(2007/09) September 2007 MTBs

Pinkyi, I usually let my boy ek ek ek ... he usually "testing" first and his ek ek ek will persist for a while before it became real crying. I only carry him when he cry until very loud and the cry is continuous.

Dramaqueen & Irene: Hi i'm just popping by,to read for lesiure..Dr Edmund is indeed no good! He is receommended by my gynae when my son was born so i bring him for follow up (when he is a few days old). i ask him y my son mouth dont really close tight got a little open when sleep,will the wind go in then? Guess what... he ask me to give him pacifiers lor!!! So angry!!! So improfessional! Since then i never use him!! And super ex too!!

My son is now 20 months and his PD is Dr M P Ng in Mt.E...we like him cos he is more experience and much older. I'm staying near bukit ho swee and my gf stays in jalan mebina also bring his son to the same PD. Highly recommended.

Sorry to interrupt the thread. I have 3 cans of 800g Dumex Mamex Gold Infant Formula Step 1 to let go @ $20 each. Expiry in Jul 2009. Self collect at Potong Pasir. Pls note price is already the lowest I am willing to let go. Kindly PM me if interested.

tks!

Atinarin, my PD is Dr Ong Eng Keow from Singapore Baby and Child Clinic. But I don't quite like going there ... so will be going polyclinic for my boy's jabs from the 3rd month onwards.

hi atinarin,
my elder one is seeing Dr Koh from AMK SBCC. HE's quite old but v experience and we'll most probably bring the baby to him when we get back s'pore. the only bad thing abt that clinic is the long wait.

Emily, Wiselyn, Pinkyj,
Looks like we have the same PD. I'm staying at hougang and also seeing Lilian Lim. Yesterday brought son to see her as he's been vomitting quite excessively and a little collicky. She gave medicine for both the reflux and colic. Agree that she's very nice. Turns out that my son is overeating a little. He's only 4.5kg but taking 140ml at some point. Now she suggested keeping it in the range of 90ml.

I met a mum there who brought his 2.5months son for appointment. He's only taking 90ml of breastmilk per feed and is a whopping 7+ kg. He looks really huge. Wonder how he did it..

Thanks all..can i have Dr Lilian Lim'ss number?
I called the SBCC at AMK and was told that the 6in1 can be given from 6weeks onwards, not 1 month, and it also depends on baby's weight, which has to be 5kg at least. Anyone heard of this?

Called KK and the package is $450. SBCC is $150per dose.

Amy: I went there once when we thought bb had diarrhea and we saw Dr William Yip, he's from Gleneagles. He was prettynice but yes the clinic is super crowded.

Hi i_bless_u,
I agree with u & i dun find him tat experience compared to the pd in TMC & his charges are really more ex than the rest.

Hi Dramaqueen,
Thanks for the info

actually whats the great difference between a PD & GP?

i just bought my son to the GP to do his 6 in 1 jab, she also did he baby development assessment. so I am really confused.

baby is excatly 2 mths today
weighing 7kg & 59cm .. anyone around the same weight? I forgot to ask GP how much should baby be drinking

hmm...let me guess lar...PD are specialist to see young baby...special qualifications on...for GP...they can do the basic checking...but further monitoring they dun have the qualifications to do lor

hi mummies..
long time no post le... really super tired looking after bb and doing houseworks ever since cl left..no time for myself at all..luckily hubby is willing to help..
hate looking into mirror now.. flabby tummy, arms, thighs.. 7 kgs to lose.. saw photos taken me and bb.. think my eye bags bigger than my eyes le.. with hair tied up, out of shape figure, tired face with huge eyebags and dark circles.. look so auntie-ish..quite depressing..
bathe my bb yesterday and she was lying on the bed naked.. looking at her flat chested round stomach fat thighs flabby arms figure..then joked to my hubby that i am feeling better now as there is someone whose figure is lousier than mine..

as my massage lady last minute put me aeroplane and couldnt find the contact number that was given by one of you mummies ( so sorry forgot who le ) tried to look back the postings and search until my eyesight blurred.. now thinking whether still effective to have post natal massage as i heard it is for getting rid of winds and not fats..how to know whether we still got wind in our body? any other ways to get rid of the wind if not going for the massage? can check whether any mummies here did not go for any of the massage? any c-sect mummies already started jogging? pai seh got so many questions to ask..
btw heard from a relative who is also a doc that best let bb sleep on their right side after feedings cos something to do with their stomach and intestine thingy.. never really ask into details.. hmmm dont know how true..will have to ask pd..

Hi <font color="0000ff">atinarin</font>..

Dr Lillian Lim's contact # is 6881 1711. Clinic opening hours is as follow:

Mon, Wed, Fri - 9am to 3pm, 7pm to 9pm
Tues, Thurs, Sat - 9am to 3pm

Closed on Sundays and PH.

I just brought my son there for the 1st jab of 6-in-1 today. The package is $440 including consultation fee.

Din hear baby must be 5kg in order to take the 6-in-1. My boy is only 4.8kg.

Hi <font color="0000ff">Bena</font>..
Oh, what a coincidence!

Btw, my boy is 4.8kg and he is only taking 100ml per feed. I asked Dr Lillian if this is too little, and she said its OK.

She is indeed very nice and patient too. I asked her strings of questions today when I bring my son there for jab. She cleared all my doubts. Most importantly, she gives me a sense of assurance!

Hi <font color="0000ff">pinkyj</font>..

If he is crying, I will pick him up. Sometimes baby cry in their sleep, I think they r dreaming.

Sometimes, he just 'ek ek ek' for attention.. I will monitor him for a while, sometimes he will stop... If he cries further, then I will pick him up....

emily, my boy also taking around the sme amt as yours...

he seem to be taking less these days.... initially was 110ml every 2hours. now its 110ml every 3 hours... so strange

baby piglet.. wah.. ur bb is really big ah... as for how much bb shld drink.. u take 150mlxweight/no of feed per day..

bena, did u wait long? usually have to wait for 2-3hours if u walk in.. unless u go there before the opening time and q...

Atinarin,
I think the formula is x kg x2.2x2.5x30. This is a rough guide of how much baby should be taking. Of course some babies take more some take less

Blueskye,
Your boy really has a good appetite! Managed to increase your supply to meet his growing demand?

Pinkyj,
I think I waited 1 hr..
I went at nite

Pinkyi, if I take your formula using my boy's 1st month weight, he exceeded his milk intake by alot leh. He should be taking only 87ml but he was already drinking 100-120ml then.

blueskye, i dunno leh.. this is how the pd calculated the other time.. try using bena's method?

bena, that's fast..
the other time i have to wait 3 hours.. took a cab there jus to take a no then to take a cab back again.. and it happened twice!!

Hi <font color="0000ff">pinkyj</font>..

3 hours? Wow! That's longer than waiting for my gynae!

Can we call to take a Q number rather than just go there take & come back?

I went there at 12:30noon today, I dont see any patients wor.. So, I went in to see Dr Lillian straight away.

emily,
tat's the prob... we cannot get a q number via the phone.. the the first visit we got appt.. so didnt really wait.. then the 2nd we took a cab there to only be told tat we have to wait for a min 3 hours.. then asked us to go home first.. then we take a cab and go home again..then the 3rd visit i called to ask whether there's any q.. then the staff told me only 3 people.. so i went there within half an hour to my horror.. i have to wait for 3 hours!!!!!!!!!!! arrggggghhhh!!! then take cab back again
esp at nite and on weekends, better to go early to q before the clinic open...

bena,emily & pinkyj,

for your info, if got appt,will not be waiting for too long...newborns get priority..and sat is a busy day for them..so go weekdays afternoon the best liao

Still confused over the formula leh ...

Bena: Yah, my supply seems to have stablised. Sometimes when I'm outside the whole day and I hardly pump, my total supply won't be much affected.

abt how much baby is taking..me also facing a problem now. SHe's 5 wks old, was on 3 hrs interval direct breastfeed and per feed she'll suck for 10mins. last week, she started demanding every 2hrs and each time only suck 5 mins..I tried expressing out and give her and she takes in only 2 ounces, if force her to take more, she'll vomit. she's definitely growing but I'm just concerned that she's demanding feed so regularly at 2hrs that it'll be hard on my mil who'll be looking after her. do u think i shd stretch the time and let her cry so that maybe she'll drink more and demand feed onnly 3-4 hrs later?

hi amy, when she suck for 10mins, you mean each breast ? so 10, 10, total 20mins ?

anyone knows when should they stop wearing mittens ? i remember mrs wong mention not a good idea if wear mittens for too long

Hi Pillow, usually mittens and booties wear for 1st 3 months. Of cos it's up to individuals how long you want to let you baby wear.

Amy,
I think there was a post by Angel on your situation previously. I think it was suggested that you prolong the feed interval slowly by giving baby a pacifier for say 15 mins, and always ensure that baby gets the hindmilk by getting baby to finish the first breast. I think it also mentioned that baby should nurse for at least 20 mins on the 1st breast but I personally think it can be shorter since some babies are so efficient they can actually empty the 1st breast in a shorter time.

Bena, stable but not really increasing.

Btw what's with the hind milk?

I'm feeling like a zombie now! Been losing sleep and worse, my elder one has high fever. Gotta wake up a few times to sponge her.

long time never come into this thread. Happy to know that all of u are doing well.

my son is about 8 weeks now. taking abt 130ml ebm every 3 hrs. Last week, i increased his feed to 150ml ebm and he kena reflux. We din see pd but from my experience with my no.1, it is impt to burp well and hold the bb upright for 15mins after each feed. Now bb sleeps on reclined position. so much better!

bluesky,
When cl was around, i expressed at night. after she left, i tried latching him but after that still got to pump cos he only takes one breast. have been doing that for the past few days.....so tiring.

hi amy
i stay in punggol.

RE: noises in the sleep.
anyone has the same encounter?sometimes it gets so noisy that i cant go back to sleep.

Blueskye,
You don't need to increase lah.. yours already very high. But if you really keen to increase maybe can pump more or latch baby more lor. That's how I increase. Actually was thinking of taking a nursing vacation (ie spend the whole day in bed and do nothing but sleep, eat and latch baby skin to skin). This can help to increase milk supply. But now baby kena reflux and doc say he overeat, I have to pump and store the milk instead. (Now actually over supply cuz his demand reduce!) Hope you can sleep more today.. really peifu you.. must take care of the older one too on top of a demanding baby..

Hindmilk is breastmilk of a fatter content that comes in at the later part of latching (normally after 15 mins or could be earlier). It keeps the baby fuller and can last him a longer time before his next feed.

hi bena, apparently not too gd to wear mittens too lng as affect their counting ability/ development. cant remember the exact stuff mention by mrs wong

Bena, compared to my supply when I had my first one, it's not very high lah. I still can't achieve above 200ml in 1 pump. So far highest is 190ml and that's after 6 hours. Last time I remember I can pump 270-300ml in the morning one.

Actually if possible, try not to freeze the EBM cos I read that the leukocytes will be killed with freezing. So now I will try to pump "fresh milk" for my boy. Only the night ones I will freeze cos he's on 1 FM feed.

I take off her mittens in the day for a few hours so she can discover her facial features and flex her fingers.. still don't dare leave it off for 24hrs coz sometimes she gets excited and starts to touch her head and all, and baby's head's still soft so a bit worried lah.

But so far she's taken to mittens being off quite well, with the occasional poking of her nose and eyes heh. But really cute to see.

I haven't post for a looong time. Been very busy with baby, solely taking care of her plus the housework and cooking... very tiring.
Just to enquire, any of your precious ones having colic?? how do you get by with the crying bout??

Oh btw my boy's t-zone very oily. Don't remember my gal's one being so oily last time leh ... anyone of your babies also oily? I even used the blot paper to wipe and alamak, so oily! Even more oily than my adult face!

Baby piglet,

Mine also coming 9 weeks at 6.3kg 59cm.. Aso took 6 in 1 jab with GP.

When are we meeting up? Me going bac to work tomorrow so cant meet u during day time liao..