(2007/06) June 2007 MTB

cary, bosses can make reservations one?

hehe.. take your time to consider the package before accepting

char, dun know leh, hahahhaa

hui, it's an account servicing role

sweet, for that 2.30pm one, no reservations allowed, you have to go there and queue but pretty fast one

caitlyn, i totally understand... there's only so long one can tahan... if you dun let him cry, what is the other way ah? Carry him to sleep?

hui, Bosses is at Vivocity
as for the package, yup, similar
but not making any decisions as yet ...

caitlyn, trust ur instincts. its just a method, and may not work for everyone. i don't think there's really a standard a time frame but i think if u tried for 1-2 weeks, its time to look at something else. i know i cannot tahan even for 2 days.

jus read up all the posts...phew! but forgotten some of the content liao...have been sick these 2 days...coughing n having sore throat...hopefully will recover soon as scare will spread to Amadeus...

cary, so fast u got job offer liao..high demand huh...hee hee...so u cannot be a temporary SAHM liao lor...

Milk strike
seems tat all babies on milk strike is gals...so far never heard any baby boy's mummy making complaint...or have i missed it out?

Have linked all your blogs to mine...mine is http://the-ark-family.blogspot.com

ros, take care. there seems to be a flu bug going around again. i rem one of the bb boys having milk strike but cannot rem already...thread too long, i also have no time to scroll back.

cary, wow so good! very shiok to get headhunted hor.

glayz.. they look alike ah.. to me i dun find them alike leh.. but a lot of ppl has been saying so too..

i like to take pics of them together... so heartwarming to me.. heh..

cary.. congrats on ur 1st job offer.. so u won't b a SAHM for long liao.. or wld u rather rest a while more b4 taking up jobs?

bbfactory
Ya...1 of the boi had milk strike...and I also cannot remember who...kekekekeke....
We yak too much.....

ros/bbfactory/cel, hahahahhaha ... ya now thinking whether i want to rest for a while first ... so that's why contemplating

bbfactory, tks for concern...

cary, rest a while first lor if u can afford it...can spend more time wif Lan also mah...then wait till u recharged liao then go work again lor

re hi..

mich - i dunno leh.. pat him or carry him.. he just screamed for near 30 min just now.. i carry him he stop, put him down he scream.. sighz.. i really dunno wat to do.. my ILs giving me alot of guilt.. as tho i din already feel guilty.. i was v stressed by e looks of pity my MIL was giving so i just carried isaiah into our room..

cary - icic.. =)

sporty MIA today eh? must have gone shopping! haha

glayz, i just cannot keep up with the posts, so just read the most recent page. and my response very delayed. i post the most recent one then scroll back and reply yesterday's post. haiz...so inefficient

bbf - i always open a word document then read from where i stopped & reply on the word document as & when i read something addressed to me or i want to respond or want to ask.

but sorry me been spaming asking for Jen our queen's return.

divamama - alamak.. u tell my mum i keep buying toys.. u got tell her u cannot stop buying stuff also anot?? wahahaha.. wat's more u like sweared off stuff in this thread sometime ago? kekekeke

guilt

some is good but overly pushing it into someone's face is really bad - it will make the poor person so tired mentally - why bother.
I dont know is this some singaporen mentality or what - make sure sure you know what u did wrong slam it in your face kind of thing.

Its about time we started improving our social graces - beginning from the home. I mentioned before that i would rather die now than to let my Vicky become exactly like one of my MIL's children. Being too close to my MIL might pose this problem - i am saying that habits & ways are developed from young & children learn fast from us & the pple around them.

guilt pushing really is a horrible thing to be inculcated into a child's life - I had shiploads of it when i was young - maybe its a chinese culture thing - made me so insecure & not confident at all as a child & a young lady then.

now that i am married & am a mother - the whole picture dawns upon me that i must push the stop button at some point.

My BIL yday just told my MIL very firmly - my niece misbehaved & ran to seek refuge with my MIL her po po - BIL told MIL not to protect the child - MIL said never mind lah! - but then my BIL said " ma like that it will be very hard for us to teach the children" My mil immed released the child back to the father for discipline.

I learn & respect my BIL for his firmness - after all it is his own kids however it does take more efforts to discipline.

It will be painful on everyone's part - but clear communicated understanding must be made & reinforced for a better future... & perhaps - its a form of love aired as well.

mich - when u let ur gal cry it out, will she puke after tt.. isaiah just puked out water.. is it coz he cried too much earlier???

caitlyn, haha, i never tell her anymore..cos me guilty of buying too...but seriously, the pedipeds really worth it cos I got 2 pairs and they are really nice...though Megan can't fit them yet.

Haha, the sompah thingy ar...think reli cannot cos I am on my way to send Jen my GAP orders...wahahahaha...somemore I got my mum interested too, she also join in the spree to buy stuff for my niece....

and then Gymboree has the gymbucks thing? really tempting. In order not to let it go to waste, I bought MORE gymboree stuff...

Caitlyn, i personally won't use the cry it out method although it works for some babies. I find it too cruel to left the poor little helpless fellow crying..

so many posts!!! will catch up over the weekend!!

was sooooo damn bloody busy today, thanks to my colleague who left lotsa shit for me to clear (pardon me for my language, ladies cuz i'm damn pissed already!!) arrrgghhh...i wanna go home!!

caitlyn, oh dear, no leh, my girl never puke anything out... just wondering what your hubby thinks? I guess whatever you do, your hubby must work with you and then explain to your MIL... unless she has another solution that can help?

SNG, if you're referring to cry it out as leaving the baby alone in the room to wail, I also cannot do it. I know of a friend who do that - she calls it cold turkey - and tell me it works better cos her kids scream louder if she's there... but I also cannot take it. I usually pat my kids to sleep... but they also still cry... but not as jialat.

mich, sng, ok silly question time. iwanna ask at what age did u start realising that ur bb has a certain personality/ character?

bbfactory, personality/character in which aspect? I thot they already have from birth? Like my younger one is a easier baby in that she didn't have colic... my elder one was colicy and she spent hours crying the first couple of months and nothing would help - not carrying or patting...

vic_ma, my own mother did the same thing with my toddler. I said no hor fun unless you finish the rice... and my mum sneaked hor fun to her. I told my mum nicely and firmly you cannot do that as you are undermining my authority but she got defensive. I figured no point arguing with her, she only seems my kids once in 2 years so i live with it.

bbf

I think its like a childish thing that grows up with us - some pple have more some pple have less, others - its not there or non-existent.

like- make sure you get it properly haha! like i used to do that when my brother misbehaves - I will point it out to my parents haha!!!

but serious - i was told that i am jie jie - totally responsible for di di - so i did that - protect him all the way - my parents tot of him like the little angel & i was the huge devil at home. Until when i was abot 14 i decided- that's enough! i will no longer take my brother's rap - then i stopped protecting him, & stopped 'owning up' to his mistakes, then suddenly over nite - my parents saw the little devil they had & were so shocked!!!!!

They were telling each other how come he is like that - i was like standing behind them & thinking to myself "Now you both know!" HA!

bbfactory, i think they start having their own personality at 1.5yo.. that's when they know what is NO and bu yao.. if this is what u are asking about..

mich, a personality like introvert or extrovert. now its just good bb = sleep well, eat well, dun cry alot vs fussy bb

ok gals, gtg make my milk delivery. catch up later.

bbfactory, I think from birth I could tell my elder one was one fastidious baby who had to have everything in place - if we dun give her milk fast enough she will scream. Its more obvious as she turned into a toddler. My younger one is more patient and calm who by the way can wait for milk. Those days when I was direct bf her, she normally rejects the bottle. One nite i was too tired to latch, so my hubby tried to bottle feed her. She refused and went back to sleep for another 3 hours!

mich

My friends came back from US & had a lovely holiday in SG & malaysia she's from malaysia & he is from SG - they spent about 2 weeks in SG & 2 weeks in m'sia her 10 mth old's 1st trip out of the US since her birth - my friend's working there & brought his wife over & since she didnt apply for a job & with constraints - she became housewife & really spends alot of time reading up about how to teach the kid & stuff like that - her child is even toilet trained since the 7th mth - now she is a diaper free baby.

BUT came back the grand parents totally turned all the discipline & rules upside down - my friend i think had a hard time & when she went back maybe another 1-2 mths to retrain some things that could have been 'spoilt' during the home coming trip.

but like u said the grand parents only see the grandchild once in a blue moon - she just took these in stride & let them be.

do u know something some url or website or book i can read up about disciplining a child? now i am jsut monkey see monkey do - copy my BIL & SIL.

HB in a way doesnt like the way my older niece picked some some habits from childcare - is hoping that i become a SAHM to teach Vicky & prevent her from this over exposure.

My niece is rather stubborn & once she learns something -its very hard for her to unlearn it - thus when teaching her things & talking to her - we have to be very careful what we say as well.

vic_ma, yah I guess after the grandparents go off, some things gotta be adjusted... but someone said good habits are just as hard to break as bad habits so I guess its not too hard to get back on track. When my mum was visiting and staying at my house, she was sleeping with my toddler. After my mum left, my girl would keep asking me or hubby to sleep in her room but when we firmly said no, we sleep in the next room, she accepted it and did not make too much of a fuss.

vic_ma, I'd have to say the Ask Super Nanny by Jo Frost is a good book to have regarding how to handle toddler discipline... her naughty corner method seems good too. I'm about to start that with my elder one who recently has been trying to push the boundaries... we used to gently spank her but she is older now and since we can't spank outside, we're gonna do time out with the naughty corner.

oh ya - been wanting to get such a book -hb & i were impressed with the supernanny series on TV. My hb actually sat down & watched the whole programme with me!

I waiting for borders to email me discount coupons again off books - this should be one of my next to get books - starting mini library for myself incase i become a SAHM.