(2007/05) May 2007 MTB

cheezel
yes .. it cud be he rushing to say something, or he is saying a sentence too long for him :p sometimes he dun stutter, but he will drag some words.

I juz google, most website says its normal .. so i guess i will try n monitor see how.

smalldreams,

It is very expensive for 1 night stay at Siloso even with UOB card

The dates I am looking at:

Room Type Single Double BBF Remarks
Roof Garden Suite $335 $335 Yes 10 August - 04 Sep 09

One night for S$335 is very expensive :p

Smalldreams
Hmm….i think all equally bad la..hehe….salty n sweet all no good. Somemore crackers sometime can be quite oily esp if its fried.

PG
Hmm….cant remember how much I lost along the way…but gain 20kg for 1st preg. Lost 12 kg before 2nd one. i gain 15kg for 2nd one…..then lost only abt 6kg after that. Along the way I just shed the kgs here n there….now is 4 more kg to lost to my pre-preg wt.

Pisces Gal
I think we feel the pinch coz it's just a local destination yet it's so expensive! Haha. But the picture looks very enticing tho it can't beat the gorgeous view at Maldives beach. Hehe. but then again, no need to fly / spend on air tickets if we just camp out in Sentosa's resort.

can you mums help me with this question? what is your answer?
does your child look at you in the eye for more than a second or two?

because my son hor, he usually won't look at our eye for more than 2 seconds. and he is not talking yet, so i am getting worried.

My son sleep at 9 pm, wake at 7 am. nap about 3 hours.

cheezel, thanks for teaching how to dry veg. does it mean the dried veg when u put into porridge to cook again, it will look and taste like normal veg? does it mean any kind of green veg will do? eg leafy veg?

I am feeding my son grains. bought from various places. arcade at raffles place, great world city, or vivo the market place. you can google more, eg organic short grain brown rice, millet, quinoa, amaranth, barley. all these are grains. i will measure according to super porridge book and pack it individually for my maid to cook for son. i also add split pea and lentils. they are type of beans. i also give black bean, kidney bean, chick pea.

oats or instant cereal for breakfast.

ris
i guess at tis age, their attention span is very short. i oso feel its not ez to get jboy to fully concentrate on me, but some x when i m scolding him, and he looks elsewhere, i will ask him 'look at mummy' and he will. Maybe coz he scared.

I hv tis habit maybe u can try it out .. jboy n me co-sleep, some times, we lie on the same pillow, look at each other and sing lullaby together .. so those can last for a few minutes.

If u r really worried, maybe can talk to your PD or do a speech assessment or something?

Ris
Hmm…the dried vege ah….when cook then it become like those finely chopped vege which you cook with porridge. But if you just add it to the rice or cereal, then it just add colour to it. Not much smell/taste cos never add any oil, or seasoning. Not sure abt other vege le…..my mom only teach me chn spinach. Hahaha…..

For those grains, how do you cook them? As in cook like porridge? Cook with porridge??

Hmm….me like CD, when cold Javen, he will normally look away so I will ask him to look at mommy n then he will look at me. Sometime when I bz with other things, he will call out to me…but if I no response, he will tilt his head and face to face with me to get my attention….. does your boy understand what u say?? As in when you ask him things, he response?

cheezel,
siloso only has Queen size bed right? How did your family of 4 squeeze in a queen size bed? that time, when i went genting, I already asked for King size. And i thought that size was just nice.

cheezel, what is chinese spinach? is it like kimchi those type? or green spinach leaves?

my boy still eating porridge, so i use slow cooker. just wash and dump into slow cooker. just measure them proportionately with lentils/split peas and pack, and cook as one meal. lunch sometimes rotate eat white porridge, abc pasta or couscous. but will still add ice cube veg, pork and fish.

yes, my boy understand what i say. he can also understand what i say to maid. eg, i call out, maid, faster keep that before boy takes it...and boy faster run to that object already. u know?

CD,
I stayed in Resort. Perfect. If I go back to Genting, I will definitely stay there again. Room is new, bed is big, toilet also new.
Bad point: We encountered shut down of water supply. But that was our last day already, so ok.
IF walking to the theme park, ok lah...acceptable distance loh.

But I cant remember how much. I think quite cheap, because i went during off peak time, and weekdays.

ris
my boy oso dun look at me in the eyes when i tok to him..

cheezel
me now oso lookin at stayin at the rooftop suit at siloso...but pretty X for 2 nites..

CD
i also stay resort when i go genting.

Janet
that time i request for baby cot for jaren. When i went to Malacca, they also only Queen size bed...the 4 of us also squeeze in the bed.....hehehe

ris
can 10 month old take millets? i just went to buy a pack of organic millets....Lentils also can take? can cook them with porridge or cereal??

if ur boy can understand n response, i think should be an issue ba. at least u know he hears what u say n even response. prob just slow in talking?? Prb can talk to ur PD abt it?? tis kind of things if make u worried, i think better to seek professional help to ease your doubt. the earlier u know whats wrng, the better....if nothing wrong then u can rest your mind also.

hmm....chinese spinach.....hoi cai?? heng cai?? dunno how to pronounce le...any mommies can help me with this?? sometime it comes with purple leaves.....you see b4??

cheezel, i have to refer to Ruth Yaron book. they have month by month intro which new food....do you have the book? yes, lentil and millet cook it like u are cooking porridge. cereal, no. cereal is instant I mean.

ok, i think i know what is spinach already. thanks.

Helloe Mummies

How's everyone? Been MIA for quite some time coz my work was terribly busy...hope to take a breather this month before the work gets "No day No Night" again in Sept thru Nov.

Just checking with you all..has your kid started using pillow yet or still sleeping on the mattress surface directly? What age is it better to start for their back bone development?

SD
jboy luvs my big pillow. In fact, i recently bot 2 big pillows and 1 jnr set for jboy which comes with a small pillow and a smal bolster .. but he always wanna sleep on my big pillow and give me the small one

Btw .. how sleeping on pillow affect back bone developement?

SD,
Yah man. long time no see.
hope u are fine.

B also likes to share pillow with me. But once she slept, I will transfer her to her mattress with no pillow.

CD
Actaully I am not quite sure...but I think since their bones are still actively developing ...the curvature of their backbone may be affected by their sleep posture...for example, if the pillow is too high or becoz of the way it is curved, it may result in "hunch back" over a prolonged time? Hmmm.....I dunnoe.

Janet
How are you? Still working at same company? Briana still got go GUG classes?

if u received the pediasure voucher in ur mailbox har..n u dun wan it..pls let me know..i pay SAE for it..thanks!!

zhuzhu
i have the voucher. u want?>

SD
Javen likes to sleep on our bolster/pillow. i bought him a thomas train pillow n bolster set. now he sleeps on it but he will sometime shift positioin n sleep on the bloster which i use to block him fr falling off.

not too sure abt back development....but the respiratory specialist which Javen is seeing says that with such level position, if with blocked nose, they feel better.

Javen is down with fever since last sun night. till now still have le. give him bifen last night, n it went dwon immediately but then tis morn come back again. doc give him antibiotic...

now Jaren also having fever.....take half day off to bring him see doc later

cheezel
oh dear.....could it be viral flu? I think you must be really tired to juggle with two sick boys and your work. Must take care ya!

CD/SD
Javen’s throat is red…doc say inflamed. So has to take antibiotic. Jaren also kana the same thing. Same med….haiz….now Javen recovering..no more fever….its Jaren who still having fever....hope Iit will subside today after taking 2-3 rds of antibiotic.

Zhuzhu
What is SAE?

Janet
So is B attending any classes now? Her church kindy starts Jan net year rite...

Cheezel
I think the antibiotic should help to ease the inflammation for Jaren...me also having cough and congested nose since Monday last week...never take MC to rest though...now antibiotic and medicine finish liao, still coughing away...going to see doctor again tonight. Worse thing is Jonas got the cough from me I think...so gonna bring him to doc as well.

ris
my boy likes all type of vehicles...n he likes to put all his cars into 1 straight lines..n said its choo choo train..

ris
u really make me tink .. i tink jboy plays with all sorts of things .. vehicles, musical instrument, balls, my hp etc etc. he oso like to watch TV
Outdoor, he likes to run, playground, bicycle, swim.

does not seems dat he has a fav thing to do now :p

cos i was surfing amazon wanting to buy something for my boy, can't find any!! i think this age 2 year old is very fun. Enjoy it. the innocence age.

ris,
cher likes puzzles most, others: sorting of cards, mega blocks/lego, sing n dance, talk n talk, jumping ard w her gorgor.

zhuzhu,
tink i rec d pediasure vouchers. if i can find it (hope my boy din use it to cut cut for his art and craft), i pass it to u.

Springdance
I noted you've been busy! Even in FB, no updates :p Hope you are alright.

Cheezel
how are the boys? Are they on tamiflu? I was reading on tamiflu side effects in the papers - worrying leh...really hope none of our babies will ever need to take that medication.

Ris
I agree. 2 yr old is such a fun age! I love it!
I think S'pore also got a lot of toys, so no need to buy until so far in Amazon, hehe.

At this age, I think toddlers love experiential learning. So I try to expose Adam as much as possible to outdoors - playground, beach, swimming etc. At home, can do puzzles, blocks, finger painting etc. Playdoh too! Reading of course. Adam's fave book is Eric Carle's Brown Bear Brown Bear. He says "Boo bear boo bear, see!" Hhehe speech still developing.

sanrio
Adam loves jumping around too. Esp at bedtime. Must jump jump first before settling down to sleep. Haiz!

sanrio
thanks!!

smalldream
my boy now in the stage of asking "watz this"...sometimes i tell him "i duno watz this"..then there was this time, I disturb him back..i keep asking him wats this...then he replied "i duno watz this"...wah i almost want to drop off the chair from laughing..

<font color="0077aa">zhuzhu
Haha, that is funny!

This is also the time they absorb whatever they see &amp; hear right, so we gotta be careful.

Adam now got habit of saying "Yekkkk!" when he doesn't want to eat something or is disgusted with something. We wondered where he got it from, then I realised my sis sometimes says that.

And he'll reply, "Yah?" when we call his name. Coz when hubby calls me also I'll say, "Ya??" hehehe.

Kids so funny hor!</font>

smalldream,
i agree .. i love tis 2 yrs old period, tho' at times it drives me crazy :p Things they say sometimes really catch us off guard .. dunno to cry or luff sometimes. haha.

Cheezel,

If u are really keen in losing more weight, do PM me coz I have something good to introduce to u to help u to lose weight

I am also taking it myself and I do see results leh ;p

zhuzhu
paiseh le.....i went hme after work t find the voucher n realise no longer n the desk. s check with my mil n she say Javen scribble on the voucher and run up to her and told her t thrw away. My mil thought its of n use cos they didnt drink the brand, she throw away!!....

smalldreams/SD
Javen recover since tues. Jaren's fever keep maintaining at 38degC. n when it finally went down t 37.5 last night, my hubby n i were so relieve. but then in the mid of night, it shoot up to 39.8 and thats the time i told my hubby taht we prob need to go KKH for a check as the pneumonia case which i kana early this yr scare the hell out or me. Viral fever.....n given tamiflu. 1 does of the tamiflu and now jaren's fever subside, appetite comes back.

tamiflu is bitter, so need t go with sme rosehip syrup or with sme milk.. when taken with food, the side effect is lesser. side effect normally occur after the 1st dose and subside subsequently.....s far Jaren still doing well....they given him to lowest dosage although at almost 11 mth old, he should be taken slighty more amt.

ris
Javen likes vehicles n especially trains. He like thomas the train. has different range set of the tonka cars too.///he likes to line the cars/trains/trucks in a line or line them on the train tracks...he play all kinds of things too. he open drawers n take out utensil like scoop, sieve etc to play. Now he likes t put all his dinosaurs and small animals onto a plate or bowl n put them into the microwave to cook r he say BBQ them. he like to take his ah gong screwdriver n pretend to repair his toys....play playdoh, puzzle, read story books, help me crack eggs, scoop his cereal into the pot for me to cook his breakfast etc.

utdr: playground, run ard, catching, play sand etc

zhuzhu
at least ur boy ask whats this....Javen ask "this one call what". i almst faint when i heard that when he ask me something the ther day. realise, he fllow what my fil say.....so corrected him to ask properly like "what is this or what is that" ......now he ask properly .....phew....there's oonce he say so loud in a crowded train and ask" this one call what", n keep repeating....so paiseh le.....

cheezel
Good to know jaren is ok. nevermind lah abt the tamiflu, if a smaller dosage is what he needs then so be it. safer too.

I laughed when i read yr post about "this one called what". haha..children are so persistent rite...heehhe... sometimes in train also Adam would say, Train! Door! etc. Aiyoh, I always hush him. Don't want him to get the habit of talking loudly in crowded areas. Some pple might notlike it rite.

Anyway i think now, better don't take our kids to trains. I'm chatting in another thread for MTBs too, and i think 1 of them caught h1n1, just by being in crowded trains...

smalldreams
really? I wonder if Javen first caught the virus when i bought him to the library by bus last fri. ...haiz....anyway....i think every where is H1N1 nw.....tons up Vit C.....i just went to buy a bottle of rosehip

cheezel
its okie lar..dun worry abt the voucher..

now kids really like to parrot after adults..sometimes when my MIL tok to my FIL in chinese..markus oso parrot after..

now har..go out must be careful..u duno who had H1N1..ever morning, I will give him Pharmton Kiddo..which I got from PD

Smalldreams
Indeed I have been terribly busy with my work...was sharing with the mummies that I only manage to get a breather this month but come sept to nov, I'll be buried with work in office from day to night again. Haizzz...

How's your pregnancy getting along? Got any MS? When will know the gender?

Cheezel
Glad to know both your boys are on the road to recovery... hey, are you planning any 1st year birthday party for Jaren?

Knowing how much words (even though some english not very correct) that your kiddos can say makes me envy. Juz to update, after the speech assessment about a month ago, the therapist ask us bring him for occupational therapist assessment...conclusion is that he probably has some signs of sensory integration problem (something about his mind not coordinating with his senses properly that block him from learning something eg. talking or even bother to imitate us talk; trying out new things eg eat different foods)... or in other words, somewat like a lazy or stubborn character that impedes his learning developments. Hence, suggestion by OT therapist is to bring him in for weekly therapy (the hourly rate is like seeing a lawyer!). Well... in terms of time (busy work so can't really take Leave to bring him) and $$$, this is sure stretching our limits....signzzzz...wat to do, just have to push on lor coz he is my dear boy.