(2007/05) May 2007 MTB

Nellu

I understand now why so many moms these days place their kids at infant care & child care. I guess times have changed. Can't expect grandparents to happily take care of their grandkids.

I get something like that from my mom too. Altho she quit as it was a mad rush for me to work from home & take care of adam at the same time, i can't help but feel guilty that I've taken away my mom's freedom. Gah!! Really feel like putting Adam in CC sometimes, but kinda worried she might say I've "played" her out by placing him in CC when she has quit her job. Sighs. See how lah, maybe when he's 2, I'll place him in CC. But then again, who knows we might be planning for #2 then? Haizz...

just to share that lovedogs had delivered over the wkend..

smalldreams
I just enrolled Markus in MMI, full day sessions...he is going to start mid of next mth...hopefully he can learn something over there..

cheezel/ Jeanyard
i wanted #2 but u know lah, worry this worry that and to have kids in s'pore is ex! i dun mind nite feeding as long as i got good support which i dun think with #1 around can have peace to rest.

smalldream / nellu
do u believe it, i have not step into the cinema since ky's arrival!
good to go par tor but i will feel guilty like u.
i will feel even guilty if let mil to look after while i got some things to settle. faster rush home once it's done!

congrats, lovedogs! so exciting to hear abt new babies!

nellu
are you feeling better?

sgn
i've not beed to the cinema since long b4 i was preggie with chloe..think the last show was mr and mrs smith..hahaha

smalldreams
tried to not let chloe latch at sleep time few times the past few days..then she ended crying..wahahaha..how to wean like dat? i can only start ttc-ing after she has been weaned

sgn,
i think i haven't gone to the cinema for a much longer time. Cos Josh is a tall baby he was constantly pressing down on my bladder back then, i just couldn't sit through the show without having to get up to go to the toilet all the time!

i dun feel guilty at all abt going to pak tor and stuff like that. but then we don't get to do it often at all! We are however somewhat lucky to get small pockets of time every night for ourselves since Josh sleeps early around 8-9pm.

smalldreams,
my mum doesn't even have a job to quit from in the first plc! :p ... haiz..i've given up liao...we've decided that 1. I'm not cut out to stay home for the rest of my life, so I'm going back to work next year. 2. when #2 comes along, #2 will go to infantcare, Josh will continue at CC. I'd rather pay someone to do the job and have the control and ability to tell them what to do and what not to do, then have to concede with our folks' feelings and constantly getting emotionally blackmailed (yes! you didn't read wrongly!!) by them...

wonderbb,
thanks...recovered liao...luckily got hb around to help handle Josh. How's your trip home or still at your parents' place?

now trying to find another pocket of time to go Ipoh.. kekek mainly just want to go and makan there. :p

weaning and sleep training takes time. and you must have an iron will to do it. keep persevering lah.. so farnie i'm telling you this when i'm still struggling to train Josh to sleep on his own!

lovedogs,
congrats!!!

zhuzhu,
rest assured Markus will surely learn something. My neighbour just sent their 3yo gal to MMI as well for 1mth now. Since she's gone there, everyday she comes home she wants to 'study' and will pester her two elder sisters to teach her! Sometimes she'll come over to my plc and ask me to read for her together with Josh! before that, she was only interested in playing!

sgn
I agreed with you...I will feel guilty if I let MIL take care of Markus over the wkend..its like taking away her rest day...

Nellu
When Markus went there..he saw the principal..the 1st thing he do is CRY....think he will be scared...aiyoh dat poor boy..in the end his ah ma had to bring him to 1 corner n play..while i settle his enrollment..

zhuzhu

of course it's out of the question to get our parents to take care of our babies on weekends rite? Even maids need a rest, let alone grandparents! Hehe!

Nellu
I know what you mean. I feel that way too. So when Adam is of age, I'll seriously consider CC. I'll wait till he turns 24 mths, then let re-think.

sgn, Nellu, wonder_baby
When I was preggy, I watched a Night at the Museum, and thanks to a meal I had before that, I spent half of the movie in the ladies, throwing up! Tsk tsk. My last movie was, erm...Batman, yes during that guilt-trip. hehe.

Wonder_baby
would it help if you asked yr hubby to feed her formula instead? Is she still on TBF?

wonder baby, i was breastfeeding my elder child and I conceive my boy. Is there a reason why you want to wean off before ttc? You can read up more about tandem nursing, or wean off during pregnancy stage.

zhuzhu,
that's pretty normal reaction wor. Markus doesn't go out and interact with other pple much does he? In any case, i think it'll take the kids some time to adapt to life at CC.

but i think you don't need to worry. MMI's programme is pretty good. I see the transformation of my neighbour's 3yo gal within 2-3weeks, I'm amazed. Although my neighbours tell me she still every morning will do her 'drama', cry and cling on to her father's legs and all, once the teacher starts the activities, she's ok liao.

just wondering if your kiddos started walking with their arms raised in the air? Josh does that now but i think it's more cos he's trying to gain balance and stability. How long did your kiddos take to put their arms down? would they do it by themselves or we have to practise it with them?

Jeanyard,
my camera is a canon. but my next camera i wld consider a sony but not d touch screen series.

Nellu n mummies,
my canon camera just suddenly 'return to life' so wont b getg a new one for now.

Smalldreams, Mum@work,
i oso heard tat canon camera not lasting so wld seriously consider a Sony next tx.

Nellu,
i remb ash does tat when he 1st started walking. for a short while only but i cant remb how long n i din really take note of tat.

Lovedogs,

sanrio,
good to hear the camera had 'resurrected' itself. maybe it needed to take a 'long leave' from work. hehehe....

saw the photos you took on your blog. agree that the casio is nowhere near. But colours wise casio one seems to be a bit warmer.

lovedogs

Congrats! U're a mommy of 2!

sanrio, nellu
somehow i won't pick casio as a choice for cameras.reminds me too much as a watch brand I fancied as a primary school kid..hehee

Me back from my trip with Jonas...it was really tiring but we made it through and I think this is an interesting experience for both my boy & ourselves. Anyway, I ended up falling sick on the last day of the trip (got a very bad cold) and fever last evening...so resting at home today (I was planning to go back work today actually).

Jeanyard
Regarding Lasik, my optician recommended Jerry Tan at Camden...one of the best in Singapore. Maybe you can check it out...

JG
Congrats for No. 2 princess...your two gals can share clothings & accessories in future..so nice...and if you are confident to manage, then do go ahead to try for No. 3 dragon boy..Govt encourage 3 kids!

SpringD,
welcome back..hope you are feeling better...

saw your pix on FB last nite. The hotel is nice leh...can share details or not??

did you go by car of flight? so it's not so bad after all right?

springdance
welcome bck..saw the pics..jonas looks so cute. he has grown so much from last i saw his pics

smalldreams,nellu,ris
thought of weaning chloe off the breast before ttc-ing coz now oredi so exhausted everyday..if wean when i'm pregnant i'll be even more exhausted. she's juz comfort suckling to sleep and not hungry so a bit hard to wean. read abt using vinegar, lemon or garlic juice but a bit weird coz hv to put at bedside so when she wakes up in the middle of the nite then faster dab on nipples? hehehe

nellu, smalldreams,
if u look at d actual photos taken by casio, they are actually quite grainy n not sharp. but nellu, u hv eyes for details
d colours are 'warmer'. canon seems more 'blueish' n 'red' tone like more 'ang moh' colours. i was told cos canon uses 'normal' lens as compared to sony or lumix tat uses higher quality lens. anyway, gd tat it 'came bk to life'. yes it needed a break i tink. wont buy for now. technology changes so fast but i wld seriously consider a non-canon next round.

SD,
welcome bk. u made it for d trip w jonas. great! wld pop by FB to c d fotos. u take care n rest. till now we are still waitg for cher to b older to go for overseas trip. i tink wld b real tiring to brg 2 young kids. 'dare not think', mummy certainly cant enjoy much during d trip..

sanrio,
hehe thanks for commenting that i have eye for detail. you know this is one of the things I discovered about myself while reading through some parenting books about kids' temperaments. Incidentally, Josh is also like this. He very often would seem to be 'distracted' easily but in actual fact it's cos he notices a lot of small small things around him.

i think sometimes my maid dun like him cos he can find some small specks of dust or particles or hair on the floor which we all will miss and he'll pick it up to give it to her! hahaha

I am also back. Lucky didnt bring my girl to japan with me. Coz she developed fever and bad cough (I was quite sick before I left for Japan) while I was in Japan.

The weather in japan was excellent for my skin...so smooth, the ants cant even climb on me...hee hee, in the first place, I didnt see any ants in japan...:-o

smalldreams,
you are going to japan in Dec right? Pigeon brand stuff there very cheap...you can buy some back.

Springdance,
which country did you go?

Cool_D
You can log in to FB & see the pics I posted on for the trip.

Nellu
We went by SQ flight...takes too many hours to go in by car. But the flight is short...around 1hour only.

The hotel we stayed at is G Hotel. Here's the website which you can take a look: www.ghotel.com.my

It is definitely very tiring to bring along a young kiddo for trips...No shopping for me...but it is an interesting experience lar...need a break though before we will contemplate bring Jonas for another trip. Hahah!

Sanrio
Yupz...I totally agree that it would be "dead exhausted" to bring 2 kids for tours! In fact, I can't even imagine myself having a No. 2 baby at this point of time....

Janet
Any photos taken during your Japan trip? Can share with us here or in FB?

I went to Penang.

Smalldreams
To reply your comment in FB....Jonas is NOT smiley all the while..To share with you the truth, we took like hundreds of photos and sieved
out the ones which he is or seemed to be smiling before we put online. :p

janet
how is ur girl now? and how was japan? post some pics!

springdance
how was jonas on the flight to malaysia? did u feed him milk during take off n landing? was it a basinet sit? will be flying during cny too coz roads will be jam and i'm worried how my restless chloe will be

wonder_baby, spring dance,
sorry, no photo. went on business trip, the only photo if I have taken, would be me and a lot of other japs in meeting...haha, not too interesting.

my girl still has the bad cough. I myself havent even recovered.

Nellu,
read that josh can walk independently already..great!! is it less tiring for you now? for me definitely yes, as I childproof my house really well. So my girl will be doing her own things, while i do mine...haha...of course, unless she wants me to play with her...

janet
How did u childproof your hse? Mine is really bad I tink as I hv alot of glass, squarish edge at hm. Dat day jboy juz hit his head against the glass dining table top. Hiaz.

janet/cooldaughter
my house is bad too. i only put those door guards..there's too many things in my house..impossible to clear away..going to get drawer latches too. now i have to keep following my girl ard..she's been crying easily lately..hehe..when i dont want her to touch something i just go 'no' then she starts crying..hahaa..she also cries when she hear's the word 'scold' even if i mention the word softly..

wbaby
so far e only thing I really did successfully to my hse is fix e window grill. Tried to stick those corner guard but end up, jboy pulls out ething oso. I dunno wat else i shld do :p

cooldaughter
i've not stuck those yet but i've read before that you can use masking tape to tape the corners and then use elephant glue to glue on the guards..
my house is so messy i also dunno where to start

how to childproof??! the only childproofing thing i did was to cover all the sockets only. The other things simply can't cos Josh was like Jboy like that pull everything out! All I can do is to teach Josh to be careful and to move about safely...hmmm...maybe that's why he took so long to walk hor...trying to navigate and figure out everything in the house first then move???

nellu
i try n cover e socket wif those plastic plug but jboy becomes more interested to pull them off. He oso likes to on/off e switch which i kips scolding him, but he still does it.

wbaby
but if we glue them so tight, how to remove next time .. ugly leh :p

oh ya! socket covers..what else do we need to do ?

cooldaughter
you can just peel off the masking tape. coz the glue is on tape. as in tape the corners then glue on the guards

wonderbaby, i think is very common older kids breastfeed not because of hunger. Only newborn and young babies who rely solely on breastmilk suckle for food. Actually nursing kids is more relaxing to do when you are pregnant. It's even worse if your elder ask you to carry, run around play with her, or bring her to playground, all these more tiring to do when you have big tummy. At home lie down bed and nurse is easy thing to do....maybe you referring to frequent night waking is it? that is nursing for comfort, sure. but when you nurse her sleeping sideway, you can continue to sleep too. You have been breastfeeding for so long, I think you will get used to it. Weaning is not easy, and don't regret your choice. You will miss the bonding and the closeness when your child don't nurse from you anymore. You feel so "unwanted" haha

Wonder_BB
I was quite suprised that Jonas did good on the flight...maybe becoz it's an hour flight only...we entertained him with Gerber puffs and he fell asleep not long after the plane move off for both to & fro trips.

Janet
Cough is a long long lasting thingy...remember Jonas had bronchitis recently? His cough came back not too long after he recovered and till now, he's still coughing alittle and has got phlegm some more. Think this cough of his has persisted like a month or even more...

Are you still on any medication for your cough? Got avoid cold drinks?

Cool_D/ Nellu/ Wonder BB
I also think it's quite impossible to child proof...unless when we first renovate & buy furniture for our house, we go for all child-friendly designs eg. round tables, tatami seats, sockets & plugs installed high on walls (which is ugly looking)..

Jonas also plays with wires, power points, tip toes to reach for the knife on the kitchen cabinet, open up drawers, bang his hand on the LCD TV...which my hubby is sure to scold loudly & even beat him when he's caught in the act..but he will still repeat these misbehaviours.

wonder baby
ky behaves the same as chloe, cry until roll on the floor if he does't get what he wants! i just walk away and let him cry cos i don't want to teach him that 'oh i cry only mummy give in'!
he likes to hit my FIL's plasma tv esp when u tell him 'NO' he will hit it more!!!! peng!

sgn
i think all the bb are the same..Markus oso the same..temper very bad..u dun give it to him..he will start cry cry cry...

I have the plug covers - my girl doesnt pull them out, but she does like to switch on and off, which i thought is ok, because already covered mah.
I also have the drawer lock, so she cant open the the drawer that keeps the knives.
I used to have the sharp corner covers. But she pull all out. But beacuse i sort of move all the funiture to the wall, she has not hit any sharp corner yet. Especially the dining table, I keep it to the wall instead of in the middle of the path. So now, she has a lot of space to run around.

The only thing that i am worry now is the magic ink i got for her. Whenever she holds on to one, I would have to be around, because afraid that she will draw on floor or wall...

Spring dance,
my cough is getting better, though occasionally will still cough a bit. This is same for my girl. However, when she coughs, can hear that it is really thick phelgm. Usually if the cough persists for too long, i will switch to chinese medicine already. I will give it another week, if still not ok for her, I will switch to eu yang seng.

what time is your lesson at GWC on sat?

Janet, Nellu, SD
Wonder how you ladies can have the plug covers - I need those power plugs to erm, plug in appliances lor. Adam is not too attracted to those now. Now he likes to play with powder. Grrr...

Janet
U mean pigeon food or pigeon bottles / baby accessories? Did you see Combi products too? I love combi shoes, i wonder if it's cheaper there. Silly me bot 2 pairs of Combi shoes but they're too big for Adam.

SD
Woah, u sieved thru yr shots? But then again the ones you uploaded are really nice
hehe, we all know how hard it is to take pics of babies, let alone ask them to look into camera.

Now I have a little problem - my mom's going on a 2 week holiday (suddenly, gahh!) & I'm stranded coz I haven't got leave to take since I'll be travelling 2 weeks after she comes back too (going Japan lorr)! Guess no choice gotta place my kid under my inlaws care...haiz... so my plan on alternative child care:
1) Hubby (hubby still studying!)
2) place at my SIL's place where there are Adam's cousins too, and if both cannot,
3) I ask my hubby's cousin to take care on the days i have to go office.

I hope things will work out. Sighs.

Janet
Are U referring to the EYS "Hou Ning" powder for cough & phelgm? That's really expensive...per dosage (once) cost like $40bucks...and supposed to take like one month, which means $40 x 28times for the phelgm to fully clear off and recover....

I usually bring Jonas for the class at 11.15am on Sats...you keen to come? GUG classes no more?

Smalldreams
Hahah.....I downloaded all the pics on computer and view in thumbnails and delete off those which Jonas look grumpy or I look ugly ones lor. Anyway, THANKS ALOT for your kind compliments on the photos...

How come your mum so last minute suddenly decide to fly off? Errmm...she didn't realise that you may have difficulties finding people to take care of Adam?

I think your option 2 sounds most feasible if your SIL dun mind...least Adam got companion and he won't disturb your hubby studying.

It's friday .. !!

Ah Lek was asked to make a sentence using 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10.
Not only did he do it 1 to 10, he did it again from 10 back to 1. This is what he came up with.....
----------------------------------------------------------------------------------
1 day I go 2 climb a 3 outside a house to peep. But the couple saw me, so I panic and 4 down. The man rushed out and wanted to 5 with me.. I ran until I fell 6 and threw up. So I go into 7 -eleven and grabbe d some 8 to throw at him. Then I took a 9 and try to stab at him. 10 God he run away.

10 I put the 9 back and pay for the 8 and left 7-eleven. Next day I called my
boss and told him I was 6 . He said 5 , tomorrow also no need to come back 4 work.
He also asked me to go climb a 3 and jump down. I don't understand. I am so nice 2 him but I don't know what he 1.

cool daughter,
funny ...haha

Smalldreams,
didnt see combi, though i saw people using combi stroller...all kind of pigeon products are cheaper...especially the snacks.

springdance,
not hou ning. but those zi ke soup, or the physician.

springdance,
no lah, just go GWC shop shop...if around there at your time, then can say hello...so from outside Grace, can see what they do inside or not? if yes, then i go peek.

CD

Hehe I've read that before, so funny!

Janet
Yeah guess I could buy some snacks - but more of the brown rice / fish ones. If not halal, can't eat lah...

SD

My hubby is a student by vocation but he's free & easy one. This is my chance to make him do fatherly duties before he starts working full time :p

oh oh, look like our bb hv approached d T2 stage. my once upon a time guaiguai cher now wld oso cry n cry or lie on d floor (somtx pretend to want to hit her forhead agst d floor) if i dun give in to her demands.
i just let her cry n ignore her (as long as she is 'safe').
they are at a stage of testing the boundaries n limits so we got to b consistent in our actions as they are still too young to undstd any detailed explanation n reasoning.
they oso use tantrums n crying to seek attn so i usally choose to ignore undesirable behvaiour.
somtx i use distraction approach, like she whine on d floor, i wld on some children music n start singing. af a while, she kind of got distracted by d music n stop crying.

sanrio
Soph also throwing tantrums! she will hit the table and look at her hand and say ow.....or scratch herself. also like want to hit her head against the floor. terrible......i try to ignore then sometimes she arr, arrr, call me....like pai kia. :p

think the switching on music is a good idea. i usually use her books or toys. sometimes if she's in really bad mood, she'll take and throw.

springdance
want to see your photos leh.
glad you're enjoying gracekids. i had to sign up another term with gug because i forgot the withdrawal dateline. Soph is ok there but sometimes not paying attention. wonder if she has ADHD. :p

jeanyard
would recommend Dr Lee Han Ming. at gleneagles. my mum and sis went to him. and quite a few friends too.

janet
i oso had the plug covers and the cupboard latch..like ur gal..i used to ahve the corner protectors..but markus like to pull it out..in the end i never use it..

Markus dun play with the plug..but he play with the wire..like the fan wire..or even laptop wire..

nellu
I use plug covers for the sockets oni. Things like fan n wire n kitchen are out of bound for bbK, I trained her. When she reached the kitchen entrance, she'll stand ter n not dare to step in. Fan n wire, she'll stand n look but somex do try her luck. I oso put door guards incase one day she decided to slam the doors! Overall she's quite guai....except for computer, she'll noe wich button to on...

mum@work,
same thing we do with Josh. Training! If anyone comes to my plc, they won't believe that a 17mo tyranny, hurricane hell of a toddler lives in it. ahaha...

nowadays Josh can even tell me (by gesturing) that he cannot simply leap off the sofa cos he'll fall and bump his head (actually make action of bumping his head) and will be painful (he'll pretend cry/groan)...hahah v farnie..but at least i know that he knows how to get around safely. He'll do the same with drawers and cupboards though he loves to help open and close them for us.

janet,
get the crayola washable ink pens lah..then save yourself trouble having to monitor all the time. Josh has the washable finger paints and crayons. He'll want to do his 'drawing' once a day or once every few days.. now I'm running out of wall space to display his artwork.

smalldreams
hahah...so father & son can really bond for 2 weeks ya...I saw your blog...you hubby looks like a big giant compared to little Adam. :p

Lynn
Think toddlers are like that...Jonas also "bo chupz" me when I talk....he only freeze when his dad hollers at him when he is up to no good.

I've got some photos uploaded in facebook...you got account created there?

Nellu
Huh...you mean you dun clean off the crayola "drawings" on your wall? My hubby will always scream & stop our boy when he's making his crayola markings on the chairs, sofa & floors...we know can clean but very tiring to keep cleaning mah.

SD
U r back! SEE!!!! U make it with Jonas !! hehe....next time can plan a longer trip le. wanna see ur pics le

these few days haven\ been briinging Javen ard shopping...hehe....haiz...now he knows how to walk but he dun wan to...keep asking me to carry him. wonder if its cos i alwasy play hide n seek with him n he scare tat i will run away at the mall. hahaha...

Nellu
i prob be going for the wed class for the busybod.

SpringD,
HAHAHAHAH sorry confuse you..i meant to say i paste his drawings on the wall. He's been trained to do his drawings on paper. sometimes will draw outside the line by accident so the crayola washable stuff really helps.