Mon to Wed, I will stay at my mum's place in Jurong West St 81, Thurs to Sun in my Redhill House. This helps me to minimize shuttling between the 2 places. Any other mummies who are doing it becos u r working?

Re: Milk Strike
Hm...Faith has been drinking the same amount since 3mths. Then recently wakeup for night feed twice instead of one but yesterday seem to have resume her normal sleep pattern. She slept at ard 10pm and wokeup once at 3am then slept thru till abt 8am this morning. Hopefully this will continue and I decided to try and increase her milk intake today by 10ml each feed, if she takes it well then increase another 10ml. Which means from 140ml to increase to 160ml and feed every 3-4hrly. Mummies who are still TBFing, how much your baby drink per feed now?

Hello mummies ... been busy these 2 days with trainings so can't chat at all.

Darmae: My worst fear is not washing hair ... for me, the time when I drop most hair is combing my hair after a hairwash. Wau lau, that one is ... you can see a whole chunk of hair on the comb ... very scary!

Justme/Ben mum
tks for ur get well for my bb. yesterday also rush home after work to bring to see doc again, cos my mum called my office to tell me that bb LS twice after taking the medi (total pooing for 4 times yesterday)....so went back to the same GP. she change the medi for bb and till now at least no see any poo/LS yet - *touch wood*....

cough still hv, don't know izit bb sick or wat, yesterday whole nite didn't wake up for nite feed (she sleep ard 9+pm) till this morning 6+ kanna wake up call from me. :p

Morning

Re: Deep sleep (or not)
Any of your babies toss and turn in sleep? Dahlia has been falling asleep to my offkey rendition of ABCs and Twinkle-Twinkles, and also need to pat her bum/hands.

And she can have absolutely NO pillows or bolsters near her when she's falling asleep coz she will lose her concentration to sleep, struggle to hold her pillow/bolster to put near her mouth so she can bite² or suck². Sometimes she's so distracted by the pillows/bolsters around her (even the one on her head) that I resort to letting her sleep flat on the mattress. But so poor thing like that, sleep flat without anything to hug..

angel,

Which brand of cereal are u feeding? Issit the 'heinz 1st baby cereal'?
When you say green bean, do you mean the red/green bean soup kinda green beans?

bubu mama,

i hope ur bb get well soon!!

blue,

i noe wat u meant. i hv the habit of combing my hair during the conditioning stage.. hence i scared of washing hair lor. tats where i see chunks of hair.. argghhhh

shotbyfau,

re: deep sleep (or not)
maegan certainly cant fall asleep on her own at nite. ned to either carry and pat to sleep if not then latch her to sleep...
if i put her down in the cot when she's not sound asleep, she will toss and turn then eventually wakes up

angel,

do u store the frozen fruit/vege puree in a dedicated freezer compartment?

Hi Emily,

My bb gal is tking frisocrem. Since she is tking friso as FM n also so far i only see heinz n frisocrem cereals meant for bb above 4 mths. Nutrakids n Nestle starts from 6 mths onwards isnt it? I guess after she reaches 6 mths old, i may buy the other brands for her to try.
Can't wait for her to reach 6 mths, cos there will be lotsa varieties for them to try!

Angel, r u a SAHM? u so gd n hardwking to mk ur own puree..I am quite clueless abt how to mk them though...so far only gv chloe jar type (which is of cos not as gd to fresh homemade puree)
wat type of blender is gd?

Hi low, dun mention ok? Anywae do wat u deem fit...
How many ml is char tking per feed during her milk strike? my chloe also siao siao, at days she can finish all of her 180ml. then certain days, she onli tk abt 90ml -100ml each feed...but during night feeds she blur blur n finish everyting..
tink they teething le, cos chloe always bite the teat n dun drink her milk. maybe their gums itchy?

mummyfaith,
Ryann drinking schedule is 150ml total 6 feeds daily.sometimes if he slp alot then only 5 feeds.
if he slp thru his meal time, i wont wake him up. doing demand feeding now so that he finishes everything. but average 3-4 hrly too.

Re : milk intake after solid is introduce
Poohwei, i cant really help to advice cos i m quite against feeding solids before bb turn 6 mths old.but if i m not wrong, solid is to replace a meal. so if you have 6 feeds every day, so convert one to solid, milk in take should be lesser = 5 feeds.
i think cereal also mix milk right?

Hi Poohwei,
Re milk volume, its actually good that she's taking the same amt of milk. They shouldn't reduce their milk at this stage coz breastmilk or formula needs to continue to be their main source of nourishment until they're 1 year old. The solids now is mainly for fun and practice and get them used to eating from a spoon. As for the amt, a few tbl spoons is ok...she will tell you when she's full so just follow her cue

Hi mummyfaith,
Jade recently going thru growth spurt, increased from 125ml to ard 150-180ml (6 feeds a day). On top of that she's started on solids abt 2tbl spoons of baby cereal and puree for lunch and dinner.

Shotbyfau,
Jade also needs to be cuddled to sleep and patted on her back and I'll hum a tune. But sometimes if I'm lucky, like during a car ride or on her bouncer, she will drift off to sleep on her own

Hi gingerleaf,
Yes I'm using the heinz baby cereal now. You too? Actually wanted to give her an organic one...I bought one brown rice organic one from Cold Storage but its for 6 months onwards. But I can't seem to find one that's suitable for baby below 6mths. So from now till 6 mths, will give her the heinz one.

Hi darmae,
Nope my freezer only got 1 compartment. I store the puree in an ice tray then put it in a ziplock bag to seal it so it won't be contaminated.

Hi Elaine,
I've been on unpaid leave for 3 mths but going back to work next month. Pureeing at home is really easy and quick. Just remove the skin and cut up the fruits/vege, boil till soft, then put it in a bowl or container and blend until smooth. I bought my Braun handheld blender from Tangs at ard $40 I think.

<font color="0000ff">

Sorry to intrude into this thread.

Just like to share with you all...
if you are planning to get insurance for your newborn, children or yourself,
I have a good recommendation! (I'm not an agent)
Understand you all may already have an agent but if you are looking for <font color="ff0000">Value-added Life Policy</font>,
please PM or email me at [email protected] No obligations. Thanks!

angel,
i got that too, have not started her on it tho. Wanted to give her brown rice too, but most of them are for 6mths and above. Will try very soon!

Hi funny,
The frozen purees can keep up to 3 mths according to the book. But keep that long also no good. I just freeze enough for 1-2 week's worth of feeds for Jade.

angel,

thanks for the tip. i will try the ziplock method, after cny cos the fridge is now stock wif loads of stuffs.
by the way, for thawing.. do u juz leave it at the fridge compartment, need to warm up b4 feeding?

Hi darme, I'm new member, just found this forum. i'm also lina adam. my little girl was delivered on Oct 5 at SGH. hope dun mind if i join.

1229553.jpg

the PD recommended not putting bb on solids until 6 months. He explained especially for those who have a history of asthma, allergies, eczema better wait first.

the Heinz cereal i bought is still sittin gon the shelf.

For my case i cant start cos im still monitoring her BCG abscess first. Wouldnt wanna be confused whether its a food allergy or what.

Re SWADDLING
Cant remember who said should not swaddle past 3 months?

But my girl cant sleep londer than 20mins if she is not swaddled.

Hi darmae,
Yup need to warm the puree to room temperature before feeding. I usually take out the cubes the night before (1 for lunch and 1 for dinner) and leave it in the frige to thaw overnight. To minimise transfers, I put each cube in a small plastic tupperware. The tupperware is what I'll feed the baby from, so when time to feed, I'll warm up the puree by submerging the tupperware in hot water for 5 mins just like warming EBM.

Btw, forgot to mention when preparing baby foods for babies less than 6 months, we should pour boiling water over all utensils, bowls, pots, blender, ice trays, etc. that we use to make them sterile.

Hi atinarin,
It took Jade abt 2-3 days to get used to sleeping without being swaddled. I stopped swaddling after she turned 1 month. At 1 month she was not so stubborn, so it was relatively easy. But as they grow older, whatever we change or try to introduce will be met with more difficulty hehe! Good luck!

Hi Angel,
How's your attempt to wean off pacifier on Jade?

My boy MUST have it when he goes to sleep, I think I will have a difficult time weaning him off...

aitarin, same here my PD also tell me to wait till 6 mths. although ryann always look at me while i eat =p so funny...
yesterday night my naughty hubby disturb Ryann..
Suppose to be his feeding time but still need to wait awhile to warm the EBM. so change his diapers and slp suit first. when the milk is ready my hubby bring and show him the bottle right in front of his face while i changing for him. Ryann's mouth open like want to drink, then my hubby remove the bottle from his sight to play with him... he cry big time =D so funny lor... naughty daddy trying to tempt him with milk...hungry baby = angry baby =p