(2007/05) May 2007 MTB

Thanks all for your suggestions on the cream.

went to see the PD yesterday already. because the rash extend from the legs to the hands...so was a bit worried....
PD gave me Elomet cream - mometasone furoate. PD also doesnt know why..not heat rash, as the res spots look like mosquito bites and not in patches...

wonder_baby,
if dont drink milk, does your baby take any other food? if willng to take porridge, cheese, bread, egg...or any of such, should be ok lah...

sgn,
usually frozen meat, can keep for 3 months...but usually baby consumption, I only keep for 2 weeks...because i prefer fresh...
otherwise, try chicken or beef to replace fish...egg also can, they are all protein sources

jeanyard

hehe how far along are you now? Hope all's fine!

wonderbaby
aww! Can imagine yr pain & helplessness. Are you a SAHM or FTWM? Stressful when baby gets sick right. How about bread & stuff, will she eat? If she rejects water, can try feeding thru spoon? sometimes she drinks more... if that works, maybe can try with milk too...

Janet
That's great, PD knows best! Much faster & quicker rather than using all those creams from off the shelf right?

As for me I'm down with cough (probably one of the last few around my work station to get it ...
) and my body feels a bit warm now. My greatest worry is to pass it on to baby. Can't even take MC coz just too much work to do... sighs. Such is life of a working mom.

wonder where the rest are..springdance, sanrio? :p

naqia
i'm a SAHM. chloe seems to be only rejecting milk but not water..tried spoonfeeding her milk but she rejected..headache..

amanda
hv not tried dentinox..think bonjela is also okay. how's your boy?

wonderbaby

how about using a straw? Sometimes I gather the water in a straw, then release it into her mouth slowly... how abt that? or how abt from a cup slowly? What did doc say?

Dentinox gives a "numbing" feeling i think. Last time my baby was teething, I put some of that but be careful not to put too deep into mouth etc, coz baby might feel too numb, and afraid would gag. Guess bonjela is OK, sweet too right?

Was at Suntec today and the world bookfair has some really cheap scrapbooking stickers and accessories going for $1 each. Those shapes puncher sets are sold at $20. All in good condition.
Some stalls have those flash cards set and books at $1 too. Don't worry..not moulding or old...just clearing stock. Even if our kids "mutilate" them also not as heart pain.
The chinese charts and books by Taiwan and China are pretty neat...so tempting.

wonder baby
wah ur bb n mine same prob huh, after antibiotics follow by fungal infection.
it's a common side effect of the antibiotics cos it suppress their immimmune system.
can try feeding milk with spoon like what naqia suggest, this is what i did during hospital stay, ky was too sick to suck from the bottle so drinking from spoon lesser effort.

rice water just boil porridge with more water n give the rice water.

zhuzhu
ya jean yip traetment also make my hair grow but make my hair messy cos i have curly hair need to do rebonding very offen.

wonder baby
i think dentinox is better it has mild pain killer in it.

Janet
tks for the info, i just lazy to go other market to buy boneless fish wahahah.

Janet, wonderbaby, sgn
Wishing speedy recovery for all ur bbs.

mummiessss
bbK has been sick(runny nose/ blked nose)since last sunday. PD was closed so went GP and stupid medicine ddnt help at all after 1wk. Brought bbK to PD on monday and she's recovering much faster nw. I hate to gib anitbiotics cos will lower bbs appetite. She already a small eater, nw + antibiotics!!! cant imagine... haizzz....any mummies experience lost of appetite after gibing antibiotics?

sgn

wats the benefits of rice water? I tot that was used to water plants to make them grow better! *lol*

MuM@work
Oh dear..sorry to hear that.. good to know she's recovering faster. I guess for GPs, they give medication for adults, but in smaller doses, while PD gives medication fit for baby's consumption. How come it seems the PDs seems to be administering anti biotics to babies huh? I thot antibiotics should only be used as a last resort!

Baby Adam got his first cold/flu when he was about 6-7 mths old, and since then I've kept the medication in the fridge. The last time he was unwell think it was when he was about 10 mths old, and I gave the same medication. Still got some more medication left, which I'll keep till expiry in Nov 08. Now that I'm down with fever & sore throat, I *really* hope I won't have to use baby's medication for him....sighs...

mum@work
Wishing bbK speedy recovery.
i notice that too. when i give my boy medicine from GP, he doesn't seem to recover after finishing the whole bottle. When I give him medicine from PD, he recover within the week. So I guess the medicine given by PD are more appropriate for babies.

sgn
u went to jean yip...May I know how much u pay for the package?

naqia,
If I am sick, I usually wear a mask when feeding my gal, so as not to pass to her. But I have not been sick for a while already...my secret, cod liver oil emulsion every day. It is quite good, able to fight all the virus I had in office. Big flu, big cough, every one in the office, except me. So any mummies want to stay strong, can try this method. But because it is an emulsion, it is pretty smelly to some. Most people cannot take it. But for the child sake, I have been taking it every day.

Pisces gal,
U have not received the voucher? I posted it out last Friday.

Mum@work,
thanks for your well wishes. My gal has recovered from the rash already. The cream quite good..two days, all recover. Will be keeping the box, next time can buy from outside. It was a very small tube, and the PD charged me $10.

I feel that PD usually charged a lot for medicine, on top of their high consultation fees. Some more that PD is not very caring, and also have to wait very long. I think it is because the medicine is usually very effective, that is why people kept going back.

Took leave for the past two days. Stay at home. And I found a method to get my girl to eat more solid. Was trying many ways, and realised that she love soup, so I feed her one mouth soup, one mouth solid...so con her to open her mouth, by saying 'soup soup'...for mummies who have child with small appetite, maybe can try this method.

Naqia
*waves* here I am…

Are you working from home these few days or at office? Maybe better to go back office to clear the stuff to prevent passing the cough to Adam? You have anyone to help you at home?

Mum@Work
Even adults lose appetite when not feeling well….so it’s expected babies have poor appetite when sick…believe that with the antibiotics, bbK should fully recover quite soon….then her appetite will come back liaoz at the same time. So, dun worry too much yah…take care.

Janet
I feed few mouth porridge, few mouth water….. coz Jonas is willing to open his mouth for water and not always for porridge…hahah. And he got tendency to “gum” the porridge in his mouth dun swallow…so BOR PIANZ gotta throw in some water to wash the food down.

naqia
not the wash rice water it's boiled water from the plain porridge.

mum@work
my boy had running blocked nose for 2 wks lor. did pd give any nose drop?

zaczac
yap last yr signed their pakage $1688 for 10
courses but went for 6 only cos hair was growing and hard to mamage so stopped going back. anyway hair drop lesser so dun care liao.

sgn
wah so it's really effective lor. i have cut my hair short to prevent hair from dropping too much.

janet
what i do is collect the medicine given by PD. usually can keep or 6 months after opening. if baby fall sick again with same symptoms can give same medicine just call the PD to check the dosage to give. If medicine finish, can always go back to PD to buy the medicine only so no consultation fee incurred.

I am organising a Kindermusik trial class on <u>15 June, 4pm</u>. I have 8 sign-ups so far from my friends. We need a minimum of 10 babies to start and 1 class can take a maximum of 12 babies.

we are going for the newborn to 18mths Village program. It engages all of your baby's senses through a unique blend of multi-level activities which include creative movement, vocal play, object and instrument exploration.

I have been to the centre personally and find the classes very engaging for babies of all ages.

Anyone mommies keen to join us? <font size="+1"><font color="ff6000">4 more slots!</font></font>

Get more information from:
www.kindermusik.com.sg

Details:
Date of trial - 15 June, Sunday
Time of trial - 4pm
Duration - 45min
Venue: Tanglin Mall
Fee for trial - 25.47

If you are keen, please fill up the details below and transfer payment to POSB Savings 241-42673-4:

(e.g: Name of Baby | Birth Date | Mummy's name | Mummy's contact | Payment ref)
1)

The full course fee upon confirmation is:
Newborn to 18mths – $23.80 x 8 lessons + Materials of $63.00

If you need more information, please feel free to email me at [email protected] or mobile 96893682.

Please let me know your interests asap. Thank you.

naqia/sgn
chloe knows i'm spoonfeeding her milk so she'll juz turn her head away..but yesterday after putting bonjela(sugar free) on her gums, she took in 4oz milk for her nite feed and morning feed today.so this mummy quite happy already

m@w
the pd gv my daughter iliadin for blocked nose

re:baby's hair dropping
chloe was born with a headfull of hair.and her hair doesnt seem to be growing longer or thicker. in fact, she is going through her 2nd 'massive hair dropping' again..now can see quite botak already.when will her hair start growing?

janeT
lst time the pd gv my daughter elomet for mosquito bites also. i feel not efective cause apply once a day only. then the bite still big and swollen and cannot stop her from scratching

Springdance

O, hello! Yah, I'm supposed to work from home this morning and tomorrow whole day but duty calls so i have to go back to work this afternoon and tomorrow morning tho am on MC! I hope the goodness of partial BM can help for now...

Janet
u mean the orange flavoured scotts emulsion? not smelly at all to me! I used to take Vit C and that helps too...but got lazy. Must take again lah. Environment in office so unhealthy...one get sick, then the other...and it goes on... sighs...

wonderbaby
that's good to hear

my kid also his hair is nt the fluffy type..ehhehe some pple shave everything off then the hair will start growing again. but then again, girls..how to shave off...

Hi MummyYoko
Details:
Time of trial - 4pm
Duration - 45min
Fee for trial - 25.47

If you are keen, please fill up the details below and transfer payment to POSB Savings 241-42673-4:

1) Isaac Leu / 11/7/07 / Lynn Ong / 90279819 /transfer to you later

Janet
For the elomet cream, it is a restricted drug in sg. So in order for u to buy it frm pharmacy, u nit a prescription frm doc. Take note of tat. Or if u've frenz or urself gg to Bangkok, u can get it off the shelve. bbK oso love soup but cant bluff her for long...hahaha...nw she'll look at the food on her spoon b4 opening her mouth! *faintz*

sgn
GP gave me STERIMAR nasal spray (a kindof seawater microspray wich doesnt contain chemical so suitable for infant &amp; bbs)

wonderbaby
bbK drop some of her hair when she's abt 4mths. Nw her hair is growing fast on her forehead but her back hair seems to be stagnant lei...grow very slow!

<font size="+2"><font color="0000ff">Kindermusik Trial Class on <u>15 June 4pm</u></font></font>

Anyone mommies keen to join us? <font size="+1"><font color="ff6000">2 more slots! </font></font>

www.kindermusik.com.sg

Details:
Time of trial - 4pm
Duration - 45min
Fee for trial - 25.47

1) Isaac Leu / 11/7/07 / Lynn Ong / 90279819 / Ref: 1740035775
2) Kaylyn Fang /04May07/ Karen / 98197581 / Trf tomorrow

Naqia
I giving my boy the original flavour Scotts emulsion….he dun mind the taste at all. I had it too when I was a kiddo.

Office is enclosed and the air keep circulating in the air-con ducts….so very easy pass on the germs &amp; viruses. Nothing much we can do…hiazzzz

Sgn
Will you be on normal shift or on leave next week? Maybe we can catch up again for lunch, together with Janet….

Pisces Gal,
Good that you have received the voucher.

Naqia,
I meant the white original type, not the orange type. If you look at the ingredient list, the orange flavoured contains more vit c than cod liver oil.

Springdance,
wow, your boy so good ah...now already drink the cod liver oil. How you feed? just like that ? not with milk or anything? and he gladly open his mouth? I think my girl sure vomit one...I guess I may have passed that to her. I was a bit sensitive to smell when I was pregnant.

Mum@work,
Oh no, this 'cheating' thing can only be for a while ah? I hope she will continue to eat her solid.

Wonder_baby,
chloe a headful of hair ah? must be very cute. I heard from my mum that i was born with shoulder-length hair. But my girl not really lei...
Good to hear that chloe is getting better. Jia you.

MummyYoko,

Mind if I join? Im from March mummy thread..

<font color="blue">Kindermusik Trial Class on 15 June 4pm</font>

Anyone mommies keen to join us? 2 more slots!

www.kindermusik.com.sg

Details:
Time of trial - 4pm
Duration - 45min
Fee for trial - 25.47

3) Jayden Low/ / 25/3/07 / Doreen / 94354668 / Trf

MummyYoko,

One of my friend joining too....

<font color="blue">Kindermusik Trial Class on 15 June 4pm</font>

www.kindermusik.com.sg

Details:
Time of trial - 4pm
Duration - 45min
Fee for trial - 25.47

3) Jayden Low/ 25/3/07 / Doreen / 94354668 / Trf
4)Gabriel Sim / 14.02.07 / Jeslin / 97694182 / Trf

sgn
oohhh....was thinking next tue....coz wed I cannot.

Janet
Just feed the emulsion with water....give it a try...you never know. It's just one spoon once a day. Maybe your girl dun mind...when I 1st try on my boy, I was also half-hearted thinking he may not like. Anyway, he still hates milk! Now only 120ml per feed.

MummyYoKo,

Payment done! Pls check..thanks

Kindermusik Trial Class on 15 June 4pm

www.kindermusik.com.sg

Details:
Time of trial - 4pm
Duration - 45min
Fee for trial - 25.47

3) Jayden Low / 25/3/07 / Doreen / 94354668 / Ref: 1741285670 transferred on 5/6/08
4)Gabriel Sim / 14.02.07 / Jeslin / 97694182 / Ref: 1741304600 transferred on 5/6/08

Hi Doreen,

Thanks for your participation! I have received your payment. I will email you more details.

See you on 15 June!

just found out that the block cheese has lower salt content but also a lower calcium content as compared with those slices cheddar cheese....so pro and con lah

Springdance &amp; Janet
I think I should start giving something like the scotts emulsion too. Maybe start with adding delrosa to his plain water. I'm thinking of weaning him off BF...but see lah now that Im down with flu, I'm worried he might catch it easily.

RE: Motherhood Fair
In the end I went, and I'll say, more stuff compared to the last disappointing motherhood fair. Got Huggies, Pampers, Friso booth, Mums&amp;Babes, Nestle etc... Quite OK lah. I bot some baby lounge wear - Richgi, think about $5.50 per piece.

Naqia
Can get a small bottle of the cod liver oil let Adam try...no harm...even if he dun like, you can take over. heheheh...

The current baby fair really seems to be quite "attractive" hor...read that mummies from the other thread got ALOT of stuff. But Sing Expo is really soooo far for us to go.

my girl is on milk strike again this morning *headache* fm not cheap yet hv to pour away

re: car seat
what's a good buy for those front facing car seats?

re: scotts emulsion
instead on this, i bought a multi vitamin which has cod liver oil in it..think it's seven seas brand. taste nice too. orange flavour

janet
thx for the update on the block cheese. think it's ok to buy that to melt over food for my girl then

Jus came back from the fair .. not bad la, bot some Nestle stuffs (gerber puff &amp; instant porridge) and Jordan toothbrush (yes, buy coz it's Jordan brand n has the word Jordan on it .. hehe) free magazine, free massage, free ice cream

It's kinda crowded tho' it's wkday afternoon. Could be more crowded on wkends.