(2007/09) September 2007 MTBs

hi rxsti,

do your baby look fair type n so red spots tend to be vv 'visible'? they r tiny ones? not those milk rash rite? if they do subside i think shd be ok. u still taking confinement food? just dun take too much ginger stuff n see if it helps.

amy, she's not fair, and the redness will subside but the tiny spots still there. she has some around the eyebrows, side n back of her ears, little on the side of her neck, will it be milk rash? dont know how milk rash look like.
Ya im still taking confinement food but inake of ginger is minimal.

Has anyones baby bathe with guiness stout beer during the first n second month? According to my CL, it will help to detoxicate the baby and afterwhich her complexion will b very good and will not get heat rash. Anyone has tried? is it true? My baby already bathe for a month, but still has some spots on her face.

rxsti, the red spots might be milk rash or heat rash... jus clean the face with warm boiled water every day before u bathe her.. keep the area clean and u'll see it improve in jus a few days..
and also apply abit of moisturizer on her cheeks..

rxsti,

the guiness stout beer thingy never hear of it before leh - can i know do you fill the whole bath tub with the beer or mix some of it with water?

and must it be guiness brand? or can it be abc brand or other brand as long as it is stout??

Checked with my CL liao. Apparently the stout is to make skin smooth and also reduce the chances of bb getting flu/ cold when he's grow big (to "toughen him up")

Just add abit of stout to the water.

Haha! Told my hubby and he say he will go ntuc to buy stout to try for bb's evening bath!!

The small spots are baby acne. My baby has it on her face and body too. Will go off in a few weeks.

Heard about drinking beer to increase milk supply. Friend did it but i dont dare.

My girl screams at every bath, anyone of you face this too?

hi atinarin

my boy sometimes will wail during bath time esp. if i bathe him in empty stomach, haahaa! Think the reason why they scream is b'cos they feel insecure naked and also feeling cold. My boy will grip my tee tightly when i bathing him, scared of slipping down i think, hee hee! Try to talk to your baby during bathe time and tell her you're cleaning which part of her body as you progress.

oh atinarin, i brought my boy for 2nd dose of hep B jab today, we're going for 5in1 first ..and then progress to 6in1 during his 5th mth. It's better this way as baby won't develop fever esp. during 1-3mths where we're still learning to cope with baby and imagine baby down with fever, we will panic even more as 1st time mother. My boy is 4.6kg now.

Hi <font color="0000ff">Voice</font>..
Let me know how's baby sam doing after the job.. I will bring my son for job this coming Tuesday, a bit worried that he will become cranky after the job due to the discomfort...And also he might be crying & screaming after the jab, worried I cant calm him down!

Regarding bath, yeah, my som too feel insecure when he is naked, and scared of slipping down.. Normally, I bath him abt 1hr - 1.5hr after feeding & a short nap. His mood will be the best after feed & sleep, then he will not cry during bathing.

I also did the same as u.. talk to him when I bath him, and tell him which part I am cleaning.. I started to enjoy the bathing session with him..

bluesky: ya thats what i thought but her CL told her to and apparently it helped cos it contains yeast. Her kids are 5yrs old alraedy now. No problems.

I tried alot of means and ways to calm baby down but she still screams. The moment i start dresing her, she is fine.

I didnt know the 6in1 causes fever, you mean can go for 5 in 1 first then 6 in 1? Did you take your baby for the jab when he was exactly 1 month old? Im confused about the jabs and about where to bring baby too.

atinarin, 6 in 1 has a higher chance of having a fever.. 5 in 1 u have to take the hep b jab seperately lor.. means more needles for ur bb.. u can either bring her to a pd or to the polyclinic or even gp to get the jab..

thanks pinkyj: dont know who said that at the polyclinic the dosage is lower?
So at 1 mth i bring her for hep B 2nd dose right? then 5in1 on the same day or..?

I haveo nly brought her to the SBCC at AMK once not sure to go back there or the Pte clinic at KK.

atinarin,

if you going for 5-in-1, think its like that:-
1st mth: 2nd dose of Hep B
3rd mth: 5 in 1
4th mth: 5 in 1
5th mth: 5 in 1

If you going for 6 in 1. think its like that:-
Can choose either 1.5/3/5 mth or 2/4/6 mth
1st jab: 6-in-1 including Hep B 2nd dose
2nd jab: 6-in-1
3rd jab: 6-in-1

Think the diff is that you save on the Hep B 2nd dose jab oni.

Fever: think the chance of it occurin either for 5-in-1 or 6-in-1 same. Apparenetly, some pple think hvg slight fever is good - cos it means body is reacting accordingly to the foreign cells.

atinarin, i would recommend to take the 6 in 1.. lesser jab for bb.. not so heart pain.. my gal was okie aft the jab.. no fever..

hi atinarin

The package with my PD is as follows.

$400 Vaccination Package:

1st mth Hep B
3rd mth 5 in 1 (DTP, HIB, Polio)
4th mth 5 in 1
5th mth 6 in 1(incl. 3rd dose of Hep B)
15mth MMR
18th mth 5 in 1

Optional Vaccine Rotavirus (2 doses, to be taken 4wks apart)

Taken at 3rd mth & 4th mth OR 4th & 5th mth

Optional Vaccine Peunmococcal

Taken at 7th mth 3 doses
Taken at 1yr 2 doses
Taken at 2yrs 1 dose

Rxsti,
If the spots is like those tiny pimples, perhaps you can try wiping the face with Chinese Tea. Damp the cotton ball with chinese tea, then wipe over the spot. It works for my girl. :)

Hi <font color="0000ff">vicki</font>..
Yeah, u r right. For 6-in-1, Hep B is included, this means less jab (less pain) for the baby.

I am taking 6-in-1 for my son, first jab will be 1.5 mths.

Hi <font color="0000ff">pinkyj</font>..
I prefer less jab too. Less pain for our baby, and save time for us. Where u bring ur gal for 6-in-1? How much is yr package? Mine is $440 including consultation fee.

Regarding milk rash..

I think its pretty common in infant.. What I do is I clean my son's face with warm water in the morning and before he sleep.. Change her mittens too, baby tends to rub her face and mouth and the milk causes the rashes...

I think baby's skin is delicate, try not to apply anything on them, unless prescribed by PD.

I drink a lot of coconut juice & bird-nest during pregnancy. I think it helps. My son only has a few milia on his face, no heat rash, red spots etc.

hi all, just wanna ask if any of you encounter your baby not shitting in a day or 2? my baby is mainly on formula, sometimes some breast milk. however, since yesterday till today he did not pass any motion yet. im getting a little worry. He is 3 weeks old.

layla: my baby is coming to 4 weeks and had the same prob, on formula mostly and that day she didnt poo next day she pooed but after crying a bit. Like she was constipated. Now her poo is only once a day.

My girl is coming to 5 weeks old. Recently, i realised that she is sleeping for a longer interval and drinking less. In the past, she drinks ebm every 1.5-2 hours and sleeps for 2 hours max. Now when i latch her on, she will sleep for 3-4 hours for 10 min of latch on. Is she drinking sufficiently?

Also any mothers who experience baby crying frantically at night for no apparent reasons? For 2 occassions, she cried for almost 5-6 hours from 11pm onwards..Gonna break down soon if this continues for months. Luckily hubby decides to help soothe baby also..

poohwei, if ur gal is satified, most likely ur hindmilk kick in quite fast.. then its calories filled.. if she's puttin on weight and is healthy then there shouldnt be any reason to worry.. as for the cryin.. if u've done everything tat u can and she still cries.. she might be colicky and there's really nothing tat we can do except to soothe her as much as possible... this is my 2 cents worth...

mummies who have tried bathing their babies with stout, how do u do it? any difference after the bath? how many times to bathe the baby with stout? thanks

Thank pinkyj!
Just hope that my gal will cry less at night.

Hi Dramaqueen,
i stay at the new block of flats opp Redhill Station.

poohwei, can understand.. my gal would sometimes cry for no apparent reason and it can be quite frustrating...

my gal has been very cranky durin feedin time for the past few weeks.. always cry and cant seems to drink well.. and always dun finish her bottle.. she shld be drinkin 120-150mls now.. but sometimes she cant even finish 110mls.. and jus this evenin, she vomitted 3 times.. like got phlegm... bringin her to see her pd tmr..

poohwei,

hav u tried gripe water.. My bb sometimes will cry for no reason but if i notice properly, she fart and cry harder so i gave her a teaspoon and it work wonders...

she gradually stop her crying...

Me long time no post liao cos my everyday routine is to feed bb, change diaper, sterilise bottles etc... lack of sleep ever since bb is born & seems like really no time to log in & chat
but everything is worth it once u see ur little ones smile at u

Hi Dramaqueen,
I'm staying at Telok Blangah Heights nearby to redhill & tiong bahru.

May I chk with those mummies staying nearby which pd did u bring ur bb for 6 in 1 jab? I've brought my boy to see Dr Edmund Koh at tiong bahru b4 but we dun really like the way he handle bb so i'm still sourcing out for one nearby. Let me know if u gals know any other good pd around thanks.

Hi <font color="0000ff">pinkyj</font>..
Oh, so qiao really! Dr Lim is good, I like her a lot. She is patient in explaining things & kind to babies too. I read a lot of good reviews abt her in this forum.

I am bringing my son to see her tmrw for jab.

R u staying in Sengkang too?

Hi <font color="0000ff">Poohwei</font>..

I agree with puppygal. Perhaps u shd try gripe water. It is very soothing and helps to relief baby from stomach discomfort due to wind.. Or try to swaddle her..

If the crying continues for more than 2 days, perhaps u shd bring her to see a PD.

Hi mummies, how was your weekend?

Btw I manage to latch my boy in church yesterday! Thank God for nursing room! At least I could nurse him behind closed curtains and I managed to secure the "best seat" (the one facing the wall and no one can see).
I still don't have enough courage to nurse in public though. Think my "actions" not fast enough ... also, I'm wearing polo tee so have to flip up my top ... can't be as discreet.
Sometimes see other people nurse in public like very easy like that ... don't think I can ever do that.

hi vicki, poohwei n irene,
i m staying at the flats opp redhill mrt. its great to know dat there r sep mummies staying nearby.

poohwei
i m at 74A. u?

irene,
i bring my 2 children to c Dr Edmund Koh. Rachel who is 27 mths liao dun like him cos we brought her to him to suck out her phlegm so she doesn't like him. upon Charlene's birth, i asked for him from my gynae cos he is nearby so easier to do follow up. the previous pd Rachel was seeing upon birth gave me her wrong blood group of which i was really upset of this mistake. He told me she is O+ but she turned out to b O- which is a very rare blood group. I only discovered this mistake prior to discharge when i was given the health booklet.

blueskye,
i gave charlene gripe water but v diluted.

mummies who have tried bathing their babies with stout, how do u do it? any difference after the bath? how many times to bathe the baby with stout? thanks

Hi Dramaqueen,

I m also at 74A, 6th floor. My family doctor: Dr Ang says that he charges only $89 for each dose of 6 in 1. Dunno if it is the same type of vacinnation as that at the PD. Will be bringing my gal there.

Think i will monitor my gal for a few more days before using the gripe water. Last night, she did not cry much, just cry becos she wanted to be carried around..but at a wrong timing (3-6am)

hi Poohwei

i will b visiting Dr Steven Ang for Charlene's injections as well. Great to know dat we r staying not only near each other but in the same block as well. we can even visit each other!

hi poohwei,
we watched a prog in hospital in usa that told us that baby will cry for no reason n its a norm. the peak is at 6-7 wks. just let them cry out n try going out for walks, or a drive etc. for my girl, now 4 wks plus n i learnt that she cries vvv loudly when she wants to sleep. usually wails for abt 5 mins then suddenly stop n eyes close..

hey, any mummies at punngol area?

hi emily, i'm stayin in sengkang too!

mommies, do u let ur bb continue cryin or attend to them when they suddenly cry for no reason or when they wan to sleep?