(2007/08) August 2007 MTBs

Am back!! Now only have time to login to chat at this time...
I have tried all the methods before...
-From my gal 2nd month, I already hint to her to go home... cos I need privacy with baby. I told her "You can actually come alternate days now cos one month over, I am no longer in confinement..." she keep quiet... Then after a few days, I told my hubby to tell her..My hubby keeps pushing and delay!!! Then finally on toward end 3rd month... I shouted at my hubby and insisted her to go home! I insisted my girl's cot to move into our bedroom, I insisted I take care of her in the nights... Then my hubby has no choice to move all stuff to the bedroom.. and told his mum no need to stay.
-But another problem came... she came everyday in the morning! I tell her off, I told her no need to come everyday since I am here for my girl...
Ok, she followed as what I said..but she came to my house every weekends... she really drive me crazy! I told myself I have to think of a way....
Then I suggested to my hubby every weekend go here and there and be out of house by 11am...(My MIL will come uninvited during this timing and occupied the kitchen and cooks!) BUT my hubby asked I kept suggesting to go out, is it just to avoid his mum?... SIGH....
-When my MIL with my relatives, she will asked those relatives who is a mother, a lot of questions. e.g. did you give your kid porridge when he/she was 6 months old.. did you take "zhu jiao" vinegar when you were in confinement?... Then when those mothers replied...she will said,"the kid should have porridge at this age,etc.... the kid should not do this and that..don't let them do or eat this...etc.."
She will even tell my relatives that I refused to eat the zhu jiao... I only take the vinegar...etc...
Please lah... pple already a mother...she think they do not how to take care of their own babies... And please, I do have my freedom on what to eat and not!
-On Mother's Day this yr, my hubby took her, me and my gal to Causeway point to eat. I carried my gal and kept avoiding her. Then she stand at my back, kept pulling my gal hands and kept saying, "Ah mah bao bao..." my gal didn't show she wants to... but she just pulled her arms over my shoulder, I felt some force pulling and almost step backwards! I turned around and give her a stern face and let my gal go, cos she was half body over to my MIL already!!! How can she just pulled my gal like that, what if I not aware and alert, I might fell backwards and hurt my gal!!!
-After the lunch at causeway pt, she said she needs to go to her friend's house, so I thought she will leave soon and just to show a bit forgiving, I let her carry my gal, then she refused to let go... saying she will follow us to library for a while!?? But once at the library, she then passed my gal to me and go all the way back to MRT which takes about 10 minutes walk! Like that also she feels satisfy!?

As usual, I am still at office... I hate to see her around and hate to see my gal with her.
I am afraid my gal will bond strongly to her not me...

haros all,

How is everyone? Sorry I missed the gathering. Do you remember how long your MS lasted? I can't remember. Now only week 8.5, got to tahan some more.

My poor boy, his first birthday organization is in shambles cause I feel too sick.

BTW, anyone used the chinese calendar method to successfully predict your child's gender?

jete,
yalor...Carene was a bit nt her usual self on tat day...sorry that din manage to get to chat wif u..

karen,
dun feel offended lah...juz joking coz i m afraid some pple wan to ride on....pls PM me ur name, contact no., email address and when u nid the cake so tat i can include u in the BP list

ytanhn,
Happy 1st lunar bday to Chloe !!! so wat lucky numbers Chloe pick hehehe :p 2mr wed leh, have 4D hahaha

serene,
since ur mil so "bu zhi dong", u no need 2 giv her face.. ur mil oways need ppl 2 remind her "she no need to com".. i read ur post i oso felt angry with her leh.. not to mention abt ur feelings.

pls don work so late.. go home n spend time with ur gal.. tink abt it.. if u reach hm late, ur mil lagi happy rite.. cos she can have more time with ur gal !! go bring ur gal for a walk like wat choco says.. no need to ask her can or not.. u can jus carry ur gal, open the gate, lock the gate and shout frm outside say u go down..

i've nv seen some1 so thick skin lol.. u say until so obvious liaoz she still don get the hint.. then i tink u mus keep repeating urself.. u don go back ur mum place?

jang,
i WISH i cud join but den gt to work

ytanhn,
wow...haf been busy recently?

pink,
u can do it...

Serene,

Yeah, I dun think you should work OT just to avoid your MIL. From your postings, she is a bit off the line already and has regarded herself as the baby's mum perhaps! By doing OT, not only you didnt get to see your girl and bond with her but also make your MIL happier..

Btw, your MIL is the only caregiver?? since you r working and you could ask her to come only on alternate days or even weekend, that means other than herself, there is another main caregiver, isn't it?

Another suggestion of mine is that, go home ontime, once reach home, bathe yourself, dine, etc, bring your baby to your room, and lock the door!
Hack care what she will be thinking about. If she suggests you this and that which you are not agreeable to, just tell her nicely that you know what you are doing to your OWN baby. Or else keep quiet and carry the baby away from her, that's it!

Go home earlier, all babies bond with their own parents even if they do not get to spend too much time with parents during the days.
My baby is a good example, my FIL is the main caregiver, altho she bonds well with him, whenever I come home from work, she only wants me and me only.
At about 8 o'clock, I am quite relax already, will bring her to my room and play or just stay in the kitchen and play with her.. my FIL auto goes into his room, online or do whatever he likes. So far so good, if he suggested sth which we do not want to do, I will just keep quiet, same atttitude for my hubby as well.
In this way, we wont be hurting his feeling or whatsoever coz we have the best interest of our gal in mind!

Ivy,
SAHM wakes up so early huh? kekeke

Pinky,
Hope your pregnancy go on well k :p
Bear with it lar, difficult to avoid M/S one, once it comes, it comes, once it is gone, it's gone keke
I didnt have M/S during Meg's time *finger crossed* dun want to have any m/s for my future pregnancy as well kekeke

Goldpiggy,
If you are afraid of he breaking his teeth, you might wanna steam until a bit tenderish then give it to him for chewing..
So far meg is biting handphone, remote control, keys, etc, also v scared all her four teeth fall off kekeke..
The way she bites her toys is scary, she bite the nose first, then pullllllllllll very hard!

pink
i worked backwards before and it was accurate for me as well as for some of my friends. really quite amazing. heh.

cola
yah. sometimes really scared they "hurt" the teeth since they like to bit on anything hard. recently my boy like to grind his teeth and the sounds it makes really set my teeth on the edge. really worried he bresks his teeth at the rate he goes!

Snowy,
I missed your previous post..
Psycho by Jang? haha partly lar, by you also mah :p
Most important is that I want to spend more time with Meg since she is still young, once she grows up she wouldn't need too much of my companionship, would she?

Are you going gogobambini?
Jang,
I would really want to go ler, but too bad gotta work!!

Another meeting again at 10am at TUAS!! *phew* super far!

Serene - is this your Mil's 1st grandchild? Or your husband is her favourite son? Cos my mother also whenever she sees my son, will surely want to carry...but i am OK with that because she is my natural mother you see. whereas as for my husband, he is happy that my mom loves our son very very much but then at the same time he is also unhappy because he feels that she is like 'snatching' our boy when we all go out together..which also is because she's not his natural mother, you see, the difference? If its my MIL doing what my mother did, i would be pissed also. So maybe what you can do is to tell your hubby to co-operate with you to minimize conflicts.

So after my hubby told me about how my mom is taking away privacy time between him and our son, i will then lie to my mom that today we are going where and where then my mom will say OK. So when my mom want time with my baby, i told my hubby today its my mom's turn.

So got to reach a compromise lor, haiz, not easy. cos now my hubby want my son to bond with my MIL too which actually i don't mind but timing very limited..haha

Miaon,
High5! Meg is grinding teeth as well
the sound is scary!
The way she bite and pull the winnie the pooh nose (so scared the nose dropped off and she might swallow it), I am going to quarantine the winne the pooh doll for the moment.. so far i pull it hard, and it looks very safe despite her bitings... maybe just to play safe, i keep it first.

ytanhn: tricia is much better! She pooped only once yesterday mrg. But me still worried abt her tat I lost wt over Monday..

Jang: aiyo.. I feel like gg too leh but den hor no excuse to take AL.. I actually wanted to go cut hair and colour it today. sigh...

Serene: like wat rc_cola say, u shld go home after work. Seriously ur baby will know it. My mum helps me take care of tricia during the day and when evening comes and I'll be at my mum's place for dinner. She will be very happy to see my and hb! Den she will wanna me to carry her..

Maybe ur mil wanna bond with her grandchild. I dun know lah.. My mil for one is the kind wanna bond with grandchild but den once cry nia or wat throw back gimme type! Morever she happy she come to my hse to visit my girl on weekend, if not she got outing with fren den nvr come one lor! Got 1 time she come den my girl dun wanna let her carry! I secretly smiling inside my heart (bad right me!!)
My mil sucks lor. I nvr see her buy anything for my girl one.. Not happy with tat hor cos she got 1 time give my girl dun know wat shit something she said she bot but i remember she wanted to give my hb's cousin the kids den they dun wan.
Think my girl is karung guni or wat!! f***
Den pass me my bil dotter's old stuff is those she buy liao den my bil gf dun wan de lor!
How to say I oso the only one dil who married into the family the traditional and right way.
Is not right of her to treat my girl so shabbily.
When I preggie say will do this n tat. Please lor! End up oso never do.
Den confinement say very easy 1. Dun need confinement lady. blah blah blah..
end up my mum help me den she say is AN EASY JOB, LET OTHER PPLE EARN MIGHT AS WELL LET OWN MOTHER EARN.. I super pissed off!
Think my mum is wat? ur free labour izit!!!! f***
My mum is older den her and doing confinement for someone is not an EASY job lor!
I think she dun know how to be a mother or grandmother. She nvr take care of my hb when he was young!
haiz.. end up I complain abt my mil.. heehee

One more thing I wanna complain:
everytime my mil come my hse dun wash her legs!! AHHHHHHHH!!!!
hb ask her to wash she say she bathe liao den refuse to! The last time she washed and she mumble mumble lor.. tmd!
den she very unhygenic lor. She go and peel her feet skin on my sofa and my girl's playmat..
eeeeeeeee

hiya ladies
long time no see..*wave wave* bn super busy..we are getting audited at the hospital now, so everyone is super stress!

sounds like the gathering went well..such cute pics! wish we could have gone but that was just too tiring a weekend for us cuz we're trying to sort out out some household stuff..we're going to get a maid, interviewed one last weekend, she's 38, transfer one (current employer keeps stopping her from going to church) and she has 2 kids...she gives me a good vibe, but i'm not sure what i should be looking for specifically tho..she seems pretty intelligent and has a special needs child, so she's pretty mature and also invested in making sure she stays employed! what do u guys look for in terms of maids?

have enrolled online for the employers orientation course already, so will sort that out this weekend..hopefully will not have any problems!

my boy is a teeth grinder too but only at nights ! 2 nights ago he woke up at 4am and cry for 2 hours until we put oil on his tummy, and he gave 2 big farts! poor thing..sometimes i wish he could talk so i know what's going on..i was so exhausted at work after that...

yee heng is still waking 2x a night..cut down from the very freqyent wakings 2 weeks ago(once every hour!!!) but i'm trying to stop him waking at 2pm, since he's not hungry then..not sure what to do, any suggestions?

speaking of ILs, i have to say i'm very happy for my ILs to be doing stuff with my boy, we see them everyday during weekdays for dinner. esp when we go out my FIL always will rush thru his meals to carry him (kena scolding fr my MIL and BIL and my hubby cuz they're worried about him choking..hahah!) that said yee heng will always prefer me because i make sure i rush home to spend time with him after work...otherwise the less time i spend with him, the more he'll be attached to other people instead of myself..so now he is sticky to me and will ask for me even if my ILs are around..of course its more tiring this way, but i think having a strong attachment to the mother is important.

also, how i see it is that its the first grandchild for my ILs, so my boy has lots and lots of people to love him...which is always a good thing right?
that said, when it comes to parenting issues, i do give my opinion and stay firm to my POV. i.e. about food etc, i will say certain things are allowed, and certain things are not..

e.g. if my FIL gives in to my son when he's being naughty, i will just quietly say that he's old enough to learn already..sometimes it works and my FIL will concede, but sometimes not, but i just close one eye, as my ILs are really helping me..so i think its important to try and compromise at the end of the day

Jang,
I wanna go GGB! but too bad was on leave yesterday but was too lazy to bring my gal there.. Today gotta work sian.. haha
Have a great time with Jae

Glee, gold piggy,
so where to meet on sat? hmm..MC might be a good choice..

IL issue,
They loved my boi so much but also never buy a single toy or clothing for him...i dunnno wat their mentality

Loh, Glee - what is MC? what time? If my boy still coughing then won't be going ok! Else spread virus no good..

Aiya, my IL's also seldom buy things for my boy but never mind one la, as long as you know they dote on your children can liao...on the other hand, my mom buy and buy non-stop and then i jokingly told her i like burberrys then each time we go shopping and go past burberrys, she will say, want buy or not? Then i told her $250 for a suit leh, then she think think then she say, ok la, buy la... :p but i never let her pay, cos too expensive liao la..

Loh,
haha MC? maybe someone in my office also in this forum??? and my name is so obvious?
Sat how? Pizza hut? 11am then open? any suggestion?

Ok..Im finally logged n after so long!! First of all..it was GREAT meeting the rest of u on Sunday...eventhough Mathias was not his usual self ( I thk it may be cos he has'nt really seen so many babies before..haha!!) Gonna try to catch up from 27th JUNE!!! *pant pant*

gudmorning mummies!

my son has running nose and little cough, we went to pedia and doc gave him some medicine. last night he was 37.7 slight fever, but now ok. but he is still very active so i guess he still ok. i think i gave him the virus cause i have running nose and cough as well since friday and i still BF him.

goldpiggy, my mom also loves to buy stuffs for my baby...everytime she goes out she has something for my son. but my IL's, aiyo! dont buy him unless we tell them we want. sooo stingy! and to think his their first grandchild

Loh, Goldpiggy: I feel she's biased lor cos she did bot stuff for my bil's girl.
She dun buy nvm. I dun want her stuff anyway.
Her taste is horrible.
Den keep commenting tat we buy too many things, toys and clothes for tricia..
Always tell me dun buy clothes for tricia.
I'm like wat?? den go naked izit!!
siao!
Just dun like dun buy den give me other pple dun want the things. Especially she keep inside her storeroom for dun know how long liao.
kaoz!
I'm not a karung guni lor..

goldpiggy: I just dun like her. Ever since my confinement until now. Cos she treat my mum like shit so I pissed off liao. Den so many comments. Dun know how to take care of kids den say this n that. Comment my girl very skinny den as if my mum din take good care like tat.. more pissed!

jessel
hope u 2 get well soon. my boy oso like got flu leh. coz his "bi ying" quite bad. but i waited for quite some time without giving him medication. hope he will get well by himself, but like not working. heh.

zhuzhu
dun get so angry lah. like goldpiggy says, mil and dil always differing views. my mum will oso buy stuff for my boy, but my mil will not buy anything. but then again, my boy is #12 kiddo in that house liao...machiam like a "madhouse" when we go back on weekends or celebrations. but on my side, he is the 1st grandchild. =P

zhuzhu,
luckily i seldom see my IL, they are in M'sia...hehe. I really scared if i hav no.2, they will long term stay wif us in S'pore!

Glee, gold piggy,
Yup, MC=Mcdonald...whahaha
Pizza hut can also, but i scared later the cheese solidify b4 entering our mouths..haha

Ivy,
Just saw ur posting abt a swimming pool in Sengkang..thet'll be great! Let me know when..does it look like it'll be ready anytime soon?

Sunbloom,
Oh m y! Just read abt your MIL..actually I thk mine would have also been like that if I didnt show her my true colours..then she know Im the VERY fussy type..But my SIL still keep passing me toys and clothes and BOOKS (yellow and tattered) that have been kept for 10yrs at least to me for Mathias..can u imagine? I was super pissed esp when I saw the books..it had tonnes of drawings in it and many of the cardboard pages coming apart adn its really very yellow..I told Hubs the i am NOT a bloody beggar etc...and he told me "nevermind lah..u already have enuf prob with my family after what happened between u and my mom so if they give just take..then throw away..I was so pissed to hear this stupid answer frm him..I really wanted to call his sis and ask her "oh..did u realise the books were already torned etc.? " but in the end I decided that I dont wanna waste my time with these ppl who thk Im a recycling bin...I dont mind 2nd hand stuff..but it must also look ok right? I wouldnt even send clothes that are already torn to Africa..if want to donate also donate something that still looks ok mah... Btw, I thought that time b4 u left for France u say your FIL going to live with u?

think diff ppl have diff attitude about buying stuff for bb...some will buy buy buy,some think its a waste cuz bb outgrow things so fast or doesn't suit parents taste..my family will buy things, but not the expensive type as much, more only when its a good deal(my attitude also)...but my ILs seem to be very willing to spend (which i think is wasting money..)hehe..guess you just can't win right?

actually i quite karang guni type..lots of hand me downs pass to me, some not so nice or a bit old liao but i dun mind.....poor yee heng got such a bo chap mummy!hehe!

Miaon,
cannot complain to hb so complain here.. heehee..

Mel: I share ur sentiments! Den again I can't rebut my mil! AHHHHHH.... sianz.. my mil ever once passed me 1 soft toy oradi dusty! Aiyo! Scarly my girl breath in the dust how?? kaoz! Den gimme this pair of shoes my bil daughter dun want one but this shoe is like for at least 3-4 years den can wear lor.. den got this bottle warmer bag, turn yellow liao and the rubber machima like rotting.. faints
Can u imagine how I feel?
Somemore got 1 romper got smell one, n yellow somemore... eeeee...
dun know wat the hell she thinking

Heheh I think my experience is the opposite.. my MIL and FIL buy and buy lotsa nice stuffs non stop for Ike since he's their only grandchild. but my parents do not, cos to be fair my parents have 5 grandchild and nice stuffs are super ex in Indonesia, specially now that they're retired. But they're very fair, all grandchildren have bank account in Indonesia which they opened, and they put in monies same amount all the time.. I guess different parents or grandparents have different style.. my parents are the style that save and save that's why all of their kids got master's degree .. if they didnt save and save I dont think we all could get even bachelor degree..
whereas my IL side, all of their children made their own ways to school i.e my hubby got full scholarship, and my BIL went to school by loan and repaid after got job.. so they dont need to save for education..

lilyn: i dun mind hand me downs too.
I have lots of hand me downs from friends too.. just not anything too disgusting till on the verge of rotting

I oso buy things which I are good deal and not on impulse buying. Toys mostly I'll get something which is more like for learning although I did get some soft toy for tricia cos I think every girl shld have one bah.. heehee.. Den can me more girly mah..
Even for clothing if too ex I dun buy cos the outgrow it too fast.

zhuzhu,
ur MIL sounds like a hoarder leh..old old things that are not good condition already also keep...seems to be some older generation mentality?

actually i think yee heng doesn't have many toys compared to other kids...but then when ppl come over they always comment he'd got a lot, so i hand itchy wanna buy also will question myself 1st!

hubby just bought a new toy for himself..the very slim and cool tiny sony HD video camera to take videos of yee heng especially when we go for our perth trip...he's bringing it later when we meet his parents so he can video yee heng with the grandparents..haha..so i guess this is a double present, for kiddo and for daddy!

Adeline,

The photoshoot seemed to have turned out alright eventhough ur hubs was unwell and ur boy was super active
Im hoping my photoshoot will turn out ok..I still havent decided on the date and time yet..

Talking abt soft toy,
Can our babbies play soft toy yet? I saw most tags said above 3yrs only ler. Issit bcoz of the materials (fur) easy to come out?

zhuzhu, don't angry lah. Cos you have to face her for as long as she lives. So just give and take - else your hubby also very xinku. And it will make us older when we are angry...but hor, my MIL and me same pattern, if not happy, don't talk to each other for that day..haha - then the mediator will be my sister-in-law..haha

loh

i gave my boy soft toy liao but not those long long fur one.

u can go to my blog to see the soft toy(hehe, promoting my blog)

i also bought for him those like memory foam one, that type no fur one