(2007/08) August 2007 MTBs

Muddypie,
ya loo.. got + and - for not having close family around, for example when having baby but still want to continue working, nobody to help out taking care of Ike while I work, so must look for a maid, lucky my friend was assigned to Beijing and she had 2 maids and China only allowed her to bring 1 so she transferred the other to me.. if not I dunno how to find maid from agents, v v scary.. Tried to interview full day nannies but nobody can make my heart at ease..
but yeah even when I am back to jakarta for holidays, my own mom sometimes irritates me hahaha.. cos she's still thinking if in Jakarta, I must be under her radar so she will call me or hubby when we're out after 10pm checking on us kakakakaka.. Can't imagine if it's MIL definetely will get worse cos irritated but cannot say anything cos want to keep healthy relationship!
My brother and his wife used to live with my mom for a year but a lot of friction, somemore both my bro and his wife are the type who can't do housework so the air in the house was really bad during hari raya when all maids gone back to their kampung..

Chatty,
ya full time mom is very exhausting although happy even when we get just a little giggle hahaha.. I feel it every sundays..

mommies,
asking for your advice:

I posted a WTS for Ike's bedrail.. then one mommy emailed to reserve and confirmed. She said her hubby will come collect within same week, then made appt with me.. I said OK.. then on appt day I waited till 9.15pm (said coming between 8-9pm) then I sms-ed still coming? then she said hubby forgot so now he's otw home oredi.. but she said confirmed still, just give her few more days to make another arrangement, meanwhile she asked for my acct# so can trasnfer to me.. I said no probs and gave her my acct #. She said she will transfer in weekend and will collect b4 labour day so I just waited.. Then I realized till 1st may I never heard from her, checked my acct no transfer. THen I sms-ed her if she still wants the bedrail, she said pls give her 1 more week as she was holidaying and will be back by sunday (4th May) and will transfer on Sunday, but rest assure she confirms buying the bedrail. I waited again till today , checked my acct, still no transfer. Then I sms-ed her pls confirm by today or by midnight I will release to sale again.. note that I've had 1 person on queue since last week when she was holidaying, and 2 more mommies interested that I had to turn away cos I've made commitment..
My Q is, if by midnight tonight I dont get any reply from her, I can just release for sale again, right? Despite her last SMS on Sunday 4th may that she still confirm buying and I can be rest assure (this is exactly what she said in the sms)?

The Wooden Bowl

Talking about ILs, er.. I want to share this article that I received this morning.. It is so touching!
I guarantee you will remember the tale of the Wooden Bowl tomorrow, a week from now, a month from now, a year from now.

A frail old man went to live with his son, daughter-in-law, and four-year - old grandson. The old man's hands trembled, his eyesight was blurred, and his step faltered.

The family ate together at the table. But the elderly grandfather's shaky hands and failing sight made eating difficult. Peas rolled off his spoon onto the floor. When he grasped the glass, milk spilled on the tablecloth.

The son and daughter-in-law became irritated with the mess. 'We must do something about father,' said the son. 'I've had enough of his spilled milk, noisy eating, and food on the floor.'

So the husband and wife set a small table in the corner. There, Grandfather ate alone while the rest of the family enjoyed dinner. Since Grandfather had broken a dish or two, his food was served in a wooden bowl.

When the family glanced in Grandfather's direction, sometimes he had a tear in his eye as he sat alone. Still, the only words the couple had for him were sharp admonitions when he dropped a fork or spilled food.

The four-year-old watched it all in silence.

One evening before supper, the father noticed his son playing with wood scraps on the floor. He asked the child sweetly, 'What are you making?' Just as sweetly, the boy responded, 'Oh, I am making a little bowl for you and Mama to eat your food in when I grow up. ' The four-year-old smiled and went back to work.

The words so struck the parents so that they were speechless. Then tears started to stream down their cheeks.
Though no word was spoken, both knew what must be done.

That evening the husband took Grandfather's hand and gently led him back to the family table. For the remainder of his days he ate every meal with the family. And for some reason, neither husband nor wife seemed to care any longer when a fork was dropped, milk spilled, or the tablecloth soiled.

On a positive note, I've learned that, no matter what happens, how bad it seems today, life does go on, and it will be better tomorrow.

I've learned that you can tell a lot about a person by the way he/she handles four things:

a rainy day, the elderly, lost luggage, and tangled Christmas tree lights.

I've learned that, regardless of your relationship with your parents, you'll miss them when they're gone from your life.

I've learned that making a 'living' is not the same thing as making a 'life..'

I've learned that life sometimes gives you a second chance.

I've learned that you shouldn't go through life with a catcher's mitt on both hands. You need to be able to throw something back

I've learned that if you pursue happiness, it will elude you But, if you focus on your family, your friends, the needs of others, your work and doing the very best you can, happiness will find you

I've learned that whenever I decide something with an open heart, I usually make the right decision.

I've learned that even when I have pains, I don't have to be one.

I've learned that every day, you should reach out and touch someone.

People love that human touch -- holding hands, a warm hug, or just a friendly pat on the back.

I've learned that I still have a lot to learn.

I've learned that you should pass this on to everyone you care about .I just did.

FRIENDSHIP CANDLE

NOTICE AT THE END, THE DATE THE CANDLE WAS STARTED.
GONNA GIVE YOU GOOSE BUMPS.

I am not going to be the one who lets it die. I found it believable -- angels have walked beside me all my life--and they still do

This is to all of you who mean something to me, I pray for your happiness.
The Candle Of Love, Hope & Friendship

This candle was lit on the 15th of September, 1998

Someone who loves you has helped keep it alive by sending it to you.

Don't let The Candle of Love, Hope and Friendship die

Pass It On To All Of Your Friends and Everyone You Love!

COla,
I've read this in bahasa Indonesia before.. yes yes very touching.. sometimes we forget that when we were babies, we're the ones who needed helps and compassions too.. I told my bro and sis, to remember naughty stuffs we did when we were little that made our parents had to pay, i.e. breaking window at a shop, dropping bottle jars in supermarket etc,.. yet we only got untraumatic scolding (untraumatic cos till now I didnt remember how we were being reprimanded!!)

Chatty,

wondering how's KK, is it better or same as TMC.

Muddypie,

I may hv to live with my FIL together later on, bopian, my hubby is his only son and currently my FIL live with my SIL, once my SIL married think he will move to live with us.

Nining,

I think you should just reopen the sale by today midnight, such buyer I also encountered, never come in the appointed time and no sms to at least said sorry forgot or what.

leooh,
congrats...u made it!

gold piggy,
jia you ok...i m juz like u lor, did for fun..haha..so i expected that i din strike..hehe

cola,
wah...very young leh.....tat was .....how many yrs ago for me..(dun dare to say)

irene,
nice pics u've got...

cin,
i guess there's a difference when u give birth in 20s or 30s....even u can see it at work...
as for bb no. 2, i m confused...shld or not coz itz not easy to juggle b/w work and family now..cant imagine if i haf 2..

Hello Chatty,
Great that James is all well! Enjoy your time with little James

Jete,
You must be very happy that Paige called MAMA :p

Ning,
I dunno how to give u advise but I think you could just drop her an sms saying, if she didnt transfer by midnite, you will put up the sale again.
If she is really keen, she should at least make payment and collection could be arranged later rite?

Muddypie, xue, cin
I guess all ILs are doting their grandkids a lot, thats y they will want to pacify the babies when they cry, and not forgetting they will have those old thinking that babies shouldnt be left crying for too long :p
It is all about give and take!

I would agree not easy staying with ILs, but so far my ILs are very nice and I dont have prob getting along with them now.
I am grateful of their willingness to help to take care of Meg, if not, I wouldnt know how

Jessel,
Thanks, never thought that my age issue would become a woo haaahh :p

Cin,
I didnt know u talked to my hubby during gathering ler, perhaps I was too busy at that time kekekekke

cola,

nw then i know u're the one same yr as me! (1985)
i was wondering there's a marmie same as me. but cant rem.

abt ILs AGAIN!!!
MIL wants to look after my son for few days. of cos i wont allow! she bbsit a girl for few mths. looking at the way she handle bb,
i would rather spend $ on engaging a nanny then to let she look after! bt luckily my mum is willing to help me.
eg. bb girl is on the bed, mil use hold her legs and pull toward her. and she thinks its ok! goes out almost
everyday and go home arnd 10-12+pm. feeding bb girl with the milk tt is left there for 1hr+ w/o warming.
there's once i wanted to cook porrigde with cauliflower. need to chop the ingredients up as mil dun hv blender.
guess wad she say? "huh? u wana chop the ingredients? and floor will be sticky and dirty" so will she be just
feediing my son with cold milk w/o any soild food, not enuff rest and slping late every night??
i wont want my son to stay with mil. its like ill-treating my son! and i go all out to reason with my hb. luckily hb sides me.

so pissed off!!!!!!

KK Hospital was quite good. According to my colleague who is super anti KKH and always go to Mount Elizabeth. Her son was said to be sick for normal reasons but then suddenly her son had rashes and ulcers and asked me what to do, i asked her to go KKH and guess what, she said they are very professional though it's super duper long wait...hee..my brother always ask me go but i never did cos the wait is long..

Xue - then you are really lucky that your hubby sides you. My husband always CLAIMs that he will be impartial but when it comes to an argument, he will just side with his mother. I do hope my son will be like my husband now.

But one thing is, luckily my in law is not that difficult type. She is clean, conscientious but a bit old fashioned at times in her thinking but strangely she adapts well to my style maybe cos she knows my son is g6PD that's why she listen to me cos she never managed a baby with G6PD before..

She always tell me that since her son ( my husband ) is filial to her, then my son will in turn be filial to me. that i really and surely hope its true!

add on, mil still says he's my grandson. y cant i
look after him. i bring up ur hb and his bro this
way and they oso grow up heathly.
feel like giving her a slap. pls la. this is ur way ok! not mine! and i hv my own way of looking after my son!!

Cin,
We are the same age! I still dun knoow how I'm suddenly so old! Seems like yesterday I was still enjoying uni days. Now am a tired mommy.

On husbands, I'm a SAHM. My hubby works long hrs, alway comes home at 10pmish or later and I know that he really wants to watch TV and relax. But my ds often refuses to sleep till 12am. I'm so tired out after looking after ds that I need help- no choice. I feel so bad about it but will probably feel resentment if he doesn't help.

Sometimes I tell him to rest because I feel sorry that he has worked so hard then get angry when I can't cope. Conflicting feelings...

New maid flying in tomorrow, hope that helps the situation although DH doesn't want maid to touch his precious boy, just to do housework.

On ILs,
My boy can do no wrong in their eyes. If he wees on them, they just clap and say what a clever boy he is...funny but I worry that they will spoil him in future.

I'm so excited!! Paige is going to do a one hour session with foto u (with benjamin)!! now just have to find a time, which will not be easy given her non schedule!

Went to see the eye specialist today and he said it is hormonal changes from pgy and my eyes are now very dry and wearing contact irritates the eyes. So must wear glasses from now on.

gtg, mom having surgery tom.

----

leooh congrats!!! guess the trip helped!

Nining got your sms, need to check with hubby and let you know. thanks for the offer!!

wah!so many posts in one afternoon.

ning
my in laws has a daughter who has migrated to the states n my sil has got 2 boys. so glad they r coming back for holidays in aug, at least she can shift her attention to the other 2 boys. part of reason why titus needs us to carry so long b4 we put him down is becos of her. since newborn, she always like to carry him. she can carry him for 2 hrs while he is sleeping in her arms.

in laws
one of the reason why i dun like to stay with in laws is my mum cant stay overnight with me.its inconvienient cos its not my own place n she will not feel comfy too. actually when we r preparing to get married, my mil without consulting us, already told us officially that she has re renovated hb's room for us. its all plan properly n we dun have the heart to tell her actually we want our own place. but from the rate that she is spoiling my son, i thk its better to move out. anyway i explained to hb that since both of them r well n healthy, let us move out n start our own family. but of course when they r old or sickly, we will do our duty n get them to stay with us to look after them.

ning, like what u said, its tough when things sometimes get irritable, u still have to tolerate in order to have peace at home. but i am glad that so far i have no clashes with her n i have learnt to be a more patient person. i am also touched that she told me i respect her more than her own daughter. hah! so i thk its better to move out when the r/s is still good.

mudpie
i thk u better talk to your hb if you dun want them to stay with u. cant avoid the topic n its a major decision. let your hb know u dun want him to be caught in between 2. i just dun understand why asian parents always want their children to stay with them after they got married. wouldnt they want their own space too?

hb
i thk in a marriage there is bound to be quarrels. for me, i always make sure we make up before we hit the bed. not good to have resentment. in long run it can destroy a marriage.

ok, enough of washing dirty underwear in the public.

aiyo, realise i sound so serious in this post.

alamak, just reread my post. my english salah!!

it shd be " enough of washing dirty linen in the public"

pls excuse me mummies cos i just washed my undies n that explained that sentence.

jete
glad your eyes is ok. praying for your mum tonight. so happy that paige called u "mama"! did u tape that down as your ringtone? :p

ning
wah! poor u! your confinement period was just as tough as mine. i am so surprised that i didnt get into post natal blue then. just like u, i enjoyed pregnacy n labour was easy due to epidural. the real test was actually the confinement period. nevermind, we gone through it, 2nd child will be easy.

i just simply love our aug thread. there r so much support here. even though we dun know each other well personally, but at the same time we seems to know eac other very well too. u know what i mean?

goldpiggy,
so gd, i still hav 3-4kg of stubborn weights tats so sticky 2 me.. die die don 1 2 go away.. but am glad tat i don hav stretchmarks.. my wound oso reddish, damn ugly leh..

cin,
BINGOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO

xman,
wasay, ur action so fast n installed the grills liaoz?? actually i hope i can don install grills leh.. spoil the look

cola,
buahahha ur hubby is so funi... 1 2 keep megan by his side ah...

xue,
i thought u stay with ur mil?

Hi Leooh,

read that you are pregnant! congrats!
actually wanna msg you to ask u strike or not but was thinking u might be overseas. happy for u...

Gosh...always takes me hours to catch up the posting here, so much happening worrh...

Hi to all mummies who just join our chat here...cant remember who...but a few..kekeke...

Leooh,

Congrats...!! You hope to have a boy or gal for #2? Good timing to be due in Dec/Jan, nice weather...not like now, hot like hell...really cant imagine doing confinement now man...!!

Jete

Good to know that your eyes are ok. Oh..paige going for photoshoot as well? When will that be? You sign for the promo package as well? Chloe photoshoot will be end of June with David.

My Chloe only call Mama when she cry for me...

The weather is so bad, both Chloe and Javier si down with flu and cough again...

And guess what, I got a job today...!! Heep..heep hurray..!! finally I got a job after 2.5mths being a SAHM, guess will be starting work next week.

this is the only day i'm in office today cos on course etc,and flying off to taiwan for study trip on sunday(and i haven't packed yet!!)

so many posts...just now screened through..

-thank you for all the congrats!!;-)
-hoping very hard that its going to be a boy boy,cos i have a girl girl already mah,but it's heaven's decision lah,i'll still love my baby boy or girl,like we al do..
-chatty/jete:nope its made in singapore,on our own wedding bed,haha.cambodia not ovulation time mah.
-gold-piggy:actually the pregnancy electronic calculator work better than baby dust leh,just check for ovulation date and then for the few days,lock yourself at home and work hard,hahaha

jete:

glad that your eyes are ok,scared me for a bit

bliss:

yes i told jang on facebook chat,thinking should sms you cos i told you i bought the test kit mah..haha

will be flying off on sunday morning for a week,back on 18/5...think i'll be ok,doctor gave me 4 doses of duphaston /day!someone told me that's very "bu3",i'll get fat very fast...OMG,but well so long as baby is ok,nvm lah.anyway pregnant sure will get fat one,haha.(not that i'm slim to start with)

BF-mummies

must encourgae me to perservere with BF this time round okay!I think it's going to be tough but i hope i can succeed,maybe even give extra to enci to make up for her loss this time..;-)

chatty

glad that james is ok now,enjoy ur time with him!next time don't go TMC.

Good morning mummies,
Thanks for the compliments for my boy.

Both me & hb really loves the pic lots & it'll bring back some memory for my boy when he grows up.

Adeline,
My photographer is Benjamin.

Leooh / rc_cola: Thanks : ) No choice but to go to TMC coz my PD only has admitting privileges there and I don't want to PD-hop...sigh!

xman: Not sure about KKH doctors, but waiting for a few hours to see one in the KKH ER would be worse, as baby could catch another virus. At TMC, horrible as the GPs are, the waiting time is less than 15 mins...

good morning mummies, lucky today the post not so much to catch up..

Jete,

I remember last time u said give the fotoU a miss as paige's sleep schedue not fix one so hard to find a timing?finally still decide to shoot with them?

and congrats yr eyes are ok and paige call u mama..

Adeline,

congrats you find a job!

cola,

lucky u hv such nice ILs to take care Megan, envy envy..

xue,

yr MIL so scary, the way she pull the gals legs scare me. that's the reason I dont want nanny to take care bb as we dont know how they treat bb. at least I can see how my parents take care bb, if it's not right I just tell them and hope they can change, of cos they also argue with me said no problem at all, it's me too fussy but I still will voice out since it's my own parents.

an_gal,

we hv paid 50% down payment for the window grill, the guy told me the price will increase at 15th may, so I faster make payment, maybe it's just his sales stragy lah but recently everything price increase so I dont want to wait liao. I also dont like the grill that's why remove it when I do the renovation, but now got bb, better play safe.

re:KKH,

last time when ruoxi is 1 months old we brought her to KKH due to her phlegm problem. the waiting time is only like several mins leh, maybe cos it's weekday morning?

re:window grilles

i did mine recently.. for a peace of mind

an_gal,

it wouldn't spoil the house image badly.. don't worry.. hehe.. actually for the safety of baby, i would rather let the grilles spoil the house image..

Jete,

Glad that ur eyes are ok!

May i know how much u pay for the Foto U package?

an_gal,

Ya, safety is more important!!

leooh,

I also had duphaston since the start of my last pregnancy till week 12. never heard that it is very bu, dun think will make u fat, rather know that it is like a hormone support. so u may feel more nauseous. 4 doses a day is alot! i only had twice a day

leooh, i had duphaston also..mine was like 4 times a day too and i hate it. Cos i hate to eat vitamins or supplements of any kind. This is like 'An Tai' medicine

It's not cheap. Per pill is like $1.50

Actually KKH not that bad. I have a few occassion where I need to send my children to the A&E in the middle of the nite due to high fever. After registering at the counter, I was always told to walk into the consultation room straight away, maybe they are having high fever ie 39 degree. So far, they have not failed me

Gold-piggy/bliss

ya really not cheap,and i had to buy 80pills for 20 days!

i don't hate taking them but i always forget to eat.most of the time i only eat 3 times per day.
(Guilty)

not feeling nauseous yet,no vomiting yet..but really tired most of the time.very good appetite!(except for when i ate very oily stuff)

RE: mama
hee sorry, didn't tell my story well. paige has been calling mama for 2 months already, so it wasn't a surprise. i got a kick out of it cos i raise my voice and she also raise her voice, she tot it was a game even tho i was actually scolding her.

RE foto u package
I didn't sign up for the package. Paige won a photo contest and the package was the prize.

still waiting to see what time is my mom's surgery.

chatty
KKH ER will go quite fast if it's serious case. My wait was less than 5 mins and Paige wasn't considered serious. that was the first screening. After that then its the long wait. But if James had been so sick, he wouldn't have to wait after the first screening, he'll get priority.

leeoh
i know lah, cos you said before you left your auntie just came mah. but a trip is always very helpful in ttc lor. I got almost all of my + tests after trips/hols. ;) so maybe your baby will come in 2008 rather than 2009 huh?

jete

good luck for ur mum's surgery!

wow paige won a photo contest?she's so clever,she must be the first baby in our thread to call mama

baby might arrive early,but EDD is 3 Jan 09,which is my mum's birthday.I think i'll schedule for c-section 4 Jan la,want her to be full term. From my experience with Enci,don't think i'll be able to give birth naturally..

leooh
not sure which baby started talking first here. maybe paige is the talkative one in the aug group. she just started calling after mumbling mamamama for a while. last month started on papa. now can combine mama and papa. i told hubby she got him wrapped around her fingers. he melts when he comes home, she sits on his lap, looks up at him and call "papa". lol

yours is a repeat c right? i dont think can wait past edd isn't it, i tot usually they will ask you to schedule the c before edd in case you go into labor yourself?

Nining: If she delayed so many times, then I really wonder if she's serious. She could have told you right at the outset or after her hubby forgot to pick up the bedrail, that she was going on holiday. If she doesn't respond by the latest deadline, sms her and let her know that you can't wait longer and risk not making a sale at all...then give it to the next mummy in line.

my gal starts waving her hand & says 'bye-bye' last week. She will oso shook her head vigorously if she dun want to drink milk esp. latching on ;p My bb sitter & my mil are so happy!

Leooh,
Yours 1st was c-sect? Same as mine but gynae said can go ahead and try natural this round. Mine edd is 25 Nov. Just past my 1st trimester yesterday. Jia you

If you intend to go for c-sect, usually will be arranged in 38-39 weeks. dun think you will be able to push it past edd

1407883.jpg

Gday to All!

Ade,
congrats for the job

Twinkle2,
Your twins are cute!!! How you manage 2 at the same time? 1 already makes me super exhausted :p

Here I go again, posting Meg's pict, hope mummies here dun mind hor kekeke :p

Er,
Just realise, her lips look pale in this pict

Dunno why ler, perhaps that one just woke up in the morning, so a bit grouchy!

my son also started to wave hand last monday when his papa went to office. he also started to crawl - clap!clap!clap! we're so happy!!!

adeline,
welcome back 2 the work force.. working in which area?

xman/jang,
i'm delaying for time for the window grills.. cos wkday mon-fri Melcolm not at hm and reach hm he slp.. oni wkns i more scared off.

leooh,
haha 4jan is mi n my hubby rom anniversary date :p

nining
i would just sell it to someone else. she took too long to close the deal. and a few empty promises on payment and collection. i would suggest giving her a deadline for payment and collection, tell her you are going out of the country and wish to settle this before you go.

Nining, i agree with Jete, give her deadline for payment and collection, if she still did not do so then give to next mummy.

i have 1 experience reverse of this. on mid-week i actually reserved for an item in WTS, i told the mummy that i will pickup from her place on that weekend, its confirmed. she even sms me her address, so everything confirmed. she sms also that if i wnt pick up that weekend she will sell to another one, so i replied confirming that i will definitely pickup that weekend as im very keen of the item but just was busy during weekdays as such unable to go to her place (her place is out of the way from office to our house). but then the next day she sms me saying that another mummy came to pickup the item and she sold to her. i was really not happy with that mummy because everything we have agreed and confirmed but she still sold to another one. she should have told me that she want to dispose of the item urgently (meaning that day or 1 day after). luckly i did not transfered any money as i said i will pay upfront.

but even with this bad experience, i still buy from WTS, BP and sprees. life goes on they say, and not all sellers are like her =)

twinkle,
ur gals are so lovely!

jete,
hope ur mom is alrite & tell paige to enjoy her fotoshoot session...

bliss,
so will u be the next? hehe

adeline,
i agree..the weather now is so terrible..i wonder how those confinement mamas can take it....tat time when i did confinement, i was feeling like hell liao & now with this weather...urgh....

leooh,
take care...remember to take duphaston to support the pregnancy...