(2007/05) May 2007 MTB

Juz to share .. was at the Bongers burger restuarant yday and sitting beside us was a angmoh lady wif her 3 daughters, youngest was 11 mths. Tis 11 mth bb was sitting on e high chair, n her mama oni needs to break up e bread into small pieces, put on e table wif some fries, she juz pick n eat on her own. While her mama n 2 sis enjoys their lunch. Me, i was feeding jboy, while trying to eat my own food, at the same time trying to get jboy to stay on e high chair n picking up things he is throwing .. Hiaz .. :S

smalldreams
ya she can bite her star puffs. recently only know how to bite her bread into smaller pieces..but she dunno how to chew lumpier porridge or apple scraped with spoon

cooldaughter
everytime when we're eating outside, i'll be very stressed..wahahahaha..coz she cannot sit still..same like u. hv to feed myself n her and picking up things like shreded tissue..wahahaha

hey nellu

where is this busy buddies? can share share?

small dreams
adam can hold and eat honeydew? i tried giving javen biscuit...one whole piece. end up he bite
one super big pc into his mouth. afraid he choke so dig it out from his mouth le. now i cut into small pieces for him.
Javen like very greedy le...i always put the a few star biscuits on his tray or cut fries, he will pick one up with each hand and stuff them all into his mouth. haben even swallow, he stuff 2 more in.....whole mouth super full...now got to give him bit by bit...scare he dunno n stuff whole mouthful n choke.

wonderbaby
u r not the only one. Everytime dine out, our table will be super messy....not forgetting the shredded tissue paper, fork, spoon, paper on the floor

SD,
brought ash for trial class at GUG wen he was young, he din like it cos 1.5hr is 'too long' for him. he prefers gym type where there is more play n he can run, play and climb.

cheezel/ wonderbb
imagine if our babies gathered at a restuarant .. wat is it like :p

btw, 2 days ago, was at a mall waiting for the bus and there were 2 older kids (abt 3-4yrs old) also waiting, eating tibits. Suddenly, the boy took 1 pc of cracker, abt 20cent coin size, but squarish, n juz stuff into jboy's mouth. i got a shock n quickly dig it out fm his mouth !!

cheezel

Here's the link for busybuddies...Its at UE Square Shopping Mall.

http://www.busybuddies.com.sg/program.htm

Zhuzhu
Hmmm….think it really could be teething that cause the poo problems…can confirm with the doctor tonight see what he/she says...does Markus feel uncomfortable or cries alot since you need to keep cleaning him and change his diapers?

My boy has the opposite problem…constipation…the other day he was crying badly becoz his hard stools stuck at the anus and we had to dig it out.

Mum@Work
I interested in JG too…but Evans branch very inaccessible without car…you drive your gal to the class every week?

By the way, not sure if you remembered our babies attended the GUG trial class together.

WonderBaby
My boy pukes at yogurt and pouts his mouth at apple puree….hiazzzz…absolutely nothing that he is interested to eat…not even ice cream!

Smalldreams/Cheezel
Your boys are really intelligent…..started walking so fast and can self-feed!

Smalldreams: Oh ya…did you receive the link for my photos?

Cool_D
Augleo’s JK can also do that before he was 1 year old I think….. Leo’s training powderful siah!

Sanrio
I also doubt if GUG is ok for Jonas…not sure if you recalled that I shared that he was crying badly for the 1st half hour of the trial class sometime ago? He’s just too shy.

SpringD
Yup, drive every 3days a wk. Wer u stay?
I tink I rem we attended the GUG trial class, organised by Dlim rite, cos I was the last min. slot?

cheezel

hee, the way you describe Javen as greedy is quite funny! Good that you're breaking them to smaller pieces. Adam's like that also lah, stuff everything inside, then once he gets sick of it, he just stick his tongue out and everything drops out, Urgh!

wonderbaby
Good lah if he can eat the puffs! That's also self-feeding! The shredded tissue thing is funny too! HAHA! All kinds of things on the floor right?

CD
seems that we all have issues when we bring baby out for dinner / meal. ALways fussing over them while that ang moh can enjoy her food right! HAha! Last weekend I went to Seoul Garden, Already told Hub not a good idea coz got heat cooking some more. Adam entertained himself by playing with chopstick, serviette, spoon etc. UNTIL I gave him a honeydew (again) to suck & bite. that kept him quiet. hehe..

I also gave Adam fries (if we're in swensens etc) and that quietens him A LOT! He just nibbles on them. I feel guilty lah coz it's fast food, but also tell myself, nevermind, must intro to diff types of food (oops..)

SPringdance
I didn't receive it
Tot you yet to send the link

i've not taken adam to any of these baby classes.. hmm...maybe I should try... but paranoid me rather worried about hfmd...choy...

springdance
i also interested in JG. Evans abit out if not driving. my coleague just sign his son up at the forum branch. wonder if theres trial class for that.

Janet
JG branch at forum n evans. Evans is somewhere near botanical garden there.

CD
think the waiter will faint if we ever gather n dine in restaurant. hehhee....

All the feeding woes of mommies....sigh! Cannot eat in peace without our kids climbing all over us or table top and picking up their "Food Catapults"...Not to mention worrying that the greedy kiddos choke on their food...(they're just like the Cookie Monster in Sesame Street..Messy and violent)

Springdance
try applying Avent moisturizer at the anus...helps to lubricate the area..lessen the tearing of tissue. My MIL usually gives my boy Woodsworth to drink so that he'll poo everyday. It is cooling... and I give him Yakult too (half bottle)...it helps. FM can be pretty heaty so need to balance that out with cooling drinks like barley etc.

i find that BF babies tend not to have high fever after jabs...but it differs from baby to baby. One thing for sure, once fully weaned off, all the fever...flu..cough will begin. My #1 was illness-free throughout the BF time.

smalldreams/cooldaughter
put our kids tog and u can imagine the amount of tissue on the floor! wahahahah

springdance
hv you tried plums, nectarines n peaches? good for constipation..what abt prune juice?

mummypoh
how are your kids? recovered?

nellu
sorry can't make it today cos ky nap from 1.30 to 3.40pm! ended up we went to gymboree at vivo.

ky gave us a surprise today, he was playing with some vcds on my hb's lap while i was bathing. he took one of the disc and make his way to the tv console where the player is n show my FIL to play the disc for him.

zhuzhu
poor markus, what did the pd says?

eating out: ha ha ha i do have the same prob as u all mummies. either picking the things ky throw or he will be screaming in the public.

sgn
PD said the main causes come from faeces lor..so she told us to wash our hand throughly lor..she said if still got diarrhoea..must go take the stool test again..

when we eat outside oso the same..hb n me had to take turn to eat...

SD,
mayb gymboree free play wld b a better option as a start. pay $50 for 1 yr membership n each play session is $12 for an hr. they hv many slots on wkdays but not sure abt wkends. he can freely play at his own pace while slowly warming up to d environment n some kids there wo d 'stress' of a structured lesson.

zhuzhu,
did i mention i was admitted to hospital for 1 wk many yrs back due to salmonella. mine was a very bad one as i vomitted n LS many tx a day w fever. was on antibiotics drip. recuperated for another 2wks at hm n was so weak n lost a lot of wt. source cld b chicken as i had chicken rice b4 i fell ill. but doc did say cld b d seller's hands was contaminated w faeces.
is markus on antibiotics? hope he gets well soon. i tink meantx, u shd try take out diary n fm fr his diet to let his stomach rest n recover faster cos milk protein is hard to digest n is taxing on his digestive system tat is weakened by d bacteria now. just my humble opinion...

wonderbaby
thanks for your concern. #1 is ok and back in CC while #2 has almost fully "de-crusted". Can't help but feel like a mommy monkey...been addictively searching thru #2's hair to remove the fully dried off crusts...just like how monkeys groom each other...oo oo ah ah...to date he has about 60 over crusts removed just from his hair alone. That was how bad his chickenpox was. Glad it's finally over!

zhuzhu
salmonella infection takes a while to clear up...but in this case, better to do another stool test to have a peace of mind.

smalldreams
you're not alone in the guilt dept for fastfood feeding...kids just love junk food...never need to coax them to eat french fries like we had to do for vegetables. I've lost count of the MacDOnald toys we've collected from the Happy Meals. "Happy" for kids but not proper "meal" for poor mommy who had to eat nuggets or cheeseburger all the time. (no wonder I can't slim down)

Mum@Work
Me stay redhill…not too far from Evans but still very inconvenient to travel there every week as we got no car…go there still can take taxi but come back…I doubt there’s hardly any taxis going in the small road there.

Cheezel
Forum branch got trial class…..but I think Evan branch either dun have or they only have it on Mondays.

Smalldreams
Think the PM function for some problems…no wonder when I PM the last round quite long ago to chat, you never reply.

Maybe you give me your email addy instead….

MommyPoh
Thanks for the advices…So the Avent moisturiser put on the anus everyday or only apply when he got difficultly pooing? I though Woodsworth is a cough syrup?

Wonder_baby
I heard about these fruits before…but hardly find them at the NTUC or Giant lei….got season one I think. Tried giving my boy plum juice (bottled type off the rack one), he dun like…haizzz….

Sanrio
Thanks for the feedback.

Well….I can only opt for weekend classes since both me & hubby working.

ZhuZhu
Did the PD prescribe any medicine for Markus? Is he better today after the medicine?

springD
jboy also drinks woodworth eday .. a small spoonful mix wif water. I also heard it's cooling. So far, he has no prob wif his poo. My auntie say if bb is heaty, can give barley water also.

wah mummies, suddenly thread is alive! Gone for one aftnn and last nite and so many posts...

ok...
abt busybuddies
thanks mum@work for providing the webby here. It's more like playgroup. I'm not familiar with GUG but i think it might be similar. The programme details are on the website. The session is 1.5hrs long as well. Problem is the timings are more suitable for SAHMs and kiddos...cos they dun have much weekend classes.

eating out with kiddos
yup..josh will also be very curious abt the things on the table. abt that ang moh mummie enjoying her food, it's cos the way they do things is that they are ok with babies messing up! If you are ok with that, then you can enjoy also lor. Part of it also comes from training. If you can let bb feed themselves some food and not fuss over them, they'll be able to do it independently. I'm trying to do that with Josh as much as possible.

JG
i'm also interested. been trying for the longest time to get a trial. Anyone here wants to go? maybe we can try to go together or something?

mommypoh,
heheh i was monkey mommy also trying to de-crust Josh's head the last time. To make matters worse back then, my Mil put A LOT of calamine lotion on his head...hard time for me...

Abt fever aft jab,i also observed the same thing with Josh when he was breastfed. But since he was totally weaned off, the fevers came.

sanrio,
you still go to gymboree for free play? now you bring Cher i supposed? If you are going, shall we go together sometime??

sgn,
what a waste! yday busybuddies was quite fun. they played with paint and water. Josh was really happy cos he got to take his artwork home and now it's pasted on my dining room wall. He went to look at it alot this morning. :D

suspect Javen got wind in his tummy le. cos at night when he wake up to cry, after he fart, he go back sleep. Any med to apply or take?

mummypoh
wow! 60 crusts on his head alone..that's a lot..did he scratch? glad to hear that both are well now..u must hv been real tired

springdance
yup got season..lately nvr see any..my girl hates the bottled juice too!

cheezel
yup can try gripe water or maybe some ginger slices in his porridge

Springdance

I've PMed ya. Let's see if you get that PM!

Cheezel
Aww...poor thing... but felt relieved after hearing him fart rite? Agree with nellu - give gripe water or can also put yu yee oil or minyak telon (malays / indos use this) on his tummy. Clears wind quite fast.

zhuzhu
If this is really salmonella, then it's really taking a very long time huh. Hope he's better!

Nellu
Aww so cute of josh, can even go & re-visit his art work, hehe.

I agree with you about ang mohs being more open to kids messing up. guess it's got to do with them being keen on experiential learning, independent learning etc.. While that's good, i think boundaries are important too. Sighs...parenting is the toughest thing in the planet.

Adam just fell asleep at 12.30 pm. He was sleepy at 11 am but just didn't want to sleep! Kept climbing down the bed. Now I've placed him in his cot. Hope the noise from the lift upgrading works won't wake him up (bites fingernails)

sanrio & springdance
PD did not give any antibotics...only something for his diarrhoea..

Sanrio
but hor if take out his milk intake..then i duno wat else to give him..now i dilute his milk lor..

smalldreams,
hehe ya...josh is very proud of his work (actually it's more my work lah!:D). He even showed it to our neighbours! hahaha

yes yes boundaries are very impt! So it is impt to provide space for kids to learn but also must teach them boundaries.

Just want to share this with you ladies.
i met up with an old biz associate few days back for coffee. I never knew that his 9yo son suffered from a very mild kind of autism, until he told me that day. It's called agnosia, and there are many forms of it. He told me his son cannot perceive other people's facial expressions very well and suffers from selective mutism. His son also doesn't eat very well as he can't perceive things very well, hence will only eat food which has one colour.

My biz associate told me one thing, which i thought was a very impt piece of advice from a parent to another. He told me "Sometimes we propogate the problem by being too protective over the children. We need to give them the opportunity to learn abt their environment and to develop their senses." He mentioned that his son's main problem is that his five senses are not "merged together to give him the whole picture".

he also told me, "let the kids crawl and roll abt more, even let them fall abit. then they'll learn abt the world around them more." He also said that singapore parents tend to be too over protective and rob the kids a chance to explore and learn...

i thought really hard abt what he said and looked at josh messing around his food at home that day...that was when i decided to let him feed himself...

end result: happy kid, happy mom who can come to the comp to serve web and chat on SMH! :D

zhuzhu, my son also had diarrhoea. the pd gave 3 types of medicine. i find a bit too much, overload. do u remember name of your medicine? i have 2 kinds powder form, Q....and Smecta, and a liquid Lopermide. and said to drink lactose free milk, so now drink Nutren.

Hope to hear how is your pd advice. thanks.

nellu
It's kinda easier to control if u r a SAHM. For ah gong n ah ma, u know .. they are usually not as open to self feeding at this age.

So, now I am teaching jboy self bathing instead. I let him rub his body, his hair, his leg, his hand himself when I bathe him at nite. Even his toothbrush too

cool daughter,
i TOTALLY agree with you. Tha's why i quit my job to become SAHM. I cannot imagine what will happen to Josh.. Sorry but I'm such a stickler and really want to bring up my kids my way...

Even aft becoming SAHM and taking care of things on my own, my mum still comes by sometimes to poke here and there. Then there was one day i told her "Ma, i think you really underestimate Josh. He's very bright and can learn very fast." and i showed her what i meant by getting Josh to do certain things. My mum was amazed at it. Then she herself realised that she did not see that Josh is growing up.

sometimes just need to let grandparents see for themselves lor..

nellu
it's very great of u to give up your job to be a SAHM. Actually, can't blame the grandparents as I tink kids nowadays are really diff from us when we are babies. Perhaps it's really the FM :p

mum@work,
ya lor...v sian for me if have to wait till josh i 18mths. cos by then, hopefully he'll be in half day cc. I have problems containing him in the house everyday. He gets bored in the aftnn.

nellu
but tot u quit ur job to be SAHM? u still can sign up for October intake for playnest ma cos their playclub for 18mths new term will start in Jan09.

Springdance
i spelt it wrongly...should be this instead.
1564543.jpg
and some product info:

Woodward's™ Gripe Water’s contains oil of Dill herb and Sodium Bicarbonate and brings rapid relief of wind and gripe. Dill Seed Oil warms and relaxes the tummy, breaking down trapped air bubbles. Sodium Bicarbonate neutralises acid in the baby's tummy. Feeding your baby one teaspoon of alcohol-free Woodward’s™ Gripe Water everyday can help prevent those stressful wind attacks before they happen.

as for the Avent cream, apply as per needed...no need to apply everyday...unless you want there to be baby smooth skin as well.

zhuzhu
i think PDs avoid using antibiotics (Ciprofloxacin or Amoxicillin etc) on children so young hence they give you stuff (Smecta etc) to lessen the symptoms instead. Salmonellosis is often self-limiting infection (will clear by itself when our body develope immunity against it) unless the infected has weaken immunity or it is typhoid. Look out for signs of meningitis as it is a potential complication.

meanwhile keep little Markus happily occupied...a happy baby will be a "strong" baby.

mum@work,
i prefer to try out first before signing up. you know JG isn't exactly very cheap. What if sign up already then Josh doesn't like it?? Waste $$...SAHM must think abt $$..As FTWM, i didn't have so much to worry abt, in terms of $$

MommyPoh
Oh I see! This one my boy has been drinking daily already...

I was thinking you let your kiddo drink cough syrup everyday? Huh???? hahahah....

Cool_D
Hi Woman! I think you referring to Woodswards Gripewater correct or not?

Nellu
Thanks for sharing with us wabout mild autism...appreciate definitely...by the way, juz being KPO....mind sharing what you use to work as before becoming a SAHM? Dunnoe why I have this feeling you used to be Banking or Investment line...high power job.

springD,
your guess is quite close. I wish it was high power enough :p ..i was on the side of the finance industry. Used to work for an investor relations consultancy. Essentially, I worked in the PR line but my sector is specialised in the financial sector....dunno whether you know what I am talking abt or not...cos many people cannot understand it until they are involved in their company's IPO process or if they work for a public listed company, then they will more or less understand this function.

hehe...just curious, what makes you think i would have been working in some high power job leh??

mommypoh

i have that gripewater. seldom let javen drink. jus now pour some and dilute with water for him. but normally how much to give. the instruction mentions 10ml for 6mths-2yrs.

ris
PD gave him 2 type of powder, smecta & lactoel fort..

Nutren is a kind of milk for baby??

Did PD said wat cause the diarrhoea?

Janet
Eduplay is $385.20 for 1 term. Ter's some miscellenous tat u hv to pay abt $250.00 for wich $200 is refundable.

nellu
Yaya, agreed. Nit to tink twice wen com to spending. Actually I juz sign up for bbK cos I wan her to mingle around wif more children & adapt her to sch enviornment. (cos someX she can be a scady cat....hahaha)

mum@work,
that is exactly my objective for bringing josh for classes. I want to give him opportunities to interact with other kids. And seems like playgroup setting would be best to do that.

oh...if bbK is sometimes a scady cat, you have to be patient with her leh. O/w if you push too much, she may become irritated with you. Josh is not scady cat but sometimes when he meets new people or when he is at a new place, he'll take a bit of time to start his engines...so i just let him be for a while. I learned my lesson when i brought him to a kids party in France. He was a bit scared, mainly because of grass (!!). I pushed him to join the other kids that time and then he started to wail and wail!! so aft that i know not to push him but to let him start on his own time.

Nellu, M@work

Guess if yr hubbies earn a lot, then being a SAHM is almost a natural thing to do. Lucky women, both of ya

Springdance
i saw yr pics, thanks! They're lovely! Envy you for being able to getaway for a short while with just hubby. I bet you missed Jonas a lot! And the shots are nice too - did you shop a lot?

CD
Hey, I read yr blog. happy belated Birthday!

Spring dance
Hongkong Photo pls!! hehe....

M@work/nellu
i also wanna expose javen to sch envt n let him interact more with other kids....

i'm waiting my #2 to come out. then will register him in some programmes......so now looking out for good one/!

Re: Go Go Bambini
hey anyone brought ur baby there to play?