(2007/09) September 2007 MTBs

Voice,
Hahaha I don't see it as KSism...its a necessity for the linguistically challenged

angel: i like that..linguistically challenged...haahaaha!

arisz: tks for confirming that as well.
I just don't want to let Sam go thru' learning chinese during his pre-school years and later when enrolling for P1 and found out 'alamak'..he can't learn mandarin, that would be the ultimate!

voice, i have a pupils whose mum is Ch but Dad Malay, shes studying Chinese cos they wrote in about them being separated but funny thing is they are not separated.
heheh can write in for exemption but pending approval lah.
SHould be ok, the harder cases are Filipino pupils who ask for exemption completely. They need to study 3rd langs like Spanish etc.

pillow..the chinese class for 3yrs old are more of a fun type lah, not the writing one i think. Am waiting for Berries to send me their ciriculum information.
For our background, Hubby dunno how to speak chinese, I ended up conversing mainly english at home too, else Samuel cannot communicate with the maid (whether indo or filipino)...then how? hee hee...so hope he can pick up mandarin the fun way and loving it.

atinarin: then i think they lied their way thru' so that their child can be enrolled in chinese class. At least i cleared with my old school, other races can opt to learn chinese as 1st language.

Hi Pillow,

Just to share...I bought a Combi side by side double stroller when Ryan was born but I decided not to use it anymore coz of safety reasons. Coz the stroller is wide and its just nice to go through my front door. And one day when I was pushing them out of my door, which is quite a challenge because the wheels of the stroller must be aligned straight otherwise it will be stuck and can't go through, then while I was 'navigating', Ryan suddenly sticked his hand out of the stroller and luckily my hubby was alert and told me to stop pushing otherwise I think his arm would have been badly injured. So I decided not to use it anymore just to be safe.

I think a front/back double stroller is safer to use. But the ones I saw at Mothercare and Kiddy Palace were all very bulky and I didn't like the fact that they were still HUGE after collapsing.

Now I just bring one stroller out when we go out. I tell Jade she is not a baby anymore and must walk. I'm using my trusty old peg perego pilko P3 which I bought for Jade, and usually Ryan will sit and Jade will walk. There is a platform behind where Jade can stand. But if she gets tired, I can pull the back down so that the stroller is flat and Jade will sit in front and Ryan will sit behind Jade.

Oh btw,
You may want to check out the Caboose...alot of mummies are raving abt it..allows an older child to sit behind or stand. I'm not sure whether I want to spend so much $$$...and I don't think Jade will want to sit and face me...haha!

3356828.jpg

re: chinese

we to read chinese to natalie, but she only sits for 1 min, close the book and move on to fiddle other toys or pick other english books for us to read. she does not seemed to be interested in listening to stories in chinese.

However, when we try to converse in mandarin to her, she will try to respond in mandarin, in very funny ang moh tongue. my parents in law are so amused when she speaks mandarin to them. Wonder how i can spark her interest in chinese. =)

mummies who enrolled your little ones in Berries, pls keep us posted if they are good. thanks.

Fyi just found out from my doc that the pneumococcal vaccination is now compulsory. Babies have to take 3 jabs...each jab cost $150!

Atinarin ,
I'm not sure...Jade already took it when she was 18 mths. I don't know if they're going to make it compulsory for older children too.

atinarin, don't you think there might be a reason to have this jab being made compulsory?

hence should consider getting the jabs?

Hi Atinarin,
Just passed my driving test earlier this week. First attempt... now struggling to drive my hubby's car!

How about your course?

Emily: COngrats! I passed too, mid november. But I suddenly feel that passing was the easy part, I totally cannot make it when it comes to driving now, only driven twice.

How to park without poles?!

Hi Atinarin,

Congrats to u too! You must drive more often now

As soon as I passed, I bought a P-plate and stick them on my hubby's car and started driving.. Parking without poles is challenging.. At my place, there are car parks with two walls beside it... I treat the walls like poles and park the same way I did at school.. haha! Haven't have guts to park in multi-storey carpark yet.

I drove into KPE too, so scary... most of the cars never give way, especially during morning peak hours... I need to drive more often to gain confidence in driving...

My car is coming end of this month...

We havent gotten a car yet, i dont really dare, in case i mess it up, thought of getting a 2nd hand one.

Dont know leh...when i drove my BIL's manual car, somehow it was so hard to handle. guess i was too used to the Honda at the SSDC already.

Feel like buying an auto already. Is yours manual?

Hi Atinarin,
Mine Auto, cos I took Auto lessons too. I'm used to Toyota Vios at CDC... now when I drive my hubby's car, it's an Altis, it's kinda difficult too.

Auto car is best lor, easy to drive. I actually miss my driving lessons and instructor at CDC. Learning driving was so much fun! But actual driving after that is stressful!

Oh I did manual so everyone thought its great i passed, not easy blah blah but then i think actual driving is worse.

I actually drove at the lower pierce area, with the stupid slopes and i couldnt get the car over the hump! Embarassing! And another driver kept tailgating me, at the hump! So silly scos the P plates were up, like doesnt that mean STAY AWAY? hahah

People usually dun give way to P-platers! haha! That's what my hubby says.... I was driving at 70km/h along KPE, and a car also tailgate me.. Most importantly, just drive safely lor..

Aiyo, my hb doesnt wanna get manual so i thought of getting my own car.
But yes, will take loads and loads of practice.

I jsut have a terrible sense of estimation when it comes to whther my car is straight or not and etc, when parking.

But hey, I am happy for both of us. At least no more of paying so much to the driving centre!

Hi Atinarin,
Yes, I'm so happy for us too. Driving is a life skill. I should have learnt it earlier, but I'm just too lazy!

Anyway, from March next year, parking will be without poles... much better, right?

THought its from January, yah my instructors told me its easier to learn that way, just need to see one point and then full lock or whatever.

Driving test is from March 2010. But new learners now will have to learn parking without poles. I dunno how they teach now - maybe look at the white line, kerb or whatever..

In fact, I'm also thinking of refresher course.. take another 2 lessons to learn parking at multi-storey carpark and driving in expressway... But my instructor told me no need, I shd just drive... Refresher course is slightly more expensive than Class 3/3A course at CDC...

oh u mean there's really a refresher. thought thats for those who got their license eons ago.

I got my official photo license in the mail yesterday! haha

Emily, tinarin, Congrats! Congrats!!!

No need for refresher course. Driving is more of experience, the more you drive the better you are.
That's what I think la

Hi Atinarin,
There is! It's actually for those who got their license years ago, but no confidence to drive. But new learners also can take. The numbers of lessons are not fixed, so maybe 1 or 2 will do lor. I just want to practise the actual parking!

Wah, you got your photo license already! So fast?

Hi Arisz,
Thanks. Haha! The refresher course is just an excuse for me to go back to CDC. I know I'm silly.

Now, when I drive, my husband sits beside me like an Ah-Beng instructor..
making me more nervous!

Haha! Emily, you can do it one!

Just be more gung-ho...with more driving, you will find that driving at 70km/h is a little slow and who knows, you may be driving at 100km/h very soon.

Arisz: You are actually spot on with that. Practice makes perfect but boy is it tough to gain confidence.

Emily: What all my friends say is that they CANNOT drive with hubbies mext to them.

On my first drive out, my hubby was terrible! Worse than any instructor i ever had! Sarcastic some more. Second lesson he promised not to be strict heheh

Atinarin - I agree, hubbies are the worst instructors! My hubby told me - if people never give way, just horn them! Let them tailgate, if they bang us, they will pay!

Haiz..
How to concentrate driving like that?! I miss my CDC instructor!

tinarin, I wouldn't mind sharing but then it is really with experience leh.

I remember when I just had my license, I drove my Dad's car and was practicing parking with my mum as my 'instructor'.
We just drove around the carpark and keep doing parking for the whole afternoon.

Then after that, within a week, I drove from west to east coast with my friends.
I'm pretty gung-ho when it comes to driving. So if you ask me, be confidence and practice a lot!

I also remember when I was learning to drive, the instructor ask me to go at 70km/h on main road and I was like 'huh' so fast! That's scary!

But after getting my licence and lots of practice on expressways, I find that 70km/h is pretty slow. Keke

Emily, hahah! Till now my hubby still say the same thing as your hubby leh "Let them tailgate, if they bang us, they will pay!"

I guess man are like that!

Emily, Atinarin,
CONGRATS!! We have another 2 Mummies drivers on the ROAD!!
Don't be afraid when on the road. The Male drivers on the road always look down on Female drivers!! So show them we can!! haha...
Recently I got comments from hubby that I m getting more CAN on the road than last time!! heee!! YEAH!!!

Emily, in time to come, you will be as daring also! Hehe...coz you have your own car and you probably will drive often!

Hi Arisz,
I'll need to send Edison to nursery in the morning next year... have to drive almost everyday liao... Grrrr!

Btw, you coming for class this Saturday? I got something for u..