(2007/09) September 2007 MTBs

I went to the warehouse sales also. Bought quite a lot! but the girl girl clothes nicer leh...those of you with baby girl really should go down take a look! I even bought some juz to see which cousin or friend I can give to...hehe!

Thanks Poohwei for the info!

cookie monster:

i think u got to join network "singapore" first to be able to join the sept mummies grp if im not wrong

hey! the list is coming very well! still short of 2 mummies real names:
bubu_mama
jme

phoebe, u have tiffany's and jacqueline's surnames too? i think dramaqueen's full name is Daphne Yap. Have her on my fb. =D

cookie monster, u have to join singapore network first, then can join september mummies =D see u soon!

funny76, can i confirm that ur real name is sharon lim too? =D (cos of ur email....hee

loopbusrides, ur real name is fau shotbyred? no la right? can furnish ur real name? =D

maegan finally poo tdy... although at wee hrs. i thot i was dreaming when i hear some 'explosive' sounds.. keke, yearn for her to poo soon. sure enuff, when i got up to check her in the cot. hehe..

angel,

paisey, i juz noticed... u were asking abt her weight, hee she was 6.6kg nia 2 weeks ago. small hor? i din measure her cos the scale at home not digital.. diff to see the decimal

darmae,
WAh maegan poo liao after so many days must be lots and lots! LOL! Hey she's 6.6kg...not small lah..in average healthy range mah!

Atinarin,
Oh no your girl really sounds so poor thing...so heartache for you
I think if its an infection better give her the antibiotics otherwise it won't be cured...and it will just drag her pain longer leh.

ben mum,
JAcqueline surname is Lim if i can rem clearly =p
Tiffany is doris lew according to facebook =p

Congrats darmae for volcano eruption =p
tat time ryann never poo for 7 days i also like you every day waiting and waiting =p

gratz darmae, for maegan's poo poo! lol...
emily, can have ur surname too?

still awaiting loopedbusrides & jme & bubu_mama's real names and joycespirit & goldfishy's email addresses and we are done! lol...

altogether 36 mummies...

funny76,
Your baby is a happy baby!!! isnt it so nice to hear babies laughter... all the unhappiness all gone after hearing babies laughter... =p

Any mummies gg away in the next few months??
I need a travel receipt with a min cost of $500.
Willing to exchange with diapers or wipes.

Phoebe,

Hahaha...yeah...she laugh a lot n make noise a lot too...she will let out a laughing squeak quite often when we play wif her... yeah...heart will melt when they give u their innocent look...n everything is worthwhile when u c their smile n listen to their laughter...

Hi Angel,
Oh, the photos are taken in a house, not studio..

Hi Ben Mum,
Irene Giam is my colleague.. She has 2 kids, both delivered in month Sept

After much anticipation, Jade finally did her first flip! BUT her hand kenna stuck underneath her stomach and she can't get it out. How ah? Should I move her hand for her or let her figure it out herself?

Funny,
Your piglet is so adorable!! My Miss Piggy today eat pureed pear (after 3 days of rice cereal). She was all smiles after it coz it was so sweet! The minute the spoon leave her mouth, she open big big again for more.

Hi Angel,

Shld let her figure herself...will learn faster n be more independent...

Hahaha...thks! Wow...she must hav luv it....gd for her...after tat can try apple pureed liao...

that means at 4 months can really start on solids huh?

my MIL is really driving me nuts...everyday nagging that we should give her stuff to eat...repeating about giving honey and glucose even though i said no...that day she wanted to give mango..

now the blame is on me that i said dont give...

sigh if they were so concerned about my bb, where are they now when she has a huge plaster on her infected BCG?

Wish my hb could see them for what they really are.

ic emily...=P
thanks loopedbusrides. =D captured ur name.

still waiting for bubu_mama & jme & joycespirit. =D

i will ask my pd on 30 jan whether to give ben solids and what solids can he start on if he can. =D then will decide with mil on what to do later.

angel, congrats! my ben still not reaching out to grab stuff and no inclinastion on flipping yet. o well, just have to leave it to god.

atinarin, dun be too conerned about the nagging. jus ignore it. my hb taught me that. u have the final say really. =D

Hi Funny,
Thanks for the tip on flipping. Ok so I will leave her to figure it out for herself...hopefully she does!
Re food, what has your little piglet eat liao? I'm thinking the next food on the menu for Jade will be a vegetable. So that she doesn't get hooked on sweet stuff. What's good to start with? Carrots?

Ben Mum,
I dunno if this makes a difference, but these few days I've been putting her on the bumper mat during playtime, so maybe its harder than the bed/sofa and she can get more 'leverage'.

angel...hmm....think have to set up a play area for ben liao. then see how he can learn. sighs. me going back to work liao. so little time!!!! argh!!!!! GOD help me pls!!! grins...

atinarin,

According to the firstfoods book, honey cannt be consummed by BB under 1 yr. Can't remember something in honey is bad for BB....

Angel,

I give my little piglet spinach for her 1st try for veg...Carrot is the second choice...I might try green peas nxt time....Hahaha...

Ben,

Dun worry...each BB got their own character n strenght....

funny,
I read that we shouldn't give baby spinach also leh. Must wait till after 1 year old. Not sure why though.

Hi Atinarin,
I think its ok to introduce solids to your baby when she shows the 'readiness signs'. It may be 4 months or 6 months...some say earlier is better because the baby will take onto solids better and the iron stores deplete, but some say wait longer. So its really your decision...don't let anyone pressurise you
Look for these signs:
- Can sit up on her own.
- Can turn her head away to show she is done.
- Can move food to the back of the mouth and swallow it without pushing it back out with her tongue.
- Eyes and grabs food from your plate.
- Seems interested in eating solids.

Ben Mum,
I know what you mean by so little time!! I'm going back to work in March..can't believe the past 5 months flew past so fast!

I just did up my 'play corner' for Jade too...moved the furniture around so that I can put the bumper mat in the corner away from 'main traffic'.

angel,

dunno leh....the firstfoods book state spinach is 1 of the recommended puree leh...I juz follow...they recommend a few type of puree for 4th mth onwards...Like tat huh, then I stop giving liao...gave her twice liao...

A sudden question came to my mind ... do you all experience such that when your babies sit upright, they tend to "or ni" (vomit out milk)? My Jordan always seems to "or ni" when he sits in his bumbo ... but when he sits in his walker or exersaucer, he's ok leh ... wonder why.

funny: cannot consume honey cos it causes botulism. when i tell MIL she says things like i gave everything to my sons they are fine what.

i try to ignore but hearing everyday takes a toll lor

something i picked up from the internet....on botulism =D

Have you heard of food poisoning? It may sound strange, but you can be poisoned by food, especially food that wasn't cooked or preserved properly. Botulism (say: bah-chuh-lih-zum) is a serious kind of food poisoning, but fortunately it's also very rare. Only about 100 people get it every year in the United States. About 295 million people live in the United States, so that's not very many.

What Is Botulism?
Botulism can be caused by foods that were canned or preserved at home. Maybe you've had fruits or vegetables that someone picked from the garden in the summer and jarred so they could be eaten during the winter months. These foods need to be cooked at very high temperatures to kill the germs.

If not, bacteria called Clostridium botulinum could cause botulism in the people who eat the food. You can't see, smell, or taste this bacteria, but it releases a poison, also called a toxin. This toxin travels through the blood to attach to the nerves that control muscles. Six hours to 8 days after eating contaminated food, the person may get sick.

Many botulism cases occur in infants, and experts think that's because their digestive systems can't protect them from germs the way an older kid's or an adult's digestive system can. Infant botulism can happen if a baby younger than 1 year eats honey, so it's important that babies don't eat honey until they're older.

What Does Botulism Do?
Botulism stops the muscles from working, so someone with botulism needs medical care right away. As the toxin spreads, muscles become weak all over. Many people feel queasy and may throw up or have diarrhea. Other symptoms can include:

difficulty swallowing
difficulty speaking
droopy eyelids
double or blurred vision
trouble breathing
What Will the Doctor Do?
After hearing about a person's symptoms or examining a baby, the doctor will probably test the blood or stool (poop) for the toxin. The doctor also might do a spinal tap or other tests to be sure. A person who has botulism will have to go to the hospital, where he or she can be watched closely. It can take a long time for the person to get better.

Preventing Botulism
Kids aren't the ones canning food, but if their parents do, they can talk to them about the safety rules. And kids also can remind grown-ups that babies shouldn't have honey. There's one more thing kids can do to prevent the spread of germs. Can you guess?

atinarin, show this to ur mil? i am sure she will listen. else, when u go see doc / pd, ask them to tell her.

there are a lot of things we no longer do now compared to b4. like powdering our kids for e.g. last time our mothers always put powder after bath to keep us dry when we are bb. but now, pd say no powder cos it causes asthma. will be different now as more info are known about disease. =D

funny,
your gal is vv happy. u r a great mum
i see her pic also smile

my running nose is better liao..hubby left last night for biz trip. so i'm crossing finger. hope both girls can cooperate.

nynke still having the running nose. it's been abt 10 days and her med is finishing soon. pd said she shd be ok by sat but today already sun leh...i'm switching her to chinese med. hope she can recover soon. hear her difficult breathing so heart pain.

wow, a lot of mummies went for the shopping ...all babies sure look pretty pretty during cny

i've added nynke's 4 mth old photo in fb liao..enjoy.

bluesskye, my boi will er ni when his stomach is not stretched out. which means he may be leaning forward and his stomach is pressed. then he will er ni. i normally make him sit up but lay back on which he will then try to move his head upwards, as tho doing crunches....=d

sickening.... i listened to my hubby and missed the So-much-talked-about warehouse sale..... not in the mood to even talk now...

she doesnt listen...then repeats the same thing everyday. if not to me then to hb.
she could even tell me not to listen to PD.

atinarin, juz ignore your mil la...is she educated? sometime all these old folks myths and beliefs maybe good but sometime we juz listen and forget about it. If she juz doesn't listen to reasons, then listen and ignore! pardon me for being rude...

RE: Elderly suggestions / advice on babycare.

It's tough to refuse their advice. I think i have to resort to using PD's name as to not to listen to their strong suggestions of certain matters.

RE: Childcare

Can I know if any of you mummies are already looking into placing your babies in childcare in 14 months to come?? Just want to know whether its too early to start looking into it now. Will there be waiting lists for some centres?

Ben Mum:
Thx for making the effort to compile the list. lol im blur when i see my friendlist dont even knoe who's in my friend's list too.

Justme:
U're thinking of putting ur baby in infant care? Not going to look after her yourself anymore?

Advices from elders:
oh i also got alot of advices and mostly bfing. Initally i was so upset and angry when they make such comments teaching me what i should do and that. Now i jus "orh" and give a smile.

justme,
not 'kiasu' lah..u have your bb's interest at heart adn seriously, those gd centre needs to be placed on waiting list so u r right to start looking around and find out more.

funny, u stay at punggol too? looking forward to meet up at PP leh..

hmm..i think i will send out an email today to give u all the nicks in forum and real names and email addresses. still short of 4. but i think the list is quite comprehensive le. =D

U ALL HAVE EMAIL! =D

Hey, Jordan can sit unsupported for a good 10 secs+ today! He did that a couple of times before he fell to his back or side. Heeee ... so cute ... reminds me of my gal when she first learnt how to sit (I still have that video clip with me).

angel,

yeah, i'm sure u can imagine hw much poo awaits us. but so long she poo.. the mess is history. keke
6.6kg like quite small leh, seeing so many babies here avg around 7-8kg.. your baby Jade, top the list.. keke

phoebe,

ya lor, no poo very worrying lor. heng man

funny,

your bb really look alot like u leh..

ben mum,

thanks for the list!!!

morning mummies! its monday again! time really flies...another 2weeks to CNY, need to finish up spring cleaning soon.

wah never login for 3days got so much posts! aiyah missed the warehouse sale liao...so sad, i also shopping queen one, hehe...nowadays go shopping sure end up buying something for my girl! maybe its gd that i missed the sale otherwise sure heavy damage again!

re: crankiness at night
dunno wats wrong with my girl leh, for the past week she hasn't been sleeping well. she used to sleep at around 10+pm and only wake up for feed at 5+am then will go back to sleep till 8am. but nowadays, she only sleeps at 11+pm then will wake up at 3am and 6am! yesterday, after she finally fell asleep in my arms at 11+pm, she suddenly woke up crying very loudly at 12+am. her cries were diff from her usual cry, very sharp and pitiful type and i cannot coax her even with latching...usually she will calm down once i latch her but this time it doesn't work, in fact she screamed louder when i try to latch her! so in the end can only carry her and rock and sing to her before she finally slept due to exhaustion...whats wrong with her? story still not over yet as she again woke up at 5am but managed to latch her on and she went back to sleep then after an hour same thing happen again, so latched again! i wonder if its due to growth spurt or bcos she is unwell? she is still recovering from flu. any advice?

me too didnt login for 3 days.... busy at work and busy with baby at home.... no time to login.

mummyfaith, my girl also like that.... will cry very loudly as if kena pinch like that in the middle of her sleep. Can only be coax when hug her tightly and rock her.... thru' out this screaming, she didnt open her eyes.... i reckon it maybe due to over playing during the day or before her bedtime, then nightmare.
My girl also change her sleeping pattern, she will wake up around 2am for another feed and 5am for another feed.... Last time used to sleep from 10+pm to 5am.... Dont know why too??