(2007/08) August 2007 MTBs

Now then i got a bit of time reading the posts before going out for a meeting..
Btw, I have been nauseas since my AF was late until today..

Chatty,
U went home at 11pm?
must be sad not seeing james for 3 days rite? I normally try to go back on the dot, dunt want to miss the chance of playign with meg keke.. I dun think i could sacrifice my sleep for studying at nite. I cant concentrate if i dun sleep well..
And I need at least 6 hours of sleep every nite, the more the better kekekeke

about my studies, i think i pend first... dun want to think too much about it..

An_gal,
U also know first before hand? :p haha

Babyspike,
thanks...

Zhu
no need to envy me... u can try also

Zhuzhu,
just wait hehehe.. enjoy ur "rest" time now..

Woof,
it's more like allergic I think , maybe towards the office carpet.. when I say I am allergic to office, I meant it literally hahahaha...
Yesyes, as if they know if they get caught up they will be in trouble so must be quiet kekeke..

Wise,
sorries I didnt know CLara got hit by HFMD.. glad she's better.. no wonder u MIA for long..

Jenny,
I envy you going jakarta hahaha.. I wanna eat indonesian food all the time.. so far I found Garuda is overpriced and not so indonesian padang food.. Of course Sari Ratu is best.. So far I think ayam penyet is still very indonesian.. of course different style of dishes, but still it's more original than garuda..My friend told me at arab st area got Warung Lele which is all Lele one!!

nining,

no worries..i didn't tell alot of people abt Clara's HFMD...anyway it is nothing serious and she had fully recovered

re: kitchens
i made it a rule tat my boy cannot go into the kitchen or the toilets himself leh. so dangerous. the glass and water and all... =P
will warn him once he nears the place. if he goes in, i will scold and carry him away. now SOMETIMES he will listen and stop just at the threshold and sit and wait for me to come pick him up. and i really stress SOMETIMES. haiz...think they juz like to test the limits. =P

Hmm…I want to vent something

Most ppl will have prob with MIL but for me its my FIL

He is too doting to my boy…cannot tahan him…

Eg. Sometimes I wan to leave him cry a bit but my FIL will quickly say “go to ah am or come to ah gong, ah gong sayang”. But yet I cannot say him back cos he will say bb cry for too long not good.

Then i want to leave my boy play by himself, with him ard cannot one lor, he will go and play with him, then when he tired, he will pass to my mil. Like bully my mil like tat..

Then he smoke one, so when he go out smoke, he will say “ah gong go cho yen, phuu phuu” then now my son know the smoking action. When he see my fil go outside, he will make the action and the sound.
At 1st is cute but I think now is too habit liao. Scared when he grow up, will pick smoking at a young age

Then now my boy learing to walk mah, so normally, we will hold one hand then walk right, but he say cannot only hold one hand, must hold 2 hands.
cos now he walk a bit slant mah, so he say is cos we always hold one hand.
But how to hold 2 hands?? My waist will break lei, then some more cannot see where I am going….

Arrgggg…sorry for the long post…bottle up very long liao…

wiselyn,
Then I must say 2808 babies are fortunate to be still drinking breastmilk. Either that or the mummies are lazy to change to formula milk.
I would say i'm lazy but it's not good for my body cos I haven't been eating enough calcium for my own body.

plums: in case you gals haven't fed your babies plums, now is a good time. I just bought US Sierra Sweet Plums from NTUC. It's really sweet. Kai Qi loves it. Me too.

Garuda: that's quite ex. I suppose can only eat it if really have craving for authentic Indo food then.

Garuda: oh. not so nice ah... Oh well, then I don't bother trying then. hehe... I heard the Ayam Penyet from Lucky Plaza is nice is it?

jenny,

for me is cheapo...FM too expensive liao...i think for me also the same...i am taking enuff calcium for my own body...

Miaon,
I plan to put safety gate to my kitchen door, and keep bathroom doors closed..

Choco,
my dad is like that too! but can only say they just want to ensure their grandchildren have the best whatever.. sometimes they forget we the mommies also want the best for them too.. to our parents we're still children hahaah..

thanks for the advice on my milk expression. the strange thing is it's suddenly back to normal again. maybe i went for a massage and body wrap session yesterday, so it helps me to relax.

my boy is still learning to walk, not steady yet, he also alternates between holding our finger or pushing our hands away, but he will fall. Am celebrating his belated birthday this weekend. Here's some photos of my boy: http://family.webshots.com/album/561205887oNTwem

hi choco
i also have issues with my MIL and FIL & my hubby from time to time. sometimes fel very upset but too complicated, dunno how to share. they love $$ to the extent that family ties, love etc, all not v impt, and super biased, love only boys, look down on woman. i'm quite fearful they will pass on their values to my boy, so hoping to send my james to childcare next yr.

choco,

I understand how pek chek you are. smoking is actually very bad, even when your FIL smokes outside cos when he comes back in, still have the particles so your son is exposed to passive smoke, which is bad. and from young he learns that smoking is ok cos grandpa smokes...

walking slanting: I don't think it will have an impact on his walking.

nining
so did u like explain to ur dad??

hazel
thats bad lei...haiz, ger or boy also babies mah...

jenny
ya, i know but cannot say him lei...he is those hard core smoker...
so next time when my boy do the phuu phuu, do u think i should stop him??

walking slanting, i think there is no prob so i continude holding one hand but i just buay siong he say that lor...

can't wait to move out

choco,
My mum also the same pattern
Recently my parents are staying at our place as their house is undergoing renovation for 2months.
my mum will "rescue" my gal whenever i'm scolding her.. same thing " ah ma sayang sayang" then if my gal cries when scolded or stopped by me from doing something naughty, she will go " sayang sayang, beat mummy beat mummy!"
so now whenever my gal is up to some mischief, like touching the socket, she will scare my gal with "cannot, PaPa (or mummy) ta3 (beat) or ma4 (scold)!!!" thou she is my mum, but i dun like her trying to "win" attention of my baby as she ever sounded unhappy of my baby wanting my hb more than her..
And when i leave my gal in the playpen to play on her own, she'll "ah ma carry carry, babies need to be pampered!!" arghhhhhhh

Choco,
no lah I dont have the heart hahaha.. oh my dad hates smokers!! first interviews with all his then to be son in law was: ARE U A SMOKER??? kakaka..

my dad is very soft hearted, every time he got new grandchild, sure cry one hahaha.. He also cried when each of us (me and siblings) got married.. I guess tears of joy..

i guess the older folks still doesn't know where they should stand as grandparents..always wants to over-rule the parents authority...that is one of the reason why Clara is in infant care rather then under the care of my ILs.

but there is a saying...grandparents are here to love the grandchild and parents are to discpline them..so what can we say??

wiselyn,
good say. i agree, grandparents are here to love them, we are here to discipline them, haha!
gals, whatever it is, remember grandparents are definitely better then maids.

an article to share !

当我老了

当我老了,不再是原来的我。请理解我,对我有一点耐心。

当我把菜汤洒到自己的衣服上时,当我忘记怎样系鞋带时,请想一想当初我是如何手把手地教你。

当我一遍又一遍地重复你早已听腻的话语,请耐心地听我说,不要打断我。你小的时候,我不得不重复那个讲过千 百遍的故事,直到你进入梦乡。

当我需要你帮我洗澡时,请不要责备我。还记得小时候我千方百计哄你洗澡的情形吗?

当我对新科技和新事物不知所措时,请不要嘲笑我。想一想当初我怎样耐心地回答你的每一个「为什 么」。

当我由于双腿疲劳而无法行走时,请伸出你年轻有力的手搀扶我。就像你小时候学习走路时,我扶你 那样。

当我忽然忘记我们谈话的主题,请给我一些时间让我回想。其实对我来说,谈论什么并不重要,只要你能在一旁听 我说,我就很满足。

当你看着老去的我,请不要悲伤。理解我,支持我,就像你刚才开始学习如何生活时我对你那样。当初我引导你走 上人生路,如今请陪伴我走完最后的路。给我你的爱和耐心,我会抱以感激的微笑,这微笑中凝结着我对你无限的 爱。

Wiselyn
that is exactly what my MIL said hahaha she's there to spoilt Ike and when she's gone hubby and I must make sure Ike is back to good boy hahahahaha...

twinkle

THE article so touching.
haiz tats why i also did not talk back to them. i guess have to bear with it now. once i move out. i will be firm.

Sorry to disturb.
Anyone uses Bliss confinement agency before? Any feedback? Appreciate with sharing ur experience with me. Pls PM me. Thanks!

Hi I am also a august mummy and just wish to translate twinkle's article (as it is very meaningful)

attempt at Translation:

When I am Old.

When I am old, when I am no longer who I used to be, please understand and be patient with me.

When I spill soup on my clothes, when I forget how to tie my shoe laces, remember how I taught you patiently when you were a baby?

When I keep on repeating myseld, please be aptient and listen to what I have to say instead of interrupting me. Remember how I had to repeat myself many times before you learnt?

When I need you to help to bathe me, please don't berate me. Remember how I had to try all means to bathe you, when you were a baby?

When I do not understand or slow in understanding new knowledge, please do not laugh at me. Remember how I patiently answered your every "why"?

When my legs are weak and need help walking, please use your strong hands to help me walk, like how I used to help you to walk when you were a baby.

When I can't remember what I have said during a conversation with you, please give me some time to remember. Actually, the topic is not important. As long as you are beside me listening to me, I am satisfied and happy.

When you see me grow older and older, please do not be sad. Please understand me,support me, just like how I used to when you first started to learn to live. Please be my side like I how I used to guide you in your life.

In the course of showering you with love and patience, I will smile with gratitude which shows my limitless love for you.

meng

good translation...manage to catch the essence of it.

guess with elderly, really must know how to strike a bal btw firm and not rude...

backt o a lighter topic...would like to introduce a chinese book written by the 'my paper' photographer.
its a compliation of his blog entry on the preg and birth of his boy since 2006.
i find it very interesting and have very nice photo..

this is his blog..
http://blog.omy.sg/jiuhukia

nining,

for you...but what i type might not be able to bring out the article 100%

当我老了 = when i am old

当我老了,不再是原来的我。请理解我,对我有一点耐心。
when i am old and no longer my old self please understand me and give me a bit of your patiences
当我把菜汤洒到自己的衣服上时,当我忘记怎样系鞋带时,请想一想当初我是如何手把手地教你。
when i spill soup on my clothes,when i forget how to tie shoe laces, please think of how i teach you

当我一遍又一遍地重复你早已听腻的话语,请耐心地听我说,不要打断我。你小的时候,我不得不重复那个讲过千 百遍的故事,直到你进入梦乡。
when i keep repeating what you have heard thousand of times.please don't interrupt me>when you were young,i have no choice but to keep repeating the stories that have have said hundred of times till you fall asleep
当我需要你帮我洗澡时,请不要责备我。还记得小时候我千方百计哄你洗澡的情形吗?
when i need you to bath for me, dun reprimand me.Remember the days when i need to try all means to get you to take you bathe
当我对新科技和新事物不知所措时,请不要嘲笑我。想一想当初我怎样耐心地回答你的每一个「为什 么」。
When i have problems with the new technologies.Don't laugh at me. Think of the times when i use to answer you "why"
当我由于双腿疲劳而无法行走时,请伸出你年轻有力的手搀扶我。就像你小时候学习走路时,我扶你 那样。
when i can't walk because i am tired,please hold me using your hands.just like what i do when you were learning to walk
当我忽然忘记我们谈话的主题,请给我一些时间让我回想。其实对我来说,谈论什么并不重要,只要你能在一旁听 我说,我就很满足。
when i forget what it the topic we are talking about.please give me some time to recall. To me,the topic is not important. Most important is that you are around to listen to me. And i will be very happy(glad)
当你看着老去的我,请不要悲伤。理解我,支持我,就像你刚才开始学习如何生活时我对你那样。当初我引导你走 上人生路,如今请陪伴我走完最后的路。给我你的爱和耐心,我会抱以感激的微笑,这微笑中凝结着我对你无限的 爱。
When i grow old, dun be sad. Understand me, support me just like what i use to do to you. Last time i bring you towards your life.Now,please accompany me towards the rest of my life. Give me your love and patient. I will be gladly and smile. This smile contant my endless love for you.

Mengmeng & Wise
thanks so much.. yes that's what I feel about parents exactly.. I only knew that I know very little of what my parents have given me after I gave birth.. I cried when I saw my mom waited for me for the whole 28 hrs labour, outside the ward.. After I could I kneeled down and kissed her feet.. during my wedding I did kiss my parents knees but that's more like because of tradition, I didnt do it with my heart knowing the meaning.. after gave birth I was totally humbled ..,

choco,
dun take it too personal.

My FIL dotes on my girl a lot, but he is also a smoker, so what i do is just to close one eye..
i ever told him smoking is not good for the brain dev of young children, but sometimes he still smokes while feeding my girl (my sis told me when they came over for a visit during holiday).
I hate him smoking, but what can i say, coz i am dependent of him to take care of meg.. anyway, my hubby also grew up with his dad's smoking around him and he is alright, so i just keep the positive mind, i think those probs could only be solved when i am the sole caregiver for my kids..

I hope to be one, if finances approve, and if i really could sacrifice my career..
i dunno, in time to come, i might have different thought.

Haiz my fil going to come in nov again, and meg's gonna be exposed to smokes.. think of it makes me feel uneasy..
again what to do.. i believe he has no meaning of harming meg, but he got the needs to smoke...

an_gal

yap, then we should meet often and the boys play..

not taking it too hard lah, but need to let it out cos cannot complain to hb...he side his parents one.

he always brainwash me that if i made him choose btw me or his parents, he will choose his parents.
cos he is a techew and also a MCP...hahaha

Twinkle - very touching! I nearly want to cry leh...very very touching...i think of my mom....

So what I always do is when my mother nag about this and that, i just listen and when she complain about others to me, then I will also listen...when they are old, they just want someone to listen to them...

That's why my mother always say if we are filial, in turn, our kids will be filial as they are looking at our reflection?

coolzy,
My MIL will help me. I told her i want to employ a maid, she said dun need, she doesnt like maid

My next plan is to be a sahm when #2 is 1...

choco - my hubby also sure side his parents...like i sure side with my mom lor...he always say i very biased towards my relatives or people i like..whahaha

Anyway - my advice is to just vent it out here and then forget about it cos everyday you still need to face them..then if hubby do not side with you after you tell him, then will quarrel so what for?

gold piggy, an_gal
ya lor, dare not tell him too much...so i ren ren ren...until i buay tahan liao so i vent here lor...

thanks for being 'listening' ears