(2007/05) May 2007 MTB

thread rather quiet today...

sanrio
guess it's the fuss-free of having no menses which is sooo convenient, rite?

Adam fell off the bed today. My fault for leaving him on it alone shortly after he woke up. And I think he hit the table first, before falling on the floor landing on all fours, like a cat! Now a bit bruised but as usual, as active as ever. Even bedtime still wanted to play. Thank goodness now he's asleep.

Springdance
So where's yr new office? nearer yr place?

SpringD,
busybuddies is like playgroup got different activities, like singing, art & craft, reading, physical actvities, etc. RIM is music and movement, purely music and dance class. Both has its merits. Really depends what you want to do lor... Josh is doing both now and he enjoys both a lot.

gacc, smalldreams, wonder baby
wow u all had ur menses so long after delivery. mine came when ky was 7 months old n it came every months or 26-28 days cycle @#$%@#$.

smalldreams
poor adam, do u have bao yin tan at home? usu i will give my boy bao yin dan when he fell n cried badly, to prevent him having nitemare.
ky fell after tripping over a high heel shoes at our door step last sat. cried badly n Rt cheek got a blackish buries so heartache.

i do get sore nip on n off even i dun latch n only express. it goes away after 1-2 days.

sgn,
now in beijing. log in because want to check with my mother how Josh is doing...

sad leh...she told me Josh didn't want to play and kept wanting to go out of the house to look for me and daddy... :'(

hey nellu

Don't be sad.... after all you've given it much thought before you made the decision rite? U're a toughie...I will never be able to do what you did. But i guess it's natural to be sad...maybe more of missing him...

Did you talk to Josh on the phone? he'll be thrilled...but hope he doesn't cry...

SGN
what's bao yin tan? I just used his fever patch to put on his little bruise. Then just now at nite when we returned home, he went to the fever patch, grinned & placed it on his head, hehehe.

Awww... KY tripped over yr shoes? Is his bruise still there? sighs...the trials & tribulations of growing up...

smalldreams
Poor adam. 'sayang sayang'.... Since he's sure an active boy, don tink he cry, did he?

nellu
enjoy urself in BJS.

Sgn
haizzz...hope ky's bruise has subsided.

mummiesssss, sanrio, cheezel
these few days, bbK kept crying to slp, be it afternoon or nite and super 'nian'(sticky) me!!! Wonder iszit cos she has the instinct of the 2nd one coming. sanrio/ cheezel, did u experience these when u expecting ur 2nd one?

Smalldreams
*Sayangs* for dear Adam ….maybe you try teach him how to get down the bed so such accidents won’t happen in future? He got Baluku on his head? If have, maybe good to rub some Zam-Buk.

My new office at Tanjong Pagar….. distance wise from my home…quite similar to old office.

Nellu
So Josh attend both classes on the same day? How long per session? He got sign up for MyGym also? The other time you mentioned…all the classes dun have weekend class rite?

How’s your food & accommodation in Beijing? Conquered the Great Wall yet?

Dun worry about Josh in Singapore…maybe he just wanna go out & run about…ask your mom to bring him downstairs to play instead of cooping up in the house….Once the kids are “released”…their energy comes back and will not realise that mama or papa are not at home.

Smalldreams
Prob can teach adam how to come down fr the bed. Last time Javen fall from the bed….had a baluku on his forehead. After that I teach him how to climb down fr the bed. Now if he nap on the bed, when he wake up n cant find anyone in the room, he will climb down on his own to look for us. Tell him must go down from buttock, else fall down pain pain. N then I point to his head and say pain pain…n tell him “no no” …teach n say that at his level, so that he understand what I’m toking abt.
He likes to play with my wedding portrait hanging on the wall. So I told him later the portrait drop on his head (point to his head) and say pain pain. N tell him “no no”. now when he look at the portrait, he just shook his head n say “drop….head….no no” n he never played with the portrait anymore. Quite effective. You may wanna try it out.

moms@work

Javen still ok. Sometime he do request me to carry n hug him to sleep esp when he not feeling well. But not everytime. But now I ask him if next time he wans to play with di di, he say yes….but if ask if we (myself a hubby) can saying didi next time, he will say no no.
Javen quite sticky to me at times. If I alone with him at hm, he dun even allow me to go toilet. Will follow me to n fro. Unless I sit down on the sofa, then he venture out n play with his toys…the moment I stand up n walk, he follow. If I wan go toilet, he will quickly run to me n hug my leg n shake head. Sometime have to distract him n play toys with him n when he didn’t notice, I quickly go pee…cant even close the door…have to play peek a boo with him.

Kris, many woman also been through morning sickness. My first child, I ms 3-4 months. Second child, 5 months then stop. It was worse. But second child I was SAHM, so I just lie down and watch VCD, sleep, vomit, eat little. Read books. That's all, time flies. Then when your energy resumes, haha, shopping time!!

smalldreams
no worries. as long as he is still as active, shld be ok. PD told me the first 48hrs is crucial. No vomitting or dizziness, most likely is only surface injury. I would recommend Hirudoid Cream. Not sure if can buy fm pharmacy, but I find it really gd for bruises.

smalldreams
bao yin dan is a chinese powder used to protect babies from vomting, diarrhoea n teething etc.
hope adam is better now. old ppl says they(kids) will be more clever after each fall. we just console ourselves with that bah.

nellu
poor Josh, i think he misses both of u.
try not to call back if not u can't enjoin urself in peace. i know i would't be able to enjoin so i rather dun go anywhere till ky is bigger. MIL told me she didn't go tavelling until my BIL is 10 yrs old.

mum@work
tks for ur concern ky is ok as long as he is play n eating i'm happy.
MIL also said during 2nd preg usu the 1st child will be more sticky n attention seeking.
but even i'm not having 2nd one my ky also very sticky to me MIL describle as pei pei ko.

cheezel
visited ur blog yesterday saw Javen was playing with his new 'pet' ha ha ha... my ky also very attacted to fishes n i bought a little fish tank for him 2 months ago but the fishes died within 1 wk hai... poor fishes! he can tell me fish or yu whenever i show him a fish pic!

cheezel

Thanks for yr tips. Javen so clever huh, can talk already! As for Adam, he knows how to climb down from the bed. He can even walk at the latch (theres a gap on the bed when we push the mattress right in..hehe strange bed) without falling off. But i think he probably rolled off, bumped on the table and down on the floor. Maybe I'll try that association between pain & falling again...

wonderbaby, CD
just a little red mark, but no baluku. Hehe...

sgn
adam got over his fall pretty soon (as all babies!) but now he's down with a little cold. I guess the weather is so cold these days & aircon would make it worse! He had runny nose today when I dropped him off, but still active. By bedtime, verrrryyy whiny coz of stuffed nose
I put some snuffle babe on him, but he hates it. Cry till got air in tummy just a while ago. Sighs... hope he gets well soon. I have so much work in office, can't afford to take child sick leave..*headache*

sgn
Javen also like fish. Thats why bought him a fish tank and some fishes. he couldnt pronounce fish very clearly...he will say "ish" whenever he saw fish.

smalldreams
oh...then prob he rolled off. sometime Javen also like that. as long as no vomit and he's ok. should be fine.

u wanna try putting the snuffle babe on his sole and let him wear socks to sleep? i find that it helps. Theres a kind of drop call Kavapor (if i do spell correctly) which you can find in pharmacy or watson.....cut the capsule and drop the oil onto hankie or tissue paper and hang it near to where he sleep. i find it helps alot and made breathing easier when the kiddo has stuffed nose.

smalldreams
looks like adam really fell like a cat .. knw how to break fall
muz ask him teach my jboy. He etime fall, etime baluku. Guess his head too big, diff to avoid .. hehe :p

sanrio, ris,
nw i everydae eat, sleep, watch tv, play wif kelly. im nauseous but still can eat a lot, sometimes i tink my hunger caused the nauseous. cant figure out wat issit oso, sianz.

Cool_D
I finally found some time to see your blog....Jordan sure is mischievous....keep climbing up the ladder!

And he "largi" got strength...can push on Ah-Ma on the wagon...hahahah!

Hello ppl,

how's everyone??
congrats to all 2nd time mummies, the MS will be over soon and you will forget all about it when your tummy grows bigger!!! Though soft drinks are supp to be bad, but it is recc to drink them to alleviate bloatedness and give you energy, try it! Meanwhile, jiayou!

Springdance,
Where you moving office to?
Glad to hear Jonas is better. At least he wants to hold your hand when he walks. Mine refuses to let us hold!

NAP TIME
Talk about nap time, how to make bbKae sleep only once a day? He sleeps total of 3 - 4 hrs in the day time, spread over 2 naps!!!

springD
yes he is. Nowadays, he stopped pushing u till u hit e wall. He will give u a big push juz b4 u hit n stand there watching u hit it.. haha.

CD

boys...they sure have no qualms abt playing with anything as long as its fun!

Anyway...Adam's down with slight flu - stuffed nose & soon to be cough. Brought him to PD & was on child sick leave today. much better now. Still so active tho he got mucus running out of his nose every other minute!

smalldreams
ky also dislike when i apply anything on his nose so i always did it when he sleeps then he can 'enjoin' the snuffle while sleeping.

tofu
my javen also takes 2 naps. abt 3-4 hrs in total too. n he slept at 8-9pm at night. wake up at 6-7 plus. i just leave it to him now....few weeks ago i did let him sleep ard 12 - 1 plus in the noon. sometime he can sleep 3 hrs...sometime 2. but there r times he slepot only for an hr n wake up...n refuse to sleep later in the noon till nght which makes him tired n fussy....so now i just let him nap as usual. check with my PD and she say just let them sleep if they r tired. no need to restrict them.

sgn
can apply the snuffle on bb nose? dunnno heard fr where not advise too...so i only apply on back n chest n soles. n put some on tissue n hang it ard his bed.

Smalldreams
Remember to keep Adam warm at this time so that the cold & cough dun get worse….take more Vit C.

Talking about childcare leave, is your Co. pro-rating and giving you more this year? Since we are entitled to 6days now……

Cheezel
So have you enrolled Javen at any playgroup or CC yet?

Just a sudden thought came to my mind…remember last time when we were pregnant with 1st child, we try to eat all the tonics and for some mummies, even durian…are you still doing so for No. 2 as well? :p

cheezel

I just put some snufflebabe on his nose...and he hates it! hehe. So just put on soles & chest & back. And you know what, my hubby actually put some snufflebabe & cherry rub into the Air purifier (the thing with water that spins...got mini versions which can be put in cars) & the whole room smelt of eucalyptus! Even I got sleepy haha!

Springdance
Hmm, not sure whether they're pro-rating or what. I'm in civilservice. But for 2008 i think i've used up all my child sick leave. Child care leave still got that 2 more days... will take when I'm exhausted, hehe.

congrats to Kris and mum@work!!
pls sms / pm me if you are looking for pre-natal massage. I couldn't do without it when expecting my #2 cos it's so tiring looking after Cookie.
Have been busy with him the whole month, so no chance to come in here to chat.

West side mummies keen to meet for lunch? let me know cos I'll be shifting soon to the east. V sad cos i'm so used to this area. at the east, so crowded and don't know the good places to hang around.

springdance
still on waiting list as the CC's director say not too sure if theres any opening next yr. so have to wait for end of the yr then decide.

i didnt take as much black chic soup as #1. hehe. nothing tonic....birdnest also never take. just take chic essence as n when i like, but more than what i had during Javen's time.

hows Jonas?

jeanyard
me also shifting to the east in few yrs time.

jeanyard,
glad to know dat u r moving to east. my MS is so bad nw dat i juz slp n eat everydae, cant do anything. i cant even stand or walk for long. i got to miss 2 wedding dinners tis weekend, so sad lor.

springdance,
i crave for durian when having kelly n was asked to stop coz bb might b too big, nw i onli crave for sour things, veri different kind of craving, super sianz.

Cheezel
Jonas is better now...thanks for asking dear...so which CC did you try to register Javen?

Actually talking about playschools, you ladies have any idea which one is good??

Kris
Why sianz? Shouldn't be difficult to find sour stuff to eat to satisfy your craving mah...

MommyPoh
I LOVE birdnest...hahah....long time never eat liao...when I preg, my hubby will make for me once a week...now no more this privilege! Men are so practical....

jeanyard,
hmm..why u shifting to east leh? i tot both ur ils n parents in west? mt up lunch, let me know when. imm wld b ideal for me :p

hallo mummies,
am back from Beijing. but sigh, loads and loads of things to handle. Josh seems to be teething again. Thought i saw his canine coming out. He's been quite bad tempered in the last 1.5 days since i'm back. Throwing tantrums one aft another and refusing to settle.

Maid also gave problems. Do work like so sian like that. Threw away a lot of left over veg which I had meant to keep for dinner. Laundry not done properly. Yday morning didn't mop the floor until I came home.

somemore this is the first trip i've ever had when both my flights were delayed. walao...&@^#%$ dunno why SQ dun take better care of their flights to and from SIN-PEK!

jeanyard,
would be happy to meet up. me too like sanrio, prefer imm.

jeanyard
thks. How little doughnut doin so far? Is cookie helping wif little doughnut? heehee.....

nellu
Haiz...all maids are like tat. Skived when employers not ard. Did u tell her off? Her 1st offence or ......?

m@w,
not first offence lor. the prob with this maid is that she's quite smart in talking..will gimme quite a bit of excuses. Sometimes i bo chap lah..but for the veg incident i was really angry..cos it's so wasteful! Even i don't anyhow throw food away.

just now just discovered some redness and abrasion on Josh's bum. finally understood why he didn't want to take his baths..maid handled too rough! So angry...

nellu,
maybe the maid needs a telling off...so bad right.

so many things needs you to handle when just came back from holiday..take your time. dont be too stress.

janet,
i thought only the problems i just discovered yday.

today something more irritating happened.

maid told me yday our dryer sounded like it was breaking down. I was worried abt bad weather and in anticipation for my hubby's return from trip with more laundry to do. I quickly called up the customer service to get them to send someone down today to take a look. When the guy got here, all he did was just fished out a $1 coin from inside the drum (where we put our clothes in). The repair man was like saying why so careless. I bo pian have to kena pay $60 for his transport!!! You know how angry i feel?? $60 for the carelessness of the maid!!! Then when i told her off on this she didn't even say sorry! Wah piang..i think i just see how she behave for another few more weeks. I have a feeling i'll be giving her the sack soon...

damn sian!

Springdance,

If u really crave for birdnest, how abt those by Brands'? hehe... anyway those are the only ones I've drunk, a gift from one of my Chinese friends after giving birth to Adam. previously I never took any of such tonic, or chicken essence even...

Nellu
Aww, u having maid blues? I hope things get better. What to do, maids can get blur at times and most likely won't have much initiative to find out whats wrong with appliances, much less admit it's their fault. But i think she should at least handle Josh in a more gentle way lah... perhaps for now, only you should handle josh... unless no choice.

Take care

smalldreams,
the prob with this maid is that she made it sound like she has high standards herself. and i'm the idiot to believe her! In fact, i've been giving her a lot of leeway because I saw that she was better than my previous maids. But then looks like it's no pt being cordial anymore. Somehow, i dunno why sometimes these maids love to be scolded! can't understand it at all....

the problem here is she didn't even show any signs of remorse or say sorry abt the dryer incident! If she would just admit her mistake, I won't feel so irritated with her.

anyway, thanks for letting me rant here..can't wait for hubby to get back to settle this maid issue. Cos i know if i go and handle it myself i won't be able to control my temper...

nellu,
ya, i remember you said this maid is better too previously. I guess when we faced them more, they tend to show their true colour. I dont think maids know how to say sorry...maybe not in their culture to apologise. I also have one maid. under my name, but it is for my mother-in-law. When she first started, also not very good. i complained to the agent. the agent came and did some 'magic', now she is better.

If your maid has not been with you for too long, maybe can complaint to the agent, and ask the agent to help talk to the maid.

re: 'terrible two' phase
think my daughter is starting to go through this phase. she has begun throwing tantrums esp in public. and esp when we're having our meals. she will be screaming and crying non stop and trying to touch this and that. if not, she willl be going 'mum mum mum' non stop very loudly even though when there's food in her mouth *headache*

re: diaper leaking
lately her urine seems to be leaking out from the waistline..think volume coming out too fast? the diaper will be folded at her waist due to her milk belly causing her urine to flow out. anyone's baby experiencing this too?

nellu
Hving maid is really a headache sometimes... For me, if she's not remorseful, I'll either deduct her off day or ask her to pay for the damage if too many mistakes take plc. And ter shdnt be any excuses for not taking care of Josh cos he's still a toddler! Btw how long is this maid wif u? If less den half yr, does ur agent let u xchg 1 FOC? I believed most agencies do.

wonderbaby
so far, I don experience this unless the diapers doesnt suit bbK or is too big for her...but even though, it'll leak by the thigh ma...how com is leaking frm the waistline? How's her water & milk intake, alot? bbK's diaper oso will be folded but her urine nv flow out frm ter...

janet,
i dun have much faith with agents either leh. My #2 maid was sent to agent for counselling but came back and came up with more stupid pattern within 2 days! I think sometimes if get agent to come in may break faith..but then i think maybe sometimes got no choice.

wonder baby,
Josh started his tantrums a month ago with these few days being exceptionally bad! How do you handle your girl? I don't like to give in so end up Josh keeps on crying and crying lor. can look quite bad but I think it's better not to teach them to scream and cry for anything...

abt diaper. I thought only boys got this problem? Josh's diaper in the morning also is like that. But if i switch to use bigger size then no problem liao. maybe it's time to upsize? our weather is too hot otherwise another suggestion a friend who lives in uk gave me is to let them wear 2 diapers; smaller size inside and the larger one outside.

m@w,
now it's against the law to ask her to pay leh! o/w i would have done it long ago ok!

she's with me only for 3mths+. very sian. I think i'm not suitable to have maid lah..she's my 3rd maid since josh is born leh! can die! I'm ok if work cannot do well still or appliances accidentally spoil. really can't stand this attitude. Just gone for 4 days and she changed like that. wah piang..never mind lah..i gone for 4 days also change my mind and decide to terminate her lor.. HAHAHA!

nellu
ya I noe nw it's against the law to ask them to pay. What I do is, I'll write a short note n let her sign stating she's willing to pay for the damage to cover my ass...heeheee......(this oni happens if the damage is too severe.) Other ways is either I deduct off days or sack cos I cant tahan if they don listen to simple instructions. My current maid is oso my 3rd maid since bbK is born..hahahaha...

nellu
ya i was so stressed during lunch and dinner today coz she was really loud|! i could only try to distract her. at the end of lunch she was really screaming n crying loudly so i carried her and walked out of the restaurant while waiting for hubby to settle the bill. if she hears the word 'scold' she will start bawling.

nellu,
last time when the maid came over...it was like that too for the first few months...she broke the handle of the washing machine door (front load)...the door lei, so strong, she also can break...she said not her fault, dont know why...we sent for repair, immediate the repair man said it must be us that force the door open...

2nd, maid broke the tube of the vacuum cleaner. and again she didnt admit it is her fault...

my trick is...i told her everything also buy new one now...if there is anything spoilt again...it must be your fault..and i dont want to see anything spoilt again..
up till now, everything still intact...

nellu
abt the diapers i also thought only boys will hv urine concentrated in the front part but i dunno why my girl is also like that.so it's the size? i tot it was because of her milk belly that's causing her diaper to be folded at the waist area in front..okay will try a larger size and see