(2007/05) May 2007 MTB

SD
Yes. Planning for Jaren bday party now. Going to make barney theme this time rd. trying to get those barney airwalker, maylar balloon etc……but the party will prob be a smaller scale. We wont be inviting many guests this time rd as we book the downtown east chalet instead of aranda CC which we did for Javen for his 1st bday party….cos it cos 800+ for just 2 night stay. The last time we only pay 500.

You must be tired out also….have to bring jonas for therapy session. How will the therapy help with the development? Mind not coordinating with his senses….sounds chim. But you must be sad right…..will Jonas recover with therapy sessions? Lucily you bring him for assessment…at least he can receive treatment early.

SD,
Dont worry too much. I am sure with early treatment and love and care from you and your family, Jonas will be able to fight over this obsticle. Furthermore, he is also in the child care / playgroup now right. He would definitely need to 'quarrel' with other kids right. This will make him wants to talk soon. Miracles can happen.

cheezel
Think the virus is in the air, anyone can catch it now. Sighs...just hope the boys will be stronger and will not catch the germs too easily.

So fun.... Jaren turning 1 soon!
Have fun planning

Springdance
If you need some breather, do pop by in here. At least can rant a bit about yr work.
I hope Jonas will show improvements after your efforts. You're right, no matter what, we have to push on as they're our dears. Did the therapist say if anything could help improve further? All the best.

My MS comes in only when I brush my teeth in the morning. I hate it! Now in my 19t week, I still puke in the mornings. Don't know if adam will get a mei mei or di di yet, but, I can feel the little one moving already.

long time didn't log in. how's everyone and your kiddos doing??

I'm still here. not popped yet...still have another few weeks more to go but have been ordered to stay home for one week on bed rest...sigh...bb's a bit small plus last wed had a slight leak from water bag..... so now will have time to come in here for a chat or two.

SD,
how's Jonas? do try to go for a few therapy sessions. dun think this is the end of it all. Perhaps this could be an assessment that could be done too early or of sorts. recently met some pple who used to be in Mindchamps. they shared with me that sometimes medical assessments done at an early stage could be erroneous. Other than therapy, perhaps do try at your own effort to stimulate Jonas as much as you can but don't pressure him. pressure i feel will hinder things more than help.

smalldreams,
19 weeks already still MS?! poor you.... how's your appetite? mine had not been good since day 1 that's why v worrying.

oh ya...i wanted to ask you mummies about dentist for kiddos. Anyone of you brought your kiddos to one already? I'm thinking of taking Josh cos he;s been pretty stubborn about not brushing his teeth recently...getting concerned cos his teeth are discolouring...do let me know if you gals have any recommendations.

Nellu,

nice to see u. take care.

I found one way to encourage kiddos to brush teeth is you brush together with them and also buy the ikea higher stool, so that they can try to wash their hands and put the toothbrush themselves. try on josh...see whether it works

SD
dun worry too much..like wat janet said...1 day he will start "quarrelling" with his peers in CC..

Janet
I tried to brush together with my boy..but he will just stare in amazement...haiz..still cannot get him to properly brush his teeth..

Janet,
i've tried this with Josh already. It used to work. recently he started to become really stubborn and refuses to do it.

nellu/zhuzhu
Javen nw willingly to brush teeth. previously, he will run and hide when he knows it brushing time. I told him becos he eats crackers and sweet and choclate....n if he didnt brush, all the bugs, ants, lizard etc will crawl into his mouth n he will have no more teeth next time. hehehe....will will say want brush want brush.

SD
i agree with nellu. dun pressurise him. just try to stimulate him....or check with the therapist how u can do this at hm.....interact with him more.....Jonas is a cute boy!! I cant wait to see him quarrel with his peers or fight over toys with his peers.......

I read one toothbrushing book to B before. So i always relate the story to her. Said must brush teeth, the father in that story book also said that to his daughter...

maybe can try related story book

janet/cheezel,
haiz...at least B and Javen still "ting hua". my Josh is super stubborn. we've tried a lot of things actually...and the funny thing is he was brushing his teeth dilligently during the week when we were in Switzerland! I dun understand it. i thought it was cos we were all brushing together. so when we were back home, i did the same thing but then he started to refuse.

anyway still would need to take him to the dentist for a quick check on the discolouration.

nellu,
I guess kids change their habits all the time. Take your time to train Josh...since you will be at home for a few months right? oh, remember to tell us the gender of the new addition when you are ready.

Cheezel,
yes, there is a cake shop..i think it is e-creative...along the same row as the food court.

Morning all!
Nellu
U can try a fluoride based toothpaste like kodomo. Sanrio tried it, and it helped with getting rid of the discolouration on cher's teeth.

So what did you mommies do over the long weekend? I went to the zoo on saturday, just visited my mom & inlaws on sunday, and yesterday went to expo and bot some wooden toys & puzzles for adam. Can't resist lah, the toys were too cute!

SD
I hope you had a good rest this long weekend!

smalldreams
We din do much .. it's very much a rest n relax wkend. We went changi beach on Sat evening tho'. Sun was watching NDP at hm, followed by more TVs .. haha :p

Thanks for the encouragements...therapy sessions are suppose to help but no idea how long it will take to see effect... such things are kinda "invisible" I feel and honestly, even if Jonas does improve, I really wonder if it becoz of the therapy or he just "open up" as he grows up...hahah...although we feel like "being led by the nose" bringing him to this & that assessment and signing up for therapy sessions, guess we will still "do it" lor rather do nothing about it...hopefully he'll show some signs after a few therapy session, then won't be so hard on his mummy & daddy financially & physically. :p

Raindrops
Did you had MS when you had Adam? Hopefully by later 2nd trim, you'll have 'normal' mornings..hehehe...can see your tummy yet?

Nellu
You must be quite "big" now...mind to share what's your weight now? :p

How is Josh's reaction towards the little baby inside? Got signs of jealousy yet?

Cheezel
You saw my boy during classes b4 ya...always timid and "giving in" ...doubt he'll try to quarrel with his peers...hahahah...but I do hope he'll try to make "small talks" with them lar..wahahahah!

<font color="0000ff">Re: National Day</font>
Brought Jonas for hotel stay in the Marina area...will post the photos on FB when I find the time.

CD
Sounds good. Just "nuah". Is that the word to use? But i think u're one of the mummies who love taking your kid out! :p

I tot the parade was nice this yr too...the first part was quite interactive. But I didn't follow after the president came.

SD
Wow, that's nice! Was it at fullerton? ehhe..my cousin stayed there last week (for the preview) and i think it was $300 per night.

smalldreams
brought the kiddos to a national day carnival on sat. National day itself is a bz day....my hubby grandma's and my grandma's birthday...one in the noon and one in the night....btw, Javen know how to sing the 1st line of the national anthen and we had a good laugh when he signa nd clap his hand.....so funni...so whole day is gone with the 2 celebration. already upload the pics in my blog for the carnival. When i find time will upload for the celebration. Yesterday was bz searching for jaren's party supplies like balloons, door poster etc.

SD
dun worry....did you check with the teacher if Jonas interact with the rest of the kids?

I Have A pair of KEANE Perfect Symmetry tour Concert Tickets!!!!

DATE : Thurs, AUG 13 2009
Time : 2000H
Venue: Fort Canning Park

Retail Price for 1 ticket :$95 / --$103.65 (Inc GST)

SELLING at $150 for both tickets. Price Neg. Interested pls sms 98414683 or e-mail [email protected]

SD,
dun worry too much. when you least expect it, jonas may just surprise you.
the key thing is you must stay positive and encourage him. when he feels that you are positive about it, he'll be more ready to move forward.

i've put on abt 14kg so far. dun look v big. cos this time round started off lighter than before. plus appetite not as good as when i had josh. Josh knows abt baby and he'll tell you "Mama is going to have a baby. The baby is in Mama's tummy." he'll even pat my tummy and all. but i think the real impact will not hit until baby actually arrives. for now he's fine, though sometimes he asks me to carry him and would sulk a bit when i said i can't. but i did promise him i'll carry him aft baby is born.

smalldreams,
thanks for the recommendation of the toothpaste. will try. our biggest prob is getting him to brush properly!

RE: National Day
i couldn't do anything much as i was ordered to stay home and take bed rest. ...so no one went anywhere and we all were driven nuts by the lil' tasmanian devil of Josh.

zhuzhu
my email add is [email protected]. Add me to yr blog list?

SD
Yes! My MS still hits when I brush my teeth in the mornings. During Adam's time, it only went away around the 6th mth so I guess it's the same. I can eat pretty much everything but I stay away from sardines and instant noodles coz I puked when I ate them. Haizzzz...

cheezel
My dad's birthday also on National day! So clever lah Javen, can sing the anthem. I bet Adam has no clue what that is altho it's in malay!

Nellu
Kids, how to expect them to brush properly?? haha. But dentist recommended brushing from the side, not immediately infront. It helps when I do that on Adam.

I also didnt do much during this long holiday...like no where else to bring already. Although we did go to vivo planning to play at the water feature, it was drizzling and the daddy didnt want B to play...hence, it was just a shopping session

cheezel,
zhuzhu is right about the name. in fact, there is directory of downtown east on the web. you can try that if you need the phone number.

CD,
so does Jboy sit down quickly to watch all kind of TV prog? Very easy to look after hor...B is not interested in any other forms of TV programmes except barney and Dora. So when I want to watch my favourite TV prog also cannot, because she would want me to play with her

CD / smalldreams
Didn't get tics to the floating platform and we couldn't see the fireworks from the hotel rm in fact (requested for a marina view room but couldn't get it). Anyway, we still had a good short stay lar, just lazing around and enjoy the room and the pool. For fireworks, we went to one of those crowded open space areas to catch them. Jonas was kinda afraid of the loud "boom boom" sounds of the fireworks. :p

Smalldreams
Lucky it's only sardine and instant noodles...these are all fine to omit during pregnancy..heheh...as long as you can eat sufficient and healthy, that's most important. My colleague couldn't drink plain water when she was preggie and so she had to keep drinking juices or barley water to quench her thirst.

Cheezel
The report given by the school indicates that Jonas gets along well with his peers...but I dun quite know how he interact though...the school dun have parent-teacher sessions due to H1N1.

Nellu
Are you still going to work then? Or on unpaid leave?

anyone into bento making?
Saw a spree at this site :
http://www.nst.my/
So cool! Just that I don't have the creativity to do all this.

Yesterday I cooked macaroni soup for Adam and he had 2 servings. So happy!

SD
Yah, thank goodness I can still eat. I love eating. hehe. The fireworks ARE loud! So brave of Jonas
I remember last time I accompanied some young kids - abt 4 yrs old to a firework display and when the fireworks came on, the little boy clung on to me. I could feel his heart beat so fast.

janet
TV ah . it depends. Like NDP, he watched a little, play his toys abit, and if catchy scene, he will look again. Some times i hv to point out certain thing to lure his interest .. like, wah u see, the soldiers are marching etc etc :p Even than, mid way, he still went inside the bedrm to watch his Hi-5 dan come out again for the pledge coz I screamed for him .. haha :p

Janet
Ya…I went to the website but then they didn’t have the cake I want. I want to order barney cake but they didn’t have le.

SD
Prob can ask the teacher when you bring jonas to or from sch? I will always check with the teacher if I’m on leave and bring him to sch….else my mil also don’t know what to ask….

Smalldreams
Javen can only sing the 1st line only ……

cheezel,
i think barney only from prima deli and bakers inn. because they copy right, emicakes is quite bad in copy rights cakes. All their cakes are DIY design type

smalldreams
I saw dat website but i got no patience to do these bentos..I still got some new bento tools still havent use yet..

Cooldaughter
I oso tried to get Markus to say the pledge..but he not too happy when i put his hand across his chest..

smalldreams,
ya...cannot brush properly but Josh also dun want to let us help him! major headache! the thing is he actually can do it (cos his teeth were really clean and white for a while when we were in Switzerland!), but he just refuses to. hey, you mentioned dentist recommended brushing from the side? how? did you bring Adam to a dentist?

SD,
i'm on mc now. hopefully can go back to work next week. i haven't done my hand over!

agree with cheezel. ask Jonas' teachers directly about his progress. does his school have a communication book? if have you can leave a note in there as well. This is what the childcare centres do. and I frequently check on Josh's progress using this medium, cos sometimes may not meet the teacher when i drop him off or pick him up.

CD,
jboy watches Hi-5? is he like hooked to it? there was a period, sometime back that Josh's sch let the kids watch abt 30mins of Hi5 everyday. Wah..tell you ..they were all like addicted to it like that! Josh can come home and say some dunno what Hi5 cheer. wasn't v happy abt it cos didn't get informed by sch abt this. my neighbour had it worse cos her gal's older (4yo) and would come home and pester them to let her watch Hi5!

luckily they stopped already. cos a lot of TV actually hinders the kids' speech development and reading ability.

janet
yeah...i think so. the other time my bro actually order fr prima deli....

zhuzhu
Javen is opp. he happily put his hand on his chest...but dunno how to say the pledge. when i say now, he will ask me to put my hand on my chest. hahaha..

Hihi mummiesssssssssss
Been MIA long time!! Was real busy wif 2 kiddos..How's everyone &amp; all the lil'ones?? Sumx got time to read thru abit of the thread oni....

Nellu, smalldreams
Wow, time passes real fast hor...u gals muz take care ya, my lil'one is 6mths liao!! Smalldreams, 19wks liao, so wads the gender?

Janet
U appeared in Young Parents mag huh....hehehe...nice pics of u &amp; B.

mum@work,
ya mah...it has been a while since you logged in.

Yes, appeared in Young Parents. You subscribed? thanks for your compliments.

How is the lil'one? You taking care of both yourself?

cheezel
1 line better than nothing mah...hehehe..

This is the time kids absorb language like sponge! I am tempted to place adam in some mandarin class, but the problem is, i can't speak mandarin despite having gone for a class previously! Adult brain, so stiff, not like children's!

Nellu
Yups I brought adam to dentist. His teeth is not good lah
probably due to him latching on. Coz he doesn't even take sweets! Instead of bringing the toothbrush right infront of Josh, try doing so from the side. and children, no need to brush like us, adult. just brush horizontally, use small strokes will do. Use fluoride based toothpaste.

Mum@work
Hey any pics of you &amp; your princess &amp; prince? Hehe, are you still a tai-tai? so fun!

Zhuzhu
I got yr invite, thanks! Was reading abt markus' fall but good to see his stitches healed well. I remembered my friend's son, around 18 mths that time, fell after running out after a bath. He fractured his skull. But he's fine now. I can't imagine what the mother went through.

Janet
Wow, you &amp; B are famous!

Cheezel / Nellu
I dun bring my boy to school coz he will "bu she de" to go in if I am the one bringing and he starts wailing... once I fetch him from school and wanted to speak to the teacher but she never came out lei...only one indian lady (not his teacher) brought him out. Other than that, most of the days I am working when he goes school (can't take leave at all for the past months!).

Hmm...maybe I can try the communication book though...it's practically empty. I thought the school will update his progress in that book but they never did... they only do if I put questions inside huh?? :p

Janet
Wow...you &amp; B on magazine? Is it a competition? So they make over for you?

ZhuZhu
I also cannot access your blog...would you mind to add me? But if not convenient, it's okie.

Mum@Work
Good to "see" you again....hope you are doing great! Got update photos of your two darlings? Can post here show us?

<font color="0000ff">Re: Gardentech</font>
Mummiesss...so long we never meet liao...anyone keen to visit Gardentech this weekend? Maybe we can go together...

http://www.gardentech.com.sg/dnn453/Activities/WhatsOnGardenTech2009/tabid/161/Default.aspx

smalldreams,
so adam knows how to split out after brushing? B still doesnt know. plan to teach her soon.

SD,
no, it was an interview. not really make over lah. only do make-up and the pictures were taken at my home.

i dont mind a meet-up, good to catch up

Janet
Adam doesn't know lah. he tries but nothing comes out hahah! Anyway the dentist said, you need to swallow a whole tube of toothpaste to get fluoride poisoning.

Janet
Yea, taking care of both by myself...sumx realli tiring. Cant get enuff of slp.

smalldreams
hahaha...nice to hear is taitai la..

SD
Will try to post sum pics soon, no time to upload frm my camera yet.

BRUSHING TEETH
K like to brush her teeth w/out toothpaste. Wen I intro toothpaste to her, she find it funi &amp; ddnt wanna brush her teeth so I brush &amp; let her brush w/out toothpaste so far. Intend to bring her to dentist for chkup soon so tat she will not be afraid (as most kids do afraid of dental chkup).

zhuzhu.
maybe jboy sees everybody on TV doing the pledge, + mummy and daddy too .. so he follows. Actually b4 NDP, there's an advert dat they show on TV< wif alot of pple doing the pledge, he oredi will follow some times. He's quite a little copy cat now .. kaka.

nellu
jboy watched pratically anything. .. H5, Barney, Thomas, mickey, elmo .. etc etc. Even teochew opera was 1 time his fav. eday he muz watch. Both me n hubby quite TV addicts actually, so we hv no intention to restrict his TV time yet .. wait till sch time, maybe we will tink abt it. :p

Does TV really hinders speech n reading ability?

SpringD
which day and time?

smalldreams,
ok, if fluoride is ok to swallow, then i will introduce right after I finish with the sweet sweet toothpaste...

mum@work,
take care...tai tai is always a good profession. job satisfaction is much higher than employee work, though like u said, it could be very tiring.

CD,
jboy good lei...can watch TV and not move. if only B is like that...sian...

zhuzhu
I PM you my email addy...let me know if you do not receive okie..

Janet / Cool D
Was thinking of either sat or sun around 1pm (i.e. meet after lunch)...

Cool D
Speech therapist also told us too much TV for the kid will hinder speech development.. which Jonas does watch alot... but I think Jordan is really quite "advanced" lei so I guess not applicable for his case ba.

janet
no la .. jboy still moves ard when he watch TV.

springD
1pm is jboy's nap time. usually will wake up 4+ 5... jonas dun take afternoon nap?

on TV .. actually i thot jboy picks up alot of words fm TV .. some r rubbish la, but since TV is always 'talking', i always hv tis thot kids will follow them (the TV i mean) :p

SD
I think Javen pick up quite a number of words from watching TV..and also dancing. Hmm….sometime when there are scene where pple fight, I will ask him if can fight and he will reply say uncles naughty fight policeman will come catch all go jail. Hmm….but most of the time he dun sit n watch la….he walk ard play toys do his stuff n then once in a while,, he watch a while and then play ard.

I’m bringing the kiddos and my nieces to the zoo on sat. not too sure if hubby wanna join on sun. Javen also nap ard 1 plus till 3-4plus.

CD / Janet / Cheezel
My boy nap time kinda flexi one..hahah...some days he dun even nap at all! Seems like hard to coordinate with the different nap times of our kiddos hor...perhaps WE (just mums) should choose a day take half day leave and meet up for a good lunch or high tea instead.. what you think?

CD
Jordan can nap 4-5 hours ah! So envy!! My boy's standard is 2hrs only and he can "dong" until 12 midnight with 2 hrs nap during weekends...that's why mummy always not enuf sleep &amp; tired.

Janet
Me very KPO...how you get selected for interview by magazine? :p

Cheezel
Jonas "glued" to TV type when the program he likes is on.. for example, MR BEAN ... maybe that's why he dun learn to talk. Hiazzz.....

Cheezel,
you one person bring so many kids to zoo ah? super mum cum nanny. Saw your blog, is javen very heavy now? because you wrote gong gong said he greedy

SD,
B also naps for 2 hours and sleeps at 11pm at night. so i also dark eye rings.
Good idea for mums to take half day leave and meet up. count me in.
As for the interview, sorry cant put it on public forum like this.