(2007/05) May 2007 MTB

Janet
Yup…it’s around that expensive fee…..I butt itchy called up Eton asked about the fee a few months ago…and the lady who answered the phone sounds proud and busy…think she must be thinking one of those mummies again calling up to enquire but can’t afford. :p

Nellu
So interesting your hubby travels for classes…he’s a professor?

By the way, when overseas, do you cook porridge for Josh? Todate I still have not brought my boy overseas before….

CD / Nellu
Actually what’s SSO prom about? Just sit there and listen to the orchestra play music for an hour? I think my boy can’t sit still listen to music lei….

cool daugther
ur boy really enjoin swimming, my boy scare of water even when i shower water over his head while bathing. still no channce to bring him for swimming yet!

springD
I also dunno wat is bb prom all abt. Guess since its a bb show, dun tink they will mind the backup singers (ie. wail and screams) :p

sgn
yes. he is becoming more daring, so naturally, will fall and drink some pool water.

Btw, when I started showering jboy's head, I always tell him 'close ur eyes' and I kip doing that. Tho' starting he does not know close his eyes, but at least, he knows water is coming when he hear it. U can try it.

CD

so how long did Jboy swim for yesterdaY? usually we bring Adam swimming at my MIL's place with his cousins but yesterday didn't swim coz daddy had a little foot injury...

Springdance
Hey, same lah, i don't think adam can sit still for 5 minute listening to anything, let alone an orchestra! He'll surely be running around all over the place.

Aiyo, after finish 2 bottles of Nutren (lactose free milk), I thought my boy diarrhoea has recovered, normal stools. How I know once change back to Mamil milk, drank 2 feed, diarrhoea came back more serious again, and the buttock rashes...he cry like mad, like I never seen before. How huh? Does it mean my boy must always continue to drink lactose free milk forever? I really dare not try again mamil milk, though i have 2 brand new tins at home. Also don't dare feed him food, cos he no appetite and vomit easily. But still can laugh and play, so not so serious.

smalldreams,
Sat, not yday. When we rch my fren's plc, it was raining so we waited till abt 4.30pm, which is also good coz no sun. We let him play till abt 5.45pm

RE: BABY PROMS
It's not a sit down performance the whole time. It's specifically for kiddos below age of 6. How would any kid that age be able to sit through the performance of 1hr?!? From what i can recall (read abt the programme last time, not sure if it is the same now), there will be a short performance of sorts and the most interesting part is that the kiddos will get to go onto stage to play with the instruments. Yes, they are allowed to bang and clash on all the expensive instruments!! I think it can be quite a multi-sensory experience for the kids.

SpringD,
no lah..hubby not professor...he's doing his EMBA now. It's an interesting programme which takes him to quite a few places around. Not to mention the international classmates he has!

RE: Josh's food
unfortunately, i have to cook the Nestle porridge (quite instant type) for him and also fed him quite a bit of jar food. But it's during the trip that he started to be interested in our food. Ang moh food is more bland so it was ok for us to feed him some of our food.

i always tell everyone (who asked me how i manage to bring Josh on trips) that they should just plan and then take the plunge. The earlier you do it, the less hassle. The exposure is also good for the kids.

ris,
sounds like your boy is not agreeable with Mamil?

Dear mommies, Would like support for the following event! Pls join in the synchronised breastfeeding session!

Details:
Looking for mothers who have been breastfeeding for 6 months or longer... and want to have a once in a lifetime experience to be part of History. Come participate in Spore largest synchronised breastfeeding to create a new record!

Breastfeeding. Is it for me?
Date: 23 Aug 2008 Saturday
Time: 2.30-4pm (Synchronised Breastfeeding starts at 4pm)
Venue: Suntec City Convention
Cost: Free!
Free goodie bag worth $50 provided!

More details: Mary/Shan 62588816

There will also be talks and Q&A sessions, including:
1. Help! I don't have enough milk! Overcoming common problems in breastfeeding. By Sister Kang, Lactation Consultant, Mt Alvernia.
2. Working and Breastfeeding: Is it possible? By Mrs Wong Boh Boi, Senior Parent Craft/ Lactation Consultant
3. The Role of the father in Breastfeeding. By Mr Edwin Choy, Centre of Fathering.

Organised by:
aLife, Anmun, mCYS, Centre of Fathering and Singapore Planned Parenthood Association.

Sgn /Cool_D
My boy super scare of water go into his eyes...yesterday finally brot him to Jacob Ballas for the 1st time...tot he'll like the water play area just like many same age kiddos who went...bu ALAS! For the 1st minute he was Ok..tehn water got into his eyes...and he started wailing LOUD when I refuse to move him away from the fountain....so "maloo" and wasted my $20 cab fare!

Nellu
Me "suaku"...only know MBA but not EMBA..heheh.

Regarding foods & travel for baby, think it also depends on individual babies' adaptability...Josh must be one steady & adaptable boy.

Think my boy will have "problems"...his own birthday party, he cried for one hour coz he is afraid of seeing so many new faces.

For the SSO prom, any idea if mama & papa can go on stage to band the instruments together? Not that I wanna play..hahah...but I think my boy will be no fight for those older kiddos (3 - 6 years) onstage.

SpringD,
EMBA = executive MBA but it's not that executive lah...it's just part time lor!

oh..you are so wrong leh...Josh also cried at his own bday party and was fussing around a lot...

but for travels, hahaha, yes i think he takes aft me lah...likes to go out a lot! But i think can be trained. start with short trips and baby classes..then slowly lengthen the trips...but must prepare a lot of stuff lah..most importantly you yourself must feel confident and relax abt the whole thing. If you are kan cheong, kiddos will pick it up and amplify it. then the vicious cycle goes on..I would say, plan well, prepare for the worst and know what your contingencies are..and then RELAX and go!!

Baby Proms:
YES mums and pops are allowed on stage. O/w how to control the situation??!

ris
oh dear..i think u better stick to nutren for a while..the nurse ever tell me..sometimes its a phase that bb cannot take cow milk...afer a while..can try the normal milk again..

sgn/springdance
even if ky/jonas scare of water during bathing also can bring them go swimming. start off slowly with them let them sit on ur lap and then slowly go into the water with them at a time. making sure to splash some water on their legs....i did that to javen when we went swimming for the 1st time even though he also scare of water down fr his head at tat time. now bring him go swimming....he dun even want us to hold him...keep dashing into the water.

springdance
agree with nellu. must "gan gan" when u bring baby for oversea trip. Plan well. have a checklist of what u need to bring etc and plan his meals etc. bring toys along in case he fuss on plane etc....

btw, is Jacob Ballas nice/fun to play? wanna bring javen there too le. perphaps if jonas got commpany, then he will feel more at ease playing....hehe.....jio me next time la.

cheezel, springD,
yes ref to travelling, you just have to tell yourself to relax and go with the flow. My last trip was so long. before that i was so stressed with the packing and the preparations. but when we really set off, i found that it wasn't as hard as i thought it would be.

We went to jacob ballas last sat as well..but it was an impromptu thing. Josh can't really walk yet so also can't really play at the water play area...erm..a bit boring for a non walker kiddo leh...but don't mind going again..

nellu

whats josh eating? seems to be enjoying himself. I always wanted Javen to self feed but he always bite off a very big pc. scare he choke

Cool_D
Have not brot Jonas for swim yet…but plan to do so during one of the free weekends …but we dun have friends staying in condo nearby lei….so have to go public swimming pool…not sure if the water is “clean” enuf. :p

Nellu / Cheezel
Well, I really very much wanna bring my boy for a trip…but my hubby is not keen. Moreover, our boy is not a milk lover…so if he dun like the instant porridge or jarred food we brot, he can jolly well go hungry everyday. By the way, he takes like one hour to finish his porridge…

These are our major obstacles lor ….

Nellu / Cool_D
In that case, then maybe can consider going to the Baby SSO Prom …too bad we dun know anyone who can help us with priority booking….it’ll be quite fun if we can arrange to go together… same age play together better….

Cheezel
Think Javen will like Jacob Ballas….got a water-play area with sprouting waters and a playground with sand & see-saw (rarely see that nowadays!).

Sure, let’s arrange to go together one of the weekends…it’s in the WEST anyway….near to Bt Timah and NUS campus….can jio other West mummies too and we have picnic there.

springD
unless u dun mind travelling to the East or NE. I have a few swimming venue :p I heard the SK public pool has those slides and all, so I dun mind bring jboy to swim there one of the wkends also. I guess pool water, whether public or private shld be the same. The diff is the toilet I find. Public pool toilet always very dirty i feel.

SpringDance & Cheezel,

If both of u are organising a gathering at Jacob Ballas, please count me in! I am interested too.

Another suggestion is Jurong Bird Park coz I think they have 30% discount in the month of August using the e-coupon for the National Day
!

Can I suggest either 27th July, Sunday or 3rd August, Sunday for either place? Majority confirms the final date and location
!

springdance & Cheezel,
but i can only go if the date is after 10 Aug, because now bb has to go GUG on sunday. Anyway, pls inform me when the date is confirmed.

cool_daughter,
I also saw the pool slides when we drove past the other time.
Which few swimming pools would you suggest if i do not mind east or north east?

Springdance
i also bring javen to public pool. I think it ok. even if its condo pool, u still have to share the pool with other ppl.

does jonas like cereal? can use cereal to replace porridge if he doesnt mind. how abt bread or biscuit? noodles? now that they older, so food wise got more variety......who knows jonas like travelling.

CD
the swimming pool at which part of SK? i'm mostly at pg during wkends. so if SK also have pool, then it will be nearer.

Pisces/janet
no la. i'm not organising gethering. i'm plain too lazy to organise. most of the time, me n hubby will just decide n go on the day. Since u already have a date, y not u organise? hehe

SpringD,
totally agree with Cheezel. I read somewhere that you can start by taking him to sleep over at grandparents' place, then slowly add on to short trips and so on. Our first trip was to Msia for 1.5weeks or so. but it was a leisurely driving trip and my mum came along to help. So it was ok. after that trip we got to find out what works and what doesn't. so subsequently we were more prepared. For flying, also start with nearer destinations, then slowly go further. Can also try to travel within the same time zone first then slowly move away. i think the more often you do it, the more confident you become. then you'll also enjoy the trips more.

You can also start to train him ref to eating. Sometimes they take a long time is cos they are distracted or something. I'm quite hard line with eating for Josh. The moment he shows signs of not wanting to eat (eg. throw food on the floor, turn away from the spoon), I just clear away everything and won't feed him until the next mealtime. sounds cruel but it works! cos for the next meal (he's hungry mah!) he laps up everything and wants more. aft some time, he gets the idea and would sit willingly to finish at least 70% of his food all within 20mins.

But i think you don't have to worry so much abt food during travels. Kids will adapt along the way.

Cheezel,
Josh was eating a super hard and fragrant crust of a very authentically french baguette. Photo was taken while we were in France. That was also the day he decided he wanted hard food and threw the soft insides of the baguette all over the floor.

West mummies gathering - can count me in??!

Nellu,
Does Josh still sit on the high chair? mine doesnt want to sit anymore. The moment put her there, she will want to climb up. So now, I feed her while she walks around or while she plays with her toys, which sometime could take a long time.
Usually she will eat 50% of food, then not interested. Then I will eat mine at the dining table. When she still wants, she will approach me for food. I then continue to feed her the remaining half...

Cool_D /Cheezel
Coz I was thinking since public pool got higher usage….so higher got inconsiderate people using and hence, likely more “dirty”? Just my own personal mindset only lar…. Dun take into offence okie gals! :p

Cheezel
Actually, Jonas takes very long to eat solids…be it cereal or porridge. As for noodles & bread, the last time I tried, he vomited after a few mouths…but will try again I guess…hopefully he dun mind as he grows older.

By the way dear… I guess you must be quite “big” already? Still can manage to bring Javen for outings to the parks or swimming pools?

Nellu
Thanks for the advices! I have heard about your tactic of taking away the food once he refuse to eat and let him go hungry…but this mummy soft-hearted always worry baby not enough nutrients…hahahah! Or become controlled by baby instead. Very bad hor…:p

Yup…I would foresee that I would choose a nearby country for a short trip for the 1st time I bring my boy overseas. Though I would really love to go Tokyo Disneyland with him but I guess shouldn’t coz the flight journey is too long for a 1st trip and dunnoe how he will react…. . :p

Re: Jacob Ballas
Errm...if I organise to go, I can only choose a time/day which I can make it wor...which is late afternoon like 3pm on a Sunday..Hmmm...Anyone still interested in that case? No obligations.

Janet
The rest of the pool are either my fren's or relative's condo in SK, Pasir ris or Tamp

I am keen in the SK public pool coz it's new & I heard of the slides. Haven been there tho'.

SpringD
Sun Jacob ballas I am keen.

nellu, janet,
we 'train' our boy since young tat if he wants to eat/mealtimes, he mus sit down, else no food. wen he outgrew highchair, we bought him a set of chair n table fr ikea. we find tat it goes a long way cos wen we dine out, my boy wld sit down n fin his food which is much easier. as for cher, yes she does attempt to get out of high chair but again we wld not feed her if she is not on highchair. so she noe tat mealtx mus sit down. if there is no highchair outside, she wld sit in stroller.

sanrio
I hv dat thot too initially. But during CNY period, we usually out whole day so no hi chair to feed, we end up holding him. After CNY, he refuse to stay in hi chair le. Hiaz.

sanrio,janet,
we never have problems with Josh sitting in the high chair. Cos i always insists that he does when he wants to eat. Like Sanrio my policy is 'no sitting in high chair, no food"...but then Josh is not quite walking yet so i don't know if i'll have the "climb out of the chair" problem.

so far i've no prob with my girl in high chair too..think it's because she hvnt started walking too. so for her meal times, reading times and tv times, she will sit in her high chair

nellu
is josh on mamil gold? how is it? hvnt decided on enfagrow or mamil gold for my girl. mamil gold has immunofortis and enfagrow has 4x DHA

what formula are you giving your babies?

wonder baby,
yes, josh is on mamil gold. kekeke I think it's probably ok. cos most of the time Josh finishes his milk.

springD,
i'm good for jacob ballas. 3pm is the usual time i take josh out if we want to have any outing. Cos it's aft his nap so he isn't so cranky.

Janet
ky also dun like to sit in his high chair but i still make it a point to let him sit n eat with us or play his flavorite VCDs.

cool daugther
do u know where is the location of the swimming pool at sk? cos i'm keen to bring ky for a swim b4 the hungry ghost festival starts.

wonder baby
i'm giving my boy enfapro going to start enfagrow.

maybe I will try the stool policy...because bb like to sit on stool.

cool_daughter,
so now your bb also walk and eat instead of sit and eat?

Springdance,
I am ok for 4pm. But can only join if it is after 10 Aug, because still have GUG now.

Wonder_baby,
my bb is on enfagrow

sgn
Not sure .. but i rmbr when I went to see see look look the Anchorvale CC, I thot I saw a site which seems to be building a pool.

Janet
I still try n insisit he stay still. So either sit on a stool, or the sofa, or on my lap. But usually, for each meals, would probably need to change place 2-3 times .. hiaz.

I had seen parents feeding their kids, while chasing after them at the playground downstr :p

Wonderbaby
Jboy drinks Mamil gold, step 3.

Cool_D / Nellu / Janet
Okie great! Why dun we tentatively block our schedule to meet on 17 Aug (Sun) at 3.30pm at JBCG? To be confirmed again nearer the date...

SpringDance and Mummies,

Jacob Ballas Outing 17 Aug (Sun) at 3.30pm includes:

1) SpringDance
2) Cool_Daughter
3) Janet
4) Nellu
5) Pisces Gal
6)
7)
8)
9)
10)

Please add on. Thanks
!

Jacob Ballas Outing 17 Aug (Sun) at 3.30pm includes:

1) SpringDance
2) Cool_Daughter
3) Janet
4) Nellu
5) Pisces Gal
6) sgn
7)
8)
9)
10)

smalldreams,
Jacob Ballas is somewhere in Botanic Garden. A lot of things for children to play. This is so much I can describe to you, as I have not been there before...haha

hi hi, hows everyone? been a veri long while since i last post.

cheezel, cool daughter,
the swimming pool at anchorvale cc will b opening soon. it looks kind of fun wif slides. tink we shld go when it is still new.

jeanyard,
er...josh doesn't even have any vocabulary. He can read words, understand what we are saying but doesn't say much...and really not a lot...quite silent most of the time short of some "nnnnggg", "mmmm" accompanied with pointing at the things he is interested in or wants... so..er..should i be worried??