(2007/09) September 2007 MTBs

Hi amy..
Are u working or SAHM?

For my maid, she will only take care of Edison at my MIL's house.. Dun expect her to do any houseworks there... She shd be cleaning my house instead.... cos I scared she go report to MOM said she is working at 2 residential addresses...

goodie. =D went to see PD on friday. and she warned me to put ben on the floor or in a cot. immediately last weekend, my IL went to buy a mattress with good back support for my hb and me and placed it on the floor next to ben. feel so paiseh that they dun wan us to pay for it aso. =< in my house, ben sleps in cot. so not problem there...

gd morning all mummies, never post for so long but hv been following the thread almost everyday.
juz to chk my bb keep bitten by some insect (definitely not mosquito) cos the red spot is not like mosquito, there is like a pus like on the centre of the bite, but nothing came out though &amp; a bit hard when pressed. wonder izit poisonous
everytime spotted the bite, will change her bed sheets, my bed sheets (cos her cot is next to my bed)....but still after a few wks, kanna bite again

emily,
me on NPL for 1 year, so officially starts work 1 jan 09. abt maid, one of my gf gave me a very good explanation abt getting maid to do stuff at mum's place. she also have same arrangement to bring maid and baby over to her mil every morning. maid does simple housework there when baby is sleeping, to her so long as maid does not do anything when coming back to her house at night, then it's reasonable that maid does some stuff at mil's place. i find that reasonable too so at agency, I told them my requirements and also phone interview the maid and told her the same thing. when i went to pick her at agency, i told her again that she has to go ah ma's place and do some stuff there, like washing dishes and tidying up of the rooms when baby is sleeping. as for my place, maid will then clean it during sat or sun then.

bubumama, after changing bedsheets, do u clean also the floor underneath the bed? spray any insecticide ? my sis told me to do that cos my elder one also have such bites previously.

hi amy
my hubby did, he vaccum the whole place using our so-called powerful rainbow.....it works after a while, then 1-2 wks later, another few bites again on my gal thighs (only).....so my mum was saying maybe is becos the urine smell attract those bites. so now don't know how to rectify.

hi radiance

wow,yr BB is drinking well leh. so envy.

Abt wipes, i m still using Piegon wipes and i found it very gd. When bb poo, we will wash the buttock.

Voice, so it is OK to feed bb fish now? Any comments since ur family in this business?

I oso send my maid to IL place, beside looking after the bb, she oni help to wash the dishes. When she arrived, the agent oredi told her hv to go Ah ma hse. Most of the time she's very free there lah... dozing off while siting there ; p

Peapod, how is caelen now? Swell gone down?

bubumama, could the bites come from bed bugs? if they are, u will need to "steam" the bed with a steam iron. my colleague had the same problem with her bed. only after steaming did the bites go away. may need more than 1 steaming.

Hello mummies, question on porridge:

How do you all cook Porridge? Use Slow Cooker or over the hob? Do you blend the rice 1st? Brown rice, Japanese Rice or ordinary rice?

mummies..
is it true that i must use new rice to cook porridge? i went to ntuc yesterday to look for it but couldnt find it leh.. can anyone advise which brand to use and how to know it is new rice..

crawling...
my girl can crawl since last month le but i only allow her to crawl on the playmat and mattress... any mummies allow their babies to crawl on the floor le.. so scare that she might knock her head on the floor but think cant be always so protective otherwise she never will have the chance to venture onto the floor.. dilemma..

maids..
hmmm..was just wondering whether we can bring the maid ourselves from indonesia without going thru agency.. cos got indon frens so tot maybe it is better for them to find a good maid on my behalf..

hi atinarin

when i was a nurse, i helped to prep some of my patients for angio b4 and was involved in their pre and postop care.

i suspect u going for cerebral and not coronary angio right? not sure if it's similar though (i observed coronary once before in OT) involves inserting a small flexible tube, (catheter) into an artery (groin area artery is big and easily palpable). The catheter is moved through the artery to the large blood vessels just above the heart. i think for cerebral angio, a dye is injected and this is carried in the blood to the arteries in the brain where pictures are then taken to map the arteries (bloodflow)of the brain. it is a very straightforward procedure as the dr will be guided by a 'xray' machine.

postop wise, patients are advised to rest in bed for 6 hours to watch for bleeding in the groin. a pressure dressing will be applied. parameters taken hourly for 6 hours to watch any changes in blood pressure esp.

hope it helps!

row, just posted on ur post. really not sure of the sizes i have indicated are correct. i go home and measure him again ok?

jme: it's poss to bring in maid on your own but the documentation and everything u do on your own lor ... v troublesome leh and if got prob, u may get stuck. but if u don't mind, it's possible cos my sis managed to do it! i heard that some smaller agencies willing to help u process the documents for a fee. not sure which one though ...

star: my mum don't intervere in bb's diet, i will tell u when i feel baby is ready for fish. I will only start bb on porridge around 8mths, and will try out chicken, beef and fish. I seldom hear ppl allergic to fish leh. Last time we also dirty eat, dirty grow up, hubby &amp; me don't have any allergy history.

re porridge
i use the slow cooker at home but my mum uses the hob. think both works fine. i don't blend it.. i cook it until it's nua nua. using normal white rice. that's me lah .. dunnoo right or not also...

Fau, yes my baby same as yours, he will flip while sleeping, but the problem is when he flip over, he will wake up and start to crawl, I am so worry that he will fall down from the bed.

Even when I am breastfeeding my baby by lying down position, he will latching on and then flip over and he still able to latch on my breast, later he will start to climb over me and latch on top of me. Any baby also doing this?

Hi merkon..
Sounds scary to me. Atinarin is really a brave mum...

Hi Atinarin..
I visited the temple at Havelock Road last weekend. I prayed to God for your good health and speedy recovery. Hope you will recover very soon.. To me, you r a very brave mum...

Hi Row..
I ordered a Nissen set through BP before CNY. But until now, I still havent receive it..
1360297.gif

Heard from the organiser, BiBi Woo, the supplier kept delaying the schedule. I hope you have a different supplier. Else, headache!

merkon; thank u!
Yes mine is cerebral...doc said there are risks though...

then during the procedure, i can move my arms and all? i cant stay still type.

and how do they take pics? theres an xray machine over my head/under?
what if i feel cold?

btmum, tks for ur info on steaming. actually my hubby did did a "cleaning" on both our mattress + bb cot mattress using the rainbow, is a kind of machine to "suck" out the "internal of the mattress" it seems to help a few wks, after that came back again....think the "insects" is really powerful
kao_frustrated.gif

re : porridge
I using Zi Sa guo/ slow cooker.. using pearly rice from ntuc or short grain rice

re : fish
a lot of books or site said it might cause allegic reactions hence better to wait till 9mth/1yr older

BTmum, xie xie ni, u measure then comfirm with me lah.

Emily, what u buy from her? now is the time for the spring/summer design release, so should not be any delay. CNY time still winter leh no summer clothes wor, unless she sell the 07 design lor.

hi BTMum,
we use a cotton bud, soak the tip in hot water and after it cool down we use it to tickle her anus but need to be gentle hor. we dont usually do it unless she dont poo for 3 days.

hi amy,
where did your hubby last saw the beco in usa my hubby cannot find it leh....he's on the way back from the usa now but he will be flying to san francisco next mth. I wan to buy see all the comments oso gian liao...

shirley,
wah.. your bb can climb on top of you and latch on!? cool!
I tried to put sarah on my chest when i lie down and she looks uncomfortable when she tried to latch. hehe..

re: poo..
sarah hasn't poo for 3-4 days now...=(

bubu mama,
i hope you don't have bed bugs. Its one of the notorious hitchiker and so bloody diff to get rid off. One of my relative's house is infested, now i dare not go there. cos so diff to find them! the last time i go there, me bb and hubby had a ritual dance.. and all our clothes we submerged in hot water. anyway, do check the seams of your mattress and look out for little bugs. They won't spread diseases but their bites are quite ferocious. usually their bites looks like trails...
good luck!

Hi Row..
I'm not sure what is the design/season liao.. its the Nissen Bear Set... anyway, just hope that by the time I receive it, the size can still fit!

Hi Voice..
Ask for refund, hafta follow-up and check my account blah blah blah... so never mind la, juz wait..

If Edison cannot wear liao, I will give it to my friend who will be giving birth next month.. hehehe..

Yoooo gals, so in the end you all met for lunch? Sorry lah ... wasn't in office whole morning cos was out training. Next time wanna meet for lunch have to arrange earlier cos I need to check my training schedule etc.

Em: your maid can also help to clean ur MIL plc abit lah, you tell ur maid, where edison goes, she must go cos' she is taking care of him. Where Edison is, the place must be kept clean. So no reason why she can't do some cleaning.

Hi Voice..
MIL said nonit... she prefer to clean the house herself... cos she worried the maid will break those "antique" in her house.. so let her be lor...

To occupy the maid's time when Edison is sleeping, I will get her to wash his laundry at my MIL's house &amp; cook porridge for Edison...

Good day mummies..
on porridge again, we are told to intro a new food to baby for 4 days to see if she have allergy rite, then what abt veg say spinach?
i tot of trying out porridge with spinach bt do i have to individually let her try the spinach 1st??

Julia, Hv you ever let ur bb tried out only porridge? if so and there is not allergy, u can add anything on it and try out for 4 days.

atinarin: Drs will always tell u there's risks cos there's no such things as 100% safe operation. but it's more risks vs benefits at the end of the day. if the benefit for u to go for the procedure outweighs the risks, then we have to take the risk.
the xray is not exactly an xray it's actually more like a camera imaging tool so the dr can actually see where the catheter is going. don't think it's v cold in there. anyway the procedure shouldn't take too long so shd be tolerable.

atinarin, ..u vvv brave. pray pray for u. be strong hor..we all here for u.

re porridge: the 'new rice'- i bought from those grocery shop that sells these rice by weight. has been using this rice as my mum and sis said the porridge will be more 'gluey' and taste nicer. i tried myself, indeed true. only need 1 teaspoon of rice grain, place into the slow cooker (the mini ones). I have a aerogas 'zi sah guo', got it free when buying canned abalone cubes during CNY and it's doing a great job with the cooking. till date, i only give nynke plain porridge. since she is sick, i will add new stuff for her when she's well.

corrine, for the beco, we were at vancouver washington then. USA vv big, so it's actually quite difficult to bump into anyone using such carrier..even pouch sling also dun really see pple using there. i believe my hubby saw it when we were at seattle actually as now that i recalled back, we did see a mummy carrying a pretty big boy on her back and another mummy, think her sister, carrying a baby with another. beco is the IN thing here leh...buy lah..hehe..ask Ginger..she 'endorses' it liao ..

bubumama, hmm..could be bed bugs too...only bite your girl or you and hubby also got it? confirm at your place? any plants around?

sigh, I am waiting for May to arrive. Seems like forever. Waiting for the stocks to come in and distributor to alert me. I hope to be the 1st to order!
nowadays, i always look at beco websites... salivating...