(2007/05) May 2007 MTB

cheezel

I just went to the zoo last Saturday! It's fun! But I didn't go to kids rainforest lah. I was afraid it would be crowded.

Springd
no la, it's 3-4hrs. Dats juz wkend. Wkday in sch, he oso nap abt 2 hrs oni n sleep 11ish at nite. Maybe dAts y he can sleep so much during wkends:p

Janet
tell us when we meet up;)

SD
i dun mind taking half day to meet up.....let me know the day....but i work in tuas lo....so the earliest i can knock off is 12pm.

janet
not gong gong....its gor gor who i refer to Javen. hehe....Jaren likes to eat...n he can look at someone food for the longest time and even drool and swallow saliva n sometime even lick his mouth with his tongue. hehe...Jaren weigns abt 9.7kg n Javen 12.6kg.

no la...the zoo outing is with my hubby, bro, sil and my parents....my bro going to US t work again so my nieces will be joining him there...so i just organise some outings b4 they leave.

janet,
is it the most recent issue? i'm so blur. i read the mag at least twice and i didn't realise. will go and dig it out again..

anyway if i were you i would be happy that B is not interested in TV. I've spoken to loads of pple abt this, even early childhood teachers and PDs and whoever else. everyone says it's good if your kid isn't interested in tv. well in my case Josh is more keen with reading.

the downside is reading demands a lot from us parents. whereas if they are keen on TV, we can just plonk them there. but given the kind of pros and cons...er...i really dun mind giving him the attention with the books.

CD,
there has been research that show. you can google to find out more.

how come you let your kiddos 'tong' till nearly midnite then sleep? I'll go nuts if Josh does that. Everyday, even tho he naps 2-3hours, i'll haul him into his room by 730-8pm, this would be aft his dinner and shower liao, then would do reading with him, let him have his milk then lights out. usually he'll be asleep by anytime between 830-9pm.
you all not tired one ah?!

Nellu
Ya…I prefer to watch tv with Javen rather than leave him alone to watch. But cos u previously is a SAHM so you have more time with Josh. During the day, my mil will just on the TV to Hi5, Barney or the kids channel and she will do her stuff like cooks for the boys etc….Javen will walk ard and play and watch as and when he likes. When I back,I will normally watch those educational ones with him like the starfall website etc.

But I do think kids can also learn from TV like what can be done and what cant be done etc….though not good for the eyesight.

Reading is good. Good that Josh like books….must definitely continues with this. I will rotate books, puzzles and song singing every night….sometime we will take a break and go down to the playground to play.

Javen also sleep ard 9pm. If he sleep at 11 or 12, I cant do my stuff. So normally will let him sleep early and I will do my stuff and sleep early too. Even if he nap till 4 plus in the noon, I will also lug him into the bedroom by 7 plus and lights out at 8plus…..i do this everyday so that it becomes a habit. Now after our dinner, he will know its bath time and will go into the room at times to wait for me.
but I do have many colleagues whose kiddo also sleep near 11 or 12pm…..even both my nieces also sleep at 11 plus. Well…I think it’s the parent’s preference or prob sometime the kiddo simply refuse to sleep ba.

Half day meet up:
HAve to check with SD when since it is her idea. and also keep a look out for good deal for high tea

Cheezel,
your bro going to US again? you wrote 'again', so meaning many times already lah...so do your nieces speak in US accent?

Nellu,
I appeared in the column whereby they asked the experts how do they feed their children.

Not that I let B 'tong' so long, but because she doesnt want to sleep. Lights will off usually at 10pm. but she will talk, sing, jump in bed until tired out, then she falls asleep herself. Sometimes when i am too tired, I fall asleep before her...BTW, B sleeps with us, not like josh in his own room

cheezel
I think 9 pm is good already. Adam sleeps at 10 pm earliest! He naps from about 2 - 3 pm to 6 pm. Sometimes I feel tempted to cut short his afternoon nap, hoping he'd sleep earlier at night.

But I think it's partly my fault too, coz I would want to watch TV till about 10.30 pm, so Adam hangs around too. If not, he'll do some jumping exercises on the bed with his dad. Hehe.

Springdance
Would "pretending to sleep" help to keep Jonas sleep longer too? Weekends are great for catching up on sleep! I hope he naps a bit longer so u get to catch up on yr sleep debt too.

Janet / CD / Cheezel
Ok great...let me check and come back with a proposed date for the lunch... probably a day next week? Meanwhile, if you gals have any suggestions for venue for high tea/lunch, please throw in your comments ya.

Nellu
Reading is certainly a better habit to cultivate than watching TV.. like Cheezel explained, our situation is that grandmas are the caregivers plus they also do housework, so it's almost impossible for them to sit down whole day with our kid or do reading with them. When they need to go busy in the kitchen (unfortunately I do not have a foreign helper...), one of the best solution is for them to let the kid watch TV lor. Hmm...with this, I guess you will go back to being a SAHM when No.2 comes?

As for sleeping time, my case (just like Janet) is also becoz my boy refuse to sleep if it's too early.

Smalldreams
Hehehe... True that if we dun go out on weekends, Jonas can nap more...but weekends are so precious to us in terms of outings since we can't bring him out on weekdays (working!).. no two winning ends! But on some weekends occasions, we do really get very tired and will laze in at home. :p

Springdance

I know what you mean. It's like we reallllly want to milk our weekends for all its worth right? Usually I'll take Adam out in the mornings and get home by 2 pm, get him to sleep so mom & dad can rest too. By 6 pm, he'll be up, we'll either head to our in-laws or after 8 pm, we might go out for dinner or something nearby.

That's how I make sure Adam has a proper nap at home. If he's outside, he won't nap properly lah, or worse, won't nap at all!

Nellu
Reading of course is good lah, but what to do, different households operate differently. I think TV is not necessarily that bad. There are some educational programmes too. My mom likes to point out animals / fish etc when they come on TV.

Come to think of it, stuff like My Baby Can Read DVDs are also not good, right coz we use on TV to show them too. It's like we're depending on TV to teach our kid to read! While it might work for now and many toddlers can "read" after that DVD, we're not sure what goes on neurologically in their tiny brains.

When I was doing Psych, i came across an article before that kids who start reading too early, have a risk of developing dyslexia. So scary! But of course, early intro to books is goodlah, pictures, easy words, to stimulate interest

Janet
Yes. My bro just came back when Javen is abt 1 yrs old with both my nieces n sil. Now they going again cos my bro posted there due to work. That’s for another 2 more yrs n that will be the last posting.

Smalldreams
Yeah…my colleagues also mention that cos they work late…sometime by the time they reach home, its ard 8pm….so they will spend some time with the kiddos before they head for the bed at ard 10 plsu to 11pm. As you say, each household operate differently….every one has their own way of doing things.....when we go out, then sometime Javen will doze off in the car on the way back…we will also let him play till when its time to go back…sometime abt 9 plus to 10 (that’s once in a while). but on normal days or if we didn’t go out, then I will make it a point for him to sleep early at 9pm (that’s cos I no watch TV…hardly watch tv nowadays).

SD
Hmm…..next week? Wed cant cos got company dinner. Should be ok for other days.

Smalldreams
But there are many symptoms for dyslexia right? ….high risk if start reading early? I read before that this can happen to normal child or its higher percent for later talker? Last time I teach tuition and this little gal always spell wrongly…as in cat, she spell act, or the alphabet will be written opp way…..like “e”, she will write the other way.

cheezel
don't worry lah. hypotheses keep changing as new studies come up but i think it's quite logical that some kids may develop complications of they are "forced" to learn to read too early. That's just my own point of view after what i've read in the past lah...

but of course if a kid is a genius, then naturally he'd be able to pick up reading at a very young age and progress well from there.

Aiyah don't worry lah. We're not hot-housing our kids what...just exposing them to reading materials early

Smalldreams,
Ya. Agreed. I haben been reading books to Javen these few days….last night take out 5 story books, n surprisely, he sit still throughout and look at the pictures. Sometime if the books too many wording, I will just cut short and change into my version of story…hehhee…..else, think he no patience to sit n read the books. Now Javen only look at the pictures…..he never look at the words…hahha….so he can only recognize “A, B ,C, D and E”

cheezel
jboy oso starting to recognise and discover alphabets and numbers. Nowadays he always point them out when he spot them .. in lifts, on posters, even on TV and keyboard:p

i tink there r too many research on too many topics. Sometimes even google, u get conflicted info .. I rather go with the flow. I tink the key here is spending appropriate amt of time on everything they do. Need to hv a good mix of books, playtime, TV time etc. Even computer time. Can only blame the technology for moving so fast .. i dun tink any parents wud be able to control the kids (i mean when they start schooling) fm TV and computers.

Janet
27 Aug is Thursday lei...typo error?

I am fine next week or the week after...

CD
Any dates you need to opt out for the lunch/high tea?

Re: Reading
My boy dun read out (as you already know why)...but he like take my finger and point to the pictures to request me to read out..think he can recognise the pics but he just dun say out..sometimes he seems to be babbling A,B,Cs when standing in front of the alphabets poster but when we go nearer to listen properly, he will quickly keep quiet..haizzz

springD
i tink jonas is juz more shy by nature. As you say, he will read to himself, but when he has audience, he juz shy away. I believe once he grow older, will get bolder also

Lunch/ Hi T
I cannot cmf my schedule next week. I hv a few meetings that I am still setting up. 27 Aug looks ok for now tho'.

Meetup:
i am ok on weekdays but not monday n thur. i would hv to brg cher along.

Brushing teeth:
cher teeth is so much cleaner af using the children fluoride toothpaste compared to d bb one. she used to not like brushing but now she enjoys it! what i did: let her stand on an ikea tall stool by the sink. i wld brush for her n ask her look at d mirror. told her af brushing, she can on d tap, fill her own cup of water n wash her hands w kirei kirei. so she looks forward to 'playing' w water n doesnt mind me brushing her teeth n even ask me to do so few tx a day :p

Sleep:
lights off at abt 9-9.30pm. cher wld talk n sing for a while n she wld doze off to dreamland. her sleeping time is quite fixed as i try to establish a routine since she was a small baby. her body alarm clock would tell her is time to sleep n she would tell me to off d lights usually by 9.30pm.

But i do agree w SD that since i m a sahm n main caregiver, is much easier for me to establish the kids' routine.

SD,
ash was recommended occupational therapy by kkh n i went for 1 session with him. but when i brought him to pte, d speech therapist felt tat is sufficient for ash to do speech without OT. did u manage to contact 'kaleidoscope'?

Since some of us are ok (for me) with 27 Aug, should we fix it on 27 Aug (Thur)?

1. SD
2. CD
3. Cheezel?
4. Sanrio (bring cher lah, I also havent seen her before)
5. Janet

Any suggestions for lunch / high tea?

Hi mummies, sorry to interrupt.

Can I check with you on potty training. My boy is so used to peeing in his diapers that he now cannot pee without the 'warmth' of it. He just holds his urine until I put the diapers on for him. I observed that for the last couple of days already.

Is there anyone with a similar experience? Can anyone advise how I can overcome this problem?

Many thanks.

angela,
bring him to the potty or toilet to pee every hr or so. If you continue to put on diaper, he will think that he has to pee in the diaper.

Since some of us are ok (for me) with 27 Aug, should we fix it on 27 Aug (Thur)?

1. SD
2. CD
3. Cheezel
4. Sanrio (bring cher lah, I also havent seen her before)
5. Janet

I prefer lunch.

Sanrio
We contacted Kaleidoscope for OT assessment but unfortunately, the therapist in charged is kinda fully booked for the time slots we wanted..so we ended up trying another place which is nearer to our house.

PLEASE bring Cher along for the lunch okie...she's such a sweet darling and I am sure you would not have problems eating with 4 other mummies helping to entertain her.

Re - Mummies' Lunch Date

How about this one under UOB credit card promotion?

Carousel, Royal Plaza on Scotts
• 1 dines free with every 3 paying adult diners for high tea
• 1 dines free with every 4 paying adult diners for lunch
Valid from 17 Aug - 24 Sep 2009
Tel: 6589 7799

We spilt the total bill among 5 pax... Comments???

wow...an outing, enjoy yrselves!

Today's our 4th yr wedding anniversary but both of us are working. We just went out for a quick movie date yesterday in the afternoon and tonight we'll probably bring adam out for ice cream.

Cheezel
Hahah... not surprising coz Carousel is one of the MOST popular buffet venue for Singaporeans becoz of the food quality and price.

In that case, think a buffet lunch the week after may not sound attractive to you...or perhaps we should consider ala carte menue restaurant?

As for Barney t-shirt, I've seen them around various places but not exactly sure where...maybe can look see in children's departments in places like robinson, taka or OG?

Janet / CD / Sanrio
Do give your suggestions on the lunch venue ya.

Smalldreams
Hope your family have an enjoyable evening..

Gathering:
I think I should be able to go. Lunch right?

Reading:
no offense to anyone. just thought i share with you gals abt the TV vs reading bit. I didn't deliberately hot-house Josh to read. Previously when I was SAHM, I didn't have help at all and was doing everything alone. still i didn't see the need to use the TV to help me babysit Josh.

in any case, Josh's preference is books. perhaps it's cos he sees us reading a lot? as opposed to watching tv.

Teeth:
sanrio, did that really work? i'm still at my wits' end on it.

Sleep:
agree that it's easier to manage their routine when you stay home with them. but i'm almost working FT now too, yet nothing has changed for Josh's routine. I still haul him to his room by 730pm thereabouts. of course everyone does things differently but for us, it's cos we know his daily nap time is from 1230-3pm, so by abt 8pm he's tired enough for bed. and he's up every single morning at 645-7am no less! i would think it would be totally unfair of me to deprive him of sleep...having said that I think i sacrifice a lot of other activities/outings just so that i can keep his bed time.....no fun leh.....

Springdance
Thanks for yr wishes! Just received a bouquet of white & red roses from hubby. Didn't know he could be that sweet, haha...pleasantly surprised!

I used to like Carousel too, but i think i can't eat that much. Esp during pregnancy, i just can't stuff much food in! And it's the only halal hotel buffet around, so no choice lor, that's the place we'll head to.

nellu
i tink dats it .. it really depend on what the parents does. In our case, its lots of TV and computers (his daddy) :p Maybe it will gets alot easier if the kids sleep in a seperate rm. But for co-sleeper, it's kind diff for the parents to lights off at 8pm.

CD
i off the light when i making them sleep. when they zzz...i will on the light again. hehehe....seems like both boys r ok with it.

nellu
understand SAHM seldom has help during the day. while prob age is catching up with mil(s)....hehe....prob they prefer to on the tv for the kiddos to watch. I'm ok with it as long as no violence show ba. think most of the older generation will do that..... even if i'm at home alone with the kiddos, i also on the tv for Javen n Jaren to watch...though i seldom watch tv.

individual kid prefer diff thing..like ur josh prefer books while CD's jboy prefer TV/PC?

eh...the lunch u dun fly aeroplane this time rd....the last lunch, u were uncontactable ....MIA? cos i dun see u at the lunch gathering....

smalldreams,
forgot to wish you! happy anniversary!

cheezel,
ya if i put Josh with my mil/mum, this TV thing will happen too. worse with my mum than with my mil!

aft some time can see what the kids like themselves. for josh it's not that he's not exposed to tv at all. he's crazy abt mickey mouse clubhouse and thomas! but i only let him watch these 2 programmes. others, no lor and in any case, he's not even interested..hahaha

lunch -- no lah..should be able to make it this time. can't remember what happened last time. must have been some emergency that's why i was uncontactable?

Cheezel
You let us know again after your co. dinner next wed...if you feel kinda 'sick' of the food, let us know and we can always decide on something else for lunch. I'm ok with Ala carte or Buffet .

Smalldreams
That's sooo sweet of your hubby..I have not even got a stalk from the MAN since we got married...he's the practical & terribly unromantic kinda guy...signzzz

Nellu
Your EDD not this month rite? So hopefully no "emergency" for the lunch date ya.. :p

You bringing Josh along then? He can meet up with Cherelle..

SD,
i cannot handle Josh alone now. he's too active for me. hahaha anyway cher and josh met each other before but prob cannot remember....hahahah

my EDD is next month..i also dun want to have emergency so early. :p i'm not prepared leh!

Nellu
That’s interesting…josh not interest in other program? I ever saw Javen watching those opera show casted on TV…hehe…n he didn’t even blink his eyes and asked me whats that…..last evening he was watching the chn drama at chn 8 at 7pm…theres this scene on the guys pretending to be ghosts with long hairs and white gown…hJaven take a look and ask me whats that….before I can answer him, he told me they are monsters and he didn’t like them…..so I ask him to continue to play with lego instead of watching if he doesn’t like.

SD
Ok…I let you know after wed.
Hehe…u very funny le when u say u haben even receive a stalk from the MAN after married. But your hubby is those kind like very very family man…….nvm la….no flower no flower….but u all do go for dinner etc right??

cheezel
jboy was also super into teochew opera at one time .. i tink its e costume and the music dat is catchy. U knw, now there is a mediacorp advert on TV .. the one they try and illustrate they covers TV, radio, mag, internet etc etc .. .wif 2 hands moving. Jboy always asked me wat is that .. till now, i still dunno how to ans him. I juz tell him it's 'magic' kakak :p

<font color="0077aa">lol! So funny cheezel &amp; CD that your boys watch the opera! I can imagine their bewildered look...hehehe!But OK what.... early exposure to culture... Hehe...

Nellu
Thanks for the wish!

Springdance
Aiyah, my hubby also verrrry rarely give me flowers. This is the 2nd time since we've been married! Actually between him &amp; me, I'm the more practical &amp; non-romantic one. But I appreciate it anyway.

Have a good weekend everyone!</font>

smalldream,
well wishes from me too.
I received flower once during my pregnancy for my birthday. But I told him, I prefer money. Asked him to learn how to fold money into flowers..haha, naughty me.

Cheezel,
Barney clothes can buy from pasa malam, if you dont mind. I bought a few sets of barney pajamas already.

PG,
Thanks for your compliment. I rebonded my hair...that is why the hair looked ok. Actually it is the magic of make-up. I look really ugly in real life.

Nellu,
glad that you can join our lunch date. looking forward to meeting you again

Nellu
Oic...next month...then you better come out enjoy more this month...after No. 2 come out, think you not much time to meet up with friends oledi. :p

Cheezel
Dinner got lar...but hor, it usually starts with with me saying "eh...anniversary coming, we going out for dinner that day rite?"... if I dun say first, I think he probably forget!

smalldreams
Hapi anniversary! Ur heart muz be floating wen u re'vd those flowers

Gathering:
Hope u gals enjoy...Like wad SD msg, beta enjoy tis mth nellu b4 no.2 is out...like me, nw wanna go aniwer oso muz pre pre arrange...hahaha..

Cheezel,
wad kind of barney t-shirt u looking for? Those hm wear wif barney prints? I saw sum selling at TPY hub, its comes in a set of t-s &amp; shorts..

Janet
so did ur hb learn how to fold $$ into flowers?? heehee...

mom@work/janet
nt those hm wear type, white tee n barney print. the material looks abit thin. cos Jaren's 1st bday is barney theme so hope to find some nice t shirt with barney prints on for both boys to wear.

janet
nobody is ugly. say yourself till like that.....i also wanna go rebond my hair cos it loks like shit now.

CD
sometime when i couldnt ans Javen, i will tell him to ask daddy instead like "Mommy also not very sure abt this, later when daddy is out from the toilet, you ask him"....hehe....

Cheezel,

Thanks for your advice. That was what I had in mind. I am just worried of him contracting urinary tract infection if he holds on to his urine for too long.
I will try your advice and persevere.Thanks.

mum@work,
no, he didnt learn, and didnt even give any more flower...i dug my own tomb...hee hee

cheezel,
go and re-bond lah...now very cheap also have..mine was $88. I remember the first time i did re-bond was when they first introduced it..it was so expensive back then...

Janet
I managed to see the picture of you in the mag...indeed you look quite different... miracles of make-up and hair styling ( but I dun mean you dun look good previously...just that you are more natural and less super star like) ...so after being on the mag, do you try to put on make up now when you are out to maintain the "model mummy" image? Oh ya, you did lasik?

Re: National Day photos
Furtehr to last week, I finally managed to upload our National day photos on FB (though nothing about NDP :p )....can view when you have the time.

SD,
no, I am still without make up. not that I went lasik. IT is that I was blind...I asked them whether I can put on my spec. They said no...so I went around with everything extremely blur.