(2007/09) September 2007 MTBs

my gal is starting to learn crawling now.... whenever she flipped over, she will push herself up on her fours (like puppy), a litte unstable, and she will start rocking herself back and forth, very funny and cute.... she still cant move her hands, but she try to push her self to lean forward (like a leaping frog)....

Amy, yeah...I live in Punggol...I tink a few sept mummies live in punggol too....We shld mit up 1 of these days n let our BBs play together...Hahaha....

Darmae,

Half say look like my hubby, half say look like mi....I told my hubby I am confuse who my gal look like..he say better than ppl who will say dun look like either 1 of us...Hahaha...u still remember how I look...;P

Mummyfaith, Rxsti,
I think I may have the answer to your babies crankiness... TEETHING... sigh... its sad.. my sarah is also waking up often to cry and gets really cranky during bed time. I want to look for some remedy to sooth her uncomfortable gums.. poor thing. I gave her infant panadol last night and she slept pretty soundly. But I don't want to always give her panadol. I read somewhere that there is this teething tablet. Dunno how safe this is.
Apart from giving these chemicals which is against my hubby's wish, i think the other way is to provide cold teether to baby. I sometimes run my clean finger around her gums to massage the pain away.

Vone,
Not infantcare lah. Childcare lah, my dear. 14 months from now baby will be 18 months. So can go childcare. Of course, I try to take care of her for as long as i can.

justme,
thanks for pointing that out! looks like it could really be teething...i have bought some teethers for her but she doesn't seem to like chewing on them or maybe bcos she hasn't got the hang of it yet. will encourage her to use her teether more and hopefully this will pass soon or else i'm gonna be panda again!

rxsti,
yah i also thought its bcos play too much, cos my hubby likes to play with her just b4 her bedtime but even if we don't pay attention to her and try to get her to sleep she will still seek attention by "talking" and smiling at us to tempt us into playing with her one and my hubby always succumb to her temptations.

i also bought teether for her to chew but shes not interested or maybe dont know how to use it yet.... but shes actively chewing her fist very much, and when babysitter massage her gums she let her do it and enjoying the massage....

justme does that mean they are going to grow their teeth already.... wah then its going to be very siong as she will be very cranky....

Hi mummyfaith,
Oh no you must be very tired today!! Ya if baby is sick or recovering from flu...the routine will go haywire for a while. Could also be a growth spurt if they're waking up earlier in the mornings to feed...try to increase her milk during the day. Or if you're breastfeeding, it may be due to drop in our supply so top up with EBM or formula. Its really a guessing game...just have to monitor her for the next few days and rule out all the possibilities.

For Jade, she also going thru a growth spurt now coz suddenly woke up at 4am a few nights ago crying for milk. So I increased her all her feeds during the day by 30ml and she sleep thru the night again.

I found this excerpt on teething:

"When it develops

The journey starts in the womb. While you were pregnant, your baby developed tooth buds, the foundation for baby teeth (also called milk teeth). Only one in 2,000 babies is born with teeth, though. The vast majority sprout their first tooth between 4 and 7 months of age.

If your baby's an early developer, you may see his first white cap (usually one of the bottom middle teeth) as early as 3 months. If he's a late bloomer you may have to wait until he's a year old or more. The last teeth to appear (the second molars, found in the very back of the mouth on the top and bottom) have usually begun coming into place by your baby's second birthday. By age 3, your child should have a full set of 20 baby teeth.

How it develops

While some babies breeze through the teething process, many seem to struggle with it and experience discomfort. Among the symptoms your teething baby may exhibit:
• Drooling (which can lead to a facial rash)

• Gum swelling and sensitivity

• Irritability or fussiness

• Biting behavior

• Refusing food

• Sleep problems

..."

more can be read off http://www.babycenter.com/0_developmental-milestones-teething_6574.bc

back to sch for me today. so busy. lol. finally found time to log in during my free periods. have to go and do more work later. =D

how do u all massage bb's gums? can share?

darmae, u are welcome. =D hope the list is useful. =D

Just saw a new spree for Leadpad system & books... Organised by Jomum... Check it out!

http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/590029/1223851.html?1201500942

rxsti,

maegan oso did the same as ariel... rocking back and froth, hee...

saw the new pics you uploaded.. like family potrait taken at 1 mth. Thumbs up!!

funny,

hee, yeah still rem hw u look... hvnt seen ur hubby though. but i guess both of u hv 夫妻相。。 so ppl cant decd which one of you summer looks like.. keke...
i like her photos too.. all very cheery. its hard to catch my gal smiling on camera leh

ben mum,

the list is really useful!!

justme, thanks for the teething info. my gal now 'chewing' her wrist leh..like eating drumstick like that..also drooling adn ahs facial rash..think she really like teeething...

justme:

oops! lol silly me i tot its infantcare

teething:

my boy recently started refusing milk n kept biting his fingers. he also starts being cranky when he sleeps got to wear a bib coz he's drooling. i think he's teething too ...

teething:
wonder when the teething discomfort will go away...heart aches everytime baby cries....

childcare:
Thinking of placing sarah in kinderland childcare at Toa Payoh near my place. Wonder if its good. Will go down to see it. Any one knows anything about this childcare centre.

Here's sarah's recent pic!

1225070.jpg

Drunk on breastmilk...

1225071.jpg

justme, ur sarah so cute! her hair so nice! my ben's hair machiam like lalang! aiyoh! brought him to cut his hair yesterday and now his hair looks mohawk style! peng la.

welcome mummies. just hope u find it useful...grins....

ben mum,
thanks. yeah her hair nice.. but recently she's been pulling at it. if she continues, i think, she'll be bald soon.

by the way, any of you mummies still swaddle babies when they sleep? I still do if i'm not by her side. else the moro reflex will easily startle her awake. wonder if there is any way to prevent this...

angel,
I saw jade's pic you recently put up in fb! SO ADORABLE!... alamak.. how you pump her up to that size ah??? so chubby... her cheeks seem to press her cute lips forward...haha...

Hi Ben mum, got the list! Thank you very much!

For those of you who are getting the leappad system, just a guide for you. I got mine recently and I paid in total around $134 inclusive of shipping charges as well. I have the LittleTouch LeapPad Learning System and 6 books. Cheers! At this moment, I think I enjoyed it more than my book...haiz!

Starting work on wed, sianz big times! No mood!

I was so angry today!

I was at Jurong Point, and hb went to get something. So I followed him and was trying to push my pram thru a tight passage. A very big size lady to the left was blocking my way, standing at a point and creating a bottleneck, and I said "excuse me" She turned and saw me, and leaned in to the signage board that she was facing, but sad to say, she was still too big for me to pass thru, then I said, "sry, I still cant pass thru." and she gaved me a pissed off look. In front,on my right was a metal pole, those that they used with a red tape to form a barrier for Queues. A kind lady immediately helped to drag the pole away so I can pass. As I finally managed to pass thru, I said my thanks to the lady on the right. While I was waiting for my hb outside a store, I could see the fat lady from where I was standing, I was just standing there looking around and I saw her talking to her companion and nodding in my direction, and then raise her hand and give me the "wtf" sign. I WAS SO ANGRY! She could have just move a few steps from where she was standing to let me pass, but she choose to lean against the signage. I have nuthin agsint plus size ppl, but I think she was too much loh. Crude as it may be, I felt like showing her my middle finger at that point!

gingerleaf:

i totally understand where u r coming from. There are several occasions i met inconsiderate people. Especially in the lift ! There's once i was pushing the pram in to the lift and those people jus stood there not moving aside and i said excuse me but they jus stood there as though they are made of glass ! how do u expect me to push the pram in without moving aside and gave me the kind of weird look. Nowadays when i go to crowded malls i'll jus carry baby in his baby carrier =) However the plus size lady u mention was too much to raise her hand at u

blueskye, will do so. give me a little time to download his pic into my comp. started work yesterday. going crazy le. so much to do. so little time. sighs. saw my bb after 10 hours of work yesterday and i almost teared. common or not har? or am i too emotional? sighs....

gingerleaf, not that plus sized people are bad la. just some people are plain inconsiderate. plenty of such people around. quite sad actually. to think gov now trying to create gracious society. haha...wonder when will that come true.

welcome arisZ!

justme,
Sarah looks so sweet!! Love her hair...so long already! Hehe Jade's is like what benmum describes as "lalang' too! LOL!
Re swaddling, I read its best not to swaddle babies past 3-4 months leh. Maybe you can try to put a beansprout pillow on her stomach or let her sleep tummy down.

Hi arisz,
Glad to hear that you have got the complete set of Leappad system...
I'm sure your darling will enjoy it too...

I just placed my order. Unfortunately, many books are OOS... sigh

funny,

maegan got pattern wan lor... she smiles at us spontaneously when we tok to her.. but once the camera is out.. she hid her smile.

justme,

sarah sooo lovely!! her hair.. aiyooo so dark, thick and lustre.

gingerleaf,

if i were in your situation, i will oso get very angry. sometimes i wonder why cant some ppl be more considerate. i agree with vone too.. entering the lift with stroller, is yet another challenge. haizzzz

re: maneouvering prams in crowded places.

I guess that's why my hubby prefer to use the sling to carry the baby around. Easy to move around. And not cumbersome. But the bad thing is, her weight is putting a strain on my back now. Think she's almost 8 kg now.
My mum bought me a pram for sarah but I seldom use. Waste her money only....

justme: i'm so envious of sarah's hair! dahlia has enough hair to make up 1/10th of a moustache :{ i super cant wait for her hair to be thicker, i'll clip it as soon as it's clippable!

speaking about hair, i've chopped my locks to a decent-nonsense schoolgirl's length.. from long to my midback to above collar. i cannot tahan see my floor covered with lots of hair from the dropping
the last time i had hair this short i was still in sec sch...

re: prams/strollers

i have escastrollerphobia. if my husband say "let's go out! and bring down the stroller!" my heart will skip a beat, i will start foaming at the mouth and i will turn delirious. i dunno how to handle strollers on escalators, so we usually resort to waiting for the lift. i even suggested to my husband to let's go to the airport and practise our escalator + stroller navigation.

shotbyfau,

your post very descriptive leh.. i can almost imagine the foaming at the mouth part.. keke

re: strollers
sama sama, i can't handle stroller on escalators. being a mum of 2... i nv can make myself do it.
i tried practising on stroller with 'no passenger'... i am proud to say i fare very well. but once the baby is on board, my hands and legs start to shiver to liao. more than 3 years now, i still cant get over tat fear. so i really salute those mummies and daddies (including my own hubby and my helper)...

Re prams in crowded places,
I have to admit that before I had Jade, I was very irritated with prams - they took up alot of space, blocked main passageways, caused human traffic jams, and rolled over my feet! And I hated parents that will push their prams in crowded places like the Robinsons sale! But now that I have Jade hor...I'm one of these irritating parents! LOL!
So I don't blame ppl when they give me irritated looks...will just give them a smile and say sorry or thank you when they make way for me!

arisz,
Yeah cheaper to buy on the sprees right!! The system plus 6 books would have cost $280 in Toys R us! So you saved $145!

Hi shotbyfau & darmae,
I am also having the same phobia as u.. My HB is the one pushing the stroller up the escalator... Its difficult to use the lift sometimes, as it is always FULL... Cos some ppl just dont bother to walk up the escalator when they can do so easily.. Lifts shd be given priority to the elderly and parents with babies... Typical selfish Singaporean who never give way! I encounter plenty of times... Sometimes I just pushed the pram IN, and dont care if it rolls over anyone's feet...! I also started to have attitude-problem nowadays...

Re dropping hair,
From the way you all describe your hair dropping, is it really alot alot of hair? I am not dropping much hair leh. Or is it because I'm still breastfeeding so haven't drop hair yet?

Hi Angel,
The hairfall is due to hormone change, thus I dont think it is related to BF. Some ppl can be quite obvious, but some may not be affected..

Mine was quite bad, I wonder when it will stop..

I strongly believe tat my boy has started teething. He has very strong biting sensation lately... Everything tat goes near his mouth, he will bite... When we carry him, he will try to bite our arms.. I bought a cooling teether last night, will teach him how to bite on it.. His saliva is like water tap..

Re: prams
Me also will show face to people who dont give way.... cos some of these people are so "blind" to see the pram. I also cant handle the pram on the escalator, as i always get stuck at the end of it which will cause the people behind to panic, cos they are blocked by us in front....

Re: hair dropping
Mine quite jia lat leh.... every nw and then will see strands of hairs fall out, and when i wash my hair a handful of hair will gather at the discharge hole.... New year coming and i need to colour my hair... very scare will make it worse and hair fall will be even more....'Sigh'

i think depends on different people.. also not related to BFing. my friend was on TBF for 1.5yrs.. her hair dropped from baby aged 4mth to 11mths.

angel,

i see hair everwhere too... TBF too. i think like wat Em and shotbyfau said, hormone change an dependin on individual. i didnt drop tat much hair when i had my 1st one. this time quite bad... hv a small bald patch.
i oso fear to wash my hair.. tats the time i see the most of it

Hi rxsti,
I would prefer to stay away from chemical treatment like hair color, perm or rebonding, cos they may worsen the situation...

re: excessive hairfall
Before married, i think my hair fall was pretty bad. Now, I dunno how to describe it.

I have to use a tissue to sweep across the room to collect the loose hair. So sad. I even told my husband, what does he think of G.i Jane. Of course he'll say he'll still love if I go bald la.. but if really happens.. I can't imagine that day..

Shotbyfau,
I tot of chopping off my tresses too, but my hair has natural curl, think it'll be worse to manage... argh... Now that's its longer, I can just tie up my hair.

Guess the only way is to be less worried about hair fall and live the day as it is. Hopefully it would stop shedding this much VERY soon...

And hair fall as such could be hereditary... Sarah won't be happy with this when she grows up..

Hehehe, I oso cannot handle pram on escalator!!!! Really cannot handle it. Hb will push it up everytime.

re : cereal
Which rice cereal are you gals giving?
I saw the heinz baby first cereal and frisocreme. Dunno which to get. Can give reccomendations on the rice cereal you are feeding?

actually going up escalator with stroller is easier to manage than down escalator...both i manage to handle after a couple of trial and error.

shotbyfau,
why? managed to clear your work already ah? Now so free?? hehe.

My hubby brought baby out! Me free too!! yippee!!.. Times like this I should cherish, man...

Gingerleaf,
I bought Heinz Baby First Cereal; intend to give Sarah when she turns 6th month. Will add ebm to it. I actually gave her heinz apple puree yesterday. About 1 teaspoon. She's still having problem swallowing it, i think, cos, she kept on using her tongue to push the puree out. Maybe I'll stop giving her food for now. back to total breast milk diet.

For those mummies who have had intro solid food to darling bb, can share your experience??

yah actually bigboss not around so can eat snake
i started Dahlia on heinz parsip and sweet potato yesterday, she grabbed my hand when i approached her mouth with her colorful spoon! looks like she'll be quite an eater.

1226981.jpg

hey loop, upwards escalator, we shld lift up the handle of the stroller to support, downwards escalator, we shld tilt the handle of the stroller downwards. Hmm...understand what i mean?