(2007/08) August 2007 MTBs

zhuzhu - me too, not staying with her. MIL insisted not staying with us cos she say not easy to stay together..heng arh..haha - though it would be much easier for me so i no need to ferry my son back and forth everyday

sandra

my son poo very 3-4 days, but that is is pattern since 4mths. pd also say as long as the pattern is there its ok.
when he is young,he dun poo poo for abt 8 days then i bring to pd, and pd advise to dilute FM. so now if the instruction say 6oz with 6 scoope, i will put 6oz with 5 scoope

i had a table calander at my coffee table to monitor his poo poo days, and i think that is very useful.

the usual stuff to help will be prunes puree, somone mention b4 that there is fresh one that we can buy but up till now i still cannot find

next is drink more water/juices

anything to think abt is could it be the FM?someppl say certain brand is more 'heaty' then certain brand so ultimately its still depends on the baby

Help! I have not been giving my boy any biscuits / teething rusks to bite until recently coz his teeth are finally out and he needed to learn how to bite/nibble. But he seems to take more interest in banging the rusks/biscuits ard leh. If I hold it for him, he will “test bite” it. If I let him hold it himself, he will resist me pushing the rusk to his mouth for him to bite.

Good is that he does not anyhow put things in his mouth, but hor bad is that he still dun really know how to bite leh. In fact, he only likes to eat pureed stuff. Too chunky and it will take AGES to feed him not to mention he will choke and vomit out everything.

Anyone got similar situation can share how to overcome it?

miaon,
Ike was like that too when I first intro chunks to him. What u can do is do very soft veggie although chunky, so once entered his mouth, he can munch using his tongue and the ceiling of his mouth. Also, make sure it's soupy, i.e. not thick plus chunky.. but hoor IMHO they will come to wanna learn themselves, ie. by refusing soft food.. Ike's been doing it when he's ready to move on, i.e refusing food.. so I change texture or add new stuffs, then he will take again..

miaon - i think you can start giving now? It won't be too late, and also, no matter what, he need to start now liao..so even for vegetables all these stuffs, including fruits, don't puree for him anymore...give him in small small portions...let him learn..

Sandra, if he's not heaty due to constipation, its ok right? Cos i heard babies do not poo poo everyday as they grow older?

If you are really worried, try giving him prune juices or raisins? Might help them poo? Yes and have to drink more water too?

glee, thanks. hope my baby gets well soon. im a worried mother.

miao, brave of you not to give medication. us always go to pedia if any signs - even for rashes.

nining, you are lucky to have your IL to buy sutffs for Ike.

zhuzhu, im also impulse buyer at times - well most of the time specially stuffs for my bb.

choco,
Thx for the blog. Will go peep at your stories..hehe

miaon,
My boi won take food wif using his hands too, he will hide his hands at his back if i force him take the food. He will move his mouth towards the food which i am holding or open his mouth wide ready for next feeding...so lazy

cola,
did i see wrongly, ur fil online? he so advance ah.. my mum know nuts abt PC haha

goldpiggy,
wah.. ur mum can take the shopping queen title liaoz..

zhuzhu,
i tink now u more angry then serene liaoz.. cool down.. go drink a glass of cold water hehe

nining / goldpiggy
so i just perservere in giving him the chunky food and biscuits? they will eventually learn to bite issit? my boy loves soupy stuff. once he was cranky from lack of sleep and fussed terribly when i feed him pastey puree. but once i mixed more water and it become soupy, he finished the entire thing?!?

Sandra,
Give him more water, it helps to soften the stool and hence easier for her to pass the motion.
Juices might help, or try to give him more vege? (i.e dump some vege when you cooked the porridge).
Apples (fruits) might help as well.

If Meg didn't poo for 4 days (which is very very very very rare) and i can see that she was struggling hard to poo, i will pump her anus already.
Normally my girl poos every day, at most 2 days. sometimes twice a day, during lunch and dinner! Her poo is rarely hard, most of the time is mashy and really smelly.
She drinks quite a lot of water, and will have a portion of fruits every nite. i.e. bananas, mangos, or pureed apples/pear (coz they are heard to chew - bo ge - cant chew that much, and apples and pears are quite hard, so must puree).
Her porridge has always had vege inside, be it chinawong bok, carrot, bai chai, brokolli, or sweet peas.
I guess she has enough fiber to digest the things inside.
You might wanna try.

Miaon,
I think better start early to let him eat some chunky food ler.. if too late, next time he wont like rice.
Why not start with sth soft, like mango dices?? it's very nice and i think all babies here like it rite?
Adult oat is also a good alternative, very chunky yet soft..
or banana, dun mash it, cut it into half a slice, or diced it.

Jessel,
hope you bb gets well soon.
I also dun really bring bb to PD (usually to GP).

My bb learns to put in the spoon to her mouth!! she can aim quite ok liao.. so every day i feed her porridge, i will put the porridge on the spoon and ask her to hold the handle herself, then she couldput inside the mouth herself.
Must train her slowly so that she could be able to eat by herself next time :p

jessel
not that i so garang lah. juz tat i dun want him to take too much medication if possible. and he is his usual self juz nose sounds a little blocked at times so i never bring to pd. but i do have some medication given by the pd at home leftover from my recent US trip. so if it still does not get better, i may let him take some. =P

loh
haha. i got same complaint as well. my boy so lazy and refuse to hold his own bottle when i feed him milk. but i know he can hold on coz he will hold his bottle when he wants to drink water at night. then hor, sometimes he so notty that he will be on all fours on the floor, bend his head and use his newly grown teeth to bite on the open bottle teat and then shake his head for the fun of it. after that he will put it down then grin at me *faints* dunno where he learns that from. cute though. =P

An_gal,
yeah my FIL goes online one :p knows a lot about compie and stuff like that, etc.
Actually my old compie went bang coz of old age keke and i bought a new one for my fil to use, or else he must be very boring when my girl is napping.

Zhu zhu,
Relax, dun get angry, it's not easy to get along with different generation except our own parents.
It's a lot of happenings one, different characters, different likings, different thinkings, etc.
I am thankful for them to help me take care of Meg, but sometimes I dun like the way he speaks to me, for me it's sarcastic, for him it might be normal, so it's a lot of give and take..

Miaon,
Yeah, they can digest, I have never seen any oat in her poo poo, all digested.
I realize they cant digest corn and carrot yet. her poo stil got carrot..
Meg is so naughty recently, got a lot of smacking on butt from me :p

rc_cola,
haha hi5 i also let charlize hold her own spoon during meal times occasionally, i'v also put food onto her spoon and she will "feed herself" but can be messy sometimes

miaon,
My gal also lazy to hold her bottle. She will hold if she's hungry for the milk, if not she rather dun drink then to hold..

phew.. now den I come back online.

rc_cola: ahahhaha... so Serene, now u know u r not the only dil whois suffering.. heehee
I dun like my mil only know how to say, comment den ownself dun know how to do. We are not her servants.

Meg is very good girl leh. Learn things fast.

An_gal: I recall one year, my mil wanted to make pineapple tarts for cny. She ask my hb cousin to make the batter den she will make the filling based on my hb cousin's instructions..
You know how many bottles she wanna do?? ALOT! until I oso dun know how much we make lor.
End up right, I and my hb auntie do from afternoon until midnight 2am den she shake leg.. She din reli help lor. Command pple around to do this and that. hb so fed up tell her next yr she wan somemore he will BUY. NO MORE MAKING pineapple tarts..

Miaon: I can't help you with that. Tricia is a small eater. The only thing she holds is her biscuit and she will munch away..

Sandra: tricia is a constipated baby. She sometime poo ok sometimes 3 days once.. She dun like water! Aiyo! Reli regret din feed her water during the 1st 3 mths of ebm..

Glee,
Dun put watery things on the spoon should be quite okay, so far meg didnt make any mess, but MUST guide her along.
Anyway, her porridge is quite solidified :p

Zhu zhu..
heheh your description of saying serene is not the only dil suffering sounds dramatic ler hahaha
I am not somebody who is taking things into heart, so it's fine for me, I might be mad but it wont last long.

One incident yesterday.
At about 9.30pm while Meg and I were inside the room watching tv the 9 oclock show on channel 8 (hubby was taking shower), and my FIL suddenly knocked on my door, I thought wat happened, he said "Watch Channel U" Then I asked him, what show was that, (remote was not around, so I didnt switch channel), he said "BAI JIA JIANG TAN" (lecture room or sth like that talking about principal of life bla bla bla), then i told him "oH that one ar, not nice one lar"
He suddenly replied me sternly "That one Very Good, teach you all how to behave (jiao ni men cen yang juo ren) " and just walked away. Oh my!!! I was shocked! thinking "what did we do till you have to say things like that? you mean we dun behave ourself? did we torture you? did we talk back to you? did we scold you? did we rebel?" then my hubby was peeping from the toilet door asked me what did his dad said. I told him " you dad asked you to watch bai jia jiang tan so that you know how to behave yourself!"

Am I too sensitive? Told hubby I very heartpain his father said like that to me, he might not mean anything but for me it really hurts, as if I ill-treat him.
I have never talked back at all, always be respective towards him, what make him say that?

sandra,
is the poo hard? maybe can try the suggestiosn above i.e. giving more veggies..what i've given sometimes is sweet potato puree(no rice added) since there's carbo in there and also a lot of fiber...but must add water inside also cuz if bb has a lot of fibre stuff but not much water then stool is also hard...watermelon can help too acc to my GP, cuz its lots of water plus fibre together..bb will like cuz its sweet!

any mummies using first teeth toothpaste here? how is it?
I wanna try cuz yee heng's bottom tooth is yelloW!!!! eek!

rc_cola,
Ya not the watery food. But she's a kan cheong baby, v eager to stuff anything into her mouth.. And now she has almost 7 teeth, and super loves to bite too..
Abt your fil.. if it's me, i'll sure read his meaning in the bad way.. maybe there is certain unhappiness that he's keeping to himself???

lilyn,
I'm using first teeth, shld be better than no brushing, as I only know of this as the only toothpaste suitable for our babies at this stage? My nanny gives high comments on the rubber fingerbrush and recommends to many of her nanny frens.

Glee,
Yeah, I also take it negatively, offended is the right word.
I mean if he is unhappy or whatever, he could always tell my hubby if he doesnt want to tell me, am i right?

Anyway, told my hubby that if i have #2, when the baby finishes all the jab, i will just quit lar take care of them myself, until they are big enough to be send to fullday school.. dun intend to let them go full-day when they are only 1.5 yrs.. maybe 5 yrs old? or 3 yrs old? :p

rc_cola,
oops, m just sharing empathy.. Dun take it too hard, give him credits for all his hard work in taking care of Meg

lilyn,
Charlize tried the jap sweet potato yesterday for the first time, she loves it manz:p

cola / lilyn / glee
urm but when u introduce sweet things to the bb, would they reject eating plain stuff again? i now still mix the sweet fruits with rice cereal to un-sweeten it leh.

Glee,
Yeah, dun worry, I am fine already today, just not very pleased that's it.
He might mean nothing anyway. Yeah, not easy to take care of a baby alone.

Miaon,
Meg is okay ler, she still eats her tasteless oat for breakfast every day.

cola,
ivan doesn't keen on sweet stuffs like papaya, mango, plum...he will reject those soft soft one...hehe

Miaon,
I started quite early at 4th mth, with those heinz jars of baby dessert/gel/fruit puree/yoghurt. No worries, i also add diff food into her cereal or porridge. I fed her banana yesterday for the first time too.. she likes it too.. actuali my gal is much slower than some babies here, she still has many new food haven tried.
Btw my fren told me that a recent local TVshow on growing babies, features a similar case on a baby refusing to chew at 9mths. Dun worrty, its not unusual that some babies are slower on learning how to chew.

rc_cola: me same like u lor. angry but cannot say out leh.. everytime i just keep quiet den make noise either in forum or to mum.. ahhahaha

Loh,
Really? i thought most babies like sweet stuff.
My Meg doesnt like jar food and not very keen on new food, she must tried few times, or else she will reject.

Hi hi....
OK, now at office, will go home soon!
My gal is not my MIL only grandchildren, my hubby has a elder bro who has a daughter too!! His daughter is a year older than my gal.
Yeah, I think my hubby is her favourite son... Or maybe she don't dare to go to her elder son's place?? Her elder son temper is not very good.
And his wife is a full time housewife mah...

No leh, my MIL is the only caretaker for my gal... (That time I refer alternate days was when I am still on maternity leave)
My mother has passed away since I was about 2 yrs old... That's why I tell my hubby, you are lucky man, if my mother is still alive, you will also encounter MIL problem...

serene
tat's good. dun ot. shd spend more time with ur gal to build up the bond. u shd not lose the valuable time to see ur gal grow juz becoz u wanna avoid ur mil. =)

cola
paige's tummy is all better already. suddenly just recovered. i noticed when her tummy wasn't good, her poop was very smelly, got a fishy smell. meg takes after you, you and your hubby are both not very big size mah.

ytanhn
yeah, hubby called AVA and got transferred here and there. finally got to the right dept. Tomorrow I have to go to my bro's house and take down the info from the box that they need, then will email the info to them with the pixs.

the cheese dip from the bp quite good. i'm not crazy about the nacho chips, so will go find elsewhere to buy after we finished the ones i got from the bp.

lilyn
same, i feel like i don't buy a lot of toys for paige but everyone says she has lots. but when i go to friends' house, i see other kids got tons more so i dont understand why i keep hearing that paige has lots of toys. i dont mind hand me downs also, kids outgrow the clothes so fast, most of the time things are relatively new. unless it has been passed down for 10 generations kind, then i'm a bit wary where it has been.

loh
paige has been playing with soft toys since day 1. well, she didn't know how to play but they shared her crib.

sandra
is your bb on ebm or fm? some fm are known to cause constipation for certain babies but not others. my dd has not pooped for 8 days before, she was on ebm then so the pd said it's ok. when she started drinking more fm, she wasn't pooping well, once every 3-4 days. when i switched to nan from enfapro, she started pooping every day or at least every other day. i tried similac and she had problems pooping, so i switched back to nan. you can try baby prune juice, i usually dilute it. or i've heard people boil a few raisins and feeding the water to baby. i think it was cin who boiled fresh prune (or another fruit, cant remember) and give the baby the water, you may want to pm her and find out more if you are interested in trying it.

an_gal,
singapore pools confiscated my $$$ liao.. kekee...

woof,
ya, bz as a SAHM looking after my hyper active chloe who now rather plays than sleeps, bz bringing her out, updating my blogs.. but still seems so many things undone.

serene/rc_cola,
well said, cola! serene, spend more time with ur gal rather than avoiding ur MIL by doing OT. imagine when ur gal grows older, ur MIL might just psycho her saying things like "ur mummy rather work than come back for u, mummy dun love u as much as granny does, blar blar blar". whatever, ur hb's support is still the most important. it's tough but do hang in there.

gold..piggy,
i agree with what u said about our natural mother and our MIL. somehow the tolerance is different. some concept about own daughter and DIL.

lilyn,
my new maid is also coming nx week, just keeping my fingers crossed cos it really depends on 101% of luck.

miaon
paige was not interested in the teething rusks so i didn't bother. she has 2 teeth only but i started putting little cubes of vege into her porridge instead of puree. the other thing that got her more interested in tasting her food is bread. maybe cos it has more texture? so she will "chew" with her mouth.

cola
i give paige corn quite often, esp now cos the pd said she is yellow/orange and must avoid orange food. i steam the whole corn, cut out the kernels and puree. it ends up like mashed ptt. throw into porridge to cook before serving. so far no problem. carrots when i cut in little cubes i can see a little bit here and there but mostly digested. only when she has tummy problem the last 3w i got a shock when i saw her poop. full of green and orange little cubes, sweet ptt and carrot. completely come out same as going in.

meg so fast learn to feed herself. paige doesn't even know how to put food in her mouth using her hands!

zhuzhu
i also never feed paige water cos she was on ebm and pd said no need. now she doesnt drink water. the only way i can get her to drink is if i flavor the water. i give her 0.25oz of juice to 4oz of water.

zhuzhu,
glad to know that tricia is getting better.
wow.. see a lot of 'fire' when u talked abt ur MIL. dun worry, u are not alone... my MIL also one kind who likes to badmouth and make comments which doesn't concern her.

so far my MIL saw chloe 4x nia when chloe was 1,2,4 and 6mths old. not only she was rough in handling her, she even made comments like chloe is bad tempered (cos she cried when she carried her), chloe's head is not round (which I dun think so), chloe is short (hey, she is 75 percentile oookkk), coughing into chloe's face and tried to feed her ice cream when she was only 4mths old. (just to name a few concerning chloe).

lucky i dun see her tat often, her own children also headache in handling her, let alone me, i see her i still show my respect and smile smile and will only complains here in forum or to my mum and sis. my hb b4 marriage already told me not to get involved too much with her because he knows what kind of person she is and my hb doesn't want me to get into trouble with her. Phew....

oh... she bought 1 ugly xiao3 ding4 dang1 fan from china for chloe which cant work after 3-5 times.

even my maid exclaimed how dirty her house is, her clothes are thrown all over on the floor or bed regardless clean or dirty, unwashed utensils, aiyo... i cant imagine bringing chloe to her place when she is so super active now but luckily my hb is more protective towards chloe than me.

hahaaa... nvr ending stories about MIL and Hbs...

question: what (gift) are you giving bb for his/her birthday.

we're not doing a bash, just normal dinner food at home with family and cake. instead we are spending some money on a photo session for us and the grandparents. hubby and i know these photos will be much treasured by my parents so we decided to do it. as for gift, i've been thinking about it for a while. i would like to give paige something that she can show her own baby next time that "this is something your grandparents gave me for my first bday" i decided to try my hands at making her a teddy bear but dont know can vomit it out or not. haahaa if cannot produce it then i am going to sweat. :p

cola, i wake up very early to surfnet... heeehee.. the only time that i can read the forum peacefully.

Mel, sure once it's ready i will let you gals know. My hb is monitoring on their development very closely